(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

passing_guest,

You shld add some water to the potatoes so that it is not too 'starchy'. Actually why not give sweet potato instead? I am giving my baby sweet potato and pumkin

Passing guest,
do you mind if you bring along the books u just bought from parkway as well, so that we can see if there are much difference in topics used. Thanks

adel,
i am excited to hear about your stories...

How many husband will be coming for the gathering? they can have their own gossip too.

Re-potatoes
i read some books, they say do not use blender with potatos when pureeing..cause blend too fast, break down too fast, become starchy..best to puree by hand..after steaming/boiling the potatoes, use a fork & sieve to mash, or use a manual grinder/blender/mouli

Re- ice trays
mummies, the supplier has told me that the ice trays cannot be sterilised using a steam steriliser..might melt..just wash with warm water, and can use hot water to splash splash (rinse) but don't put in a steam sterilizer

re-pampers all night

Hi cakey,
Pampers all night L size supped to be for 9kg and above..but my girl 7kg plus, m size tight for her around the thigh area, so now she's on L size..but my girl got chubby thighs heh..

Re-Mosquito Patch

the mosquito patch brand that i mentioned previously, which is safe for babies, is sold in most clinics, watsons and ntuc. Comes in 3 packaging. Green box (sold in clinics) and red box(found in watsons and ntuc) and white box ( from sasa). The patches are yellow in colour. In the green box and white box, each patch has the figure 8 on it and its smaller but thicker. The one in the red box, the patch also yellow colour, but much flatter and bigger. Green and red box are from the same distributor (Apricot). White box is brought in by sasa. But the patch inside white box is same as green box. I called Apricot and asked them what's the difference between red box and green box, they say the same, only packaging and one is for clinics to sell. duh...anyway, each box has 12 patches. For the green box, clinics selling about $9.90..the red box, watsons and NTUC selling about $8.50. the white box, sasa selling for $3plus..so of course buy the sasa one lah haha anyway, just stick on the cot or on bb clothing, but not on the skin. also, try not to stick anywhere too near to bb's face/nose.

nicky's mom
last time I always go buy CNY goodies in JB. Found them cheaper and more variety cos got more traditional confectionary retailers. Did the same for mooncake as well. Now w bb, not so mobile liao, so can't go this year *sign*.

hi hi..
long time din post liao. wow wow..so many mum & babes going to the gathering! Do post some pix!!

re: sitting babies
Alamak, Keyon still topples like humpty dumpty leh... he can sit with his hands touching the floor & leaning forward. But when straighten his body, down he goes... :p

Today, visit PD for Keyon's 5mth injection & checkup. He's 69.5cm & 8.2kg (only gain 600g leh), is it too little?

applejuz, they slowing down in growth rate already.. cannot grow so fast lah, else will become mini jumbo! Maybe it's nature's way of ensuring that mummies can still carry their weight till they're ready to walk!

i'm a mummy ...

so i can get it from sasa lar ... same quality and quantity as the watson type? any brand name??

adel ...

yar ... can compare notes on all our MIL liao heehee ...

carole cum clarisse's mum ...

aiya still no 'yuan' to see your gal ... how come need to go to your PIL place on tat day ler??

Mandarin books
Sure, I can bring. I believe topics are exactly the same. Apparently the suppliers were partners before.

Potato Puree
Thanks. Yes, read somewhere that blending will break down the starch. I think I will stick to carrots, broccoli and pumpkin. Starting on sweet potato, green peas and spinach this week. Anyone done spinach before? Any tips.

Anissa and Musicgal
Please confirm if we are going together on Wed.

passing guest,

My hubby said he can make it on Wed so he will send me there. Let me know if you need me to pick up one of the mums for you. Thnks for your initial offer btw.

Anissa
In this case, do you mind fetching Tingting? Then I can take Musicgal and Lib, who are both staying in SK. Tingting is this ok with you?

Pureed Sweet Potato
Just finished making. Not very successful... Must add a lot of milk. Use 10oz of my EBM, heart pain...

