(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Thks Reenie, sometimes they juz dun understand why we produced work not in time.. partly due to the management stress, lack of manpower, still got to cope with the hormone changes!!! sigh...

see how it goes, juz went to the website of mom, it didn't state much except that if we are now in our 6months of pregnancy the company is still eligible in paying us our maternity pay!!!

hi ladies, i juz tried to call my boss as he is out of office now. left him a sms to ask him if this is really his decision and would like to tok to him about this, and he say will tok tomolo cos he is out liao.

i really not sure how my hb will react if he were to hear this, so far i oni shared it with you gals & some of my kakis here.

lib, must fight for yr rights, there's no way a company can bully a pregnant lady in this manner. u shd not resign, tell them if they wan, they terminate u (see what reason they can give), then i'm sure u can make a case at MOM for wrongful dismissal.

hi vone,
i'm sure your health is going to improve! no worries, i think during the 1st trimester or first few months, our body are adjusting to the whole system, so abit tiring.

hoshi,
tell u someting, the other i wore a pant to work, after lunch i feel so full and i need to unbutton!!! so now i am wearing skirts or dress only. Actually i was thinking of getting some draw string pants/skirt, don't intend to spend alot on maternity wear, where do u think i can get? i saw Zoe Tay show, i guess those are really expensive stuff, 2 or 3 pieces still okay, but too much, baby powder $$$ is gone.

Lib, i think if you tender resignation , they are not going to compensate you, unless its a retrenchment or fired. But before you start thinking of this, talk to your boss first.

precisely my kakis all very angry but they can't do anyting oso..

see how it goes, i'm awaiting to mit my boss tomolo will update u guys

lib, since ur boss said tat he'll talk 2 u tml, then wait til tml & c wat he says. i do agree wif cookie, dun resign, let them terminate u. at least u can complain 2 mom abt ur wrongful dismissal. mayb u can talk 2 ur hb 1st 2 warn him abt it. after all, it wld b quite a big change 4 both of u.

reenie, hopefully things wld get better when i m in my 2nd tri. keeping my fingers crossed.

Hi lib, does ur MD knows u r preggie now? Or only ur colls and boss knows? And how many mths are you? I can chk for u.

Hi hoshi, Perfect Mom got 4 outlets I think, hm..at International Plaza, The Arcade, Tanjong Pagar and Heartland Mall.

I bot 3 pairs of pants, one of them is a jeans type material! I am so satisfied! No buttons, no strings..nothing..the cutting is a V in front..so comfy.

Hi bbmom, only one of the tops I bot is in XS size..cos tt cutting is big. The pants 2 of them in M size and 1 is L size le..

see how it goes, ladies pls wish me luck.. tinking not oni on the financial part but oso come to tink of it, it will oso be very boring for me to stay home for the next few months!!!

Hi lib

i think you shld stand for your rights? there is a MOM law that ladies shld not be retrenched because they are pregnant. also staying at home now very boring.. at least when bb comes, you got someone to take care and fuss abt.. if now no job, very boring one.

Hi miso, v front pants sounds good. the one i bought fr katong mall is v front skirt.. comfy! i think the pants from katong mall are about $69, so after disct about $63.. wear until full term.. very hua! i remembered last time i bought one from 9mois.. costed me $90, not v comfy but i die die buy.. then after 2 mths i cannot wear cos the thigh increase size... terrible. think i will go to katong mall again before their offer ends on this sunday

Hi Lib,
actually i am quite worry if this happen to me. But i tell myself, if this happen, i will have to stay positive for the baby. Look for another job after the confinement, still need feed and contribute to family
Especially now most of us are paying our own house and other expenses.
All the best, don't think too much first. Talk to your hubby tonite, let him know, cos' when problem is shared, you will feel much better

Hi Miso,
how much on average is the pants? i am looking for jeans type pants too. Can it be stretchable till 3rd trimester?

Hi Vone,
Yup, i am praying hard too...let's hope our 2nd trimester is good good!!! *wink*

actually i think when the governm announced 3mths maternity leave.. it was a real disadv to the married woman. nowadays, when pple go for interview, the interviewer will ask when u starting family etc.. i find it very funny.. are we supposed to stay unmarried and work for the coy only? i thot company should promote more family relations: happy employee = higher returns... but no.. they want singles to do the work and stay single.
to me, as i speak to other mothers, a lot of them actually want to go back to work after 2nd mths (esp if they are not the stay at home type). can die i tell u.. whole day listening to bb crying.. i think what mothers needed is assurance of a carer for the bb. then bb sitter not cheap, infant care worst.. unfortunately for some, mil or mother cannot take care.. then prob will start... giving 3rd mth.. doesnt help

Hi Lib, taken from MOM's webbie.

