(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

I intend to use a small waterproof mat under bb backside for the leak. If too hot, then will use clothe nappy but only bought 2 dozen, so not sure enough or not as I would be using them during the day instead of pampers.

Will be seeing my gynae next week for wk 36 check. Getting a bit impatient and easily tired nowadays....but still hoping to work till I popped.

Hi cat_tail,

Yeah.. agree wif u, they r quite exp, in fact, its bumper is very thin compared to others, & oni include 1 bolster & 1 pillow...

but really cannot resist.. hee hee... so heart pain. Will be using it for bb's full mth later. My confinement at my mum's plc, so she's also sewing some simple bedsheets for normal days... else 2 sets very siong leh..

hi anissa, milo is quite heaty n high in sugar.. better not take too much... can instead take more protein like meat...

usually gynae will test for glucose level in ur urine at each visit... if it shows high, he may order for a GTT test to see if u're suffering from gestational diabetics... will let u drink a glass of concentrated glucose drink n see how ur body processes glucose. have to draw blood for testing..

Hello Cat_Tail , Anissa,

please dun let my case worry you...i have no family history too. Just that this time, my glucose level n protein in the urine showed some +ve sign. n the thing is that my weight gain of 1 kg is not much/ my overall weight gain is 7kg only...so he thought it might me the milo i drank prior to my urine test. If the next time i go, it's still like that, he will order GTT lor.... hope i can pass the next round. Yar, got to take concentrated glucose drink....yucks!!

Feeling so tired now. woke up at 4am this morning, n couldnt get to sleep.

Hi tingting & aidanee,

Thnks for taking the time to explain to me what a GTT involves. I tend to take sweet stuff a lot but so far so good. *touchwood*

Hi, to those interested in buying mattress protector/ waterproof sheets, IKEA is selling. I just bought 1, 2 weeks ago. Cost either $9 or $12, cant remember. It is white in colour, u can cut it according to the size of the cot. Havent wash it yet so don't know the quality...feels quite soft, a bit like cloth, but supposedly waterproof.

Hi Applejuz,
Got to agree Aussino designs are so sweet & adorable! Wah, can show off during the full mth.
. But other than this set, dun waste money to buy extra baby cot sheet from them. When bb grows up & sleep on the bed, it will be more worthwhile to invest.

Hi Annissa,
Eat more meat like beef etc. Maybe a little durian also helps but as for Aidanee, u better dun try durian since Dr already mention u have +ve for glucose in urine. Sometimes it's true tat there will be some effects on the test if u take sweet stuff before. I think yor Dr just want to make sure u r alrite so make u go thru this GTT.

i'm still 1cm dilated ... i wonder for how long i'll be 1cm?? I'm glad to be on leave nxt Mon... I'm not worried abt giving birth, more worried abt clearing all my work by Friday!! argh.

To me, vaginal exam is not painful lah. Just think about how the baby got inside in the first place... if u know what i mean. Doc won't stick her WHOLE HAND in, only 2 fingers. And she kept apologising "sorry ah, going to be uncomfortable ah... sorry ah, i gotto do this ah... " Aiyo, it's nothing lah.

just to share my worries, yes'day went for my 32nd week scan. My placenta is not functioning very well, and my amniotic fluid is low. Baby is also in horizontal breech position.

Sigh.. so worried for baby's development and the possibility of too early cesarean delivery. Doc ordered 1 week of bed rest at home and 2 to 3 litres of water per day...

