(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

i wanted to water at 3am when Cayden woke up....but couldnt bear to see him cry cos of hunger....so gave milk!

Ting ting,
my pd also says bb below 5months should not sleep through 6hrs w/o feed as the sugar level will drop and the brain will "shut down" some of the functions in order to "conserve" energy...wonder how true it is!

coffeedrinker
is milk warm enuf?

temple
piano pooh can play music!! And also some other sounds. Cute huh.

ilmare
i carried my boy upright & his neck muscles gradually strengthened. Same as cat-tail

adelyee
re: baby fussing
got apply ru-yi oil? Burp him?

Hi temple
Yeah, it can convert to piano/xylophone one tunes and each note can play a song/animal noise. It is not cheap though 70plus after the 20% disc.But I asked my hubby not to buy anything for me for my bday and Christmas this year...I just want a credit card which I can buy all the baby stuff haha

cookies ...

i am using the tollyjoy one ... cheaper and not bad ... think aft he is older might just convert to the normal detergent ... otherwise v siong ...

ixwong ...

me thinking of getting a luckbaby pram ... any recommendation on where to get it from? know that kids mall having storewide 20% sale now ... wondering is it cheaper to get from there or at those hypermart store ... what model is yours and how much did u pay? oso you think how long can the pram last haowen?

paiseh ... so many question ... think for q long then decided to get 1 more pram ... my current one is simply TOO HEAVY!!!

re: bottle washing

the pigeon one is v liquid so used up v fast... i tried the tollyjoy one (cheaper) thicker so can add water to dilute and wash.. one bottle can last v long. got nice bubblegum smell too! hehe.

seabreeze, ^5!

i use tollyjoy, but the lingering scent makes me wonder if i've washed it clean enough! good thing i'm BF my boy, else will surely chalk up a lot on utility bills! i think it's better to use a detergent, cos milk has got fats.. though hot water can also rinse it off, but dunno how well it can do so. can pour some into a small bottle to bring to office.

aidenee, is that true?! sounds scary leh...

re: feeding bb at nite

my theory is if the bb is not over-weight, and wakes up by himself at nite hungry, then better feed lor.. cos now still young... i think weaning off milk at nite can wait till slightly older...

Looks like I'm the laziest mummy of all! I never use any bb detergent or hot water, just wash with normal tap water... only once or twice a day then I use detergent. Cos I rather it's oily then risk not rinsing it clean enuff.. Also sometime I forgot to sterilize the bottle then it's only sterilize after 2 days... But each time I wash very thoroughly shaking here and there and used up alot of water.
Also i make sure the teat is covered after washing that's all.

aidanee:
eh.. my bb girl sleeps for 7-8 hours straight these days and she is only 4 mths old! I think shld be ok right cos she never complain or is uncomfortable leh.. but last night, i purposely wake her up after 6 hrs to drink milk cos i didn't want to pump....

hmm... maybe i shld change to tollyjoy too... i have already used up many packets of pigeon detergent!

ilmare, tt's gd.
at least ur wait is worth it.

i'm a mummy, me 2!! no more mei mei hands liao.

cookies, i use bb detergent everytime i wash my boy's stuff. thot tt it's d norm??

aidanee, really ah?? my boy can sleep 4 8 hrs w/o waking up 1. gosh... must ask my doc liao...

triniti, ya, me 2!!

at home i use Mama Lemon... baby arrived 2wks early & we haven't bought baby detergent yet, so we thought just use Mama Lemon first... until now still using =PP
Wash liao will steam sterilise mah..

only for his clothes then using ABD washing powder.

hey wendy, thanks. i've ordered from miiko oredi!

aidanee, u r scaring me...chloe has been sleeping through the night @ 3 months old (8hours!). when i raised this concern w my pd few days ago, he actually said "good...good"... then again he only gives monotonous answers and nothing more...

It's a Friday morning. Weekend around the corner. Hee...

Welcome Phoebe & Theresa!!

sleeping through:
The KK pd once told me that babies should sleep through from around 4 months onwards leh. And he say that to ensure that, must feed on schedule and not feed on demand. Then they will sleep through slowly.
I think quite true leh. Before i had mastitis, i was feeding about every 3 hours. Little Kai was like sleep from 3 hours to 4 hours straight. Then when i had mastitis, i feed him on demand cause ss drop. Then now he went back to sleeping 2 hours only lor. Sigh...
But i think diff docs diff analysis lah. So mummies, don't worry.

