(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Aiyo. i'm a terrible mummy.. i forgot all bout the 15mths MMR jab.. And now i also need to bring nick for 2 flu jabs and i cannot complete the 2 dozes of flu jabs before we goes off for the holiday.

hi nicky's mom, thought MMR can be taken anytime from 1-2 years? Zephan took his at 17.5m.

anyway, zephan got a high fever 9 days after taking the MMR. Although we were already warned by the PD that he may develop a high fever (cos of jab plus him being around sick people aka me), was still worried when his fever hovered around 39 plus throughout the day despite taking both paracetamol and brufen. Finally when he hit 40 deg last night we took him to the hospital. Good thing he seemed recovered this morning.

Puzzling thing is that the doc at the hospital said fever should develop within 3 days of jab. He also said that kids' fever generally should not exceed above 39 deg. Had been previously advised that MMR can cause fever within 10 days, and that kids' fever can generally hit quite high (39-40 deg). Dunno which advice is correct....

ting, d nurse told me tat d fever shld develop anytime fr 3 days to 10 days after d jab. thus we shld monitor him. daryl's fever develop 4 days after his jab. his highest temp was 40.8 deg!! bt my case was an exception 1 coz he was aso teething at d same time. 4 of his teeth were coming out at d same time. tt's y d high fever. in addition, he was super cranky & sticky... luckily those days were over liao.

oh dear, i hope tat zephan is feeling better oledi. poor boy...

ting ting ...

the advice that I got was the same as vone's ... I think different dr say different things one

luckily for me ... yc had no fever but he has some rashes which went off in 1 day

hope that zephan will recover soon

oh.. like that arh.. should i then only bring him for the flu jab first? the MMR wait till we are back? Am leaving on the 9th.. it's about another 15 days plus minus..

Seabreeze, talk about rashes, nick's got some on his neck.. could be heat rash. I've told the maid to put powder on it. but funny thing is it's always there and it seems quite itchy cos nick keeps scratching it. Also, i've realized nick enjoys scratching his head. wonder if it's always itchy or if it's already a habit. He's already got not much hair on the head.

hi vone, seabreeze, thanks. Zephan's fever seem to come back in the evenings. Like today he was fine till afternoon when it went back to 39 deg. Just gotta keep monitoring and see how. Zephan's teething a bit too maybe that's why fever's high. Hope he recovers totally by tomorrow.

nicky's mom, if flu jab is more important for your trip maybe do that first? may want to check with the clinic first. Zephan also got rashes at the neck and folds of his arms, where the inner part of his elbows are. Believe these are heat rash. My PD gave a rash cream called "Dentriderm" that both wendy n I testify its effectiveness..
but heard that it's available only by prescription.

Ting, i brought him to get the flu jab yesterday and doc said that he might be down with flu after that. But fuuny thing, this morning, he's down with fever instead..

Oh, the PD suggested we do the MMR after the trip as the period for fever is approx. 2 to 14days.

Thanks for the cream name. later i go and check with my company doc..

nicky05
hi, i guess nick is not alone as in scratching of head... my 16 yr old mth son also keep scratching his head and neck... not sure what's wrong... there's no rashes at those spots though... i juz bght a children's shampoo from the pharmacy... it's supposed to be very mild... i hope that after using he'll stop scratching...

my gal juz developed puffy and swollen right eye, doc says it's a stye and she was given some eye ointment. Anyone of you experienced something like this? Any idea how long it takes to recover?

oh dear, so many babies got sick. Please take care, mummies. Weather hasn't been good lately. Drink more herbal tea and more multi-vitamins.

Something off topic
May I ask...
1) where can I get pineapple tarts which has chewy pineapple and soft pastry surrounding it?
I don't like those hard pastry with non-chewy pineapple tarts.I also prefer it if they were small which I can eat it with one bite

2) which abalone is good? Wanna buy a few cans for my grandma

Thanks alot

nicky's mom, sorry, the name should be "Gentriderm".

triniti, u referring to the pineapple tarts that are shaped like a traditional pillow, i.e. the filling is within the pastry crust? Last year i tried this shop called Pat's Oven or something like that. Not bad. Let me see if i can fish out the website for you.

tingting and seabreeze
thanks for the prompt response

I dun mind if the pineapple is within the pastry crust as long the pineapple is chewy and the pastry is soft..hehe
ok will check out bengawan solo..
thanks tingting in advance

going to change maid again ..."sigh" current one is Philipino.

the story very long.. I shall skip..

Any mummies here has Indon.maid ?
Can communicate with your baby ?
My gal is total "English" as my current maid is with us since she is 4 month.. wonder if I get Indon, she will lack of "communication"?

coffeedrinker.. my hb also keep telling me to change my maid. She's been with my family for 18 yrs liao. Am also considering if i should get a filipino or Indonesian if i change one.

Oh, BTW, someone told me filipinos are better with children and indonesians are better with housework. Maybe you can consider another filipino since her main duties is to look after your ger..

ting, tt's great news!!

coffeedrinker, mine is indo maid. initially her spoken eng is not tt gd. she noes hw 2 read, bt her spoken eng is nt tt gd. after a while, it gt better. so nw she can communicate wif my boy v well.

nicky's mom, i feel tt it depends on d maid. i gt v v bad experiences wif fili maids. they r so bad tt i swore off fili maids. bt some of my frens gt v gd fili maids.

hallo mummies,

i'm back i'm back! been back home since monday and i had such a wonderful delivery that i m gonna post my birth story to inspire u all for #2 heheheh...