Hi cat_tail, I am a beef lover actually. When I stay in HK for 5 years, I have that very often but somehow, the beef served in Singapore taste different to me. But I've been trying to eat more beef and salmon for the past few days. Hope it helps.

ameliaa, if your amniotic fluid is low then there is a high chance that you will go into delivery early. Better listen to the Doc's order and take good care of yourself!

long time never post here, too lazy and busy trying to siam work.

i went for my 32wk scan today, BB head is down and all measurements are within range. now BB is about 2kg, does that mean that BB has to gain another 1kg so that will not be underweight? only thing is the body is a bit big. amniotic fluid level is fine. dr seems quite happy, even with my home monitoring glucose level, but warned me to stay away from durians... *sigh* no sushi, no durians... no fun.

got some questions:
1. citizenship: my HB is malaysian and me singaporean, BB will be singaporean. anyone got any idea if BB can get malaysian citizenship too?? if so, how to go about. thanks
2. anyone thinking of cord blood banking? which company are you signing with? Stemcord or Cord life.
3. post natal massage: when can we start post natal massage? any recommendation and price range.

hi ilmare, bb weight varies one.. so long as above 2kg considered ok...

re citizenship: singapore does not allow dual citizenship.

ameliaa, yah.. better take good care to avoid premature delivery...

wendy, u got good tolerance level huh... maybe can try for no epidural...
so how heavy is ur bb now?

hi cat_tail,
Yap... better save $$ on other things..& I'm oredi satisfied wif that set...

hi amelia,
dun worry, everything will be fine

hi ilmare,
hmm.. think can only ans ur 3rd Qn. Coz I just booked my Massage Lady, she told me if Normal delivery, start 1 wk after birth, if C-sect, 3 wks. She's charging $390/7 sessions, coz she stays near me, in the west area. Not sure good or not, but she's recommended by my fren who regain her figure after the sessions... for me, as long price reasonable, then i take loh..

Morn all MTBs,
It's Thurs! One more day to go... and I wonder whether did u all start to feel fatigue easily?

Hi ameliaa,
Like wat Anissa say, possibilty of early delivery is quite high for u. Do wat the Dr tell u & dun move too much, k? Dun be so stress, such things are beyond yor control. Just keep in touch with yor gynae if anything happen.

Hi Anissa,
Got to agree that HK's beef is so much tastier than Sg. I wonder wat type of grass they eat?
No wonder u still crave for it..heehee..

Hi ilmare,
1) Ting is rite, cannot have dual citizenship.
2) No idea. I am not signing up any cord blood banking.
3) The massage lady will advise when to start your post natal massage. For normal delivery, it usually start around few days later not more than 1 week after yor delivery. For c-section, it's around 2-3 weeks & depends on your recovery speed.

Hi Applejuz,
Like to check with you, wat is the whole duration of yor massage per session? My one charge $420 for 7 days which covers an hr of massage and then follow by wrap per session. She even offer to give bb a massage too. I dun noe whether izzit too exp.

Hi wendyg,
Yor bb still dun wan to come out.

Ya.. vaginal exam is not too bad if you compare with vaginal ultrasound scan... arrggg...

Hi cat_tail,
yeah, i think now at this stage, we tend to get tired easily esp if have to wake up a few times to pee in the nite....every day like not enuff rest...now still sleepy...hahaha
yawn.gif

Hi ameliaa,
dun worry, juz take the time to rest well....one of my frens also had a similar situation. Her placenta was not providing enough nutrients for her baby so doc also ordered her to rest at home and eat more. She was also scheduled for a C-section but she had contractions earlier n baby came out ok though quite light at juz over 2kg.

hey ladies,
will u all be drinking DOM during your confinement? Is it ok to drink this even if breastfeeding? Now, over time, I've got a stock of 4 bottles at home. Whenever my family travels, they stock up on the duty free DOM.

hi cat tail, me super sleepy these days... keep having to come to work late... super paiseh, but really difficult to wake up these days...

joyful, the LC at MAH does not encourage drinking DOM, cos got alcohol content. u can cook it with dishes to evaporate the alcohol instead.

Ya lor joyful & tingting!
Sleep not enuff! Every nite w/o fail, I have to visit toilet & pee....

I oso got 4 big bottles of DOM (all gifts from relatives) at home & another one super big bottle of MIL self-mix herbal alcoholic wine (XO, Martell, etc...)! Somemore I am allergic to alcohol... jia lat...

