(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi Erowen, maybe your gal got mucus. My bb also got this problem. We need to clear his mucus every week. He will cried and scream coz he can't breath while drink milk. Maybe you can buy nasal decongester to clear ur bb mucus. I found that help a lots.

hi erowen,
got your sms, dun worry ok? check if xuan xuan is having a blocked nose, i usually clean up Denise mucus with a cotton tip, she will have blocked nose every other day, due to sinus. They will tend to pull away from bottles because they cannot breathe properly and eat well. Don't worry.

I will also take temperature to see if any fever.

Teething is unlikely during 3rd mth but still possible, is xuan xuan drooling, bite alot?? if not, chances are lesser. Denise started to cheew her mitten alot and bite onto our shoulder, lately she has been super cranky too, suspecting teething.

Please dun get yourself worry..hug hug.
Anything, feel free to call me.

hi erowen,
for your info:
1) Nasal Decongester (NUK) is abit too big for Denise, i never use it before.

2) Sterimar Nasal Spray, my PD gave me this to loosen the mucus if it gets harden and difficult to clear off.

My usual practice is to use a cotton tip, clear the mucus from side way, dig it out. Be careful not to poke it too inside.

cat_tail, if hb is not hm 2 jaga, then i dun tink i'll hire a maid liao. 2 stressed...

ero, dun stress okie. i agree wif cmy & reenie. it cld b due 2 her blocked nose. when she breathes, is thr any funny noise. if yes, then use a cotton bud 2 remove it & c how it goes. u take care k.

angel, how come megan got tis 'bad' habit?? m curious.

applejuz, ur x'mas dinner sounds yummy...

Re: Christmas
i guess this year celebration will be different with baby around! I have a list of things i wanted to do:

1) Plan a family gathering
2) Buy a christmas tree
3) Get presents for family and Denise
4) Take Denise to see Christmas lightings!Hopefully this year is nice nice at Orchard

5) Bake some cookies/shortcakes? if i got time, wrap up and give it to my friends!

Applejuz,
your x'mas dinner sounds reallly good! Build a fire place? hahhhhaa...thats so wonderful! My only wish is to put up a Christmas Tree!

Cat_tail,
i have not tried ordering x'mas set from supermart before, always DIY
But i simply love those log cakes! Yummie...maybe i should try to roast a chicken this year.

re: xmas

hmmm everyone's x'mas plan sound so nice ... me and my cousin planned one last year but this yr she not keen to organise liao ... so dunno if i get to celebrate xmas anot ... maybe gather some frens instead heehee ....

angel ...

hows you? went back to BL over the weekends but see your door closed so tot never pop by to disturb u ... anyway u going for the massage class oso right? our bb can meet there then ...

Re: - Dining Out

Hi mummies.,
Can recommend any western restaurant (italian, french, spanish etc) that is baby friendly? ie. not too noisy, spacious enough for 2 or 3 prams? cause have friends coming to visit from overseas, and they will be bringing their babies as well :eek:)

hello seabreeze

I have been wanting to pop by to see your Yicheng but don't know when you are at home. Most of the time you stay over at your mom's place right?

i'm a mummy ...

can go globetrotter @ united sq ... its a very baby/children friendly place and can bring in your prams ... no steps in the restaurant and there is an area for the children to go and play at ... but it can be q noisy cos there are MANY MANY MANY children and bb ...

angle ...

me only home over the weekend .. sunday usually go to my MIL place ... now staying at my mum place lor ... cannot cope ler if need to work, express milk and bring him to and fro ... think can die ... maybe when i come back this weekend then i go knock your door see you home anot ...

erowen,
for hard muscus, I bought the Pigeon brand.. err.. how u call that..hmm..somthing like those we use to pluck our eyebrow.. but with pointed tip. (ha, poor description hor) :p Its very useful, can 'giap' & pull out the whole big piece of hard mucus. But must wait till baby sleep. scared poke too deep.

I'm a Mummy,
I know 1 spanish restaurant at Esplanade, called Via Mar, very nice. love their lobster bisque. OCBC card got 15% discount. Hmm.. usu not many pple if u go early. but dunno spacious enough for 2-3prams or not.

Re:Christmas,
vone,
ha ha.. yummy or not depands on the cook. Hope I dun burn the kitchen down.. :p

reenie,
ya, it'll be so Christmas mood if u put up a tree! I did that every yr.

