(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

aidanee, really ah?? i thot can color after my confinement leh. now my hair color is so funny, 1/2 black, 1/2 colored. hehe... guess we r in d same situation. me aso dun wan 2 apply, then make my boy hyperactive.

cat_tail, oh no... then can u do anything 2 'salvage'??

reenie, heng ah... then i can go & color my hair liao. hehe...

aidanee - oic. yalor! Mt. A cheaper n nearer. okie! we'll wait for your delivery story
i'm sure the nurse very friendly cos i went there to do my D&C n they are all very friendly.

angel ...

my MIL oso say that need ppl with very good luck then can make their own wine one ... she got it from a good fren of hers ...

aidanee ...

your gynae okie with it?

Ya reenie & vone,
Really dun noe why I got the heart to chop my hair like tat. Feel like crying sometimes.....

I think let my hair grow a bit longer so that I can do corrective action. Definitely highlight my hair & go to a very exp saloon! I deserve this..kekeke

seabreeze, i only mentioned once to him, and he asked me y...n i told him i am worried that the head is too big. tried to give lotsa of reasons, but he still issue me a pre-admission letter for natural delivery! sigh! dun know leh...guess no dr will pro-cesarean unless got medical reasons to do so....i just wait n see lor.....still cannot get myself mentally prepared for natural birth.....

aidanee ...

true lor ... most of them will encourage natural birth ...

maybe you ask your baby to sit upright lor ... breech position then must go for c-section liao heehee ...

cat_tail, dun b sad. i aso cut off my hair fr below my bra line 2 shoulder length b4 CNY coz d weather was so hot. after cutting it off, i regretted it immediately. now i m waiting 4 it 2 grow longer aso.

after u give birth, then go & pamper urself okie. let me noe, mayb we can go together. hehe...

any mommies here interested in the glenn doman flash card programme? I think one previous forum mommy from our thread - tulip (remember?), flashes cards to her eldest daughter... and her daughter can speak quite well at 12 or 14 months I think.. can't quite remember liao

angel ...

heard that its quite a good prog ... seem like we can make the flash card ourselves except that did to follow certain strict instruction like the size of the font, paper used etc ....

seabreeze

i think we can.. but i think it is also quite expensive to make the cards ourselves as we need to factor in cost of the paper (must be thick 410gsm kind), ink cartridges used for printing the words etc.. not too sure leh

i juz bought the 'how to teach your baby to read' book from the marketplace so will update u girls after i've finished it.

I also just bought Gina Ford's contented baby book last weekend and currently reading it. If you follow her schedule and tips, your baby will start sleeping from 7pm to 7am from 6 weeks to 8 weeks onwards. But her programme needs to be very strictly adhered to for it to work, some mommies can't make it due to the lack of freedom and strict regimen. Also if you are a believer of demand feeding then this programme is not suitable for you.

I was at TMC tonight for prenatal class and bumped in lib's hb. Heard from him that lib had contractions this morning and was admitted into the hospital, but she wasn't ready to give birth yet.

After class, Christina and I popped by to visit lib. She mentioned that from last night to this morning, her bb girl wasn't kicking her, so she was quite worried. Hence, when she felt contractions this morning around 5plus am, she decided to check into the hospital. But as she wasn't dilated yet, she wasn't ready to give birth and her gyne says most likely it will be tomorrow. While she is in the hospital, her bb decided to start kicking her again! She has started to dilate already and tomorrow morning at 8am, she will be wheeled to the labour ward and we'll see when bb Kylie decides it's time for her to make that arrival into this world. Christina will keep us posted when lib has given birth. So looks like it will be lib followed by ting ting. So exciting!!

