(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi Applejuz,

1 tablespoon can last about 1hr+ only i think. However for the first time better don't feed too much. So after her 1 tablespoon meal, I'll give her FM after 1hr+. But heard from MIL that she's already giving her 3 tablespoon per feed. Actually i think no hurry to wean her to solid food but seems like MIL prefer to do so early. Maybe becos it's kind of tedious to bottlefeed her nowadays as she's keep wanting to flip and refuse to be still to drink in good manner.

May I join your thread? ixwong told me about this thread today. My boy is in the pic above (Patrick) next to Haowen. I'm a SAHM

re: cereal in bottle
http://www.beansprout.net/content/expert_advice.jhtml?ElementId=995643220&audience=Family&category=Expert+Advice&subcategory=Health

here's an excerpt
"Solids don't belong in a bottle. Neurological maturation at about this time allows the baby to swallow without linking that swallow to a sucking movement. If you put cereal in the bottle, you deprive your baby of the milestone of swallowing without sucking, and the joy of the experience of taste. In addition, it is very easy to overfeed a baby by putting cereal in a bottle, since babies can suck much easier than they can swallow solids fed from a spoon. The only person who benefits from feeding cereal in a bottle is the harried parent. Giving an infant the opportunity to go beyond sucking with the sensory experience of tastes and textures is what this is all about.
"The exception to this rule (of not putting baby cereal in bottle) is the child with a condition called gastro-esophageal reflux. Reflux is a constant regurgitation of part or all of the stomach contents along with stomach acid, and it can cause irritation of the esophagus, the tube that leads from the mouth to the stomach. These babies are very uncomfortable, crying in pain, and often resisting feeding, because they come to associate feeding with pain. One of the treatments for reflux is to thicken the feedings with rice cereal, hoping to keep the thickened food from leaking up into the esophagus. In some cases, this is enough to allow the esophagus to heal and for the heartburn to be relieved. Here, the cereal is added as a thickening agent, not for its nutritional value, or for its taste."

hi small bell,

welcome!!

hey ixwong,

wah! u happening, bring haowen go gai gai so many places in a day! on leave ah? so good...

hey wendyg,

can share ur tip for increasing bm ss with this "drying" mom?

musicgal
i pump religiously every 3 hrs. every meal eat fish. Aiya ask tingting & triniti better... their supply is tops.

Cat_tail
Did you buy the trays from near your home? Where? Any idea if the ice trays need to be sterilised before each usage?

Apple Juz
I feed with spoon. She managed to finish all that we gave her yesterday(3rd day). Not much though - 30ml water + 1 tablespoon rice cereal. Will slowly increase. I think introducing solids is a science. Need to have balanced diet etc but their portions are so tiny they are almost troublesome to prepare. How long have you been feeding solids?

Wendyg
There should be a nice airconditioned coffee place near our home where the Punggolite moms can gather :)

Musicgal
Have you been expressing successfully in your client's office?

passing guest
BM mommies dun drink so much kopi lah..
commercial ice trays can be sterilised using sterilising tablets. Dat's how i do mine.
when is annette's appt with the hairstylist?

musicgal
u still getting the Avent petal? I dun mind changing my pump's diaphragm..

Small bell,
welcome to tis thread! u will definitely fall in lov wit us! :p

musical,
u r back to office liao? ur project finished liao hur?! how's ur bb?

wendyg,
he's not.... just "pout" when watchin tv.... :!?!?

tingting,
haha...yeah lor, nowadaes he likes to make funny face! i also gotta bathe bb after he poo.... coz he usually poo alotz until the poo cover all over his "p"

Trying very very hard to delay the haircut so that the older folks will eventually forget or get sick of nagging at us. Or hopefully her hair will start growing properly real soon.

WendyG
We can drink hot chocolate at the coffee place :) Could not tahan the temptation during one Christmas party, so I drank one-third glass of champagne. Wah, shiok man!!! (you must be shaking your head in disgust, haha...)

skippy
Ernest has the "she nai sha shou" look.

