(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

ineedmilk,

try to use minimal amount of water to boil and use the same water to add to your puree...your bb will still be getting the vitamins leeched into the water

so many postings....

re: update on Cayden's visit to the PD
Went to see Dr Evonne See who is a pd specialised in skin and allergy. My dear son has got eczema on the cheeks and a little on the ears. She commented that it could be due to certain food, but she isnt sure cos there seems to be some infection as well....so will be treating the rash with topical cream and should clear by 4th day. If the rash still persists, then she will send Cayden for food allergy test. She even suspects that Cayden is allergic to Cow's milk protein which is present in FM. (Have been giving for a week to stop the diahorea) well, one step at a time, at least i am relieved that his bowel movements are normal for a recovering bb.

BJG
18th Mar
2.30pm

All confirmed.

BJG
18th Mar
3.30pm
2 more vacancies available.
1) snoopy, are you keen? if yes, you are in.

2)Adelyee, 5mth old is ok...cos by the time the class starts in April, Brent will be 6mths? So how?

3) Musicgal, you interested too? it is S$20/h held at Orchid Country Club @ 3.30pm on 18th Mar (Sat). I can still add you in if you want cos max max 6 mummies, still ok.....

Gals, i will not have access to email tomorrow. So if the above 3 are confirmed, i see you at 3.30pm on Sat.

Seabreeze, your boss here tomorrow no access, can you help to update? thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!

dressaholic:
thanks for the tip.... will use less water and pour some into the blender next time..

tingting:
if i cook porridge, i tink will just blend the uncooked veg together w the rice and dump into the rice cooker/ slow cooker.. then won't have this problem of nutrients going into the water.

ixwong:
our babies can eat pasta/cheese???

yes bosssss ...

18 Mar 2006 (Sat)
2.30pm
S$20 / hr
Yishun Orchid Country Club.
1) Aidanee
2) Dressaholic
3) Angel
4) Skippy10
5) JT
----------------------------------------
Trial session 2
3.30pm-4.30pm

1)Seabreeze
2)ixwong
3)Inc
4)??
5)??

okie this is the list that I gathered from reading all the previous post ... hope that its accurate hor ... not accurate pls shout k ...

seem like q a few mummies are keen ... so we now have 2 more slots for the 3.30pm to 4.30pm ... anyone wan to take it up?? priority given to mummies in this thread k ... gotta report to my boss one so faster cfm k heehee

just to share YC first meal photo hahaha

YC waiting for his cereal

387373.jpg

His first mouth of cereal (made wrongly by this blur mummy but then still the first taste of food from spoon)

387374.jpg

18 Mar 2006 (Sat)
2.30pm
S$20 / hr
1) Aidanee
2) Dressaholic
3) Angel
4) Skippy10
5) JT
Trial session 2
3.30pm-4.30pm

1)Seabreeze
2)ixwong
3)Inc
4)snoopy
5)??

ineedmilk
i dun boil the veg/ fruits... i microwave them! 4-5min on Steam setting.

seabreeze
why u say cereal made wrongly? He looks so cute, anticipating his meal.

seabreeze, it's sometimes anti-climax when u expect baby to gobble up the food but they just give a "yucks" face.. :p but after a while they'll grow to like the food.. but agree that YC looks v cute!

ineedmilk,
My baby is in 2nd stage of weaning so less purees now. Me too, use microwave to microwave veg. Green leafy veg will be around 2 mins and others longer. Then after that will use the sieve to press thru or fork to mesh potato/carrot & add them into porridge. Sometimes if I am cooking veg soup, will take out some & mesh into her porridge too.

Seabreeze,
YC is eating very well.

seabreeze, yicheng looks so cute waiting 4 his cereal.

wendy, decided nt 2 take up ur offer liao. tks. paiseh... slept early last nite coz i still gt migrane. argh... mus b d stress tt i m hving these days.

hi ixwong, smallbell,temple,
I guess I can take leave on 24 Mar Fri as well

ixwong,what time are you preparing HW's food and we can dropby to see? Can teach/'demo' how to make porridge for bb as well? Currently MIL only give my gal porridge abt 2 times per week cos she says better to rotate btw porridge and cereal so that she won't get bore to the taste. I think now I'm the one who gets bore always feeding her only cereal during weekend hehe...

need to check with you ger has anyone of your ds start calling mama or any of your family member yet...cos wifey has a friend who has a kid born on the national day (like smallbell) can do that liao....so just wondering is this normal or my son just too slow....from a worried mummy

vone,
Take gd care of yorself. TGIF so tomorrow can rest for a while.

