(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Reenie
Dun worry, my boy won't allow himself to be bullied. He will scream the whole house down....

cat tail,

when hb thinks that baby is bent on wanting his way (like walking ard the hse the whole time), he'll place baby on his lap n look at him intently, and sometimes shaking his head. After a while, baby stops and hb then picks him up n gives him a hug. Idea is to let baby know he cannot have his way all the time, but mummy n daddy still loves him. Dunno whether it's coincidence or not, but his crying times (for such things) are shorter n he quietens more easily. But don't try when he's already crying hysterically cos he's then already beyond reasoning stage.

SURVEY

is any mummy keen 2 buy petpet (M,L,XL) at $12/pack and S-sized petpet at $42.60 for 6packs? collection is at pasir ris.

if i not wrong, for M,L,XL sized petpet, NTUC & Carrefour sells for $12.90, Kiddy Palace & Prime sells for $13.90 while Cold Storage sells for $14.90. not sure abt Giant.

u c, i hv lobang 2 buy petpet at the above price but need 2 c if there's gd response then i organise. i'm not profiteering from tis bulk purchase. will show mummies the receipt when u come by my plc 2 collect.

no min. quantity required

ting2,
It's good tat your hubby did a good start to discipline your boy! I read from a book that between 3-4 mth, it's time to teach them wat is "No" & "Yes" but I still have no clue on how to start it. My gal also very demanding nowadays. We must go her way if not she will wails & tears down the whole house. *headache

wendyg, Ur bb soooooooooooooo cute!! I like the way he looks at camera. Btw, ur bb quite big. Full body looks round round, even got lotus root too. Mine don't have!!

My hb is pure teochew. So far MIL never comment anything about bb's hair must shave. I think i am the one insist of want to shave coz his hair drop a lots. Like mother!!

My baby nowaday tries to "play" milk bottles and pacifier by himself. When he manage to hold the pacifier from his mouth. He likes to play on it... put in and put out!! Whenever feed him, his hand will auto put at the milk bottle just like he knows how to hold the bottle... sometimes can see that he wants to pull out the bottle but seems the bottle too heavy for him ...haha

Hi Kelly,
I dun mind trying PetPet diapers. May I know what is the appropriate size for a 6.3kg baby? The stick part is using velcro or plastic?

Re: Nepia
Just call the agent & they had ran out of stock for "S" until next mth!!

cmy, ur son's hand-eye coordination seems quite good! mine doesn't know how to manage the pacifier yet.. certainly not in n out repeatedly! the most he can do is to stop the pacifier from dropping out by placing his fist over the pacifier.. :p

cat_tail,

my boy also v vocal one... but only the daddy got the determination to discipline him... mummy will give way long before wailing starts... but must carry on the practice n be firm else he'll quickly learn that can bully mummy but not daddy... think at this stage they can recognise authority already.. my boy can cry when others carry, but when my grandmother carries him, he never cries or even whimper! i always say it's bcos the tone my grandmother uses when she speaks to him, but that's after years of experience lah... she looked after all my cousins, my sis n myself... :p

wendyg, ur boy is like mine. not much hair aso. hehe... ya, i totally agree wif u. taking care of bb is not so easy.

ilmare, try our mtd & tell us his reaction okie. hahaha... if possible, mayb u can get some1 2 jaga ur maid when u wk. at least u can rest assured tt ur son is in safe hands.

anissa, gd 2 hear tt!! at least now u can rest assured tt clarence is okie & is growing veri well!!

cookies, ur boy looks veri alert. haha... can imagine how ur hb feels. how come ur son dun look at him?? tt's pretty funny. btw, whr's d nursing rm at suntec?? bside which shop?? was thr yday but i dun seem 2 c it.

adelyee, let brent suckle more, then ur ss will incr!!

ixwong, haowen is so cute!! can make d victory sign!! then i teach my son 2 make d gd sign wif his thumb, then can match haowen!! hehe...

kelly, i dun mind. can hv more details??

cmy, ur boy is so cute, can play wif milk btls & pacifier. mine can oni hold d milk btl, but oni wif our help.

