(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

cat_tail, u r welcome.

ero, ya, my mum & mil aso say must make d sauce in advance. but i decided not 2, no space 2 put in my fridge liao. hehe...

ting, ya me aso hv 2 buck up oledi. but no mood. in addition, my new colleagues kept asking me stuff. can't do any wk aso.

seabreeze, oic. then it's okie. u pop in once a while 2 chat wif us lor.

Hi vone, we went to watch Fantastic Four.. quite a nice show.. can consider watching.. actualli we wanted to watch The Island, but it is not scren yet.

Ero, no leh.. my mum hasn't cook and vinegar trotter yet..

Tingting, haha wat a small world rite, even Erowen & Christina also realise tat they are ex-schoolmates..

Hi Seabreeze,

we are considering too. I just received info from Stemcord...depending on how much your gynae charges for the collection during delivery, (mine is S$400), the first time payment is S$1150, followed by S$250/yr from 2nd year onwards. It uses the syringe method to collect. I have yet to go down to Cordlife though, but from the website, it says that it also allows syringe method (direct into the collection bag, so less contamination, i supposed),n it seems that the prices are pretty much competitive too. Apart from that, Cordlife is more established in the R&D.....so we are not sure which one to sign.....

aidanee ...

think the one that my gynae tie up with is stemcord ... its like buying insurance like that hor ... spend liao heartache ... dun spend dun feel secured like that ...

Seabreeze, ya lor...at least insurance got payout n can get money even if ..... this one is no guarantee. And if anything happens, also not 100% can help! that's y we are undecisive.

cat tail, ya i pretty surprised when she called to say she wanna come over and cook directly at my place. The smell very strong, but kekkeke i like it.
with a part-time cleaner, you will find yrself less stress over housework!

tingting, such a small world hor.

seabreeze and aidanee, for cordblood banking, we still considering, i heard we must decide before going into labour is it?
And another thing is, is stemcord the only place we store the cord blood now? I forgot what's the other organisation's name.

regarding stemcord...my gynae said something which made me hesistant about signing up. he said if we do need to use it one day, its not a good thing to happen, so pray that our bb will NEVER be in need of it...

that kinda toss me off my feet. im paying for something that i dun wish for it to happen?....hmmmm

we decided not to sign up for cord blood banking... reason being the uses for the types of stem cells that are being stored are mainly for blood disorders (as i recall), and both me n hb's family do not have family history of blood disorders. so the probability is pretty small.. though got to admit that the kiasi side of us have a nagging "what if" at the back of our minds, we decided eventually not to go ahead with it.

yah, erowen, small world indeed...hehe...

erowen, the other one is Cordlife. according to stemcord, it's best to decide at least 6 weeks to your due date.....so that prep can be made/arranged.

...so chris, how? you r not signing up, r u?

seabreeze, me also thinking abt it..
but stemcord area is still so new and so many research is still ongoing...
I'm thinking of forgo-ing it till the research is more mature.... maybe can wait till baby no 2... which is like a few more years to go...

erowen, ur mom so fast!!... hehe.. guess u will have lots of goodie stuff to eat during ur confinement!!... My MIL is still 'drying' the beansprout shells to make the pillow... haha..

Haha... erowen,
U really got "kou fu"! Already there are gd food standby before u deliver.

Well, I still feel a bit weird watching my part-time cleaner doing all my housework. Maybe I am always in action so suddenly nothing to do make me a little lost..keke

hmmm so many diff view ...

tingting ...

am in the same situation in you .. its the nagging feeling of 'what if' ... dun want to till then and regret not spending the money .... *headache*

hi vone,
thanks for your concern
i am definitely putting my baby girl as my 1st priority no matter what i'm doing now. Heard you going for MJ session with Angel, Chris and moulincat? Good luck! win more! hahaha...

hi erowen,
i am so swarmed with work...cos' boss wanted me to finish a project before i pop. So nice to have someone backing up while you go on ML, for me, i am still pending, so abit sian. In the meantime, working still and hope to complete my stuffs before popping. Guess what, people rushing home at peak hour simply don't care, even got people push u from the back if you walk too slow...
i am on half day leave tommorow to visit my gynae! happy happy...cos' can get to see my girl again!

hi lib,
are u staying at home waiting for "signal"? hehehe...make sure you take good care and don't forget to inform anyone of us if there's any good news! cheers!

