(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi miso,
ur mil is right to make bird nest for u in ur 2nd and 3rd trimester. coz now watever we take, the bb still cannot absorb until 2nd trimester onwards.

lib, me no choice coz really mentally, physically very tired after work and school.... by the time reach home, it's bathe and sleep... dun even have time and energy to watch tv..

hi angel,
i like the pink bb pics.. so cute!!!

cafe, dun worry so much okie. sometimes old folks r like tat 1. we jus hv 2 1 ear in & 1 ear out. talk 2 ur hb abt her behaviour & ask him 2 talk 2 his mum. worse come 2 worse, u write down all ur frustrations here & we wld lend u our listening ears okie.

hi ladies ....

just found out I was preg last week ... so wanted to join this thread =)

EDD is 10 Sept ... Dr is Dr Henry Cheng (same as hoshi5) .... this is my 8th week of preg ....

feeling very bloated and keep vomitting .... any idea how to make life easier?

Hi seabreeze,
how do u find Henry Cheng?.. initially i was very scared to see male gynae coz never see one b4!.. luckily he's quite friendly hor. Next time we can share share info liao. Hey, ur nick quite familiar leh.. think I tok to u b4... is ur BS from WL?...

hi seabreeze congrats!!..

hmm... tink thr's nothing much we can do to make your life better cos we all went through this. juz follow eat small but more meals think u will feel better.

oya, tat day was telling u gals about ginger therapy for ms rite, is drink ginger tea.. but not too sure on the recipe.. wondering if is happening on u too, find myself feel better that time when i use my foot scrub from bodyshop and is lemongrass favour.

vone, xie xie ni
my hb showing concern (sms me ask me how i feel) juz now & i replied him I M OK.... at times, i juz find him useless lei

angel, tks for sharing those cute bb photos.... ya hope our bb are so adorable

cafe, yr mil is staying with you now?

congrats seabreeze!
vomitting is pretty common, don't worry. in fact some of the gynae believe that the more ms you have, the healtier yr baby is. =)

Ladies, I have extracted this from www.ivillage.co.uk, is the recipe for ms.

Try taking two or three teaspoons of apple cider vinegar (not any other kind) in warm water first thing in the morning. Apple cider vinegar is pH neutral and may help to neutralise excess stomach acid.
Ginger tea can be used freely to help. Ginger has been thoroughly researched over the years. A recent review of scientific evidence, published in the British Journal of Anaesthesia, found that ginger was beneficial in treating all kinds of nausea. To make a tea, pour boiling water over a teaspoon of freshly grated ginger root. You can also add the juice of half a lemon and sweeten with honey if you like. In winter its a warmer, in the summer it can be a refreshing iced tea. This mix has the bonus of helping to ward off low blood sugar, headaches and fatigue as well as relieving nausea.
If you are out of the house and cant brew up, any food item containing ginger should help. Some women swear by stale ginger ale, others prefer the crystallised ginger available in some specialist cook shops. Others use it liberally in cooking in both sweet and savoury dishes.
Acupressure can also be very effective. Several recent studies, including those published in the Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine and the Journal of Nurse Midwifery, show that pressure on the pericardium 6 (or P6) point can provide fairly quick relief from nausea, though it may not help to reduce vomiting. To find this point place your hand palm up and measure two thumb widths above the most prominent wrist crease; P6 is just above this point, in line with your middle finger. Some chemists sell wristbands, which stimulate the P6 point. These have also been shown to work for some women.

<table border=1><tr><td>@ 24 Jan 05</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mommies-To-Be</TD><TD>Mommie's Age</TD><TD>Place of Stay</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Name of Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>angel</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>29-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Koh Ghim Hwee</TD><TD>RH </TD></TR><TR><TD>miso</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr S H Kee</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Libtuarius</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>7-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr A L Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixwong</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>vone</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Bedok Reservoir</TD><TD>30-Aug-05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Dr Chan Siew Tung</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chemistry</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>tba</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendyg</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>tingting</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>maltbibi</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>6-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr C T Yeong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emmie</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>6-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>erowen</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cakey</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>hoshi5</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>29-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbmom</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Hougang &amp; Sengkang</TD><TD>23-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Poon</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicole</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>5-Aug-05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle Chow</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Johor Bahru</TD><TD>10-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Tan Jui Seng</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>angieooi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>16-Sep-05</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wei </TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>caf</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>1-Sep-05</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr A L Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>reenie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>26-Sep-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>6+</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>christina</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Sep-05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>SeaBreeze</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sep-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

congrats seabreeze.
erowen, ya lor my mil is staying wif us. she will not shift &amp; will stay wif us till she go heaven. tats y sometime i keep askg myself tat dunno how long i hv to tolerate her nonsense... sigh! Btw, my mil is coming to 80 soon..

