(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

ting ting ...

I bought 2 sleeveless one and 2 with sleeve from those shop that sells very cheap stuff ... 2 for $10 ... batik type of material with zip in front ...

think the length of the zip is sufficient for me to 'flaunt' my breast for BF ... heehee

there is one outlet at little india and i think i saw one at AMK oso ...

if not you can try at mothercare, JL, Robinson ... should have oso ...

tingting, really ah?? i still wearing underwired bras leh. but they r kinda of getting a bit uncomfortable, so i m tinking of getting a few maternity bras. as 4 nursing bras, read somewhr tat we can start buying in our 30th wk.

reenie, u take care. dun overexert urself by shopping 2 much okie.
tink if we bf, we wld prob need nursing bras, breast pads, breast pump, etc?? 2 b honest, i hvn't start shopping yet. reading d posts abt wat u gals hv bought kinda of make me panic.

lib, my gynae told me tat we wld start 2 feel breathless as our uterus moves up towards our diaphragm in our 3rd tri. so he told me 2 take it easy. if u feel breathless, got cold sweat & feel giddy, then quickly sit down & rest.

hoshi ...

dunno good anot oso ... think if you are going for manual the recommended one is avent ... electric is medela ...

have heard good review for ameda oso ... think i will check with my fren cos she used the ameda one too ...

saw the nursing bra at MIM ... oso like quite good ler ...

you still thinking which hosp to go ar ... headache for you hor ...

hoshi ...

the avent manual pump selling at $59 at kiddy palace now ... think its one of the cheapest that we can find so far ....

Hoshi,
why don't you go for maternity tours at the few hospitals? I was undecided until I visited both TMC and Mt A. Now decided on TMC liao. Only thing is have not decided whether shd go for 2-bedded or 1-bedded.

ixwong ...

hows the 2 bedder at Mt A? My fren say that the 2 beds are very near each other ... no privacy ... isit true?

me oso thinking of 2 bedder or 1 bedder ... the $$ diff quite big ler ....

anyway i got no problem with either MAH or TMC.. juz tat my gynae is from tmc, so no hassle loh.. And also whether 2bedded or 4bedded, i oso got no preference, ultimately oni be staying 2 to 3 days.. so decided on 4 bedded.

Great, glad to hear that i'm still normal haha.. cos i'm not the oni one experiencing..

The 2-bedder at Mt A is slightly more spacious than TMC, but still tight. I remember some of their wings have been renovated and have nicer bathrooms. You shd try to ask for those.

I also have the same concern about 2-bedder, heard that whether the stay is nice depends on your neighbour. If your neighbour has a lot of guests, then it would be noisy. One thing to note is that the bb is allowed to room in in 2-bedder at Mt A (but only 1-bedded in TMC). So you must be mentally prepared for midnight crying from 2 babies (yours and neigbour's).

I'm more inclined towards 1-bedded at TMC cos big plus pt is hubby and bb can room in with me. The cost difference is quite big indeed, about $700 in cash if natural delivery.....but then was thinking, we don't give birth that often, do we?

ixwong ...

think i may be the one causing the nosie ar ... hahahaha ... cos quite sure that parents and in-law will come visit and they quite noisy one lor heehee ...

better discuss with my hubby ... scali he doesn't wan stay over then no point lor ...

u mean for one-bedder? our bb will sleep with us at night?

ixwong, i saw the 2 bedder at TMC, quite cosy and okie, but when i was there, all the 2 bedder rooms were full with the mummies's visitors, got balloons and lotsa of laughter.

lib, i sent back the acknowledge letter but no reply yet from TMC. will see how it goes.
Dun know leh, i scared very crowded at the fair and my tummy kena squashed!! That's how i felt at times in crowded places. So u going ah? Christina said she most probably gg lor.
Did yr gynae said anything yr abt breathing problem?

seabreeze will your colleagues or friends be visiting you at the hospital? if yes, then your room will really be very packed.

hi galz,

for wat i know TMC 1 bedded, hubby/mom/mil gotta pay 70bucks pernite n bb can stay wit u...as for 2 bedded, no sibling no bb stay over with u...so i booked the 1 bedded..but do not know the cost diff is 700 bucks. tatz a huge different.

erowen ...

dunno ler ... cos Mt A abit far from my office ... this type of thing is xin yi one right heehee ... but from exp they do visit lor ...

frens quite likely lar ... so was thinking if too pack then oso quite diff to have family n frens squeeze in the 2 bedder ones ...

the price diff in Mt A is abt $900 ler ...

Hi Reenie,

NB diapers usually is 0-5kg...

