(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi cat tail, not really that stressed abt confinement, cos i am open to even taking care of bb myself... work-wise, well, just heard some news that there is a possibility i could lose my job.. not my only, but to pple who are in similar situation as me... though it's a remote possibility at this point in time, but just keeping this "danger" in mind... it's a complicated story... at least let hb have some mental preparation n we can rework our budget more prudently..

i'm thinking of getting a wooden cot plus one that can double-up as a playpen... won't be buying things at this moment.. waiting for GSS..hehe.. heard that there's a baby mall at IMM that sells lots of bb stuff n provides delivery service.. may want to check it out...

ixwong, just went checkup on Sat and now near 16wks liao
Dr Ang tried to see the gender but too bad bb sitting with legs closed. After that went walk around sun plaza and there's a shop selling maternity clothes at 2nd level near the escalator. The pants are abt 30+ and the blouse 30 to 40+. Look quite ok for that price but still too big for me now..
Another good thing is shortening of pants/blouse is free
This is good for me cos I'm small size. I bought a pant abt 30+ but not sure can last full or not leh... But compare to spring maternity, $50 -69 then this is more economical lor...

Hi to all MTB,

My date of delivery is 10th Sept 05. So far, my gynae has not conducted any test on me. May I ask what are all the neccesary tests to do when one is pregnant??

Anissa

Good Morning ladies...
Hope your weekend was good.

Anissa, hi there! usually your gynae will do a urine test for you at every visit...depending on you, you can do a triple test at yr 12th to 15th wk. (i think maybe the gals can advise on the correct weeks...)And a detailed scan in 20th week.

Gals can i check will your gynae be conducting the detailed scan? I went to see my gynae last week and i will have to do it at TMC or MAH. By a different person. hmmm.....can share with me how's yrs?

Btw i did the triple test also...will only know the blood test results one or 2 weeks later.
Angel, yr result out yet?
Vone, will you be doing the test?

Cakey my gynae also can't see the gender...the baby was moving around rapidly. My gynae said inside boring, no entertainment, so baby can only play with oneself!!

Cakey, sound so exciting for u... tis time u not so gan cheong already?... hehe..
I will be seeing my gynae tis sat...not sure can see gender or not... will also be doing the triple test... have u done it?...

anissa, it depends on individual gynae. so far for all my visits, my gynae only did ultrasound. no other tests. my gyane says tat urine test and detailed scan will be performed from 20 weeks onwards.

erowen, how come ur detailed scan must do in MAH or TMC?.... where is ur gynae's clinic?... his clinic cannot do?...

hi ladies.. good morning.

hi erowen, if u hv to do a detailed scan in a hospital, maybe ur gynae's clinic dun hv the equipment for tt. Just like my gynae.

hi anissa, welcome here. Do keep us informed of ur development. Is this ur first pregnancy? For me, each time will hv to do a urine test to chk for sugar and protein. Then ab-scan on every visit too. I will be doing the triple test on my next visit.

Ytd went to the Baby Fair at Taka. Bot some pigeon bottles, a few nb rompers, mittens and socks.

hoshi and miso
no, my gynae's clinic don't have leh. They informed me during my last week visit. They will refer me to someone at TMC...but i am rather keen to have Dr Datuk Chew at Mt E to do my detailed scan, i just checked...$290. Is it expensive? Cos i heard his machine pretty good.

hoshi, my gynae's clinic is at compass point.

miso, was it crowded at the baby fair? some of my friends sms me to go....i think i will wait after my detailed scan then go and buy the baby's stuff.

morning ladies...

wow, seems that you gals had a mini GSS over the weekend. me have yet to prepare anything for BB, think will wait till june then purchase them.

tulips, thanks for the list. give clueless me some idea what to buy.

i will be doing me GTT on either wed/thurs tis week. want to get it over with. *sian*

erowen, my bb just sit there and not moving the legs so can't see lor.. So dr just check that the 4limbs are healthy and zoom in for us to see the fingers..

hoshi, ya not so gancheong anymore hehe.. The bb now is 8.4cm not very big leh.. But DR says it's normal lenght.. I was drawn a tube of blood for both the normal blood test and triple test. He say he'll only call to inform the result if needed.. else no news is good news.. Also did the urine test for the first time.
btw have you start to wear mat wear? My tummy starts to bulge esp after lunch and getting bigger after dinner! But still quite small to wear mat wear leh...

