(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Seabreeze,
you mention that can collect at jurong. Where exactly at jurong har? I may want to consider collection there if can arrange weekend collection.

tingting, agreed. we can try asking them to take a group photo after the class

wendyg,
just saw ur msg....wah....u hur.....sabo me....sigh....indeed sian be a sahm...but also not easy...i really "pei fu" those sahm can tahan for so long...

as for the organiser, i wld luv too...but i scare later i mess up everything...think seabreeze still the best ONE!! seabreese, WE WANT YOU! WE WANT YOU!

tingting,

ya lor...dun know whether to spend the $$ or not leh on the bumper mat...if hubby know the price..he will surely say i siao huh...100+ for a piece of mat...still considering leh....how abt u??

i also haven't discussed w hb.. think he'll flip too.. :p he already think it's not necessary to buy the leapfrog.. what more a piece of rubber! aiyah, i'm in 2 minds. maybe i'll hold on till the closing date. still got 2 days to consider.. :p

btw, i sent u an email on the pooh cushion.

i just went to my MIL place and realise that she has not been sterilising my girl's bottle teats and bottles (basically everything). She say she use Pigeon washing detergent + rinse with hot water is good enough. At first i thot she didn't want to use the electric steriliser so i asked her issit she boil in hot water for 10mins? She said.. nope, she just rinse in hot water. And keep the bottles in the fridge. And then later she go and tell Elizabeth... "see yr mummy so confused why i never sterlised anything and you got no diarrhea?" ARGH. Quite angry with her again. Always don't listen to instructions... this woman wanna wait till got problem then she will listen.

So mummies, when are we supposed to stop sterilising stuff? Cos its true that my girl didn't lao sai even tho my MIL didn't sterilise.

I need milk
I think it is quite imp to sterilise the bottles and teats till she is one year old. I mean what if your MIL happens to be sick or anyone in the family happens to be sick? I don't think it will be enough to just use hot water and rinse the bottle to kill any potential viruses which may land on the bottles. Also preferbly use tongs to handle the teats so it will be really clean...

I mean once in a while I do also use hot water to rinse but that is when I am using the same bottle after feeding to put some water for Anton to drink...

But I think if your mil says that it is not neccessary to sterilise, there is nothing for you to do since you cannot monitor her at all times.

ineedmilk
heard 1 yr, but some say 6 months...
i'm still sterilising pump & bottles & teats, but as for feeding bowl/ ice cubes etc, i'll just wash clean - din even use hot water =P
what did louis say about that? How's the cereal/ porridge issue?

i hate it when people ask babies qstns when they're actually targetting at the Mummy. I will still answer as though they asked me direct, make them look a bit silly...

samamtha
how's denzel?

erm, i've actually stopped sterilising everything. only once in a while i'll use hot water for the pump. After 6 months, baby starts to develop their own immune system. While still important to keep environment reasonably clean, a bit of "dirty-ness" can help build a stronger immune system. That's why not good to keep them in a sterile environment for long.

If you're storing BM for longer periods, better to sterilise, but if for immediate/short term consumption, not necessary cos BM discourages bacteria growth.

ineedmilk, but i think your underlying problem is that ur MIL doesn't listen to your views. As a preemie baby suppose eliz should use sterilised bottles n feeding equipment for a longer period of time. Hope things will get better for you. Any chance of getting a babysitter instead?

ineedmilk..

MIL is like that one lor. is better that u dun tell her u dun like it. Let your hubby talk to her.

I also used to face the same problem. my MIL worst. She told me because she like it and it have to be like that.

tingting
the Wonderbox website is very very tempting!! But i keep looking at the price... *hiak*
Did u buy enuf for free delivery?

triniti:
u have a point on pple being sick part.. my hb will tell MIL to sterilise esp since HFM disease is still common. But whether a not she will listen is another thing...... this is one of those times when i wish i am a SAHM!!!

wendyg:
i didn't want to pick up a fight with her so i pretended i didnt hear anything..... plus, of cos louis was there to ensure tt i dun fight w her.... Just went to her place to teach her how to feed cereal. When i told her to add EBM to cereal, she ask, why must be EBM? cannot be other milk meh? I reallyyyyyy dunno what's her problem. I think she will drop the whole idea of cereal very soon. Can tell that she just 'fu1 yan3'me only.... And just now, she wanted to feed eliz, she just sit there and put the spoon so far away expecting eliz to open her mouth and come after the spoon. of cos eliz couldn't b bothered. And my MIL was like.. how come she don't wanna eat??? Omg... in the end, i had to show her step by step how to feed... And to think that this woman thinks she knows everything!

