(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

cookies,
i know he a bit big build. But i think i haven't been feeding him enough due to my mastitis. He keep crying after feeding and my left breast is super sore. Every time he suckle, i feel like dying. Cause of this, think my left breast ss dip like crazy. Sigh...

cat_tail,
my boy weight is about 6kg ba. The last time i weigh him was 2 weeks ago at the polyclinic and he was 5.89kg. Height is about 62cm. Head circumfrence is 41cm. He is now about 2 months 2 weeks old.

vone,
I bath him in my bedroom. I bought the Ikea table and placed it on my bedside. Hee... So more convenient, then dress him on my bed.

Wow,
All your babies can sleep so long ah? Are your last feeds FM? My little Kai still feeds 3 hourly leh. Even at night. Therefore, it's 12midnight, 3am, 6am wor. Tiring leh. Got what secret recipe to make them sleep so long huh? Hee...

Just came back from the Breast Surgeon visit. Did a scan for me and saw a small pus in my aerola. Doc said that the antibiotics should take care of that. If not, have to go under the knife. So she made an appointment to see me next week again. Hopefully, that pus will be gone by then.

eileen, thot u bathe kai on d kitchen table coz i saw d kettle & sterilizer in d backgrd.
m glad 2 hear tt antibiotics can take care of ur prob. at least u dun hv 2 undergo an operation. u take care k.

cookies ...

we worked out our exp and realise that me cant stop working lor ... unless we strike toto or 4D - big prize heehee ...

eileenp ...

glad to know that your pus can be taken care of by the med ... take care of yourself first lar ... worry abt the milk ss later ...

cat_tail and ixwong
I still can't figure out if the silver pooh is a bumper mat or children's playmat. Can you advise please?

Anyone considering to buy a Bumbo seat?

cookies,
Envy tat u can stay be a SAHM & can give full attention to your baby.

Seabreeze,
Tat's my dream too! Strike 4D & quit my job!

eileenp,
Hope the pus will be gone after taking the antibiotics.

Ok, from my health booklet:
His head circumference is at 97%.
Wt for age is 75%
Ht for age is 90%
Wt for ht a bit low, it falls on 10%.
Anyway, dun take it too hard. Book is just book, as long as PD says he's growing normal, then ok.

Passing_guest,

Can't comments too much on the mats. What I can say is bumper mat & children playmat are just a name to be used at SSW. The bumpermat is expensive & it's certified to contain low toxin material which is safe for baby. And children mat is just a normal mat & not certified, so the price is so much cheaper. As for silver pooh, it is sold by another company so they call them as silver series. It uses nanotechnology material which is supposed to be anti-bacteria & very safe for baby. They have their own certificate but I dun understand the korean wordings.. somehow I think it means kills 99.9% of bacteria.. something like tat.. heehee.. Hope I dun confuse u more.

Hi mummies...

I seldom login and always miss out on a lot of postings. Sorry to hear abt Seabreeze's granny. Recently one of my colleague had an accident and has to have his leg amputated... It's really sad. I guess this is life; so unpredictable.

My boy is a little funny. He prefers the left nipple to the right so I always feed him on my left breast. Now my breast is one big one small. The right breast hardly has any milk. Does any mum face this prob?

seabreeze:
my girl also sleeps v late.. same as yicheng.. around 11pm then wake up around 5am and then again at 8am... think should be okay as long as our babies get abt 12 hours sleep a day. Think my girl sleeps late cos i sleep late mah...... she follow me. :p

passing guest:
think a lot of us have the bumbo seat... its quite good cos can let our babies sit upright although my granny says that not supposed to let babies so young sit on chair..

eileenp:
glad to know that u don't need to go operation.. u must feel v relieved! So take anti botics, can still bf a not? as for our babies sleeping longer hrs than kai, maybe its becos our babies are older...... already 3 or 4 mths plus old liao.

anissa
yeah my left side seems to hv less, but when i pump regularly in office, i notice that both sides supply more or less equal.

passing guest
my baby enjoys his bumbo. So relieved coz i bought it brand new..