Re: PETPET diapers
wendyg, vone or any mummies,
Any idea the stick part is velcro or plastic?

Ya ting2,
Yelling as though like killing a chicken & sometimes my Kpo neighbour will ask me why my gal cry until like tat... Babies are smart creatures, they know your grandma cannot play play one ..heehee.. Btw, I am still very impress by the way your hubby did. My ah lao only let her cry & continue watch his show w/o any feelings. Man~

Hi Cat_Tail,
Pet pet is plastic.. my girl 6kg, using Pet Pet M, Fitti M and Nepia S... pet pet S, mamy poko S and fitti S too small for her but nepia sizing runs bigger..

wow 2day seem like the thread is moving very fast.

ilmare: **hugs.. i make my hb take care of kylie on weekends, from bathing - feeding - changing of diaper.. oni wen coaxing her to slp, i will do it, cos he cnt..

i tink i ever mentioned tt every sun wen i go back to my mil's place, she always kinda of dun wan to let her sleep and she will became very fussy when she gets home and initially my hb tot is ok bb can come home then sleep.. simply doesn't understand hw cranky she will be.. So on the 2nd week, i made him take care of her all by himself and true enough she was so cranky tt he gave up and nw he agrees wif me..

wendyg, issac is really a handsome boy!! so tough looking.. **YUM YUM, aunty aiming his thunder thigh.. hahaa..

Reenie: petpet can oni use up to 5kg, but tts oni a gauge... oso got to depend on bb's size.. kylie is now still wearing "S"

re: discipline
we hve been disciplining kylie after 1 mth.. like wen we noe she is very sleepy and all.. we will tell her sternly tt if she con't on to be cranky daddy & mummy will not bother her anymore.. or if she kip wanting us to carry we will tell her, we nid to do our things after everything then we will come & play wif her (it works at times loh) eg.. last nite we brought her to my grandma's place and i knew she is very sleepy.. so i told her, we r nw going home, once get into the cab. if wants to sleep, sleep.. if not nxt time to bring her go gai-gai liao..

re: shave hair
my FIL kip asking me to shave off her hair (he is a hokkien) i firmly told him off. tt i will decide whether to shave or not.. even my mil nw gve up liao.. thr is no rules lar.. juz tt our ancestor believe tt "tai-mao" is dirty so muz shave off to be clean.. **bullshit!

Adelyee, dun worri lar.. once u get to noe more abt brent.. taking care of him will be easier..

Lib,
my girl now 5kg still using "S" for pet pet too!The packaging in front say "Up to 6kg" leh.. so i thot can use up to 6kg =P

adel ...

hang on there ar ... what i did was to latch him on 1 side and express the other breast at the same time ... cos will bluff the brain tt u feeding twins (think the ladies here 1001 time liao hahahaha) ... drink lots of fluid and have enough rest is impt ...

rest is really impt ... cos yest i was so tired ... my milk supply dropped by 20ml per breast per pump session ... last night had a good night rest ... thanks to my bb who managed to zzz until 7am (still v happy abt this heehee) ... so milk increase too heehee ...

reenie ...

yicheng drool alot these day oso ... last night i disturb and say 'isit mummy v pretty ... see until drool' hahahaha ... then my hubby say he prob miss the milk lar!!!

re: teaching bb

sort of agree with Lib ... cos we dun carry yicheng and walk around too ... whenever he cry ... only carry and sit down ... once its night and time to zzz ... i hardly carry him oso ... sometimes when cry until very pitiful ... tell him that 'ok mummy carry you hug hug then go zzzz ok' ... after the hug and pat he will keep quiet and zzzz ... i think tt bb v smart lor ... it seems like they can comprehend what we say like that ...

thanks for all the methods, will try on ds but think will be drama again cos he used to being walk and carry around. if we even stop at one spot or sit down, he will start to cry. must really try or soon our arms will drop off!

