(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi all, the photos on all the babies looks great! I've been reading but no time to join in forum.. hee..

May I enquire with all mommies, my boy is 4 mths (Sept05) now.. feeding at 150ml of FM (Nan) every 3 hrs. But the past week he's been 'screaming' for milk every 2 hrs.

Just wondering if I should be starting him on cereal (fm what i read briefly, by combining with FM, is it?) or just increase his intake maybe by another 30 to 60ml for every 3 - 4 hours feed ? thanks !

My mom say can't start on solid since he can't sit up yet ....

Passing Guest
Thanks for the tips!

rayray, min baby must be able to hold his head up properly, else cannot swallow food. Think sitting up also facilitates the movement of the food in the body. i use the bumbo chair when feeding my boy, so it's ok. Else, u can have someone support him while u feed... doing it alone can be quite messy.

Vone,
so the order for ice tray is closed huh? never mind, i will get it from TAKA then. sob sob! Here's the pix taken last month....in his new stroller.

seems like most bbs can flip already. mine still needs assistance.

Rayray, my boy is also taking 150ml EBM every 3hrs. tried feeding him more so that i can stretch to 4hrly basis, but he cant take so much at one go.....i still need to feed him at 4am! will prob start him on cereal in another week's time.

do you know if Supernature @ parkhouse near Regent hotel carry organic food for bb? thought of getting organic rice from there....or any recommendation for buying fresh organic fruits too?

357275.jpg

triniti,
Wow. Your Anton drink soooo much ah?
Why don't you latch him to increase your supply?

Not like mine leh, i want him to drink more leh. Eg, this morning, he only drank about 60ml, noon feed only about 50ml. Hiazz.. Dunno wats wrong with him.

It's been a long time since I've managed to pop by here. Seems like everyone's still pretty active....really quite a handful taking care of my gal....

Can I find out how much milk should my gal who's almost 4 months be drinking? Think she's taking 130ml of BM every 3 hours. But thank God she's able to sleep through the night now.

Anyone got a good solution for nappy rash...tried Drapolene for a while, slightly better but not fully recovered...

Wow, wish i could join u gals on 25 jan but got course to attend that day...def would love to meet up to exchange tips on parenting....

hi joyful, Desitin (w Aloe Vera) is good for diaper rash. U can get it at Guardian / NTUC pharmacy, but only where there is a pharmacist. It's not sold just on the rack, but need no prescription. The zinc oxide concentration is 10%. Impt to let affected area dry thoroughly before applying. Also, try to air dry her butt a few times a day.

these days zephan's being v cranky during bed-time... always fussy n takes a long time to go to sleep. out of fustration we let him cry for a few minutes before giving him his last feed. this way, he falls asleep much more easily. i know this is not a good method, but short of the "cry it out" method we dun know what to do. We used to do a routine like bathe, feed, sleep, but for the past month this doesn't work anymore.

Emmie
My boy (5.5m) successfully flipped from back to tummy during New Year's weekend. Less than a week later, he learnt to flip onto his back (also on his right side). Today I caught him flipping right left right left & almost rolled off the bed.. but once he knew i was there he stopped. O'wise get scolding. Haha.
Christina is right, once they start flipping, there's no stopping.. (sounds like Pringles). Thankfully my boy doesn't try to flip while he's on the changing table.

Joyful
re: nappy rash
1) air baby's butt as often as u can
2) change diaper frequently
3) try Desitin Creamy diaper rash cream. Available from pharmacies or clinics

re: how much milk?
Here's a mathematical formula to use..
take 150ml multiply by your baby's weight in kg. Dat's how much milk (max) your baby should be drinking in a day. Divide by number of times u feed him, & you'll get the amt (in ml) per feed.
However, my PD said taking 100ml x weight is also acceptable - dat's the lower range, and my baby only drinks that amt.

Joyful,

I so envy u. Your baby can sleep through the night now. My son is 4 mths too but he has to wake up 2 times every night for milk. How you train your baby ah?