Haven't log on for very long, cause have been going back to school for meetings to prepare for school reopen.
Very angry today. Just being nice, i tried to ask my P if i can create a corner in the staff room for pumping out milk as i need to do it every 3 hours. She said 'No' cause some colleagues might be mentally disturbed!
kao_confused.gif
Don't know what's so disturbing about that, anyway, THEY ARE NOT GOING TO SEE ME DO IT!!!
Then i ask her, where can i express my milk. Guess what. She said 'TOILET'. OMG!
kao_angry.gif

I was really angry man. How can she be so unsupportive since she herself is a mother of 2. And still dare to tell me that she breastfed her son for 9 months and she express in the toilet as well. WELL, that was like dunno how many donkey years ago!
Then i told her my pump needs a power point to work, cause electric. Then she think hard and ask me to go one of the rooms to express. Sigh... So inconvenient. Imagine so many students outside and i gotta carry the stupid pumps out for everyone to see to get to the staff room.

Am i too petty? Or do i have the right to be really angry? Cause i'm very angry right now leh. So angry until just now i only pumped half my usual amount. Kaos...

eileen,
coolz down. think everyone of us encountered tiz problem when back to work... dont get pissed off. will affect ur ss... sometime is also cldnt understand. ie. a P n a mother of 2 still will say tiz kind of things... sigh....

passing_guest,
u no work todae hur? can logon n chat ... haha...ernest got she nai sha shou?! waahaha...must tell his dad... sure very happie!

Re Office:
sigh....my Boss still dont want to let us go off. my other dept's colleagues all went off n left only our dept! sigh.... siao boss...n she went to eat snake... dunno where the hell is she now since lunch time....

wendyg,
Yah. I know, i got the traveller for my pump, so its ok. At the most, i'll just have another plastic bag for my dirty funnels after pumping. But i super angry leh. Hehehe... And i posted this message on all the forums i go to. hahaha...

Re- freezer cube trays

Hi Cat-tail,
The ice-tray that you got, are there individual lids for each cube, or just one lid for the whole tray?

Would like to check if the mummies in the list below are confirmed in going ahead with the order, or opt for a cheaper option like what cat_tail suggested? pls update the list below accordingly, thanks!

1) I'm a Mummy - 2 sets
2) Angel - 2 sets
3) Vone - 1 set
4) cookies - 1 set
5) applejuz - 1 set
6)sweetpea- 1 set
7) lsm - 1 set
8) theresa - 2 sets
9)triniti - 2 sets
10) coffeedrinker - 1set

passing guest
re: champagne
no worries.. i dun drink any form of alcohol whatsoever.. i just shake head & dun understand the attraction of alcohol... gimme Coke anytime =)))

hey, hv removed my order

1) I'm a Mummy - 2 sets
2) Angel - 2 sets
3) Vone - 1 set
4) applejuz - 1 set
5)sweetpea- 1 set
6) lsm - 1 set
7) theresa - 2 sets
8)triniti - 2 sets
9) coffeedrinker - 1set

hi wendyg,

orh... cos i read passing guest's post and thought you passed some "miracle cure" to her for increasing bm supply... cos of work, i can't pump every 3 hrs, sigh...

thanks for the offer but i've gotten the petal already...

hi passing guest,

hahaha! i'm at clent #2 now, in fact i'm pumping as i type! they lemme have a small meeting room to use... good thing the acctant i liase with used to express at work, so she knows wat it's like & she helped me make arrangements - so nice hor?
but the guy whose office is opp the rm i use is bewildered as to what i'm doing there!

hi skippy,

nah, still at ulu tuas here... 1 more wk to go b4 i go back to 'civilisation'!

bb naughty, still doesn't wanna sleep thru the night! i tried the cereal method also no use... sigh!

hi eileenp,

i got that same response from client #1 when i asked if i could borrow the server rm to pump in... the co has only 8 ppl, i had to ask 4 ppl before i finally went to the cfo to ask! imagine me explaining the situation to a man who's old enough to be my dad!! guess if wanna be pumping mom, must really be thick-skinned!

musicgal,
admired your determination to bf your bb. Better saiyang mummy when grow up! Ya, I have been clearing my leave since 22 Dec. Time on leave really passes quickly, going back on 3 Jan....