Actually it's best not to drink alcoholic, but if yor mom lah, MIL insist like mine, then cook it with your confinement food. Best to consume after bf & wait at least 2 hrs before u bf again.

Can i check with you something? How much is your baby moving these days? I heard that towards later half of 3rd trimester (week 34/35 and above) baby won't move as much cause not enough space? i'm entering my 36th week now, and baby is moving just as much! Wriggling, turning, kicking...both day and night! nowadays i'm lucky if i get 3-4 hours of sleep at night.. i keep waking up to adjust my position so as not to "squash" her.

Yes, yes... me oso gets tired easily..Now even if i stand too long, i got tired too, not to mention walk. (so sad, coz i used to shop alot, now so handicapped liao)
Toilet bowl is oso my 2nd bed at night.. goodness, dunno why so much water!
kao_confused.gif

cat_tail,
My Massage Lady told me its abt 1 hr, also include massage & wrap, but no baby massage lah... i guess the difference is the oil used & distance tranvelled. I think urs $420 is quite reasonable, saw fr other threads that it could range $450-$500 for the more popular ML...

Hi mummytobe,

Same here, today's my 36th wk 0 day. My baby still very active, moving/wriggling/turning/stretching during the day. At night still ok, maybe I'm heavy sleeper, can't feel the movement, only bothered by my bladder call :p

applejuz, i agree wif u. makes me feel so tired in d am. u can try 2 reduce ur water intake after 6pm. it can help 2 a certain extend.

my bb movements are pretty consistent throughout... but i dun feel him moving at night leh... either he's super considerate of mummy, or i'm too heavy a sleeper...hehe... but even during day time, his movements are seldom strong enough to cause pain or discomfort... he's gonna be mummy's darling next time for being so good!

may i know when we will recieve our hospital admin letter? i don't remember reciving it from TMC even though i send back a form before, after filling in the particulars. Do we get it from our gynae or the hospital will send?

hi Anissa,
i think my gynae based on his judgement and tell me the estimated birth weight of my girl
his quite experience and probably with my records, he is able to give a rough estimate.

welcome Applejuz

Ameliaa: dun worri, juz rest more as wat yr gynae told u and everything will be fine.. but u hve to monitor yr bb's movement hor..

Wendyg: Yr bb is so comfy inside, wana to stay in longer.. hehe..

Ilmare: Long time no see! Glad everything is fine wif u.. dun worri so much on no durian hor.. anyway juz another 2-3mths time u can start to hve all yr feast again..

Cat_tail: usually for normal delivery, u can start massage 1 week after and C-sect is 2 weeks after..

Mummytobe: my bb movement are quite ok, oni 3x a day.. once in the afternoon, once after dinner & once at abt 11pm.. Each time last abt 1-2mins..

Hi mummytobe,
I am at 34wks and my bb moved like nobody business! She's super active & move any time she like (even now she's still wriggling)!

Wah, u r such a nice mummy, really take gd care of her! At nite still make sure she's not squash! For me, I just lie on the bed & next few secs sleep like a pig. I know my bb is wriggling around for comfortable position but I am too tired to shift myself. Only times, is to move my butts to toilet for "emergency". What a bad mummy I am....

Hi Applejuz,
Sounds like my massage lady price is still in the market price.

Hi vone,
thanx for ur advice, but these days do gets thirsty easily..

tingting,
cheers, we belong to the heavy sleeping grp.. hee hee... hope our bb won't miss their milk times becoz mummy in dreamland.. :p but so envy u, bb seldom disturb u in the day, mine always cause tummy 'earth quakes', & sometimes like pulling my veins...Ouch!

reenie,
Thanx for ur greetings.
As for admin letter, not sure abt TMC, for GEH, my gynae has given me the booking slip (muz ask one), then i took the slip to hosp ctr for pre-admission.