JT,
Edna has been calling "mama" for fun, not really meant to call me. U dun worry too much, cos every baby develops differently.

cakey/small bell/temple
Ok, 24 Mar Friday is on! How about 11am+? If u want, lunch at my place and then we can trial some new bb food receipes. But hor, be forewarned that my place carpark not v convenient and my flat is not on lift level. Do u all mind? Else we can also go another mummy's place, I'm ok with anything.

Lib, u wanna join us?

Cakey
HJ taking only 1 solid meal a day huh? Maybe u can increase to 2. Haowen is now taking solids for lunch and dinner, so one meal cereal, one meal porridge.

ixwong, me wanna me wanna! u stay in yishun right? its pretty near my place. y carpark not convenient ne? not enuff lots or must walk some distance?

JT,
Elizabeth is born on 15 Aug but she still can't call anyone..... she just makes lots of sounds but no vowels or anything that sounds like ma or pa... So your boy is not the only one... I am waiting and waiting for her to call me.....

seabreeze:
YC very cute.... he clasped his hands together like so eager and waiting to have his first cereal meal! Oh yeah, u may want to get a plastic bib for YC.. easier to clean than those cloth ones. Its gonna get messy!

cat tail/wendyg:
hmm.. maybe i shall try microwaving the veg next time.. altho i better not tell my mom cos she thinks microwaved food is bad for health!!

wendyg:
u want some petite maim yoghurt? banana and vanilla? Can give 2 tubs to isaac to try cos the pack comes in 4 tubs. Eliz def can't finish.....

hi ixwong,
OK 24Mar 11am+ I go apply leave later on

Ya HJ only 1 solid per day.. I peisah to ask MIL to go thru trouble to cook porridge everyday so I leave it up to her lor... Also MIL gave her very big bowl of cereal each time so I think better don't increase to 2 times. Yr bbsitter cook porridge for HW everyday?

I'm coming with bb only so most probably will take cab (although we're only a few blks away :p). No courage to take bus yet hehee... Mine also not on lift level hence won't be bringing stroller.

cattail/i need milk,

thnks for the advice which will advise wifey that ZX is not abnormal/or slow.... but he does make a lot of noise which we can't make up wat it is....haha.

one consulation which we found out last nite is that he can start to drink milk on his own and we have can start to leave him and do our own stuff liao

mummies ...

thanks for the compliments ... yar he look q cute most of the time except when he starts to cry and be cranky *faint*

he actually can eat q well from the spoon and not v messy ... but its the mummy here who cant really feed him well hahaha .. i saw the way my mum does it ... wow fast n neat ... gotta practise more man

wendyg ...

oh i put too much milk so end up he was like 'eating' milk from spoon hahahaha ...

i need milk ...

really ar ... all his bibs are passed down from my fren ... actually now v tempted to shop for some nice bibs for him but my hubby told me no need ... since he got q a lot hand-me-down bibs ... hmmm maybe i just go and get 1 nice plastic one so tat i can use it when i bring him out ...

re: 24 march gathering

aiya cant join ler ... got a maga event on 25 march ... otherwise can go there and learn ... must share any new findings ok ...

adel ...

of cos you can ... so i give you the last slot for the 3.30pm slot k ..

18 Mar 2006 (Sat)
2.30pm
S$20 / hr
1) Aidanee
2) Dressaholic
3) Angel
4) Skippy10
5) JT
Trial session 2
3.30pm-4.30pm

1)Seabreeze
2)ixwong
3)Inc
4)snoopy
5)adelyee

jt, my boy kinda of noes hw 2 call 'pa' & 'ma'. bt he oni does tt when he feels like it. bt worry okie, dif bb develop at dif age. at our bb's age, they shld oni noe hw 2 make sounds.
c, zhengxi oledi noes hw 2 drink milk on his own liao. mine still can't do tt. he oni holds hw 2 hold his milk btl. bt when he's full, he'll twirl his btl around & drop it. argh...

cat_tail, tks. luckily it's fri liao. if nt, tink i'll go crazy.

ineedmilk,
I oso din tell my mom I microwave food or else she will kill me.