12pm checked into labour ward, broke water bag and was put on drips plus oxytoxin. (lucas was induced because i had been 3 cm dilated for a few days n there was always contractions but no other labour signs, i drove around w a dliated cervix, jus imagine).

1pm epidural please!

2:30pm Lucas popped!

The delivery was so smooth, i had no episiotomy no tearing no stiches, could pee poo and walk about a few hours labour. The epidural was administered kinda late though, or rather, my cervix dliated too quickly there was hardly time for the drug to take effect. it was sooooooo painful trying to hold the baby back while waiting for my gynae to arrive...

Post partum recovery was painless but uterine contractions during bfdg was just as bad as actual labour pain. i would have asked for epidural at such pain intensity! Thank god this only lasted for about 3 days....

alrightie, will post more piccies in my next post! can hardly breathe now, just had my massage and this time round i m a good gal, the tummy binding has actually been staying put for the last one hour now...heheheh

and many many thanks to mummies who came to visit and made my hospital stay such a
one

Hi dressaholic

Congras! Time flies. Think I last saw u was at least 4 or 5 months back when we met to pass u the birkies. So fast ur baby pops already. Glad u copin well

Congrats dressaholic.
Oh my. Haven't been logging in cos very busy with school. Happy to see good news. Really salute you for being so energetic shortly after a birth.

adelyee, I've got no guts for the second one too. Hee...

Kai just had his 15th month injection. Wailed so loudly until so paisay. Hee..
Still quite light. 11kg plus only. No matter how much i feed him also won't put on weight. Sigh...

wendy,

chloe makes a good jiejie, she absolutely adores him! but when she is alone w her dad, she becomes very demanding n temperamental. her dad spoils her rotten....

lucas weighed 3.06kg at birth. was expecting him to be heavier cuz the folks always say that 2nd bbs are usually heavier...but he weighed almost the same as chloe at birth, chloe was 3.03kg. but blessing in disguise ba, cuz i had such an easy labour. i m bfdg him madly now cuz i want him to build up on fat reserves hahahahha... me like fat obese bbs

hi dressaholic,
Great to hear that you're coping well and chloe is cooperative too
Chloe is adapting well to sleeping alone? She willing to share her stuff/toys with didi?
My gal's been rather possessive of her stuff. She wouldn't let her bb cousins sit in her old walker or use her stuff. In fact she fight to sit in her old walker.. looks real funny and comical when seeing her 'walking' in her walker...
When I preparing things for the coming newborn, got to literally tell her this belongs to bb didi.

omg, cakey same here! now chloe wants to sit in the bouncer and swing... it was sitting in the rooms for months and suddenly she is taking an interest in all her old toys. her didi's toys are all trashed hahahah we have to buy a lot of new stuff like the cot mobile and cot toys. chloe is on a destroy destroy mission.

and nope she is not sleeping alone. so much for the arrangements heheh. lucas ended up sleeping on her new bed, my CL sleeps in chloe's room. n Chloe is back in my bedroom sleeping in btn us (my king sized bed has suddenly become the best buy in d house). the cot ended up becoming a changing station in the day.

wendy, i wanna lose weight, how.... enjoying the confinement too much haahahah

dressaholic
since u enjoy confinement so much, have a few more kids & enjoy a few more times!
1st & 2nd kid only $3k baby bonus
3rd & 4th will get $6k ley!
Nicky's mom fa-cai liao...

i always tot i wanted to have 3, or 4... but this weight ballooning is doing some serious damage to my figure. my body cannot take this sort of assault anymore.... the 6k bb bonus will have to pay for my tummy tuck,....

will change my mind if i ever weigh 45kg again. oh no i sound so depressing

Hi dressaholic...

congrats on your newborn... seems like you are enjoying yourself very much. glad to know that chloe is very sayang towards didi. my nephew keep bullying his didi and refuse to share his toys with his did...

i'm sure you will be able to lose the access in no time....

temple ...

have rec the voucher!! thanks!!

u havent let me know your acct no ler =p wan TT the postage back to you .. if not v pai seh

wendyg.. haha.. u have 4 kids lah.. then u also fa cai leh.. 2nd one triplets.. take all the 3 baby bonus at 1 go.. haha

nicky's mom
wah, what a suggestion...
i dun even hv guts for #2, u asking me to have triplets?!
i will pengsan if it really happens! kekekeke

hi gals, i'm keen to try out the california baby products. anyone keen to share shipping costs, cos i'm planning to buy from USA? Missed the spree earlier, so checking out whether there's any interest here.. let me know? tks!

wendyg, can u imagine.. 1 baby already so much joy.. 3 babies with same face, same clothes and cry at the same time, it's joy x 3.. hehe..

Hi triniti,
try LE Confectionery & Pastry, their pineapple tarts are very nice and quite famous.Its huge like golf balls and the pastry melts in your mouth!
add: 264 middle Road Singapore 188990 tel:63372417

Ting ting,
which site are you buying from? Do a search, recently someone did quote a cheaper site but I think they need US credit cards.