cafe ur hb so sweet leh..

u know..some hbs will experience prenatal blues too? i got friends whose hb got pregnancy cravings leh..haha..some are affected it seems.

and some guys..they just dunno how to react when their wife is preggie..prob maybe they are not mentally prepared and trying to accept the 'truth' of having a bb..or having no sex for dunno how many mths etc..

Hi..welcome Seabreeze.

Yah, my MIL also say can take birdnest from 2nd trimester onwards. She say for 1st trimester, just eat as per normal, no need to "bu". Yest, she was telling me that she will make me a bottle of birdnest during CNY so that I can store in the fridge and take it anything I want. Come to think of it, my MIL is consider very good liao cos I don't stay with her, somemore this is not her 1st grandchild and she still make birdnest for me. Now I just wonder how big is that bottle. kekeke...

Hi cafe,

dun be upset. Some old folks are like that. Just bear with them if u can loh. Maybe after u deliver, your MIL's attn will be diverted to the bb and got no time to think or talk about your hus ex-wife anymore.

Hi Seabreeze,

Congrats and welcome. The bloatedness and vomitting is commmon during this period. For me, i can't take garlic n onion while Milo and plain biscuit helps. But, diff people react differently. U have try out diff food and take note how u react to them.

hi seabreeze, congrats &amp; welcome!!
as 4 ur ms, paiseh, dun hv any way 2 make ur life easier coz i aso suffer fr tat.
4 me, i eat smaller meals, eat sour plums / dried orange peels / sweets 2 make me feel better. try it...

lib, i aso hv d same foot scrub as u leh. seems like we really hv similar tastes.
but hor, now i can't tahan d smell, makes me puke when i smell tat.

cafe, since u married him, jus accept him 4 who he is. sometimes, it makes life easier 4 u okie. dun tink so much. jus concentrate on hving a cute bb okie.

lib, maybe yr baby very obedient leh.

oh cafe, yr mil is pretty old..80! wow! I can understand the frustration of living with old people, esp if they are difficult to live with. My granny gave my dear mum a hard time when she was alive. Very naggy and constantly make things difficult for my mum. My granny was from china...No choice lor, my dad's the eldest son, so my granny lived with us. My mum, as a daughter-in-law, really 'ren' and 'ren'. Me as grand daughter also ren, cos she was so old (80s also), if not no peace.

aiyah.. cafe.. dun like that.. u ever heard of this chinese story? the dil and mil do not get along. dil want to make mil go heaven, so ask dr to give medicine. the dil has to spend time to make the medication one.. so everyday she spent time to cook. then she tell the mil the medication is good for her.. so everyday the mil drink but she gets better and better. and because the mil thot her dil is so good to her, the mil attitude also changed to good.. the dil also thot she slowly can communicate with the mil. the relationship of both seems to get better. one day, the dil asked the dr.. how come no effect.. the dr said.. oh.. i only give you normal herbs to cook. fr then on, the 2 lived happily..

hope i dun sound mumsy but i think it takes 2 to clap.. maybe as a younger person, we give way a bit, older feel they are respected.. then it works out for both.. can try lah... both living under the roof, no pt live unhappily.

chemistry, ur mil is so sweet. mine hv not make me anything yet. sigh... hb said tat she's sian oledi as she oledi got so many grandkids, so wif or w/o mine makes no dif. but hor, sometimes, i feel tat if she had shown me more concern then i wldn't feel so bad. worse, my own mum had not said anything since my 'announcement' 2 her other than congrats.
super sigh... it's her 1st grandkid u noe. luckily hb is veri nice &amp; attentive 2 me, so i guess tat it kinda of make up 4 everything.

