(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

ixwong ...

yar ... thats what me doing lor ... no payment no order ...

heard abt the bad exp that vone had from snoppy ... so learn my lesson liao heehee

think she had to keep chasing from some of the ppl who order lor ..

mine 70% in liao .. waiting for the 30% ... got 1 more set of 6 panel (1 set + 1 door + plain) avail ... any mummy wan take up that order?

Hi mummies, long long time nvr log in..

Any babies out thr taking Mamil? I have a tin of mamil step 2(400g) & mamil nite step 2 (900g) to sell @ low price..

Hi all, here's the article in last Wed's Mind Your Body.
** I hv nothing for / against the use of walkers, just sharing this with all of u coz i thought it may be of interest to some mummies.

Walkers are used to keep infants quiet & happy & in the mistaken belief that they aid development & help to keep children safe.
Studies hv shown that the use of baby walkers can be associated with delayed motor development & alteration fr the normal patterns of development.
Motor development is stimulated by the desire to see & reach objects beyond a child's reach.
By placing a child in a walker, he attains the upright posture prematurely & receives the rewards of walking without needing to first learn those motor skills normally.
One study of children who used baby walkers from 6-12months of age showed a delay in crawling, standing & walking alone compared to those who did not use a walker.
Furthermore, some children learn to push themselves along on tiptoe & develop the habit of tiptoe walking. This can persist long after the child is out of the walker, resulting in a tightening of the calf muscles and the referral of otherwise-normal children for suspected cerebral palsy.
There is good evidence that baby walker use is related to accidents. Minor injuries can occur when poorly designed walkers overturn or collapse.
Serious head injuries & broken limbs can occur with accidental falls down stairs & steps.
Injuries occur even in the presence of supervising adults: infants in walkers can outrun carers' ability to catch them in time.
Poisonings & burns can occur by children reaching objects normally out of reach.
In Singapore, the Injuries & Surveillance Project, conducted by KKH, SGH, Pasir Ris & Institute of Health Polyclinics, & the Health Sciences Authority, showed 107 walker-related injuries over a 2-yr period.
17 were related to falls down stairs or steps. 3 involved scalding, 3 cases had fractured arms & many had head injuries, with 2 skull fractures & various cuts & bruises on the face & head.
Thus walkers do not aid development & can adversely affect it. They are also a safety hazard, particularly in homes with steps. On this basis, baby walkers are not recommended.
In fact, Canada bans the advertisement, import & sale of baby walkers & the American Academy of Paediatrics recommends a ban on wheeled walkers.
Alternatives to the baby walker exist & include stationary activity centres and the use of floor padding in play areas (which can be enclosed) to cushion against falls in the course of normal development.
The most important factor in a child's development is the supervision by the carer. Stimulation of development should be tailored to the child's age and his stage of development.
At 5 months, many babies are able to roll over but cannot yet sit unsupported. The goal would be to encourage age-appropriate milestones such as sitting unsupported.
Regular baby checks play an impt role in ensuring normal development & picking up problems early. For a guide on what to expect at each stage, refer to the assessment forms in every child's health booklet.
SOURCE: Dr Derrick Chan, Registrar, General & Ambulatory Paediatrics Service, Department of Paediatric Medicine, KKH

seabreeze:
the play yard offer looks very tempting leh... but i still think i should get a play pen.. easier to fold up and keep.

wendyg:
u wanna type out the Mind Yr Body article??? very free ah u...

i need milk ...

2 schools of tots lar ... cos find that the play yard can use longer mar .. once the bb is 2-3yr old ... they wont wan to stay in the play pen any more ...

play yard has a longer life in that sense ...

wendyg,

the thermal swim suit is very expensive. taka is selling $59.90, reasonably quite good quality also...

triniti,

good for you that Anton is able to sleep through the night... wondering when Nathan is able to do that... sigh....

I need milk,

indeed the play yard looks very tempting... but most of the time not at home, so feel that the play yard might be under-used...

Hi vone, thanks for the recommendation. Went Best Denki to chk out but they dun carry. Will chk out Carrefour.