Hi passing guest,

I am ok with it. Just need to know her address. The car is a little cramp though. Just hope she doesn't mind.

Will be joining the gathering... Yay! Looking forward to get a break from the crazy workload in school. See u!

gathering on 25 jan @ 2pm:-

1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
4. seabreeze - durian puffs
5. adel & hb - egg tarts
6. cookies - titbits
7. vone & hb - cheesecake
8. aidanee - pineapple tarts
9. passing_guest - Old Chang Kee / Selegie curry puffs
10. smallbell - chocolates
11. nicky's mom (to be confirmed)
12. temple - chicken nuggets
13. cat_tail - otah
14. Anissa - Jelly
15. Christina - mrs fields brownies
16. snoopy - ice cream
17. moulinmum - donut balls
18. Clarisse's mum
19. angel -
20. musicgal (2 b cfm)
21. theresa - siew mai & pau
22. Lib

passing guest
how come need 10 oz of milk for sweet potato puree? I made it for haowen 3 wks ago and I use water instead (cos dun know if use milk can freeze for 4 wks or not). Used only 1 sweet potato and made about 12 ice-cubes of puree. The puree comes out v smooth and haowen loves it as dessert!

For potato puree, think we need to add milk to make it mashy.

Re: Carrots

Pls note too much carrots will actually decrease their red blood counts. So pls refrain from giving them everyday.. every 2 to 3 days will be fine.

Looking at the amount of ppl coming to my place....it is like I am having some illegal gathering...22 mummies plus 22 babies!!!ahhhhhhhh.....!!Some mummies would have to sit on the floor or the staircase..since I don't have so many seating area in my place..sorry about that

I had to keep adding the milk because it was so thick that my blender got stuck. I really should have used water. Made one tray for baby and mommy ate the rest, yummy... Muahaha...

Any tips for making spinach?

hi morning mummies,

re: cereal
planning to give it to Ern Ray at 5th month. so gonna do some research now. Wat brands of rice cereal u start with? how long did it last? any1 start with organic cereal, what brand and where to get it?
after how long then you increase the intake and add veg/fruit puree?

re:gathering
looking forward to see u mummies n babies tml. its very fast ya,been talking about it n finally only 1 day to count down.

triniti, yr neighbours must be wondering wat's happening to yr place, if suddenly all babies cry together.

wah so many mummies and babies at the gathering.. guess the forum would be quiet tomorrow hehe.. Enjoy yourselves

Just a crazy thot.. maybe next time gathering besides own food, we can bring bb food to exchange or make bb food and feed them together haha..

seabreeze: are u going to buy the same durian puffs tt u brought to my place? if so, can u help me to buy 2 more packs? my hb loves the durian puffs... tt u bought.. so i was thinking of buying it home for him! hiak.. can?

mummies: who knows how to make ma la steamboat?

hi anissa, thanks for e ride. will pm u my addy soon. i'm not bringing pram.

re sweet potato

my dad just mashes it n give to him w cereal.

Ladies, do enjoy your gathering tomorrow. Vone, help me give a kiss to all the cute babies!

Passing_guest
U ate your own BM huh? How it taste? Nice? :D BTW, saw your posting exchange on the CL with princess. Wah, she sure is angry!

adel ...

ok no prob ... will get 2 more pack for you ... any more orders ... 6 pc @ $3.30 per box heehee ... 727 durian puff .... hmmm should get commission from them liao ...

i'm a mummy ...

thanks!! will go sasa and get it then ....

triniti ....

will need to go to ur place early to CHOP seat liao heehee ....

seabreeze
yeah man!! hehe limited seats haha..but some mummies can sit at the dining area too if u all want..hehe

Cookies
I bought Earthbest organic rice cereal. Just add milk or water when u wanna feed ur baby..

haha.. i'll chop seat at the dining area... easier access to food! :p

re: cereal
last sat, my dad could feed my boy an entire meal of cereal without supplementing any milk, but when i feed him he always doesn't finish his cereal n asks for milk 1 hr later. anyone with similar situation?

