(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

triniti ...

no prob lar ... another time at your convi then ...

re: sleeping
read somewhere that you should put the baby down when the bb is drowsy and not wait till the bb is sound asleep ... so that the bb is drowsy enough to fall asleep the way you want the bb to and not fuss too much ... if wait till sound asleep ... the bb is actually falling asleep based on the way that he likes ... hmmm dunno if you all understand what am i talking abt anot ... let me go and find tt article ...

here is the article ...

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/refcap/123.html

the part on putting the bb down when the bb is drowsy ....

Encourage an older baby to fall asleep on his own. At first, your baby will undoubtedly fall asleep in your arms while feeding or being rocked. He may sleep if you carry him in a sling, where the natural rhythms of your walk and your warmth lull him. But eventually, you want your baby to get used to the idea of going to sleep on his own.

Introduce the notion gradually: When your baby is drowsy, but not yet asleep, lay him down. By putting him down when he's awake--but still feeling loved and cosy--he may associate falling asleep himself with such feelings. This may be easier said than done, however. But do continue to try to put your baby down sleepy, but awake, and soon he'll get the hang of it.

Hi cat-tail,ixwong,cakey:

How long do you take to rock yr bb in sarong to sleep? Mine can rock for 1hr+ but still eye big big looking at me?
Did ur put them in sarong when they are drowsy and rock them?
How often do you put yr bb in sarong? Or only nite time? Daytime you let them sleep in sarong?

Sorry for asking so many questions.

i'm a mummy, i noticed tt my boy feeds less when he's 11 & 12 wks old. i thot it's due 2 his constipation & didn't pay much attention 2 it.

ixwong, no choice, coz notti daryl dun wan d pacifier. he spits it out when we give it 2 him. so we let him suck. d oni gd thing is tt he'll let go when he's asleep & he looks veri cute when he does tt. hehehe...

hi gals!

re: head-shaking
my son does that too!! i thought he was the only one with such a strange action...

re: feeding less @ 3 mth
my son too! hahaha... no constipation though... actually he still takes the same 4-5oz every 3 hours, but total intake dropped cos he now skips the night feeds... is that the same for your babies?

Am a oct mummy

Drop by as i have 3 extra Xmas romper for sale.
They are very cute and do consider getting one for your baby 's first christmas !

Details :-
This romper set come with 1 romper, matching cap and booties. 100% cotton, material are soft and stretchable.
Available size
3-6 mth : 2 pcs
6-12mth : 1 pcs

Provide free wrapping.

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/buysell_7_24/my_photos

Hi mummytobe,
I type too fast & miss out the figure. It's coming to 3 mths. Thanks, pls ask your PD & let us know.

Hi Tennyson,
The method I made my gal sleep is something like what Seabreeze shown. Btw, I dun use sarong to rock. It's my poor aching hands that do the job.

Well, I will start by giving her a last feed at around 8pm. Normally after a good burp, she will be very drowsy. If not, just gently rock her (takes me around 5-15min) until she's drowsy but not to the extent of asleep. Then I quickly put her down to the cot & let her sleep on her own. If she moves too much, I will hold her hands against her body until she stops moving & falls asleep. Sometimes I will use pacifer or give her a gentle pat on her chest to make her zzz.... All these takes me 1/2 to 1 hr.

ilmare,

my boy uses NUK all the way until recently i introduce Pigeon's (for wide neck one - the pestill??? don't know how to spell). common thing about these two teats are that it's very soft and my son likes soft teats. he refuses avent's teats because it's too hard for him to suck.... (that's why i still have so many avent bottles unused - 5 to be exact
..... so have to change some avent teats to pigeon - the wide neck one for him to use)

hi vone,

thanks... my boy is so much better now.... yesterday just brought him to cut botak!!! haha... and he was crying ...aiyo.....

but i don't like his botak look..... but my hubby said very cute leh....

i wonder how to put my son down to sleep when he's drowsy... the moment i put him down... he wakes up liao.... then siao liao... have to start all over again.... i don't know how to train him to sleep on his own man arrrgghhh.....

hi mummies here..