Hi I need milk, I wanted to try sweet potato but my mom was agst it. She said its too sweet for bb, which later make them reject milk. Is it true?

Hi Angel, your gal is really adorable! Its remarkable that she can sit real steady. My gal is hitting her sixth mth tmr but she still cant sit up on her own
Dun knw is it becoz of her feet?

wendyg
wow, so many different prices from different places. Wendy can u prolly check the place of origin for your thermal suit cos many if yours is from US then maybe it is more expensive? Cos 70 dollars compared to 59.90SGD is quite a big difference.BTW, what is the brand that you are selling?

Hi Kathy

I bought my Philips mini-blender (Cucina) from Best Denki @ Taka... $45.90
which outlet did you check out?

what's the price range for thermal suits? 59.90 still sounds expensive to me cos babies will outgrow it very fast.

kathy:
i have been feeding my girl sweet potato for almost a week now and she's still drinking milk happily.

seabreeze:
by the time, our babies become 2 yrs old, i doubt they want to stay in a play yard... they probably will try to jump over it or bang it down!! :p

wendyg:
went to carrefour today and was disappointed that their baby food selection not good... one small little section... but i found the baby yogurt though! was surprised the baby yogurt pack is bigger than the kids pack.

zaczac, tt's a gd start. hopefully he can finally sleep thru d nite.

seabreeze, ya man... makes me boil when i remembered abt my last bulk purchase. makes me swear off organising 1 in d near future.

angel, long story. will update u when we meet up.

hi lib, long time didn't c u online liao. hw's kylie??

kathy, u r welcome.
ya, i tink sweet potato is a bit 2 sweet 4 our bbs. tink 1 of d mummies gt prob nw.

emmie, heng ah... luckily i nvr get 'chopped' 4 my purchase of d mini blender.

i need milk, tink gt a lot of mummies went 2 buy d bb foods. when i was thr d other day, d shelves were practically empty.

hi gals, if u just wanna buy a wetsuit, but not thermal, i just bought 1 at mums N babes. about $25. Also saw the same range at Taka (with 10/20 % disc but no size 1 avail for boys' colours).

re: playard, my godson outgrew it by the time he's 2 years old. but by then another baby should be on the way? hehe.. so the lifespan is not that short. i'm using it at home even though agree w temple that baby won't use it during weekdays, but thought it's a nice cosy area to spend weekend playing with him inside.

re:rashes
I was wondering if any of ur babies have like abit rashes on the faces and around their eyes, sometimes on their neck and armpits? I am wondering if it is because of the hot weather in Singapore or is it a food allergy? I really cannot tell

hi triniti

I suggest bringing Anton to Prof Giam when Anton is having a breakout. She's the best pediatric dermatologist in Singapore and will be able to help.

I've been using physiogel lotion (about $20+ to $30 for 200ml bottle) on Megan instead of baby powder and her eczema is very much under control. Haven't seen a breakout in a while already.

hi Angel
Actually it does not look like eczema but just abit of rash on some areas and not alot. However, do u have the contact for Prof Giam so I can ask him if it is a cause for concern?Where is Prof Giam situated?

triniti
Prof Giam is from National Skin Centre. You can check the net for tel number. BTW, it's a she. I was surprised when I saw that Prof Giam is a lady. :eek:)

hi kathy

Thanks for your kind words abt Megan. :eek:)

Megan is not the only baby here who can sit at 4+/5months. Small Bell's Patrick can also sit at around that age.

My pd said most babies can sit at 6 months with their hand supporting them, at 7 months, they can prob sit unassisted so don't worry if your baby can't sit at close to 6 months. Try to practice placing yr baby on sit position prop up using a pillow/cushion. Doing so will force yr baby to use her muscles which she/he doesn't know that they exist. :eek:)

Hi Wendy,
Wow, u really type it all...u r good man! Thanks!
In fact, my younger sister & bro didn't use walker & guess wat..
they start walking at 9mth (for my sis) & 10mths(for my little bro, now 17yrs old)!
I'm the oldest but lousiest, my mum say i only started after 1 yr old.. haiz...