Isetan having promotion on Nepia now (until june 7th). They carry newborn size (in addition to the other sizes), which most places do not. I bought a packet of Nepia NB (60 pieces) for $18.50. If you have the isetan card, additional 3% off

my sister-in-law uses the Medela electric breast pump. She complains that it is very noisy..just thought you might like to know lah

Hi Lib,
How does the admission letter look like? i also booked with TMC several months ago through my gynae. They sent me a pre-registration form which i filled in and sent back. Am i supposed to receive an admission letter after that? or was the letter they initially sent me accompanying the pre-reg form the admission letter? *blur*

Hi Ix,

You mean for the 1-bedded for TMC must pay in cash? this $700 you are talking about..is it the difference in total for 2night stay or one night stay?

hi vone, me too... but think i will start "preparing" for bfeeding soon.. like massaging n applying gel to soften the nipples... as for nursing bras, still looking around...

seabreeze, i went robinsons but their design is really not nice n expensive some more! mothercare is also not cheap. i just want a normal short sleeve button shirt with solid colour... so difficult to find... won't even mind those jailbird designs. maybe should check out chinatown one day... was thinking of buying those male PJ sets, but quite wasted to throw away the pants...haha... prefer buttons cos think will not be as hard as zips?

i wld actually prefer a single bed room. other than having privacy n bb rooming in with me, i'm a bit particular about sharing bathrooms... even with my hb i need to use the bathroom first, cos i cannot stand walking into a wet bathroom. my feet just feels yucky... n knowing some other stranger is using the same bathroom n bleeding as much as u, it's just quite yucky... also, can be a bit embarrasing to have pple walking in n out when u are learning to breastfeed, even though curtains may be drawn...

tingting ...

then you can check out those neighbourhood shop ... some small shops that sell the bra and panties do sell PJ ... saw some when I was shopping at toa payoh yest ....

hello, long time din log in..wah, so many postings. me oso trying to buy all the stuff now dat GSS has started. anyone has any idea wat items will the motherhood fair be selling?? quite far away leh.. can i ask where to get the breast pads & wat brand is good? have u ladies started getting the nursing bras too? any recommendations??

i booked tmc 1-bedded cos i tink i can't sleep well if there's too much noise, oso wan my hb/bb to stay over in the room leh..
ixwong, the $700 diff u mentioned is hosp stay + delivery charge rite?
for the admission letter, our gynae will issue nearer our EDD rite?

hi tingting, u talkin abt pyjamas with front opening? i bought one at taka sale previously, those dress slightly below knee cap type, material veri soft, cost me abt $12. design is not fantastic, but the buttons open to below chest area which is suitable for bf. i tink they sell at OG too, if i rem correctly the brand is karmy (duno spellin correct or not) something like dat..

lib, i'm okay now. but new problems keep coming up each day...all the 3rd trimester symptoms coming on.

i went for lunch with hubby and he dropped me off at paragon. very gung ho me, i wanted to walk to centrepoint robinsons after i'm done with metro....by 1 hour i'm COMPLETELY exhausted!!!! so now i'm home, i didnt survive orchard road *sob*

btw, have you mummies bought your baby monitor yet? i'm quite confused over what type to buy. I'm looking for a two-way baby monitor (you can hear baby, and baby can hear you also ie. can speak through your monitor). I think Phillips has one..not sure if any other brand has? any good one to recommend?

tingting, im still wearing underwired, maternity bras usually come without padding so i find those too obscene to go out in...

i agree with ixwong, scared non-wired maternity bra cannot provide enough support leh...

hi seabreeze, timie, thanks! will check out those places u gals mentioned!

christina, was thinking maybe can put the nursing pads for the padding? hehe...

tingting, that was exactly what the underwear salesgal said to me =)

but im thinking of getting maternity bra soon...the underwires pinching into my fats and its getting painful to wear

Erowen,
for 1-bedded, you can choose to have bb room-in with you, even at night.

Agree the 2-bedded is also quite cosy. Only thing is there is not much space to accomodate guests. At most can seat 1-2 person, the rest must stand near the shelving.....

Mummytobe,
We can deduct Medisave for portion of the bill, the rest must pay in cash. I suppose credit card is also acceptable.

I've went for my 25th week check up today, everything's ok except that I've gotta do the Glucose test

Really glad to read on all your comments about your pregnancy, I've not bought anything yet so far though.... happy gestation !!!

For all MTBs that are going to the motherhood fair (Jun1-5) in expo, if possible, do try to go on Wed as my sis was saying that the IT fair is on at the expo too on Jun2-5. So can imagine that expo will be a really crowded place.

Christina, glad to see that you are better and can go shopping!

Hm....seems that all MTBs are out-growing their usual bras. But I am still able to wear my usual bras, just need to put the hook and eye at the the last hook. Am I abnormal? Will this affect whether I have enough milk for baby?

