(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

yep my first one...so very paranoid. i found out i was pregnant on the day i missed my period. by instinct. Very kiasu, bought 5 test kits, turns out only 2 gave me positive results. So vni, i hope u get a positive reading soon!

went to c my 1st gynae a week later, who put me through blood tests and v-scan. she was very very cynical and intrusive...gave me 2 weeks of scare... =)

hi cakey,

it was called gesterol. my gynae said that it shouldn't be prescribed unless necessary i.e. bleeding... checked online and found that it can be bad to bb if taken at wrong dosage. *_*

hi christina,

welcome! i was also given blood test during my first visit...bcos we couldn't detect embryo cos it was too early in the pregnancy, she highlighted the possibility of an ectopic pregnancy to us. although it wasn't the vision i have of having a smiling doctor happily declaring my pregnancy (too much tv i guess!), i'm glad to have been warned of potential mishaps that can happen during the 1st trimester. though i must admit that your gynae's over doing it by prescribing hormone pills on the first visit. Glad you've found another gynae u're comfortable with!

hi tingting,

thanks for the encouragement. dr kowa very sweet guy, wears a bowtie and cracks me up everytime i c him. helps me with my MIL too who turns up unexpectedly and insists on going into the office EVERYtime i visit. i broke down on my 3rd visit and dr kowa helped me lie. hahahah, that he can only c me personally.. (maybe i shouldnt have put my name...hmmm )

1st gynae took 2 vials of blood in 3 days cuz she wanted to c the difference in hcg levels. apparently if theres not much difference then miscarriage rate high... pain...i m darn scared of drawing blood...needle prick ok

thank you for all the advice and encouragement.

i also dun know why the gynae schedule me 4 weeks later and he did not say anything on ectopic pregnancy. all he said was might be late conception. i did not even see the sac with all the ultrasound and vaginal scan.

my gynae was telling me that it was not necessary to go through blood test. only on 12 weeks. is it true?

my gynae a bit 'cool'. but he was my sister's gynae and he did help to save my nephew the other time so he must be really steady.

hi cafe,

i'm 6 weeks pregnant according to the scan. My period used to run on a 38-40 day cycle so gynae estimated EDD by measuring embryo.

By the way has anyone been taking sng buays a.k.a preserved sour plums? i'm kinda hooked cuz its helps in keeping nausea down, but also wondering if the preservatives are bad for bb...

Hi christina,
yup, i'm also eating sour plums on and off. Tat day after lunch, first time felt so terrible. The oily lunch gave me a terrible nauseous feeling, giddy, headache. luckily my colleague gave me sour plum and tat managed to stop the nauseous feeling.
Think cannot take so much coz of the high salt content.

hi christina, try not to take too much sour plums cos of salt content and some contain preservatives. i also had 2 vials of blood drawn fr me in 1 week, but that was bcos the 1st had shown abnormally low hcg level..turned out it's a lab error.. doc got us a waiver from paying the 2nd lab report..say shldn't pay for lab's mistake,,,hehe... but blood tests not cheap. ur previous gynae sounds like she's trying to earn more $$ fr u..

psmissyou, think if u do earlier then dun need to do at week 12.. i had mine done earlier bcos of some family history and doc felt it's better to do blood test first for reassurance.

psmissyou, why don't you try asking yr gynae whether it's ok to see him after 2 weeks instead of 4? i think it's better and can put you out of yr worry faster mah.

hoshi, my case pretty similar to you. Unless i have a bolster supporting my back, if not i will have to lie flat.

welcome newbies.

lib, you passed yr first tri? that's fast. congrats! you must be excited abt moving towards the 2nd tri.

hi christina, so glad to see that your EDD is same as mine... i have kinda of decided who to see, but will only get referral from my current doc next wed. he thinks i am still in early pregnancy. have yet to scan and very excited...

my company doc thinks i am 6.5wks, based on last menstural cycle; current doc thinks i am 4wks, based on from estimated time of ovulation. now i highly confused by the wks, and my mum (better still) tell me i 5wks.

