(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Coffeedrinker,
Clarence is now on follow-on otherwise will certainly get from you.

ixwong,
Gd memory you have, eh? *LOL* Thnks for remembering. If you know of anyone who wanna sell their follow-on I'll be interested

My boy was down with fever few days ago but has recovered now. The thing is, the doc said he has to finish his course of antibotic. He started taking them on Tue. Since Wed I've noticed rashes on him. Yesterday my mum fed him egg yolk and now his whole face and body is covered with rashes. Makes me wonder if he is allergy to the antibotic or the egg yolk?? Any idea what the doc will do or rather can do if I were to bring him to one?

Anissa:
Pls bring him to see the doc again. Usually they will stop his antibotics and will give him a different type since he has rashes.

Has he taken egg yolk before n no problem? If yes, then maybe he's not allergic to it but the anti botics.

Anissa
I heard that it is common to have rashes after the fever...if he does not get better tmr..then u have to bring him to the PD

i need milk,
I gave him egg yolk last weekend and he was ok. On Wed he starts having rashes (just a bit). My mum gave him the egg yolk on Thurs so I also doubt if it's the yolk.

I'm actually allergy to 2 family of antibotic. Wonder if he inherits that frm me.

Triniti,
Actually my mum also told me the same thing that sometimes after fever will have rashes. Haven't heard of this though. So it's not caused by an allergic reaction? Wonder if any bbs here also experience that b4??

*sigh* Already brought him to a doc twice this week

re: rashes

it is truth that after fever it will normally follow by rashes but not itches type and this will go off in abt 2-3days. my son ZX had the same situation went he was down with fever.

as for allergy caused by medication, you may want to look at the note on the medication whether did it mention "it may cause allergy".

but as a safety precaution stop all mdication and bring him back to the same doctor and advise the doctor wat happen accordingly and let the doctor comment

Hi mummies, thanks for your helpful advice on cooking corn. I wanted to try the canned corn but then my mum said its not good for Min and ask me to use the fresh ones. I tried yest, waaa.....super hard to cook leh. Need to steam for more than half hr before its soft enough to mash with spoon. Then corn always sell in pairs in supermkt, so now I have 1 3/4 left in fridge. Dun knw what to do with it. Just this morning alone my gal poo twice already, can see the undigested corn. Wonder is it normal???

Re: sleeping in cot
Actually my hubby is the one who has been trying to make bb sleep in the cot. He said its so sayang not to sleep after buying, so die die must sleep before bb outgrow it. At 1st, I din want because i don't want to disturb her sleeping patterns, then came a few nites bb woke up in the middle of nite to play and crawl ard, and end up knocking herself blue black. So that gave my hubby a gd reason to enforce on sleeping in cot. There goes my days of agony. It has been more than 2 weeks and she still haven gotten used to it. Just last nite alone, she already woke up at least 5 to 6 times. I super buay tahan and then threw her into the cot and let her cry her hearts out. End up it was my maid who heard her cries and then took over for the rest of the nite. I'm really at my wit's end. Shd I give up?

hi kathy, it may be good for her to get used to different sleeping environments, else u'll never get to travel for years! how about placing her favourite pillows or soft toys in her cot, so that she can smell the familiar scent? or to pat her to sleep, hold her hand...

re: corn, i buy those baby corn, the ones we use to stir fry with veggies. i grate them and dump into porridge to cook together. about 1 corn for 2 meals. but it can make the porridge a bit sticky, so remember to add more water. smells great though!

kathy
leftover corn just steam & adults eat la! I love corn, dat's why i'm so cornyyyyy. I live Punggol, if u're nearby, i can pickup from u - will munch munch finish b4 i reach home =)
baby's poo can see undigested corn - it's ok.

tingting
thanks for the tip on baby corn... both Deric & I dislike baby corn, so it didn't even cross my mind. Where u buy fresh ones - NTUC? Does Budget sell? Gosh, i dun dare to buy fish from Budget - so many flies...

wendyg,
I bought him to the one at Compasspoint, Northeast Medical. My mistake was to bring him to the one at Polyclinic 1st.

ixwong & tingting,
Thnks. How do I tell if it itch? I think he doesn't know how to scratch himself yet... or does he?? I've asked my mum to stop the medication and to observe for one day before we decide.

JT,
Thnks for the info. The rashes look like those you get when you feel hot. Is that what your son had??

