(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi timie, previously those durians got seasons one...nowadays, dun hv, all injected ones! So now everyday also can see durians.. not as precious liao.. hahaa..

Hi mummytobe, I remember my CL advised me not to take danggui. Ginseng is fine I guess.

hi mummytobe,
i think its ok to eat during the 2nd trimester
my mum and MIL also say the same thing. i guess during the 1st trimester, baby is stablising.
normally my mum will add some red dates into the soup for me as well.

miso,
i also like those from m'sia, not from thailand :p can tell the difference when u bite into it.

hi durian lovers,
i'm one too heheh. can get good malaysian durians at geylang, that whole stretch of fruit stalls. me and hubby usually go eat dou hua, then stop by the durian stall. the seller will open on the spot for us. very fresh and yummy. cannot finish can pack home...

hiya... long time never eat durians liao... bcos hb not fan... geylang is good but always got parking problem... last time my dad will buy home n we'll have a feast... now no such luxury already... sob sob.. have not tried those at supermarkets... somehow they seem too cheap to be good?

recently been really hot so been brewing some simple cooling drinks, like barley, ginseng chrysanthemum, etc... so nice when chilled...

am thinking of buying 2nd hand bb furniture... since got to buy extra set for mum's place as well...

now into 23 weeks... and gained a whopping 7kg! but at least i'm monitoring my weight now so won't be so shocked at the rate of increase... still can't resist the fried stuff once in a while..hehe...

wow christina, somehow those durian tt they open on spot sounds so good! me better avoid geylang stretch, otherwise can't resist will buy & eat!

ya, no danggui
nono.gif
cos will affect BM supply. heard can't take too much ginseng oso, but can't rem why liao
..poor memory, sorrie.

wow ladies, seems like u gals are having a big feast here.. I have been taking birdnest since my 2nd tri, at once every 2 weeks. As for cordyceps, used to take it oso once a week, but find it too heaty liao, so have asked my mil make less. And now i'm in my 3rd tri liao, no more cordyceps, so will continue on wif my bird nest.

Tok abt durian, i juz had it 2 weeks ago, and was quite sad, hehe.. cos i got a fell at the durian place.. i sat on my buttocks when i walk down the stairs.. phew.. lucky nothing bad happen.. hehe.. Heard from friends that eating durian will booast up the bb's immunity.. dunno how true, but well since durian is still my all time fave so why not juz pop in 1 or 2 in every few months. but remember not to eat too much, cos of high sugar content. will lead to diabetes.

Hi mummy2b, there is no exact good or bad comments on both Avent & Pigeon lor.. I happen to know the compatiblity of the bottles and find that pigeon is oso selling at a more offerable price. So why not get that instead.

lib, oh dear...i'm glad you're not hurt. be more careful okay? i'm also prone to accidents. kept tripping, i tripped even on flats and on flat ground. i think our balance not so good these days so have to take everything slow...don't rush.

as for tonics, i've not taken anything except bird's nests. dont know too much about chinese medicine so i've been taking the same diet as i did before pregnancy...

Thanks christina, i'm fine. juz consider myself dunno if is unlucky on that day. I miz my 3rd prize worth of S$3000 & then had a fall when i went to the durian place.. haiz..

But considering i'm lucky as it shows my bb is strong & healthy...

reenie, i bought fr giant b4, but it's not nice. somemore whenever i pass by, d smell is not tat strong. so dun tink i wanna take any chances again. we used 2 buy fr tis ah pek near my plc, but he's veri funny. he wld oni sell when d durians r veri nice. so we wld always wait 4 him. nowadays we dun c him opening 4 biz, thus we noe tat d durians these days r not so nice.

miso, u take care okie, drink more orange juice 4 vit c.

timie, d season is actually fr may - jul & nov - jan every yr. tat's when d durians r nicer.

