(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi all, i've just tested positive recently and based on own calculations, EDD is around early oct 05...since there isn't a thread on Oct 05 MTB yet, i'd like to join you girls in learning how to cope with pregnancy

tks gals...

i will be seeing my gynae a few days after my 12th week (after CNY). I'm 11th week this week. Do i propose to my gynae for the oscar test or would he ask me to do it?

hi sneaky, nice to see you here! can start shopping for a gynae already...

miso, well, guess i've missed my window period to test...too bad.. but since my last scan showed tt the skin thickness is no cause for worry, i'm ok with not doing the test...

erowen, my gynae mentioned it to me... u can ask for ur gynae's opinion if he doesn't say anything.. think bcos DS is more associated with higher age grp women, some gynaes may not think it's necessary to spend the extra $$ if there's no real concern to you...

tingting:
i've fixed a gynae already. in fact, i have seen him before preconception check up...i have made an appointment to see him on 7 Feb 05, which is around my CD40. will i see anything on the ultrasound? bb shd be slightly less than 6 weeks old...

Sneaky,
not sure whether u will be able to detect the bb's heartbeat.. coz normally the heartbeat can be detected only from 6 weeks onwards.... to playsafe, better 7-8 weeks lor.. dun frighten urself too much. If less than 6 weeks, may need to do V-scan to detect the bb's sac.

erowen, i'm also into my week 11's mark... going to see gynae next week...

planning to tell my boss next week, but dunno how to tell her... have u told ur boss already?..

Hi bbmom

So sorry to hear that. u take care yeah!

Can i ask do u gals feel a little pain on your abdominal once in a while. i had these n now very worried.

bbmom, i m so sorri 2 hear of ur loss. u take care okie.

erowen, according 2 my gynae, i shld b in d 10th wk oledi.

Hi Miso, I am still wondering that my details scan was it done on that day. But that time i saw the nurse kept all the each position scan in the computer. So don't know loh. Maybe next check up i will asked my gynae again. Btw, I paid the bill at the TMC while do registering. ACtually the exact amount is $298+$14.90 (GST) so total up is $312.90.

I was given a Purple color brochure about Oscar. Should be the same. The gyane told me that this Oscar scan package was juz launch on last year Oct.

For those who wants to know more about Oscar scan this is the link http://www.thomsonmedical.com/PS_11-14wk.htm

hi confused

It depends. my gynae detected my bb heartbeat at 6 weeks via vscan.

Hi bbmom

I am so sorry to hear of your loss. Please take care

hoshi5: may i know how is v-scan done? very scared leh...what will you see during v-scan?

confused: wah...it takes so long to see bb's heartbeat ah? haiz...how many weeks are you already?

Hi miso,

Is oscar test same as maternal serum testing? I'm scheduled to do the maternal serum testing at week 16.

Sneaky,

V-scan is only a bit uncomfortable. At week 5-6, you should be able to see the sac as well as the yolk. Heartbeat may be detected though most will see it around week 6-7.

Hi sneaky, welcome here!! congrats to u!

Hi tingting..though my gynae told me to be done from 11th to 13th week..the website stated till 14th week..u may wish to chk with ur gynae? If past it..also nvm, can do the normal test to find out.

Hi confused, dun be alarm..if it's not too painful..then it's alright, cos cld be due to ur womb enlarging to make space for the growing foetus.

take care bbmom

miso, your bb very big huh..mine at 11 weeks only 3.73 cm. (which was 2 weeks ago)

welcome all new mommies!

hi sneaky, my gynae could detect my bb's heartbeat when i visited her at wk 6.. but i guess there's no need to panic if u dun see it then coz sometimes the way we count the preg dates may not be accurate..

chemistry: thanks for explaning to me...i hope to see it soon...

miso: thank you! i'm only here temporary to learn and if there are more khakis in the new thread, i'll migrate loh...hope you all don't mind...

Timie: wah...it must be very exciting to see the heartbeat huh? btw, my date of conception is confirmed because hb & i BDed on ovulation day...and conceived...

Hi miso

Thanks for the info, i'll take note. u too encounter the pain?

