(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi tingting,
Vios is a good car too. If you think this is too common, can "zheng" with some sticker or car kit..kekeke.. make it your personal style~

Changing 15 diapers per day is really a lot! Wah, now I dun noe whether to use cloth for the day too cos can really save a lot! Still got months to weigh between cost or trouble.

Ting2, pls be careful. I think all of us are getting more clumsier when the front weights increased. I also almost slip on a wet floor & lucky hubby was quick to catch me behind. He was scared to death & I can still give a cheeky smile..heehee

Hi ladies, me at home now.. v. shacked ha..not easy being preggie and taking care of a 2 yo. haha.. anyway, must hv been my hormones acting up again, I flare up easily at ds! felt so bad..

Hi Becky, me intend to get the Warming Shampoo and Warming Bath from Little Dreamers. As for nursing bra.. get it only after you have delivered.. most can be bot online.. so no need to worry. Cos u dunno how engorge or big ur breast will get till the milk comes in. So dun waste money on any yet..in case get wrong size.

Hi ting ting, if u hv a tight budget on cars.. then maybe it's a good idea to just settle for a korean car. They hv great deals recently. We chked out the Tucson cos we intend to 'downgrade' and trade in our Honda Fit. A lot of ppl will snigger at us if we do so of cos haha.. but anyway, thing is not 'face' but money! trying to cut costs la. As for korean cars using more petrol.. depends on how u drive too.. of cos if u keep accelerating then u will use more petrol lor.. same goes with other cars..

cat_tail,

Wah ... you very fierce leh. I'll feel shy to pull her aside to 'scold' her but I was really angry that day cos I fell and hurt my knee. And what if her push caused me to 'push' those in front of me? Then all of us will go tumbling down the escalater!

Hi anissa, just to ease ur mind. I sometimes hv a sarawak pineapple after lunch...and other fruits too.. those taboo ones..I also take.

yah, guess it won't hurt to get a "common" model.. afterall it's more important to suit our needs..

now my foot feels bruised, though haven't detected obvious swelling... that was my weak ankle, cos sprained it during school days n i usually tend to "twist" it while walking.. turning my sole facing inwards... today was really clumsy.. my colleagues had a scare too... will go home to put oilment n see if it gets better tomorrow.. else better get mc to rest at home.. my walking speed is now halved, n will prob take ages to get to work!

washing may be tedious, but my dad says it's easy to rinse diapers cos they are not smelly.. so long as you soak them before washing, they will come clean easily n we also now have washing machines... but remember not to wash in warm water, cos it will encourage stains to remain on cloth... wash in cold/normal tap water.. what i intend to do (or for my hb to do hehe..) is to just throw used cloth into a pail of water with mild bb washing detergent, then put in machine to wash with other bb clothes... i think can manage one wash every other day...

hi cat_tail,
the "Waist-band" is to protect the belly button, its very vulnerable and also protect it from "wind", some baby tends to kick off blanket or pull up their t-shirt.
heheeh...u can check the 2 places out, my friend recommend me to go kiddy palace.

hi annisa,
how many weeks are u in now? i think pineapple rice won't really cause much harm, unless u eating fresh pineapple. I have a craving for pineapple rice too and had that with my hubby. My gynae says as long as not "overeaten", even fresh pineapple is fine
Eat everything in moderation.....and also depending on your health condition, some ladies might be more weak during pregnancy.

Don't worry too much, perhaps its just the oil or fried pineapple rice that causes the discomfort. Drink hot tea or warm drinks.

tingting.. i wont advise u to wash nappy cloths with other bb clothings as well.. best is to wash it separately. Cos nappy cloths are usuall stained / soiled with urine or poo.. so not v. good to mix it. JMO.

hoshi ...

yap what waist band for the baby hur? Where to buy from?

haven't discuss with my mum on number and quality of the cloth diapers yet ... but she prefers the cloth one as more comfy for the baby .... anyway she the one taking care when I go to work ... so I will let her decide ... i just pay =p

anissa ...

I had pineapple rice last month oso ... think once in a while its okie ...

I am more afraid of running kids ... esp when they play ar ... aiyo ... run without looking ... somemore usually very rough play ... if bang into me ... dunno to scold or what ....

tingting ... think altis is quite roomy too ... thats what my fren says ...

Hi miso,

Thnks for ur assurance. It's good to hear =) The more the gynae told me I can't eat pineapple, the more urge I seem to have. It's like the forbidden fruit to me now. *LOL*

How abt lamb chop?? Does any preggie mummies here take that? Elderly ppls say when pregnant cannot eat lamb. Just wonder how true it is.

hi anissa,
frankly speaking, i did not eat lamb nor eat anything to do with goat, such as goat's milk or cheese. Even before pregnant, i am not a fan of lamb =P But i do take beef and pork, cos' red meat is good, of course lotsa chicken and some fish...i am quite afriad of fishy smell till now.

anissa ...

think the old myth was that take too much lamp will cause 'Yang Dian Fong - fits' that why ppl dun take during preg ... but its of no scientific finding i feel ...

look at the ang mo ... they eat almost anything oso ...