Btw, chk wif u gals, did u all go for single / double bedded? Still very undecided.. prefer hubby to stay wif me, but scared total cost will be high though GEH got Citibank pkg promotion.

applejuz, i dunno leh, i wake up v easily if my dog walks around the room, but i dun wake up fr bb movements... maybe he's really quite quiet at night...
think if bb cries we'll definitely wake up lah..hehe...

i think i'll opt for 2-bedded... believe hb will have to go home to prepare the bb stuff, take care of our dog, etc, so no point making him run to n fro so many times... but i want to opt for rooming in of bb... hope i have no room mate, or room mate is also opting for the same!

hey mummytobe,

me too! i'm almost 36 weeks now, and baby's still as energetic as ever! wish i was half as active as he is! i'm totally slowing down already and having somewhat swollen feet sure doesn't help!

applejuz, me 2. but no choice. it's either drink a lot after 6pm & wake up frequently in d nite or d other way round. so i compensate by drinking a lot during d day lor.
i opt 4 2 bedded. coz hb needs 2 go hm & cook my pig's trotters 4 me. hehe...

ting, me hoping 4 no room mate aso. haha...

hi applejuz...

I just delivered my baby at GEH... i opted for a 2 bedder...
It really depends on yourself... For my case, i stayed 2 nights and my doctor's bill was together with my hospital bill... after medisave & the deposit deduction... i paid abt $700+... but i'm still waiting for my final bill to come...

Hi saintbaby

how was your experience delivering at GEH? Can share? I will be delivering my baby there as well... if not for my gynae, i would have chosen another hospital.

hey ting ting & cat_tail,

Thanks for your advice. Yeah, dun wan to drink the DOM and end up baby also kena intoxicated n become "mabok"....hahahaha...

cat_tail, your MIL concoction sounds powerful n lethal man!

saintbaby, how much deposit did u pay for GEH?
I think i shld be getting my admission letter tis sat, and will bring it together with the booking slip to GEH and pay the deposit together... is tat the right procedure?

applejuz, when is ur EDD?.. I also juz called my massage lady yesterday to confirm, so tat she can prepare the cloth for binding. She stays at west side, also very near my house... and she charges only $350/7 sessions... not sure whether she's good or not... so keeping my fingers crossed..

Hi Emmie..

Mine was GA C-sec... The nurses there were very nice.. Initially i had problems latching my baby on.. But the nurses were very helpful... They taught me how to latch baby on.. GEH also has classes on BF and baby care... U can attend the classes when u're there.. It's in the afternoon.. If not u can watch it on the TV at 9am..
Overall, my stay there was a pleasant one...

By the way... who's your gynea?

hoshi5...
They will require u to pay the deposit for the maternity package that they offer.. For my case, i paid $2.3K as deposit cos mine was GA C-sec... If u're going to do pre-admission.. U can opt to pay your deposit there and then or do it when u admit into hospital...

saintbaby,
thanks for ur reply.. it's really very helpful. I didn't attend any antenatal class, and very worried abt BF, coz no experience at all. Glad to hear GlenE has classes ter... BTW, do we have to bring our own nightgown ter, or does GlenE provide? hehe.. this may sound stupid, but normally wat do new mothers wear during their stay at the hospital?
Orh so, we can do pre-admission anytime at GlenE when we receive the admission letter from my gynae is it? we can also do it during day of admission right?... tat means, i dun have to be so gan cheong to pay deposit at GlenE....
But how do we know GlenE has confirmed our room and bed?.. unless we do pre-admission first is it?
sorrie for so many question...

hoshi5..
U have to bring your own nightgown...
remember to bring those button ones so that it's easier to BF... I also didn't attend any antenatal class.. Normally new mothers will wear their own nightgown... U can do your pre-admission once u get your admission letter from your gynea.. if not u can do it on the day of admission... Glen E will have enough beds one.. hehe.. dun worry... if u actually wan a 2 bedder but on that day they dun have... they'll put u in a single rm but u pay a 2 bedder price...
cos for maternity wards.. they only have single or double bedder only... so dun worry...

Thanks for the offer, Lib. I think no need for now cos also not sure if can sustain using cloth diapers. Maybe I'll give up after 2 days...:p

I also have not received any admission letter, but guess that's because I signed up my gynae package very late at 3 weeks ago.

