(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Those who had order the set of story books from me, THANK YOU.

I'm doing a round of market test knowing that Singapore has lack of good quality & reasonably priced Mandrian books and may be bringing in more product to market in singapore such as Chinese flash card, and other education product.

I personally had got some sets of flash cards and am pending to market the product too.....

Unfortunately I will not be in time to meet you gals up for the gathering. You gals enjoy the gathering.

So will only contact you gals up when i arrive singapore.

Passing guest/ixong:

When u skin the food, the chopping board and cutter need to be rinised wif hot water 1st or not? (it means a higher change of bb being sick isnt it? Since not all things can be dumped to sterlised?)
Btwwhy muz u freeze those into cubesI mean cant bb eat it after those have being cooked/blendered? *scratched head* so when those cubes take out from fridge, do we let it cool then feed bb? Hope I dun sound stupied, hahacoz I really have no idea. How much does the mini blender cost?

a few Qs on mind.....

1)is it too early to start bb on walkers now? i always thought bb start as late as 8 mths when they learn to walk?

2)wow..so many are starting on flashcard. when u read to bb, muz bb be sitted up or bb lying on bed is also fine? will have "eyesight" issue or not? what about setting room lights to dim when bb is about to sleep but still looking ard, will it cause "eyessight" problem?

3)has anyone cut bb's toe nails(2nd to 5th ones)? my bb's 2nd to 5th ones are growing v slowly(unlike the 1st big toe) and that i have not cut yet...

hi sweetpooh, indeed S'pore has a lack of good quality chinese books n teaching aids.. hope u can bring in more of such stuff!

my babydream,

freezing pureed food is to save us the hassle of preparing a small amount each day. if u can do so everyday, then no need to freeze lor. i've already started my boy on walker at 5 mths. though there's a chinese saying that bb start sitting at 7mths, walking at 8mths, u have to see ur own kid's development. it may be fun for them to try the walker now... just make sure they have plenty of time for other activities as well.

better to get baby to read things sitting up, else may cause myopia. when i show him cards/books (which is quite seldom.. hehe) i usually do it during daytime. do not let him read in dim light... bad for eyesight.

mybabydream
I do not sterilise the chopping board and knife although I should really just scald them with hot water before use (but I don't always). My "theory" is (many moms may disagree) if you make the environment ultra ultra clean and bacteria free, baby may not develop his/her own immune system so easily. Just make sure the chopping board is washed carefully and have a separate board for meats.

I also allow my dog to go near my baby despite protests from MIL. Just don't let doggy lick her hands.

The mini blender is $45.90 from Best Denki. You can find several varieties of ice trays with cover at OG. I would store the frozen cubes in freezer bags for easy retrieval.

ixwong
We can always organise smaller group meetings another time :p

HI mummies,
Sianz... am still working although it's Sat.

mybabydreams,

1) Dun have to follow so strictly on recommendation. As long as baby is sitting up well with support, and of cos with supervision, it shouldn't be a problem to put them on walker. Last time when we are still babies, do you think your mothers also follow the book?

2) I let my baby sit up when I read books or flashcards.

3) Ya, I have cut all my baby's toe & finger nails already. If u buay zhai, then do it when they are asleep.

Hi Tingting,

I'm still looking into it. My son is my boss now....He is the focal point in the product i might bring in for the start.

I am still trying to work out something from the singapore side as i will be indifinitely staying in China.

So i hope there may be good new too for both you all and myself.

Hi ixwong, I'm waiting for your email to log your order.

hey sweetpooh, if u need a coordinator/partner in s'pore keep me in mind!

passing guest, hehe, i let my dog get up close n personal.. my parents n in laws (n relatives) will freak out if they know, but the rules sort of relax over time when i saw my boy did not develop any problem with close contact. and shih tzus are one of the most stubbon breeds of dogs, i also no time n patience to train her.. :p

Getting excited abt the gathering as the date draws near. Think maybe I'll ask my hubby to come along to be photographer for the day.

Passing guest,

If my hubby can make it I'll not need the ride frm you. Will let you know. Thnks!

smallbell, seabreeze
isaac didn't learn how to talk from other babies.. it's from adults, so no need to get YC/ patrick to shadow him.... he's babbling a lot.. graduated from "ae ae ae" to "meh meh meh" sometimes "mum mum" or "miu miu". Sounds like calling Mummy & asking for milk. I have him on video when he's talking. So funny. Perks me up when i'm down at work.