reenie, gosh, that sounds horrible, be careful of yourself. Ya sometimes people dun care whether we are preggie or not, and recently i get very piss with people who cycle very fast on pedestrian pavement!! i so scared i will fall down.
as for the backup, my boss very scared not one to help her when i am not around, so she got a part timer to cover my duties, he or she will do basic admin work lor.

christina, what yr gynae said is quite true...hmm, i still cannot make up my mind though. It's like buying insurance, buying for something we do not hope to happen.

hoshi, seems like a lot of mummies here will be using the beansprout pillow...hmmm may i know what is it for?
Lib, i rem you also using right? Can we just buy from outside?

cat tail, usually when my part timer comes, i will catch up on my reading. =) but of course on off i will still take a look at what she does.

btw gals, just now i very careless, didn't check the expiry date of the packet drink. I took a few sip and realised it expired in March 05!!!! Arghhhh!!!!!

hi erowen, can't remember where u stay, but a kiddy shop at punggol plaza sells the beansprout case pillows... supposed to have a calming effect for the bb when u place it on his tummy... but dunno why have to use beansprout cases though...

Hi reenie,
Where u work? Your area sounds so dangerous & inconsiderate ppl. Pls be careful & try to walk at the side.

Hi erowen,
Lucky u din finish the whole packet. Drink more plain water to dilute it just in case.

Btw, Beansprout pillow is used to put on the new-born chest so that they will not get startle easily. My MIL is so KS that she made 2 pillows out of it!
Just in case noone can help you made one, I have lobang to buy online from this website:

http://www.studioij.com/b-huskpillow.htm

I'm back online! Was away on course last week and past 2 days busy catching up with work...Really miss the chatting.

Anyone planning to go on leave before you pop? I'm deliberating cos in process of filling up a form from HR on applying for maternity leave.

Hi ixwong,
Welcome back online. I am oso very free to chat cos my company audit is over!! Yoohoo...stress over!

I die die oso not goin to take any leave until the day my bb pop out. Must save it so I can maximise the time together with my gal.
So when u r going on leave?

cat tail ...

me started drinking coconut juice liao ... but scared too cooling so me eat abit of the flesh as well heehee ...

some ppl say start at 34 weeks or 36 weeks ... but my boss started drinking the moment she into 3rd tri ... anyway me have craving for it so just drink lor ...

cat tail, i have drank once during my 32th week, will be taking another coconut this week, but i didn't eat the flesh cos i heard it's heaty.
But cos drink straight from the coconut, so not cold, abit not very shiok for me.the hawker never put ice. =(

Like u, i also plan to work til i pop, cos i only left with 16 days leave, hope to bring forward to next year and use just my ML for this year.

tks for the link ya!!

ixwong, when u due? yr HR so fast need to fill in form liao?

tingting, i stay at hougang, will pop by to take a look next time i visit my gynae at sengkang.

Hi Seabreeze & erowen,
Till now I only try 2 coconuts. I even take the flesh, so tempting! Was wondering did I zero out the effect... cos juice is cooling & flesh is heaty. Did I do wrongly?

Sure no prob erowen. R u getting one pillow from them?

cat_tail, coconut flesh high in cholestrol leh... better not take too much... is coconut water taken only bcos it's cooling? if so, there's loads of alternatives, like barley water (use china barley to boil), chrysenthemum, etc...

Hi tingting,
I heard drinking coconut water before your due helps to smoothen the bb's complexion & reduce heat rash. I dun noe how true it is, but a lot of old folks & mums swear by it. So I follow blindly..kekeke..

Lib,
I saw this site before too, but just can't remember where it is.
Their pillow designs are so sweet & simple. Unlike my MIL ones, very flowery..

Oh well, time to knock off from my work. Chat with u tomolo~

hey gals,

how do you prevent the cot mattress from getting stained / wet? do u put something under or over the cot sheet? and what do u put? we're totally clueless! thanks!

morning!

musicgal, some of us will use nappies, while others will buy incontinence sheets (fr pharmacies / kiddy palace)..

hi tingting,

thanks! cos we intend to let baby wear those cloth nappies, now scared seepage will stain the mattress... will nappies be too thin?

do u put the nappies/incontinence sheets on top of the bedsheet or underneath ah? sorry for the dumb questions - we're seriously clueless! hehehe... thanks!