Will do my detail scan at TMC around 21 or 22 week. The clinic reception says she'll give us MC to go TMC and can also arrange a TMC tour at same time. According to DR, he can do the detail scan in clinic but then if want to claim medisave can only do in hospital. It'll cost $95.

Hi ixwong,
I am thinking of getting the playpen which can be convertible to cot. Its made of plastic/metal material with some netting at the side. Its quite easy to keep & transport so in the future if I want to put at my parents house, I can use this.

Hi tingting,
Sorry to hear about your job, but I hope that your chance of job losing is zero out. Indeed, this is not a good time to lose it cos I dun think any employer want to engage a preg woman. Its good that you & yor hubby are working out the budget now for the future as there will be a lot of expenses spend on the bb. Dun worry, if u 2 scramble & save, then shouldn't be a problem. I have seen a few examples that prove it.

IMM got a lot of bb stuffs? Good good, another place to go & jalan too. I am also waiting for GSS for a better deal as well.

cakey, there's 2 tests? I only know tat I will do the triple test.... then wat's the normal blood test for?... hehe.. my stomach also bulging already. When I look at myself from the mirror, i was like "OMG!!"... hehe... but think it will get bigger and bigger. Now I'm left with 2 skirts....
need to buy some long tops also, haven't start wearing my maternity pants, coz it's so auntie... my hb can't wait to see me wear them, so he can laugh at me.... haha....

Don't think I will claim the detailed scan from medisave. Coz the package with gynae will be abt $500-600 and medisave allows us to claim $450 for pre-natal checkups. so, it's more than exceed liao..

Oh, i only found out last week tat James is in ur group for Alex Siow's class too. He's in my class for CMC....

ilmare, my hb also ask me dun be so gan cheong. slowly look ard too... then buy during GSS, timing just nice lor...

erowen, ya, my colleague's gynae also Datuk Chew. She says tat he is very very good one. Always take precaution rather than wait-and-see type. Think u can go to him if u want lor..

just curious, aren't detailed scans part of your maternity package? prices seem to differ quite a bit too... my scan will be done end of this month, and performed by a different doctor at TMC. have to call up hospital to arrange hospital tour as well..

think the baby fair is on till this thurs... can still go down if u want..

hoshi, HB want to collect info first before making purchase. i am fine with his timing, plus got a kiddy palace near my place. ya lor, GSS is the perfect timing to buy baby stuff, by then we would probably know BB gender and have a rough idea what sort of hand-me-downs we will be getting.

erowen, i'll b doing my triple test on 19 mar in my gynae's clinic. as 4 d detailed scan, wld b going 2 mt e 2 do it as my gynae dun hv d machine.

cakey, sama sama leh! I find that my tummy is the biggest at night, so different from the morning..

hoshi, ya i think the first time i heard was from angel...so most probably i will try him for my detailed scan...
like u, i will most probably wait for GSS or after my detailed scan, then go buy baby's stuff...now i abit anxious waiting for my blood test results.

tingting, no, detailed scan is not included in my package, this is made known to me very clearly when i took it up.

btw my colleague was just telling me she ate alot during her pregnancy, she could polish off like 8 char siew bao ( not the mini ones) or 8 soon kueh at one go and her appetit is very good. But mine is not so..more like my usuall appetite before pregnancy, then she said it's bcos my baby don't eat alot, she said her baby very big when came out.....is it true?

My mil commented I may be carrying a boy boy again this time.. how abt u all? this is for those who have not scanned the gender.. come gals, let's guess!!

MIL says Boy
ME says Gal!