tingting, think your mum can start a school for all 1st time mothers lei. i first to sign up! we give in to ds most of the time but now can tell from his crys if he truely stress or just testing our responses! bathing is ok, being bathing him since he was 3wks old... just that HB's request... since when i got 3 hands, 2 hold ds, one soap him??

cat tail, ds also super loud, like kena abused... my agency is the one that always have ads on tv. finally their district manager called me and explained the timeline for all the processes. there was an "all saints" holiday , something like CNY, 1st wk nov and philippines office closed for 3 days plus a last minute holiday by gov and hence 1wk delay. anyway, long story short, if i ever need to hire a maid, must ask properly where got public holidays that will delay everything.

cmy, so envy your bb... ds will do 1 thing, slap/push bottle away, sometimes even push my hand holding bottle away. am trying to teach him to unclench his fists, he able to understand but fists dun stay unclench very long.

few days ago, ds pooed and kept very quiet. when we suspected he poo, he smiled. wah like trying to please us before we clean his dirty bottom! now when dun feel like drinking milk, will smile and if we dun remove the bottle, he will start to push it away.

he is more interested in playing and talking now... but i worried that he not drinking enough.

Hi musicgal,

Yeah, I took my boy to the Seng Kang Clinic. Was there at around 8.45am and was done before 10am. Not too bad I would say. My baby hardly cries ")

cookies,
eh, my girl never looks at me .. she looks at everyone else!! so sad.. and my FIL recently like to rub it in.. kept asking me how come my girl don't like to look at her mummy. Sigh...

cat tail:
quite hard to find S size pet pet. None at carrefour too. I finally found it at Giant parkway.

tingting:
i also can't bear for bb to cry! My hb also wait wait b4 picking her up... by that time, i would have run there and pick her up liao. Feel heart pain whenever she cries and no one attend to her.

Here's some pics of my bb Elizabeth!
338174.jpg

338175.jpg

ilmare, that's my grandmother, and to sign up must know teochew first! haha!
sometimes guys just say things w/out thinking one.. just tune out those that are nonsense...

ur boy should unclench his fists gradually.. mine started to about 1 week ago.. what i do is to show him by opening n closing my hands.

u know, my dog is best at calming my boy.. sometimes when both hb n i cannot pacify him, we'll show him our dog n he quietens down...

cat tail, my hb better at training cos more "hard-hearted".. hehe... he was the one who trained our dog when she was a puppy too... now she only scared of him but bully me all over.. haiz... :p

hi vone,
e new nursing room is at e end of e stretch of shops facing e thai restn (sky garden) on 3rd storey. i cant remember e shop name, cos didnt take note of it.

adelyee, u can also pump after feeding n pump more frequently. at 1 point i also think my ss drops,then i start to pump in btw latching on my boy, but only at most 3 sessions in a day, n it does help increase e supply.

i need milk, yr girl is so sweet looking. every baby is different, maybe when she's secretly looking at u, u didnt notice. dun bother with wat yr FIL said.

ilmare, let's hope e agency settles things fast n u get yr maid soon.

re: shaving hair
any1 has any salon to recommend in toa payoh area?

All the pictures of your babies are so adorable :)

Any mommies here drinking Frisomum? I have a 400gm tin (vanilla flavour) to give away. Opened it less than 2 weeks ago but did not like the taste after one try. Please PM me in case I don't visit this thread for the next few days.

Re: Discipline
Wow Lib, your gal so well-behave! I am still struggling to make my gal understand tat I do not like her misbehave by sternly say "No". Sometimes she understand, sometimes not.

Re: Pet Pet
Hi mummytobe,
I check out at the Carrefour last weekend, but still can't find the smaller size.

Hi ineedmilk,
Giant at Parkway have? Ok ok, will try to check out this weekend since I like near there.

