(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

chris, no lah. wait til 38deg?? til my heart will b veri painful liao.

ixwong, ya lor. me taking leave on tt day. u take leave & come & join us lah.

vone, just fed chloe paracetamol she is soundly alseep now. now im paranoid about feeding her medicine too late...but 37.5degC shouldnt do any damage right??.. i feel like a bad mum now.. =(

oso thinking of changing pd, her pd didnt say anything about what you've all advised!! he's quite nerdy lah, a man of very very few words.. always feel very shortchanged after each visit. anyone seeing dr low kah tzay from Mt E, SBCC?

hey chris.. dun worry, julia had her 3rd mth jab last wk and her fever (for 2 days) hit 38.7... now also okie liao... very happy and notti.

just give chloe infant panadol every 6hrs until the fever subside... normally nite time the fever will become worse (like in my case) so advice u to give her another dose with her last feed for the day. Monitor her temp every hr. If she feels too hot, give a sponge bath to bring down the temp. If temp still dun go down, bring to the a&e...

Wendyg, thanks for the offer. i stay at Jurong WEST!!!! i will check out my sis' and see if it is suitable.

Vone, i thought of Aprica too. But i find it abit small leh....also very ex. My hubby said if i really want aprica, he will get it from japan in Feb....wow...that's abit long wait.

Christina,
chloe will be fine after the nap. Dun worry. my PD is abit kiasu. told me to give med every 6hrly rather than to wait till fever. My PD is at Paragon, Datuk Dr Michael Toh. VERY informative n knowledgeable old man, but not much PR. What to do, hubby feels he is a very good neonatal specialist..so am sticking with him.

Christina
Don't worry..I did not even feed Anton any medicine when he came back from his 3rd mth jab...and he is still fine!I think as long they feed well and not fussing, I thnk they should be fine

Aidanee
I latched him during the day time and the last feed will be a bottle feed. However, I intend to let him sleep throughout so my last feed will be ebm+40ml formula ( add up to about 220ml-240ml). Actually I increased his feed by 20 ml everytime he fusses after one feed. This is a signal to me that he wants to drink more.

chris, tt's gd. she'll b veri sleepy after d medicine so let her sleep okie. dun worry, i m sure tt no damage is done. jus monitor her & keep her temp down. as wat moulinmum say, give chloe medicine every 6 hrs okie.

if u dun feel comfortable wif d pd, then change okie. u r paying d $$, make sure tt it's worth it. i bring daryl 2 c my gp coz i feel veri comfortable wif him & he's cheaper 2!! hehe...

christina ...

aiyo your PD very gan-ho ler ... 38deg ... yicheng 37.4deg i already give med and stick the cooling stuff on his head liao ...

anyway called my mum n she said that his fever is gone liao ... HURRAY!!!

wendyg ...

hmmm my granny ar ... the dr stopped giving her food already cos the milk keep 'running' to her lung and making her cough very badly ... and they stopped the anti-biotics cos he feels tat the med can no longer help her fight and no point for us to pro-long her suffering ... cos we can see that she needs alot of energy to breath and her cough is very horrible ...

so we are sort of like waiting for things to happen now ...

me havent seen her since sat cos myself am sick ... soar throat and slight cough ... dun wan to get worse by going to the hosp ... otherwise i cannot take good care of my bb ... esp if we are expecting my granny to pass off any time ... will be v busy during that period ...

well ... sad but guess i have already accepted it and taking each day as it is now ...

re: pram

mine is oso a hand me down .... extremely bulky and heavy ... somemore its not that fold up like umbrella type ... its the collapsable type like trolley ... tot of getting a new one but seem like bb will outgrow the pram v fast ...

pram:
I am using aprica and it is very lightweight and comfy. They have a ventilation system at the back which helps the baby to feel cooler. My aprica is the biggest compared to the smaller ones. It has bigger wheels too but slightly heavier, about 6 kg.Another choice is Peg prego from Italy. The new range is one hand fold and easy to manouvre but it is 8kg...

seabreeze, so sad to hear abt ur granny, but if the suffering is really too much, maybe it's also a form of relief for her..

my pram is also like urs.. the trolley type.. so far never dare to venture out with bb alone cos cannot manage bb + pram + diaper bag!