Hi snoopy,
i am from the oct mother thread. just read that u were at TMC for antenatal class on wed. I am also in Mrs Wong's class! where were u sitting?

wow, snoopy, tks for sharing the news ya! No wonder some of the ladies here were wondering where is lib. was she nervous when u and christina visited her?
Btw for such waiting cases, they sleep over at the maternity room?

aidanee, actually yr gynae quite good leh, cos you know why, there are some gynae who prefer to do c-section cos it's scheduled for. So yr gynae got principle. =)))

cat tail and vone, jiok me when you gals go pampering hor. kekeke. =)

reenie, how's yr morning today?
i can't wait to hear lib's good news.

morning...

excited for Lib! we shld be able to hear news abt her bb's arrival today!

tried to psycho bb to come out last night, but i'm still in office today...sigh... think i tried too hard... even dreamt of it last night.... :p

angel, u r such a gd mummy. now reading up on how 2 bring up ur gal liao.

snoopy, tks 4 d update.
no wonder didn't c her online these days. tink we shld b hearing gd news soon.

ero, yup, will definitely ask u along.

ting, tink u 2 anxious liao. tat's y dream of ur bb. try 2 relax, mayb ur bb will come out on his own??

cldn't sleep well last nite coz hb was coughing d whole nite away. d best thing is when hb coughs, bb woke up & kicked me violently, as if it's my fault. now feeling veri tired. then i had a bad dream, dreamt tat some1 was trying 2 harm my bb. yeeks... so scary. still give me d shivers whenever i recall d dream.

cat_tail,
hee hee.. cutting short hair do make us look 'ah soh', guess what, i tried putting lotsa hair gel, make-ups, even long earrings when i go to work... minimise the effect... now my colleagues say i look like a school student, though I'm already 29!

seems like most of u will be staying with ur mum durin' confinement, anyone thought how abt 2nd/3rd mth?
I can't imagine me alone & baby when my hubby is working after the 1st mth leh... was actually hinting my mum tt i may extend for the 2nd mth.. hee hee...

snoopy,
so lib in hospital now? tt means baby will pop anytime lor (or already pop liao..).... wow so excited!

morning gals.

wow!!!! so excited tt lib is gog to pop! dunno whether she has popped or not....hopefully everythin go smoothly for her....

tingting,
u excited or not? next one will be u liao!! btw, try to relax now.... me also like u...so anxious tt my turn is still long way to go.... i dreamt of bb playin wit me! hee.....

snoopy,
tks for sharin the news... do keep us posted once lib has popped! just cant wait for her gd news!!!

Gd morn all MTBs,
Looks like Lib is going to be updated in the list soon. Heehee.. so exciting..

Sure vone & erowen! Chio u all out for a good pampering session.

Hi Applejuz,
So u r born in the year of dragon? Same as me leh!! According to the chinese horoscope, if your bb born in the yr of chick, it will "wan" u!

skippy, i'm scheduled for inducing next monday, but now having 2nd thoughts leh, so feeling impatient for bb to come out on his own in the meantime.. i dunno if i should cancel the inducing?? there're pros n cons on each side, n i keep swinging from side to side... so any conflicting thoughts will be resolved only if bb comes out soon...

hi hi confused
no leh, didn't received yr email leh, can email me again? [email protected]
Tks confused! How you feeling these few days.

tingting, what was yr dream about? i seldom dream about my bb or the delivery process...could be bcos i seldom have a good night sleep, always wake up every 2 3 hours. sigh
Btw when is yr EDD? Why did yr gynae suggest induction?

applejuz, my mum will be coming over to my house to stay with me. my hubby will take leave for the first 10 days to accompany me, then when my mum returns to work after my confinement, my hubby will take on off leave and my MIL will come over and help out. =)
Dun know why leh, i kinda look forward to my own time with my bb leh. =))

erowen - har! dont have ah? ok i try again. if u still didnt receive it let me know cos maybe some problem iwth my mail liao. i send again now yeah! so paiseh!

Me also counting down to the arrival of my baby. today is the first day of my leave. Wonder how long my baby would make me wait. Getting impatient. :p

erowen,
haha.... think i also lookin forward to my own time wit bb.... but on the other side, i afraid tt i will fall into post natal blue... ;p hopefully not....

nowadaez i also wake up 2-3 times in the middle of the nite to pee...then after i cant slp again...my mind is too active.... ;p only my hubby slp like a piggy!

tingting,
ur edd is 9 aug right? r u the 1st time mum? think if doc advise u to induce, then just follow their instruction, is also gd for u n bb too... otherwise, just wait till bb ready to meet up wit u.... ;o)

applejuz,
think we hav been thinkin too much....