Only the medication for fever stated that it may cause allergy but I have already stopped all his other medication, other than the antibotic. Any idea if antibotic does not go well with egg??

Anissa,

yes it is like those when u feel hot and it will be all over his body and on his face, if this is it then no worry it will be gone in abt 2-3days just continue to hyrate him.

actually i'm quite surprise that antibotic can be given to baby or maybe our kid has grown.

one thing you may feel releive, if your kid is still active and still able to consume normally then rest assure your kid is fine.

anissa, wendy n i both go to the PD at compassvale(?) called Kids Link. Quite good, though like all PDs, quite expensive lah..

if it's itchy, clarence will be uncomfortable and try to scratch that area, or pull/tug the skin there. he wont be able to play as normally.

wendy, my dad buys from the market near their place. think same as NTUC kind. i also dun dare to buy fresh produce from Budget. maybe it's bcos of the air con environment, so the fish n meat smells perpetuate the area. somehow i'm doubtful of their chances of survival...

anissa
Sigh, parents worry most when their babies get sick...hope that day will never come for me...

I think as long clarence is not affected by the rashes, it should be fine...

Kathy
You can buy frozen corn instead of canned corn.

Can anyone recommend me a good electrician who can fish like jaccuzi and door bell or a good plumber? I almost went crazy when the plumber came to my house and smoked in my room!!Arghhhhh!!!!!

So angry that I wrote "fish" instead of "fix

Adelyee
Tell me about it!I was so so so mad that I called the boss (cos by the time I went into the room to check, he has already stopped but I can still smell the smoke!!)and he decided to waive off the worksmanship costs which is 150 bucks. I went ballistic to smell smoke in my room!I literally screamed and screamed like a mad woman!I think my helper must have thought I really went crazy.

JT,
That's very assuring. Thnks! Shall ask my mum to continue giving him the antibotic then.

tingting,
I've brought Clarence to Kids Link actually for his jaundice. The consultant fee is pricey I'm aware. What I dun like is, the waiting time is long and the PD uses very chiam terms and makes it sounds so serious like that. She made me bring Clarence in every alternate days and told me if I delay sending him to a hospital he may suffer brain damage etc.. She actually called me every few hrs to ask if I've made up my mind to send Clarence in. Then when I finally did, the hospital said his jaundice reading only 15.9.

Triniti,
Agree with you whole-heartedly! Now that I become a mother, I know how difficult it is to be one. I couldn't sleep at all when Clarence was sick, unlike my hubby who could sleep soundly everyday! Really takes my hat off him!

Your story of the plumber is so funny! Recently we called in a plumber and he actually turned up without the proper equipment and asked my hubby to go buy for him! Anyway, best part is, he didn't fix up the pipe properly. Guess what he did? He gave my hubby a spanner so that he can tighten it himself if the it leaks in future! Hahaha... Then before he left, he asked my hubby to go get some super glue to glue the pipe himself. My hubby bitched that for that lousy service, he still had to pay him $40. Hahaha...

haha.. what "weird" plumbers we have.. never engaged one cos my dad is the handyman at home. hmm, dunno if my hb can fix it when the time comes though...

anissa, the PD didn't strike me as a kan cheong person leh.. when i raise any issue during the vaccination visits she always say not to worry one.. maybe bcos she see me kan cheong mummy so must balance a bit.. :p i used to see her during weekdays cos i wasn't working then, so dun nid to wait for v long. hope clarence recovers this weekend!

sigh, being sick really reduces my milk supply drastically. i can only manage 30ml for the past 2 days... the other day i went to see a specialist, and he was so shocked to know that i'm still bf my 9.5m old son. even say that i should stop already! I told him that WHO recommends at least 1 year, and he doesn't believe me some more, got to check with his nurse. totally eroded my confidence in him as a doctor..

re: rash after fever
kylie does have this rash tat looks 'measle' after her fever 2 weeks ago.. was so worried tat we sent her down to KK.. but doc says is normal..

juz would like to share wif u gals. kylie will clap her hands to response when u sing "if u happy & you noe is clap your hands" after u pause.. she will clap her hands.. but when u sing "pull your ear" she will look @ you in puzzle way.. hehe.. will try to take down this video to share..

and ytd kylie accidentally called me on my hp.. no joke.. my mum denies dialing for her.. i was so shocked when i answered the phone and hear her "hmmm-hmmm".. then my mum told me, she poos in her potty, so my mum pass her the phone to ask her call me to tell me.. haha.. and she really did!!

