(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

erowen, i was quite vexed because when i bought the cot without bedding set offered, i actually went down to mothercare and spent more than $100 on bumper and bedsheets!! so i almost wanted to kill the sales staff at robinsons when they re-offered the bedding set deal. but i din scold them lah, just acted disappointed with their service, gave doe eye look then they cave in wahahah

miso, my bed bumper alone costs $70. bedsheets cost $60. bumper from mothercare is not so good, it only covers half the cot....

Hi Serene,

According to my gynae, the two most serious side effects of epidural are 1) Paralysis and 2) Massive/severe headaches. Paralysis will occur if while in the process of removing the syringe thingy inserted inside the back/spine, a tiny blood clot forms. Then the person will be paralysed waist down until they manage to remove the blood clot. For massive severe headaches, its if just one tiny drop of the epidural fluid drips into your spinal column when they remove the syringe thing. Just one tiny drop will cause massive headaches that are worse than migraine apparently.

Hi erowen,
Which part of seiyu J8 did you find the nursing bra? maybe i shall go take a look too

Hi Miso,
Sorry, me a bit blur but what is CTG?
I paid $298 for the baby cot from baby hyperstore.Comes with bumpers (its a 9 pcs bedding set - bumpers, bedsheet, pillow & pillow case, 2 small bolster and bolster case, and one blanket/quilt thingy) But i read in some books, they say better not to put bumpers, to reduce risk of suffocation. Dunno leh..

btw mummies, can i just check, for those who are intending to breastfeed, will you be breastfeeding at night too? ie. during confinement month when we are sooo tired, if baby wakes up and cries in the middle of the night 2 or 3 times to be fed, will you be waking up 2 to 3 times a night to BF the baby, or will you be expressing out your milk before hand, put in the fridge, and ask the confinement lady to warm up and bottle feed him/her when necessary, or will you ask the CL to formula/bottle feed at night? i was thinking of expressing and keeping on standby just in case i am too frustrated and tired to keep waking up in the middle of the night. But i think during the first month (confinement), we won't have so much BM to express out? dunno leh, blur on what to do..

Good morn all MTBs,
Trying to get a quick glimpse of the forum before my audit kicks in. Hope everything over by this week & I can relax to deliver.

Ok, here's the latest update:
<font size="-1">
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies To be</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>PoP On</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>timie</TD><TD>1st Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cmy</TD><TD>1st Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>maltbibi</TD><TD>6th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lib</TD><TD>7th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Kylie Tan</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chemistry</TD><TD>9th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tingting</TD><TD>9th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>everafter</TD><TD>12th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>miso</TD><TD>16th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummytobe</TD><TD>19th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tulip</TD><TD>19th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixwong</TD><TD>20th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>musicgal</TD><TD>20th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>hoshi5</TD><TD>23rd Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>GEH/MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cakey</TD><TD>23rd Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC/MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>erowen</TD><TD>25th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD>28th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>vone</TD><TD>28th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>reenie</TD><TD>29th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene_Ng</TD><TD>29th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cat_tail</TD><TD>30th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Edna</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anissa</TD><TD>3rd Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>angel</TD><TD>4th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snoopy73</TD><TD>4th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>triniti</TD><TD>6th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>aidanee</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>christina</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ilmare</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies</TD><TD>12th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Samantha</TD><TD>12th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ameliaa</TD><TD>13th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>seabreeze</TD><TD>13th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>snoopy</TD><TD>17th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinkcitron</TD><TD>18th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH/MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyful</TD><TD>22th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>coffeedrinker</TD><TD>23th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicnic</TD><TD>26th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eileenp</TD><TD>29th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

erowen, tks. will keep tat in mind.

chris, u shld tell him tat u r helping him 2 save $$.

cat_tail, u take care &amp; dun overwked okie.

hi erowen, yah, do check out the brand name.. maybe i go seiyu Bugis Jn later..hehe... they shld also sell the same right? then will check out whether the eternity brand mentioned by christina is also sold at JL compasspoint...

mummytobe, i'm intending to BF at night too... according to the prenatal class i attended, bottle feeding shld only be introduced when bb is 4 weeks old, otherwise higher chance of nipple confusion n bb won't suckle well cos bottle easier for him/her mah... so no choice but to work harder during first month... we can be feeding as frequently as 2 hrly! but the lactation consultant also said that at night, our milk is richer in fat content, so bb is fuller n doesn't wake up for feeds as frequently as day-time..phew! sometimes really marvel at how our body adapts...

really glad to have attended the classes... though i've also read up, but some things are better explained verbally, and i also found that some suggestions in the book are not that good.. e.g. cold compress e.g. cold cabbage for engorgement should only be used in severe cases bcos it can cause fall in milk supply. where possible, hot treatment e.g. warm towels should be used instead.

christina, you can la, cos your eyes big big, can give the dole-eye look. =)

but hey i very suan gu leh, i thot bumper only covers half? u mean there are those that covers til the top of the railings?
Mine half only and so half i only saw those in the shops. I am looking for another design, most probably a yellow coloured one. Mine is pink-coloured at the moment.

wah, u can really 'tong' in not buying maternity dresses! U know recently i did a calculation, so far i spent more than 1K on maternity dressing liao!!!