tingting:
u got it right - tt's the main problem i have w MIL. She has very strong opinions. Its very difficult to change her mindset. Already EBM is a big issue with her. I believe she re-freezes the thawed EBM i gave her. Told her not to do it but today i went to her place and saw it happening again. Sometimes i dare not say too much cos she will be angry. She's highly emotional n over-sensitive..... if i get a babysitter, she will hit the roof! The best solution is for me to quit and look after eliz myself. Then she got nothing to say (i hope).

wendyg
i also want to buy fr wonderbox. Can combine with u if u want.... me looking at it now!
Only buying those < $20

vone:
the $99 lucky baby playpen (Isetan sale) is good.... my girl loves it very much cos its colourful and huge! She kept laughing when we put her inside.
THink i'll buy another one for my own home.

ineedmilk
if u do that, i think she will still come over to your place everyday &amp; complain to Eliz about u, just like during your ML. Sigh. Come &amp; hide in my home lah.
re: wonderbox
chey, i got enuf for free delivery liaoz.. if u want to ride on, call my hp ok.

Hi mommies (and the occasional dad :p )

Have not been going on this thread for a long time. I have to thank those mommies for updating me on the latest happenings here during our regular midnight conferences. All the babies have changed so much! Boy will we be busy this July, Aug and Sep attending all the birthday parties. Can't wait for the chaos.

Hi Temple
We would love to join the trial at kindermusik, 2nd April, 1pm. Thanks for organising.

1) Temple
2) Seabreeze
3) Tingting
4) Cakey
5) JT
6) Passing_Guest
7)
8)
9)
10)

ineedmilk
how much $$?? Remember hor, Mummy here very willing to spend on baby's toys &amp; books etc... heh heh
anyway i thought louis banned eliz from coming over, lest there's unauthorised contact with Isaac??? heh heh

re: wonderbox
are the prices cheaper? now there is 20% off for Kino members. so if you are getting Eric Carl / Eric Hill titles, can go to the store instead.

wendyg
die.... i reached $100 on wonderbox..... let's see if i can cut down..

aidanee:
dunno if its cheaper but its very tempting!

haha.. i hit about $80 already. V easy to hit hor? hehe... Prices seem reasonable, esp for combo book items. but they dont deliver as quickly.. mine took about 2 weeks. Maybe that's why they may be cheaper lor. They probably dont keep stock. I like browsing through their titles..

ineedmilk, i just wonder why there's always a problem w MILs.. haiz... it's not like they've never taken care of babies before.. if u really cannot take it, be SAHM if u can afford to. Else, pray hard for eliz to grow up fast enough to go childcare n therefore out of the place

samantha, i've withdrawn from the bumper mat purchase already. my hb doesn't think we need a mat, much less a $120 mat.. he laughed out loud when he heard the price.
kao_frustrated.gif

tingting
some grannies hv nvr taken care of babies before! Like my mum. Coz when my sis &amp; i were taken care of by our grandmother while papa &amp; mama worked. We stayed with granny until i was 10yrs old, only went back home in the weekends. So my mum is even more clueless than i am when it comes to isaac.. dat's why i gotto write instructions for her... see?

Hi Wendyg,
Denzel seems better yesterday. He drank a bit of barley water. We finally managed to find something he wishes to drink. Thank god!
Haven't tried glucose though cos MIL say don't try too many things at one go.
We have sent his stool for analysis to see what infection he has. Today, not drinking much milk as usual and he wakes up at 5+ not for milk leh... sleep seems very disturbed. Dunno whether he is in pain??

Tingting,
Did he see the mat at seabreeze house? My hubby saw the mat and say he wants to buy it. I told him the price then he says go ahead.
But me still heartpain cos we spend a bomb (near to 400 liao since last week) on bringing him to see pd and now still wana spend 100+ on mat...like money falling from sky like that.