haha.. no lar kidding with u lar.. maybe lor, cos sometimes i keep telling baby dun bully mummy now, then next time mummy will treat you good.. buy u toys, bring u go gaigai good deal rite??

anyway, he/she oso knows that mummy has been doing a lot of survey on wat clothings will be nice to wear, wat games/toys will be good for development, etc...

dear jill. glad to know yr bleeding has stopped.
"hugz"

my bleeding started in my 5th of 6th week and it stopped on the 3rd day. Now i'm being very careful. I went to see Dr Adrian last sat. Things look fine at this point in time.

jill, pls finish all the prescribe dosage of hormone pills ya. and pls take a lot of bedrest

Did the doc say anything?

it's not very positive for me
but i remembered wud erowen said
not to give up on my baby
i went to see dr adrian last wed then on sat again to take 2 blood tests
he called me this morning to tell me that the results are not good
and he mentioned that i might have to consider d&amp;c
but i'm scheduling to do another blood test again this saturday
since my bleeding has stopped the past 2 days, i'm hoping the results will be better

yes i did the posting but sorri i didn't go last sat.. will go this week then.. What abt u?

last sat, after visited al lim oredi 3+ in the afternoon.. so went home to play mj with my friends who were with us during the gynae visit.

i thot the sale end already? the katong shop also carry the new maternity stuff.. 10% disc now.. my tube is new maternity one.

hi vone, u now like me for baby bath remember?? i was saying that now i still cnt stand some shower gels/ perfume. even last week when iwent for haircut was complaining to my stylist that he gloss that he applied has an awful smell.. hehe. dun worri soon we will all get over.

my hb juz called me &amp; he asked me whether i would like to be around wen he talk to his mum regarding that sensitive issue (i choose not to be around)... i m so happy to hear tat finally he wanted to resolve this issue for me

miso, yes i m happy. i told my hb tat i m not stopping his mum fm talking to that old lady (ex-wife's mum) but dont do it in my house &amp; infront of me... coz it Hurts!

jill, yes stay +ve &amp; i believe ur bb will be fine.

hoshi5 ... yap ... WL bride ... in fact just got married in Nov 04 ... baby was a surprise .... but okie lar ... good age to start a family ...

dr henry quite friendly and patient lar ... he told me no milk cos my gastric problem was causing me all the bloatedness ... thats why dun dare to take sour food too ....

ladies ... thanks for the warm welcome =)

Seabreeze, share ur wedding pics with me leh.. i want to see.... think u saw mine b4 izzit?... hehe..
Our EDD dates quite close. But u quite fast leh.. married less than 3months only...

Have u decided which hospital to take?

jill, no worries okie. we r all here 4 u. do keep us updated.

lib, me now using dove shower gel. find tat d smell is still acceptable 2 me. *crossed fingers* oh, i m aso veri sensitive 2 d smell of hair gels. when hb went 4 his haircut, i made him washed his head 5x so tat d smell can b washed away. it's so stinko!!

cafe, gd 4 u!! so glad 2 hear tat.

lib, haha... ya lor. hb said tat i veri 'ma fun' now. i replied tat it's due 2 his bb, so he cannot complained!! hahaha...

yalor my hb oso told his friends now i very ma fun

like when we go out with friends rite, all smokers have to stand far away from me.. then those with weird smells can't come near me.. haha..

Sorry, no time to log in today until now. Angel, can help update my week to 10? I'm same as miso.

I'm currently using Body Shop Cocoa Butter for stretchmark prevention. Find it easier to use than the oil I bought from Clarins. Easier to apply cream than liquid oil.

My gynae recommend that I start taking fish oil (NeuroGain) for the bb in 2nd trimester. Currently only on folic acid and duphaston. Not taking any prenatal vit yet.

Miso, keep us posted on your bb's development after your visit on Sat.

Hi vone,

Some old folks are more pantang and do not want to show their happiness too early. I'm sure your parent will sure start showering u with all the good food and tonic in time to come.

Welcome all newcomers

This is getting too fast thus unable to catch up liao.