Hi sneaky

i'm 6 weeks liao. Hee! my appointment after CNY n hope that i'll be able to hear bb heartbeat. How abt u?

confused, me not so liao..cos 2nd time preggie. for 1st timer, usually will feel more frequent sharp pains arnd the abdomen cos uterus stretching. For us, not much liao and tummy also looks bigger and shows earlier cos stretched oredi.

the feeling should somewhat be like when experiencing mense cramp..if u feel uncomfy or persistent sharp pains over a long period...should consult ur gynae k?

Hi Sneaky,
I dunno abt the v-scan. I went to see the gynae when I was 8 weeks, so gynae did a adominal scan to see the bb lor... to play safe, u might want to see the gynae a bit later lor so u can see the bb's heartbeat.

tingting, do you know roughly the price range for the oscar test? will you be doing the test? What abt the rest of the mommies?

Vone, you are in yr 10th week. How you feeling now? Last week or so you were on MC right? This week better?

Hoshi, i haven't told my boss yet, but i think she guessed. Cos my MC gave it away. She noticed the the name of the clinic is very different from the one i frequent and my gynae's stamp says O & G. So i think she roughly guessed liao.

sneaky, don't worry, V scan is quite ok.

timie
how many weeks along you are now? You can hint to your boss that you may be on 2 or 3 mths leave from that particular month onwards.
btw you close with your boss?
mine is a female boss...quite okie lor..but a bit big-mouth.

hi sneaky, i saw bb's heartbeat at about 6 weeks +.. before that i saw the embryo only... i'm always under v-scan until 11+ weeks when i had my first ab-scan. v-scan can see clearer esp during the first trimester. my ab-scan wasn't v clear n doc had difficulty checking the spcific devts of the bb..v-scan is simply like having a round pole poking in lor... just mildly uncomfortable at the beginning.

hi michelle, my bb was 5.3cm at 11+ weeks, but bb devt differs at the beginning n will even out with their peers over time..not to worry...

hi CMY,
i am taking up the OSCAR test as well, didn't know it cost so much. It was the purple colored brochure. This test will perform around week 11 to 14 right? Do we need to book in advance? i guess i be in week 11 when i do it. How many weeks are u now?

hi confused and cakey,
me too have those pain, especially more these few days, but felt more relieve when i hear its the womb expanding from the girls here

erowen, i m still not feeling so gd. still feel naseaous all d time & got no appetite. when i went 2 c my gynae on sat, found out tat i had lost another 2 kg.

erowen, me 14 wks now..my bosses are male, not close to them, but i guess no choice coz they've arranged for me to handle a proj scheduled for Oct05, which i'll be on maternity leave then.. juz wondering if i shd suggest a person to take over when i break the news to them or let them think of a replacement..?

vone, me lost abt 2kg too. but it shd be ok coz piling on too much wt will make it difficult to shed later, put on ard 8-10kg in all shd be safe??

Timie,
I think u shld break the news to them, and it's up to ur bosses to make the decision whether to find a replacement or not.
My boss also female, quite ok, but prob is, i'm the only staff under her, so i help her do most of the work. Not sure wat happens if i go on long leave....
my tummy also not obvious and i always 'hide' it under my jacket... haha...

ya, agree with u hoshi, think i'll let them know once i get the chance to. me also 'hiding' little tummy most of time..
most co. will get a temp staff if no one's able to cover right?

<table border=1><tr><td>@ 31 Jan 05</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mommies-To-Be</TD><TD>Mommie's Age</TD><TD>Place of Stay</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Name of Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicole</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>5-Aug-05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>maltbibi</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>6-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr C T Yeong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emmie</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>6-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Libtuarius</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>7-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr A L Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chemistry</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>tba</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendyg</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>tingting</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle Chow</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Johor Bahru</TD><TD>10-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Tan Jui Seng</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>miso</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr S H Kee</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixwong</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>erowen</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cakey</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>hoshi5</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>29-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>vone</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Bedok Reservoir</TD><TD>30-Aug-05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Dr Chan Siew Tung</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>angel</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>4-Sep-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Koh Ghim Hwee</TD><TD>RH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karin Chan</TD><TD>35</TD><TD></TD><TD>5-Sep-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SeaBreeze</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sep-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>christina</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Sep-05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Sep-05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>angieooi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>16-Sep-05</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wei </TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>reenie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>26-Sep-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

All mummies-to-be, please let us know if you wish to join us

hi girls

my gynae told me that he will be doing triple test and nuchal transparency scan on 2 Mar (week 14). Initially he proposed doing aminiotesis (spelling?) but I rather check for down syndrome using non-invasive method first. I think cost is around $300+

i told my boss from the time i knew i conceived. cos am the straightforward type..so if i got mood swings or watever..he will at least know la..haha!