Eileenp
Dun stress, dun angry. I also uses a nursing room which is 5 mins walk from my office. Been lugging my traveller pump to and fro too.

mummies, since our 1st gathering is nxt sat, i need 2 noe who's coming. mummies who r interested, pls indicate ur attendance below.

7 jan (sat) - amanda's plc (yishun, near orchid country club)
1. vone
2. ixwong
3. amanda
4. anissa
5. cakey

25 jan (wed) - adel's plc (near parkway parade) or triniti's plc (near medicorp). pls vote.
1. skippy
2. triniti
3. tingting (okie wif both)
4. seabreeze
5. adel
6. cookies (prefer triniti's plc)
7. vone (okie wif both)
8. aidanee
9. passing_guest

paging 4 amanda... pls pm me ur contacts & address can?? if nt, we prob hv 2 tink of another alternative plc

1. vone
2. ixwong
3. amanda
4. anissa
5. cakey

25 jan (wed) - adel's plc (near parkway parade) or triniti's plc (near medicorp). pls vote.
1. skippy
2. triniti
4. seabreeze
5. adel
7. vone (okie wif both)
8. aidanee
9. passing_guest (okie wif both)

eileenp
Don't be disheartened. When I went back to work a month ago, my big boss had the same objections. He feels that expressing in office will "disrupt the harmony of fengshui" in the company. I was naturally upset and had difficulty getting my supply moving. But what was touching was that several of my male colleagues were very supportive and encouraged me to keep going no matter what. They would even accompany me to nearby nursing room if need be. How sweet is that.

These days I have to do it in the toilet cubicle. Sucks, but no choice. Do persevere.

Hi I'm a Mummy,
Pls remove my order coz my sis is passing me hers. Thanks.

This is the updated list:

1) I'm a Mummy - 2 sets
2) Angel - 2 sets
3) Vone - 1 set
4) applejuz - 1 set
5)sweetpea- 1 set
6) lsm - 1 set
7)triniti - 2 sets
8) coffeedrinker - 1set

ladies ...

wow brought yicheng to orchard with my mummy today ... he q good boy today lar ... can zzz in his new car so that i can do some shopping ...

passing guest ...

thinks its AMK ...

Wow ... all the babies posted are soooooooooo cute!!! Do post more to share share

I started Clarence on solid yesterday and he loves it! Yummy yummy! I also took him to the barber. He was laughing when I sat him on my lap, obviously not aware that his hair will soon be gone. Hahaha ...

Being new here, I hope to meet up with all of you.

1. vone
2. ixwong
3. amanda
4. anissa
5. cakey
6. smallbell

1. skippy
2. triniti
4. seabreeze
5. adel
7. vone (okie wif both)
8. aidanee
10.smallbell (okie wif both)

hiyee.. all.. since everyone is alright with both and cookies would prefer to go over to triniti's place.. then we shall meet at triniti's place instead?

mm.. hi mummies.. i have got the job le though.. but now.. still a bit bu she de my son.. very scared tt my maid can't handle him when he goes into a fit!! but my working hours are quite flexi though..

1. vone
2. ixwong
3. amanda
4. anissa
5. cakey
6. smallbell

1. skippy
2. triniti
4. seabreeze
5. adel
7. vone (okie wif both)
8. aidanee
11.eileenp

Me will be quite late if you all don't mind. Cause finish school at 1pm plus. Gotta rush back, get ready then can come out. Hee...

hi vone,
wat time will e gathering be?

triniti, jus checking, in case e gathering is hold at yr place, isit easy to hire a cab there?

hi mummies n babies..
HAPPY 2006!!!! Have a great long weekend.

Me also want to come along too..

1. vone
2. ixwong
3. amanda
4. anissa
5. cakey
6. smallbell

1. skippy
2. triniti
4. seabreeze
5. adel
7. vone (okie wif both)
8. aidanee
11.eileenp
12.nicky's mom (prefer triniti's plc)

hi passing guest, u driving? can book a ride fr u? hehe.. me at blk 638.. v near to wendy... the other time din manage to contribute, cos no stockpile... hehe....

re: major poo
the other time he poo until leak to the back.. so yucky... so gotta bathe... good thing my fren's a mtb, so got necessary stuff...