Seabreeze,
i have very long naps over weekends, basically Saturday after my breakfast, i took an 3 hours nap..till noon time. Then Sunday again, another near 4 hours of sleep after breakfast! =P

i felt extremely tired over weekends....and can sleep very well after breakfast or lunch.

Like wat reenie says, it's to protect the baby's bellybutton. Coz it's still like an "open" wound that is vulnerable to "wind" and infection. So, the waistband will be used to wrap round the whole tummy, protecting the bellybutton.

Think older generation prefer cloth diapers.... but at night too troublesome, so better buy some disposable diapers to standby. But disposable diapers I think no need to buy so early coz every baby differs in size.... so, can buy later lor..

Think most shops and baby/maternity section will have them....
coz tat day we went m'sia shopping, and we bought from ter.... m'sia selling baby stuff is so much more cheaper than s'pore! Bought the baby's bathing mat (Tollijoy brand) for RM$12.90, and Singapore selling $9.90..... the cloth diapers also bought from them... think m'sia is cheaper by abt 40%....

Hi reenie,

I'm abt 24 wks now. Actually I've never been a fan of lamb chop but dunno why since pregnancy just have this craving for it.

Those old wives tales sometimes just dunno whether to believe or not. My friend's son has 'yang dian fong' when he was a few mths old and the doc put him under life-time medication now he is almost 2, still can't walk abt talk. Kinda scary.

hoshi ...

wow you can still go shopping at m'sia envy ... I would be glad if I can finish my shopping here in sg heehee ....

will keep a look out for the wasit band =)

yah, went to malacca last weekend. And shopped at their Mahkota Parade.... hehe... the big shopping mall.... walk until my legs aching.. hehe... but fun...
Yesterday even went to play badminton with my hubby... hehe... even though I'm already 25 weeks... haha...

They say preggie woman must walk more so tat delivery will be smoother.....

hi anissa,
your friend must be feeling sad....i guess old wives tales, some can take it, some cannot. For me, i believe no lamb or grass jelly during my initial months...BUT, for confinement, i do it my own way
anything that will harm the baby, i rather believe it.

hi miso, that's why i was thinking of soaking it in detergent first, before putting in with the rest of the clothes... at least get the bacteria out before going thru the normal wash...

reenie, handwash is quite tedius... though i wld prefer it too, but difficult to get hb to do that during first month... maybe i'll do it for subsequent months..
anyway, bb outgrow their clothes pretty fast, prob will outgrow before the clothes has a chance to wear out... unless u planning few more kids pretty soon...

Hi Anissa,
Me not fierce lah, I just feel some ppl deserve a good scolding or else they climb on top of your head. U let them go makes them feel that it's not a big deal. Worst of all, history may repeats on other ppl! My own life philosphy..keke

Hi reenie,
Care to describe how the waist band look like? I am still very blur abt it.

Another old wives tale from my friend, the more u sleep, the bigger your bb grow. How true izzit, I really dun noe..haha

Wow ting2,
Handwash very shack one leh! I admire your energy.

Anyway, a Vios cost ard $50+k & a Altis around less than $65k. How's your budget like?

heard that Tangs and John Little is having their sale now. Does JL and Tangs sell many baby stuff? or is it better to wait for GSS or motherhood fair for better deals?

Me 25/26 weeks now, haven't bought a single thing yet! help!

hi mummytobe, dun worry, me coming to 28 weeks, still no purchase yet!
GSS is coming, so gearing up to buy then. meantime, draw up your shopping list so that u can buy "efficiently" during then..

cat tail, handwash only 1 round lah... will dump into machine to finish the washing...hehe...

budget prob ard Vios... actually was eyeing the chevolet aveo, which is going at $48k now, but my dad discourages it cos he says it'll be difficult to find spare parts since it's not a commonly driven car...

found the old list

Items to purchase

For Sleep
i) Baby cot usu $250 to $350 (can consider those that can convert to child bed later on) usu come with free bumper, mattress and a set of pillow/bolster plus casing
ii) One or more sets of pillow/bolster casing, mattress
iii) Mattress protector (or disposable lining)
iv) Blanket (buy those which can double up as receiving blanket should your hospital does not give)
v) Playpen (maybe optional for some) some may put playpen to put bb during day in the living room and in baby cot (which is in the bedroom)
vi) Dao ge pillow (can ask mother or mil to make) - optional
vii) Plastic chest of drawers highly recommended
viii) Thick face towel to double up as pillow (cos bb neck weak, normal bb pillow may be a bit high)