i understand tt some of the babies here are on tbf.. would like to check if my bb now 5-6weeks old le.. would it be too late to introduce him to total bf? i have always tried to latch him on.. then supplement with FM..

i would very much love to go on tbf.. but dunno if its achievable or not..

hi adelyee, since u've already been latching him on already, it should be quite easy to go TBF. y did u supplement in the first place? Maybe u can try to first increase ur supply by frequent latching. if baby cries for more milk soon after his last latch on, latch him on again. After sometime, ur body gets the message that it needs to produce more milk n will do so. But be forewarned, it can be very tiring cos it will seem that the boy is feeding forever. And u must not allow people around u (esp hubby, parents n in laws) to discourage u. U can also try expressing from ur other breast while latching baby on.

Tennyson
my baby usually take abt 20 mins to fall asleep in the sarong. Usually only put him in when he is tired (e.g. rubbing his eyes) else he will cry out loud cos still want to play. My boy sleeps in sarong for all his naps. Will rock him to sleep at night but after that transferred him to cot. He will sleep thru the night in cot.

temple,
i have like 10 unused avent teats!! same case as u.. my bb prefer the pigeon peristalic teats... i end up using avent bottles & leaving the avent teats unused. Kind of wasted.

adelyee:
to go on tbf will be tiring.. like what tingting said, seem like latching bb on forever.. and this forever latching thing may take some days! Plus, gotta tahan bb crying non-stop sometimes. But once the difficult period is over, then u will enjoy the convenience of tbf.. You can take Fenugreek to increase yr supply too.

hahah i need milk... so this teaches us a lesson don't be so kiasu... just buy one or two and try first.... then go and buy some more if workable.... heee.....

as for the teats... see whether can give it away lor... i also have a few size 1 avent teats.... sigh..... agree with you... kind of wasted man.... hmmm....

temple,
re: sleeping
When u put down yr boy and he cries, put yr hand firmly on his chest, tell him "its alright, mummy is here, go to sleep ok..".. its like calming him down, letting him know u r still there with him.. can also pat pat him a bit while he's still lying on the cot. This works for my girl, and she has been sleeping on her own all this while. We don't need to rock her or carry her to sleep..altho sometimes i like to let her sleep on my chest..

temple/ ineedmilk
do u hv spare size 2 Avent teats? isaac is using it. I find Pigeon too slow for him.. i want to "guan" him to drink more mah..

dear mummies
I am contemplating to get a new pump. I have decided to get either the Medela PIS original or the Medela PIS advanced. The price difference is quite huge, so if you have any friends who have experience in using them, please share with me so I can decide which pump to buy. I have to pump more than I am pumping now since ds is increasing his intake of milk.

temple/i need milk ...

me too ... yicheng is using the NUK bottle and teat ... so i end up using all the avent bottle to store milk and just put the teat one side ...

adel ...

think should be okie ... but be prep for the night feed ... cos BM digest faster ... so brent might wake up more often for the night feed ... however when he is older ... he should either wake up only once for milk or be able to zzz thr the night ... but i feel that if you have the supply then TBF ....

temple ...

thats what i did for yicheng oso ... will pat him if he cries or just carry him hug hug for a while and put him down ... otherwise if he is happy, well fed he will usually play with himself (sometimes i oso wonder whats going on in a bb mind heehee) until he is tired and fall asleep ... but i think the key is that must let the bb know that we are always nearby and its 'safe' to fall asleep

wendy
mine are all newborn teats.

triniti
i went to the First Few Years shop at Paragon and they were raving abt the PIS Advanced.. saying that the Advanced model can extract out more milk. Dunno how true... it was too expensive for me so i didn't buy the Advanced.

mommies who TBF your babes...
may i know (again) how long they sleep at a stretch at night? Do they still wake for night feed?
I'm quite puzzled how come my 4 month old doesn't want to eat more in the day.. then night comes & he wakes 4 times - sometimes eat, sometimes not. Sometimes refuses to sleep for 1.5hr at a stretch. When he does want to eat, he guzzles down the milk with the Avent size 2 teat. But he'll be up again in another 2-3hrs for more yum yum.

wendy ...

yicheng is now 2.5mth ... he normally sleeps for abt 3hr-4hr at a stretch and wakes up for milk ... anything beyond that is a bonus =)he is on BM only too ...

is your bb mixing up day and night?

