(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

i'm a mummy
wa your girl so fierce scream/shout all the time. Dun u find it amusing. haha =)

re: gender predictor
wait a minute, how come nothing is said about the father of the child? He's the deciding factor mah. And what mummies eat also decide on which sperm scores the goal.

Passing_Guest
ei, haven't seen annette in a while, now she using hair-clips liaoz! As hiao as the mummy huh.. baby contest she sure win =) Isaac also likes to play with the chain on the trolly... as long as he doesn't eat the bar...

featherg
i hv 30+pcs nepia - u want to try it out? M size, suitable for 6-12kg. Cutting is similar to Petpet, but material is much softer - like putting cotton wool on your baby's butt. I'm at Punggol/ Braddell. If u want, i gotto count how many pcs & work out a good price for u. PM me pls, when i log into forum i get distracted with all the Sprees & BPs & "Huh"s... tks =)

re: gender predictor

heh just wondering why suddenly mummies is so interested into this ....wendyg, you and my wifey the same will mention that we daddy is the deciding factor where we will have the x n y ingredient and women have one standard ingredient.

since you mummies is so interested let me share wat i have gain from some daddy had advise to mummies trying for the second, but pls dun quote my word it is only for your info:-

1. boy

- distance to send in your diver, the shortest distant to target cos it mention that this ingredient is a sprinter
- diet man eat more meat, women eat more vege

2. ger

- distant to send in diver is prefer to be at the opening cos the ingredient is a long distant runner
- ger eat meat, man eat vege

happy trying

Yeah...it is all dependant on daddy dearest. But..never knew that food could affect gender. Looks like I have to ask my hubby to eat more veg if and when we want to try for No. 2

diver, ingredient?
alamak, use the correct term lah... spermatoza & ovum! haha.
Wonder how to teach my boy the correct terminology.. instd of "dun touch your little bird" must say "dun touch your penis". Sheesh

Hi Seabreeze, dun let that fellow upset you. We all knw how difficult a BP can be. Sometimes when I organise a family dinner, I'm already frustrated at the number of cancellations and postpone of dates, and its only for 13 people! Not to mention that you are doing it for 20 people or more. With our growing babies, its really a challenge to try to squeeze time for ourselves, dun even have to think abt making time to organize something that you dun get paid for, and yet benefitted so many others. We all knw how dirty the job can be. Furthermore, we dun have to be worried abt getting conned, as we all knw you (and where you stay
), so your effort is really really very much appreciated. Dun get so upset. Remember, we can always try to explain, but we cant help it if people choose to be ignorant.

Hi sharon,

When are u goin for the GUG session? Am interested lei. AM staying at SK too and my girl is 8mth old tomolo oreadi. Can pls pm me the details, see if am able to make it.

tQ

sharon
I have not joined the Playworkz trial. Will do so when Annette can crawl. BTW I live in Punggol. Did you know that there is a BJG closer to our home. At Orchid Country Club in Yishun?

wendyg
Tolong don't sit Isaac next to Annette on Sunday. He will make her look shrivelled and dark-skinned!! Maybe if they have Crowning Glory Award, she might have chance...

JT
The GUG class that Annette is starting in June is the actual term, not trial. Anyway GUG does not offer trials on weekends I think.

Can i ask at which month can we start our babies on porridge? I've fed bb Kai rice cereals, brown rice and multigrain cereals for 1 month already.
I chanced upon Healthy Times Brown Rice in NTUC today and was quite captivated by the packaging. So bought it. Quite ex though. 3 times more than normal cereals prices. But i think it's worth it.
Then went to their website and found out they have many other varieties. Very nice and interesting.
Was wondering how much would i cost to purchase it online. Will it be cheaper to buy from NTUC?

I'm interested to get the Bumwear cloth diaper. Can I get some feedback from those who have used them? Thanks.

eileenp
We gave rice cereal from 4.5 months - 7 months together with pureed vegetables and pureed fruits on the side. Started porridge at 7 months together with fish/pork/tofu and vegetables. Now starting to give her scraped fruits. Once you start giving bb Kai porridge, you can add in some brown rice.