You can try Desitin Creamy. Very good. My son also has bad rash. Try lots of cream but Desitin Creamy still the best.

I manage to express out about 16 oz of BM today. Hope that I will have enough BM till 6 mths

cakey, you can email me at [email protected]

JT, i know why your wife looks so familiar because i also find her very familiar... she looks like one hongkong actress (i don't know which one, think i saw it while watching one HK series show... heee...)

smallbell... i'm very impressed by your son.... especially the way he goes to sleep. i told Lib (another mummy also from this thread) and she open eye big big... and wow.....

JT,
I don't have a bumbo seat or an exersaucer. But I am now using a $5 2nd hand walker. Was against walker initially until a friend told me how effective it help her bb walk at 12mths. As long as the feet touches the floor when walking, no tip toeing. Walker will definitely speed up the process.

cakey,
Thanks for sending the pic.

adel,
Be careful of placing Brent on anything higher than your mattress. Just in case he really flips.

Shanz,
Train your bb by ignoring the cries at night. Mine cry every hour for 10 mins but just don't carry, touch or feed him. After 1 or 2 weeks he will be able to sleep through. Don't worry that your bb will go hungry by not feeding during the night. Use a stronger diaper to last through the night. It may seem heartless but that's the cold turkey way. Remember that bb are born to fit your schedule and not the other way round.

temple,
My boy always give me face when outside, looks like easy baby. But at home is different, will fuss alot. I think is becos he dislike staying at home.

Wow.. thread moving real fast!

Shanz,
Only BF baby for 4mth (not TBF). recently my milk mountain
stop a 'natural death'.. ha ha. I'm feeding bb with Similac.

vone,
so qiao meeting u today at Suntec.. din buy any body suit cos
think Keyon got many clothes from his Christmas presents.
But I was 'bio'-ing the Bjorn baby carrier.. but $175 very ex leh!

rayray,
welcome! better increase his intake to 180ml first before giving cereals..
I was adviced by some mummies here not to mix the cereals into the bottle of FM, to prevent choking.
Rather... a little FM/EBM/water mixing into the cereals to form runny texture, then spoonfeed.

aidanee,
that's a nice pram! but pix too small lah, cannot see Cayden clearly leh.. but can see he's grown!

hmm, small bell, can't agree with ur statement "babies are born to fit ur schedule.." i agree that we need to train babies to a certain extent, like falling asleep by themselves, etc, but different babies have different temperaments, just as adults do. i think more importantly, we have to see what they're crying for. Hunger, cold, warm, nightmares even are reasons i believe we should attend to. Once my boy cried v loudly n fiercely at night. Sounds like he had a nightmare n could go back to sleep soon after soothing.

For my boy, if the cry is intermittent n not consistent, i will just wait it out. usually he'll fall back asleep on his own. else, will attend to him, esp if it has been 6 hrs since his last feed. Then again, i have to qualify that he doesn't seem to have the habit of crying at night for the sake of attention, so i'm not too concerned about this possibility at this moment.

just to share a funny incident: my boy hadn't poo pooed for 3 days, and on the 3rd day night i told him to poo poo, otherwise will have to insert a "bullet" into his butt like Isaac gor gor. 1/2 hr later, he did his messy poo in full force! the next day, he pooed twice in a row. Me n my hb said he's probably scared of the "bullet" threat..

morning ladies ....

wow small bell you really got train your son one ar .. think there are 2 schools of tot on this issue lar ... personally i prefer to let the bb lead me then the other where round ... cos for adult we can express ourselves and let our needs be known but for bb its diff ... they only know how to cry .... but as long as the bb is not crying out of seeking attention i think its okie ... heard that any training should only start aft 6mths ...

aidanee ...