i_need_milk,
yup. still can continue bf. But bf on that side is super painful. So always bf a while then try to get him to unlatch already. Hee..

cat_tail,
thanks for helping me check. Think the weight i gave u not accurate. never weigh him for 2 weeks liao. Will try to find somewhere to weigh him.

anissa ...

when yicheng was just born ... he preferred the left breast compared to the right ... aft a while i realise that the let down on my right is slower compared to my left ... so what i did was that i feed him on my left first ... aft that then switch to my right ... cos he is not that hungry and has more patience to drink from the right lor ... you might want to try ...

now he is okie with both ...

i need milk ...

yar thats what i think so ... as long as he sleep 12hr straight in a row then should be okie lar ... cos he wakes up for the day at abt 9am or 10am ...

ladies ...

taht day i brought yicheng to the hosp then i went up to visit my granny while yicheng and my hubby waited for me at the retail area ... wow after that day ... he is super cranky and super LOUD ... will just scream for nothing ... he can one moment smile at us then the next moment SCREAM .... and the scream is as though he got a scare type ...

told my mum to start bathing him in those 'hong hua' water ... and of cos i got a scolding from my mum for bringing him to the hosp lar ... sigh ... me not the pantang type but somehow ... certain things so hard to explain hor ... hopefully he is better after bathing for the next few days ...

passing guest ...

me havent buy yet ... still thinking heehee ...

wendyg ...

how long and how often do you let ur bb sit on the bumbo?

Re bumbo
I'm still anxiously waiting for boy's neck to be stronger (dunno why still wobbly leh) cos his thunder thighs are getting a bit big for the bumbo!!!

343909.jpg

ixwong ...

haowen look so cute sitting on the bumbo ... he look v tanned in this photo hor ... must be cos of the lighting ...

how was your JB trip yest?

actually me oso q concern with how long can the bumbo seat last ... cos when i let yicheng tried the last time at taka ... its like just nice ... if he gets bigger ... the seat is like a bit squeezy and he might not want to sit on it for long ... stingy mummy here heehee

i think abt 10min at a time... for maybe 3 times a day... when he gets tired of lying down. It's my parents at home who watch him... i'm at work so i dunno for sure.

re: bumbo

i let my boy sit on the bumbo when i need a break for my aching arms.. for as long as he can until he fusses. sometimes he can sit for up to 30 min when there's something to distract him, like my dog or while hb n i are having our dinner. else he'll get restless easily. btw, do ur babies lean forward when in the bumbo? i noticed that he doesn't seem to lean back.

tingting: do u let ur dog go near to ur bb? i find tt there's nothing wrong in putting dogs with bb leh.. apparently those elders are like.. mmm.. nagging away..

passing guest, seeing how cute d bb r sitting in d bumbo seat, i m tempted 2 get 1 aso. hehe... now waiting 4 hb's 'approval'.

anissa, so young clarence practice favouritism liao. hehe...

i need milk, is it?? i was told tt we can let our bb sit liao so tt they can train their neck muscles.

seabreeze, oh gosh... poor yicheng. then u better bathe him wif 'hong hua' okie.

ixwong, haowen looks so cute sitting in d bumbo seat. pardon me saying tis, bt he looks like my boy when he's pooing. hehe...

wendy, tink our boy r trying 2 learn how 2 sit up. mine aso does tt. then we hv 2 b careful coz he might fall 4ward on his face.

my boy is v "close" to my dog.. haha... we let her lick my boy's feet, so that can get used to his scent. sometimes will also bring her close to him for him to stroke her a bit. initially also a bit worried abt hygiene, but now i think he's quite strong already, so not concerned anymore. my parents also nag abt the dog, but we just keep the dog away when they're around lor. but must always supervise lah, cos sometimes dogs like to roughplay n may hurt baby unintentionally.

