(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi timie, mine is not as serious as yours.. just dizziness, but i think the cause is the same. you may need to increase your iron intake so that more red blood cells can be generated. now ur body is supplying to both you n your bb... we can also do some light exercises such as walking to improve blood circulation.. when moving from a stationary position e.g. sitting to standing to moving, be more gradual n give yourself time to steady before moving on.. are u also under the sun or aircon? i'm also affected by cold/hot environments.

angel, it's amazing to see a life in u rite? when u go for next scan, u'll see the hands and legs, even fingers! think ur prenatal package is cheap compared to mine, which comes up to $2k. Hospital charges are standard. Which hospital are u considering?

i dun recall signing for package so early leh.. i remember was like 4 or 5mths then sign package.. i paid $1k then...

can those who signed package give more info? ie how much, what is included/not included?

lib, maybe u can start by raising it at PAP meet the pple session.. see how they can help you.

hi tulip, i haven't signed on the package, but $950 b4 gst includes:

- prenatal visits fr week 16 onwards (think it's monthly at the beginning n more frequent later)
- basic scan at each visit
- 2 detailed scans
- prenatal vitamins
- 1 post natal visit

excludes blood tests, special medications. delivery charges separate ($1k for normal delivery).

i enquired fr my gynae recently, was told it'll start fr 5th mth,mthly checkups for 20-32wk and fortnitely to 36wk then weekly thereafter. Costs $500, incl routine urine tests, 2 fetal scans, postnatal visit. Delivery fees start fr $1k.no one ask me to sign up anything..strange..

hi tingting, it juz comes suddenly, was still ok b4 that. yes realise the hot/cold env or crowded places affects. i juz took one iron tablet but everytime i take, feel like puking, the taste is horrible.shd i take some multivit? my hb says to make me eat some birdnest and a bit of ginseng, dunno if it helps?

hi timie, not sure abt birdnest, but heard of ginseng being used to revive people who faint. u can take iron-rich food like beef (or red meat). i'm also not on iron tablets.. hope to get enough iron from natural sources. u may want to take a multivit that includes iron, rather than pure iron tablet, but consult ur gynae first to be safe.

am feeling v drowsy coupled with headache... missing my bed already...

Hi angel,
ur package seems to be quite reasonable. $1550 including all prenatal visits + doctor delivery. Which hospital are u taking up with?
When I read thru the forums, most of the doctor delivery already >$1K.... ur baby bigger than ours. At 8 weeks already 2.26cm.. mine only 1.9.. hehe...

wah, ting2, try not to think so much leh.. my sister told me tat anything can happen during pregnancy... so i was very scared. but when I see my gynae, he told us to take things easy and enjoy the pregnancy esp if it's the 1st one. To think of it, imagine last time, not much medical faciliites and our grandmothers, great-grand can deliver so many babies with no problems.. so dun frighten ourselves and try to relax...

Thanks Lib and Timmie..yup that's the website i needed. Wanted to check out the sarong sling.

Hope all goes well at work Lib. I know for a fact that MOM can't help if you are at upper management level or salary above S$1600.

Why is it so popular in Spore to sign packages?
What if you decide later to change gynae?

Here in JB, we pay per visit basis, usually for basic checkup and scan is abt RM50 (including vitamins) We dont need to sign packages, maybe coz its quite expy and also we have the option to deliver at government hospitals.

hi tingting, yes the day is going by slowly..sigh. recently i also suffer fr headache on & off, fr mild to severe ones. my gynae says it's normal due to hormone changes.

hi michelle, most of the time signing on package is later part, in 2nd tri, so shd be quite fixed on the gynae already. most hospitals in s'pore is no longer considered "govt" so most deliver in pte hosp..

hey mum to bes!

May i join in the fun? I had tested positive onli over the last weekend.. now having headache on which gynea to go to.. here's some i had shortlisted

1) Peter Chew from gleneagles
2) Lawerence Ang from TWC Sunplaza
3) Vincent Lee from Mt e

Any comments ladies? BTW how to u actually decide on which gynea? does the Price realli matters??

hi fun, welcome & congrats!
normally it'd be thro frens/relatives' recommendations, since they've gone thro the process b4..

hi fun, welcome! yah, mostly by word of mouth, though for me it's convenience
but must make sure ur fren is of same character as you... what's comfortable to someone may not be so for you...

hoshi5, i try not to think lah, but sometimes imagination runs wild.. :p

recently i've been waking up a few times at night...not to go toilet though, but just couldn't get a good night's sleep.. n super reluctant to get up in time for work...

same here, nowadays tend to wake up in semi-conscious state quite a no. of times each nite. then day time v tired, if i sit on the couch, i can doze off anytime.. feel like a piggy, eat & sleep, esp on wkends.

hi tingting

yeah.. it is amazing to see life forming inside our body. My hospital is Raffles Hospital.

