(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

the past 2 days have been super super demoralising for me...

first i find out that i'm super under-paid compared to my peers outside the audit industry - one of my peers is drawing a salary that i gotta work about 3 more years before i can attain! and then i also found out that a distant relative, also my age, is drawing $10K+!! *sigh*

then because of my horribly tight work commitments, i didn't have time to pump regularly and my bm ss dipped further...

and the worst of all, i work such long hours for the lousy pay, sacrificing my bm ss and time with my family, only to be sabo-ed by my manager who happily took all credit and shoved all blame to me in front of the partner.

now i'm super demoralised and i just wanna go home!

ixwong,

Although he drinks so little, he is still putting on weight leh. I call him 'xiao pang' these days. I wanted to apply dentinox for him too but it's said to numb his gum? Don't think that's too good right??

Btw mummies, my boy has these patches on his chest and under his chin ... like dried skin peeling off ... anyone of you encountered that too? Wonder what it is cos when I asked the doc, she can't tell me too. Just asked me to apply lotion.

ixong:
tks. so mix the cereal with milk and let bb drink? but my bb's neck not 100% strong, will choke or not? y does some mummies here talk about feeding wif spoons?i v blurblur now abt what food to prepare.....

so how to prepare sweet potato puree? (hehe, paiseh, i cant cook so know nothing abt food)

wendyg,
Oh alamak, i read wrongly, thought u meant they are now wz #2

skippy10,
ernest so cute in the pic. I have the same walker too, can convert into rocker, very useful.

cakey,
I think 2-3 yrs gap will be very good.

seabreeze,
Of course we welcome your mom.

moulinmum,
your bb so cute in pink and so smiley.

mybabydream,
i sterilize the spoons and bowls, once a day.

anissa,
no no.....my boy is under weight not over weight.... wah! ur bb is 8kg!!!! tt's huge!

seabreeze,
i think i may go wit my mum too. i very lazy to carry so many things....

triniti,
is tt ok we me n seabreeze's mum taggin along?

musical,
u feelin better now? i understand how u feel....esplly when u need to sacrifice ur time n ur ss bcoz of work!!!

smallbell,
thanks for the compliments... in fact, ernest doesnt really like the walker...is the mummy lazy to carry so throw him into the walker! whahaha....

passin guest,
u gog for the yoga? when? i wanna go as well....

Hi skippy
yeah should not be a problem...

Just that the gathering have to end at about 5pm since I have to prepare Anton's bath and his cereal for the evening....just to let everyone know

musicgal:
how can it be that u r underpaid?? as far as i know, all auditors are paid much higher than their peers who started off in commercial firms. Plus, when u move out of PWC to commercial firms, u can command even higher salary. Don't worry.

And who's that mgr that "tekkan" u? aiyoh... there are always crap mgrs around. i ever worked under 1 mgr that tore my working papers in front of me!

moulinmom:
u shaved julia's head?

Anissa
It could be a mild case of eczema. I think Annette has something similar except that they are usually around her wrists and ankles and the occasional patch on her thigh. I apply the essential oil that the massage class gave us.

skippy
Where and when would you prefer to do yoga/excercise classes? I'm quite keen to join Dressaholic for the trial class this Friday.

mybabydream
I would skin the sweet potato (or carrot, pumpkin etc), steam till soft, puree using a blender and freeze in covered ice tray. I recently bought the Philips mini blender recommended by Ixwong and it is fantastic. Easy to use and clean.

I think I made too much pumpkin. Any mommies want to try out a couple of cubes? Let me know fast if not I will throw out before CNY.

passing guest, i curious leh.. If you keep the food in the freezer, can keep for how long? Each frozen food won't got "wind" meh?

musical, maybe you can look for better opportunity? No point to sacrify yourself yet under paid.

361575.jpg

my boy recent photo... think he is overweight liao.

Nicky's mom
I understand pureed veg and fruits can be kept frozen for 3 weeks. Pureed fish and meat for 1 week. Other mummies, correct me if I'm wrong. Not sure about the wind part. So far it's been fine for my daughter.

nicky's mom, u take care & dun overk. as 4 d gathering, u try 2 make it okie. call me if u r coming.

ixwong, congrats on haowen's 1st tooth!!

ting, dun worry. me aso dun hv d flash cards 4 my boy.

applejuz, really ah?? bb sucking toes means tt mummy is going 2 hv 2nd bb?? mmm... daryl has been sucking his 4 a while liao. oh no...

seabreeze, u poor thing. bear wif it 4 a while coz their schedule will change due 2 d jab.

skippy, m sorry 2 hear abt ur grandma. u take care okie. mmm... ernest is so cute. hw come he b underweight at 7.7 kg?? strange... as 4 d gathering, try 2 make it. will luv 2 c u & ernest again.

cmy, ya, tt's wat my gynae say. 2 wait at least 1 yr if c-section coz d chances of d stitiches bursting is veri high.

moulinmum, julia is so cute!!

musicgal, hang in thr okie. i'm in d same situation as u. sacrifice my bm 4 wk. in d end, i gt nothing 2 show 4 it.
m looking 4 another job oledi. mayb u wanna do d same?? take care. if u need a listening ear, can contact me okie.

cmy, ur boy looks veri cute!!

