(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

i think it's a good choice to wean chloe off at this time, cos it'll be quite difficult to do tandem bfeeding and weaning at that point may make her feel that her sibling is taking something away from her. anyway, read that our bm composition will change during pregnancy, and some kids may be put off by the taste.

hi dressaholic,
Congrats
Wish you a boyboy for the next one... (i assuming you're hoping for didi for chloe

BABY SLEEPING
Ive posted this couple of weeks back Just a check, how do you ladies put your babies to bed? Im adopting the method of putting her to bed when drowsy but still conscious. But the moment I put her in, shes wide awake and keeps wanting to stand up holding on to the bed rail.. it goes on and on and it takes about 45mins to an hour before she falls asleep.. its driving me crazy! Gone are the days when she can sleep on her own (when she has yet to learn how to get up from lying position).

NIGHT WAKING
My gal also started waking up twice at night (2+am and 5+am) ever since she starts crawling. Not sure if I should train her to sleep through cos theyre still experiencing growth spurts right (crawling, walking etc)? Some more her weight has fallen from 50th to close to 25th percentile.

BABY SCREAMING
My girl is also doing that.. hai dunno what to do..

So frustrated with her last night that it even affected my milk flow when pumping just now.. ran out of ideas what to do with her come bed time

By the way, what's this rice cakes that you ladies are discussing? I'm also trying to introduce new food to her

hi raisintan,

dun fret! sleep training can be carried out safely at this stage already. is there any concern on her holding on to the rails? frankly speaking, i dunno if my boy stands up or not, but i just leave him in his room after milk feed, and check on him only before i go to bed (about 3 hrs later). by then he's already sleeping. if he does wake up during the night, i let him fuss a bit on his own. only when his cries get too loud n desparate then i go into his room.

rice cakes is rice substitute. havent tried it myself, but to me it's a lazy way of preparing his meals! haha.. i like recipes that just require me to dump everything into slow cooker.. :p

Hi tingting,

Re- sleeping

How did you train zephan to sleep on his own? did you use CIO? i tried CIO for few days, but now she's teething, so that doesn't really work cause she will be crying and crying..so now i just let her play in her cot until tired, then i tuck her in..of course, like Raisintan, this takes about 30-40mins normally..i have to do this several times..cause she will crawl up or flip from her sleeping position and stand at the cot rails too..only after 3 or 4 tries, then she ready for bed..alamak

tingting,
Dun talk to me abt BP lah. Later me get ban again for nothing. Hahaha... Just kidding. Anyway, don't ask me abt price. I don't even know how much I paid for those cereal. Just take and pay @counter.

I'm A Mummy
How to tell they are teething? Justen also very cranky recently I also let him CIO to sleep if he wake up after latching or didn't sleep after latching. Last time we use to carry and rock him to bed.

He still wake up a few time at nite 8( Really don't know what to do.

Dressaholic
Congrats of the new members 8)
My SIL BF throughout her 2nd pregnancy, but after awhile her son sign to him that milk milk no more... But he still suckle for comfort. SIL say mood will swing when he suckle and need to ensure with Gynae no contraction happen while BFing... And one fine day duing her 3 tri her son suddenly told her mother that "got milk leh"...
BTW my 2nd Nephew is a overdue BB, natural birth too...

poko, your nephew is so cute!!

anissa.. haha.. ok!

i'm a mummy,
i use a modified CIO, i.e. dun pick him up when he cries, but stay beside him n pat him. until he gets tired n sleeps. that's done by my hb cos i cannot tahan him crying. sometimes when he gets too hysterical i'll come in to carry him, until he's calm, then put him down back to cot. i used to sing a soothing song to him when i calm him down, and i find it useful. sing the same song as u put him into the cot, patting him till he's visibly tired n ready to sleep. these are all done during training phase. now, it's just feed and goodnight. i make him say goodnight to his soft toys, and now if i miss doing that he'll point to the toys to "remind" me.. :p still using the same few songs to calm him down now when he's agitated.

cat, Daryll just like the maid from the very first day he saw her.. maybe tis is call 'ren yuan' loh.

