(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

wow, e thread moves fast today,must be e excitment over the gatherings.

re: swimming gathering
i'm keen too,but duno if its too early for Ern Ray. but heard can jus let them touch touch water if its 1st time.

Wendyg, u mean jus wear the swim pants enough? i saw babies wearing full suit, not necessary huh? u tried bring yr boy b4? did he shiver or wat?

Seabreeze, Bishan will be great.. hee, at least much nearer for me than Parkway. can save on my taxi fare.

Hi mummies...

How abt a swimming cum BBQ gathering? The hubbies can bbq, the babies can swim and the mummies can gossip. Hahaha ... going big scale. Just a thot
My in-law's condo is @Compasspoint. Won't mind doing the booking if you ladies are interested.

i need milk,
Opps, i didn't think of the teaching part. Any volunteers who can teach swimming? I have only bb float and a beach ball. Can also use the bathtub floating toys.

Seabreeze,
Oh thanks for offering your place. So when babies swim, we just watch or must swim together?

Cookies,
the thermal suit can keep warm but very expensive. I think swim pants should be enough if it is in the afternoon.

Anissa,
Wow, good idea. Mummies just have to eat and talk.

Small Bell
no, no. Vone is not the appointed organiser...just that she kindly volunteered to organise the recent 2 at Adel's and trinit's place.

Re swimming gathering
Yes, count me in. Either parkway or bishan also can. Maybe do a poll among the mummies for preferred date/time and venue?

Seabreeze
I brought haowen to swim once few weeks ago. He whimpered in the cold water for a full 5 mins before he started to enjoy it.

I need milk
They are too young for formal training lah. More like splash water for fun.

I'm interested in the swimming gathering too
My hubby had been dying to bring bb for her 1st swim hehe.. If it's at a condo pool mummy can wear anything no need swimsuit right? Bishan sounds good

Anissa,
You very ambitious leh.. i doubt we can gossip and take care of bb swiming at the same time hehe.. Most likely daddies will be busy BBQ cum eating, and playing/splashing bb with water. Mummies will anxiously watching over bb's safety in the water..

cookies
yeah brought Isaac for a 30min swim at 4mnths..
he was only in the swim pants..
11am baby pool water still v cold.. too shallow i think. So slowly inched him in the water.. he was whimpering all the way..
finally in the water, we let him float on his back & play a bit. Didn't submerge.

anissa ..

just now i tot of BBQ oso ... would be q nice ... maybe if at Bishan both angle and me can book the 2 BBQ pits lor ... we got a bb pool for the bbs and some jacuzzi pools for the ladies ...

after the swim then have BBQ ... shiok ... for those MJ itchy one can play MJ too heehee

for the food ... think we can cater lor ... no need to prep ...

ixwong ...

yar think they too young for any formal training too ... let them feel comfy inside first ...

hi ger,

with you are interested to see hw baby swim....i have a video on this which it will allow mummies to understand it....however i'm not able to down load in here. will send to small smell and ask her to upload in to her website like the one done for the gathering.

small pls help on this

hi all..
if the swim outing is on a Tuesday or Friday, my hubby can come along to teach... he's a swimming coach =))
weekends cannot coz he's got class

Seabreeze,
I can't play MJ, will volunteer to look after babies.

JT,
no problem. My email is: [email protected]. Thanks

wendyg,
Oh, your hubby is a coach. That's great, we can learn from him. What age group he teaches?

smallbell
his weekend classes are mostly kids 4yrs & up. Primary school ECA also.. some adults also take private lessons from him.

hi mummies.. wow today is moving real fast..

really enjoyed ourselves during the gathering.. thx triniti for the hosting.. and vone for the organising..

skippy: too bad u can't join us.. kylie can now flip here flip thr oni.. tink ytd she enjoyed herself the most.. haha..

re: swimming cum BBQ..
hey i on!! count me in..

wendyg..
tink yr hb will go crazy man.. with all the babies.. hiak hiak.. u were asking abt the rocking horse.. isit the one u saw from her webby..

wow, most mummies send babies to learn swimming already. I haven't started denzel on anything. basically, now he just flip her flip there.
BTW, anyone has any idea how much the swimming lessons cost?

wah.. a bit 'gan chiong' right? start swimming when they are still an infant? lolz... keke.. but i feel tt.. by letting them play with water is fine lah.. to teach them.. to swim? mm..

but bbq n swimming is ok for me!

cakey: i dun think condos.. will allow u to wear anything else besides swim suit.. remember there will still be security guards?? lolz...

hi ger,

re: the gathering to be done in a condo swimming pool

just my 2 cent worth, so hope the host of the condo will not received complaint when this type of event is being held which i heard from a friend whom stay in a condo that tenant like to complaint if huge group of people began to utilise thier facilities whom are not tenant.

hope i did not spoilt the mood of mummies after the above wet blanket cos i prefer all to enjoy then feel sorry for the host.

hi adelyee,
so we must wear swimsuit when in bb pool also? can't imagine myself bbq in swimwear haha.. Will bring easy-to-change-clothes to change now and then loh..

wow... another gathering! hope it takes place before i start work in mid feb! hehe.. me n my hb also thinking of bringing zephan to swimming after cny. venue-wise, compasspoint preferred but bishan perfectly ok too! if gathering's held soon after cny, i can get my hb to join too.

are we being a bit too ambitious abt the bbq though? bearing in mind that babies get cranky when they don't get their share of naps. Mine was already cranky the other day at triniti's place even though it was only a 3 hr event. if bbq will have to stretch to night, and my boy will get super cranky if he doesn't start his long sleep on time.

seabreeze:
yeah.. i also think shouldn't let bb cry it out cos they are so young...but my hb doesn't agree. Think mummies think differently from daddies. Maybe next week i start my girl on cereal to see if it helps her to sleep straight at night.