Alternatively, U can prepare some veg stock or chicken stock & freeze as puree. So when u want to make porridge, can add in & that will make it very yummy.

JT,
No worry, just keep talking to him & try not to baby talk.

vone,
I am alive only on Fri too. Hee~

HI.... need one more person to close for this trial... anyone???

Kindermusik
2nd April, 1pm
Cost: $22.50 (+5% GST)
Venue:
Tanglin Mall Studio
163 Tanglin Road
#03-11B Tanglin Mall
Singapore 247933
Tel: 65 - 6467 1789
Fax: 65 - 6235 3206
www.kindermusik.com.sg
Email: [email protected]

1) Temple
2) Seabreeze
3) Tingting
4) JT
5) Passing_Guest
6) adelyee
7) rayray
8) coffeedrinker
9) skippy10
10)

jt, dun worry abt ur baby's development.. they progress at v different rates from other babies of their age, and they are all normal! you will note that PDs always qualify that there is a wide range of acceptable progress rates for babies. my boy started to mouth vowel "ma" n "miu - which i think is for milk la", but only when he's desparate! dun fret ok?

to develop their various skills, we need to introduce them, e.g. letting them hold the bottle, even though it may result in spills, give them time to practice crawling, talking to them (letting them see ur mouth movements), pointing things out to them, etc. need not be too conscious about this.. i started talking all these to my boy cos i ran out of things to talk about! so sometimes when i see him staring at certain items i tell him what it is, and describe to him. think 99% of the info prob doesnt register in his mind though.. :p

TGIF!

cat_tail, *high 5*, me aso. hehehe...

jt, u r welcome.

ting, i agree wif u. tt's y i buy d bumper mat so tt he can practise his crawling. tink hb is going 2 kill me when he noes abt it. hahaha...

wow! yr bbs r really advanced ah? can call pa pa, mama n milk? mine can only ah n hmmm ...

tingting's rite. we used to spoon-feed my dd1 few yrs ago when she refused milk fm bottle n we count out loud (to distract her) with every spoon we fed. when she learnt to talk, she suddenly could count from 1 - 10. amazing! juz keep talkin to them. they may seemed blur when they 1st hear the word but after repetition, they'll surprise u with the word when u least expext it. we talked to dd1 lots when she was younger so now she's pretty talkative.

really thnks for the info and advise which i will definitely relay to wifey abt it.

just to share some info with you mummies...in 'today' newspaper there is a page that carrefour is having offer for baby stuff...and also an additional 5dollar discount if purchase 60dollar in a single receipt. quite good deal. n if you are POSB everyday card a further additional 5%rebate

vone, u bought the mat without discussing w your hb arh? wah, that's brave of you!

re: language
does anyone know how to help babies become bilingual? maybe not equally proficient, but i would like zephan to speak Mandarin with ease at least. now i'm trying to converse with him in Mandarin, but sometimes i lapse n speak in English instead. Will he get confused? How about saying a noun in 2 languages? e.g. say "mao" after "cat".

jh, hey, tt's a veri gd idea. will do tt when i feed my boy. tks.

jt, tks 4 d lobang. m going shopping later liao. hehe...

ting, ya lor. hehe... actually i did tell him tt i wan 2 buy d mat, his reply was tt it's a waste of $$. bt after seeing hw poor thing my boy was as he gt no space 2 practice his crawling, i decided 2 go ahead & buy it. oh, tt's aso after he fell fr my bed when he was crawling.

re: Montessori

A lot has been said about the Montessori method, and many childcare groups are also implementing this. But do you know what is the Montessori method? You can find out more at this website: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montessori_method#Origin

my MIL advocates the montessori method. in fact, she taught my BIL using this method while he was still a baby (that's over 30 yrs ago!), and she firmly believes that it gave him a firm foundation to independent learning.