If my employer dismisses me during my pregnancy, will I still be entitled to my maternity benefits? What if I think I was unfairly dismissed?

If the notice of dismissal is carried out without sufficient reason within the 3 months before your delivery, your employer is still required to pay you the maternity benefits.
In the case of a dispute, you should first talk to your employer to understand the reason for dismissal. If you think that you have been unfairly dismissed, you should seek the union's help (if you belong to a union) or legal help. You may also submit an appeal to the Minister for Manpower within 2 months from the date of childbirth.

I understand from my boss you can complain to the MOM and/or look up the MP to voice out your displeasure. Alternatively, if you think it's wrongful termination, seek a lawyer's help.

Hi reenie, the jeans material type is so comfy I will highly recommend you to buy it. The lady is v. helpful and friendly too. I am eligible to get the member's card..so if u wanna buy, I can meet you. Yes, the pants can wear till u deliver and after delivery, still can wear! haha..tt's the best part. Jeans one cost $79.90. The rest all $89.90

hi garlic,
you can get those instant packet one at ntuc or any supermarket at those beverages shelf. It sure helps in nausea and bloating in stomach. But taking that might be quite heaty so take abit and observe first.

hi Tulip,
i agree with what you said about job security, afterall, its boils down to the expenses we need to cater after child-birth, be it nanny care or mother helping, its the same. For me, i will be getting my mother to help out, but i am still paying her as the rate outside cos' she has to stop work to help me. Even parents need to survive and eat. The 3rd month maternity can be good and bad, but i would rather give it up if its going to cost my job.

Hi Miso,
Good to hear that! i will let u know if i am getting the pants from Perfect Mom!
Can we still wear it after birth? will it be too baggy by then...hahahaha...

Hi reenie

u know my first preg i was so stressed.. at the 3rd week of maternity leave, my mother suddenly said she cannot help. it is too tiring for her.. i was so disappted.. i had to go out and search for infant centre during my confinement. now i know i cannot expect others to sacrifice their time. this time around, we decided we will get a maid (i was really dead against maid for my first bb). but i guess no choice.. but i will still send my 1st child (by then she is more than 18mths) to the childcare nearby.. whether wholeday or flexi hours..

so for all u gals there.. really start planning.. if u want to get bb sitter, start interviewing now.. dun be like me.. i lucky in the end found a good infant centre..

ya.. maybe by then pants expanded.. ha but we also wont lose weight so fast lah.. i took 6mths to lose that 14kg. i tink perfect mum is more ex than the katong shop.. maybe the next time i go see if got membership benefit.. then we can share

tulip, i was aso tinking of getting a maid 2 help me in my hsewk & 2 look after my bb when i m back at wk. my mil had oledi told hb tat she wldn't help in doing my confinement & looking after my bb. as 4 my mum, she stayed 2 far away. so no choice, i tink i'll hv 2 employ a maid oledi. hv u start sourcing 4 1?? if yes, let me noe if u got any recommendations. tks.

hi vone

i will start looking for one say in mid may.. meanwhile just look for rates.. but now so much changes to the maid employment regulations.. by then .. dunno what liao! ha. but i will let you know of updates.
my major concern abt maids is that they cannot teach and worst.. i dun want my child to pick up tagalog... still must get someone to supervise the maid.. so.. my target is maid only for 1 yr... at most 2 yrs.. then ownself xingku never mind.. for the childrens' good

Hi Lib,

Just read your posting. How can do your co. do tis to u! It's so unfair. I hope your immediate boss can speak to your MD. Do keep us posted. Hope to hear good newz fm u.

hi tulip,
understand how u feel...suddenly lost of what to do next. Finding a good nanny is tough, so i rather my mom to quit her work and help me, i try to pay her, still need to work out a sum with my hubby. I think the initial year, like up to 18mths or 2 years old, i prefer someone to take care. Later stage, might consider going for nursery or pre-school. I heard there's 1/2 day childcare as well, just want my child to socialise.

Katong shop is it far? Do they have a wide range of maternity wear? Right now, i am feeling so tired even on weekends, i guess i will start hunting for clothes if i feel much better.