Hi tingting, wendyg
re: sraining forward..
i think our babies at this age all like that..my girl inthe bouncer, pram, carseat and even in the sarong also keep doing situps..show you some pics haha

watching tv and doing situps, trying to get out of her bouncer
344015.gif

doing situps in her carseat, trying to get up
344016.gif

i am currently looking for a confinement lady (preferably singaporean)...any good recommendations? pls let me koe asap

thanks vv much

Heehee.. eileenp,
No problem. U let me know then I check again for you.

passing guest,
So which 1 u buying?

Re: Pets
My one worst! I have 2 cats and the elderly nags at me from preggy until baby pops out, still nag.... but I always heck care... heehee... I think with pets around, it helps to build up their "dan liang" & teach baby to be more caring towards animals.

wendy,

issac knows how to hold things already huh??? very fast leh...

RE: bumbo seat
i will be getting a second hand one because don't know how long will last the baby

RE: Bumper Mat vs Floor Mat

Answer by SSW

The few main differences between Bumper Playmat (BP) and Children
Floormat (CF):

1. Material
BP is made out of soft PVC
CF is made out of PE

PE (Polyethylene) is harder than PVC.

2. Weight
CF is a lot lighter; almost half the weight of BP.

3. To Keep
BP to be folded (can be rolled up too)
CF needs to be rolled up

4. CF is not reversible. Only one side can be used.
BP is usable on both sides.

Both are packed in carry bags.

For younger babies (ard 4-6 months)who are still not mobile and spending more
time lying down and learning to crawl, I would recommend Bumper Playmat as it
is a lot more comfortable for babies to lie on and sleep on as the material is
softer.

Re: straining forward

notice that my son was doing that this morning when i drove him to nanny's place.... so funny... he was trying to suck his clothes.... and i think he doesn't know how to push back his head and i was telling him "lean back, lean back...ahahahaha.... very comical....

Seabreeze
The JB trip not bad - nice to get away since long time never go in liao. Bought quite a few things. Stock up on Anakku wipes (v cheap 200pc at RM10.90), bought some biz wear for my hubby and some clothes for my boy. Nothing for myself though....

Vone,
u put your son on potty already huh?

Re straining forward
My boy also like to strain forward nowadays. I always thot he is straining forward to try to suck his fingers...
Nowadays he seems to lose some interest in his dudu, prefer to lick his pillow or hands.

me on MC for the past 2 days, got high fever(39.3deg) & bad sorethroat.

chk wif u all, i've been pouring away my EBM as i'm on medication (so waste), once i stop medication, how many days shld i wait to confirm my EBM is drinkable?

i started zephan on the walker yesterday.. he v funny, only knows how to go backwards..

think no need to worry much abt baby no longer fits the chair. as they learn crawling, they will burn fats n become more lean. but then, dunno whether they'll want to sit in the bumbo anymore.. :p

i'm a mummy,

wah, ur gal is pretty wrapped up in the 1st pic.. aircon is switched on? u still let her wear mittens? my boy will sweat if i put on pants for him.. at night he just wears singlet n diaper... maybe too much "insulation" in his body.. :p

Hi tingting,
ya aircon on heh...photo was taken in the morning around 8am, after her morning feed..she's still in her PJs (one piece long sleeve romper sui) keke have to wear mittens for her at night, cause she keeps rubbing her eyes when sleepy..scared she poke her eye..in the day, she just wear short sleeve t and diaper only no mittens

Hi applejuz,
is your medication from your gynae? maybe you can check with her..cause when i was on antibiotics, my gynae prescribed me medication that was suitable/safe for BF

I'm a Mummy,
medicine was prescibe by GP. He says medicine is safe, just ask me to wear mask if i were to direct latch. However, my mum forbid me to give bb the milk, & i heard some frens says to wait a few days for the medicine to neutralise. So confused now..

i oso find my boy's thigh difficult to slot into the bumbo's 2 hole. But seeing him inside really makes me laugh.

ixwong, not yet. bt haowen gt d same look on his face as my boy when he's trying 2 poo. hehe...

applejuz, u poor thing. take care & drink more water k. i aso kena d flu yday. went 2 c co. doc & told her tt d flu vaccination which i took is of no use. hehe...

tingting
at night isaac only wears singlet & diaper.. & he still sweats a lot.
wah start training zephan how to walk liao?!?!
Supermom & Superbabe.. =)

vone
My hubby is not very keen on bumbo, must convince him too.

cat_tail
I ordered Silver Pooh.