25 jan's gathering:-

1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
4. seabreeze - durian puffs
5. adel & hb - egg tarts
6. cookies - titbits
7. vone & hb - cheesecake
8. aidanee - pineapple tarts
9. passing_guest - Old Chang Kee / Selegie curry puffs
10. smallbell - chocolates
11. nicky's mom (to be confirmed)
12. temple (to be confirmed)
13. cat_tail - goreng pisang
14. Anissa - Jelly
15. Christina - mrs fields brownies
16. snoopy - ice cream
17. moulinmum - siew mai
18. Clarisse's mum
19. musicgal (2 b cfm)
20. theresa (2 b cfm)

snoopy called 2 say tt lana has oledi closed their orders so she's bringing ice cream instead. omg, she booked 1 wk in advance & they r oledi closed.

Applejuz,
Wah, din noe TCM so good! Btw, did u go to your gynae to check whether u got PCOS? For wat I know, PCOS cannot reduce one & once u have it, tat's it lor.

skippy,
So sorry to hear tat. Hope u r coping well now.

Seabreeze,
I guess it's normal for the baby to be warmer after their jabs. Edna oso like tat.

Re: Gathering
Since moulinmum not bringing otah, can I make a change? Got 3 stalls at my hawker selling otahs! Sure can get one on tat day..heehee...

1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
5. adel & hb - egg tarts
6. cookies - titbits
13. cat_tail - otah
14. Anissa - Jelly
16. snoopy - ice cream
17. moulinmum - siew mai
18. Clarisse's mum
19. musicgal (2 b cfm)
20. theresa (2 b cfm)

ineedmilk,
I reserved the book from Bugis Kinokuniya cos it's always out of stock. So when the book came, they called me to collect. No need to pay deposit one.

cmy,
Your boy is huge! How many kg is he?

Passing_guest,
Purees can be kept in the freezer for 6 weeks.

1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
5. adel & hb - egg tarts
6. cookies - titbits
13. cat_tail - otah
14. Anissa - Jelly
16. snoopy - ice cream
17. moulinmum - siew mai
18. Clarisse's mum
19. angel -
20. musicgal (2 b cfm)
21. theresa (2 b cfm)

i need milk
I bought the book from Kinokuniya at Taka, still many copies left when I bought it. Or if you want, can pass mine to you to take a look.

Hi to all mummies coming to my place
I have a couple of Gina Ford for you mummies to take a look...so you can decide if you wanna buy it from the bookstores...

In the meantime, enjoy ur weekend

mybabydream
errr, I dun sterilise the spoons/bowls. Just scald them w hot water before use. Thot not all plasticware can be sterilised....

Passing-guest,
Ya, I made the puree the same way as u. Glad u like the blender.

CMY
your boy v big-sized leh! How old liao huh?

Hi cat_tail, he was 9kg @ 5 mth jab.

Hi ixwong, he is 5.5 mth old now.

Think he is heavy bone type instead of fat coz he only drinks 160ml 3hrly or 180ml 4hrly. Each day 4-5 times milk intake. 2x rice cereal at lunch and dinner.

1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
5. adel & hb - egg tarts
6. cookies - titbits
13. cat_tail - otah
14. Anissa - Jelly
16. snoopy - ice cream
17. moulinmum - siew mai
18. Clarisse's mum
19. angel -
20. musicgal (2 b cfm)
21. theresa (2 b cfm)

passing guest,

Is there an improvement on your baby's skin after you applied the oil? My boy seems to have eczema on his thigh, chest and chin

Seabreeze, wendyg, anissa, small bell, vone, thanks for the compliments..

i need milk, yup i shaved her head when she was 3mths+ cos her tiny hairs dropping like mad..

Wah vone, so fast daryl wans to have a sibling liao?? sucking his toes..

musicgal, since u underpaid.. dun work so hard lar.. hide in toilet and zzzzz...

ixwong, u are rite, not all plastic can sterlise.. some even put hot water will also leech chemicals out.. have to be careful!

heehee triniti, go ur place still can try ergo, read books and mess up ur place! Very good leh.. better than shopping centre!

btw, can ask those mummies going for the gathering for a favour? Anyone recieved the similac $3 discount coupon but doesn't need it cos breastfeeding.. can 'si she' to me? Thanks in advance!

my boy kanna another round of mosquito bites again... haiz, despite me putting the J&J mosquito repellent n blowing the fan at him, plus mosquito repellent in the room! running out of ideas...

passing guest, i saw the mandarin flash card book before, but i was looking out for cards instead. Parkway parade has a shop selling all sorts of Mandarin teaching aids. They also have a set of flash card books at slightly cheaper price. u may want to check it out.

ting ting, maybe u can try to use mosquito patch? I use it on Reon very often cos he is prone to mosquito bites and it works. Just paste one on their back on the shirt.. not direct on the skin.