Mummytobe, just go to the lingerie section of seiyu and ask for nursing bra, original price is 9.90 but they having promo now, so it's 7.90. =))
for breasfeeding during confinement, i haven't really thot abt it...but most probably will try. Cos my mum is helping me with the meals and looking after baby, i will have a part time domestic helper who comes twice every week. So i think most of the time i will be sleeping and resting, so hopefully night feeding should be oki for me.

Btw gals, will you be bringing your breastpump to the hospital? Cos my hubby insist on bringing. But i was thinking, even if we bring, the bottles are not sterilise, unless the hospital can do it for us? anyone can advise?

Hi erowen, may I know how much ur PT domestic helper charges for cleaning the hse? I intend to source for one too to do some hsework during my ML.

hi erowen, think sterilisation of pumps is not a problem... it's a hospital leh...

re use of bumpers, i'm not getting one, cos bb may have poor ventilation, esp since they sleep sideways.

erowen, remember how the regular cot bumper goes around all 4 sides? those from mothercare only covers one width and 2 halves of the length, like a c shape...so the cot looks a bit naked

miso, mine charge the normal rate, $10 per hour. She's a free lancer. Let me know if you want her contact.

hmmm, tingting ya quite true, cos my mum was telling me that the bb will feel hot with the bumper but my colleague told me if dun have bumper, the baby will bump into wooden railing at times. That's what happen to her baby. hmmm...i think i will monitor the situation and see how it goes.

ohhh, christina, it's a C-shaped, but i think this should be pretty good. Cos if speaking of ventilation, at least the bb not so hot.
For pillow-wise, when i attended the class at TMC, Mrs Wong said can use the reusable clean diapers or some clean cloth as their pillow. She said newborns generally dun need lor.
But i still go ahead and bot a small oval shaped Piyo Piyo pillow with a dent in the centre. Just cannot resist buying!!

hello ladies.. today seem to be very active hor..

Reenie: got things to ask u, may know whr u buy the bean bag huh? and how much

erowen, if d bb is active, then of coz sure bump into d cot.

hehe... i aso saw d piyo piyo pillow. but hb said i veri bo liao so no need 2 buy.

erowen, thanks. guess what? i've not attended antenatal class yet. mrs wong fully booked and my 1st class will only start 14july. by the time it ends, it'll be 2 weeks before my edd. very risky

Hi erowen, hv u used her b4? What areas of cleaning up does she include each time?

I think btr to get a bumper cos otherwise bb's hands or legs might get caught in between the cot railings.

hehe christina, me too, will finish class 3 weeks b4 EDD... i bought pillows, but haven't decided whether to let bb use them yet.. they came as a set with bedsheet, n not expensive, so bought just in case i need them.

christina, dun worry, one advantage is you will remember what she taught you, cos it's still fresh in yr mind when you goes into labour. For me and my hubby, sad to say, we forgot some of the things she taught lor.

hi lib, how was yr weekend? can ask you, did you pack yr breastpump in yr hopistal bag?

vone, ya my hb and mum said i waste money, but i dun care, it's too cute for me to resist. =))

miso, she has been with me for almost a year, she comes every week for cleaning for me. She's from Philippines, so far i find her quite okie. She does everything, For my house, 3 and a half hours, she will do sweep/mop/wipe household items/clean window (different panel everytime, not all windows), wash 2 toilets and iron clothes.

hi miso, i tried out triniti's recommendation for domestic help last sat.. also at $10 per hour. i had her clean all my windows (u know how tedious it is to clean windows of punggol flats!), clean floor (using my iecologi), wipe furniture, wash both toilets n change bedsheet for master bedroom. In all, she took abt 5 hrs 15 min.. am quite happy with her standard.. If u want her contact, i can pass to you...

i haven't decided whether to engage her on regular basis, cos still weighing the $$ factor.. and bcos she stays quite far away from punggol, she wants a commitment of 4hrs each visit.