By the way, anyone, staying in Punggol or Sengkang area, has the bumper mat? I'm really curious to know how it looks like.

BCG
Did any of your babies have infection or redness on the BCG jab area after 2/3 months?

Wow.. how come ur babies all know how to sit and walk liao??? So fast??? Gee.. really supermom and superbabes...

My julia can't even roll over, she only can kick kick kick and fling her arms all over... sigh.... maybe she enjoys being a baby.. :p

moulinmum
haha.. my fat baby was lying on his side & he flipped over to be on his tummy. He's got some power kicks & power fists too... pounding his daddy & mummy & grabbing my hairrrrrrr. Ouch

re: straining forward

i always put him sitting on my lap when i am sitting on the bed ... so his posture is similar to when he is in his rocker ...

that day i was holding his hand ... then he was looking at the blue socks that he was wearing ... and he started to bend himself towards his socks and attempted to suck ... so funny

vone ...

yap ... dun dare to bring him to the hosp again liao

ixwong ...

its like that one ... aft i gave birth ... every shopping trip only look at bb stuff ... hardly look for my own stuff liao ...

ting ting ...

is it too early to start on the walker? tot they say not good for bb to use walker?

Hehe wendyg.. how come u call ur bb fat.. haha.. so bad.. it's called cute and chubby...

Yah.. my gal also like to grab me.. very painful esp when she pinch my fats...
but dun know why, if i offer her toys, she wldn't grab them.. sigh.. maybe she just like to torture her mummy! :p

wendy, no lah.. the walker is like a new distraction for him, not exactly teach him to walk cos he cant really reach the floor.. keke.. sometimes he wants to sit up but finds bumbo too restraining mah.. he finds it fun that he can move when he struggles a bit in his chair...

isaac can flip already? so nice... wonder if zephan ever will.. haiz...

seabreeze, the walker has adjustable heights, so if the feet don't touch the floor then it's an "unwalkable walker"... keke.. some feel that a walker may introduce bad walking habits, but i feel it's ok leh... i mean our generation was raised by using walkers, and we walked fine right?

wendy, u put all the pillows on isaac, equivalent to a blanket liao.. and these nights air is quite still, even with fan on.

applejuz,
hope u feeling better now....

Shoe:
gals, i bought tis shoe from change alley! i know i know, my boy only 3mths old...the shoe only can be weared during 1-2 yrs old! crazy mama, bought the shoe dunno for wat... but is very cute lor!

Clothes:
i also bought some top n shirt from raffles. mostly from GAB n old navy.... very nice....

ting ting ...

oic ... anyway dun think we will be getting him a walker cos my mum v scared that he will anyhow bang into her furniture ...

Hi vone & skippy10,
Thanx 4 ya concern.. getting better now, think will BF Keyon tonight.. :> heard antibodies will build up when we r sick, & that's very good for BM..:p

Skippy10,
Wow.. u got a good buy from raffles place!
hey, before u know it, the shoes can be worn before ur boy reach 1 yr old. muz constantly take out & check okie..

re: grabbing
my boy oso dun wan to grab his toys, he prefer my hair, his pillow/bolster & nappy cloth. yesterday, he even grab his Ah yi's breast.. ha ha.. make my sis jump!

re: flipping
I just saw Keyon flip on my mum's bed. Wow! but he can't flip back.. only 1 way. & he was struggling to lift his head & was kicking vigorously.. so funny!

seabreeze,
only 18 bucks! :eek:) i bought some shirt cost at 8-9 bucks. is from old navy n gap...

re: grabbing
my boy still dunno how to grab except my hair n my fingers... :p

Solid food:
anyone started to give bb SF? ie. rice cereal? how u feed them? wit spoon or bottle?