aidanee,christina,ilmare,cookies,Samantha & seabreeze,

dunno when come our turn, will we be in the mess or not.... when r u galz seein ur gynae again? how often now? every other 2wks?

applejuz ...

i will be staying at my mum's place throughout my ML ... cant imagine being alone at home with my baby ... scared that if no support will get post natal blue ... in fact might even stay with my mum when i start work ... cos dunno if i can manage my baby alone at night anot ...

skippy ...

me seeing my gynae on 13 Aug ... 3 weeks from my last visit .... then after tat would be once a week ... think most of us the same right?

cat_tail,
u also dragon gal? really our 'rooster' kid will tekan us huh? aiyo...no wonder he's been kicking me whole day long... neber give mummy a break.

erowen,
so good ur mum come over ur hse... mine can't coz she gotta cook for my dad & siblings... so better for me & hubby to move over. I'll miss my bed & bathroom.. :p

SeaBreeze,
dun worry, hope we'll all get used to handling baby ourselves soon.

erowen, skippy, my gynae is pro inducing before EDD, bcos she feels that once bb reaches full term, development is complete n bb only gains weight. delivering bb early can avoid a too large bb (n therefore higher chance of need for c-section), and reducing chances of cord strangulation, bb poo poo inside the womb.

so her recommendation is not specific to my case, but that's her lor...

i agree with her points, but at the same time there's this counter-argument on letting the bb come out at a time he is ready to, not "artificially", when there is no medical reason (i.e. bb not developing, harmful to mother, etc). Hence the conflict within me... plus my MIL is strongly against inducing...

tingting ...

think my gynae is the same school as thought as your gynae ...

he was telling me anything like 3kg is quite okie liao ...

tingting,
yeah, i heard abt the cord strangulatn n bb poo poo inside...is very dangerous if it happens... maybe u shld go for natural way to induce ur bb...ie. intercourse, massage ur breast...etc...i read from the wat u expect when u r expectin...

seabreeze,
im seein my gynae tiz saturdae...im now seein her every 2wks....

Good morning!!

Erowen!!!
i'm ok!! just got back from a meeting.
i am so excited for Lib!!! oh mine........i am so gan cheong for her now!!!!

mrs wong did teach that from 37 weeks onwards we can start massaging our breast to prep for breastfeeding and to induce contraction oso ...

hi tingting and seabreeze

my gynae too!! Ideal bb weight of 3kg is the best liao but if there's no complications, he rather wait for natural delivery than induction.

Also, I mentioned it to my friends and they strongly opposed to induction. Reason: since you've already so far into yr pregnancy, what is 2 weeks? Juz endure and wait for bb to come out naturally la. Then the super pantang kind say I am interfering with nature and the baby 'sheng cheng ba zhi'.. I told them I am not pantang abt such things at all.. then they insist that I shouldn't interfere with nature.

haiz, I wanna induce also face so much opposition from parents, husband and friends.. nowadays it's really not jus me, baby and hubby anymore in our decision-making.

Hi Appplejuz,
It's prosperous us, not tekan. *LOL

Ya, mine oso kick non-stop, so notti. Think when she come out, I will wag her buttock.

Hi tingting,

Our EDD is the same but my gynae is diff. He say will induce me only if I dun deliver by 9 Aug 05. He say my baby not engaged yet and also water level still good, so no hurry to induce. I'm intending ask my gynae to induce me on 8 Aug if there are still no signs of labour cos my hubby is a teacher and he can be with me & baby that period of time since school will be off from 8 Aug 05 to 10 Aug 05.

hi chemistry, my bb is already engaged, cervix softened n last check indicated a bit of dilation (but gynae did not say how much.. think must be v v little)...

i think i'll try the breast massaging method to see if can induce contractions... using breast pump also work right?

my own parents are ok with inducing cos i told them this can minmise chances of c-section...

somehow i have a psychological mindframe that i can deliver bb more confidently if he does not exceed 3kg... if he goes beyond 3kg, think my confidence level will be much lower...

so angel and seabreeze will be inducing too?

galz,
how come my gynae nvr talk to me abt vaginal swap, water level,baby's head engaged, induction..etc...??!

