(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

nicky's mom
wow i think u're so brave to make the trip alone with baby... pregnant sommore! I will SURELY pengsan
why not pack him in the luggage then easier for u to carry up the stairs.
hahahaha

aiyo, wendy.. i never thought of that leh.. but cannot lah, cos nick is papa's darling.. wait i reached the hotel only kanna chopped into 300 pieces..

nicky's mom,
you are really strong and brave! But i think u need to arrange for MAAS-meet and assist service from the airline so that someone can help you to carry all the stuff into the aircraft and help you to the immigration after landing. Remember not to join the queue at the immigration. Just show yourself to the officer on duty and moms with infant/children have priority to "jump" queue. Otherwise can queue for hours!!!!!

NW's timing is really bad....4am to check in, and 6am take off. rest well okie!!

Can bring in Bak Kua. The japs love it too!!!

may i know how much milk are ur toddlers drinking now?

My son (16-17mths) is drinking 8oz of milk 3 times a day. I wonder if it's too much milk for him, because his stools are really hard, even though i stuff(force-feed) him with fruits every day.

Let's share!

my son drinks a total of about 400ml each day only. The rest solids. I am thinking of switching to freshmilk or full cow's milk instead of FM as i find that he is getting abit out of hand(too hyper....maybe due to the milk)

my son takes abt 600ml 3 times a day. Thought of switching to freshmilk as well as that would save us some hassle when we go out. But when I tried giving my son fresh milk, he spit it out. Not sure if it was due to the temperature of the milk as I gave him a spoonful direct from the carton.

me MIA for this few days cause me and ds are both sick.

Are you all busy with the CNY preparation?

Talking about milk, my girl only direct latch on in the morning and at night before she sleep (and ofcourse in the middle of the night). Other than that I do not give her any milk lest the two scoops of Nan 2Ha I put in her cereal.
Am am giving her to little milk? I cannot give her carton milk either as she develops rashes when she come in contact with milk products (ice cream too).

Hi Lynette
My son drinks 120ml of organic fresh milk in the morning, followed by 120ml of yogurt. In the afternoon, another 120ml of yogurt
In the evening, he will drink 150ml of fresh milk as well.
He has weaned of FM and bottles since he was 15mths. It really saves alot money and washing hehe

re:travelling with toddlers
Going to London and Barcelona in June with Anton and Hubby and wonder how am I going to survive...? Any kind mummies willing to give tips for long haul flights for babies who are about 21 mths? My gf actually proposed to drug the child so can knock him out throughout the flight..I was like...?!?!

triniti, apparently "drugging" is commonly applied. My colleague went to aussie with his toddler son, and nearly went bersak on the outgoing flight. upon return, he gave in to the "drugging" and the son slept for most of the flight duration. i'm bringing zephan to adelaide end march, and seriously hope i don't have to resort to that! (a tip: my fren who visits from the States from time to time uses a portable dvd player)

re: milk
Zephan drinks about 320ml of FM each day, and i latch him on in the morning. I think in total he gets about 400ml+ each day.

aidanee, what's the relationship between hyperactivity and FM??

lynette, maybe give more water? zephan takes to water like a camel. he can finish 1 mag mag or piyo piyo bottle in a matter of minutes.

nancy, you can reintroduce milk from time to time, cos they may outgrow their allergies. my godson was allergic to chocolates till about 1 year plus.

dressaholic,
Did you manage to get any rice-wine or hong-zhao wine for cooking? Can PM me the contact/comment/price? thanks

trinity,
Anton drinking milk from cup directly or using straw? Is organic fresh milk cheaper than FM? For the rest of the day what did he have huh? I've run out of idea what to cook besides veg/meat soup cos fried veg/meat etc seems too oily... If steam fish how to choose and marinate the fish?

tingting
I thought about the portable DVD player...but I don't want him to be a portable DVD addict!! Now he is already pulling me to the TV to ask me to put on the DVD for him to watch. If I have the portable DVD player, I am sure he will bring it wherever he goes...

I think because FM has alot of sucrose/fructose, it increases their activity.

cakey
Anton drinks from the straw since 15mths but he can also drink pretty well from the cup now. However, nowadays he has been abit irrational, he will drink water half way and pour the rest on the floor/bowl! So I think drinking from the straw is much safer..
I bought the Horizon Organic Whole milk at about 1.89l, for about 14 dollars +++. Because I feed him organic FM before. Its cheaper for me in the long run and fresh milk is much more natural than processed FM.

Actually the type of food I feed anton is still pretty much the same when he was 4 mths old but now I cooked all his vege with organic low sodium chicken broth so it tastes better. Anton's food is cooked differently to adult food, which means no added oil, salt, any form of seasoning. For fish, I just usually bake them and then mash them and put them into blended vege...so he drinks it like a thick soup with the mashed fish.
Anton don't really like his carbo that much, so I just gave him vege soup with protein. He usually get his carbo from his cookies and bread. Anton so far only has 7 teeth, so I doubt he can eat much adult food...hee

Hi Ting Ting,
We still do try (till now whenever we eat ice cream my ds will want to eat too and after eating she will develop rashes).