LONG time no hear and see you ... yap cayden has grown ... so has my YC ... when i look back at his new born photos ... i am even impressed at myself for been able to feed him to what he is now hiak hiak ... fat fat chubby chubby heehee

anissa, lunch shld b no prob. will call u again.

cat_tail / skippy, tks 4 d info. will chk it out soon.

triniti, dun fret okie. fretting will reduce ur ss. cheer up!!

ixwong, u r welcome. i had lots of fun aso. such a concidence mtg u yday. u noe wat, after tt, i met applejuz & family outside mothercare aso. so qiao...
u try 2 take leave on 25 leh, then can c more bbs.

tl, so lucky of u 2 won a plasma tv!! i m so envious!! hope tt u can get a gd price 4 it okie. btw, how come u dun wan 2 use it urself??

cakey, u r welcome. pity we didn't hv much chance 2 talk. can u join us on d 25, then we can talk more.

cookies, d mummies here gave veri gd reviews abt neo garden coz some of them used it 4 their bb's full mth. so i decided 2 stick 2 d tried & tested 1. lazy mummy here... hehehe...

smallbell, dun worry abt patrick's size lah. i m veri impressed wif his sitting.

aidanee, cayden looks veri comfy inside his new mercedes.
chk wif u, is d size okie. me still looking. we plced him in aprica, lucky bb & combi prams. he's 2 big liao. then hb said tt we hv 2 buy d european brands' prams 4 him liao. bt it's 2 heavy. sigh... headache now...

applejuz, ya lor. hb was commenting tt a lot of mummies came 2 suntec yday.

okie, as promised, here's some pics of d gathering:

here's haowen sitting veri comfy in his stroller
357550.jpg

applejuz's keyon 'talking' 2 i need milk's elizabeth
357551.jpg

bb's galore - daryl, haowen, keyon & patrick
357552.jpg

another bb's galore - daryl, nicole, haowen, keyon & patrick
357553.jpg

Me headache over reunion dinner venue. Thinking of doing a combined one with my side of the family and hubby's side so that we don't have to run 2 places. Any restaurant in mind to recommend? Thnks!

hi i need milk,

nah i'm not mgr, if i am then i dun have to work so late liao and go so long without pumping...

hi skippy,

onz lah! and we can go shopping for bb clothes!

wow! the outing looks so fun! wish i could've gone!

tingting and seabreeze,
Oh..hehehe, actually I used to be controlled by bb too, will run to every cry. Then after attending parenting class, was told not to do that. Especially the part on sleep training, was really tough. I had to pretend to be deaf, blind and heartless for a week. But I still don't know how to extend/stretch the sleeping hours. Any advise?

re:starting on rice cereals
Anton is eating his cereals pretty well!He drinks it like soup when I place it near his lips...but on the first day, I dun think he likes it hehe...However, on the second day, he seems to be accustomed to the taste and finish one teaspoon with BM.

Peek-a-boo
I tried playing the peek-a-boo game with him and he loved it...he was laughing from ear to eat when my face appeared...maybe mummies u can try playing peek-a-boo with ur babies too!

bumbo seat
Anton always try to lean forward and lick the bumbo seat whenever I try to put him on. Same thing with his feeding chair; he will want to arc his back forward though it is reclined.Do any of your babies do this as well?

ergo:
Mummies coming to my place on the 25th are welcome to try my ergo..I will demo it with Anton

Peek-a-boo
I played this with my bb too and she loves it too! Think all babies like this game...

small bell,
I have the same view as tingting. When my girl cries, i will attend to her immediately. I seldom let her cry it out cos gotta know what's the IT that she's crying abt.. so far, she only cries when she's sleepy or hungry. I let my girl have her own timing.. the only thing i did to put a schedule for her was to wash her every night around 9pm... kind of signal to her that its near bed time... after this 9pm wash up, will feed her and then she will sleep around 11pm till 6am. I did'nt have to train her to sleep thru. She just did it on her own when she was around 3.5 mths old. My husband thinks that 1 reason y my bb start to sleep thru the night is becos she was at my MIL's place in the day. So it kind of helps her differentiate night and day. Daytime = MIL place, night time = my house.

Passing_guest
The pix is a handheld blender. The one I used is the normal cup blender but mini-size.