Hi vone and reenie

ya.. not easy to find nanny and maid.. i hear horror stories but i also hear good ones. my auntie say.. depend on ur luck! for my mom, we intend to pay her.. but i tink she is the type that cannot sit at home one.. so i guess no pt forcing her and make everybody unhappy.. find my own way out lah.. so far, i am very happy with my gal in infant centre.. the teachers love her and she is very sociable.

quite a big range.. the yun maternity is very bright colour and the new maternity stuff are very comfy (tube, yoga top etc)...i remember i saw a brown linen pants but that one is full panel.. later stage can wear.. got linen skirts too. the service is quite good.. not pushy.. let u try and make sure it is good mileage before they ask u to consider.. katong mall, can take bus 16 from orchard. after that, can eat katong laksa.. yum yum. perk urself up lah.. haha.. or i dangle carrot saying 10% disct only until sunday.. hahaha

Hi Tulip,
What's the shop name again? Katong laksa...hahahahah...i haven't had laksa for long! *drooling* i was craving for prawn soup nooodle the other day, ask my mother to cook and had it for lunch and dinner. For my mother, she hopes to take care of baby and stay at home to cook and do housework, its funny even though she enjoy working, got people to talk to and joke with. Well, i guess its time for her to enjoy her golden years too. My dad has retired 2 years ago, so 2 of them will take turn to look after my baby...hahahahaha...in case my mother decided to go dancing or shopping :p

Hi reenie

that is good.. i am sure your parents will bond and love the bb so much! : ) now the gov got some rebates rite? if grandparents take care, got some tax relief?

the shop is called staceyheidi, #01-01, beside basic beauty.

hi Lib, sorry to hear that your MD is so unreasonable, esp if he/she already knows that you're pregnant. If your job performance has been good so far until now, you can bargain for more time to adjust, since we're supposed to get better after 1st tri... unless he/she is making an excuse to save on the maternity benefits. If this fails, you can approach your union or get help from MOM. But this will be rather long drawn and taxing.. although my job can be considered secure, but also trying my best to stay productive at work so tt boss doesn't make things difficult for me..

hi tulip, i'm also a bit afraid that my mum will not be able to take the long hours. one of my colleagues also have the same problem...her mum quit after 2 weeks, n in the end she suffered a bit of postnatal blues. so i intend to look after bb bet hb n myself for the 1st 2 months, and bring over to my mum daily during 3rd mth maternity to prepare bb for day care at her place when i return to work.. at least she'll take over gradually. I intend to bring home bb every night, so at least she will have rest at night, and we can also bond with bb more...

can't afford to pay my mum her salary... i might as well stop work myself... :p good thing she already has half a mind to stop work...

as for maid, we're quite hesitant abt it, cos of the horror stories we heard, and as tulip said, u'll ultimately need someone to supervise her.

hi michelle,
Is this the one u're referring to: http://www.momsinmind.com.sg.

was away fr office for past one wk, almost can't catch up..

hi lib, sorrie to hear abt wat happened. as far as possible, try to reason out with yr company, coz i've one friend who appealed her termination case (not due to preg tho) to mom and it took ages for them to come back to her.. in the end, they also couldn't do much for her since she was exec level. or mebe go to higher mgmt than yr MD to fight yr case (if there is)? do keep us posted..

went for my gynae appt two days back, thank God tt bb is growing well, now 7cm. heard bb's heartbeat, wow,so fast,like train moving top speed! and the scan showed bb waving at us & boucing up & down on its backside, so cute
gynae wanted to show us the bb gender, but it was in sitting position so can't see, next round lor..so amazing to see the little thing. also went for my blood test (for HIV, hep etc), hopefully everything's ok...

Hi timie,
how many weeks are u already?.. so fast can see baby bouncing ard... hehe.

lib, good luck!.. keeping our fingers crossed!

hi lib! Good luck! Yr MD is so mean! Is he always like that? He's too much. How's yr immediate superior? Can he or she stand by you?

vone, like you, i have also taken a few days of mc...no choice leh. I cannot force myself to work. Today i'm on mc at home, but will be working from home lor. Cos got deadline to meet. sigh

u all took mc from gp? or gynae? i feel like asking for a few days mc from gynae when i see him this sat..just so i can rest at home! feeling so lethargic!

ladies, i juz came back after meeting my chairman. He does mention things like i have been taking mc, coming in late, going home early showing no committment to the company.

Well, all he say was ask me to think about it, and he will then see my changes again!!!.