Hi tingting,

No prob. Perhaps you would like to sms me instead as I am lousy at pm ") My no. is 9125 7047.

Hi Vone,

One of my friend is also joining us at the gathering. Not too sure what she will bring for potluck. Speaking of potluck, I bought the jelly last week and only prepared for 18 persons then suddenly the list grows... hahaha... now also dunno if can find time to go buy more. Just thinking, 20 over different type of food, will we seriously finish them all??

Anissa
I dun think u need to buy more cos I am sure some mummies dun eat jelly
I am sure we can finish all the food....dun worry

ixwong
The EBM is blended so it tastes ok. Maybe that's why the puree is so yummy. My maid also helped to finish it and she is not complaining.

Re the CL postings, I think that woman is psychotic. As if we owe her an explanation. Anyway I just posted one last reply. If she continues to blah blah blah, I will request for Chin Leng to close the thread.

SiSen Brown Rice Cereal with Ikan Bilis Powder
Anyone feeding this? Oh man it tastes like Chinese medicinal powder goo. I don't know how Annette eats it. Poor baby.

passing guest ...

me read that posting too ... maybe she is undergoing some kinds of blues lar ... just let it be lor ...

re: photos

finally me looking thr all the photos tat we have taken of YC since birth and developing them ... wow bring back memories man and really my bb has grown ....

temple,
can remind me to collect ixwong socks from u tomorrow, thanks.

passing guest,
Yes, agree wz you. The Sisen cereal taste terrible. I bought a box and now trying to get rid by adding a tiny bit for each feed. But it's suppose to be nutritious.

passing guest,
I also have the same confinement lady as you, also no problem. Just spoken to Mrs Chen and she is upset with what happened. We shall talk about this at gathering tomorrow.

hi ladies.. my connection is finally back...

seem like i reali hve missed out alot during the absence..

snoopy: nicole has grown alot.. she looks so diff nw..

triniti: dun worri abt tt.. in fact reali got to thank u for offering yr place..

looking forward to the gathering tmr!

some recent pix of kylie to share..

364217.jpg
364218.jpg
364219.jpg

gosh.. Kylie so cute! And she's blowing bubbles! hee hee...

sob sob...last night Keyon drop down from bed!.. i just place him on my bro's super single bed (very inside towards the wall), just out of sight for a while, & then heard a "Pump", when I turn back my head, Ouch, he's FLAT on the marble flooring!... He cried so loudly tt my heart pain.. feel so guilty.

Poor Keyon was still running slight fever due to his injection that day...

Anyone had this experience (hope not)? But is it ok? I tried to play with him after that.. response quite well... guess alright ba!

wendyg, if this doggie kissing pix were to show to the elderly sure scream like mad..

applejuz.. tink nxt time u juz be careful loh.. nw when i put kylie on bed.. will make sure i cordon the area wif pillow & bolster..

applejuz
aiyooooooooo, poor thing...
but babies dun remember the pain one lah.. dun worri, i'm sure he forgives u...

Finally able to come into forum. Been bz these few days cos got to settle my maid's issue... sianz..

vone or triniti,
Wat's the address for tomorrow gathering?

Applejuz,
Dun worry since he's ok. Ya, baby forget things easily one. Just give him more sayang & check got any blue black around.

applejuz ...

help me give Keyon a hug lar ... dun worry if he is eating normal and active ...

cat tail ...

what happen to ur maid?? borrow money fr your MIL again ar??

lib ...

the photo with the dog v sweet ... yar think the elder will scream if they see such a photo ...

saw that some of you are interested to get desitin. i also have some and intend to sell them at $9. if you are interested and going to the gathering tomorrow, i can bring them along and pass it to you. please let me know if you are keen. thanks.

Thanks Lib, Wendy, cat_tail & seabreeze!
ya...me really must be careful next time... luckily not from his changing table which is much higher...
case study for u all too..:p watch out... babies flip very fast!