think i will ask her tiz saturdae...

btw, dunnow how's lib now.....

reenie, ya me also very excited for her! I sms christina and she was telling me that lib was very calm when they visited her yesterday! cool lady siah. I think i will be panicky when it's my turn. =))

tingting, different gynae has different schools of thot, but most importantly is to have faith in yr baby and yr gynae, afterall we have been seeing them for so long liao.
Meanwhile relax and we will hear from you ya. =))
btw anyone here got yr hp no? rem to sms one of us ya.

applejuz, my dad will look after the house when my mum moves over stay with us. More convenient for us, if not i have to move 3 person's things over, me hubby and baby.

skippy, i also scared i post natal blue! cos my maternal side has such history, my mum also suffered from post natal blue after me and my brother born. She told me she felt very sad and helpless at times.

ixwong,
will be guessing which is you on that Sat hehe.. Hope your bb is in ideal position by then..

btw. any idea how much to budget for, for confinement food if engaging CL? She will cook for whole family right if mother or MIL staying in? Heard from my colleague about $600-800 for avg. 4 person including the CL. Seems very exp...

hi skippy, some gynaes more ks i guess, so do more checks... but i think vaginal swap quite impt leh, cos if the bacteria is present, then it'll be quite dangerous for bb to pass through the vagina before treatment is given. water level... if no comment means it's good lor...
heard that it's more common for Asian babies to be engaged until v close to delivery date...

erowen, yah, will discuss further with hb on this... wendy has got my number... will ask her to broadcast...
think she's also busy with her newborn isaac...

just some info on inducing... my gynae recommends that we check in ard mid-night, so as to "maximise" time in hospital.. after admission, they will insert some pills and you will rest till morning, when gynae will come to check on ur situation. A drip will also be put up. Gynae may burst your waterbag if it doesn't do so on its own, then the delivery process will begin as per normal...

bcos i chose a 2-bedded ward, hb will not be able to stay with me after i'm admitted. But my gynae is requesting for me to be placed in delivery ward so that he can stay behind. Hope the delivery wards are not fully occupied.

re: post natal blues

i also a bit scared, cos i was tensed even when i looked after my 10 week old puppy last time... cannot do anything cos scared she'll pee n poo everywhere, n cannot bear to put her in her confined area cos she's already in there during day time...

tingting, for vaginal swap, my gynae never say anything leh. Can a GP do the job har? Cos i know my GP very well, i feel like approaching her to do the vaginal swap....i think my gynae dun do lor...cos by the time i see him in 2 weeks'time, i will be approaching 38th week soon

hi erowen, the swap can be done anytime before delivery... got to send the swab for lab analysis one... not sure whether GPs do this... u can check with her...

Skippy,
i am seeing my gynae every 2 weeks now. also very kan cheong leh...

Angel,
you are reading the GD's book? Do give us your feedback ok?

Ting Ting,
u still have a few days before your induction day....so relax and enjoy the "last few days" of your freedom. Maybe bb also feels like coming out earlier (over the weekend)to say hello to mommy n daddy...
Dun think so much abt the weight....cos few of my gfs also managed to push their bbs of 3.5kg-4kg out......

hi all, my placenta was not functioning very well, amniotic fluid is low and baby in breech position at week 32. My Gynae is observing me on a weekly basis, 2 weeks MC so far.... I was wondering if anyone had similar issue ? Will the baby be pre-mature, and by cesarean ??? I was hoping for a natural birth, but now, I doubt I can have one..

I understand that the first few signs of impending labour are 1) having a show 2) waterbag burst and 3) contractions. Just wondering is it possible to have contractions without having the show or water bag bursting? also, usually how many days before labour will we have a show? 2-3 weeks or 2-3 days?

Every time i go to the toilet, i am checking at my panty liner, see got show or not heh.. nervous!

hi ameliaa,
Heard that if fluid is low may need to have the bb out sooner and need to be observed frequently during prenancy. I've a friend whose fluid is low from the begining but still manage to give birth to health bb. Just that the medical bill will be higher since visit gynae more frequently.. So just rest well and not to worry too much so that the bb will be healthy and happy