Update of me gynae visit today. bb now growing at 2.7cm, think slightly small for my week 10 but gynae din say anything. Can see the short limbs already. Still feeling excited thou not my 1st bb
Weight maintained, same as 3 wks ago but gynae q concern and say we should have weight gain of 0.5 kg per wk. Think sugar level a bit high as he ask me to cut down on sweet stuff, but i just simply love coke lei

Angel, pls update me as week 10. thks

Cafe, glad tat yr hubby is doing something

Talk about mil, till now i think she see my son less than 15 times in total. Now i pregnant she also like no feeling. Anyway immune liao so not very affected. So those who has good mil, got to apprec. them as good mils are hard to come by nowadays. To me, only own mom is the best.

Jil, all the best for you. Pls take care.

Will continue to catch up with yr postings, gals
Good night!

Hi Gals...

Can I join u gals??? Actually I join July MTB but the seldom got pple contribute.....so different from here.......

My EDD is actually 30 July....very near to Aug.....

A very good morning to everyone!! Hope all of you have a good breakfast to start the day

Warm welcome to all newcomers!

morning everyone!

wow, it took me some time to catch up on monday's reading...guess everyone's bursting to tell after the long weekend...

maltbibi, the fish oil that i'm taking is called "neurogain". this fish oil is solely for the bb's brain development n not for the mother. dunno how the channelling works though..just have to believe what they say. but it's not v cheap, think it's nearly $1 per capsule, and u have to take it every day. Think it's cheaper to buy from JB. We can start taking this now cos bb's brain is currently being developed.

hi cafe, glad things are turning out well for you. sometimes guys just need time to get the idea into their heads. I have my fair share of fustration in hb not being understanding, but now he reads up a lot n knows more than me! except the traditional dos and dont's..
it's better to bring up a suggestion to him and give him time to digest it..

hi bbmom, i lost abt 0.8kg in weight as at week 11, but gynae says it's not cause for concern...maybe bb is still growing at normal pace.. but we'll have to increase our food intake soon cos 2nd tri is when bb develops the most rite? after cny, must start to take in more quality food and less junk food..haha..

wrt mils, i think it's better to rely on ourselves and our own mothers... for me, i know that my mil is a good person, but we're not that close for her to "nag" at me to eat well as my own mother would... also, she's quite westernised so dunno abt traditional herbs n stuff. i think sometimes she forgets that i'm pregnant cos she'll suggest that me n my hb go out on excursions with them.

hi Love, welcome! guess most of us are pretty excited at being first time mothers... the 2nd timers also having new experiences, so we've got loads to share!

erowen, glad that things are stablised for your bb... keep the faith up! Jill, since the bleeding has stopped, there is still hope. Pray that your next check up will bring good news!

hi angel, pls update me at week 12. How to update the spreadsheet? We download the attachment n re-attach it to our posting is it? sorry, never done this before...

morning ladies!

Love, you are welcome here..no prob!

Hi reenie, u so sweet. I had chee cheong fun and shun guey this morning. Dunno what to buy cos am late for work! haiz..

ixwong, after so many days gone by with no nausea and puking...ytd i puked!! I ate vegetarian sambal fried rice and kopi and after tt felt queasy liao..I think bb in me kinda sian with vegetarian food liao..now I dun really look forward to gg there and eat. This one v. fussy neh!

Those staying in punggol, fyi, there is a very nice prata shop in FJ Food Court. Not v. oily and curry is v. yummy!

Hello Gals,

I am new in this forum. Have been following your thread and very interested to join you gals! My EDD is in Aug.

hi, regarding my constipation i've tried sun sweet prune and it works very well!
Also seems like my constipation (which cos me kidney pain during passing) i suspect is due to drinking of ginger tea... The one i had is super brand those 3-in-1 packing type. So i guess will oni take if really necessary and maybe take 1/2 cup then.

Hi Miso,
wow...that's a yummy breakfast you had
i like chee cheong fun too! And shun kueh...with the black sauce and chilli! But today i am rushing for a meeting, had 2 slice of toasted bread, i put cream cheeses and sprinkle some fine sugar, and a cup of soya milk, no time to buy breakfast.

Hi Cakey,
Glad you solved your constipation problem!!! Sweet prune is good. Even as snack :p Is Ginger tea "heaty"? i think my friend recommened me to drink if i feel nausea but i didn't, lazy to prepare.

Oh boy...its only Tuesday, i wish weekends come earlier. Work is alot...

Another 1/2 hour or so, its lunch time! Enjoy your luncheon