I am a bit blur abt your scan & package so until my coming checkup next week than I know what's going on. Only must do tests are weight, blood pressure & urine test. In fact, I can't wait to do another ultrasound to check the bb's gender.

Yaya, wait for GSS so now I am gathering all the pricing & settle a list of necessary items need to buy. Still got 6 mths to go!

Same goes to me, tummy popping out. Really looks ugly cos I dun look like a pregnant woman. It looks more a spare tyre..heehee

Hi ero, i think normally most of the gynae will nt do the detailed scan by themselves. heard from my friends, they were also referred to TMC during their detailed scan when their gynae is in Mt. A. My gynae has oso mentioned that i will have to do my FA scan in another section of TMC.. Think is the machine used will be different. As for the triple test, i told my gynae if there is no news from them 2 weeks later, means good news.. so till now is the 3rd week liao still no call...

** As for shopping news, both robinsons & seiyu will be having their mid year sale starting in May.. For Seiyu great offers come if u purchase your items during the 1st weekend of May, cos 20% storewide applicable also for discounted items.. but only for in-store merchandise.. Then all other dept stores, will start having their GSS at the last week of May... So ladies, get ready lor..

I will be doing my FA scan 2 weeks later from now, will keep u gals informed on the pricing and as well the process frm TMC maybe it can help some of u gals in making your decision.

miso, me and hb says GAL!

Lib, think depends on individual gynae also... I juz asked my friend who has just given birth in Nov last yr. and she told me tat the detailed scan is just like a normal scan. nothing much leh. so i'm not too sure also..

hi hoshi, yes it is juz a normal scan but is a detailed scan where u can get to see the development of the baby head, hands, legs, etc..

for me, most of my friends & relatives even my mum says confidently that is a boy.. except for my hb & bro who wish to have a girl.. hehe

vone, will yr gynae be doing the detailed scan for you at Mt E?

Miso, so far me, my mum and my side of the relatives also say gal gal...=)

Lib, how are you doing? so good, can relax at home....sometimes i really got to force myself to wake up at times...i think this year my worklife not very smooth....and i most probably changing section...sigh...sometimes abit sian.
btw what does FA stands for?

so you will be delivering at TMC? have you been on the hospital tour?

Btw i just came across another thread, and they were saying about MAH delivery suite is pretty private...when we are in labour at TMC, will we be alone at the delivery room? can our other half be with us?

erowen, nope. he told me tat he wld b getting d radiologist (dun noe whether i remembered correctly) 2 do it as he/she wld b more familiar.

I'll also be doing the detail scan at 20 weeks. Though I'm with KKH, i will also have to go to another dept for the detail scan as it performed by another specialist. Noticed that some of u mention FA scan. Is this diff from the detail scan?

BTW, My hubby just came back from Bangkok and got 3 sets of clothings for our bb. They looked so cute and I was surprise to find out that each set cost about S$1.50 only. So if any of u or your friends are going to Bangkok, can get them to help to buy some back!

Hi miso,

My last scan showed that my bb is likely to be a gal-gal. But before that, my father already told me that mine is likely to be a gal cos I change taste every now and then and also I like to take fish. He say such characteristic is exactly like a gal!

vone, oh i see.

chemistry, i also feel that mine is a gal..but i kinda put off by fish ever since i'm pregnant...but i do like sweet things, that's why a lot of people commented that mine is a gal.

Lib, anybody who made a guess on ur tummy. Hehe, think this time must ask my mama to guess. Cos the first time round, only my mama guessed it right! haha.. this time, my mil says.. the shape of my tummy is sharp.. just like first one. Tt's y hb advised me not to buy too many rompers for gal ytd at the fair! *arrgh* Gal's one.. all look so sweet and cute!

But hor, I told hb, it should be gal, cos first, my appetite is diff. I dun like meat, prefers veges and fruits. heehee..