I just called them. My package includes (sign up at 12weeks)

- all antenatal consultation
- basic scan at each visit
- 1 post natal consultation
- all vitamins, calcium tablets + folic acid
- doctor normal delivery charges

Additional cost: detailed scan at $180 and all blood & urine test

Hospital package
- 1 bedder - $1388 for 2D/1N, each add night cost $300
- 2 bedder - $988 for 2D/1N each add night cost $200

Baby package
- $300 for 2D/1N nursery charges, additional nights same as mummy's additional nights charges
- $200 for pd fees

Medisave claimale $1500 from whole bill.

Hi ladies, for the time being i'm fine here, thanks very much!! Anyway see how it goes.

welcome fun!!, so how many weeks you are in?

hi ladies!
Dropping in to give everyone a {{HUG}}, been so busy today at work! Crazy thursday. And next week is going to be worst i guess.
Hope all mummies are doing great! Its close to end of the day

hi Lib,
I think you should write in to seek for some advice or get this matter noted, especially if the MD really pressure you to leave. I think its not fair to do this to you. Please stay strong and do talk to anyone here or your friend or hubby about it.

hi tingting and girls,
actually i have seen a similar case in my company recently, the baby heart beat stop at week 36, i am so sad by the news. When my colleague told me she is on hospitalisation leave instead on maternity, i knew something went wrong. Such things is beyond our control. The more we worried, the worst we feel. I am quite affected upon hearing this and start to get paranoid, ask my husband if he can hear my baby heart beat inside my tummy...i wish i have those ultra-sound machine at home so that i can monitor regularly!

Hi Lib
Sory to hear about yr MD. Glad you are taking it well.

Miso
I also fell like getting mc from gynae to rest. Feeling damn tired. Colleague on mc and i am covering her work. If i on mc few days, sure the one covering me will 'beng'. Whenever i on leave she will call me millions time, so don think can also rest if on mc.

BTW I have the discount card for Perfect mom, entitled 15% discount, those who need it can get from me. Sorry miso, just got the card so can't share with you and read that you have the card liao.

Talk about package, mine is $1100 inclusive all prenatal visits + doctor delivery. It exclude all medication and blood test. Will need to pay half in cash and the rest with medisave. Gynae say will start next visit when i am 13 weeks

Timei, not v sure if we can take ginseng. Think check with yr gynae 1st. Birdnest i remembered i started 4 mths onwards for my 1st one.

Michelle, i think all sign package in SIN if not it will be too costly then. 1 visit , i will have to pay about 100 plus for scanning, consultation and pills. So imagine no package, we will be super broke. Low chance to change gynae then as package normally starts 3rd mths onwards.

Hi Fun, welcome. Same as the rest, mine is thru recommendation, then see him feel comfy. I think most importantly the gynae must make you feel comfortable to be so 'open' with him/her

Welcome confused! Why are you confuse?
How many weeks are you?

wah...bbmom so early? Couldnt sleep?

Just woendering, has anyone started taking 'nerugain' yet? When should we start? I forgot to ask my gynae at the last visit but according to another girlfriend of mine, she started at week 14. I am week 12 now.
Any feedback?

morning michelle,

u mean the fish oil neurogain? a few of us have already started, me at week 12. heard it's cheaper to buy in malaysia. if got good lobang let us know!

hope everyone feeling good today
because its FRIDAY!
My morning is so early, with a meeting at 8am
now i feel so tired and worst, with an upset stomach, been 3 days...

hi bbmom,
Can we pay our package with medisave? actually i am quite confuse like what are the benefits we can get from the government latest policy, besides the 3 month confinement thingy.

hi tingting,
what is fish oil neurogain for? so far, my gynae only given me folic acid and say its good enough.

hi Timie,
U are not the only one, me too is a Miss Piggy on weekends! wake up eat breakfast, sit and watch some TV, next thing, i doze off....then wake up eat lunch....same thing repeats... EXcept for weekdays, i force myself to stay alert and be Miss Beezy :p

Morning girls!
Reenie, I only know tat with the new govt policy, we are entitled to use up to $450 for prenatal visits. Tat means to say we have to keep receipts of all the consultation we have made. I think it's during the hospital admission we need to submit all the claims and the hospital will help us claim back lor... but as to the hospital bills and gynae claim, I also dunno how much. It seems to differ from people to people.... can any1 help?

hehe.. I haven't even bought the stretchmark oil.. maybe will buy later on.... hehe... It's the brand 'Clarins' recommended by one of the ladies here right?

good morning ladies, today will be my last day here. last nite, my chairman has told me that it would be best that i leave the co, anyway my concern now is do i tender my resignation or ask for a termination letter? actually does it makes a diff?

hi reenie,

the fish oil is for bb's brain development. usually u can start as early as week 8, cos bet 8 - 12 the brain starts to develop. it's more of a good to have, like a supplement for better brain? not like folic acid, which is for fundamental physical devt.

as for medisave, we can use up to $450 to pay for prenatal visits. tht's why the clinic will usually ask u to save up the receipts and claim when u deliver. u can give them to the hospital before u check out.

when u go into 2nd tri, u'll also be getting multi vits n calcium tablets.

