(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

melting at home today... at least now there's a bit of rain to down the heat...

re: follow-on formula
hehe.. inspired by ixwong to get free samples to try, though PDs also give them out.. hope to sustain breastmilk after i return to work, but doesn't seem v likely due to work environment, so got to standby milk formulas... will be quite sad to stop though, since i've got a healthy supply...

re: clothes for baby
usually i just let him wear singlet n diapers, cos he sweats so easily! so singlets v cheap lor.. haha..

seabreeze, ya, we all like the "i love mummy" kind of stuff... :p

cakey, i hope my boy doesn't reach the stage ur gal is at too soon, cos i still want a peace of mind.. haha.. but agree that ur gal is v smart! mine just do 1 turn then cannot move liao, cos hand kanna stuck below the body.. maybe too heavy.. :p

thanks wendy!! can't wait to meet you on tues!

re: clothes
i also got the "i love mum", bought from JL during GSS. as for the rompers, now quite tempted to buy. got 1 stupid question: the rompers(from miiko) are long or short sleeves?

ds gained 200gms within 3 days, today his weight is 6.5kg. soon my arms will drop off from carrying him

re: starting on solids
will probably start ds on solids when he is 5-6mths, thinking of getting nestle.

theresa, tks 4 d info.

cakey, ur gal is veri smart!!

ting, ya lor, wasted if u dun continue 2 bf. so when u going back 2 wk??

ilmare, u can try d mktplc. sometimes gt gd bargains. i can understd how u feel. mine is abt 7.2kg liao. tink we can train our arm muscles oledi.

vone, me going back mid feb, by that time boy is about 6 months old. hope to sustain for a few months after that though, cos that's when his immune system starts to mature, and the breastmilk's antibodies can help "cover" during this transitional period.. also can save $$ on formula.. haha!

vone, if you know any method to get rid of tummy, let me know!!

is everyone back to pre-preggy weight? i can finally fit into my old shoes!

vone & ting, formula is really not cheap, my bb totally on formula and we spend $30 per week just on it.

ilmare, have 2 kg more to lose to be back to pre-preg weight.... hope to lose it all by CNY.

hi ilmare,

i was told that heinz rice cereal is a good start for baby above 4 months old. it contains no sugar (as what the packet says). Kiddy palace selling it at $2.75. i will be starting my boy on cereal once he turns 5 months old this christmas.

if anyone got any method to get rid of tummy, please let me know too... still want to get rid of the extra kilos i put on... sigh....

hi temple,
Yupz, Heinz is not bad coz there's no milk added to it so you can add the cereal to your formula or bm before feeding your baby. It's also easier when you want to add things like pureed veg or fruits later. I'll try it with my dd after she finishes the Frisocream.
Actually I also dunno how I lost coz I put on abt 25kg during preggie but my body like rubber band liddat one, put on easily, lose also quite easily. Dunno gd or bad...
One factor could be I've been looking after dd since day 1, prime caregiver so quite tiring. And she's not exactly very light so carrying her ard gives me loads of exercise.

hi,mummies using e pigeon detergent,dont u dilute it further w water??

wendyg, like u, i jus wash my pump with tap water n brush it in e office. no time for detergent.

illmare n mummies interested in cheap clothes.. if u happen to stay in clementi, there's 2 shops that sells it really cheap.i bought a GAP romper for my boy today, only $3. e other shop sell it 3 for $10, other brands. no time to check out jus now. but hor, more variety for girsl leh.

tingting, u can get e free FM samples from friso n Dumex if u wan try these 2 brands. i think its a waste to give up cos of yr good supply. but sometimes also understand work environment may deter it. btw, u can start to stock up rite?

the thread is going too fast nowadays. n back to work means lesser time to respond.. haizzz..

wow mummies, so many new comers! welcome..

has been quite busy these few days, *hehe.. kylie has been going gai-gai'in almost everyday.. this mummy so bad, bring her out from lunch till dinner then come home.. everyday she is so exhausted.. keke....

re: bottle washing
am using the tollyjoy wash.. like it v.much.. used to use pigeon one.. but too ex liao.. even if am outside will still use the "diluted detergent" wash then use hot water if is available.. then come home will do another through clean + sterilise.

re: solid food
don't intend to start giving solid at this young age.. (4.5mths) will oni start semi-solid when my girl turns ard 5.5mths..

re:bottle washing
i use Pigeon Detergent too.. ya, very costly leh.. think of changing to cheaper ones.

cookies, when i wash my pump in office,i normally drip a few drops in the bottle, then add tap water rinse many times... last rinse with hot water.