Ytd mil make another round of cordyceps.. she say once start cannot hv a gap too long else wont be effective. Hv a few rounds of cordyceps for a couple of weeks.. then bird's nest..

hi erowen,the other time i went for TMC hospital tour,saw the delivery suite not too bad lah - got hydropool to help relieve pain if u wan (must pay xtra),there's a couch/tv for partner be there,to relax while waiting for labor.they def encourage our hb to be there..

Last week i use to choose my outfit before going to work and now I realise those just-nice pants i choosen in the morning will make me uncomfortable after lunch and dinner since I took dinner outside also... So nowadays had to choose outfit during the nite then size will be accurate hehe..

miso, what is cordyceps huh? Any chinese name for it? Since we don't live with elders no tonic from them leh.. i also dunno how to prepare all these... Till now I just eat instance bird nest only.. Yesterday quite touch when my mum told me she will prepare some bird nest for me afer she buys them...
Now feel like eating black chicken.. will try to prepare myself I guess, cos don't see anyone sellling also. Can add cordyceps to black chicken soup? thanks..

chemistry, d way ur father describe gals is so funny.

erowen, u must hv listen 2 much 2 tis verse - "little gals r make of sugar & spice".

miso, my appetite is similar 2 urs. but i hv a feeling tat mine's a boy.

cakey, cordyceps is "dong cong chao". it kinda of looks like brown color worms. ur situation is similar 2 me, i m aso eating instant bird's nest. if u wan 2 eat black chicken, u may buy d instant black chicken herbs fr supermkts or medical halls & boil urself. it's veri easy 2 make. just throw d packet of herbs & d black chicken in2 d slow cooker & let it boil 4 abt 4 hrs. after tat, u can drink it oledi.

thr r some stalls which sell double boiled soups, u can check them out as they wld usually sell black chicken soups.

Hi cakey, cordyceps is dong1 cong2 cao3. My mil cook it with lean meat and pao shen. U can get those double boiled soups in some coffee shops or mkt stalls. But I also dunno at times which can be consumed. If not, you can take chicken essence. My mil will normally make bird's nest for me when I reach 3rd tri.

Did anyone of u tried the ring game? Where you place a ring on the back of ur palm using a string and tap 12 times. If it's swings in circles means gal. Straight line means boy.

hi cakey, cordyceps is call "Dong-Chong-Cao" in chinese. U can go to those Chinese Medical Hall to buy, juz tell them how many times of dosage (how many people drinking), they will take for u.. And remember to tell them that is for preggie hor.. cos some chinese herbs can't take during preg.Whr u staying? u can look for this medical hall call Hock Hua, quite reputable.. And u have slow cooker at home? if dun have can consider buying one cos u will oso nid it during your confinement.. use that to cook your chicken soup like b4 u go to work, u leave it to cook then by the time u come home, the soup is ready.

Haha, even my friends all guess is a boy.. anyway hopefully can see the gender on my coming visit.. cos many friends are waiting for my news.. hehe

Hi Ero, no lar, sometimes staying home kinda of boring oso.. dunno wat to do.. if do too much housework feels tired, if dun do, time passes very slowly.. u see me good, i see u good lor..

yes miso, i tried the ring game.. heard is to tat a red string to tie the mum's wedding band.. then hang it down, automatically the ring will move in circular/straight mode..

i tried but w/o tapping 12x.. and very automaically the ring moves straight.. then i dun believe and use my hb's other ring, it doesn't move

Hi lib, U try tapping 12 x lor, by right, urs and hb's should hv the same result! I tried few years ago.. b4 I had ds. Results show I got 2 kids, 1 boy and 1 gal. So I kinda believe I will hv a gal gal this time.

I tried my ma's ring.. it dun move at all! *cos factory closed liao*

how do u know is 1 boy & 1 gal? cos it goes straight & circular?

i used my hb's other ring, not his wedding band to try.. ok, will try later, when he comes back so tat i can try both rings

Oh.. u hv to try as many times as possible until the ring dun move at all. For me, first one is straight line.. so boy. Second it goes round and round.. gal. Third.. no movements at all. So only got 2 kids lor.

oic.. yea, must be wedding band la.