WOw, yesterday's gathering must be super fun.. Sigh, small hero didn't co-operate, and slept the whole afternoon.. Hope i can be at the next gathering!!

Today, i've looked after little Nicholas for the whole day.. Wah, change clothes for him like "kill chicken and kill ducks" like that.. He can really cry the whole block down.. Change diapers even worse, flip and flip.. Very tired. Does any mummies have this problem also?

Cereal :
My boy already started with cereal sometime ago. Can any mummies teach me how and what to puree for baby?

Bath Tub :
Seems like my boy has outgrown his bath tub.. How huh? Been looking around for a bigger one but seems unsuccessful.. Anyone knows where to find one bigger one?

nicky_mom
I oso recently upsize haowen's bathtub. Got a bigger one from IKEA $12.

Re FM
I mixing my BM with Friso Gold.

Re solids
So far I tried sweet potato puree. V gd, help haowen to poo.

hi nicky's mom,

Ern Ray will also cry the whole block down sometimes when we change him,but that's when he's sleepy. Now that he knows how to flip, diaper changing has always been challenging, i always hv to press him down, but i find it fun.

re: bath tub
duno how big is your current birth tub. initially i use those red wedding kind, after that upgrade to a bigger one. the biggest i can find in kiddy palace for $29.90. also saw it selling a JL.

passing guest, although me not using FM. but last time when i asked my PD, he recommended Similac.

re: solids
check w u mummies, how long after giving rice cereal, then we start puree?

Thanks passing guest, i will read it..

Thanks ixwong, i try popping by IKEA tomorrow..

FM : My baby still on Nan 1.. He'll only turn 6mths on the 9th Feb, so should be starting to mix feed Nan 2 after that.

Passing guest:
My baby is on Nan 1. I selected Nan 1 cos the nurse at Mt Alvernia told me that its the closest to BM....... My girls like Nan 1 but hates Nan 1 HA. Read that HA formulas are bitter in taste so babies who are used to our sweet tasting BM may not like it.

re: bath tub

i'm still using the one given by mt alvernia. still fits him.

re: FM

i'll choose Nan when i switch to FM. Btw, i was advised by my fren that we should intro some FM to baby at this time (6 mth), so that they get used to other types of milk besides BM. Bcos at some point they'll be getting milk fr other sources (unless u want to feed them till teenage years), and if they are stuck with the BM "flavour", they won't want to take FM at all. Happened to my fren's son, who now takes only milo. Doesn't even want milo with milk powder.

i need milk ...

yar think dad n mummy v diff lor ... my hubby will just look at YC when he is crying away and ask 'why are you crying??' *faint* .... always tell him tt if YC can tell us then he prob wont be crying away liao heehee

re: BBQ cum Swimming gathering

hmmm so how many ppl keen on this?? Any preferred venue ... me think tt we can do it maybe mid of Feb or early March ... prob have to be a weekend liao if we still wan BBQ ... need MAN to start the fire heehee ... from what i have read the list goes ....

1. Seabreeze
2. Anissa
3. Small Bell
4. Lib
5. Ting Ting
6. Cakey
7. Ixwong
8. Temple
9. Cookies

small bell ...

yar either the daddy or the mummy will need to go into the pool with the bb ... but at most 15mins to 30mins will need to stop and bring the bb up liao ... otherwise they will catch a cold ...

cakey ...

me v long never go n swim liao ... dunno how strict is the guard ... they just change to the CISCO ppl ... they dun look v friendly though hiak hiak ...

re: fall down
I got a great shock early this morning when i woke up at 4am and discover to my horror my gal was not beside me!!! normally i put her to sleep in her cot but last nite dun know why i decided to put her to sleep on my bed beside me.... i looked down and found her faced down on the fall (tiles not wooden). OH MY GOD!!! i tot wat happened! some more she din cry when she fell, dun know when.. must have been lying there for some time already! i felt so terrible.. but luckily when i picked her up then she cried.. probably the shock of kanna woken up cos i kept saying 'sorry sorry, darling are u alrite??' No bruises or anything to show that she suffered a fall.... i bought her to the doc in the morning and he also said she looked fine, just monitor for 48hrs... whew!
the mystery is how she fell off the bed?? she still can't flip and how come she was faced down?? not land on the bum meh??? very very strange....
i feel so guilty!

moulinmum ...

aiyo ... so scary ... maybe she did a flip without knowing .... cos this is abt time tat they will start to flip lor ...

dun feel too bad lar ... just monitor her and hopefully everything goes on fine ... sayang her more lor ...