vone, yup the les belle strollers are v nice.. esp the colors..

moulinmum ...

me oso ... bring my bb to polyclinic for his 5-in-1 jab ... save the money to buy toys for him heehee ....

so far i only bring the pram out when i go out with hubby ... if not i prefer to just sling him and walk around ... but i must say tat its damn tiring for my back ar ...

thats what we think for my granny oso ... so now we are all on standby mode ... actually my granny v strong ler ... she has been in this cond for like 2 weeks liao ...

aidanee, ya hor. i 4got abt d size. mmm... need 2 do more homewk liao.

seabreeze, gd 2 hear tt yicheng is okie. my sympathies 2 u abt ur grandma. *hugz*

moulinmum, me 2. i bring my boy 2 d polyclinic 4 his jabs!! hehe...

RE: how much milk to give
I just gave him 20ml more....n he looked happy after that. But after burping, he threw out some....does that mean it's too much for him? i fed him 170ml, from 150ml.

What do i do when bb throw up? i already try to be gentle during burping.....is he suffering from reflux again?

Triniti,
Do you add the Fm into the BM? or separate feed? wow, your boy drinks alot hor? i am not sure if i give abit more, my boy can sleep thru the nite....worry that he will be too full to have a comfy sleep. maybe i will try over this weekend.

Pre peggo is too heavy for me for solo trip out. your aprica 6kg is light! Now, i am confused with so many recommendation. hahaha....will check what's the budget first.

seabreeze,
how much it cost for 5 in 1 at polyclinic? not package rite?

vone,
for location on 25/1. parkway is too far leh. triniti place much nearer to me.

Christina,
Dun worry abt Cloe, she seems doing fine. It's only consider fever when temp hits above 37.5deg. Hope the info will help cos I work in the hospital & everyone is very sensitive abt "fever" after SARS. :p

My mom's remedy which I follow. Give baby "pao sheng" drink just 2 days before the injection. Then after the jab, quickly give a dose of paracetamol. So far, Edna is doing fine. She develops slight fever around 37.8 deg next day & lasted only half a day. The only different is she tends to be very sleepy.

vone,
U really make up your mind to be a SAHM? Tat's very good!! I think the adjustment not too bad, just lead a simple life.

Seabreeze,
*Hugs Hugs*. U take gd care of yourself ok.

cookies ...

its the 5-in-1 package cost me $294.70 ... include consultation i think ... cos when i went on monday ... tts all I paid ... didnt need to pay extra for the dr ...

aidanee ...

why not try 140ml?

aidanee, of cos cayden is happy... he's high on milk already! haha! whether it's too much depends on ur baby.. is the the kind where no matter how much u give he will finish all?? julia is the kind that when full, no matter how much u force, she wldn't drink...
actually, i prefer feeding less but often, cos sometimes feed until alot, the tummy looks sooo bloated, like v uncomfortable like that!

cookies, the 5 in 1 at polyclinic is $295, package price, upfront payment.. if not per jab is abt $80+... pay every session.

hi everyone, i feel a lot a lot better after hearing from all of you...thank you! yeah, i think im gonna change my pd, he gives me monotonous answers for all my questions and never elaborates on anything. furthermore he is soooo expensive. each appointment is between 100-150..!

hi aidanee
Hmm I mixed my formula and my BM..yeah he is only 3mths and 1 week old and he is drinking so much...I think in general as long he does not reject the milk it means that they still want to drink some more. Hmm my baby does not spit milk after drinking unless I am holding him by his tummy which I don't for his last feed. I hope your baby is not suffering from reflux. Do continue to monitor him. Last night, I fed him ebm with formula, he can last till 5.10am and he did not fuss for more milk...he just woke up and play by himself by the cot till about 530am, I latch him on again.re: aprica pram, yeah I consider my aprica pram bigger than the usual one and it costs 700SGD but it is really light and easy to manouvre. I dunno about lucky baby but I saw it before in robinsons, seems quite comfy as well but do not know how sturdy or durable it is. I think u can try combi if you have budget constraint, most mummies like combi. u should check out aprica in robinsons to see if you like it

aidanee, u can't really determine jus after 1 feeding. try a few more times & c wat happens okie.

cat_tail, not yet. me still tinking.

chris, gosh, ur pd is exp!!

