(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi Lib
what happened? Were they unhelpful?

Angieooi, think yrs quite okie. when i had bleeding during my 5th week, it was on a sunday and i had no choice but to page for my first gynae (i'm seeing another person now. He arranged for me to go down to mt alvernia. My bill came up to $345 with checkup, pills and a jab. Then i took the hormone pills for 2 weeks, thrice a day.

Don't worry so much ya. Take plenty of bedrest and relax.

HI Gals,
Saw some dark brown discharge early in the morning. Then no more till now. Just saw another small dot on my panty. CAlled my gynae and he say can monitor and see how since i'm taking duspaston. Getting worried now
Do you all think i should rush down since it is a few dots and so brown?

hi Lib, your com and MD are so mean. btw, dont think u feel justify bout their decision rite?
how about asking them to write in black and white why they demand u to resign from the company instead of verbally. maybe it can serve as evidence if u want to get a redress fr yr MP. or tell them, u r not going to resign today, cos u need to find out wat are your rights 1st and u may want to discuss with yr MP bout compensation. This may scare them off abit. Jus suggestions for yr considerations. Conclusion is not to give till u demand yr rights.

hi lib,
its like that, mom staff are not all helpful, especially if you do phone queries. its best to drop down and talk face to face. BUT i can tell u, i have seek for their help before, it takes time and they seems to take side with employor. So make your statement and get your compensation. You have not tender the letter right?

hi bbmom,
maybe you should go see your gynae...maybe feel more secure and comfortable.

yar they juz say that the employer has the rite to terminate you by giving you notice period. so when ask even if pregnant, they say MOM can't do anything.

I have not tender, but I really don't feel like coming to work. in fact this morning i oso dun feel like coming.

btw, if anyone of u also facing the same prob as me, you may want to write to our Prime minister lee, his mail is [email protected]

Lib,
in this case, did your company give u notice period? if they ask u to leave today, u must seek for compensation, its only fair. Don't tell me they want you to serve a month notice? Like what you said, you don't even feel like coming in anymore, let alone serving for another month, go in and do what?

thanks for the email to PM

hi lib, have yr company offer any package to you? Like how many months' salary? What abt yr colleagues? Are they supportive towards you?

bbmom, my gynae told me if it's very brown discharge, it's not so bad. But it's better to go down to have a check, just to play safe. Did you experience that before? btw the duspaston you mentioned, are they hormone pills?

hi all, no the company won't offer any thing.. anyway i have decided to resign & leave this company and stay home for the time being.

i am now doing the handover, dun worri i oni give out 50% hehe..

hi lib, remember not to handover the real impt stuff... n delete all emails and files from ur pc.. u still writing that email to PM? maybe he can think of punishments for such companies that go against govt agenda..haha...

cheer up though, it's the weekend, and tomorrow will be better...

take care Lib... now can be tai tai at home..

tingting..will check out the pricing here and let you know. Have you started on it yet?

hi lib,
in this case, take it easy, i am sure you be able to find a better company nxt time! Take this opportunity to rest and do what u like, perhaps you can start to teach baby some stuff
Get more rest, be a happy mummy! Remember to chat with us too.

hi michelle,

thanks! just started 1 week ago. over here it's $30 per bottle of 30 capsules, which is quite expensive!

just now was carrying a rather large stack of books..colleague chided me when she saw me. :p but a bit paiseh to ask pple to help.. like so gu niang...

Thanks gal for yr advises!

I had choosen Dr Vincent Lee from Mt E clinic and Bishan branch.. more convenient for me cos i stay in the North..

Scanned last nite at his clinic
so happy to see the little dot!!! hahaaa...

Hi Lib, was so bz ytd...today am at work..so sian..anyway i wanna say all the best to u and do drop by here often to chat with us k??? promise ya! ((hugs))

Hi fun..how many weeks are you now?

Anyone in today??

Can I join in the fun too? Actually I just discover I am 9 weeks pregnant yesterday! I noe I noe.. very late & blur..heehee

What shall I do now? I am lost & dun noe wat is the next step to go about. Been losing my appetitte & feels nausea..

Hi gals, been busy at work for the entire week, so miss out quite a lot. Didn't know so much happen during the past week.

Cafe,
sorry to hear about your incident. Take care.