mummytobe, i didn't take any tonics when i was in my 1st tri. felt 2 sick 2 eat any. so i oni started drinking tonic soups in my 2nd tri. so far hb had boiled ginseng chicken soup 4 me & watercress soup. tink we wld enquire at d chinese medical hall 2 c wat's suitable. i let u noe again.

chris, i hvn't tried d stalls at geylang yet. kena 'chopped' once b4, so a bit wary of going thr. mayb if i really got craving, we wld visit thr. tks 4 d tip.

tingting, u can keep a lookout in d forum. sometimes, some mummies will sell off their kids' furniture at a veri reasonable price.

aiyo lib, u better take care. b more careful when u r walking okie. me now walking like an amah coz i scared tat i wld fall down.

Thks Vone, yes i will take care, i nowadays oso walk abit slower.. hehe.. scare to fall again. that day my hb oso very bad, when he ask me am i alrite, i told him ok, and he says lucky yr backside is now expanded wif lots of flesh, tats y dun feel painful

Aiyoo Lib,
U be more careful ok...

Talk abt durians... I have been eating continuously for 4 days since last week! Too "pu" liao until I have to get my hubby to stop bringing back. Can't help it, cos Geylang is so near my house.

hi lib,

Take care k. Me oso nearly fall dwn last fri heng my hubby pulled me up b4 i land on e flr.

As for eating durians, me recently 2 heaty kan take any "hot" stuff.

hi lib, it's a good thing u're okie
do be careful. i'll cling onto my hb's hand everytime i go out with him esp recently rainy weather..some tiled floorings are so slippery. if alone, i walk veri slowly, & veri mindful of steps..backside expansion def comes in useful at such times

vone, hmm..so tempting to get some durians since now it's in season..but oni like the slightly bitter type one which is quite hard to get.. no idea how to choose, so up to the seller to "ge-tuk"..

durians now in season meh?? I dun think so leh.. else my fil sure sell one! hahaha.. vone, tt ah pek u referring to, is it my fil?? hahaha.. *kidding*

Guess we are prone to falls sometimes. Me too, for the 1st one, had a fall, very serious, or cheh on upper tummy, forehead and legs..mil so worried about me. but lucky nothing bad happened to bb. This time, though no falls yet, but if there is, i wont be surprised too la..

Haiz.. ytd woke up to pee, touch ds and felt him warm warm.. took his temp, it was 37.5 at 4 am. I woke up an hour later and it was 37.8. Gave him panadol and milk thereafter, but he puked the milk when finishing.. haiz.. a lot of cleaning up to do. Finally slept at arnd 5.40 am. 6.30 am I woke up to monitor him again, lucky..fever seems subsided.. and till this morn, no fever so far.. phew.. or bak kak!

lib, ur hb is so bad. nvr sayang u but say tat. u nvr whack him on d head ah??

cat_tail, so envious. i hvn't eat durians 4 quite a while oledi.

nicnic, u take care okie. remember 2 drink some cooling drinks like barley.

timie, i agree wif u. so we always buy fr d ah pek. if d durians r not nice, he wld either refund or replace 4 us when we go back 2 him.

miso, now is not in season so tat ah pek nvr sell.
oh no, ur ds is okie or not?? nowadays a lot of kids fall sick. yesterday, i jus found out tat a few of my frens' kids kena d mouth & foot disease. so horrifying.

vone, ya.. i know now is not the season cos my fil also not selling yet.. hehe.. the real season is those once a year type. tt's y i ask if tt ah pek could be my fil? hahaha.. anyway..

yea, my son is ok now.. so far no fever.. so I think he's ok lar.. tks for ur concern.

hallo good morning, if you're still craving for durians but dont want to take too much of the fruit, can check out the durian puffs at goodwood park hotel... they are to die for !! hehehh. i think they have tonnes of other things made with durian too, cakes etc

Aiyo cat_tail, dun eat too much durian hor.. is not oni (bu) but oso very high in sugar content.