Saw a 'Fireplace' at Suntec carefour (table runner/cushion section), so tempted to make one orself.

Seabreeze,
gather us loh
... think all mummies dun mind another gathering hor... :>
hmm... thought we mention wan to go triniti's house???
Triniti, u open house or not?

i'm a mummy, u can go 2 tony roma's at suntec. went thr once wif snoopy. was quite comfortable thr even though we got 2 prams. we aso saw a lot of families thr wif prams when we were thr.

applejuz, d pigeon thing is called tweezers. i aso bought it 4 my boy. when i used it, hb always say tt i m 'attacking' his son. hehe... i hv confidence in u. i m sure tt ur x'mas dinner will be yummy.

i'm a mummy,
how about spaggedies at tanglin mall? its quite popular with families. Although not super nice italian food, but pasta/pizza and their calamaries are good! Best of all, Tanglin mall has christmas decor...hhahahahah...

applejuz,
my hubby also say the same thing! He loves christmas tree! this year, we shifted to our new house, so we getting a new christmas tree!
Oh yeah, if we have a gathering for christmas...how nice!

Yes, would be nice to meet for xmas. Triniti, your offer still on?

Recently my boy also cry during his feeds, never thot it could be due to mucus. Must go back and check him tonight. Always thot he is too distracted to drink properly...

ixwong,

my boy too.... recently always cry during drinking milk.... never tot it's due to mucus.... my nanny was telling me to put him over the shoulder and burp him....then the mucus will slowly "disappeared"!!!....

ixwong / temple, 2 cfm whether ur boys got mucus or nt, u look out 4 funny noises when they breathe or u can look up their noses. tt's wat i do. if hv, then i'll use cotton buds 2 remove d mucus or tweezers 2 pluck d hard bits out.

ixwong and temple
yes, to know if really mucus is making baby cranky, check to see if they make oink oink noise, or hard to breathe. I look into Denise nose whenever i hear those noise.

ds also acting like that! teat touch his mouth only, he will scream the house down. i clean ds nose about once/2days cos he got lots of mucus. using cotton buds, taught by confinement nanny. also got the pigeon thingy to "suck" mucus out but yet to use...know that pigeon got a plastic tweezers, maybe it is for plucking out mucus?

ds pic to share

338760.jpg

any1 knows if i can still latch on my boy if i take panadol?? down with a fever now, not sure can take or not. cant find info on e web.

hi tuffy n christina
thanks for e info n assurance.

now worried that will pass on 2 my boy cos i'm e main caretaker, keep taking his temp,luckily he's fine.

was feeling so cold n shivering jus now, temp is 38 degree. but after feeding, changing him, start to perspire, temp down to 37.5.

hi cookies,
better take the panadol bring your temp down first. U must be healthy before you can take good care of your bb yah?

Re: X'mas
Applejuz,
U really almost going to get the reindeer oufit! Haha... your hubby is rite, wear only 1 time so sayang. Wow.. planning a home cooked feast! I dun have the energy to do nowadays. Have time will try to catch some rest as much as possible.

reenie,
I am just too lazy to cook. :p

RE: Maid
vone,
Can feel tat kind of stess too. U noe my maid has been shaking too much on my gal until now she becomes so used to it! Everyday I saw it, sure scold her! Haiz..

RE: Mucus
vone,
I could hear my gal making noise when she's asleep too. Is tat mucus? I din noe tat noise block can cause so much crying when drinking.

Hi cookies,
Hope u recover soon.

ilamre, ur ds looks veri cute!!

cookies, u take care k.

cat_tail, same here. my 2nd maid kept shaking my boy all d time. now he got tis veri bad habit of wanting us 2 shake when he wans 2 sleep. sigh... now trying 2 wean him off tis. re. mucus, mayb u can chk edna's nose out. coz if it's blocked, they can't breathe thru their nose when they feed so they'll scream.

ds is chubby, follows me, big-face trait!

vone, cat tail,
you mean your maids "rock" bb to sleep? what do you mean by "shake when he wants to sleep"? i have to rock ds to sleep during the day but nite, just lie him on his side and pat.

cookies
take care! i feel like falling sick too, developing cough already.

anyone using NUK teats? i am thinking of switching.