Applejuz
if u interested in baby bjorn, try buy it during mothercare sale. It was $115 during the last sale.

small bell, what do u mean by extending sleeping hours? what is the longest time ur baby has slept in a stretch? for babies on BM, they tend to sleep for shorter hours cos they can get hungry more easily. usually, the norm is about 6-7 hrs.

oh yah, small bell, i also think cannot run to them all the time, but we have to discern whether it's a cry for a need or a want. it's ok to reassure them, but not to the extent of letting them think they can avoid sleeping with this method. fine line to thread... guess that's parenthood
not a matter of who controls who lah... babies are not that scheming at this stage, but a good time to instill discipline though. like sometimes i have to put him in a chair and he cries in protest.. if i need him to be there for a while, i will first speak to him patiently. if he doesn't keep quiet, i'll use a firm voice. surprisingly, it does work sometimes, n he kept quiet for a while..

re: Peek-a-boo
Isaac recently started to play it with us.. he'll hold a towel over his face, then bring it back down to his chest, with a huge grin when he sees us smiling back at him.

triniti
yeah isaac also licks his bumbo after sitting in it for a while.. licks either the centre or side. He licks everything.. exploring the world with his tongue.

Ting Ting,

Yes, I agreed with u, they tend to sleep shorter hours when fed with BM. My son normally wake up 3 to 4 hourly every night. Dunno how to train him to sleep longer.

Small Bell,

Seems like a bit heartless leh to ignore his cry. When my son cry, he will cry very loud... how to ignore??? So u really let your baby cry and cry for a week ah? So now your baby can sleep throughout the night? Maybe I should try tonight. hehehe... Will let you know whether it works for me.

When you all give your baby cereals?

tingting, so Zephan goes without milk at max of 7hrs?

actually i wan to check with mummies who TBF, how long yr bb goes without milk? mine average of 6-8 hrs, once or twice upto 10 hrs. its mummy who panick, duno norm or not.

triniti, Ern Ray will tend to fall front or side when he sits on e Bumbo. and yes, he'll lick too, he enjoys doing so.

tingting,
ok, then it is the norm for me, 6-7 hrs of sleep in the night for TBF. I thought bb can sleep for 9-10hrs straight. But I guess can only happen when on solids.

cookies,
I also experience a few times of bb not drinking milk for 10hrs. don't know why too.

Shanz,
The cry will be very loud, be prepared to go sleepless. I was worried that neighbours will call police for child abuse...hahaha. But just bear with a week, some bb take only a few days to train.

Hi Cookies

It's quite normal for bb to stretch up to 10 - 12 hrs when they turn 4mths if they are fully fed during the day & if they are trained to sleep throught the night i.e. they are not allowed the habit to drink milk in the middle of the night. So, don't worry.

Small bell,
The stretching through the night happens naturally as they grow bigger. Usually, by 4mths, bb (even breastfed bb) can stretch up to 12 hours at night. Also, when u start cereal, they will sleep longer between feeds & at night. But if u find your bb waking up earlier & earlier, it's time to start solid and/or increase the cereal intake during day time.

After sleeping through the night for abt 8 to 11 hours since 2mths, my bb started to wake up earlier & earlier. Then, I realise it's a signal that I need to increase the portions of cereal given to my bb. So, I've started to increase the amount of cereal taken to ensure she can sleep through the night well again. Hope this helps.

small bell, some babies are heavy sleepers so they may not wake up at slight hunger signs, while others are light sleepers n may wake up easily. but at my boy's last month's PD appt, the PD mentioned that 6-7 hrs is actually an average for most kids. If u want ur sleep to be less interupted, have the last feed at 10-11pm, so when the baby next wakes up it'll be abt 6am. My boy will sleep longer if the weather's cool. Longest stretch i've experienced was 8 hrs. Averages 6hrly though.

re: cereal
my boy doesn't seem to like Heinz rice cereal. Maybe it really tastes horrible cos when my dad let him sample a piece of guava (just letting him lick), he was very eager for more. Any tips on making Heinz rice cereal more palatable? Anyone tried Dumex rice cereal? It's got milk added, but also got sugar (lactose) leh...