Any MTB have bought a car seat for their babies? Any recommanded brand on which car seat is good?

Lib, do take good care of yourself, now that you are getting breathless and giddy.

mummytobe, tomy brand is quite good too for baby monitor. But sales assistance mentioned that philips is better than tomy brand. Not sure about that though as my bil & sil have used tomy previously without much problems.

Mummytobe,
your baby is sleeping in different room with you? if not, you actually don't need a baby monitor.

Thanks, snoopy. Will try to go on 1 June.

Christina,
I had the same issue with my underwired also. Despite the bra extension, the wire were cutting into my flesh. Guess the positioning of the cups were off. So last weekend, I bought some cheap bras from JL sales (Eternity brand) at $10 each to tie me over (after the $5 cut-out coupon, 2 bras only cost $15). Agree that there is no point buying the expensive ones since only 2-3 months left.

hi erowen,
me too, sleep around 11 plus, then wake up at 4am, cannot sleep anymore!!! then at 6.30am finally got up and get ready for breakfast....what a day....i am so exhausted now.

hi lib,
i also cannot stand weird smell, i tried to hold my breathe for a minute in the lift because of the strong detergent/insecticide smell, then after walking out of the lift, i broke out in cold sweat and feel giddy!

hi seabreeze,
looks like u did quite a bit of shopping!! i will be getting PJ also...but haven't started my shopping.

hi vone,
don't panic, u are not the only one...i haven't buy all the essential items too....hahahaa

Been a loooong time since I last wrote something here
Life has been 'hell' in the office.

Btw, just wanna check something ... my mum was telling me that it's not advisable to rely solely on disposable diapers cos newborns usually have very sensitive skin and cloth diapers will be better. Any truth in that? I was actually thinking of using disposable diapers only. Can't imagine all the washing

Went to my gynae last Sat and confirmed that what I got is called 'skin tag'. The conditions seem to have worsen *SIGH* My neck also has this dark ring around this. Very sian now. My gynae said for some mothers, they have dark patches on their face so I am not consider bad liao.

Anyway, I have put on 4 kg in 3 weeks! Must be due to all the durians I consume. Hahaha ... I am now at 56 kg and my baby is almost 800g at 26 weeks. One funny thing I noted, for my past 3 visits which spread over 1 1/2 mth, my little boy has been head facing down. He seems to like the position very much. My gynae said that's good cos he shld be in that position for smooth delivery. My worry is, he is spending so much time in this position now dunno if he will change position when it comes time for him to make his entrance to the world. Hahaha ...

Ok, 9 pm already, time to pack up and leave the office now. Baby feeling hungry already. Ciao!

Moms-in-mind carries nursing bras in hard-cup.
abt $30 per pc... i've been using 1 for months now.. very good. No wires.
Will buy 1 or 2 more when my boobs stop growing!!

hi anissa, cloth diapers are supposed to be more permeable n with better ventilation. Also, bcos bb feel the wetness more easily, u'll change the diapers more frequently. this helps prevent diaper rash. If you're using disposables solely, u should change the diapers frequently too, and not wait till it's holding the "max" allowable, cos by then bb's butt will be in contact with wetness for too long. It's pretty expensive to keep throwing away diapers... if per piece is $0.20 (and we're not talking about pampers brand here) each day u'll use about $2. That's $60 per month. Washing shouldn't be that difficult cos u can pre-soak them in a pail until u're ready to wash, and can dump into the washing machine. U may want to try it out first. Afterall, if u're not using them eventually, the cloth can still be used to line the bed or wrap the bb

hi hoshi,
the Capella stroller you bought is at where?
my hubby saw one at Kiddy palace which is also selling at $249, pastel yellow, but he couldn't remember the brand :p

Hi reenie,
We bought it at Kids Mall. Yes, retail price is $249, after discount it's abt $199. Now only IMM has stock for the yellow - Sparkle Premier Air capella stroller.

anissa, ting2 is right. Tat's why we are intending to use cloth diapers during daytime and disposables at night only....

hi anissa, did the gynae tell u that skin tags will go away after pregnancy? hang on there, as long as our bb is healthy k...i'm also hoping that my pimples will go away soon.