Hi wendyg
What I did is the last feed of the day I feed him EBM and he can sleep for at least 7 hours. Last night I gave him 160ml of ebm and latch him on , just in case he din have enough, he slept from 730pm to 630am! Maybe y our baby is going through growth spurts? Just monitor him a couple of days and see what happens.

seabreeze
no ley.. he knows it's night coz he's sleepy - just that he'll wake when we leave him on his bed..

triniti
dat's what we're trying to do.. but last night he only took 80ml out of 140ml for his last feed. Then i know surely he'll be up soon to eat again... sigh. it's been like this for weeks liao.. *?!?!?!*

wendyg ...

after he stop at 80ml got burp him anot? cos my mum says that sometime yicheng stop drinking half way cos inside got wind ...

but 4mth bb still need to burp anot hur??

wendyg
yeah I think you will need to burp him after he stopped. I always burp anton when he stops drinking...
wow, this has been going on for weeks?? have u tried consulting your PD regarding this?
you are sure that he is not overstimulated or overtired during the day time as well right?

seabreeze
Babies need to be burped until they know how to burp themselves. I mean wind will always get into our system regardless of age, just that adults can burp out easily and it does not really bother us unless we have a poor digestive system. So i think untill the baby is old enough to burp by themselves, we still have to aid them in the process of burping..

even adults need to burp after eating... just that we do it ourselves..
usually my boy's last feed is around 7pm, then he'll sleep for about 6 hrs and wake up at 2am for next feed, and sleep for 4 hrs. sometimes they may take less bcos they're too tired already.. else u can try to wake them up to feed again when they doze off.

actually am q a lazy mummy ler ... after he finish his milk and he already zzz hor ... i will just put him back to his bed and zzzz ... unless he cries like 2mins later than i will burp him hahahaha .... but i uaually latch him on when he is with me so i have no idea how much did he drink lor ...

but of cos aft he finish his milk and he is still awake then i will try to burp him ... after 5mins if nothing happen then i will give up heehee ...

so far till now i have never personally fed my bb using the bottle ler ...

got sit him up & gently pat his back.. but he'd hv fallen asleep by then & nothing to burp. I haven't tried to keep him awake though..
day time he takes 3 naps of max 1hr each.. he's at home.. my parents talk & sing to him & prevent him from eating whatever he gets his hands on- i dun think it's overstimulated lah.

Will ask PD when injection nxt wk. In the meantime... *panda* mommy & daddy...

wendyg
eliz now takes mostly EBM in the day time but at evening and night, i latch her entirely. Last latch is around 11 plus pm and she sleeps straight till 5am. I think she sleeps straight cos she has full feeds during the day so dun need to wake up at night so often for feeds. Get deric to feed isaac full feeds during the day time.. see if that reduces his need to wake up for feeds at night.

triniti:
i didn't buy from that lady cos she got no warranty. I bought the original from the first few years store cos they got discount.. around $500 plus. So far, the PIS quite good but quite noisy. Noiser than the Ameda pump.

ineedmilk
dat's what deric does.. now we're used to "wasting" the EBM coz baby stops when full. If we try to force him to take more, he'll get upset & cry. How does your MIL do it ah...

ineedmilk
wow more noisy than ameda??Is it better than the ameda pump? I am thinking of getting the advanced since now they are selling 669 but metro has a 20% sale but dunno they sell medela PIS pumps or not...

sometimes think babies quite poor thing.. always being "coerced" to doing things that are not their way... :p

wendy, when u going for the injection? mine's on 3 dec..

tingting
shld be next wed 30/11 if evrything is ok.

just heard that my parents now at home are forcing bb to sleep when he's not sleepy.. sigh. Wish i could be baby's sole caregiver, then maybe he won't be so confused.

recover fr fever liao,but now having itchy throat n dry cough,think its gonna be a process. luckily hb took a day off to take care of Ern Ray so that i can sleep n only wake up to BF him.