would like to give zephan BM for as long as possible, but my fren who BF her boy for about 2 years finds that he doesn't take any formula milk now, after he is weaned off BM. He only takes milo. Cannot even accept milk powder added to milo. The LC she consulted said that she should have introduced FM at around 5-6 months, before babies develop a preference for taste. Any comments on this?

hi shanz, i've got a book on sleep training. a bit "duped" by my fren who recommended it.. :p dun quite agree with the principle method on "cry it out", but it explains babies' sleep patterns and there are other suggested methods that are more gradual. find that the sleep pattern described is quite true for my boy, e.g. times of the day he's most drowsy. u going for the 25 jan outing? i can bring it for u to browse.

Eh..

re: Sleeping
Does anyone bb sleeps thru 12hrs straight?? Julia sleeps from 8pm to 8am without any feed. Just wondering if i shd wake her up?? She also takes short naps in the day time. Oh she is only 4mths old and i din train her to do that. I even told her to wake up if she is hungry but apparently she doesn't want to. :|

re: 25th gathering
Are we supposed to still bring potluck if we are ordering buffet?? If Neo Garden dun offer high tea, can try Continental Delight look for a mgr called Isa. Can bao my name, i used to work there. Tel 6758 3393.

moulinmum:
wow, good... julia will grow very fast.. cos i heard that babies grow the fastest when they are sleeping.

small bell:
yeah, eliz is a good girl.. well, most of the time. so my MIL is quite happy looking after her cos she say very easy to look after.

cookies:
i read somewhere that as bbs grow older, they have a bigger stomach so can drink more milk, thus, can last longer w/o milk.

tingting:
i thought that babies on BM are less fussy when comes to food/milk. Read this in some magazine article. So not sure if yr fren's kid is the exception rather than the norm?

re: extended feed interval for tbf babies,

does that happen in the day also? chloe has been sleeping through the night and sometimes she survives the afternoon 6-8 hours without feed too...norm?

i need milk, is it? i've heard fr another colleague that her gal refused to drink water.. maybe it depends on babies. some are more picky eaters by nature. once they are used to a certain taste, they don't want any substitute.

chris, sometimes my boy also doesn't feed well during the day. suckle only 2-3 min every 3-hr interval for the whole day. but he seems ok leh..

tingting, my boy likes to eat rice cereal only either Geber or Heinz. We let him try others flavour and Sisen Brown rice (plain) he rejected. He will split out all the food from his mouth. Compared sisen brown rice with geber and heinz actually sisen brown rice is smell nicer.

wendyg
but he never sits properly in the bumbo always leaning forward until his tongue touches the bumbo...wonder when he will learn to sit properly

tingting
It really depends on your child. My gf tried to wean the baby off her breasts by introducing formula but she totally rejects FM and in the end my gf has to continue bfing her...

Some babies are more fussy.

Christina
your baby is still sleeping so long?? hehe Gina Ford will ask u to wake ur baby up every 4 hrs interval to set up a routine haha...Anton is always on time for his feed...

morning ladies & man

Yicheng is 4mth old today!!! Hopefully can see him flip soon cos he seem to be trying v hard and esp so when i was changing his diapers ....

christina ...

guess your prob is totally opp from ours ... while we are all trying to make our bb zzzz longer ... chloe seems to love to zzz heehee ... can still rem how she zzz thr our Breeks gathering

triniti ...

looking forward to try out your ergo carrier on YC ... dunno if he will like it anot ler ...

wendyg ...