Re bottle cleaning
Want to recommend Pureen bottle detergent. I was using pigeon one but find it too diluted (use a lot each time) and too ex. Tried the Pureen one, so much better cos it's concentrated and can go a longer way. The Mint flavour smells good too. Bought it discounted at Kiddy Palace at ony $5.90 per bottle. I one-shot bought 5 bottles!

triniti
Dun think your hb will let u loose with his credit card...dangerous...hee hee...:p

Seabreeze
I got my luckybaby pram from one of the hyperstore at Kaki Bukit. Costs me $168, think the model is Capella. There are 2 types - one with reversible handles (more ex, Lib has that) and one without (like mine). Err....I dun intend to change the pram for Haowen yet cos he still can lay comfortably inside. Later on, once he can sit up, the pram would still be usable cos legs dangling downwards mah. I like the pram wt, it has a strap that allow me to sling on my shoulders so I can still carry bb in the other arm (a bit siong though, ok for a short while). Only thing is u need 2 hands to keep & lock it. If unlock, can just swing it open w one hand.

Aida
Give Cayden milk lah....he's still so young. My boy slept thru on sun and mon night, but reverted back to his 1 nite feed after that! *sign* trying to think how to make him sleep thru again.

Christina
miiko saved her last L-size pkt for u right? The rompers are quite big in size so haowen also cannot wear yet. Good buy at $18 for 5!

wah, got new mommies joining this thread, so fun! welcome phoebe & theresa!

hey seabreeze,

i bought my luckybaby stroller at the john little sale, 20% off, with free delivery. but dunno when the next one will be coming... i got the petit optima air i think, paid $160+ after discount... it's got reversible handles & can fold inwards to make it pretty compact...

ixwong
Haha my hubby is very generous in this aspect but romantic aspect:zero...haha He is more than happy not to think about what to buy me for Christmas and birthday.

hey ixwong, yeah!! she saved the last one for me, i'm paying for postage to have her send over cuz its inconvenient for me to pick it up

its pretty good deal though! i wish the dept stores can stock up on these rompers. im glad u are happy w ur purchase

thanks triniti, for the info. just got my bumper mat too and i'm happy with that... brought it for my boy for his christmas present from me and my hubby....

triniti, mine aso. he always ask me wat i wan 4 special occasions.

cat_tail, so shiok!! mus njoy urself okie.

temple
I think we have the same bumpermat!I love it as well..yours is also called the dinoops right?

hehe yeah man, his perception of romaticism is really limited. Since I do not know what to buy for myself for Christmas and birthday, might as well buy it for the baby cos they are never-ending things to buy!!

Vone
yeah mine too but I really dun like to choose my own pressie...cos I am die hard romantic!! Anyway, I also dunno what to get for hubby for his Christmas pressie
haahaa

musicgal
according to the info posted by cakey, the sale is till 24 Dec. I think it's limited to only Philips staff but when we buy they never checked pass or anything, just ask if u are a staff (my hb is). I bought the mini cucina blender. Not handheld one - pay $27+ cos 40% off retail price of $45.90.

Re presents
I like surprises, so my hb always have headache over what to buy cos he scare later I dun like then really "surprise"....hee hee.

Cat_tail
wah, u v busy coordinating the bulk purchase. Thanks and Xin ku ni le! Enjoy your trip, k.

Christina
Good good. The designs are quite sweet, you will like it. As I was the 1st to collect from miiko, I took the only one which does not have the pink flowers piece cos too girly for my boy.

Thanks vone,
I need this rest badly...

Edna timing goes hay-wired again. These few nites I have to wake up 2 times to feed her... so tired. *yawn...

ixwong,
No problem. I also want to get my mat soon cos just find the whole process too slow. Haha.. hope I can help to speed up a bit.

triniti or any mom who bot the mats,
I am suggesting whether u wanna take up the heavy responsibility to collect the payment. Apparently Lovely Baby is in & out of hospital, and dino seems like going to pop soon. Then I am flying off also.. so thinking of alternatively.. Wonderbeings also worry & she can't do much in the forum.

ixwong
Yeah man..last Christmas he bought me a very expensive Gucci bag which is more 1000++ and I did not use it at all..haha talk about buying the wrong stuff...but I pretended to be really happy though ahha

cat_tail
Wow, that is a huge responsibility. Hmm, you know what we can do. We have 4 collection points right? Why dun we have the volunteer for the collection points to collect the money? I think it is easier...and the one collecting at wonderbeings and home delivery can tt the money to wonderbeings?

triniti,
Sounds like a good idea. Will suggest to Wonderbeings for alternative plan if Lovely Baby or dino fail to collect in time.

morning to all

just got back from polyclinic, ds got his 5-in-1 jab. didn't realise that the needle is so long and nurse stuck in all the way into his thigh! i almost fainted when i saw the needle and tot only stick little bit in. thank goodness ds only cried when needle went in and stopped about 5sec later.