Dressaholic
Congrats..
466471.gif

Hi tingting,

Same lei, i've been staying beside my girl's cot and patting her/shushing her until she sleeps...but this has been going on for months! she can't fall asleep unless we are there to soothe her to sleep..i think maybe because she's still sleeping in our room (her cot is right beside our bed)..maybe when i move her over to her own room next month, i hope she will 'graduate' from this phase..right now, if we leave her alone in our room to zzz, she will scream/cry her head off...

i'm a mummy, different babies have different temperaments. hope you'll find a method that suits ur gal!

coffeedrinker, nope, cos he sleeps in aircon room

Wah say!
Serene U r no. 2!!! Congrats!! Heehee.. anymore pleasant surprise from other mummies?

Phoebe,
Think it this way lor, u would rather get someone he likes rather than someone he hate. So did u have a bonding session with Daryll without the maid around?

coffeedrinker,
Sometimes Edna sweats even I put her in air-con room! She's always very "hot".

cat_tail. ths! me dun feel gd
always feel tired
i'm hoping for a gal this round but the systoms almost the same like the previous one leh
sob sob

re: prediction chart

its always a 50% chance that you will get it right mar

re: baby sleeping

I am happy to announce that I have successfully wean YC off my breast!! Hiak hiak now he is on TFM (just imagine a few months ago I was still 'proud' that he on TBM and now I have switched camp hahahahaha)

anyway I think I dun have much milk left as its already 3 days since I last BF him and I dun feel any discomfort at all!!

so now after I feed him his milk then I will off the light and tell him that its sleeping time. he co-sleep with me so i will just put him next to me then start singing him some songs and pat pat him lor ... he will sing along by going ar ar ar and clap his hand or he will turm around and hug me like a kola ... usually after 20mins he will show sign of tireness and by 30mins he should fall asleep

he was still waking up q often last week but one night I decided that I no longer want to latch him on at night ... so whenever he wakes up i just hug him and pat pat him until he goes back to sleep

2nd night ... same thing but he was waking up less often

now if i am around he will zzzz thr otherwise he will wake up once in a while to spot check me (mummies on the msn will know lar hiak hiak) .. funny that he could know that i am not around when he is sleeping

Children's Day Party
Date: 30 Sep 11am - 3pm
Venue: Bishan Loft
Cost: $5 per adult/ Children FOC

1. Tingting & Hb
2. JT and family
3. Cakey & family
4. ixwong & family
5. vone & hb
6. smallbell & family
7. applejuz & family
8. aidanee & family
9. cookies & family
10. snoopy & family
11. Sarah'smom & hb
12. featherG & family
13. Hosanna & family (13 my lucky no. my baby's bday!!)
14. eileenp & family
15. dressaholic & family
16. Samantha & Family
17. jh & family

serene ...

yar i agree ... i actually do miss latching him on cos i can feel the bond bet us =)not bad lar have exceeded my own target of 6mth of TBF liao heehee

hey congrats on your #2!!

seabreeze, thks! i scare i cant cope with 2 coz my boy now 11mths only

i did not try on the 2nd one.
the 1st one say gal but turnout to be boy
hehehe

serene, congrats! boy or gal also good lah... dun feel sad ok?

re: BF
i actually dunno when to stop leh.. initially my target was 6m, then 1yo. now... i do enjoy BF esp when he looks up at me. feel quite super power that i can provide his needs.. :p only drawback is that i'm pumping once a day to maintain the afternoon feed supply for weekends. my pumping supply is so pathetic that my 1 week's effort is only enough for his 1 feed. though he's able to get much more out during weekends. that's a mystery i never managed to solve. by right pumping out so little should have diminished supply for that feed right? but he's satisfied during weekends leh..

ting ting ...

i think by latching one they can get more then what we express out but the bb need to put in more effort to suckle lor

i was oso pondering for every long as to when to stop BFing but I am going away for a few days next month for work so i figured out that i better wean him off now or my mum will have alot of trouble taking care of him when i am not around lor

i thought that it will take much longer before i can successfully wean him off but seem like he figured out that its less effort to drink from the bottle than from his mummy now hahahahah

it was tough before that ... he see me coming with the bottle and he will scream the house down *faint*

serene, congrats!! so ur edd is in feb 07?

re: gender prediction chart

my gynae actually commented that its more accurate tossing a coin hehehehe. a lot of his patients used the chart to pick their preferred gender and ended up disappointed during the ultrasound scan....but my mum swears by it though, she claimed the chart had helped her conceived my little bro, 25 yrs ago no ultrasound scan yet....