For clothes
i) mittens/booties (loads of them, at least 10 pairs to last a week)
ii) tops (front open preferred) at least 10 tops to last a few days
iii) pants (long) for sleeping (no need to buy too many)
iv) hankies at least 2 dozen (can double up for washing bb)
v) bibs at least 5
vi) Changing table highly optional cos occupy space (can change bb on bed but keep a watchful eye)
vii) A pack of disposable NB diapers (for going out use)
viii) Napisan (sterilizing powder) for washing bb nappy. NTUC healthcare

For bath
i) bath tub
ii) johnson top to toe
iii) rubber mat to put on bed (if you dun have changing table)
iv) ru yi oil fr medicinal shops
v) nappy rash cream drapolene (cheaper), desitin (more expensive)
vi) Powder J&J or pigeon medicated powder (which I prefer although more expensive)
vii) Nappy at least 2 packs
viii) Nappy liner at least 1 box
ix) Nappy fastener
x) Cotton buds to clean ears
xi) Cotton pads to clean eyes
xii) Wet tissues (tub and travel packs)
xiii) Nail clipper or cutter (I prefer cutter as it is easier to hold onto scissors)
xiv) Bath towels
xv) Anti slip mat for bath tub (optional) as you will learn how to how the bb correctly during bath, he/she should not slip

For feeding
i) Standby a small tin of formula milk in case you dun have sufficient BM
ii) bottles/teats (usu comes free with sterilizer or pump)
iii) pump (manual or electrical) manual cheaper. Can consider rental should you be not sure if you have sufficient milk
iv) sterilizer (highly recommended as you need to sterilize bottles for child until he/she reaches 1 yr old)
v) more bottles for storing EBM or disposable bags (which I heard is quite difficult to use)
vi) thermal flask (for storing hot water when you go out)
vii) milk powder dispenser
viii) food warmer (optional) can use hot water to keep warm (anyway, unused milk can only keep 1 hour outside)
ix) bottle brush cleaner (from market)
x) tongs (sometimes free with steriliser)

Baby items that you may consider to buy later
i) Pram (usu range from $100ish to $400ish, depending on brand, weight etc) when buying consider the stability, the wheels treading and also the max weight it can hold
ii) Music mobile (about $40ish and above, depding on complexity, brand, music) usu pple may give you for full month celebration (preferably choose one with a mirror so that bb can look at himself/herself (self-entertain)
iii) Baby rocker (with nylon netting, $20ish) seen in many childcare centres
iv) Car seat (as you may only go out after confinement) there are some car seat system that you can fix the car seat to the pram (but of course more expensive)
v) Pacifier some bb dun like
vi) Hangers for hanging small pieces of clothes etc (or improvise with hangers and use clips)
vii) Highchair pple may give you for full month
viii) Walker pple may give you for full month
ix) Toys/rattles/babygym etc can buy during sale cos they are too cute to resist
x) Baby carrier/sarong sling optional (some car seat can double up as carrier for first few months) or pple may give you for full month

As a general guide, hospitals (especially private ones) provide everything the bay requires ie a set of clothing, disposable bb diapers, receiving blanket, a carrier bags so you dont have to bring anything for bb in the hospital. Private hospital also provides alcohol etc for cleaning bb umbilical cord area (please check with your hospital) So, what should you bring to hospital?

- night gown/ maternity dress (with front opening) at least 2 (depending on length of stay)
- a cardigan (in case cold)
- nursing bras and nursing pads (recommend pigeon nursing pads)
- cream for cracked nipple (mustela brand) buy from robinson during sale
- disposable underwear if your hospital do not provide

hey ladies, though is good tat we walked more to exercise.. but walk too much will cause water retention hor.. swell on yr legs.. so eat in moderation, everything oso got to do in moderation..

Tingting, btw u r oso in week 28.. do u feel yrself getting more & more warm.. less energised?..

Hoshi, please avoid streneous exercise.. is not good for u & yr baby.. I agree wif u some of the bb's accessories are selling much cheaper then compare to SIn.. i bought the pigeon rubber sheet & 10pcs napkins at more than 50% discount compare to SG price..

Tangs do sell babies items but very limited.. best recommending dept stores, Robinson, Johnlittle, SEiyu & Takashimaya,..

Lib, think i am indeed more tolerant of the cold, but not by much... i still wear jacket in office... but definitely less energised... somewhat reverted to 1st tri tiredness, though not that bad yet... i can still stay up till 11pm.. but day-time v sleepy...

anissa, my day today is swamped wif wk. had lots of stuff 2 clear when i went back 2day. gosh... luckily my colleagues had helped 2 clear some of d urgent stuff. phew...

tink eating pineapple rice is okie as d pineapple is oledi cooked. but ur gynae asked u not 2 eat raw pineapples or all pineapples?? 4 lamp chops, i dun eat them even b4 i was pregnant, so makes no dif 4 me. dun worry so much abt ur 'cravings'. jus eat watever u feel like eating but in moderation okie.