Thx ladies, i'm now very cautious when walking liao.. esp when i see children walking or rolling wif the roller shoes, so scary.. worried that they may lose their balance & hit me... u ladies oso be careful hor, esp nowadays rainy days, floor is wet & slippery.

Aiyar my hb always like that one lor.. he 1st disturb u wif his comments then later will sayang one loh.. furthermore, inside thr is another precious baobei.. i always tell people, daddy oso love girl more.. hehe..

btw ladies, anybody was at Compasspoint last nite from 8.30pm to 9.30pm? 1) walking down from escalator 2) shopping in metro? Hehe.. i bumped into 3 preggies last nite, saw their tummy guess they are ard the same mth?

miso, d ah pek's stall is at blk 121 bedok reservoir rd thr. is ur fil selling thr??

chris, i hvn't tried d durian puffs at goodwood even though i hear a lot of gd things abt them. i used 2 eat d durians rolls fr angie's d choice.

lib, ya, whenever i c kids running abt, i m aso a little scared. they can b so rough at times. guess tat we jus hv 2 b more careful when we c them around.

Hey i love the durian puffs from goodwood!!! yumyum..

Ladies, fyi thr is a 20% storewide in SEiyu from 29 April to 2May. further discounts for discounted items (selected items)..

Wah you ladies tempting me with all the durian talk..but i can't eat too much leh..eat more than a few pieces i will have mouth ulcer or sore throat liao..guess because my body very heaty

Btw, when is the Great Singapore Sale? Which stores usually offer the best discounts for baby stuff? Robinsons?

Any of you started choosing/thinking of baby names yet? My SIL also giving birth to princess around same time as me, so we are trying to choose names before we clash haha

hi mummytobe,

d gss sale is fr end may 2 early jul. as 4 which stores offer d best discounts 4 bb stuff, i tink each store hv their own discounts 4 bb stuff. we jus hv 2 source around.

reenie, wah... seems like u gals like goodwood park's durian puffs. tink i shld try them out.

Hi vone,
Just eat if you want or else baby will drool..kekeke.. tat's grandmother's tale lah.

Hi Lib,
I already stop eating after my urine test shows I have a little high sugar contents.
Maybe next mth then start my durian feast again..haha..
Btw, I luv Goodwood's Park durian puff! *slurps slurps...

Oh yah,

For durian lover like me, I like to introduce a shop at Joo Chiat that only sell durian puffs & cakes! Sorry can't remember the shop & they used real solid durian. Taste it & you will know what I mean! It's simply irresistable!

heheh i'm glad most of you like goodwood park durian puffs. i'm quite crazy over it. cat_tail, do u know the name of that shop in joo chiat? i've heard about it...

cat_tail, ya, i heard of tat saying aso. hehe... tat's wat i always tell hb when he dun wanna buy d food tat i wanna eat.
joo chiat is veri near my plc leh. if u remember d name, remember 2 tell me so tat i can go & buy okie. tks.

Wishes, u r rite! It's Puteri Mas!
The durian puffs are very potent, not for "weak" heart ones...

Hi vone,
Joo Chiat is a place full of good food! Did you try the Ba Ku Teh, the one near to "Aimin"?

wishes, tks. will asked hb 2 buy 4 me later.

cat_tail, i tink i tried it b4. it's not 2 bad. but since i got pregnant, i m pretty adverse 2 bak kut teh. so hv not been eating it 4 a while oledi.

Hi Vone,

I've been eating durians almost every day. According to my gynae, durians will make the baby grow 'big'. I try to cut down on the consumption now cos I worry abt difficult pregnancy. Average weight for baby is around 2.8kg, I believe.

Btw, how did your detailed scan go? Have you determine the sex of your baby?