Here's a pic of my gal on the walker.

361834.jpg

moulinmum:
my girl also like old man with bald patch but i aint gonna shave her head! Hee...Can't imagine her as a little nun..... :p

re: sitting up

my mum called me to say that YC refused to lie down on his rocker and he actually pushed himself up and SIT there .... and that he actually held himself in that position for v long and smiling away ...

when i reach home must ask him to perform for me heehee ... then i told him to practise his flipping first and not the sitting hahahaha getting his sequence wrong ....

Hi Seabreeze, how old is ur YC? We mommies will feel exceptionally happy and excited when our little one has done a certain steps. Some babies will jump a stage. Like my friend's, jumped the stage of crawling and went on to walking liao.

Passing guest,
I have the "I can read" level 1 chinese books. I will bring it on 25 Jan and you can take a look before buying. Or you may also take back to scan so that don't have to buy it.

moulinmum,
I have the similac voucher, will bring on 25Jan too.

miso,
your gal look so sweet and innocent.

re: teething biscuit
when to start wz biscuit? is it when bb start to have the 1st tooth?

miso ..

YC is 4mth and 1 week ... usually he will need our help to pull him up but q surprise tt now he could support himself up liao ... maybe he will be skipping the flipping state heehee ...

moulinmum ...

gave mine away ... otherwise can pass to you ...

Seabreeze,
You must be real excited to see YC do the sit up. It's ok, he can still practice the flip but not really necessary.

Was surfing to see some of the archive on this thread, so interesting to see the newborn bb pics. Some of the bb change alot over the months.

re : philips blender
mummies who have bought it, how much is it? have a best denki voucher... wondering if can get it there.

re : Similac voucher
mummies who are giving away theirs, can give me also?

Anyone one of you your baby bites your nipple? I have this phobia breastfeeding these days. Just 2 days ago, my boy bit me so hard I screamed. He got a fright and bit even harder. And guess what I did? I pinched him. It's a reflective action. Feeling kinda guilty. Now I don't dare to give him my nipple anymore. How?!

anissa, my boy also bit me, like chomp n pull. Pinching is a way to stop him. for me, i hit his buttocks n said "no" firmly. takes a few times for him to get the idea. now he still does it once in a while, but not as frequent now.

thanks moulinmum n miso on ur suggestions... will try both! eh miso, is the patch v expensive? got to use a new one every night right?

passing guest

hehe.. saw ur posting at the mandarin flash card thread. yah, me gan cheong, so now n then showing zephan the smaller cards that i have. i want to start him on mandarin first bcos kids can pick up english more easily later when they start sch. what do u think of the 2 sets? i prefer card form, bcos next time can paste up on wall for other activities. the one suggested by jinglebell seems better, but not comprehensive, and no words.

Hi vone, thanks for your compliment.

Hi cat_tail, My MIL is the one who carried him the most. So, she should be more muscular than me.. hee!

Hi miso, where can I get the mosquito patch?

My boy doesn't like to sit inside the walker recently. He always open his two arms big big want ppl to carried him out.

re:flashcard
I'd yet to flash any cards to my boy. Very lazy mummy hor..

smallbell
Thanks, if you can just bring one of the books over, that will be great.

tingting
I think you have a point. I'm sure they can pick up English much easier since homes these days are English speaking. I feel that the other one suggested by Jinglebell is too simple. Baby will outgrow the set very fast. Do you remember which floor is the shop at Parkway?

i need milk, after i shaved her head.. the hair stopped dropping and grew quite fast.. hehe..

seabreeze.. my gal also can sit now but cannot flip yet leh.. she dun even bother to try flipping.. lazy bb!

miso, ur gal got nice eyebrows.. next time can shape very nicely..

small bell, thanks in advance for the voucher!

tingting and Passing Guest,
"I can read" chinese books follow the GD style, very big red wording, one page followed by a picture on the next page. The author is a teacher and she suggest cutting out the pages to make into cards. Do both of you have scanner? can just use my books to scan n print out on blank cards. I will bring next week.

moulinmum,
You are welcome. Do shout out my name to look for me at the gathering since we have not met. Similac said they will send me a can to try out, can I give to you too. But I hope they will send me before the gathering.

re:25Jan gathering
Anyone stays in the north who needs a lift?