Lib,
I understand that all companies have to go thru due process to build up a case to terminate a person, esp if the person is non-exec class. It would be unfair termination if they ask you to leave with no valid reason or warning. Have your company been rating you well in the past recent evaluation? If so, the evidence would be in their disfavour. If you resign, you would find it hard to fight the case further as compared to them terminating you.

Regardless of the circumstances, you need to put yours and bb's happiness on first priority. Fighting such cases tends to be draining and stressful. Singapore is also a very pro-business country and this would not be in your favour.

If you wish to feedback to PM, the email your provide is his official PR's one (i.e. I don't think he reads it). Only emails sent thru SINGOV lotus notes to PM, would be directed into his personal work mail box. But no harm trying. You can also lodge a feedback through www.feedback.gov.sg

miso and tulip,
I'm also experience pain near my butt...at certain angle it's like bone hitting on each other. Until I read your posts, I thot I spain one of my nerves. Do you know how we can relieve the pain?

Hi miso,

Yup, seen my gynae. In fact I was going for my routine check-up cos I have problems in my irregular menses & din expect to find out I am pregnant. I think if I din go, I will never noe I am conceive.

cafe...how are you? is everythg ok? wats the latest after your gynae checkup yesterday?

Welcome cat_tail...you must be elated!

I am down with the flu and having sore throat too, so sean..

Hi girls, count me in too!
Just discovered I'm 5 weeks pregnant with edd end Sep.. now is the time for gynae and hospital shopping...

went to see a female gynae at glenE last week, charged me $100 for consultation; $60 for ultrasound scan through the tummy. Is this the normal charges for first visit? Are subsequent visits this price too? After the tummy scan, gynae told me my foetus is too small to be seen...This makes me wonder later on if she should have done the scan through the virgina instead coz my gfs told me their gynaes did that in the earlier stages of their pregnancy coz it's more accurate and can see better. Anyone has the same experience?

Which gynaes are you all using?

hi miso,

I'm onli 1 mth pregy with edd on 1 Oct... so wil be waiting till 17 Feb to scan again for the heartbeat

hi bellybutton,

i went to see a male gynea in his sub branch in Bishan, his day clinic is in Mt E. My Charges for the first consultation was $60 consultation, $60 for untrasound scan through the tummy also, and $25 for medicine like floic acid, vitamin and nauses for when necessary. My gynea found my foetus which is now 7mm in size. I've also heard from my friend who was 6 weeks pregy when she had her first consultation den, did a scan throught the virginal. But i do have doubts abt how come mine was 4weeks and my gynea could see it over the tummy, and my frd had to do it by the other way... so i actually dun think its better to see thru the underneath lor.. i also think there might be a some risk involve too..

dun worry, u will get to see yr foetus in no time

Hi ladies, good afternoon. Pop in for a quick one today to update my visit to the gynae ytd!

Ytd during scanning, bb inside me keeps kicking! Can see it's hands and legs kicking abt! Very bo eng..gynae says bb is v. active..haha.. Now it is 5 cm long. Gestation shows I am 11 weeks 6 days..ha..and I always tot I am abt 10.5 weeks only. So today am officially 12 weeks liao!! yea!! 2nd tri start liao!

I also asked abt Neurogain..he say he will normally prescribe after one has passed the ms stage as it's got a peculiar smell which will worsen ms. So he asked if I wanted it, if so, he will prescribe lor. 30 tables in a bottle for $25.

Overall for ytd, I paid $80. Breakdown as follows:
$35 for consultation
$5 picture
$10 Blood Glucose Test (cos found traces in urine again..just to be doubly sure, he did a blood test..lucky, result is ok)
$35 for medicine ($25 Neurogain & $10 for Vit B6 and folic acid)

He also provide me with information on Oscar Test. Not sure if I get it correctly, but this is the more recent tests done for DS and accuracy is up to 90% instead of the usual test which is only abt 60 - 70%. This test is to be done at 11th - 13th week gestation. Package at TMC is $388 excl. GST for this Oscar Test plus a detailed scan to be done on the 20th week gestation. Oscar Test includes a nuchal test, which is to chk the foetus thickness of the neck for DS followed by a blood test. And this test has to be done in the morning.

btw, those of you who have taken Neurogain. Do we just swallow the capsule???? Or we hv to break it or chew it?? No particular taste if only swallowing leh...pls advise.