vone,
Be a SAHM..keke... trying to physcho u..keke..

christina,
Tat's very exp! Why not go to GP or polyclinic for injection? Some GP can do the same job as the PD. And it cost me $80 for a 5-in-1 jab with consultation.

chris,
hope chloe is much better now
my PD also say give medicine when reached 38degree when testing in ear, i am using the same braun thermometer as you. I normally give her medicine when she reached 37.5 degree. Can feel the feverish on her skin too. I agree the thermometer abit big to stuck into her ear, not sure accurate or not....but i have been using it since her last 2 jab.

hi aidanee,
how old is yr bb? You mean previously he used to throw out milk but not recently?

Btw, for those bb that can flip over, does yr bb flip immediately after drinking milk huh? Mine just mananged to flip by herself this Mon and she's been wanting to do that all the time! Even when feeding halfway she'll struggle to flip over. Once put her down after feeding she'll flip and throw out alot of milk... Even if its 30min after feeding still like that.. *sigh* dunno what to do but just keep cleaning after her... Guess will try to hold her or put her on bouncer and play more w her to distract her from wanting to flip.

cat_tail, hehe... notti u!! then how abt u?? any plans 2 b a sahm??

mummies, something 2 share wif u gals, my boy managed 2 suck his toes yday evening. hehe... it's so funny 2 c tt.

cookies, includes dip, pertussis, tetanus, polio & haemophilus flu type b. 4 doses @ 3, 4, 5, 18 mths..

re: thermometer
i tot using the ear thermometer is not very accurate for young babies?? the hospital recommend taking fr the armpit leh, using the normal mouth thermometer..

cakey,
my girl will flip when she is lying on bed alone or playing, i dun place her down immediately after a feed, normally hold her to burp, walk around or put on bouncer. But anyway, she is a lazy flipper! haahhaah...seldom love flipping over, prefers to lie on her back and play with her 2 hands..

re: flipping

i BF my boy so he doesn't attempt to flip. he likes to do that while changing diaper though.. i'm like wrestling w him everytime! he also spends more time on his walker... after 2 days on it he has more or less figured his way around it.. now can zoom more or less in the correct direction.. haha..

christina, yah, better change pd if u're not comfortable.. they're expensive! mine not cheap too, about $100 per jab, but it's pretty near our place n we're comfortable w her..

how to know if the baby is ready to flip?? julia recently learnt a new trick which is to throw both her legs into the air and wiggle her backside...

vone, never take pic???
maybe julia also wan to suck her toes like daryl!

cakey, after bb learns how to flip it's dangerous to use the bouncer liao.. must be careful!

vone,
I hinted my hubby but doesn't look positive. So sad...
So your hubby support your decision if u want to be?

Your boy sucking his tumb! That must be very funny..heehee..

Aidanee
if Cayden also spit out a little bit of milk, dun worry too much. Try burping him once in middle of his feed and put him an 45 degree incline to rest after the feed. If the throw-up is projectile, then it's consider reflux... my boy oso always spit out a bit of milk during burping. His burp is quite loud, so I believe the milk comes up with the expulsion of the gas.

Cakey
your gal can flip liao ah! Smart gal! I heard that once they know how to flip, they would keep wanting to flip as it's something new.

Chris,
change your PD. So ex and no service somemore.

Re pram
I like my lucky baby. Cheap and good, but getting a bit narrow for my boy. He always v cho-lou, put both his feet high up on the front bar.

cat tail ...

lets all pray hard that we will strike 4D or Toto soon so that we can realise our dream to be a SAHM ...

me tried to teach my boy how to flip ... he always get a shocked look aft i flip him over hahahaha ... then when i put him back ... can see that he is trying to flip but no strength to push himself

moulinmum, ya, i aso heard abt t. bt hor take fr d armpit aso not accurate 1. in addition, my boy is 2 active 2 stay still 4 long. he's always moving abt. gt, of coz must take. i took using my hp. let me download it & i'll post it here. hehe...

cat_tail, yup. he's okie wif it. tink he feels tt it's better coz i always complain abt my job 2 him. then his ears can b 'free'. haha...

ixwong, yeah. i remember haowen's legs on d stroller bar during our last gathering. so cute...

seabreeze, yup yup. let's all pray hard together.

re: PD
yeah...i paid $130 for her 3rd mth jab...hardly any consulation. by the end of her 5 in 1, i'll b one broke mummy..

reen, tried calling u on mon regarding the bumbo chair, wanted to send it to ur place that day. where's ur office btw? if its ard town i can pass it to u tom

btw chloe has been pooing a lot more than usual after her jab. did that happen to ur bbs too?