anyway, Montessori can be implemented at v low cost at home. Can do some reading up on your own n start right away.

this method actually reminds me of the school described in the book "Toto Chan - the little girl by the window". I really salute the principal for the kind of learning environment he created for the children. How i wish such a school system exists in Singapore! The book is a good read..

tingting & vone,

haha...finally decided to give in to my temptation to buy the bumper mat...without my hubby knowledge also...cannot let him know the price lah...hahaha...hopefully it would be good investment lor....dun care liao lah using my own $$...
looking forward to receiving it at my office...

re:language
i just converse with my boi in both Eng and Mandarin leh...but my mum who take care of him will converse with him mostly in Mandarin...then my MIL in dialect hope he will not be confuse... :p

Yesterday bought him for his 5th mth jab...finally after delay cos he was sick for couple of weeks liao...he weighed 8.1kg and 63cm...will be 6 mths on 22 mar...was having fever this morning...hope will recover soon...intending to start giving him porridge next mth...so excited...hope he like it...think he getting sick of cereal liao...sometimes refuse to open his mouth to eat...
kao_frustrated.gif

Seabreeze,
YC looks so cute as if he can't wait to try out his cereal.

ineedmilk,
I didn't know that 6-7 months old baby can eat yogurt. If so, what brand to buy?

tingting,
have u tried out the Montessori method with Zephan?

ixwong,
I'm on 1/2 day leave on 24 Mar, can leave office at 1130am. Can I pop over to your place for an hour or 2 to see all the cute babies and also learn how to cook bb porridge? But I won't b bringing Zac cos I'm gg over straight after work.

HI.... need one more person to close for this trial... anyone, anyone, anyone....???

Kindermusik
2nd April, 1pm
Cost: $22.50 (inclusive of 5% GST)
Venue:
Tanglin Mall Studio
163 Tanglin Road
#03-11B Tanglin Mall
Singapore 247933
Tel: 65 - 6467 1789
Fax: 65 - 6235 3206
www.kindermusik.com.sg
Email: [email protected]

1) Temple
2) Seabreeze
3) Tingting
4) JT
5) Passing_Guest
6) adelyee
7) rayray
8) coffeedrinker
9) skippy10
10)

Do you let bb crawl on the floor? Currently my gal is crawling on the floor (marble) w/o any mat or mattress leh.. She likes to crawl everywhere, no mat or mattress is big enuff for her.. Abit heartache but no choice cos she's at MIL place. At home I'll usually let her crawl on my bed but got to always be beside her.

ting, i luv d book!!
if oni sg gt such a system.

shao yen, hehe... u r another 1. bt hw r u going 2 bring it back hm??

cakey, i dun let my boy crawl on d floor leh. a bit bu she de. so i let him crawl on d sofa or my bed. bt d space is ltd.

cakey, vone, ur kiddos already started crawling arh? so fun! hehe.. mine still reluctant to crawl. put him on all fours he just grumble grumble. i tell him, he might as well just start walking straight away lah.. :p

vone, the book v v nice hor? i read it many many times already!

zaczac, haven't started zephan on montessori yet. planning to go down to the library one day to check out the books. just went to the nlb online catalogue.. almost all the books on montessori are on loan! wow... so now can only surf for info on the internet. think i won't be following the methods strictly.. will just apply the principles.

hi tingting,
My gal is crawling on tummy the leopard style not on knees yet.. But she can crawl very fast leh esp when chasing after something. She's so fanstinated abt crawling that she refuse to learn how to sit! When put her in sitting position to practise balancing she'll just lean forward and want to get away crawling.. like that i wonder when she'll ever sit leh...
Yr ds better don't learn to crawl so soon... when changing diaper for my dd not only she'll flip, she'll crawl away too! Really a struggle to change her.

vone,

ya...cheers
...think the mat come in a bag leh..but dun know how heavy...will check with the lady when she call for delivery lor...if too heavy then will probably ask them to deliver to my home...if hubby ask abt it...will act blur and tell a white lie abt the price lah...