Gals, there's 15% Robinson & 20% JL sale tis weekend. good chance to get some toys & stuff!

re: starting on solids
will bear in mind on the various recommendations... so many choices...

cookies, i work near clementi, where are the shops? in clementi central?

theresa n temple, lets work hard together and lose the extra kgs!

applejuz ...

yeah ... me called them to cfm liao ... going down to buy a stroller for my bb ... got lots of voucher but the lady said that need to charge to the card then got 20% off sianzzzz ....m think will keep the voucher till its those storewide 20% ...

re: stroller

went down to the shop in chinatown ... she said that luckybaby is coming out with a new series of stroller ... think thats why the current series now having q a good offer ... think the one similar to ixwong is now selling at $139 at OG ... but the one that wendyg bought its still $199 less 10% only thats why thinking of going JL to get ...

Have not posted for a long long time already cos been busy with both work and bb. Just thought i'd pop into say hi and also to share with u all a pic of my ds
He is now 3 and a half mths.
348119.jpg

Wow, left with 2 kg ah. So good.
I think i still have 8 - 10 kg to go man.

got secret recipe? I also take care full time leh...

ilmare

e shop is in e central. 1 is beside e fruit store. e other 1 beside bangawan, but tis 1 is only a small section outside e shop. btw, u going search n check properly i guess. some may hv stains but many are nice.

seabreeze,
which chinatown shop u go to buy e pram?

btw, wonder if now is still good to buy lucky bb prams cos our babies r 3mth+, cos i c that lucky bb pram quite narrow, may outgrown quite fast. my colleageu also using, son is 7mths, she say going to change soon cos getting narrower. any1 thinking of maxi cosi or macalen (nt sure spelling), can give comments?

thanks cookies, i think i know where is the shop! maybe will leave ds with my mum on tues/wed and i will go shop shop.

i will be off to robinson/JL later... buy some clothes for ds!!

so far, ds temp is ok... keeping all fingers and toes cross!!

ilmare, okie, will do.
i still gt some more weight 2 lose. sigh...

theresa, ya lor, formula is so exp.

cookies, yes, i do diluted d cleanser further coz it's veri concentrated. 1 pump can wash a few bottles.

lib, kylie is so fortunate.

hi sweetpea, ur boy looks veri cheeky in d pic hor, sticking out his tongue.

ixwong, say happy b'day 2 haowen 4 me okie. & give him a kiss on my behalf.

sweetpea, tt's gd. smiley bb r gd.

theresa,

i also put on about 20 over kg during my preggie days.... mostly water retention. i have very bad water retention during my last stage....

now my fingers and toes still quite buffy... guess the water retention problem has not completed gone yet....

yes ilmare.... let's do it man... must get back to our pre-preggie figure man.... hahaa.... just weigh myself and found out that i just lose 1kg... horray....

Yeah a smilely baby is definitely good. He has his moods too but sure hope he will stay smiley more often.

I also put on about 20 kg during my pregnancy. Lost some of the weight but definitely got more to go. Let's spur one another on then to lose all the excess baggage.

how to lose weight when we got no time to exercise?? also no time to sleep liao... my colleagues have been saying that my body very "strong".. lack of sleep, so busy working and taking care of baby but STILL didn't lose weight. *sigh* Worse thing is that 1 of them actually told me that she tot bfg will lose weight but she look at my situation, she think next time when she have a kid, she dun want to bfg liao. She say her figure more impt and her fren who feed FM managed to lose all her weight so she figured out those who feed FM faster to lose preg weight. Hai...

Been very long since i last popped in..

My baby seen the PD last week for 2nd 5in1 jab and was weighing 9.2kg then.. This whole week, he has been sick (down with cough and cold) and is supposed to inhale that ventolin to open the blocked airways..(sad.. to think i bf him for 3mths.. sob sob!) and till now seems not okay yet.. sigh.. Think tonight when hubby come home, will bring him to KKH and see doc..