Re - Ice trays

The ice trays are here!! so excited haha.. Angel, and Coffeedrinker,can pls indicate how you want to collect the trays? at triniti's place during the gathering or meet me at bishan?

1) Angel - 2 sets
2) Vone - 1 set (triniti's place)
3) applejuz - 1 set (triniti's place) aidanee to help collect)
4)sweetpea- 1 set (bishan)
5) lsm - 1 set (bishan)
6)triniti - 2 sets (triniti's place)
7) coffeedrinker - 1set
8) christina- 1 set (triniti's place)
8) raisintan - 3 sets (bishan)

1) Angel - 2 sets (triniti's place)
5) lsm - 1 set (bishan)
7) coffeedrinker - 1set

sweetpoon ...

yeah me too!! looking for lobang to start some biz .... tired of work ....

eileenp ...

ur dark prince v mature looking ler ...he sit v steady hor ....

brought YC to collect his passport today ... look damn cartoon lor hahahaha ... think will have to keep updating his photo ... bb face change so fast ....

My gal started teething! No wonder she has been grouchy and had fever on and off for few days. Now at 5 months, 2 months earlier than my ds, who only started teething at 7 months.

hi mommies

i have good news!! My Megan can sit liao... today i put her to sit position unassisted and she sat there for 5 mins without toppling over.

Subsequently, throughout the day i put her to sit and she didn't topple also. Does it mean that she can sit already?

I dun dare put Megan to sit position too often and for too long a period.. not too sure if it is good for her spine

362628.jpg

Re -Ice trays

ok mummies,
below is the confirmed delivery schedule. I will PM those mummies who want to collect from bishan.thks.

1) Angel - 2 sets (triniti's place)
5) lsm - 1 set (bishan)
7) coffeedrinker - 1set (bishan)

hi angel, that's great! my boy still being the humpty dumpty that topples over... must be me singing the nursery rhyme to him too often.

Passing guest,
I strongly agree with you that it is not necessary to make the environment ultra clean. Some bacteria is good too. Oh, and I heard that we can stop sterilising bottles from 6mths onwards.

wendyg,
isaac will definitely be a fast speaker.

mybabydream,
I have not cut any toe nails yet, never grow much.

eileenp,
wow, your boy is so big and strong at 3mths.

angel,
that's right, just keep letting her sit up now and then. Megan will start to wobble when she's tired, that means she wants to stop. Don't worry! from the pic u posted she is now using both hands to get support but wz more practice, soon she can lift up her hands. Let her have a toy in front to keep her busy so that she can sit longer.

cookies,
u decided to get the books, give your feedback when u received it.

sweetpooh
sorry. reply u liao.

miso
ya, some of the bb started teething quite fast. Mine boy got a white bump on his lower gum since last week.

Brought haowen to his 5th mth jab yesterday. brave boy, didn't cry leh!!

Hi angel,
My bb can sit like Megan too, she'll use her hands to support herself then when she's tired she'll start to wobble, like what small bell has said. My PD did her 5 mth assessment and said this is called pivot sitting, it's actually babies' first step to sitting. Think it's like flipping, they'll get better with more practice.

Any babies starting to crawl? Mine will start to rock herself back & forth, using her hands to support, with her tummy off the ground. Looks very comical, my mum says she's learning how to 'yao pi gu'. The funny thing is she'll move backwards & not forward, always end up outside the playmat after a while.

Tingting / Seabreeze,

Managed to get my boy to spell the name of the publisher for the flashcards over the phone..

Odonata Publishing. Each set is S$12.90. There is 1 set he say was RM18.90 so i think i must also have gotten the set in JB popular also. They come in books as well (dunno what's the price already cos it's no longer on the book).. Each level got 12 books and total has 4 levels.

I remember going to popular in JB some time ago, there are also other series of books and flashcards also.. If mummies going in there, can maybe go and have a look.

Also, anyone tried the Pampers All Night (blue packing one)? I also saw it in JB the last time and it's cheaper than Pampers Premium. Wonder if the quality is similar with the Pampers premium?