Confused, how are u? we all miss u here...

hi confused, how r u getting on these days?? hv chat wif u 4 a while oledi.

ameliaa, dun worry abt d glucose test okie. just take it easy.

snoopy, tks 4 d info. will try 2 go on 1 jun.
dun worry abt ur milk supply. it'll regulate itself according 2 ur bb's needs. so envious tat u can still wear ur existing bras. i had 2 change mine when i was abt 5 mths. cannot fit in oledi.

ixwong, me aso bought some cheap bras 2 wear. dun c d pt of buying expensive 1s since i m oni wearing them 4 a few mths.

reenie, u take care. try 2 sleep early 2nite so tat u dun feel so tired.

anissa, wat happened?? r things okie in ofc 4 u?? as 4 diapers, i planned 2 use cloth 1s. works out 2 b cheaper than disposables. dun worry abt ur skin tags & pigmentation. they wld go away after u give birth. jus dun peel them & left marks okie. hehe... ur boy is so contented 2 b lying in d same position. mine always changes positions whenever he feels like it.

hi hoshi and ixwong,
What's the appr weight of the stroller you bought?

ixwong, may I know which model you bought? btw. i'm also considering btw. Mt.A and TMC and will be gg to Mt.A hospital tour soon.. so want to check with you why you've choosen TMC in the end? For me the free upgrade from 4 to 2-bedded in TMC from our gynae is attractive..

hello christina n vone

i'm still on mc. Very bored at home (eat n sleep everyday n soon going to become a pig liao)

Wow! time flies hor, u gals going to deliver in 2-3 mths times

anissa ...

me oso got dark rings on my neck now ... you are not alone k ... think my beautician will have to do alot of damage control after I deliver ....

very tired now .... feeling like zzzing

Cakey,
will go home and check the model of the stroller.

I choose TMC cos find the atmosphere there more cosy than Mt A. Mt A is more hospital-like, esp the delivery suite. Very spacious but a bit cold.

Initially was concerned about TMC parking situation but now think it's manageable since they got valet to help with car-parking.

Ero, mummy2b: tat time i oni received a form together wif some tmc brochure, and oni filled in and signed and send back the form. Think maybe i will give them a call to check nearer to the due date. But i only remembered seeing to bring along me & HB's NRIC upon admission only, filling up the form is only to better facilate the procedures.

I didn't ask/call my gynae on the breathing problems anyway will be seeing him next week, so see how it goes loh.. has checked wif some of my friends leh, they said they oso experiencing this during their 3rd tri.. so is pretty normal.

Will be going to the fair tomolo, agreed wif snoopy this weekend is oso the start of pc fair.. sure will crowded ones.. so ladies if possible avoid weekend crowd. Snoopy i'm still wearing my normal underwired bras, oni bought the extension from Metro.. will oni be getting the nursing bra nearer to due date.

*Snoopy, can recommend u the pierre cardin carseat selling only in John Little Orchard..

Hi Timie, my friends have recommended Pigeon washable nursing pad. For me, I have bought the tollyjoy disposable for my confinement period use. but will be getting the pigeon washable.

christina glad to hear that u're fine liao.. now that we're in 3rd tri not as energised to shop as before.. Remembered i can shop for almost 5-6hours previously w/o resting, now can't liao..

Hi Confused, long time no see.. dun always eat, sleep hor.. if possible log in as often as possible to chat wif us lar.. take care!

Lib ...

share with us if there are good lobang at the fair ... me quite lazy to go down unless there are really fantastic offers .... am a lazy preg woman heehee

Hi ladies....good day to everyone : ) Saw some postings regarding massaging breasts to get ready for breastfeeding. Just to share some info here, the instructor at my ante-natal class actually told us not to massage our breasts before delivery becoz it will send incorrect signals to our brain to simulate milk flow, which in return will also induce early contractions. So its only advisable to start the massage after we had delivered. Have further checked with my gynae and he told me the same thing. So mummies, do take note.

Can I chk something with you all? How many days leave does your hubby plan to take when you all delivered? I was quite upset when my husband told me he only plan to take 2 days and then leave me on my own. I feel that he shd at least take a week or two to stay with me. Even if he doesn't knw anything abt taking care of newborn, I would feel good just to have him at home. Am I being unreasonable? In fact I feel he is really relax abt the whole pregnancy thing, and I end up being the only one taking care of all the shopping and planning. A bit upset...

hi kathy, do not feel so sad... thinking back, did he also leave everything to you for your wedding preparations? My hb also leave me to do up the list of things to buy n prices in different outlets, bcos he knows that i'm more diligent n apt at it, and even if he does it i'll be asking 1001 questions that he cannot answer. Encourage him to attend ante-natal classes with you at least, so there's some involvement... not every guy can take such long leave. My hb is fortunate cos his particular job allows him to take extended leave, so he'll be my "confinement nanny", but i know friends who can only take 2-3 days n have to go back work after that. He may be the inwardly nervous kind n tries to be calm by acting cool... my hb is also not the mother hen style who fusses about me, n sometimes it makes me feel that he doesn't care as much, but that's just his style... talk to him n maybe u'll be able to look at things from his perspective...