Baby Jar Foods
I have a variety of Heinz baby jar foods to let go, several are flavours that I don't find in most supermarkets. Ranging from fruit gel, beef, pumpkin/corn etc. Annette has outgrown jar foods. Anyone here keen before I post on Marketplace?

passing guest,
I find bumwear diapers good. I was previously using normal cloth diaper plus plastic pants, the velcro on the plastic pants left red marks on my gal. No prob with bumwear diapers. It absorbs well, doesnt leak if worn correctly. It does have a few minus points...it wears low thus not covering my gal's belly button. Changing the inserts are quite troublesome especially when u have a baby crawling away from u
. Although they tells u the cover can be use for 6 hr, i usually change insert once before changing the cover becos of the urine smell. Dunno if it catch poo well cos my gal no longer poo in diapers. HTH

passing_guest,
I've already started giving bb Kai brown rice powder already. Hopefully, i'm not too early to start that.

I mixed the pureed fruits and vege together with the cereals leh. Like rojak like that. Hahaha...

Hmm... Means i can start him on porridge pretty soon. Will go buy a small slow cooker to cook porridge for him.

If i leave the grains to cook in the slow cooker from 6am to noon, will it be soft enough? Or do i have to mash it further? Can push the porridge through a sift to mash it or is there another easier method?

Sorry for the thousand and one questions. Hehehe...

eileenp ...

yar u can start giving him porridge when he is 7mth .... i started YC with porridge when he was 7mth but be prepared that Kai might start to reject cereal ... thats what happen to YC ... so now his lazy mummy gotta wake up early to cook his porridge

what i do is that i cook it on 'high' or abt an hour or so then change to 'auto' ... i start at abt 8am/9am ... so by noon is okie

eileenp ...

accordingly to my mum right (i dunno how true lar) ... when i wash the grain ... i will soak the grain with a pinch of salt ... aft that wash a few more time ... when i cook the porridge will be congee style

cos the first time she didnt add the salt ... the porride took v long to become congee style .... it was her fren who taught her to add salt and it worked

i know some of the mummy will mill the grain before they cook the porridge ...

anyway YC takes to texture q well ... so if Kai takes texture q well ... maybe not need to mash ... we add in the vege that we have earlier intro and fish

oh we add in the home made ikan bilis powder oso

re: swimming

just brought YC for a swim just now ... he didnt looked like he enjoyed it hahahaha

but he looked q 'pretty' in the bathrobe though hahaha

413886.jpg

413887.jpg

YC looks like a little lamb...so adorable

eileenp
my babysitter boils ikan bilis soup as porridge base. Then add rice to it to make into tasty porridge. usually she'll also add vege like carrot/tomato/spinach/potato. we don't use slow cooker, it's cooked over open fire and takes about 1 hour to make it into congee style. very soft no need to mash it up.

dear mummies,
have ur babies started teething? My zac started teething , 5 teeth coming out at the same time. 3 upper and 2 lower. b4 this he was so bogeh and suddenly all come sprouting out together. he had high fever on wednesday and diarrhoea. Is it normal? he took some medicine given by PD and suddenly his two thighs and hands full of tiny red spots like rashes but not itchy.

zaczac, poor zac must be having a tough time with all 5 teeth coming out at the same time... usually they appear slowly.. think u better check with ur PD on the red spots.. not all rashes are itchy type.

seabreeze
yeah the pic of YC is so like pure and innocent and so angelic!!heheh

Zaczac
Hehe my son is still 'bogeh' but I also suspect that his teeth will come out all at once as well...but I am not looking forward to it since he has this habit of biting my shoulder, thigh , arms when he has the urge to. I can feel the jagged edges of his gums

Haircut
Just went to have Anton's hair cut yday and now he looks more like his daddy!!haha

BTW, if anyone decided to back out for the GUG trial please let me know. I was quite hesitant to go to the trial because I thought it might be too young for Anton...because he might like crawl around and try to stand up by his own with the furnitures around instead of participating in the class.

seabreeze,

Thanks for your info. Will try the adding salt and washing grains a few times method.

He looked soooo cute in those photos. Especially the 2nd photo. Wide eyed and sending love currents to all the mummies here. Hahaha...

zaczac,
Will use the ikan bilis soup base to cook porridge as well. Heee... Can't wait.

My grandmother told me not to start him so early. Said that he's too young. But not going to listen to her. Hee.. Will start bb Kai soon.

Teething.
bb kai still toothless. Cannot imagine latching on with lots of teeth in there. *Ouch*

hi seabreeze, yc lookes so snug and cozy.
I am also thinking of bring my boi for a swim. Where i can buy the baby float for baby to sit in.Thanks

seabreeze,
YC looks so cute in the 2nd pic. He can pose so well...hehe..
tingting
I brought denzel for a swim yesterday. Luckily it hasn't started raining yet. but i wasn't very successful...the moment he got into the water, he cling on me and refuse to let go. wanted to cry too.... looks like i have a long way to go before he becomes "water savvy"...