Anyone know if we can sent parcel of Bak Kwa to States? Plan to sent my friend some but don't know can or not.

triniti, can impose rules on use of the player, say only when travelling on plane. keep it away from him for the rest of the time. Zephan also likes to hand me the tv remote control and gesture me to switch on the tv. i just act blur and then try to distract him with other activities.

cakey, i do have a bottle of unopened rice wine, and a bottle of unopened ginger wine. if u're keen i go check the expiry dates and pass to you?

hi cakey,

eventually my hb's granny made 2 btls of rice wine for me. it looks icky cuz its red... i had very little rice wine during this confinement...

has any one brought their 18-mth-old toddler to de zoo n they r totally not interested? juz brought my gal last sun n she was most of de time silently sitting in her pram. she looked when we pointed 2 some animals but juz stared 4 a while n looked away. don't even mention about de animal shows.

it's not like we've not showed her pictures of animals from books previously but she still seemed more interested in humans de day at de zoo. thot all kiddos like animals?!

hi, anyone keen to get a pair of BN Nuk Silicone pacifiers (6-18M)? Original price is $9.50, letting go at $8.00. Reason for selling: zephan has weaned off pacifiers! yeah!

Anyone installed surveillance camera at home yet? Any recommendations?

Hi chris

How's your confinement been? Getting bored already huh? hehe...

wahlao tell me abt it mannnnn i m bored to death, i went out everyday this week, sometimes toying with the thought of bathing twice a day, buay tahan liao...heheh...

PG
wanna spy on bibik ah? kekkee

dressaholic
fwah your confinement lady so relax ah, let u go out during confinement! I only dared to go downstairs and to clinic for the whole month.. mostly hide in my air-con room figuring how to breastfeed! kekekeke
hey, 2nd time round more milk?

wendy, i trust her a lot so this entire week was my best chance to run errands for CNY, i actually left her w the baby! heheh

2nd time wahhh bad bad engorgement because i stopped breastfeeding chloe aruptly when i found out that i was pregnant w lucas. a lot of blocked ducts, i thought i was going to die from stone boobs on the 5th day after coming back from the hospital... once the milk supply was established, the amount is about the same as the last...

hi, a little morning joke to share, especially for the 2nd time mummies!

<font color="0000ff">Used to being the center of attention, Robbie was a little more than jealous of his new baby sister. The parents sat him down and said that now that she was getting older, the house was too small and they'd have to move.

"It's no use." Robbie said, "She's crawling good now and she'd probably just follow us."</font>

dressoholic,
good thing your mom or mil is not staying with you! if not you ears will burst!

tingting,
ha ha! Thanks! yah we should post interesting things in here to liven up our lives!

dressaholic
haha, stone boobs... i remember those!!!!!
Nowadays i enjoy sleeping on my front.. something i COULDN'T do when i was b'fg... how i relish the feeling of rolling around in bed! hahaha

nancy, u bet!!i couldnt walk to the lift lobby in peace without the neighbours screamin 'how come u are not wearing a jacket?? wait till u get old!!!!!!'.... better than dying from heat stroke right...

Hi chris,

Glad to see you're enjoying your confinement keke

btw, mummies, have a few questions, hope can share some advice...

re: Mandarin
have you mummies started teaching your bbs mandarin? apart from my girl's name, i dun really try to teach her mandarin. Now that she's turning 18months, i tot i should start..but i dunno start from where lei..any good mandarin flash cards to recommend? start from what first? 1-10? body parts?

re: TV watching
How long do you let your bb watch tv a day? i'm a sahm, so only when my girl is watching tv, will i have the chance to run to the toilet, bathe, wash bottles etc or just take a breather. i let her watch tv about 2.5 hours a day (split across 3 sessions)...i know this is a lot, but i can't help it lei haa i let her watch educational dvds of course, like Your Baby Can Read, Brainy Baby, Baby Einstein, and recently, barney, which she loves!

re : TV watching
my boy watches tv each time i need a breather! And that's quite often... hehee... and he also watches when I watch tv myself. So in my case definitely more than 2 hours a day.

re: mandarin
i'll try to speak to zephan in mandarin when i remember.. :p will try to point out things to him and say in english and mandarin. so far, he can point to correct things whether i ask in english or mandarin. prob is, now that he's babbling, i cant decide whether he's trying to speak mandarin or english! haha... anyway, this problem will sort itself out in a year or so.

re: TV watching
I don't really let zephan watch tv, especially when i look after him during weekends, unless i'm at my wits' end. but my parents allow him some tv to maintain their sanity during weekdays, which i'll have to concede. that's prob about 1 hr plus a day. his pattern is to watch for a while then turn away, before going back at "interesting" parts of the tv program/commercial. and he watches tv program, not totally educational dvds... :p

i also like to sleep on my front, something which i missed during pregnancy n early Bfg days. I only had 1 day of engorgement so i'm relatively lucky!

anyone here is 2nd time mother. I recently had my 2nd child in jan 07. Nw my big boy is jealous. Any1 experience this, how to handle this?

Posted on Sunday, February 04, 2007 - 9:00 pm:

Can anybody advise me is there any weekend enrichment class at sengkang or punggol for baby around 16mths?

There's tumbletots at punggol plaza. My son is there for walking to 2 yr.

Hi ladies..

I'm home.. Lost a bagpack in the JR train in tokyo with most of nick's stuff and that also includes his milk powder!

Flight : nick was pretty co-operative on board. He wasn't making much noise cos he was playing with his cars and reading his books. Other times, he was zzz-ing away. Had to quarrel with the NW check-in staff at the airport cos they directed me to another queue and after that, to me to re-queue in the original queue i came from.

HOtel rooms wise, they were alright. on those days when my hb needs to work, nick and me either spend time in the neighbour playground or on the stairs by the roadside seeing cars or he will be sitting on the window ledge in the room, looking down from the 15th floor seeing buses and cars..

Oh, BTW, lost the 1kg of bua kua that was in the backpack too.. argh.. so much of queueing and handcarrying..

Happy New Year and Gong Xi fa cai..

Happy Pig Year

tingting,
Just PM you abt the rice wine.
Btw how you wean zephan off pacifier? Will he want it again when seeing other bb sucking one?