YC loves to lean forward when we sit him on our lap too ... we always says that he is trying to read the words/design on our shirt heehee

re: weaning off BM

well there are some theory tat we should intro water & some FM when the bb is still young otherwise the bb would reject them when they are older ...

well for me ... since BM is the best for the bb now ... I feel tat as long as I have the supply I will provide it for him (somemore its free heehee) ... dun wan to intro him water/FM to sabo myself ... scali he wan to drink FM dun wan to drink BM or tat drink too much water cannot take in BM etc ... I will I will kick myself in my butt and bang my head against the wall ....

re: bb zzzing

here is an interesting article

http://www.askdrsears.com/html/7/T070200.asp

re: food for gathering

think we stick to pot luck lar ... cos tat day adel's place ... each of us brought abit of food and end up we had so much food lor ... easier oso cos think most of the cathering co are focusing on the CNY food and our crowd is not that big ...

gd morning gers....even holiday you ger also busy putting up something in this thread....no wonder this aug/sep can really moves....i have to read all and relay to wifey....headache.

now to reply to some mummies query:-

temple - wifey look like hkg actress....wow she sure going to be happy...heh but is the hkg actress pretty in the first place...haha

small bell - thnks for the tip on the walker will let him try when we are able to get a walker at $5...that is cheap.

vone - won the plasma was also instead a surprise to me cos never won in any lucky draw...so hope many more to come for 2006....why not for own use...heh cos i think a 42' tv is too big for my tiny 4rm flat and we seldom at home and we usually use the bedroom tv to watch programme lor. but after went to adel hse i think not too big after all...which is the reason why we mention that if we are not able to sell at 3k..anything less we will keep for own use lor.

triniti, hi...my son also has the same problem when he is put in a sit posn....always leaning fwd to taste whatever that is infront of him....

Finally i made it. i gave birth last thurs. A baby gal. Aiyo! now i realise being a mother not easy.

mummies - Can i ask a few question, i have a problem here, after giving birth i didnt BF my gal (i waited 2 days later cos i'm having c-section n was on drip for 2 days. I realise my BF is really little. i only pump out milk 2 times a day n very little milk(i only manage to pump out 30ml BF) is it normal or abnormal)
i feel so guilty that i didnt BF my gal immediately after birth

confused
Dun worri, initially is only little milk.. keep up the pumping & let baby latch on, slowly but surely supply will increase..
If i had my way, i'd start bf immediately when baby was born, but nurses took him away & suggested i rest (coz C-section). What a lousy idea, coz i was so euphoric & didn't really sleep anyways...

Re - feeding solids

Have you started feeding your babies pureed veggies or fruits? if yes, how old was your baby when you started? my girl is 4mth 3weeks, and she has been taking rice cereal with FM for 2 weeks already. Wondering whether its ok to start with sweet potatoes and carrots soon? also, let's say during a feeding, Do i feed my girl rice cereal first, then puree carrots for eg, or just feed puree carrots and skip the rice cereal altogether, or mix them up? thanks!

wendgy - thanks. but how long does it take to produce mor milk. I really feel guilty for not giving my gal BM. She's always on FM.
(I have difficulty bf) Me too didnt really sleep. I did try to bf my gals once i m in the hospital (3rd day) but she only suck for 5-10min n then stop liao.

Congrats Confused!
Wat is your baby's wt?

Re: Feeding solids
HI mummytobe,
I start feeding my gal when she's 4mths 1wk with cereals, carrots, apples, pears & sometimes a little bit of durians..keke...
I mixed a cube of pureed with 2-3 teaspoons of cereals & a little bit of FM.

confused ...

CONGRATS!!

Well try to let your gal latch on as much as possible to build up the supply ... know that its not easy esp with the c-section wound ... cos no matter how good the pump is ... its not as effective as your bb suckiling ...

otherwise you have to pump like every 3hrly ...

drink lots of milo and hot soup ... will help build up your supply too ...

anyway dun feel guilty abt anything ... as long as you have tried your best ... ur princess will understand ...

JT ...

of cos pretty lar hahahaha ...

confused
for sure it doesn't happen overnight... looking back, i used to only pump 30ml, then 100ml, then now averaging 120ml... my boy is already 5.5m. Many other mummies pump much more! So dun worri, get enuf rest, pump often, take hot soup, eat fish... supply will increase over time... must be patient ok.
Let your baby suck often to stimulate supply.. no need to be long long like 1hr..