When I was preggie with ds, b4 scanning for gender, hb used the ring and tap on my tummy.. it moves in straight line. So.. true enaf, it's a boy.

Erowen, Yes I like sweet stuff too. Beside that, I like steak which I dun like in the past!

miso, my aunt tried the ring thing on me. She took my wedding band, tied to a red string and left it above my right palm. It's very amazing to see the ring swing in pendulum movement and circular movements. She tried on my SIL and it was very accurate! For me, the ring swing in pendulum first, then circular and then pendulum before it stops. She say it means i will have 3 children in the sequence boy, gal, boy. But then, my last scan seems to prove her wrong leh.

Hi chemistry, u never know whether it's accurate till u pop! hahaa... I heard cases where the scans showed gal but end up boy. hehe...

oh no! in that case, better to buy unisex bb clothes rite? last wkend saw mothercare having bb clothes sale, the sleepsuits (for newborns) all look so cute & comfy!! but heard it's not practical coz bb outgrow v fast..

I do hope the scan is accurate! But I'm actually mentally prepared for any changes in gender which may happen during the detail scan. After detail scan, should be more confirm lah.

hi timie, wow, the delivery suite sounds very nice! can't wait for the hospital tour... =) have you confirm that you will be delivering there?

vone, ya lor, sugar & spice....i really crave for sweet stuff during my first trimester...that's why almost all my relatives say it's a gal gal...I myself also want a gal for my first-born. =))

Lib, the other day i tried to mop the floor, but found that i felt very tired easily! And my back ache abit....really different from before pregnancy.... but i still magic-clean the floor lor...think mop floor has to really leave to my hubby.

chemistry..keke, think we are having gal gal then. =)) wow, you can take steak...i get bloated very easily...so cannto take too much meat lor..

wow, the ring game sounds fun! Maybe i will go and try. =)

speaking of the scanm i read in another forum that the gynae scan a gal, but come out a boy boy, naturally the couple went into shock but the parents were so excited cos it's a boy! And there's another case whereby the couple bought all the gal gal's clothes liao, then gynae told them it's a boy....they said the baby's fingers can be quite naughty at times!!!

hi erowen, yes, hv more or less decided to deliver there..the place doesn't look too "hospital-like" & feels quite cozy, with friendly staff. the other day went to register the antenatal class, saw the staff assisting a couple breastfeeding their new born..very knowledgeable and helpful. think i'll need quite a lot of help on that..

gals, must be string be red?

timie, so far a lot of people have recommended TMC to me and i heard positive comments also...so most probably i'm hoping to deliver there. I'm also taking the class...sat after...i remembered yours is sat evening is it?

Hi ero, for me i'm using the red string.. and surprisingly it really moves, and when use other rings right, it juz not moving..

go & try it ladies, quite fun.. and lets see how accurate it is...

And FA Scan if didn't remember wrongly stands for fetal assessment scan.. is a more "scientic" term for detail scan lor..

Try not to do too much housework, it is not going to be good to you esp when bb grows bigger.. I oso have passed the mopping job to my hb, all i do is oso to magic-clean the floor.. haha.. but i will still help out lar, cos nvr trust man on housework.. sigh...

Hi guys..

my ds sick on sunday. vomitted on sunday morning. see dr.. on child mc on monday.. everything looked okay but vomitted again this morning.. geez.. her phlegm stuck lah.. after she vomited, she slept except that i had to clean up my bed.. yuck

Hi Lib

after her vomit, she seems elated. from 3 am, she slept until 6am today. had no choice but to send her to centre as i got a couple of meetings to go for. her fever was so high that the nurse let us have priority on sunday. that is the prob with infant care, 1 get sick, all get sick.
how i wish i am taking care of her at home.. so sad.

Oh dear, sigh i'm sure today you are both tired and moodless.. dun worry i'm sure she will be fine.. What abt your hb? If u have a couple of meetings today and can't leave the office, what about him? or is parents?? If he can, perhaps ask him to take a day off to bring your child home..