Ero, yes weekend was great.. Went to Moms in mind &amp; j8 wif reenie and finally can close my shopping list liao..

i didn't pack my breast pump into my bag, cos it is not advisable to pump for the 1st few days.. will try hard to get bb to latch on loh.. and worse come worse, will rent the ones from hospital..

tingting, can u pass me the contacts? my email addy is [email protected]

i'm currently using a cleaning agency called Spick and Span, supposed to be professional but turns out that the aunty is just your usual cleaner which we can employ for 10per hour. the current contract costs me $200 per month, 3hours weekly. And she's so full of complaints. firstly she said my house is too big compared to those in sengkang and punggol (same square area for 5 room lah), then she said that we have a lot of things in the house. (duh, my house, zen concept, very open and apart from some big furniture like the arco lamp and a big marble table, theres hardly anything to clean, dun even have tv in the living room!)

then her manager called me yesterday and told me that she has requested to be permanently posted to my house...despite the many many complaints. my hb said that im too easy thats y. 2nd visit already stepping all over me!

oh man christina she's too much! i will certainly tell her off!! Do you really want her? Is she very clean?
my 5 room flat is pretty big as i bot resale, the area is abt 140. But so far my cleaner never complain, maybe she knows i those easily piss off one.
have you confirm with the manager you want her?

Can you break the contract? Cos i find yrs not very cheap leh...but i did heard of spick and Span. I thot they are quite good.

wah tingting, yr cleaner very on leh, she can clean ALL windows! wow! for mine i ask her to rotate, wait i scared she no energy to do other things liao.

lib, hmmm, does TMC rent out breastpump? so we only need to bring our milk bottles?
me saw some nightgown at kovan, but a bit kiddish type, i think pretty limited. But i no mood to shop around liao, so will most probably just grab a few. You bot those dress type or top/bottom ones?

lib, great 2 hear tat u can close ur shopping list liao. hopefully i can do complete mine latest by nxt wk.

chris, then in ur case, it wld b better if u hire those aunties 2 clean ur plc. tink it wld b cheaper 2.

Wow, lots to catch up on the thread after being mia for a while. I was down with food poisoning and was in bad pain last monday. Tuesday to Friday was suffering from bloatedness or gastric feeling. Hopefully will be much better this week.

reenie - looks like you are getting more shopping done!

I haven't even bought my nursing bras yet......looks like I have to get my butt moving and not procrastinate any more. But do feel more easily tired after last week's episode, not sure if it's due to the food poisoning and after-effects of it or not...

Lib - do let me know when you deliver too!

btw, remembered that there was a recommendation by some of the MTBs on the type of disposable panties that are comfy and doesn't irritate the skin too much, anyone recall? cos my skin is very sensitive and if the disposable panties are not comfy, I'll break out into rashes!

christina, will send you in a short while..

hehe erowen.. i did tell her that i'm more into spring cleaning that day lor.. she did not manage to clean my kitchen n iron clothes though... i also dun have the heart to ask her to continue with the kitchen cos she dowan to take a break in between n v cruel to make her continue some more..
think if engaging on regular basis will only ask her to clean windows once a month...

v tempted to engage her... cos v shiok not to do housework during weekends..hehe...

hi erowen, my 5rm flat is new, so its not too big, i dunno about the square area though. i just remembered her last complaint, that she has to wait too long for the shuttle bus to come to my place. i would rate her average. the last straw came when i told her to clean some bird shit off the window ledge, she only did a surface wipe. in the end i had to scrap it off myself. then i found out that she uses the same rag to wipe my cooker and hob. very very unhygenic!!!! that coming from spick and span is a major disappointment, so i'm terminating the contract next month and hiring a regular aunty instead...

vone, i think much better oso. thought cleaning agency reliable, in the end its just another marketing gimmick =(

ting, ya lor. not doing hsewk is so shiok. u jus note wat u wan her 2 do &amp; 'inform' her.

chris, i tink it depends on d co. some agencies r veri professional, eg. those tat appear on tv b4 (can't remember d name offhand though). however, if i remembered correctly, they r more exp.

hi nicnic, er....you can see meh? how to shave? my tummy so big now, blocking everything.
But from what i heard, the nurses or midwives will shave for you.

christina, omigosh, that's horrible! ya, i support your decision to terminate the contract, you can also feedback your unhappiness to them for improvement.

tingting, ya lor, i very lazy to do housework and hubby always do half heartened ones, since he willing to engage, so i lagi more happy.

snoopy, long time no see..what happened to you? are you okie? Pls take gd care of yourself. How are things with you now? Have you bought most of yr baby items?
Right now seiyu got promo on nursing bra.

btw seabreeze, the brand of my nursing bra is eternity. very comfy

ladies ...

when is a good time to buy nursing bar? the last time i ask the lady she said that buy 1 month before due ... so its abt 36 weeks isit?

erowen, coz i heard fm some ppl that we gotta shave during e delivery cos easier for e gynae to do e stitching.so i oso nt sure if they really will do that.

Hi snoopy, r u alrite? u got to take care hor..