Hi Nicky's mom,

We bought Pampers All Night when we were in KL last month. I find that its quite good, suits my girl..its a new product, one diaper supposed to last 12 hours. I find it more absorbent than pampers premium. It is thicker than pampers premium, but the design/cutting is like pampers baby dry. Sizing/cutting/design also a bit smaller than pampers premium. PP m size is ok for my girl, but PAN m size a bit fitting/tight.

Re - follow on milk

Can i just check, have you started giving your babies follow=on milk? when should we start introducing our babies with follow on milk?sixmonths? my girl is now 5mths old and she is on nanha1premium.i heard from some friends that we can start introducing the follow-on milk now? as in give half nanha1 and half nanha2? any one can share?thks

hi seabreeze, skippy, cmy & vone,

thanks for your empathy! i'm super sianz man but no choice lah, need $$ for diapers!

hey i need milk,

things are different now, auditors are no longer paid a premium! in fact, many of my friends who're out of audit are drawing a higher salary! *sigh*

hi moulinmom,

hahahaha! i wish it was as easy as hiding in the toilet to zzz! when they find that everything's not done, they'll probly track me down and humtam me!

anyway, really hope that i can make it for wed's outing so that can meet all of you gals!

re flashcards
i admire you gals' determination to give your bbs a headstart in education! the english flashcards we got are languishing in the drawer where we keep them, no time nor energy to show them to j! and now chinese ones too? think j's gonna have to just stick to baby babble for now...

i'm a mummy, thanks for the feedback.. i'll pop by to buy 1 pack of XL to try when i'm in JB the next time..

BTW, i think better not start Nan 2 so soon.. At least wait till baby is 6 month or above cos there are some other additional things in there that may not be suitable for baby below 6 months.

I Can Read Books
For those who are looking around for this series, an almost identical set (of 12 books) can be bought at $50 from the shop located between Mothercare and Kiddy Palace at Parkway Parade. This set seems better coz the wordings are more bold.

Thanks tingting, I go there quite often but never really noticed that shop before. By the way, there aren't many choices for babies.

Pureed Potato
Help, has anyone pureed potatoes for baby yet? After blending, I expected it to be like KFC mashed potatoes but it turns out the texture is very starchy, unlike the other veg. Is it supposed to be like that?

passing guest, think u can buy US potatos, cos they get mashy easily. just steam it n i think u can mash it by hand v easily. Dun get those we buy for curry. But potato doesn't have much "juice", it may be too sticky for babies at this age?

so are u waiting for the set of books that small bell is bringing to the gathering n do up ur own set? One online mum is selling each level at $55, no need bulk purchase, btw.

musicgal, for me i didnt do english flashcards, jsut concentrated on the chinese ones, cos they can pick up english more easily in life, esp since my hb n ILs are "kantangs".. :p

hi, anyone has any remedy for baby's stuffy nose (other than seeing a PD) ? It seems to make it difficult for my baby (4.5mths) to drink milk as he's drinking less now... thanks in advance !

Hi, I'm a mummy,Nicky's mum,

Do you know the Pamper's all night M and L size are for what range of weight? Might ask my sis to buy for me if she gg JB but not sure what size to ask her to buy.

Re: Potatoes
Maybe can try to buy 'Holland' potatoes? Cos that time my CL wanted to make mashed potatoes for us and she specify must get Holland potatoes then she'll make that for us.

tingting
I already bought the set for $50 from the Parkway shop. Accordingly to the lady, the books were pubished by the same company before the partners fell out. I find the ones old at Parkway better as the wordings are more bold. You might want to check it out. Wanted to call you yesterday from there but realised I did not have your number.

hi passing guest, i saw the set of books there before. Was looking for card form ones. So will prob try small bell's method to scan n paste on cardboard. was hoping to use it as well when he's older in game time, like matching pics to words, etc.

re: aromatherapy

came across this idea of using aromatherapy for repelling mosquitos. it's the use of essential oils. One of the oils available is the one used in the mozzie patches that miso recommended. Plus pt in using essential oils is that it has a blend with other oils that provide anti-bacterial functions, so it acts as an air purifier as well. If using on a daily basis, it'll be cheaper than patches.

am quite keen on this bcos it's a natural remedy to many situations, like for mozzies, cold/sinus, even fever. Some oils also relaxes the mind, like lavendar. So if the kid cannot get to sleep easily, can try it.

some types are quite expensive, e.g. Lampe Berger, BelAir, etc, but others are quite affordable, e.g. using burners with essential oils.