Ineedmilk, the old folks generally thinks that rinse with hot water ok liao. My SIL is also doing that and has been doing that since her dd is 2 months old. her philosophy is that if everything also so clean, how to build up immunity? hahaha... well, her dd is pretty strong now...coming to 4 mths soon

I'm from the Apr MTB thread. I'm looking for a confinement lady in apr jus wondering any of u mummies here hav any recommendation for 1?

samantha, yah, he did. that time i told him it's a hundred-dollar mat n i think he got this incredulous look on his face.. haha.. i'm also a bit reluctant to spend lah, cos recently been buying big ticket items e.g. exersaucer, play yard, his books.. then yesterday i just bought a "walk n ride" toy for him.. :p

wendy, when isaac poos a few times each day, was it soft n watery or normal pastey type? yest zephan pooed 3 times woh, but they seem normal leh..

re: immune system
although i tend to be more clean conscious than my hb, i also subscribe to the theory of "a little dirt boosts the immune system". But cannot be too extreme also lah.

Anyone still keen to join. we must get minimum 10 persons to get this price (not attractive though). If not, then probably will cancel it.

Kindermusik
2nd April, 1pm
Cost: $22.50 (+5% GST)
Venue:
Tanglin Mall Studio
163 Tanglin Road
#03-11B Tanglin Mall
Singapore 247933
Tel: 65 - 6467 1789
Fax: 65 - 6235 3206
www.kindermusik.com.sg
Email: [email protected]

1) Temple
2) Seabreeze
3) Tingting
4) Cakey
5) JT
6) Passing_Guest
7)
8)
9)
10)

shao yen, dun tink d urine will leak if d diapers r worn properly. bt i agree wtt wearing d pull ups will b easily. i m like fighting a war eveeytime i change my boy's diaper.
kao_frustrated.gif

skippy, wah, u r so shiok 2 b a sahm. so u planning 2 get another job??

ting, my boy's poo is harder nw aso. tink it's due 2 d cereal tt he's eating. dun worry okie, jus let zephan drink more water k. hehe... ur idea of a photographer at d mega gathering sounds gd. aiyo... zephan looks veri gd in d jacket.

aidanee, u starting wk oledi?? btw, hw's cayden nw??

triniti, ur hb is veri funny leh. help anton 2 assess his potential galfrens. anton is so cute. tink he tinks tt his potty is a drum.

sam, hw's denzel nw??

angel, wah... it's veri nice, bt veri ex.

i need milk, ya, it's d same co as drypers. so far, i m quite happi with it. guess i belong 2 1 of d rare mummies who gt no complains abt drypers.
oh, then i must really try 2 make a trip down oledi. been so busy wif wk recently.

anissa, dun worry, u r nt d oni 1. me aso hvn't set up a plc 4 my boy 2 play in.

chris, u gt internet banking nw. wow!!

i need milk ...

now that YC is 6mth old ... i only steralise the bottles tat i use to store milk and pump once in the morning ... at office i just wash and soak them in hot water

cos my mum place now no more steraliser ... she just wash the bottle and soak with hot water as well ...

but i only more ok with this when YC was 5mth ++ cos i feel that big bb liao mar ... but i read tat strict steralising only necessary for premmies and weak bb ... otherwise abv 6mth just soak with hot water is okie ...

but i think your point is not the steralising right ... its with HER!!! anyway either pray hard can strike Toto or gotta close 1 eye for the time being lar ... no choice

ting ting ...

oh i bought the mat when YC was barely 1mth old hahaha at the mega bulk purchase where they got it direct from Korea ... was q cheap ... think just above $100 ... now see all the mat like at least $120 above liao ... i spread out my purchase ... so not so heartache ...

skippy ...

me chair?? you table ar?? hahahaha ... honestly i dun mind but think my hubby will shake head at me again ... let me clear the leap pad bulk purchase first hahahaha ...

sam ...

aiyo denzel so poor thing ... hope tat the result turn out okie ler ...

tingting
neither watery nor pastey.. it's like a soft lump of shit. Colour depends on what he eats - darker if spinach, orangey if sweet potato/ carrots, brocolli bits if brocolli.
He strains, sometimes until his face turns red.. looks quite cute! But doesn't cry coz of hard poo. Give him lots of water during the day

hey ladies ...

me going to start making puree for YC today *finally* ... so anything to look out for?

going to start with pear first then carrot.

will the carrot stain the ice tray hur?

Hi mummies, have not been contributing much in this thread lately..