Hi Cat_tail: yes their design is nice bt quite fix lor.. the oni ting i like is u can customise yr bb's name on the pillow.. and their package deal is oso quite worth it as compared to studioij... i paid S$23 plus i tink for 1 pillow + 2 casings + free delivery

i just came back from my gynae checkup, its really a short one! i think go in and come out, less than 10mins? He didn't do a scan for me at week 34, just listen to baby's heartbeat and talking about the position. My girl is sleeping on my left hand side, head down
She probably will weigh around 3kg at birth, an estimate from my gynae.

cat_tail,
actually where i work is pretty ok, but its working crowd near the train station area...sigh.

erowen,
i think u can request to pour out the coconut water and add ice at hawker
i have not started drinking! Craving for it now...hehehe..my next fave drink is Sugar Cane.

Visited my gynae this morning. Everything is fine except that there r some traces of protein n glucose shown in the routine urine test. As i put on only 1 kg from last visit (3 weeks ago), gynae said likelihood the increase could be due to my milo intake this morning. will monitor in 2 weeks' time. if it maintains the same, that means i may need to go for GTT!!! Arrrgggg!!!!

At 32nd week, my total weight gain is 7kg. BB weighs at 2kg. Dr said it's normal size. Told me to rest more cos the bb's tummy is abit skinny. Head is still above average! So far, still on schedule- 11 Sep.

Aiyo, he even issued me an admission letter and ask me to do pre-registration. My heart was beating non-stopped then......

I will also be doing the swap for infection at 36th week. Forgot to ask if it is included in the package!

Ladies, anyone still taking bird's nest? should we stop now?

Good morn all MTBs,
So tired tis morn. Feel like resting at home & pig the whole day.

Hi musicgal,
I bot the waterproof mat (the bubble type one) to be placed on top of the mattress. If leak, can easily use the wipes to clean it & dispose away. Very lazy way.. :p

Hi Lib,
The price sounds quite reasonable & somemore got free delivery! Too bad, I have mine already, if not sure order one.

Ya reenie,
The working crowds always rush like nobody business. Just be careful with the crowds & siam them if possible. It's good to hear that yor bb is ready to engage since her head is down now.

Hi aidanee,
What is GTT? Bird's nest... hmmm... no money to eat liao after spending a bomb on bb's stuff. :z I think still can take lah, as long as in moderate share.

Halow ladies,

Can I join in? Hope not intruding... would luv to join in your chit chats...(^^)

I'm also Aug'05 MTB, EDD 18 Aug, 35->36wks, will be delivering my boi-boi at GlenE.

Hi Aidanee, I visited my gynae during my 34th wk, also did the swap, too bad got to pay separately, not in pkg. And me too still taking birdnest... my mum says finish after 2 more brews. will stop by then.

Hi Musicgal,

I bought the waterproof cotsheet. I KS, bought two types, the plastic bubble type, and the rubber bubble type..but i feel that it may be too hot for the baby leh..and the rubber type (typical blue/pink kind) very stinky..anyway, my confinement lady advised me to buy cloth nappies, to put on top of the bedsheet, under baby, instead. She said cloth nappy cooler, and easy to wash. So even if leak, will leak onto nappy and she can wash it easily for me.

Welcome Applejuz,
I have added you in the list.

<font size="-1">
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies To be</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>PoP On</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Wt </TD></TR><TR><TD>timie</TD><TD>1st Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cmy</TD><TD>1st Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>maltbibi</TD><TD>6th Aug</TD><TD>11th July
new.gif
</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>2.26kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lib</TD><TD>7th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Kylie Tan</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chemistry</TD><TD>9th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tingting</TD><TD>9th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>everafter</TD><TD>12th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>miso</TD><TD>16th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Applejuz</TD><TD>18th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummytobe</TD><TD>19th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tulip</TD><TD>19th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixwong</TD><TD>20th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>musicgal</TD><TD>20th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>hoshi5</TD><TD>23rd Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>GEH/MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cakey</TD><TD>23rd Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC/MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>erowen</TD><TD>25th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD>28th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>vone</TD><TD>28th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>reenie</TD><TD>29th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene_Ng</TD><TD>29th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cat_tail</TD><TD>30th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Edna</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anissa</TD><TD>3rd Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>angel</TD><TD>4th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snoopy73</TD><TD>4th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>triniti</TD><TD>6th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>aidanee</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>christina</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ilmare</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies</TD><TD>12th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Samantha</TD><TD>12th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ameliaa</TD><TD>13th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>seabreeze</TD><TD>13th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>snoopy</TD><TD>17th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinkcitron</TD><TD>18th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH/MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyful</TD><TD>22th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>coffeedrinker</TD><TD>23th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicnic</TD><TD>26th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eileenp</TD><TD>29th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