Vone: yar after dragging for so many weeks finally decided to buy the basic nursing bra from mim.. so now i can realli sit back and relax and wait for my labour liao..

Ero: i noe TMC do provide rental of breast pump.. but dun tink it is advisable to pump during yr 1st few days loh.. they will encourage u to latch yr bb..

hi nicnic, shaving is not compulsory, depending on your gynae. if needed, they will do it for you.

i've surfed the amah on wheels website, but their description of duties sound so nitty gritty that it sounds like they'll charge u extra for ironing one more piece of clothing... anyway, price-wise, free lancers are still cheaper...

think will go down to seiyu today to get the bras... better dun procrastinate cos i'm into my 36 weeks this week! *nervous*

hi nicnic, think better leave it to the nurses or midwives to shave for you.

hi Lib, ya i also underst important for baby to latch on, but i saw from other threads , those mummies who deliver, some of them seem to have problem for baby to latch on and they pump out the milk instead to prevent themselves from getting stress out. Ideally, i really hope for my bb gal to latch on too but dun know how it will turn out lor....

seabreeze think you can buy now....i bot 2 in my second tri and just bot another 2 over weekend.

ladies, i was just cutting the price tags off the bb clothes and was wondering if we should cut off the fabric (brand) tag stitched to the back too? dunno whether it'll scratch bb's skin...what's ur opinion?

ero.. see how it goes loh.. if worse come worse can ask yr hb to go home take for u..

christina, normally pple will remove the brand tag cos bb mite not be comfortable. i didn't remove all the tags..

Hi Christina,

I was wondering the same thing. But i dunno whether cut off will make it even worse or not..i was contemplating taking out the stitches ie. take out the whole label but most of them is only single stitching, might damage the clothing..sigh

btw, mummies, do we have to remove nail polish before we go into the delivery ward?

tingting and lib, i c...will cut off the labels for newborn clothes then. thanks!

mummytobe, i dont think i'll take out the stitches, too much work! and i'll have to hem the ends back...=P

mummytobe, might be a good idea to remove nail polish cuz we'll be handling newborns and they may b sensitive to the smell of acrylic...i'm keeping my nails short and unpainted

mummytobe ...

think need to remove ... cos if they wan to monitor our heart or oxygen level ... they will clip something on our finger ... if coated with nail polish they cannot detect the reading one ...

Hi tingting
I am glad you are pleased with the P/T cleaner service. The good thing about her is that she dun skive and pretend to clean. She will do a good job. I think it is important to find a hardworking p/t cleaner. I have at least 8 MTB asking for her contact so if you really want her on a regular basis, you must book her fast
4 hours is a good time to do everything you want her to do including cleaning the whole house ( including kitchen) and ironing.

Snoopy,
do take care of yourself ok? hug hug....
i just managed to get the nursing bra, one thing off my mind now
take your time, u can visit moms in mind, if you looking for nursing bra. As for disposable panties, frankly speaking, i needn't get much, just a pack, cos' i am not use to wearing it, so intend to wear my normal panties.

Lib,
u like the beanbag? heheheeh...pass u the contact over sms oreldi..sorry today abit busy to come into forum and handphone is away from me...sorry sorry...

Erowen,
think no need to bring breastpump to hospital, baby will be latching on directly
If u need, think hospital has the supply. But most of my friends advise, not to use breastpump till the flow is establish, so i will be doing direct latch on in the meantime.

Chris,
understand your fustration over the bedsheet incident, actually mine is free with the cot from kiddy palace, need to get another set now...i'm not sure bumper got cover half the cot, mine seems like a full one???
For maternity wear, at first i got from Perfect Mum, especially those pants and a few tops, then later i got from push carts, those free size tops,cost me less than $20 each, i find its a good bargain cos' after birth also can wear
Maybe u can go shop around and see see...nowadays alot of girls not pregnant also wear loose loose clothings...heheheehe....

hi triniti, i know... think u've given her a lot of business..
we have to think it through, maybe bcos spent so much on aircon/cleaning/etc last weekend that we sort of developed phobia of spending more $$ now... :p if i need her help during ML period then time will be more flexible...

Hi all MTBs,
What a day, now can relax a bit until tomolo my audit kicks in again.

Thanks vone for your care. *hug hug*

Hi mummytobe,
Seabreeze is right. U need to remove the nail polish becos it obstruct the med equipment, call Pulse Oximeter, from monitoring your saturated O2 level &amp; pulse rate. It makes use of a kind of red light emitted from the finger probe to pass thru yor finger nail. So nail polish will block this light from going thru.... blah blah...Hope I dun bore u with the theory...kekeke.

hi tingting,
Its ok, take your time
Don't stress yourself over housechores cos right now your health and the baby's overall wellness are the most important