Skippy10, welcome to the SAHM club. Tink u now muz be enjoying every single moment with ernest.. hehe..

re: sterilising bottles
Even now kylie is 7.5mths, i still sterilise her bottles daily.. Only if i'm outside, then will use hot water to quick-rinse it or if thr no hot water will juz use it again after wash. Personally i tink it will be good to sterilise the bottles at least 1x a day.. Thou they are building up their immune system, after all they are still very young.. so better be safe.,,

Hehe.. Now then i realise kylie is really a big girl liao.. ytd i brought her to cold storage for marketing, i juz put her in the trolley &amp; push her ard while i buy things.. and she luv it.. look at her in the pix..

And remembering the 1st time i brought her to Mac @ compasspoint, she was still like 1mth plus.. and i hve to sling her to eat.. but now hehe.. i can juz like her sit beside me..

386127.jpg

386128.jpg

Seabreeze
no, carrot shd not stain the ice-cube trays, at least not for mine. Dun feed too much pear cos can be quite 'liang'. Haowen's fav includes sweet potato, zuchinni, broccoli, potato (w milk).... have fun!

Lib
Kylie big gal liao....time flies!

re: sterilising bottles
hmm.. based on feedback fr everyone, seems like this is not a must-do item... i wonder if its becos those who dun sterilise are feeding EBM?

seabreeze:
maybe u wanna start with carrots first.. cos heard start with veg before fruits.. fruits are very sweet.

tingting:
i wonder if i'll have problems with childcare too..

re: sterilize
I only sterilize bottles once a day the most leh... sometime too busy and forgot to sterilize! But at home only me and hubby so I not too worry abt virus when pple are sick.
At MIL place I guess no choice lor.. If other family members are sick then bb will likely get infected no matter whether sterilize the bottles or not leh.. Cos she is more likely to get infected via direct contacts with them (rather then via the bottles).

Hi eileenp/ coffeedrinker,
Actually I took care of Min myself, only when I go washroom or take a shower then I leave her with the maid. And the incident so happen during the time I go toilet! Just that mere 5 minutes and she let min fell off the bed. Think next time got to bring bb to toilet with me....

Hi temple, I'm interested in the kindermusik too but will be away for that period. Any chance you will be organizing it again?

Angel, i din knw we can start training our bb for potty so early. When my mum suggested it when min was 2 mths, I just laugh and said she was too kiasu. Now I knw our mothers knw best. Perhaps I shd start potty trained my bb liao. Btw, I saw Megan at the swimming gathering at Seabreeze's plc, she must be one of the prettiest bb i've ever seen. Her lashes are soooooo long! Look like extension leh...

Re: Expo fair
When I was there last Sun, I was 'attacked' by so many slimming salesperson. Then these 2 chinese speaking sales ladies actually salestalk me all the way through 2 exhib hall. I already told them I'm not interested, yet they still continued attacking me and hit my self-esteem. Think I must be really fat for them to chase me dwn the hall street. Perhaps it time for some exercise regime. Any mums wants to join me at the gym?

kathy, pls... u r nt tt fat okie. tink they r desperate 4 biz!

lib, life wif bb is gd. bt life @ wk is like shit. haiz... u?? found a job oledi??

kathy
when they approached me, i just said that i hv to look after my baby, NO TIME to go spa/ facial!! then they left me alone =) Another excuse is that I'm spending all my $$ on my baby, nothing left for myself!! It also works =)

seabreeze
repeated use of the cubes to store orangey food like carrot &amp; sweet potato - mine got a bit stained. But i'm not too bothered by it

i need milk ...

isit ... me read the gina ford book and she recommended pear puree first ler ... think should be ok lar .. pear oso not tat sweet ... sweet potatoe even sweeter ...

eileenp ...

just started YC on cereal when he turn 6mth old ... q fun ... v excited to take out my blender to use today

wendyg ...

hmmm thats what i intend to do oso ... use the stained one repeatedly lor ...

kathy ...

u fat??? pls lar ... then i must be an elephant already ....

lib ...

yar kylie big gal liao ... me oso looking forward to the day when YC can sit with me at the table and eat heehee

vone: no i'm still on lookout now.. meanwhile.. juz treasure every single day i hve wif kylie.. else once i start work.. evertin will be very diff.

seabreeze: dun worry.. days pass very fast w/o u realising... hehe..