Sigh.. Anyone got any suggestions to what i can do?

Will give Haowen a big kiss from Aunty Vone.

Aiya, Haowen has been fussing for the whole of today. Cry and refused milk after the initial 100ml (whole day only drink 300ml!), and want to be carried all the time. Was abt to bring him to PD when as a last resort, apply some teething gel on his gum. Subsequently, he gobbled down his usual 180ml. Aiyo, then I realised his gums are hurting that's why refuse to drink whole day. *blur mummy* Hope he gets better tomorrow...

nicky's mom
no suggestions from me, but 9.2kg @ 4 mths?!?! Did u type wrongly.....? If not then your boy is very SOLID hor!

ixwong
wah your boy also seriously teething huh... no joke, another thing for baby to cry & fuss. *sianz* growing pains..

welcome mom30! yea.. another sahm! hiak hiak.. but not boring mah? mm.. for me staying at home every day.. is real sucky..wor.. becoming an old haggard woman le..

adelyee,
Not boring lah. Can go 'gai gai' everyday leh. Shopping, have tea, shopping, have tea... Hehehe... I also want leh. But if i stay at home, then my little Kai, Daddy and Mummy have to drink BM together. Hahaha...

wahhah.. got so kua zhang or not? at least my family.. and maid plus three dogs.. have got bread for 3 meals!... hahahahah..and oh yea.. prob a bit of bm as well..

re: teething
how do we know our bbs are teething? My girl started to drool alot plus, like to eat her hands.. but i don't see any teeth yet....

just came back from suntec midnight madness shopping!! brought my bb there with a pram.. so tough to squeeze thru the crowds with a pram.. i should have just brought a sling. So many pple in suntec.. everyone is grabbing stuffs as if it was free...

Hi wendyg, my baby "elephant" is 9.2kg.. can't remember how many cm liao.. But PD says can pass off as a 7 month old baby..

Sigh.. i just came back from KKH.. Doctor says baby is breatheless.. so got to be hospitalized.. Dunno y bf baby also like that leh? I all this while thought i didn't bf the elder brother then he's got asthma.. now it don't seems like this is the case as i bf this younger one for 3mths.. sob sob..

Hi adelyee,
Was ok for me cause I also wanted to stay at home n look after my kids. U noe my elder one.. now 5, used to put him in childcare cause I M working. But he so poor thing, always get sick.. almost every 2 wks got high fever and he was sp skinny...everyone sees hm say he looks very pale.. so heart pain but no choice hav to work.. now my 2nd one came, me wanted to look after them by myself.. so i resigned. now hav to be thrifty lor...

Hi Nicky's mom,
Me understand how you feel, cause my elder one also hav asthma.. got very bad attack twice this yr.. see him suffer very heart pain. His PD put him on steroid puff for long term. I was thinking of bring him to see Eu Yan Sang specialist clinic. Hope can cure him completely.

Hi mom30,

I tried bringing him to chinese doc sometime ago, doesn't seems to help.. looks like the ventolin works best.. My elder one (also 5y.o.) has been on the on the puff for almost 3yrs already.. I was so afraid that this younger will also get asthma, so bf him but it doesn't seems to help as well..

wendyg ...

what i meant was that optima air was still selling at $199 less 10% at OG heehee .... so going down to JL to buy instead ...

cookies ... it opp the sub court ... on the 3rd floor ... u can exit from OG where the taxi stand is ... when you walk towards it you can see a v huge banner hanging down from the building that the shop is located at ...

anyway the address is Blk 34 #03-132 Upper Cross Street Tel no: 65323855

welcome mom30!!

nicky's mum ... wow ur bb really v big ... hope that he will be discharged soon ... know that its really heartache to see our bb in the hosp ...

ixwong ... help me give 1 kiss oso heehee

PRAM:
Hi Triniti,
Thanks, but no thanks....Aprica is alittle way above my hubby's budget (SIGH) he only gave me max S$300. so have decided to get GRACO's Citiport EDT. will place an order with Babytown.com.sg and get them to deliver to my place....S$199 + S$5 (delivery).Save my petrol n the hassle......will update you guys when i get my pram. The bal S$100, i am considering if i should get the allerhand bag! hahah...still thinking....

Seabreeze,
hope you manage to get yours at JL....