just to share in case someone is interested.

re: potatoes
is it okie to feed babies with potatoes? I tot it's just carbo not much vitamins and minerals. I rather feed with pumpkin or carrots..

ting ting, i tot i read somewhere aromatherapy is not really safe for infants?? Maybe u wld like to check with ur pd.. not very sure though.

nicole & megan very cute! i am sure all the bois bois will go ahgaga over them!

moulinmum, there're many types of oils, and some are not suitable for infants, just as some types are not suitable for people with diabetics, high blood pressure, etc.

tingting, i used to burn everynite but i stopped since i was pregnant.. still have quite a few bottles of oil left, all rotting! haha..

moulinmum, oil won't rot lah..haha.. think during pregnancy cannot use camomile.. u might want to check whether u can still use ur oils with kids around.. what i have now are only fragrance oils, smell sweet but no real effect one..

re: mosquitos patch

remembered one of the mummy recommended a brand for the baby ... what brand isit?? bringing YC to JB for CNY ... there the mosquitos commando trained one heehee ...

ON LEAVE LOR!!! HIPPY!!! Heehee ... 2 more days to our own mini 'Mums Congress'

mm.. how come today's like very quiet huh? conserving energy to gossip on wed?! hiak hiak..
my hb will not be going to the gathering.. coz he has got to fly off to jarkarta for the day! haha..yippee! which means i can gossip with seabreeze n the rest on monsters-in-laws!

thanks wendyg, my problem is baby is seeing NUH PD for bi-monthly baby development check ups and he was 'very against' unnecessary medication for baby.. and says that its normal whenever we mentioned the stuffy nose to him..

on the other hand the pte PD we saw, gave nose drop, but explained that its a mild type of steriod to reduce the inflammation within the nose passage...

so I'm quite hesitant to getting nose drop frequently too... )

everyone, enjoy the gathering !!! I'm usually a passive reader on this forum n I'll be at work on 25th

arghhh busy busy. my hb is away for the whole week and i gotta spring clean!!!! Wendy, i still have some glass bottles that my friend didnt come to collect. She didnt breastfeed in the end. Do u still need extra? If not, i will give them away in the market place. Anyone wants glass bottles lemme know? Will bring 'em to triniti's place....

gathering on 25 jan @ 2pm:-

1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
4. seabreeze - durian puffs
5. adel & hb - egg tarts
6. cookies - titbits
7. vone & hb - cheesecake
8. aidanee - pineapple tarts
9. passing_guest - Old Chang Kee / Selegie curry puffs
10. smallbell - chocolates
11. nicky's mom (to be confirmed)
12. temple - chicken nuggets
13. cat_tail - otah
14. Anissa - Jelly
15. Christina - mrs fields brownies
16. snoopy - ice cream
17. moulinmum - donut balls
18. Clarisse's mum
19. angel -
20. musicgal (2 b cfm)
21. theresa (2 b cfm)
22. Lib

clarisse's mum, pls pm me ur hp no.

mummies, i'll b smsing all of u triniti's add tml. tks 4 ur patience & c u gals on wed.

hi ray ray, wanna try essential oil method? my hb's mother uses it for his sinus last time, quite effective. we're intending to use it again cos his problem came back. U can put less oil for a milder solution. Effect is like adults putting vicks vapo rub outside our nose. clears the nose. But actually, if he's not bothered by it, try to leave it alone, cos he'll sneeze it out someday. As he grows older, the situation should improve. Mine was blocked almost everyday, until 3 mths start to clear. now only see a bit once in a while.

re: mozzie patch
Watson's having sale.. they have 3 brands.. i ks bought all 3! about same price lah, but one slightly cheaper (double pack). Same ingredients: citronella (a type of essential oil). some got added eculyptus (hope spelling correct - this is the one that's good for runny / blocked nose).

rayray,
i use STERIMAR Physiological Sea Water when my baby has blocked and runny nose. Not a medicine but it help to clear up for a while.. At least during milk time or nap time so that he can breath thru the nose. can be bought at most PD or GP. About 13 dollars each.

hey mummies, anyone bought any new year goodies from JB? My aunt just sms say the stuffs there are cheap.. she said the kuey lapis is RM45 while singapore is S$45 etc. was wondering if i should make a trip in to shop for them.. dunno will jam not. if cheap, i maybe pop by there on thursday.. anyone tried?