Wendyg, Ern Ray can sleep thru nite uptill 8 hrs, but his schedule still irregular. Last 3 days, he wakes up at 12mn n only sleep about 2-3am,but thru to about 10am. btw, he drinks about 2-3hrs interval in e day. wat interval yr boy feed in e day?

Temple, can i know where u bring yr boy to shave his hair?

feeding time seems to be stretching during daytime.. say 6am until 11am!! then maybe 2pm & 6 or 7pm. When he's not hungry, he doesn't want to eat, or eats little, so will wait until he's hungry to 'guan' him.

based on calc, my bb shld be drinking 175-210ml per feed... if feeding is 4-5hrs apart. But after abt 120ml, he doesn't want to eat anymore, even after burp. Been wasting quite a lot of ebm, but i "gan yuan" to waste rather than underfeed bb.

triniti
not sure if the metro sale is still on, but i think i saw them selling medela PIS pumps. But not sure if its original or advanced. Maybe u can call them to chk.

the PIS got the sucking vacuum sound and motor sound.. but not as bad as grass cutting lah.. but its loud enough for my colleagues to know that I'm expressing inside the room! They say the PIS more loud than Ameda. My Ameda broke down in office so i bought the PIS.

wendyg
the diff btw isaac and eliz is that eliz has been exposed to drinking from bottle since her 2nd wk of birth. so she does not have any problems in drinking fr bottle now. so she can get her full feeds during the day, no complaints from my MIL except she say eliz takes her own sweet time to drink milk.

Just came back after my gal checkup. Apparently her hip bone is still intact & there's no dislocation shown after the ultrasound scan except there's some thick tissue at her joint part. Will be refer to KKH's ortho specialist to evaluate further next week. Cross my fingers nothing goes wrong.

RE: Playmat
Hi Seabreeze,
Thanks for telling me & I had placed an order of it. Did u get one? I hope they can hit 20.

i need milk ...

me using the ameda pump ... noticed that one of them gives off this 'siii ... siii' sound when expressing ... is there something wrong with the valve hur? how often do you change the valve? Can still express the milk lar just that got that sound and like sunction not as strong compared to the other side ...

wendyg ...

maybe he is just going thr a 'phase' ... as long as he is happy and active i think should be okie lar ... anyway the cal thingy is just an estimate right?

cat tail ...

no prob ... me bought the ipark piro at the last bulk purchase from korea ... me wanted to buy the poon bear one ... then my hubby say like v gal like that so we got the piro one instead ...

glad that edna is fine ...

i'm also afraid that my mum will force baby to sleep next time, cos she tends to do that when baby fusses...

re: bumbo seat

how long do ur kiddos stay in e seat? mine starts to fuss after a few minutes...

tingting
isaac was blur blur in his bumbo during the shave botak. haha! The hairdresser was quite amused with the bumbo.
There was once he sat in it quietly for abt 30min when we brought him to family lunch @ a restaurant. Everyone else was eating except him.. haha.

seabreeze
oh well... just hope he doesn't get used to waking 4 times a night for the next year... o'wise daddy & mummy *pengsan*

ineedmilk
same as she takes her own sweet time on your breast... =) sweet girl mahhh

ineedmilk
I am currently using the ameda pump but I feel that it is not helping me to increase my ss since anton feeds so much milk.Was thinking of the advance since it is supposed to increase let more let down and thus more milk. Metro is having a 20percent storewide sales today from 630pm to 1100pm at paragon so will go and take a look...

seabreeze
my gf told me that you have to change the valves within a month cos it gets torn easily. Even a pinhole prick can cause a diff in suction. So maybe its time to change the valves? I am selling my ameda once I get my PIS. My ameda still has 9 months of warranty!!

triniti ...

oic ... think will pop by babes and mum next week to get new valve then ... yap used for abt a mth liao ... cos only used it more often when i was coming back to work and at work ...

why not you latch your bb on since u are at home?

seabreeze:
the last time i got that sii sii sound, it was because the flange/funnel was cracked. when replace the funnel, ok liao.