hello cafe!!! so glad to see someone familiar here!!! when are you going for your scan?/

hi ilmare,

my gynae gave me my edd based on the last menstrual cycle initially. so by theory i'm supposed to be about 8 weeks pregnant. then i told him about my super irregular menstural cycle and he said it would be more accurate to measure by the embryo size on ultrascan. Turns out that i'm 6.5weeks.... so im pretty confused with the dates too...

i've a problem, i cant stop telling the whole world that i'm pregnant... not supposed to tell till 1st trimester is over but whenever i meet someone whom i can connect with, i would blabber and let the news out. then regret...anyone went through the same too?

Hi Christina,

Mee too, I also can't wait to share the good news with my friends and colleagues. But then, I tried to control myself so ended up only my closer colleagues knows about it. Even for my parents, I only disclose the news to them after the scan shows my bb heartbeat.

Hi ixwong,

Yest, my gynae also refer me for the maternal serum testing but in KKH it will be done at week 16.

For those who are interest in KKH's antenatal package, i have got the details from the nurse yesterday:

Classic Package (10 visits+urine test):
Snr Consultant: $530
Consultant: $430
Associate Consultant: $330

Premier Package(10 visits+urine test):
Snr Consultant: $620
Consultant: $520
Associate Consultant: $420

Diff betw the 2 packages:
- Consultation only at Specialist Outpatient Clinics or AMK Clinic for classic package while for Premier package, consulation at TPS with personalised 1-stop and fast track services.
- Scans not done by gynae for classic package at Specialist Outpatient Clinics
- Choice of subsidised ward for classic package. However, delivery will not be done by gynae if patient chooses the subsidised ward.

They also have hospitalisation packages (includes accomodation, doc's ward visit, delivery fees, nursery charges and vaccination) for A1 ward as follows:

Classic Package : $2,256.30 (2days)/$3,236 (3 days)
Premier Package : $2,547.10 (2days)/$3,915 (3 days)

Diff:
- Premier package will receive priority in bed booking
- For Premier package, your gynae will provide pte, personalised care throughout while for classic package, the doc on duty will assess the labour before calling the gynae in for delivery

For other wards, it will be charged based on actual consumption. They have also provided some statistics and the bill size for signing up the A1 hospitalisation package vs B1 bill size do not differ very much.

Being my first bb, I think I will be more KS and likely to take up the Premier Package for both antenatal and hospitalisation.

good morning ladies!!! welcome newbies!!!

Juz finished my breadtalk sandwich while catching up wat ihave miz ytd..

Ero, yes now seems like getting better each day. At least no more weird weird sympton from me, and now juz see my tummy getting bigger each day, hehe. My colleague was saying that now that little one is getting more & more obvious liao. I find myself able to get up more easier nowadays. in terms of looking fresher, no more lazing around.

Chris, don't worry lar in fact we have oredi spread across in this forum page. sometimes tink it that it is a good news and u juz want your close friends / relatives to share this joy with you. For me, i didn't tell them purposely except for some close friends & colleagues. Oni if they ask then will tell them lor.. No worries!!!

Yar boy, really worry about Jill.. Wonder how she is now.. Msg for Jill, pls do update us we are awaiting for your good news~~~

hey lib, today my canteen fried eggs look so tempting! So i bought it and ate the egg white. Always cannot resist eggs.

so good, glad that you are moving away from the tri 1 symptoms...it's so nice to walk around not feeling nausea.

btw do you gals drink green tea? I'm drinking the heaven and earth green tea now.

yes, do hope that jill is all right....

christina, you must be really excited abt yr pregnancy.
. as long as you are comfortable with sharing the news, don't worry so much ya.

hi chemistry,
thanks for sharing ur package details. really comprehensive and informative!.

i think if it's ur first bb, tendency is tat we will share the good news with our family, close friends, colleagues.... hehe.. can't be helped one!... hehe...