Thanks for the warm welcome wishes. Gosh, this thread really is a busy one. I can't get online so often so I had loads of reading to do this morning! There is a 6 hour time difference. You guys are 6 hours ahead of me.

erowen - I was born in Cape Town but now living in Durban. Hubby is from Kuantan Malaysia.

angel - please add me to your list, I am 9 weeks, age 35, first baby, EDD 5 September 05.

Just an update, I have been feeling a little better lately but some days the vomiting and nausea still gets me down! I wish this nausea will end now!

As for cravings, I dun have anything specific. I just want to eat all the time to get rid of this horrid taste in my mouth. I used to love sweet things like tarts, cakes, sweets, chocolates and now I prefer salty and sour things. We get these really sour sweets here and the other day I ate a whole packet on my own hehe. Tomatoes, I can eat two tomatoes with a little salt at one time no problem. Salty biscuits are also a real treat for me. My mum says she thinks I am having a boy, I sure do hope so, then my hubby's family name will carry on.

How much weight have you picked up so far? I have picked up 3kg since I found out I was pregnant. My gynae says it's too much but I have stayed constant now for 2 weeks, no more weight gain. please comment.

Okie, so nice to read all the news and thanks again for your replies.

hi ladies, been busy at work these days so no time 2 log in. wah... seems like i've missed a lot.

went 2 c my gynae yesterday. now can c d bb oledi & hear tat his heartbeat is beating so fast. hb was so excited 2 c d bb. my gynae said tat at my nxt appt, we shld b able 2 c d hands & legs.

welcome 2 all newcomers.

lib, so sorri 2 hear tat things hv not worked out well 4 u. nvm, i m sure tat u can find a better job after ur birth okie. dun worry, just concentrate on hving a plump & healthy bb okie.

I have lost my bb. Have been bleeding past 2 days and today went for a scan and bb detected no heartbeat liao. Still coping with the loss.

Angel please take my name out the list, thks.

To all, please take good care and best wishes

bbmom, i feel so sad for you...can feel tears welling up in my eyes as I read your posting..

but cheer up ok? build up your body again and try again!

Can i join the thread? I am in 13th weeks. Edd will be on 1 Aug.

Hi Miso,

I just had my Oscar test on last Thursday. Was referred to TMC but they charged me $313 included GST. Can know the result at the late afternoon. Can make the appointment between 8.30am-9.00am only (don't know why leh). I reached there around 9am but only finished at 11.30am. That's because my bb not in the right position. The bb kept on face down instead of face up. The nurse even said my bb very stuborn.

My scan was included detail scan but not at 20th weeks. Did it on the same day. How come different from yours?

About the Neurogain I have to take it after meal else i will feel ms. I swallowed the capsule don't dare to chew it leh.

Hi Michelle,

I am so happy cos being a PCOS, I am still able to get conceive naturally. It's really a blessing in disguise.

Hi bbmom,

I am so sad to hear that. I sincerely hope you are able to get over it & be ready to conceive another one soon. Good luck & have plenty of rest.

Hi bbmom,

So sad to hear of your loss. I had a miscarriage at 13 weeks so I know exactly what you are going through.

Be strong, stay healthy and get plenty of rest. Whatever you do, don't give up ok!

Keep trying and I believe you will have a healthy baby one day.

dear bbmom, i'm so sorry to hear that. Pls take gd care of yrself. Be positive and i'm sure your second pregnancy will be a smoother one. "hugz" We are here for you....

welcome belly button n CMY

belly button, i did a V scan at my 4th week as the ab scan couldn't detect my baby then. too small. I'm using dr adrian woodworth as my gynae. I didn't really like my first gynae....are you comfortable with yrs now?

lib, how are you today?

jill, are you still in this forum? I hope you are feeling better...

hi vone, quite exciting to see the baby's heartbeat right? how many weeks along are you now?

when my hubby saw the heartbeat, he wanted to talk to the baby in the scanning machine!! But gynae around, so he pai say.

morning ladies,
i experience a pain near side stomach. Had it for serveral days...but its not regular, is it normal????

bbmom, do take good care of urselves har. It really makes us sad to hear it....