Hi ting2,
Your dad has his point, maintenance is easier & probably cheaper too.

Hi mummytobe,
Tangs & JL do sell baby stuff, but u wanna wait another 2 weeks for the motherhood fair? I heard there are a lot of discount. Another place u can try is OG & Robinson.

Morning ladies..

for lamb chops.. since old wife's tales says not to take, I dun lor.. though I also got craving for kambing soup! wahahaha.. but dare not eat.. cos anything happens hor, I hv to answer for it leh.. btr not take the risk. But some of the old wife's tales I really take care not to do lor.. like cutting materials on the bed, no hammering of nails etc etc in the hse.. haiya.. long list ah.

As for the waist band to protect bb's tummy.. Kiddy Palace sells it and I think it's called a Tummy Binder or sth.. hope this helps!

Lib, really? walk too much will have water retention?... coz nowadays will feel super-full and bloated after dinner, so hubby will bring me out and walk walk... normally abt 0.5 to 1 hr, then come home rest....
hehe... badminton, i only stand ter and hit the ball, never run, also never pick up the ball... hehe... so quite ok...

I also feel quite warm nowadays esp at night. Aircon already switch to 19 degrees, but still need to turn on fan, else I will perspire...

Gals, any1 considering cutting your hair shorter?.. Any good hair salon/stylist to recommend? Best at the west or central area...

hoshi, i aso feel quite warm at nite. nowadays, i sleep wif d aircon on & w/o a blanket.

i hv really cut my hair 2 abt shoulder length b4 d CNY. luckily i did so coz after tat, d weather was really hot. will pm u my hairstylist's contacts.

has your belly button protruded out? Can i also check...esp at night when you lie flat, do you gals feel the tummy tightening into a tiny "block" (most of the time on the left side of tummy)....it goes off after 3-4 secs. I have been feeling this for the past few nights, and not sure if these re the "signal" for premature contraction/labour.... Is it what they call Braxton Hicks? how do we differentiate then? Very worried leh....

Christina, enjoy yourself in Shanghai. I wont be going cos Hubby not available to go and i dont feel comfortable going with the old folks...without an abled-bodied man!

they say if belly button protrude out, means u are carrying a boy.... not sure how true.. but not all preggies' belly button will protrude leh..

vone, thanks.... how much does ur hair stylist charge?... it's good?...
hehe... i also sleep w/o blanket, and hubby very angry coz he say must cover up else "wind" will enter our tummy.... then hor, he say I very troublesome, coz he will need to keep waking up in the middle of the night to cover me with blanket... haha...

vone ...

stomach feeling strange ... might be due to the late breakfast .... just hope that I can pass the rest of the day in 'peace' ...

hoshi ...

mine is boy ler ... belly button still the same ....

so not all will protrude out huh? cos i saw a couple preggies at late 5 months with protruded buttons. I am expecting that to happen too. cos mine like want to come out, yet dun want to come out...worried that it could be due to the "contraction" that is stopping it. SIGH! will check with my gynae.

my hubby also says must cover the tummy else wind will enter the tummy.....wonder y men are more paranoid than us!

Mine start to protude out a little & I try to avoid tight fitting clothes cos too ugly to show out liao.

Btw, I am carrying gal so not true..heehee

hi seabreeze,
oh dear, u puke again this morning? Do take care and drink some warm water. Take things easy today. Huggies. I am feeling alittle nausea too since morning, didn't have a good nite sleep,keep turning.

hi cat_tail,
its a piece of blue cloth, got velcro to hold the end together. u just need to wrap around the baby waist. U can get it from kiddy palace
i guess its for the initial weeks only.

hoshi,
u thinking of cutting hair short? me too, but my hubby say no need, just tied it up....but its getting abit hot recently and i have not got time to visit my salon for a hair cut or trimming! let alone conditioning....

girls,
i think not all belly will protude out?? isn't it? i saw some reallly protuding out, but some are rather flat.

my fren even funnier ... she went to the beach wearing a bikini when preg ... her hubby dun allow her to sun tan cos say the baby will find it too hot and glaring .... MAN ... *shake head*

I joked about putting a hat and a pair of sun glass on the tummy for the baby heehee

How come man suddenly turn out more naggy than our moms?

I am thinking of cutting my hair short too before I am due. Maybe around 1 inch below the ear length.

Hi reenie,
I C, so it's a waist band that wrap around. Got it.