re: christmas gifts
me and HB never exchange christmas gifts leh, dun know what to buy and usually very busy to even think about it.

just realised that need to buy clothes for ds, most of the clothes i bought are getting too small for him... anyone got lobang for value-for-money baby clothes?

for mums who already brought bb for jabs,

do i need to give him the panadol every 6hrs? or wait for fever? i am measuring his temp every 2 hrs now... so worry that ds will have fever... after jab will normally develop fever right?

hi ilmare, for daytime, no need to give med unless got fever.. i also like u, measure once in a while. before he sleeps at night, give one dose. then continue to monitor next day. i usually dun give a dose on 2nd night unless daytime got fever

re:- bottle washing
my baby on FM, so the bottle is very oily after each feed, so definitely have to wash with baby detergent. I use both Pigeon (mum's place) and Tollyjoy (at home). I find tollyjoy better, more suds. I will scrub and scrub and flip the teats inside out, outside in and scrub scrub scrub and rinse and rinse..then i will sterilize the bottles after each use.. very KS hor? my hubby say water and electricity bill went up by one fold since baby arrived hee hee
not to mention my poor hands! so dry from all the washing..peeling also, sigh

re- introducing solid foods
when should we start introducing soft solids to our babies like cereal, mashed pureed vege or porridge? i read some books, they say starting 4 months can start introducing rice cereal (eg. nestle) during one feed per day? eg. introduce one or two teaspoon during the afternoon food. feed half bottle milk first, then feed the spoon of cereal, then feed rest of the milk. Anyone started yet?

hi Cat_tail/ trinity,
Hi cat_tail,

can i have more info on the piano pooh such as the size, what does it do? got music is it? the sale closing 3pm today right? i am interested in it..pay when? if opt for home delivery, is $10? deliver by when?

Hi triniti,
hehe me like you also..only i don't have a specific credit card for bb expenses. I just charge all baby expenses to the supplementary cards my hubby gave me keke

Hi mummytobe,
Extra $10 for home delivery.
Earliest delivery is 24th Dec & latest payment by 21st Dec.

The rest is posted in the other thread.

ixwong
re: carters rompers
i got the 2nd last set... will pass the girly ones to ineedmilk's princess...
i thought solid colours...
tonight will see if can fit my boy

ilmare
your diaper bag with me.. cheap & good baby clothes - get from Marketplace lor... $18 for 5pcs rompers not cheap meh?

Thanks for all the warm welcome

re:- introducing solid foods
I started to feed my baby with cereal recently. She takes the frisocream coz I think Nestle is for 6 months & above. I replaced it with one of her feeds so she only drinks 4 times a day but gets cereals for lunch. Frisocream has milk in it so there's no need to add milk. If you want to add cereal into the milk then have to buy Heinz.
To start weaning them, you 've to let them eat it for 3-4 days to see if there's any allergies. If there isn't then can slowly introduce other food stuff. I think for pureed veg & porridge, better to intro later at abt 6 mths.

ilmare
Actually $18 for 5 rompers (i.e. $3.60) is actually quite cheap. Only if lucky that can bump into special offer like 5 for $10, but for those must watch out for defects.

Re solid
Waiting for haowen to turn 5 mths. Will likely start w Heinz cereal.

Got this from the baby centre website. See if it's relevant for those babies ard 4 mths of age.

Your 4-month-old's development:
Feeding less frequently
As your baby reaches four months, his stomach has grown bigger so he doesn't need to feed so often just four or five times a day. But he'll still gain weight his need to feed just tapers off as he gets older, becoming more like that of older children and adults. Now his attention will start to gravitate toward other people and things during mealtimes, and though it's exciting to see him aware of and responsive to new things, feedings can get difficult. If your baby is easily distracted, try feeding him somewhere quiet for a while.

A new talent for rolling over
When placed on his stomach, your baby will lift his head and shoulders high, using his arms for support. This mini push-up helps him strengthen his muscles and get a better view of what's going on. He may even amaze you (and himself!) by rolling over from his back to his front, or vice versa. You can encourage this through play: wiggle a toy next to the side he customarily rolls to in case he's interested enough to try again. Applaud his efforts and smile; he may need your reassurance since new actions can be frightening.

Time for solid foods?
For the first four to six months of life your baby gets all the nutrients he needs from breast milk or formula milk. Still, parents are often eager to start their babies on solid foods. Talk to your health visitor before trying yours on solids. You can begin feeding your baby some solids (meaning mushy foods such as pureed baby food or baby cereal) now that his digestive tract is more developed and his tongue-thrust reflex is starting to fade, but many doctors encourage parents to wait until their baby is six months old. Not rushing onto solids can cut down on allergic reactions and ensures that breast milk and formula won't get crowded out of your baby's diet.