I guess i'm not the only one having a hard time finding the right position to sleep at night. Guess we have to go thru this for another 8 months!...
I think our EDD will keep changing depending on the bb's size, and how fast developed they are.
My sis told me tat for 1st time mom, there's a high chance tat our bb will be delivered earlier than our EDD.... so we must be prepared lor!

morning ladies

dunno y yesterday & this morning, i feel those kind of pain like going to do "big business"... on/off inside my tummy... is it normal huh??

ilmare, i will be going for my scan on 28 Jan. Hopefully this round i can see the embryo + hear the heartbeat.

chris, i am also like u very confused wif the no. of week i expecting now. for me i also very much like u wanted to share wif my family, colleage & frenz but then i hold back coz i worry abt false alarm..... will only share either after i pass my 1st trimster or after 28 Jan wen i see the embryo...

morning ladies, i had prawn mee hoon wif pork ribs jus now 4 breakfast, but oni managed 2 finish d bee hoon & d veggies.
sigh... my appetite is still not veri gd.

hi cafe
is the pain severe? keep an eye on it. if it becomes more painful, call your gynae and consult him/her asap. 'cos if it's slightly pain, it might be expansion of uterus. if not, it might give a -ve sign. be more careful and don't walk too much.
take care.

glad that everyone is doing well. i can only join you all on and off. 'cos i am not qualified anymore.
take care.

how's jill? hope she's ok and come here to chat more often so that she can relieve her stress like me.

anyone have problems doing 'big business'? for these few days i experienced sharp pain at side/back (kidney area) when I was pushing. Feeling like internal organ being pressed on... so no no choice i've got to stop pushing but just waiting patiently for minutes for it to move out more naturally... Am I the only one experiencing this? wow.. make me late for work this morning...
Although it's more diff nowadays I still need to do it everyday cos else I'll be too bloated to eat.. I guess might be cos I'm very small size and my stomach really got very limited space.
Hehe... peisah, sorry to discuss this while some of you ladies are in the mist of enjoying breakfast...

I went to see my gynae ytd. Was so happy and amazed to see the BB's movement. Din expect can see movement at this visit. From the scan, it showed BB was waving at us and kicking the legs. BB gas grown to 5.3cm

Hi Ixwong & Chemistry,

My gynae scheduled me for the the maternal serum testing at Wk 15. Will the blood test be sth like those normal blood test?

Hi Angel,

Pls update me as Week 12. Thanks.

Hi maltbibi,

I was at kkh yest too, but last patient cos hubby can't make it any earlier. My bb measures only 4cm though our EDD are quite close. But gynae say the growth is normal and bb very active. My hubby even took a pict of the bb with his camera phone! Dunno why, everytime after the scanning, i got this feeling that my bb is a gal.

As for the maternal serum testing, read on kkh website that there are 3 types, but not sure which type we will be taking. Hv to wait till the counselling session next visit.

Are u still staying on with kkh? Heard your gynae leaving for pte practise soon.

nyny, tks for your advice. ya will observe from now on. wat abt u??? is everything fine wif u?

jill, yes hope to hear your good news soon. Stay +ve

hi ero, i recently got this addiction for pokka oolong tea.. though my friends keep telling me is not good, but tinking i will oni crave for a short period oni y torture.. hehe

cafe, for me rite i find my business time is getting longer & longer. hehe.. now need to create the mood first b4 able to release.. sigh.. this going to be con't on for the next 7-8mths..

oh dear nyny, u mean ???....

wow malt, it muz be very exciting!!! i will be going for my next visit this sat.. i'm now looking forward for the time to come.. cos i can finally see my bb again after a month long..

morning ladies.

Hi nyny, how are you?! we missed you leh..

Hi cakey, try to drink more water and eat more foods with high fibre contents.

Hi Chemistry,

Oh issit.. I think I left TPS abt 8pm. Mayb I saw u there. Which clinic r u waiting? Mine is at Clinic 2.

I was not scheduled any counselling for the maternal serum testing leh. Was it the recept who make the appt for u? Can u update me the deails after you went for the counselling, pls? Thanks.