Hi Samantha,
Maybe you can let her 'practise' in the bath tub first?
We even drip some bits of water from her head to let her get use of water in her face. We also lay her down in the bath tub till water at her ear level sometimes. And we don't bath her in hot water anymore but just lukewarm water.

samantha, does denzel like to stand on his feet? what we did the other time was to let him "walk" into the wading pool, so he was quite happy at that. when he's accustomed to the water around him, we let him float facing downwards and move him around holding his body. he loves it! but it's been such a long time since we brought him to the pool, bcos of the HFMD.. hope to bring him again soon.

hi all mummies, juz wana to check wif u.. during yr early pregnancy anyone hving spotting.. can pls advise.. am enquiring on behalf for my sil.. thx

hi tingting/cakey,
I thought he loves water cos he loves to bathe.
the problem is that he can't stand leh..too short...hahaha. I will go try it out again. must make sure he get accustom to water.

Hi lib,
I don't have this problem, but some pp around me got spotting. They all went back to see the gynae. My sis sil got one mth mc cos she spot very frequently. You better ask your sil to go back to see her gynae.

hi sam, my sil has gone 2 see 2 gynaes oredi... all said the same tin.. got to wait for another 2weeks cos she is nw oni in her 5thweeks.. and both of my sil & bro r very worried.. so i juz see wat other info i can get for tem @ least to comfort them or wat loh..

hi lib, i had spotting on the 8th week and gynea gaveme a jab to stablelize.. u might want to get your sil to seek another opinion

hi phoebe, thx for yr advise.. i oso dunno leh.. she told me has gone for 2 gynaes and all said the same ting and she has been prescibed dsome medic but still.. can check wif u if "walk too much" can cause spotting oso?

lib, some thinking fr quack gynae tingting:
when we're pregnant, the cervix is closed up to enable our womb to carry the baby to full term. so theoratically, nothing can go in and nothing can come out. if there's spotting, perhaps it's bcos cervix is not closed well? some medication/injection can prompt repair of the cervical wall. bed rest is often recommended, so i infer that "walk too much" may hinder recovery?

sam, i bought it at mums & babes at United Sq. think they have another outlet at PS. Remembered it was quite cheap, about $15-20 only.

lib, i was given 2 weeks to rest well at home and advised not to walk too much. i was given the jab plus medication

If you received emails from me with the subject: Can you meet me? Pls kindly ignore. It's a spam mail. Dunno how it got into my email a/c and its now generating mails to all email addresses in my computer. Thnks!

sea, aiyo, yicheng looks so angelic in d pics.

zac, poor little zac. all 5 teeth coming out at d same time. when my boy's 1st tooth came out, i oledi can't tahan. nt 2 mention 5. mayb u wanna chk wif ur pd re d rashes. sounds like he's allergic 2 something.

eileen, hw come ur grandma asked u not 2 ask kai on porridge so early?

feather, u can try kiddy palace.

sam, nvm, let denzel try a few more times k. he'll get used 2 it sooner or later.

vone,

Dunno leh. She said don't start yet lor. I ask her why she just said 'Aiyah. Wait later lah.' Sigh.

Lib,

I had spotting when i was less about 2 months pregnant. The gynae gave me 1 month mc to rest at home and ask me to have lots of bed rest. I didn't though. The teachers in my school said that they saw me running and 2 days later, i was spotting. Hee... I was spotting continuously for the next month. Therefore, was on mc for close to 3 months. Hee...
Just tell you sil to rest well. Very important.

ladies ...

thanks for the compliments ... YC is blushing liao hahahahaha ... he is q cute when he is in a good mood lar ... otherwise he is a TERROR!!!

morning.. me panda eyes again.. these few days zephan has not been sleeping well at night, either sleeping later (9.30pm) despite feeling sleepy long ago, or woke up at night. not really sure what's going on..

also, my hb is going on business trip soon, wonder if i can tahan him alone or need to stay over at my parents'. mummies who take care of baby alone, any tips to share?

Re swimming
I "train" haowen to hold his breath by bathing him using shower. I will count to 3 before I let the water pour down from his head (back to front slowly). Initially, he will blur blur breathe in water, but now he will hold his breath when the water pour over his head. I intend to bring him swimming again once HFMD dies down, and try dunking him this time

ting
If I'm u, would stay over at parents' cos got extra pair of hands to help, and also you yourself got companionship. One person with baby only can sometime be quite lonely.