i actually look forward to staying in during cny, no visiting nasty mil n her bleh smoking relatives all d way in some ulu part of malaysia where there is no mobile fone reception *yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy*

ting2, hahah thats a nightmarish tot *shudders*
u cld be right though, cuz when i was doing my confinement my mil kept visiting unexpectedly. came empty handed, and to ransack my wardrobe when i wasnt looking........i actually had to do spot checks every 15mins and each time i caught her red handed

instd of helping out she came especially for the pig trotters, but my confinement lady n my mum hid it from her sight hahahah

dressaholic & serene,
Congratulations...

dressaholic,
ur MIL so notty..all grown up already and still doing funny things. kakaka

raisintan
my ds also keep waking up at night and it's the same timing as yours. 2+am, 4+am and finally at 7am. He only sleeps at 9pm...so imagine he's only sleeping very little including 1-2hr nap during the day.

he keeps gg from lying to sitting position or crawling position b4 falling sleep and during night wakings. dunno how to stop him from waking...sianz ah!

tingting
keep me posted..I'm interested in the HT oatmeal cereal. btw, i think if u order more than $150 from supernature, they also do free delivery and their price seems quite reasonable. mayb u can check out supernature.

hi zaczac, supernature's delivery is only on thursday as indicated on their website. dun think i can make it. ok, let me see if i can come up with one for the other store

tingting:
guess gotta stop bf 1 day rite? 1yo already very good liao... i'm intending to stop next mth..
Really looking fwd to chucking my pump in the cupboard.. good riddance! Hiak hiak..

igotmilk,

yah, now i like the BF part but not the expressing!

re: organic purchase

ok, i decided to try and see whether we can get enough for a free delivery. Will be purchasing from www.organiconline.com.sg

min purchase for free delivery $80. Collect at my place @ punggol.

1) Tingting
-Healthy Times Brown Rice Cereal for Baby $6.50
-Healthy Times Mixed Grain Cereal for Baby $6.50
-Broccoli 0.5kg $6.90
-Chinese Cabbage 0.5kg $3.30

total $23.20

tingting
they got the rice cakes ma, order together la?

1) Tingting
-Healthy Times Brown Rice Cereal for Baby $6.50
-Healthy Times Mixed Grain Cereal for Baby $6.50
-Broccoli 0.5kg $6.90
-Chinese Cabbage 0.5kg $3.30

total $23.20

2) wendyg
- Organic Baby Summer Vegetable
- Organic Baby Peaches Rice & Banana
- Organic Baby Plums Banana & Oatmeal
2 jars each.
Total $1.90 x 6 = $11.40

hey dressaholic & serene,

congrats!!! u brave, brave gals! i can't even handle jeremy - can't imagine having #2!

keep us posted with what's going on yeah? it'd be nice to relive the memories! hehehe!

re: oraganic rice cakes
triniti, what's the brand of the rice cake and does it contain salt? How to use it? jus add water and mash?

tingting
aiyah, the store that u r ordering from doesn't carry the HT oatmeal cereal...

Ting Ting My order

Healthy Times Brown Rice Cereal for baby $6.50

Vege
Organic Potato Red 0.5 kg-S$3.50 $3.4
Aus-Sweet Corn 0.5 kg -?S$3.90 $3.9
Sweet Potato 0.5 kg - S$3.50 $3.5

Total S$17.30

zaczac, yah. the shop u referred me to only delivers on thursdays 2-6pm, which i cannot make it, and their min purch is $150. Unless someone else can receive the order? also, their website didn;t indicate the range of cereals n baby food, so dun think their entire stock is indicated online?

cakey,
i've tried HT oatmeal cereal and earthbest rice cereal. Both seem rather similar.

tingting
Yah...I know. Nevermind, will try to get it when I'm free to go down to supernature which is dunno when kakaka

re: Daiso in Japn
Hi there, who went to the daiso in Japan? Can let me know where it's located please. Thank you

hi zaczac,
I know there's one very interesting store with many stories called 'Tokyu Hand' (or something) located at the Time Square buiding at Tokyo. It's just next to Taka shopping centre. It's selling alot of interesting and trendy household/craft/toys etc but much more exp then 100yen lar hehe... But that's quite a no of yrs ago when I went hopefully still there.
As for the 100yen shop, I remember it's almost everywhere leh... almost nearby all major train station will have one. Maybe can ask around when you're there? But need to speak real slow english lar

zaczac, if you r going to tokyu, daiso is in d harajuku shopping district, short walk fm harajuku station, its located in the first street...on the left