Re: Maid
ilmare,
At least the agent should inform you earlier so that you won't have to keep chasing them. So how do you arrange your maid? Got someone to keep an eye on her when u work? And dun worry too much abt drinking not enough. As long as his weight increase & he's active, it shouldn't be a problem. Advise by my PD.

Hi ting2,
Totally agree tat man are more "bor chup" than woman. I am always the one who pick up my crying gal faster than anyone else but now trying very hard to drag my time. When she stops her cries, I quickly praise her. Hopefully she understand tat crying is not the way to get attention. Lucky nowadays, she can stay at her bouncer for a while. Not like last time, must carry all times. So it's true tat pets do help to calm babies.

Seabreeze,
maybe hor...see mummy pretty, drooling! But don't think Denise drool because of that...heeheheh..cos' she is a baby girl! Her daddy always say "Denise make sunny side up"...the pool of saliva looks like an fried eggg.

anyone planning for Christmas already?? i am so excited as this is the 1st Christmas with Denise bb

cat_tail
Saw petpet S selling at cold storage and Giant.

when will bb experience growth spurt huh? Cos Haowen is waking more frequently at night for milk. Usually he can sleep 6 hrs in a stretch but for the past 2 nights, he will wake up and cry for milk every 3-4 hrs and finish 170ml each time within 10 mins (last feed at 8pm, wake up 12am and 4am). Wondering if he's going thru a growth spurt at 3rd mth? How long will this phase be huh? Mummy is panda-eyed liao...

ilmare, ya, now tt u mentioned abt it, tink 2nd nov is all saints day in phillippines. tink it's quite a big occasion thr coz my maid requested 2 call hm on tt day. anyway, ur agency shld hv anticipated these prob, so i dun really buy d reason 4 d delay. did they try 2 make amends 4 u?? must asked coz they hv inconvenienced u so much. take care okie!!

i need milk, tink it's jus a phrase tt elizabeth is going thru. thr was 1 wk whereby my boy aso refused 2 look at me. ater tt, he's okie oledi. dun bother abt wat ur fil say. sometimes old folks talk w/o using their brains. hey, elizabeth looks jus like u, veri adorable!!

ting, ur dog can become ur part time nanny liao. so cute...

cookies, tks. let me go & recee.

vone ...

thanks for the play gym ... nice chatting with u and your hubby last night ... but had to cut it short cos need to rush home to feed yicheng ...

ixwong ...

yap .. i heard that there is a growth spurt at 3rd mth ... mine coming soon ... dunno got enough milk for him anot heehee ....

seabreeze, u r welcome.
we r glad tt we can pass it on 2 u & yicheng. do post pics of him playing on it okie. dun worry abt d short chat, we can always do it again. my apologies 4 d messy hse. hehe...

reenie,
Yes.. already planned a Christmas party with my ILs at our house.
So excited, 1st yr with Baby. We'll be decorating our hse.. thinking of making fireplace using styrofoam & cardboard...hee hee... any nice Christmas clothes to buy for baby?

ixwong, seabreeze,
really, baby at 3mth really got growth spurt har... no wonder my boy seems very colicky recently. can scream like nobody's business...

seabreeze,
think I confirm getting a bumbo seat... wan to place baby by the dining table with us during Christmas dinners... hee :p now trying to see where got lobang...

applejuz ...

me still thinking ler ... my colleague who got it last year at $100++ feels that its over rated lor ... and her first child doesnt like it ... so she hopes that her 2nd bb will like it ...

but another colleague of mine said tt her bb LOVES the seat ...

me wan bring yicheng to try it first before deciding want to buy anot ...

if you are not in a hurry ... maybe can see if got bulk purchase anot ... otherwise my fren said that the lowest price that she could find is at carrefour ... but i think you can look out for x'mas sale lor ...

tingting
i also show him how to unclench fists, he will try to follow. now trying to talk to him, i say "oh" and he will follow, quite cute until he feels bored then have to try something else.