My gynae just made an appt for me this friday at 9.30 am to do the oscar test at tmc.

vone, i also feeling very nauseous...esp after 6pm...no appetit for dinner, just wanna sleep and sleep. Did yr gynae said anything abt the weight loss? If it's ok, then no need to worry. btw i see that you yet to decide where to deliver? hmmm which hospital you have in mind?

hi timie, if got project allocation, then it's better to inform your boss. So he can make the arrangement.

hi erowen,
i guess my evening sickness are worst, i felt the same too, i couldn't eat much in the evening time as well. More of tireness. But i tried to eat a little. I woke up once at 3am to eat biscuits and milk, so hungry.

miso - okie will c doctor if the pain get serious.

Angel can i join in too? I'm 29, EDD 21.09.05. Gynae - Dr Adrian Woodworth, hospital - MAH

confused: i'm week 4 half only, i think...shd be around week 5 half when i visit the gynae next week.

hoshi5: i will check with HB if he wants to postpone it till later.

tingting: thanks for description v-scan...sounds quite alright..kekekeke

Hi erowen, was told by gynae the package for oscar test (nuchal scan + blood test) and a detailed scan at 20th week is $388 package excl. gst. For those who hv missed this.. can do triple test at your gynae's clinic.

My ms has subsided..I put on another 1 kg when gynae weighed me..haiz.. but I think my appetite has gone downhill...*hopefull* else i will become a hippo liao! hahaha...

Hi sneaky, me also..only abdomen scan from the first visit at 5 weeks 4 days till now. At first visit can see a sac liao.

Angel sorry forgotten to add. I'm 6 weeks liao.

Miso - Wow so nice! you have a understanding boss leh cos he understand your moodswing. me too leh, warn hubby n boss that if i get angry cant blame me cos mood swing ah. Aiyo! i cant stop eating.

Hi Angel,
Please add me in your list too. Thanks~

Mommies-to-Be: cat_tail
Mommy's Age: 28
Place of Stay: Kallang Airport
EDD: 30-Aug-05
Week: 9
Name of Gynae: Dr Lisa Wong
Hospital: SGH

hehe... confused, i can't get away with mood swings cos my hb says i already have them before i was pregnant, so no exemption... :p but during this period u can't control mah...sob sob... good thing after a while i stopped mood swinging so much cos i fall asleep most of the time..

i'm into fried stuff like fries, fried chicken, though i'm quite intolerant of normal oily food like stir-fry food, n now i have pimples..sob sob... but cannot eat cooling stuff at this time... any good pimple cream/gel to recommend?

ahh reenie, so we are in the same boat, we are night sickness...i forced myself to try to eat some for dinner, cos i experienced waking up to eat and after that i was so sleepy the entire day at work! wouldn't you?

confusedgal, i'm also seeing dr adrian woodworth.
You are visiting him at the sengkang or CCk outlet?

miso, tks for the info!

Hi tingting

me too leh, ate a lot of fried n hot stuff. My pimple oso cant stop popping out last few weeks. Hee! i'm using the body shop teatree mask n it really helps. (now pimple lesser liao)

Aiya! dont know why i feel hungry all the time. (ate alot n still feel hungry after a short while) n worse ah, if i dont eat, i'll have gastric pain

Hi erowen

yes, i went to CCK outlet. How abt u?

Hi Rennie, the booking for Oscar test was done by the clinic. Just 2 days in advance. Think when i was in 8weeks my gyane already explained this test to me. He lets us to decide. Althought i am still young but still have the risk for DS. That's why normally DS bb was gave birth by younger mother even though the risk should be at the older age. Coz the young mother normally thought they don't have the risk coz they are still young. Today i am in first day of 14th weeks...

Hi Angie, please add me.
place of stay:Khatib
EDD:1 Aug 05
Week: 14
Gyane: Dr Hii Hoi Chin
Hospital: Mt Alvernia