Keyon just started sitting unsupported & we're training him to stand
(like holding his waist & once a while let go my hands, jus for fun, hee hee...)

Triniti,
When weather is too hot, Keyon also got rashes ard the eyes, i'll apply some cream &
stay in aircon room, then it'll go off... dunno if urs is similar, but if too many & redish,
better see PD.

Wendy,
thanks for your info, very useful.

We met up at Globetrotters United Square for tea today. It's very child friendly with a playground and children's utensils. And the best part is on the menu, they sell diapers, teething biscuit and bottle food for babies. Just a suggestion, perhaps we can have gathering there the next time round.

373124.jpg

Pic taken at Globetrotters (From left Ern Ray, Nicole and Patrick)

vone:
when i went carrefour today, still got alot of jars left but not many variety.. its on 2nd floor rite? i thot it was on 1st floor but couldn't find any baby food...

applejuz:
i am also letting elizabeth practice standing!
Nowadays she likes to stand.. so when i feed her cereal, she will stand while i feed her.. cos when i put her on the bumbo, she will sometimes complain. So no choice, gotta let her stand and eat. The odd thing is that my girl can stand but still has not crawled or flipped (only flipped once and that's it).... weird...

i need milk, is it?? tink they replenished liao. ya, it's on d 2nd flr. it's 1 of my hangouts nw after mothercare & kidsmall. hehe...

re rashes

triniti, maybe it's saliva rash? esp if it's ard cheek/mouth/neck areas... try to keep the areas clean by cleaning w damp cloth. zephan has a bit of that, as well as behind his neck (i call it the "sweat rash") when he's feeling sweaty. On warm days, i bathe him 2 times a day. A cream given by my PD is also effective in clearing the "sweat rash".

last night zephan was crying v badly, and we dunno why... in the end found that it's bcos he was feeling warm n sweaty cos we only switched on the fan, as we did usually. after we switched on the aircon, he fell asleep. :p

applejuz,vone,tingting
yeah I think it is due to the weather cos when he wakes up he the rashes will be gone....it is usually at the end of the day, the rashes appear...maybe I am too paranoid..hehe

re: rashes
My Zac also has similar rashes it appears when it's too warm but anyhow I also brought him to PD and the PD said he has eczema cos he had some dry patches of skin on his knees, elbows. He gets rashes easily on his head, face n neck too. But after applying the cream the PD gave, he's much better liao!

Re: Gathering at Globetrotters
Wah so fast u've uoploaded the pics...the babies are all so cute. my zac is a botak from birth till now, never shave and yet so little hair. next time must join u all ;)

Re: Walker
Wendy, thanks for painstakingly typing out the whole contents of the article. I think I better stop putting Zac in the walker, better safe then sorry lah!

Hi i need milk and applejuz,
can your babies stand without your support? Wow, it's amazing leh! only 6 months they can stand liao? My zac likes to stand too and we have to carry him so he can stand on our lap with our support. that's the only postion that he likes, he'll keep smiling and laughing when standing!

Re: Sleeping Thru the Night
Haiz... Zac woke up 3x last night, very tired ah! Gave him water and he kept screaming so in the end relented gave him milk and he fell asleep after 10min of latching on.

re: gathering on 4 March 2pm @ seabreeze place

1. Seabreeze - hubby + YC
2. Anissa - 2 adults + bb
3. Small Bell - 1 adult n 1 baby
4. Lib - 1 adult + kylie
5. Ting Ting - 2 adults + zephan
6. Cakey - 2 adults + bb
7. Ixwong + hubby + haowen
8. Temple
9. Cookies + hubby + Ern Ray
10. Applejuz + hubby + Keyon
11. eileenp + hubby + bb Kai
12. vone + hb + bb
13. Nicky's Mom + hubby + Nicholas
14. snoopy
15. Aidanee + hubby + Cayden
16. Serrich + hubby + Sherilyn
17. moulinmum + hubby + julia

okie to refresh ar ... any more ppl wan join??

SeaBreeze,
Hahaha... Yah lor. We all green with envy leh.