These days the 5-in-1 jab @Polyclinic is almost $300. For your info, Northeast Medical @Compasspoint is only $325. I quite like the PD. Kinda regretted I bring Clarence to the SengKang Polyclinic now

Regarding 25th Jan meeting ... would love to join but alas, got to work. If it's 24th then I will definitely go.

chris, how i wish tt my boy can poo more.

seabreeze, is it?? hahaha... bt if use thr, then can't use anywhr liao.

RE: Milk intake
Cayden drank 160ml n din fuss n din spit out!

I brought him down to the poolside just now for a stroll. nice cooling evening. he enjoyed it. hehehe, it's my first attempt!

ixwong, cayden's burps are also very loud n seems explosive! so i will continue with 160ml until he fusses again...oh, i always carry him after feeding....even in the middle of nite, i will hold him up for at least 15-20mins before i put him to his cot (which i have inclined slightly.)

Cakey, sometimes he spits out 30mins after the feed. i suspect it is due to us carrying him around, changing hands etc...esp my MIL, likes to take him from me after feeding...n rock him like nobody's biz.

Triniti,
so you add FM into the warmed BM n add water into the same bot? Thanks for your advice. I will go to Robs this weekend to reckee. or maybe i will pop by hypermart.

Met an auntie downstair...and told me to feed bb water if he wakes up in the middle of nite. So after a while, he will not wake up. anyone did that and succeeded?

Help!!!!! I just returned from the ladies n my menses has returned!!! I thought you are not supposed to have that when you are breastfeeding? Does that mean my milk supply is gonna stop very soon??

aidanee
I just prepare the formula by adding the water and mix it. I warm my ebm before pouring into the formula. I think you can see my aprica pram in robinsons..mine is the biggest of them all haha and it has bigger wheels..I got it at aprisin at 700SGD more than 25% off the price so if u decided to get the pram I think it is better to get from aprisin.Or if u really like the pram but has budget constraint, I can consider selling u mine which I seldom use

My megan flipped today!!! She is 3.5 months old.

She took her afternoon nap in the cot face up and the room door was slightly ajar.. I was using the computer and I thought I heard a baby cry but didn't take notice of it.. after hearing it a few more times, I thought I should check out on Megan and when I went into the bedroom, I saw Megan in tummy position holding her head high up...

I wonder if it is a fluke...

hi angel
Haha, I also discovered once that he flipped though I did not see it with my own eyes but I din see him flip from then onwards. He can only turn his whole body to his side...but he is only 3 mths and 1 week old

Hi Hi,

Looong time din post liao..how's my pretty mummies & cutie babies?

Wow, another gathering! I wan to join! :D chk my schedule 1st, will confirm which one later. Muz really catch up with u all, so wat's the hot topic now?

cat_tail,
u r not alone, guess my hubby's look when i told him I dun mind being full time mummy. sigh, still need both income to support our house,car,bb1,2,3 & 4! Yippee!

Aidanee,
so have u decided on your pram... woosh, many great comments here! u must be headache liao. Actually, if going out alone, think my petite Lucky baby is still heavy at 4.9kg (if I'm to carry it). So me now considering a baby carrier!

angel, i had the same experience as u... also heard Keyon cry during his nap, when I rush in, aiyo, he oredi face down, with legs kicking! Just that not his 1st time, have seen him flip the other day, manage to video down.. hee :p

ixwong,

are u still interested in the rompers? if not, i can buy from you. Miiko still has one last set...and she is holding it for me till i can confirm if you want to sell yours

lemme know soon k?

anissa,

my period came already... felt sort of "cheated" cos BF supposed to delay menses.. :p but i think milk supply not affected by this lah.. they're independent channels... hehe..

aidenee, heard of the water method, but wendy tried without success leh.. read that babies before 9 months usually need a night feed. After that, u can be sure they wake up not bcos they're hungry but need comfort, etc.