ixwong
december is an extremely busy month for me, too many parties, weddings and what not...so I am afraid that to have a Christmas gathering would be quite impossible...unless its a weekday lunch thingie as I would be the most available...most of my weekends in Dec are burnt out!...So sorry..

vone,
HB wants ds to fall asleep on his own, no carrying or patting, just lie him down. think bit difficult, especially when ds kinda of expect rocking or his eyes big big look at you.

being trying to drink lots of fluids, and rest

ya ixwong.... my son also just went back to his normal routine of 1 feed after midnight since his dischange.... wondering when can he just sleep through the nights.... heee

good morning to all..

am real tired today.. boy was cranky last night.. dunno if its due to the hep b vaccine or wat..sigh..

temple,
ds was using pigeon teats and suckled untill teat flat flat, cos no air go in then no milk come out and he will get upset. so tot NUK got air inlet, want to try.

your bb all along using NUK?

i just worry that ds will have problems adjusting to changes.

ilmare, oic. well, u can try. bt hv 2 b hard hearted at times. take care k...

temple, how's ur boy?? better??

adel, u poor thing. u get some sleep later when brent is sleeping okie.

Ya vone,
Once the baby get too used with the shake to make them asleep, it's difficult for them to learn how to sleep by themselves. I am trying very hard to wean her off this bad habit. Now at night, I dim the lights, rock her a few moments to make her a little drowsy but still conscious, & then quickly put her down onto the cot. Sometimes, I pat her a little more until she's sleepy.

ilmare,
The "shake" is actually just a exaggerated word I used for "rock"..haha... :p

adelyee,
Your boy just got his jab yesterday? Try to take a nap when he's asleep.

my gal is sleeping sarong and i notice that sometime when she's sleeping in cot or stroller she'll turn her head left and right vigorously many times (6times at one short)! I suppose she's trying to 'shake' her cot like she use to do in sarong to rock herself? I tried to hold her head she'll cry and what I do is to pat her hard on her shoulder such that her body 'shake' abit.
Any mummies encounter this?

Quite funny to see her turning head like this but at the same time abit heartache cos suppose it's tiring for her neck? Also got to pat her very hard then she'll stop...

cat_tail, tt's a gd mtd tt u r using. 4 me, i refused 2 rock him when he's sleepy. after a while, tink he got d msg oledi. so he'll suck his thumb til he's asleep. but hor, tis mtd will not wk if hb is around coz he noes tt daddy will rock him 2 sleep. hehe...

cakey, my boy does tt aso when he's sleepy. it's so cute 2 c him do it.
when he does tt, i'll pat him till he falls asleep.

Re-growth spurt at 3 months
is it true that baby will feed more at 3 months? but according to my baby's pd, he said at 3mths, baby will feed less, we are supposed to notice a decrease in feeding and maybe loss of appetite..i haven't noticed such thing yet lah, but just wondering how come two extremes...

hi vone,
Ya so cute when they do that hhehe.. i teased her saying she's trying to be a little indian gal.

Having seen you mummies discussing bb sleeping pattern at night make me miss my bb cos leave her overnight at MIL place... SIL even told me she's woken up by my gal's talking in the morning when sleeping beside her... *sigh* i no chance to experience that yet leh...
Looking forward to weekend to bring her home!

cakey,
My gal also did the head shaking stunt. She din sleep in the sarong so I dun think it's becos of it.

vone,
I try the hard way too by not doing anything & even give her cold turkey. A little harsh on her & I can't take it anymore, so I stop liao. :p Now am trying a gentle approach.

Hi mummytobe,
Your PD says tat? My gal is experiencing bad appetite & feed less when she's almost mths old. Did he say when will it stops?

Hi Cat-tail,
no didn't ask him when it will stop heh will ask him tomorrow when we bring her for vaccination, and i'll let you know
you say your baby experience bad appetite and feed less when? think you missed out the month in your previous post hee

cakey, i thought movement while sleeping means she's not in deep sleep only? like tossing n turning.. and sleeping in sarong the head doesn't turn what...

Cakey,
my boy also turns his head left and right on the cot as well as sarong. Sometimes can even fling his pacifier 20cm away if in cot....

Vone,
u let Daryl suck his thumb huh? I gave pacifier cos worry later harder to wean off thumb....the only problem is pacifier can drop, so sometimes need to put back repeatedly. Nowadays, I place a beansprout pillow on top of the paci (must take care not to block the nose) to stop it from dropping out...lazy mummy....