Hi bbmom, no problem la it's ok..no need to feel apologetic. hehe.. I think I will request for a few days mc from gynae when I see him 2mlr...feeling v. lethargic..it's beyond words!!

Hi reenie, remember to keep all the receipts from the gynae and you can claim for it up to $450 from the latest govn scheme. Present it to the nurses when u 'chk in' to the hospital. They will do it for you.

Hi confusedgal, welcome here..

morning!
really look forward to pig-out tomorro! esp now that i've caught the flu bug fr my hb..urghh..

reenie, sounds exactly wat i've been doing.. haha..even weeknites, i hv my dinner & crawl into the couch, find a snug position & can slouch there for the rest of the nite..good thing i've not been putting on wt as yet, but mentally feel bad leh. can't help it, physically really tired..sigh.

ya, tingting, me not given fish oil yet also.must eat so early? even calcium she says no need to eat so early, mebe next round..

hi lib, termination is normally viewed more negatively (like being sacked). But are they going to compensate you if they terminate you? For resignation, you definitely can't ask for any compensation..

Lib,

oh no, why so sudden? don't u want to fight for your case? if you don't quit, the only option they have is to terminate you with a termination letter. and with that, you can try to fight your case with either MOM or MP or PM. If u quit, you will have no more grounds to fight for a redress.

Hi miso, tingting, hoshi
Thanks for the information! the nurse nor the clinic tell me anything when i pay last time....lucky i kept the reciept! i don't seems to be aware of all these benefits :p you girls are so well-informed! Thanksssss!!

hi Lib,
I am so sorry to hear this, are you okay?
if you tender today, are they paying you the one month salary?? it seems to me that they are asking you to leave, so you should wait for their termination letter instead, this way you can actually get them to give you the one month salary. Am i right to say that?

hi tinging,
thanks for the information on fish oil. Think i need to talk more with my gynae on my next visit.

keep receipts? but what about pple like me who can claim some money from our coy when we go dr ah? ask for 2 receipts?

Hi Lib
sad to hear that.. i think it is really unfair treatment.. do they know it will be totally impossible for you to get a job at this stage? i think they are very unsympathetic employers.. squeeze mileage out of you then dump you like tissue paper. on second thot, hey, why work for such coy!!!

This morning I went to take my weight....AND OMG, my weight is still stagnant, i.e. 1.7kg below my pre-pregnant weight. Thought that i will have gain some back cos felt tummy have grown a little. Wonder what's wrong with me! Urghhhhh.... Hopefully will gain back a little in my 2nd trimester. My 1st trimester ending soon, next week!

Anyone watch Here's looking at u Babe at CNA last night? The babies are so cute! Then there is this story about the brave mummy who got leukemia delivered her 2nd son. So touching!

Hi tingting,

Where can we get neurogain in S'pore? Watson or Guardian got? I'm taking walnuts now cos my colleague told me they are good for bb's brain too!

Hi angel,

Look like your package quite worth it leh. KKH's antenatal package starts at week 16 cost $620 for 10 visits, includes, urine test, normal scanning and consultation. Blood test, detail scan etc will be at additional charges. For hospitalisation, KKH's 1 bedder package is $2.5K+, includes delivery, 2D ward charges.

Hi Lib,

Sorry to hear that! I think your MD is too much! But let matter rest so easily. Go and see your MP for help. If they press u for resignation letter, just tell then u are going to consult your MP!! That's what 1 of my colleague did and my HR dare not anyhow terminate or degrade her. Ended up she got her way and got an early retirement with pension!

tingting, where did you read abt the baby's death in 35th week...very sad and scary leh.

for my package, it's 550. Can sign up from any weeks onwards. And my gynae advised me to see him as and well i feel unwell, e.g. flu, cough or fever.I signed up during my 9th week visit. This week i'm in my 10th week.

Lib, don't worry so much. Will you and yr hubby be financially ok if you quit your job?