Kylie is now very responsive, tink back 2 weeks ago when she was down wif fever & flu.. **so heartpain.. she became less active.. drink lesser.. nw everytin is back to normal..

lib, u mean kylie really dialled the 9 digits??! or the pre-programmed no? but really smart of her to clap!
so nice to get a phone call fr ur gal! zephan never gets to listen to the phone cos whenever the receiver is placed next to his ear n someone speaks into it, he'll yank it off to inspect what's happening..haha..

Anissa
I think what clarence has is called "fake measles" so I thin k he will be fine soon

Argh..when I think about the plumber I got abit mad again!! To think I did not yell at him and have so much cool in me when he left...

tingting
Actually breastmilk is the best when u are healthy and eating well...I too wanted to try till 12mths but I can only yield 120ml a day ( I only pump once now). I seriously thinking of stopping at 9 mths...but I know I would perserve knowing my character...sigh

hey ladies, my poor baby fell sick too, she just got discharged from the hospital yesterday. we're still waiting for the cell culture results. 5 babies from her sunday gymboree class caught viral fever...

we decided to admit her when her fever shot up to 39.5, i didnt want to take d chance...and there were traces of ketones n rbc (signs of dehydration) in her urine. so my poor baby was put on drips and she kept using it as a teether. the needle was eventually bent because she kept tearing the whole thing out. she lost so much blood, it was so heartbreaking.. i almost regretted admitting her overnight..

anyway her fever is under control now, but i think she's gonna lose a lot of weight at the end of the whole ordeal. she hasnt taken her solids for 3 days! i tried giving her fm but she wun take it. chloe is still on tbf and for once, i wished she could take some fm since its more filling....

dressaholic
aiyo so poor thing. Give her more BM la, since she drinks. I think it was a good move to admit her, since she was dehydrated & drips would be the immediate solution.

hey triniti
care to share the name of the plumber? Where did u get his contact?

lib
kylie clever girl, nearly 10m liao hor. Now they're learning all sorts of things so quickly!

Wilson Tan (Tel: 91809722) is an excellent plumber/electrician, I use his services a lot for my work. But for repair of the jacuzzi, triniti, I think it is wiser to get a professional company that deals with them. BTW is it ok to post the name and number here?

Speedy recovery to all the babies who had fallen ill this week. I'm sure they will be their chirpy selves in no time.

dressaholic
Poor Chloe!!Now I am even more reluctant to put Anton into classes until he is more than a year old because you really do not know which child is actually sick cos they can still be really active even though they are sick..*patpat*

Wendyg
I dun think it is very nice to put the name down cos the boss is very apologetic about it so I am going to let it pass..Like my hubby will say , "Do what a Christian will do.."

Passing Guest
I just called Wilson and he will call me later to set up an appointment..
Thank u so much for the contact!!U are my savior!"hehe

ladies ...

same as chole ... YC was hospitalised on Thurs (he is still not teething after all) ... had high fever and croup

brought him to the PD on Wed ... fever was still very high despite medication and sponging

thurday morning he was showing signs of breathlessness and he couldnt even cry like normal ... just could make some noise and show us that he v sad and uncomfy ... so we brought him to the PD again

PD decided to admit him immed into the hospital and start him on the treatment ... but thank goodness that his treatment were mainly medications and giving him humidified oxygen when he was zzzing

Now he has recovered from his fever but still having v bad cough ... and he is on anti-biotics as well

Not eating well and very sleepy most of the time ... how i wish he will be back to his normal self asap ....

seabreeze, dressaholic:
Hmm.. is there some viral fever going around? Anyway, hope yr babies get well fast! Indeed v heartpain.. Also, pls take care of yourselves cos yr babies need your power BM!

triniti
how did u get his contact? Someone recommended, or u just picked one from the newspapers?

wa, hope all the babies get well soon. More power to the mummies!

christina/seabreeze: **hugs to both chloe & YC.. glad to hear tat they are recovering.. all babies & mummies pls do take care.. thr is indeed a viral infection going on.. i was oso down wif flu for 2 weeks rite after kylie..

tingting: dun tink she can dial the 8-digit lar.. maybe is the last-dial number loh.. but clapping hands really amaze us.. hehe... nw we teaching her to pull her ears..