Question:
How many hours do your babies sleep in 24 hours? Mine sleep about 16-18 hours leh. Is it too much?

re: gathering on 4 March 2pm @ seabreeze place (potluck tea & delivery dinner - Macs/KFC/Pizza)

1. Seabreeze - hubby + YC
2. Anissa - 2 adults + bb
3. Small Bell - 1 adult n 1 baby
4. Lib - 1 adult + kylie
5. Ting Ting - 2 adults + zephan
6. Cakey - 2 adults + bb
7. Ixwong + hubby + haowen
8. Temple
9. Cookies + hubby + Ern Ray
10. Applejuz + hubby + Keyon
11. eileenp + hubby + bb Kai
12. vone + hb + bb
13. Nicky's Mom + hubby + Nicholas
14. snoopy + hubby + Nicole
15. Aidanee + hubby + Cayden
16. Serrich + hubby + Sherilyn
17. moulinmum + hubby + julia

angel,
megan so sweet, can sing songs (even with rhythm).

seabreeze and eileenp,
the next shopping meet up at Ikea. When are you all free?

small bell,
Megan sing song got rhythm meh? To me, it's just noise.. hehehe

Seabreeze
megan also can only flip only one way. She just learned how to flip back.

small bell ...

me next week on ML ... but u all meeting monday ... cant ler ... need bring YC for jab ...

after tat will be q crazy for me liao ... lotsa work ...

anymind lar ... we meeting on 4 march right

zaczac:
i still use my hand to hold her in case she feels tired and then suddenly falls. But she's quite stable in standing nowadays.

tingting:
Hows yr first day at work?? Can cope with the pumping?

small bell:
Ikea got things to shop meh?

stressed... today 1st day at work, new portfolio, new bosses... just now can only manage a miserable 50ml!! can't imagine that this is actually happening to me!! and i dun even have backup stock at home! i'd better buck up on storage this weekend...

hey tingting,

relax yeah? i'm sure you'll be able to express more when you're less uptight!
after all, it's just the first day, lots to get used to!

i need milk,
really ar... u feed eliz when she stands... oh, that means she's quite strong liao. My mum says sometimes bb will skip the crawl part & proceed to stand/walk..:p

zac zac,
mine stand with support leh, but ok for if I remove my hand for a split second..:p

tingting,
welcome back to the workforce... persist on EBM dear!

TGIF Gals! Have a great weekend!

Does bb need to wear swimming cap to protect their soft part of the skull when swimming? Cos don't think she'll want to wear the cap so doesn't wish to impose on her if it's not a must.. My gal likes to do 'backfloat' when bathing.. (in the bathtub support by her daddy's big hand... ).

i need milk,
Ikea should have some kid's furniture. But i going there to get the meatballs.

eileenp,
ok, we set shopping gathering on weekends then everyone can join.

tingting,
relax relax, anyway you have FM on stand by.

applejuz,
i hope can skip the crawl stage so that no need to mop floor everyday.

cakey,
where to buy caps?

small bell, he's not really taking FM well leh.. hope he can make the transition in time for me..

think the day didn't start well. at midnight, zephan was crying non stop. fed n changed him also no use. whenever he was on the verge of falling asleep, he would wake up again n cry. Finally i switched on the aircon n miraculously he fell asleep soon. Think he was too warm to sleep, but it's weird cos he has been sleeping without aircon for so long.

this morning, he complained bcos he was woken up (for the 1st time in his life!) by me to go grandma's place. then we were stuck in a traffic jam. So had to rush to work v soon after reaching my mum's place. maybe all these added up to the stress level... hope will be able to rebuild my supply this weekend.

tingting:
don't worry abt ss. 1 day won't affect it. Just gotta drain them well when u r back home later.. Next week will be better cos think u r better prepared liao rite?

small bell:
oh yes... the foood @ Ikea is gooood.

applejuz:
no lar.. she can't stand on her own yet.. i can let go for a few seconds but i gotta hold her again in case she falls flat on her face.. when i feed her, i let her hold my hand for support, and the other hand will feed her.