Sorry, just sharing my viewpoint, if at the end of the day, you went thru the petition and get to keep the job, who knows your superior or MD may make things lagi more difficult for you? It's not easy to stay in such a hostile environment for pregnant woman. The relationship betw you and the company has strained already, it will not be easy to stay on.

i think you don't do the petition first , as it may aggravate things, talk to yr immediate superior and try to convince him, maybe promise that you will come early for work and see if there's anyway you can work from home on certain days?

seriously like what u said, even if we are not in good financial status, staying here will oso caused many unhappiness. my hb was telling even if we realy face financial status, with the blessing think we can ujuz pull throu.. juz dun want the little one to stay in a humiliate environment (if staying)

hi reenie,

it's not that crucial to keep the earlier receipts cos our prenatal package is definitely more than $450 already rite... that receipt is enough to claim the full sum liao...

tulip, my clinic gives me 2 receipts. one with detailed items, and another is just the total fee. i use the 2nd one for company claims.

chemistry, am still finding cheaper sources of neurogain. the one i bought is from my gynae. I also lost weight as of last visit, down by 0.8kg, although waist expanded a bit n got little tummy already..it's ok so long as you're eating healthily n bb growing well. bcos i cannot tahan oil have been eating real plain stuff like yong tao fu n porriage.. only oily stuff i can take is fast food... that's why pple say bb will be a "kantang" next time..haha...

Lib, i will fight the case if i were in your shoes. Stand firm and dun give in to company's demand to resign. You may want to write your email to PM and see MP now. This is as good as discrimination. If this is really your last day, do not do any handover or briefing. They can scramble all they want. Take care..

lib, the recourse u can seek may not be only to retain your job, but can also be in form of monetary compensation. agree that it may be ugly and long drawn, but shld we just let ourselves be pushed over by a larger muscle? At the very least, voice your unhappiness to PM. let him know the reality that working mothers are facing. i will also tell him the name of the company... nothing to lose already what.

lib, i think yr company does appraisal right? How's yr rating and performance appraisal by your boss? Can't yr immediate boss do something for you?

anyway, whatever decision you make, we will be here for you. Most importantly is not to stress yourself too much.

Lib, any possibility of going half-time for yr work, so tt u can hv enuf rest & still keep the job with some income? juz to tahan till bb comes. thereafter look for another job after confinement..

Hi Lib,
I know how you feeling, and it best to remain calm now, get your rights and $$, walk out gracefully.
I believe your baby will be happier too! I am not sure of your financial status, but if its ok, wait will baby is born, look for another job, you might get a better company with a better management
Stay positive!

Hi bbmom n miso

Thanks for the welcome
yesterday nite went to c gynae n was told that i m 6 week pregnant liao. (still early so cant c baby yet) how abt u?

lib,
u have to weigh the situation lor. If u resign on ur own, at least u leave the company in good faith, n it will be easier to find the next job with good references. If the company terminates u, u get some form of compensation, but on the other hand, it will not look good for ur future references. So u have to really think thru before making a decision ok?...

tingting, u r right. Our prenatal will definitely be more than $450 liao....
Do u have details abt the medisave for doctor and hospital fees?.. quite confusing also...

hi Lib,
its okay, we are here to share and listen
Don't worry, if you have internet access at home, we can still chat! I'm sure we will be delighted to see u online.

no prob.. ladies dun worri, i'm a happy-go-lucky mom2b!!!

btw, remember was sharing with you gals tat i eat alot during my 1st tri?? tink has eat too much, so now my appetite has gone down..

so ladies if u r eating too much, don't worry cos your appetite will change as time goes..

Hi Lib, so sorry that your MD got the guts to even suggest tt to u! so angry le...but if you willing to fight, maybe can voice it out to the relevant authorities..some MPs are good, so also depends on your luck. Maybe can get few mths compensation????

Me also...find tt my appetite has gone down le..though MS also not much nowadays..2mlr gg to see my gynae, hope everything is ok.

Hi confusedgal, me abt 10 weeks 3 days today..2nd time mommy.

wow seems like your package and del.fee rather cheap leh.
my gynae from mt alvernia. dr ho. hk
i not going to glen e dr fong liao. glen e too far.
dr ho's package is 600 for wk16onwards.
del is 1400 for normal
dunno if it includes hospitalisaion or not

i went to him yeasterday coz i was bleeding slightly on wed. full-checkup $80, scan$50, hormone medi$25, urine test$7, hormone jab$37. total 215!!!!

i gotta go take hormone jab every week. up till wk 12. now only wk 6+
damn pain i tell u!!!
if everyweek go to him $200. i'll be broke!!!!
i almost faint!!!!!!

hi angie, think at the end of the day packages seem quite the same.. some packages are cheaper but doesn't include some items, while others more exp but more comprehensive. meantime, take care of yourself n let bb grow well..

lib, even if u're terminated no worries abt looking bad on ur resume. We usually write the period of working in each company only. If asked why u left, just say the company terminated you bcos u were pregnant. Who can fault you on that? If the new company takes this negatively, it won't be a pro-family org anyway.

hoshi5, think we can pay medical bills with medisave, but must have min bal available first. not sure abt delivery charges. will have to find out more abt it..