Christina & Seabreeze,
**Hugz*** feel bad to hear tt.... pls take good care ... really not an easy job to be a mummy. i know how u galz feel.... but pls, take gd care. God will bless you all...

Lib,
Kylie is so smart now!!! Ernest just started his " da da da dy." two days ago...so sad... i thot he will sayz mummy instead of daddy first....:| but ok lar... quite interesting to see our bb mumblin...indeed cheer u up after a long dae!

i need milk ...

i think so ... think now its better to avoid all the crowded places and dun bring bb to GSS (although v tempting lar heehee)

cos when we were admitted in the hospital ... the nurses and PD said that there are alot of such cases recently

mummies ...

thanks for all the concerns ... YC is much better now ... can eat better and more active ... in fact i think he took too much nap on sunday that he woke up at 3am to play!! *faint*

the funny thing is that now he is very suspicios of the food we give him ... v difficult to feed him porridge ... its like he thought that we put med in the porridge ... only after we force feed him the first mouth of porridge then he will open his mouth to eat

when i take out more porridge from the flask ... the cycle starts again and to think ... i have NEVER put med into his food

and of cos another sign of him getting better is ... he now struggles and put up a fight when i feed him med ... in the hospital ... it was just very mild cries ... yest he started to show signs that he can scream the house down

and seriously for once ... i LOVE to hear him scream =)

Dearest Seabreeze n Christina,
HUGZ HUGZ....so sorry that this came abit late...my heart ached so much when i read about it just now....hope YC n chloe are much better now....mummies, please take good care of yourselves yah..... and yes, please resist the temptation to go to bring bb to GSS.....

Triniti,
yes agreed that BM is still the best if mummy is healthy and eats well. could have persisted longer, but my weight has gone down to 43.5kg. I think it is wise for me to stop totally by 9 mos. jia you, ok..!!!!! i know you will perserve!!!!

Seabreeze Christina, so sad to hear that your little ones are sick. Wish them a speedy recovery. Understand how you guys feel. Dun worry, I believe they will get well in no time. Take care.

Thanks mummies...for all the advice on cooking corn. BB loves it. As for leftovers, I actually use it to boil soup. But still a lot, got to throw away. Wasted.
Wendyg, I stay near orchard. If you pass by for shopping for GSS, can pass you some and you can munch as you shop

Aya, yest had a big fight with hubby. Feeling super sian today.... Realised that parents responsibilties are not equally shared. Mummy here struggling with bb and family and yet daddy can sway in and out to meet friends and have drinks as and when he likes. So unfair...

Wendy, yes kylie is 10mths today... 2 more mths to 1yr bday.. hehe.. we are now planning how to celebrate her very 1st bday..

kathy: can understand wat u r going thru.. we mummies of cos are diff from daddies.. cos we have prepared oursevles when bb was in our tummy... nevertheless.. don't get so angry.. if possible, try to have a good tok wif him.. and work things out.. believe it, it took me 9mths to get this to my hb's head.. hehe cheeros!

Btw, another thing would like to share wif u gals on kylie.. hehe.. my mum has successfully trained her to use potty.. pros & cons.. during weekend, she refused to poo on her diaper..

sigh.. these days seldom take pix of kylie even after taking oso got no time/energy to upload to her photo webby..

hi kathy, lib,
Agree that hubby needs more time to get use to the responsibility and lifestyle change. When I refuse to bring bb to attend some of his functions (due to clashes with bb routine and too many things 1 day), he was very disappointed lor... I've to assure him that things will improve when bb's older and ask him to be patience.
But to his credit, I must say that although I urge him to go alone sometime he rather stay at home and help/play with bb than gg w/o her hehee..

hi lib, congrats on the potty training! so what does kylie do when she wants to poo poo? i'm dreading the time when i need to train zephan!

Lib
refuse to poo in diaper? How do u know that she wants to poo but is holding it?

kathy
sad to say, i seldom go Orchard gai-gai nowadays, used to go weekly! Now i shop at Punggol Plaza NTUC or Budget, buying fish/ meat/ vege. hahaha. I hv mutated into X-Mummy, not X-Men.

Aidanee
43.5kg?? That is very light!! I will see how it goes...who knows, my breast will one day have a strike and no more breast milk !

re: BM supply
i'm also finding myself having dwindling supply. thought we're supposed to continue producing so long as there's demand?