No prob Applejuz &amp; I am glad to update the pop on column whenever I am available (other than I pop).

It's a big thing for all of us who are waiting for this day to come!

Cat_ tail,
thanks for your effort to do the updating. I think it is a blood test to check on sugar level...and heard the whole process takes a few hours....cos they will make you drink glucose...can be quite torturing.....

i think i will stop taking bird's nest liao cos afraid bb will get phlegm...not sure true or not, but better be safe. I will switch to barley with gingko nut/beancurd skin.

Lib, thanks for your recommendation. I will order the bean bag too. Very sweet!

Btw, i have decided not to sign up for blood cord banking. will buy insurance instead. maybe will consider for the 2nd bb.

hi musicgal, me will be using the incontinence sheets, cos like u said, nappy is not waterproof... but have to see how serious is the leak.. usually we'll change the nappy/diaper before it gets soaked, and if it's bcos of poor diaper fit then it's better to change the brand of diaper or find more secure way of pinning the nappy...

hi cat_tail and mummytobe,

thanks for the tips! hehehe! i also have the bubble thing... but like mummytobe, i thot it might be too hot and stinky! i saw a mattress protector thing at either kiddy palace or something sometime back but it's like $30+... thot it'd be such a waste to buy it so baby can pee on it!

hi tingting,

so after the baby pees once, the nappy should still be able to absorb most of it? hmm... mebbe i really should use the nappies option first! thanks so much for the info!

ok 1 last qn, where did u gals get the cot sheets from? and what's the usual price range like? i haven't bought any bedding yet cos thot the person giving us the cot would pass some over! hehehe...

yah, there are several ways to fold nappies... choose the one that has more folds at the centre so that it can hold urine better... i think newborns pee often but not in large quantities, so for the time being it shld be able to hold in well...

i have the rubber sheet also, but will be using it to change diapers in the masterbed, not for bb to sleep on...

as 1st timers, we have to trial n error a lot to see what fits our bb...

i bought beddings from kiddy palace, robinsons, metro, etc... but find designs quite limited, unless u go for the more expensive range...

For bedding sets, have u seen the range from Aussino? I find them very sweet, but 1 set cost $69.90, quite ex though.... me bought the yellow ones...

hi tingting,
can chk wif u, since now u anytime may pop, did u put anything (cloth/protector) underneath when u sleep at night? in case waterbag burst/stains?
dunno when shld I start, coz will be very uncomfortable right?

hi applejuz, frankly speaking, bedding set designs are for us parents to see.. think bb won't have objections on the colour n designs...hehe.. just make sure they're soft n comfy.. maybe when they're older can get them new sets? since we'll be washing them regularly they shld wear out pretty fast...

i've not placed anything on the bedsheet to protect the mattress... never thought abt it... hehe... i think if u place bath towel it shld not be too uncomfortable...

Hi aidanee,
I see... so GTT is the Glucose Tolerance Test. Apparnetly my gynae say I dun need to test since I have no history of diabete from my direct family's members. I think need to draw 3 times of blood after drinking a cup of high sugar contents drink rite?

Hi musicgal,
Need to trial &amp; error for the leak. At least u have a rubber mat to standby.

Hi Applejuz,
Personally I find the Aussino bedsheets set are quite exp. Very sayang if only use for a few months so I got my MIL to tailor made it. Material I buy from Spotlight &amp; she provide free labour. Heehee... I very cheapoo one..

Hi Reenie,

How did your gynae know your baby's weight if he didn't do a scan for you? Thought he has to do a calculation base on the baby's size etc?

aidanee,

May I ask what a GTT is? And what it involves cos my hubby makes me milo every night since my gynae said my baby is too small at 32nd week at the last visit.