Yeah, gynae told me he's leaving for pte practice in March. I'm still considering. I dun mind following him but he does not haf any nite clinic. I think onli KKH got. Hubby won't not b able to make it if it's not operating in the nite. Sigh!

Hi Lib,

You will be amazed to see the movement. Prepare to bring your cam along.

Hi Nyny,

U take care! And try to bu your health first.

Wow..the thread is moving really fast! Been so busy until i couldn't find time to login.

Hi angel,
Can you update me to the chart? I am into my 8th week, told by my gynae. EDD is 26-Aug-2005. Gynae is Dr Paul Tseng from TMC. My age is 26. Moving to Sengkang soon!!! Thanks

Anyone keeps waking up at nite to go toliet??
I seems to wake up at least 3 times per nite to pee!!!! Even though my water intake is so little , not a water person. i couldn't sleep after waking up around 4plus! Ever woke up 6 times just to pee after taking soup noodle for that evening. Is it normal?? I heard only into late pregnancy then we will pee more often.

Also, keep having the nausea feeling, although no vommiting...i hope it will be over soon? I think i am not really into 8 week, the gynae did the estimate based on the 1st day of last menstration. Saw the baby last weekend over the ultrasound, its 1.5cm !!!! So exciting.

Most of my pants and bottoms are feeling abit tight already, some friends told me its not obvious for the 1st 3 mths, but i feel the difference.

hope everyone has super nice holiday tommorow! Resting day for me

yap. recently not really good for me. next week will be going for d&c. then, i will have a great CNY.

take care gals. enjoy your pregnancy period.
if encounter any unusual cramp/pain, bleeding/spotting, must let your gynae know asap.

Hi Cakey,

its not advisable to use strength to push, especially during the late stage, the gynae told me its common for us to do "big business" not everyday, because i do not go regularly.

Take fruits if u can. I do take bananas ( but do watch out which type u are taking) and papaya if possible

dear nyny...pls take care and stay positive ya. We are all here for you. "hugz"

vone, if no appetite, don't force yrself...take small meals. Cos i will feel very very bloated and super nausea whenever i force myself to eat.

hi reenie,
which type of banana to take? my MIL say all cannot take leh so I confused... i natural got urge to do everyday leh although taking longer time... I don't think I can skip cos I'm force by hunger to eat alot
and my stomach size is very small...
Maybe these few days I sensitive to plain water so drink less water hence got sharp pain when doing these 2 days... My hubby ask me to put some lime/lemon drops to plain water so may try that.

Hi reenie,
welcome back. U also born in 1979?...
I also went to see the gynae last weekend. He also said I'm into my 8th week based on my 1st day of last menses date. Baby is 1.9cm!!.... hehe.. i kept looking at my ruler and can't imagine it's so small!!...

Cakey, think u need to eat more fruits....

I also have a feeling tat my bb will be a gal. My colleague sent me a chart which predicts the gender based on age and month of conception. Any 1 interested to see?

see the link here. not sure how accurate it is. But my colleagues all say very accurate.
mime_msword.gif
Baby Gender
CHOICEOF.doc (45.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi cakey, you can take those smaller ones.. u noe those long ones like del monte, pls avoid cos they known as cool..

and pls avoid those unripe ones. if not u may want to take some prunes..

nyny, pls stay +ve!! dun worry we will all be by your side!

Hi Cakey,

The long type from NTUC or supermarket is too cooling, so i didn't take. I took those from market, my dad bought it for me, not sure what the name, you can go market and ask the stall owner which type is ok for pregnancy, its shorter kind of banana use for baking banana cake. Chinese called "Red meat banana" :p
And i don't drink plain water now, cos' i will feel so bitter in taste, so i drink ribena. Try it!

Hi Hoshi5!
Yes i am back !!!!! I am born in 1978. This year after July will be 27
Wow, your baby is longer than mine!!! haahahahah....our EDD is really close...must keep me updated!

Oh, yes...please share the chart, i am interested too!

Hi Hoshi!