Seabreeze / i need milk,

Haha.. Think i'm the only terrible mother around.. When my boy cries, i just stare at him and tell him "cry loh.. Tiger mummy enjoy seeing u cry" then he will stop crying and open his eyes big big and stare back at me.. if daddy is around, he will scold me and then carry baby away. Seems like after he carry baby, that small fellow will scream even louder..

Of cos when we are outside, i don't do that, otherwise pple will say i torture my son.. LOL..

Haha.. Seabreeze, tell u also u won't believe.. It's the first time i looking after baby loh.. My big boy is being taken care of by the maid and he used to stay at my mom's place until he was about 3yrs old then we moved him home..

re: bumbo seat

oh yar keep wanting to ask u ladies ... how useful do u all find the bumbo seat ... now that YC head is q steady liao ... think its a good time to consider if i should buy it or not ...

i put him in the bumbo when we were at triniti's place ... hmmm after a while he like v bored liao wanted to get out of it and he keep getting stuck in there ... wonder if he will outgrow it v fast ...

stingy mummy here lar ...

re : Mummies contact list
hi mummies, do be part of the contact list. so far only hv Lib, temple, tingting, cattail, musicgal, ixwong, passingguest, applejuz, vone, skippy, aidanee, moulincat, snoopy, seabreeze, everafter n smallbell.

calling for JT, trinit, christina, adel, eileenp, annisa, angel, windi, theresa, wendyg, etc.. (too many to list, so if u know u r not in, join now)

do provide yr nick, real name, email, msn, hp. yr baby's name, DOB.

u can PM me these info. once list updated, it'll be emailed to u gals.

btw,smallbell has helped to attach photos to the file.

So the new file will hv all mummies and babies info + babies photos.

* If i do not have yr baby photos, i'll ask from u.

Seabreeze, not that the maid is good lah.. But at that time i was not too interested in my boy loh.. It's makes a huge difference to be a mummy at 20 and a mummy at 25.. Lucky my parents love my elder boy a lot otherwise, he will be very pityful..

Re : Bumbo
My baby didn't like the chair, he'll sit only max 5mins and then will struggle and cry wanting to come out of the chair.. Think the walker is a better investment than the bumbo..

Cookies, PM u my details liao..

Can I check with those who have made passport for their baby, how long it takes to process the passport and do I need to bring baby down to apply or can I do so via internet??

anissa ...

3 working days only ... can apply thr the internat but still need to bring your bb down to collect the passport ...

nicky's mum ...

wow another young mum ... 25 and with 2 kids ... me nearing 30 and 1 bb only ... ya ... i get what u mean

re: BBQ cum Swimming gathering

Seabreeze, i oso wan to join the BBQ cum Swim... u miss out my name.. hee hee...added in here liao.

1. Seabreeze
2. Anissa
3. Small Bell
4. Lib
5. Ting Ting
6. Cakey
7. Ixwong
8. Temple
9. Cookies
10.Applejuz

re:bumbo
hmm...think only use when feeding Keyon cereals. He oso dun sit more than 5 mins!

cookies & small_bell,
hey, thanks for consolidating! It'll be very helpful for future gatherings!

moulinmum,
ouch!..maybe bb has flipped, or hmm.. u gave bb a 'fei mao tui'? :p oh my, seems like these few days, many falling babies... maybe part & parcel of growing up...

Nicky's mom,
u r 25? so envy.. I'm hitting the big '3' this yr! sob sob.

Moulinmum,

Don't worry too much. Julia should be ok. Seems like she might have learn how to flip overnite?

Nicky's Mom,
So fortunate...at least next time when your kids grow up you will still be very young...Me like applejuz will be hitting the big '3' soon...but luckily i still have 1 more year to go. hehehe...

re: flipping

okie YC can FINALLY flipped now (without any help) ... can bring him to 'show off' to my MIL liao and she can stop asking me this question whether he cam flip hiak hiak

seabreeze: u sure or not.. if not wait.. ur mil will say tt he 'jia buey ba' leh.. if he cannot flip! hahahahahahahahhhahahahaahah... wa lao.. thinking back.. its hilarious man!

cookies: pm u le!

seabreeze, yah lor! very scary cos she was lying there motionless (some more din cry), i tot she was in a coma! cos my bed is quite high..
i dun think she flipped leh.. cos i always mointor her when she is awake.. so far no sound no pic.. no even a half-flip! she's only 18wks old...
congrats on yicheng for his first step into the 'self-transportation'! haha!

applejuz, can't be i give her fei mao tui lar... heehee.. i dun move much when i sleep and she has slept with me on the bed before, when she was younger.. only when she reached 3mths+ then i transfer her to the cot one.. cos scared she flip in the nite... :p
btw, the doc said the same thing as u! haha.. falling down is part and parcel of a baby's life... duhz!

samantha, hope so too.. so far she seems fine.. thank god!

nicky's mom, ur boy so smart.. know how to 'gnin' u.. hahaa...

re: bbq gathering
if it's not too far in the east, i hope to make it!