Reaching out and mouthing objects
Your baby is now able to reach out and grab an object, even though he often misses his mark on the first try. Once he wraps his hands around something, he'll study it for a moment and then try to put it in his mouth. You may also notice a lot more dribbling now. Some babies can start teething as early as four months, but the first tooth usually doesn't surface until five to six months.

Encourage your baby to explore and play with a variety of objects. For instance, a clean cloth nappy will occupy your baby for a few minutes. Watch him suck on it, hold it, and discover what happens when he scrunches it up. Give him a light rattle and watch him delight in the sound it makes when he shakes it. An activity centre or cradle gym is a good choice for this stage, as your baby begins to discover the cause and effect of moving a lever and hearing a bell ring, for instance.

Able to play alone now
By now, your baby can play with his hands and feet for a few minutes at a time. A miracle! Suddenly you realise it's strangely quiet in the bedroom so you look in, only to discover that your baby, who so far has needed your attention for most of every waking moment, is amusing himself. Now maybe you can start reading the paper again.

Beginning to understand the role of language
Researchers believe that by four months your baby understands all the basic sounds that make up his native language. Between four and six months, he develops the ability to make some vocal sounds, such as "ma-ma" or "da-da." He doesn't yet connect that sound with a parent, though. By now, he's also able to participate in back-and-forth imitation games you say "boo," and he'll try to say it back. You can promote your child's sense of communication through imitating his faces and sounds "mirroring" him. Because you react when he makes noises and tries to say something, your baby learns the importance of language and starts to understand cause and effect. He'll begin to realise that what he says makes a difference.

Appreciation for a full range of colours
Babies see colour from birth, but they have difficulty distinguishing similar tones such as red and orange. As a result they often prefer black and white or high-contrast colours. Between your baby's second and fourth months, colour differences become clearer, and your baby starts to distinguish similar shades. Your baby will probably begin to show a preference for bright primary colours now. Some great eye-catchers include primary-coloured mobiles (hung out of his reach), bright posters, and visually striking board books.

Getting more selective about people
By four months, your baby may respond to your presence, your voice, and even your facial expressions by kicking and waving his arms. About now, your child, who to this point probably bestowed smiles on everyone he met, is beginning to be choosy about the company he keeps. In large groups or with unfamiliar people he may need time to get comfortable. Allow for transition time with strangers or when leaving your baby with a babysitter. You may also notice that when he's safely in your arms he's interested in interacting with other people especially noisy, boisterous older children.

Is my baby developing normally?
Remember, each baby is unique and meets social milestones at his own pace. These are simply guidelines to what your baby has the potential to accomplish if not right now, then shortly.

And if your baby was born prematurely, you'll probably find that he'll need time before he can do the same things as other children his age. Don't worry. Most doctors assess a premature child's development from the time he should have been born and evaluate his skills accordingly.

If you have any questions at all about your baby's development, check with your doctor.

Hi theresa,

Where can i buy frisocream from? so its suitable for babies as young as 4 months? So just substitute one of the feedings with frisocream?

Hi I'm a Mummy!,
Can get from NTUC or any supermarkets. There are 2 types, rice and wheat. I bought the rice one coz PD says some babies may be allergic to wheat & it is more heaty.
Suitable for 4 months onwards. Yupz, just substitute with one feedings.

re: rolling over
Yesterday my gal found a new way to move herself from place to place by fliping over and flip again i.e rolling herself from 1 place to another. My MIL was so shock to find her near the wall when attending to her cries.. Apparently she had overcame all the obstacles (pillows) and starts to roll... upon reaching the wall no more space to roll liao then she cry to complain. Give my MIL a shock

Looks like nowadays have to constantly keep an eye on her... Also need to start laying the ABC floor mat to prevent her head hitting the hard floor. (Her small mattress on floor not enuff for her to play liao).

ixwong & wendyg ...

okie ... me saw one of the lucky bb stroller on sale at OG just now ... look q good ... cant rem which model ... going to pull my hubby down to see later aft work ... think anything abt $160 is okie liao ...

cakey ...

wow your gal so smart ... must keep a lookout for her liao and teach her how to u-turn heehee ...

ilmare ...

for home wear clothes ... me usually buy from those neighbourhood store ... cheap and good ... nice print some more ... got this brand 'i love mum' ... v nice ... and of cos it has the 'i love mum' on the shirt oso heehee ....