Mine could be a girl based on the chart! I am taking chinese age 27 ( since i am English 26 now) and my month conceived is November.

But frankly speaking, i got a feeling its a boy. Cos' my hormones changes alot! with abit of pimples.... But i got no preference, both gender is fine with me, as long as he/she is healthy baby

hoshi tks for sharing.... if the chart is accurate, then i wil be having a boy lei.... think my hb going to be disappointed coz he has always wanted to have a bb gal. for me, its fine lah, as long as the bb is normal &amp; healthy, gal or boy is secondary
wat abt the rest???

haha, ladies looking at the chart, i should be having a gal.. like reenie i oso have a strong feeling that it is a boy..

i agree with cafe, so long as the bb is normal &amp; healthy, girl or boy is fine..

hi nyny, u take care &amp; stay positive okie.

cakey, i aso got constipation probs. so my gynae recommended tat i take fybogel. mayb u can try tat.

Morning gals!

I think I'm really showing liao even though most people say 1st 3 mth cannot tell esp if it's first bb. I was at company function last evening, and 4 of my colleagues (the "mummy" type) came up at the end of it to ask me if I'm pregnant!!! They said they could tell. BTW, I was wearing a short dress with shawl drapped over my shoulders.

Have all of you told your office abt your pregnancy? I actually intend to keep it underwraped till CNY as now is performance appraisal time, as well as pantang. But now seems like more and more people knows.

Just hoping now that bb will be healthy and fine...it is 2.74 cm now, and going into week 10 tomorrow!

My mum said mine shd be a gal cos my stomach showing so early.

Based on hoshi's chart, it shd be a gal too! Happy!

<table border=1><tr><td>@ 20 Jan 05</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mommies-To-Be</TD><TD>Mommie's Age</TD><TD>Place of Stay</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Name of Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>angel</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>29-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Koh Ghim Hwee</TD><TD>RH </TD></TR><TR><TD>miso</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr S H Kee</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Libtuarius</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>7-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr A L Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixwong</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>vone</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Bedok Reservoir</TD><TD>30-Aug-05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Dr Chan Siew Tung</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chemistry</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>tba</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendyg</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>tingting</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>maltbibi</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>6-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr C T Yeong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emmie</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>6-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>erowen</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cakey</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>hoshi5</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>29-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbmom</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Hougang &amp; Sengkang</TD><TD>23-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Poon</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicole</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>5-Aug-05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle Chow</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Johor Bahru</TD><TD>10-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Tan Jui Seng</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>angieooi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>16-Sep-05</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wei </TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>caf</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>1-Sep-05</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr A L Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>reenie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>26-Sep-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

mine showed I will have a boy! I also have a feeling that it is a boy. :eek:) If it is really true, this will be my only pregnancy...

ixwong, i hvn't told most of my colleagues, oni those who r in d same team as me noes as we need 2 co-ordinate our leave. well, imo, if they asked, then jus smile if u dun wish 2 let them noe yet.

well, i had a strong hunch tat mine wld b a boy. so hv 2 wait &amp; c.

hi hoshi
tks for sharing

hi angel, can pls update my profile...li'm week 9 this week. tks.

hey gals, based on the chart, i'm carrying a baby gal. I do hope so. As i prefer my first baby to be gal gal...but most importantly be it gal or boy, as long as healthy and fine , we are all happy liao.

vone, i also haven't tell my colleagues, cos it will be pretty sudden. Perhaps they are guessing now. Most probably i will break the news when i return office after first few days of CNY. Cos they are planning to go "Loi Hei" at a few restaurant. And i know if i don't eat the salmon, they will be very curious, cos they know i love salmon!

erowen, miso gave me a good tip, she said tat if i dun noe how 2 break d news 2 my colleagues, then jus turn up in my maternity clothes when i m ready 2 announce 2 my colleagues.

ya, my ofc aso got loi hei on d 6th day of cny, so i tink tat i wld b veri tempted 2 eat d salmon. sigh... got 2 endure 4 d nxt 8 mths.