cat tail,
will bring him to doc for his 3rd mth vaccination, probably 2wks from now then will know his weight etc. just that he is so fussy when feeding time, untill mum and i very *sian*.

parents will look after maid, maid look after ds.

vone,
i mentioned to that manager how come their outlet staff not familiar with maid's home country PH, that's part of their job! dun give customers empty promises. also told him that pls let their counter staff undergo some form of training, like passing messages and returning calls.

thanks for all your comments for my baby... haha... this mummy very bad to show such a photo of him on the forum.... indeed... he really look like me more than his father.....

seebreeze, don't be "cheated" by his reaction, sometime he show show only.... hahahaha

adel ...

temple is correct ... take the lift up to kiddy palace using the lift next to POSB Bank ...

temple ..

bb v smart one ... want give ppl good impression heehee ... my boy oso more well behaved when he is outside or in front of stranger

Re: Pet Pet
Thanks munmmies for yrou inputs.

Re: X'mas
reenie,
Me too, already planning X'mas celebration at in-law's hse. Hubby will just order the X'mas set from the supermarket.

applejuz, I saw some cute costume like rabbit or reindeer outfits in Mothercare. Can dress your boy & tat will be very cute!

Re: Maid
ilmare,
Hang on there, your help (maid) is coming soon. It's good to hear tat u get your parents to keep an eye on her cos maids really cannot be trusted alone. My maid also needs to monitor one. When I am around, she's ok. But when nobody sees her, she eats snake.

My gal is also a very fussy eater when feeding her. Sometimes she wants to drink but when I give her the bottle, she spits out & yell! Then I have to give her pacifer to calm her down before I try to feed her again. Very stress but I am numb liao.

adelyee,
Kiddy Palace is at level 3 of the interchange. Can access by lift or escalator near the NTUC side.

cat_tail, tink all maids r like tt. mine aso. but wat i can't tahan abt mine is tt she short cut on my boy's stuff. eg, when bathing him, dun wash his hands, face, etc. sigh...

LG Prime Bumper Playmat
1) temple /
2) raisintan / mousse bear
3) tingting /
4) vone /
5) Tuffy /
6) Tennyson / mousse bear

hi.. any of the above mummies still keen on the mat? am looking for a buddy to enjoy 15% discount. better still, anyone available to organise bulk purchase to get 20% discount? temple has obtained indication from smallsmallworld if our order hits 10. short of 4 more..

Ya vone,
Always looking for a easier way to have a easy life. Lucky your hubby works from home to oversee her.

Hi raisintan,
Maybe can try to put up a new thread so tat can get more mummies to order together? Too bad, my budget is only limited to the happy Pooh.

help!

me very stress now...
my baby gal xuan xuan has been refusing milk...arghh!! once her mouth touch the teat, she will scream and scream til like her whole body wanna stand up. It has been like this since yesterday....she will only drink during her sleep.

When we brought her to see dr last sunday, it was due to her block nose, so we drip her nose before the feed and she was okie on sunday and monday, but yesterday onwards she started to be cranky...arghhh...

so heartpain when i see her like this during feeding time.

any advise? should i bring her go see PD again?

i very scared if she's starting to teeth...she coming 3 mth next week

erowen

my gal Megan is also the same. Refuse water, refuse milk, will scream and cry and arch her back once teat touch her lips or when we put towel around her neck. But once bottle is out of her mouth and sight, she is happy again. Will drink peacefully without any struggle only when she is sleepy, half asleep.

Brought her to pd and pd said it is due to bad habit. Some babies feed better when they are sleepy. Try not to force the bottle down her throat cos she might have phobia of bottles in the future.

cat_tail,
Re: Christmas
i nearly bought the Mothercare reindeer costumes.. but hubby say material too warm, + only wear once... so gotta put back to the rack loh.. sigh..
Heee, previous yr we've been ordering the X'mas set from Supermarker, this yr, SIL suggest to DIY western food. So we'll have Steak/Chic Chop..etc.. Yummy!