Must build up ur health before trying again okie?

reenie,
is it sharp pain or something like menses cramps?.. if it's on-off, not very frequent, then shld be quite ok. If u are afraid, can check with ur gynae...

hi bbmom, take care...

reenie, sometimes we may experience short pain here n there ard tummy area...this is the womb stretching itself to accommodate a growing bb.. if it's not sharp / persisting pain, it shld be ok. of course, u can go check with gynae to set ur mind at ease..

hmm, din know that the Oscar test is so expensive. prob won't take it up then...

karin, i try not to put oilment on the tummy myself.. some gals here think it's safe though.. maybe u can check up their website to see if they say anything, or can drop them an email to ask?

hi bbmom,so sorrie to hear the loss..pls take good care of yrself, okie?

hi miso, i tried chewing the capsule this morning, taste fishy lor, so quickly swallowed it. i think advisable to eat it when u dun feel ms so much, coz my fren told me she threw up the capsule together with her meal, so useless eating it.

hi reenie, i do feel slight sharp pain at the side of my abdomen at times, but it's not constant. i think mebe it's the stretching of the tummy/uterus? my gynae said it's ok if the pain is not unbearable or constant and no spotting. If pain doesn't go away, better to see yr gynae.

hi hoshi,
the pain is not like mense cramp, its a pain like pinching? sometimes its occurs a few times in a single row, sometimes just a little while. thanks for your advice

hi tingting,
thanks for your advice too, i guess i will take it as the baby is growing..hahaahaha...but i tink perhaps when i am rushing or walk too fast, the pain comes too.

i didn't know the OSCAR test is so expensive too, i remember my friend telling me doing the test is around 100plus only. I think no choice but to pay for it, if really want to know the result.

hi bbmom,
i am so sad to hear that, please take care and rest well ok? and i am sure you be bless with another child soon in future. Right now, build up your health first.

Hi reenie,
this morning I also exp this kind of pain while on the bus.. it comes abt 7 or 8 short instances then stop. Can't help frowning each time feeling the pain hehe.. This happen to me occasionaly only..

hi, just wanna check with those who have officially passed the 12-week mark... do u still have ms symptoms? i'm coming to 13 weeks, but appetite still not improving...still can't take greasy stuff...

as for the Oscar test, is there a latest test-by date? bcos we'll be due for a detailed scan during week 20 right? it's supposed to detect for DS also... but not as accurate as the blood test. if the scan shows something suspicious, then will consider the test.

today's a real lazy monday for me... though slept at 10 plus, but still v reluctant to climb out of bed this morning.... can't wait for the day to end...

I started using the stretchmark cream from Bodyshop on my tummy and tighs. It's roll-on type, v smooth & not oily or too sticky.. hope it helps to prevent the urghhy marks...

hi tingting, me into 14wk, still feel queasy at times, esp evening or when i take v oily food. a few of my frens suffer ms till their 4th mth b4 appetite start to improve. mine is ok in the morning, so i try to eat more then and lesser in evening, as i get indigestion at nite..

heard tt oscar test can start as early as 11wk..we've decided not to go for any of these tests as we'll keep the bb anyway

Hi tingting,

I'm at my 12 week mark. Can feel myself better nowadays, as in not so tired and less gassy. Same as u, I still cannot take fried stuff and appetite not much better. But, I realised I start to like ice cream. Just shared a earthquake with my hubby last week!

hi chemistry, i also like ice-cream more now! yesterday had a ice-cream waffle at Gelare...yum yum! friends have been jio-ing me to go buffet, but i sure lugi with my appetite now...

timie, i bought the cocca butter cream from body shop last weekend too... but havent tried it yet..

nowadays the weather is so hot that i dun feel like taking soupy stuff, but there's not much other options save for sandwiches...

not that we'll abort the bb if it turns out to have DS, but at least we'll be prepared for it...

erowen, oscar test is a blood test plus scan that detects down syndrome in bb..

HI bbmom, so sorry to hear abt ur loss. Take care ok?! hm..care to tell us what happened if u dun mind?

hi erowen, re. oscar test, you may wish to scroll up and see what i've posted.

hi CMY, how come so diff in pricing? so strange..tt's what my gynae told me leh...anyway, i've decided to go ahead with the test as well..since its 90% accurate. As for detailed scan..should be carried out in 20th week leh..how come urs on the same day? Now too early for a detailed scan leh..*strange* Is it nuchal scan?

Hi ting ting, oscar test to be carried out during 11th to 13th week gestation only.

Hi Timie, no doubt I guess most of us will keep the bb regardless of what the result is..but I gather, if we knew it earlier, we can prepare ourselves mentally.