Anissa

hi anissa,

long time nvr c u in here oledi. how's ur work?? everything okie??

i heard tat eating 2 much durians can b veri 'pu', but 2 me, everything in moderation. jus dun eat 2 much.
my detailed scan went okie, managed 2 find out tat i m carrying a boy boy!! how abt urs?? i remembered urs is 1 day after mine rite?? do let me noe.

hi mummytobe
am scheduled for the 6th mths to do the test.. so shld be 24 weeks?

i love durians too but i havent taken at the moment cos i had that gastric flu incident last week. puteri mas is not bad.. but i find the liao a bit little.. heehee

wow.....so many durian fans here......as for me....I am a person that will eat durians if it is available....but will not deliberately seek them out if I don't see them.

As for soups, have been drinking the normal soups like watercress soup etc as I am not familiar with chinese herbs and am afraid of taking something wrong that may harm bb.

Are there MTBs here that are not working? Just wondering as I am not working and we can arrange to meet up? Any MTB thinking of having a bb shower? Is that popular here?

morning snoopy.
if u r afraid of taking d wrong herbs, u can always chk wif d chinese medicine halls as 2 which herbs r gd 4 u & d bb. they wld b able 2 help u wif tat.

wow.. so many durian lovers and with all the durian talks here.. I bot myself a durian cake from angie choice ytd.. but alas! to my big big disappointment, it din satisfy me at all! And worst, it's so ex, really shrink in size and not much durian.. haiz.. btr make one myself! haha..

btw, any cheesecake lovers here?

Miso,

I'm one cheesecake fan, esp for coffeebean cheesecake. Love their brownie cheesecake which they are selling for a limit period now!

Think Angie only good for their durian roll. But I still prefer the real durian. Only got to eat when I go back to my mum's place cos there is a store there selling.

miso, d durian cake fr angie's r not nice. oni d durian rolls r nice!!
ya, me aso cheesecake lover!! which is ur fav??

morning ladies!
me a die-hard BROWNIE fan..yum yum..used to luv cheesecake oso, but since preggie, dunno why, everytime after eating cheesecake, feel so bloated..

hi tulip, its true, i think it has got to do with the soft cheeses which we are not supposed to take, but the baked ones are okay. my fav are from cafe cartel and coffee bean. occasionally i take the japanese version, the one that comes in a pink box with a chef cartoon on top...hehheh

yup tulip, my preggie fren even asked the NYDC staff what kinda cheese they used to make the cheesecakes there.. the staff went blur when she asked tt..but i rem the mgr called their chef to ask, seems like it's a safe for preggie to eat kinda cheese..

christina, is it the one they always sell at fiesta jap restaurant?

wow.. next time we shall meet up in a cafe tt sells brownie and cheesecakes! hahaa.. my fav.. is my own! I love baking cheesecakes, I dun quite like the non-baked type of cheesecakes.

Hi timie, u know how to bake? I have a very easy and tasty brownie recipe so if u want, I will send to u! Or I can post it here if others dun mind.

hi miso,

please share with us on your brownie and cheesecake recipes!! i used to bake in the US, only with pre-mixes...so pay sei. i envy people who bake!!

aiyo, miso, u tempting me leh *droolin* liao.. ya, can post the recipe?? i made some long time ago, but find it too dry (taste like cookies!)cos i like the chocolaty and fundgy type..yummie!

hi ladies, if we do want to meet, there's a perfect opportunity coming up...Labour Day long weekend? We've Fri-Mon to choose from..mabbe can meet for breakfast or lunch?

christina, yep! i luv tt cheesecake, can eat one big portion myself..heee. cos it's quite light. taste so good when it's freshly baked, & not too expensive. oh no! must control myself cos i know i'm gonna pass by tt restaurant tis wkend!!

Hi snoopy, i'm a stay home mom.. love to have a chance to mit up. sigh.. so far. this thread still not so active in meeting up as most of them are busy wif work..

Miso, u & yr cheesecake again...

all mommies2b, we have been toking abt meeting up for so many time, so when will be the time for us to mit up?