I'll be 36 weeks tomorrow and my bb is still very active leh. But I find it harder to get back to sleep nowadays after waking up in middle of night to go toilet. The strangest thing is I always wake up at around 3.30am (plus/minus 15 mins), no matter what time I sleep. Wondering if my bb is going to be a 3am bb. Anyone experiencing the same thing?

ixwong, is ok.. but if u nid any let me noe hor..

i oso wake up almost every nite ard the same time.. and couldnt get back to sleep liao. haiz

HI Reenie,

I don't think TMC will send you a hospital admission letter. Cause i sent in my pre-registration form few months ago, and i didn't hear any word from them. So when i went for gynae checkup at tmc, i dropped by the registration counter and asked them if they received my pre-reg form. They checked and told me they received. And they said no admission letter when i asked them. They say just bring gynae admission letter and your ics can already.

Hi hoshi5,
I also didn't attend GEH classes. in fact i booked but later cancelled. coz i'm more interested in bb handling rather than exercise & breathing...so tot those classes during our stay will be more useful.

Btw, my EDD on 18/AUg. hey, ur ML charges quite cheap! I guess end results still depends on our discipline...hope can tahan the wrap..
kao_dizzy.gif

Hi saintbaby,
Thanks for ur info.
kiss.gif

Wow, for GA C-sect, u only stayed 2 nites? Great recovery.
Glad to hear the nurses are nice & u had a pleasant stay.

Btw, shld we wear our bra during the stay? I've packed 2 nursing bras in my hospital bag, but heard that we dun wear bra if breast feed... in that case, we'll need a vest to cover right? Does GEH provide? else if relative come, very paisei leh...

hi all MTB,
wow! the threat movin fast!

ask u galz, when r u galz gog to start ur ML or some of u hav already started?

my edd is 11 Sept, gynae said it cld be 1-2 wks early..some said late...sigh...i also dunno which is which...anw, am plannin to take my block leave durin end aug....do u galz think is abit too early?

lib,
wat r the items tt u hav packed for admission? do u bring the bb's bottles along as well? wat abt the pyjamas? 1 or 2 sets?

Will you be writing up an emergency labour plan or something? to follow when you go into labour/experience contractions? I am thinking of writing up a plan, for my hubby to follow in case we start panicking hehe Eg. Step 1, call gynae/ hospital. Step 2, take a shower/wash hair. Step 3. Eat something etc.

Can share yours?

Hi Applejuz,
I am bringing a shawl/wrap for that purpose. Ie. if cannot wear bra, and relatives/friends come, i will just use the shawl/wrap to cover hee hee

Hi skippy, i packed the followings:

For me:
1) 2 pyjamas
2) 2 nursing bra
3) 1 set of going home wear
4) 1 pair of bedroom slipper
5) personal toiletries
6) handphone charger and small amt of S$$
7) disposable panties

For baby
1) 1 set of going home wear

lib,
u r now into ur 37wks? hee...i more KS than u...i packed some of the stuff ie. 2 pyjamas, 1 nursin bra, bottles, bb's gog hm wear, towel...etc...

u mean we need to rbing bedroom slipper as well? i thot of wearin normal sandals or slipper...

u got ur disposable panties from watson ?

where u got ur nursin bra? went J8 yesterdae but cant find any nursin bra cost 9.90...

hi skippy, instead of bedroom slipper, i packed a pair of slippers that can be used in bathroom as well, i.e. non-slip slippers (hmm, sounds a bit contradicting? hehe..) we'll also have another pair of shoes, i.e. the ones we wear when we admit to hospital...

lib, good idea to bring hp charger... else battery flat will be jia lat!

i'm intending to wear nursing bra... esp since our breasts will be larger, impt to have support. Also helps keep me warm ard chest area...hehe..

for bb, i packed:

2 sets of mittens n booties
1 set of going home wear
1 hooded blanket
1 infant cap