Hi vone,
For the 7 jan gathering can hubby join? Not sure can manage bb alone or not leh hehe.. Sorry, what's the time again huh?
Thanks for coordinating

lib
i dun take alcohol regardless of whether i'm pregnant/ bf.. i dun take alcohol at all!! =))
gimme a Coke anytime... =)

I can't make it for the gathering on 7th cos my hubby going for minor surgery next wk..

Will consider the 25th one cos dun know can manage bb alone...

Is the server down? Cannot come into forum.

ixwong,
Dun tell me Haowen is the youngest bro!!

Welcome Small Bell!

skippy,
Is Ernest doing the "AH Boo...." & then flying saliva? Haha... dun worry lah, some baby oso botak for a year but later still grow out fine. Just take it tat u save some money on haircut.

Re: Cereal in bottle
Better dun, cos may choke the baby. Imagine u try to swallow food when lying down... difficult rite?

Re: Ice tray

Hi Passing Guest,
I happen to see the tray when I am doing my facial. It's one of the shophouses that is very near Blk 321 AMK & the wet market. This kind of tray cannot be sterilised, if u do, it will melt. What I do is soak it with the soapy warm water & then rinse with running water. Other option like wendyg suggested is using tablet.

Err...mummytobe,
I dun mean to discourage the mummies to cancel their order. Just suggesting cheaper option for mummies to replace the tray. It's a lid for the whole tray.

hi moulinmum, ur hb ok? actually, it takes practice to bring baby out, so u can start now!
anyway, after u reach the house there'll be a lot of mummies to help out..

Happy New Year to all the mummies here!

May all the mummies stay slim & sexy, may all our babies stay happy & healthy..keke..

PS: KS a bit~ another 1 hr+ more

Happy new year to all mommies and babies!

Any of your baby's poo poo has blood before? My baby has a little just now. The doctor said maybe caused by constipation, and my MIL said its heaty..

Hi cat_tail,
haha no worries lah, its not like i'm making any money out of it..me going to order, so wondering if any other mummies would like to join in as well..

Re; ice-tray

mummies, i've received the final quotation from the supplier already, and the final price of the tray is confirmed at $12.50sgd per tray (inclusive of shipping). Please update the list below if you would like to cancel your order, or would like to add your name or an extra order. I will be 'closing' the order tomorrow (monday) and will send you a PM on the payment and collection details. thanks!

1) I'm a Mummy - 2 sets
2) Angel - 2 sets
3) Vone - 1 set
4) applejuz - 1 set
5)sweetpea- 1 set
6) lsm - 1 set
7)triniti - 2 sets
8) coffeedrinker - 1set

Hi Cat_tail or anyone,

Some question about the freezing of bb food to clarify to decide whether I want to cancel my order:
1) Y do we need to remove the frozen cube to keep in freezer bag or tuppleware?
2) Wouldn't it be difficult to remove the frozen cube since it is frozen (silly ques but i really wonder how)
3) Where to get freezer bag & what type of tuppleware can be kept in freezer?

hi mummies, happy new yr!!
may all d tt u wish 4 come true in d coming yr!!

okie, d updated list 4 d gatherings r as below:

7 jan (sat) @ 2pm - amanda's plc (yishun, near orchid country club)
1. vone & hb - cheesecake
2. ixwong
3. amanda - drinks
4. anissa
5. cakey
6. smallbell

paging 4 amanada...

25 jan (wed) @ 2pm - triniti's plc (near medicorp)
1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting
4. seabreeze
5. adel
6. cookies
7. vone & hb - cheesecake
8. aidanee
9. passing_guest
10.smallbell
11.eileenp
12.nicky's mom

4 those who enquire, hbs r welcome, if they dun mind helping out!! hehehe... pls indicate if hb is coming so tt i can make d necessary arrangements.

2 make it easier 4 all, i suggest tt each mummy bring along some food & d host of d gathering takes care of d drinks. so mummies who r attending, pls indicate wat u wld like 2 bring along so tt thr r no duplications. tks.
looking 4ward 2 mtg u gals.

Hi cookies
yeah easy to get a cab since it is very near mediacorp and lornie road.

Hi all mummies coming to my place
Ok, I will make lemon and lime drinks, plain water and also apple, prawn, carrots and egg mayo salad..is it ok?