Hi Lib

May i ask if ur coy is big or small? do they do that to other preggies or only to you? seems to me that they are trying to apply pressure to make you go

hi tulip mine consider medium size enterprise.. i'm not too sure if is oni me or is this happening b4, cos now i'm the oni preggie here. anyway i will be writing to our prime minister, anyone out there do experience this?

hi lib,

sorry so late, i went out the whole day yesterday and lotsa catch-up to do. i even dreamt of this thread last night hahahaha.

i think writing a letter to pm lee or even approaching ur mp is a good idea. i used to work in the civil service and was in the media section handling appeals and complaints. those which actually get priority are letters addressed to ceo, perm sec and pm. and those submitted by mps. dun go through the normal way because that would take forever. its like a s.o.p....ur md is sooooo mean! i hope things turn out well, and if u do decide to write in, u haf my support!!! *hugs*

cafe, dunno if u're still following the thread....have u seeked a 2nd opinion? im sorry this had to happen, felt very sad reading ur msgs yesterday. stay strong. we're all here for u..

miso, sounds like u're having a burn-out....i used to tell my doctors that and get 3 days mc. furthermore u're a preggie, should stay home and rest next week. then we can yak on the forum heheheh

hi christina, see how it goes, if like wat tulip says they seem like forcing me to leave then i will write to our dear pm.. cos is the govt encourage us young working parents to set up family give the nation more babies.. but is the employer whom are the ones restricting it.

hi lib, you may want to write an email to PM Lee instead of a normal letter. Not sure abt protocols, but sometimes it makes a difference when you address them directly in name in your letter e.g.:

Lee Hsien Loong (dunno what's the salutation to use)
Prime Minister ...

I think MPs are not really effective in representing your case, unless he's Minister of MOM or some female MP who is pro-family.

sadly, such discrimination is done so subtly that they can cook up loads of other excuses to make you leave... hope there'll be a good ending to all this...

erowen, u mean there's no limit to the number of visits u make to the gynae n it's all covered under the cost of the package? i'm close to signing up a package with my gynae, though i realise she's one of the most expensive i've heard.. $950 b4 gst. but i'm quite comfortable with her n it's quite a hassle to find another gynae.

btw, miso & wendy, there's a new medical centre opening at Punggol Plaza called Northern Hope. They provide a full range of medical services, including gynaecology, pediatrics, dermatology, n day surgery. you can check them out at www.northernhope.com.sg

not sure whether u gals are as morbid as i am, but i read the miscarriage thread quite often.. am saddened by a recent posting where the bb died at week 35. it seems so close yet so far..and nothing we can do to prevent it...

hello everyone, havent been online for ages. been feeling terrible terrible this past week. nauseous the whole day!!! and Night!!!!

on last night, in the middile of the night, i suddenly had a big flow of discharge!. light brown in colour, super liquid!!! can drip out when i sit on toilet bowl!!! HUGE shock!!!! but it only lasted for 5 sec. after that discharge back to normal. very worried. but i tot since no blood and no cramp should be alright lah hor? i got appt with gynae next thurs. dunno should push earlier or not.

Hi Lib, did u tell ur chairman tt u r nearing 2nd tri and the lack of committment is partly due to pregnancy? Some may understand lor. And maybe make a promise to work harder perhaps?

Hi ting ting, yes it can happen. Tt's y it's imperative to look out for bb movements in our 3rd tri. Normally gynae or the nurse will tel you how to monitor and when to call ur gynae if there is no movement or lack of it. btw, can i hv the link to the miscarriage thread? cant seem to find it. Thanks.

Hi miso, it's under head topic "Matters of the Heart". Look out for "Support Group - Miscarriages". It's just so scary lor..

angie, better go see gynae soon, or at least call up to check if it's cause for concern.

hoshi, me 13 wks now.

juz now went out office for the morning, when coming back, almost blackout & fainted..good thing i managed to sit down, my collleagues freaked out. is this fainting thing normal? it juz comes suddenly when i'm outside, happened a few times. noticed i can't stand too long..

I went for ultrasound yesterday and saw my baby twitching/moves. So cute. It is now 2.26cm at 8 weeks 6 days and doctor re-calculated my edd and it's now 4 Sep. Hope I'll give birth on 7 Sep as it's my wedding day. :eek:)

Will sign package next visit which is 3 weeks later. Package price $1550 inclusive all prenatal visits, scanning + doctor delivery (normal). Hospital package for 1 bedder is $1388 for 2 days. Is it reasonable?