(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi erowen,

Take care. Do have plenty of bedrest and not to worry, cos the bleeding had already reduced to spotting which is a good sign.

hi tingting, thanks.. think will have to stop pretty for the next 8 months..

Hi Erowen, do take care, and have lots of rest! don't worry u will be fine!

There's so many dos & don'ts that i have heard of, dunno whether to believe or not.

Hi Erowen
Sorry to hear that. Pls take good care and reduce movement. It's hard not to worry but try as much as possible.

Hi Rykiel,
Welcome. For me i avoid all dyeing of hair and nail polish becos i am a super KS mommy
I don take chance so as long as i can avoid i avoid.

Miso
I'm ftwm. Life not so good lei to be sahm
My mom is taking care of my boy adn also my sis bb of 5 mths. Thus still don know who will take care of my little one altho my mom say she will if i send my boy to child care.

hi erowen
take care ok.
i have friend who have spotting/bleeding for 1 month. during that month, the gynae gave her jab almost every week to stabilise the bb. after that she is perfectly ok. now she is in week 20+ and bb is very healthy.
most importantly is to stay +ve and eat well and rest well.

slow morning.. all not working due to heavy rain?

erowen
weak body? U underweight issit? Why doc say you are weak?
Pls rest well & think positive. Sing a song to lift your spirits & dun move too much. Stay at home, dun go out, just for these few days.

Hi bbmom, when i first heard of it i'm like "arrrggg" can't dye hair??? well think of the baby's sake, i will have to refrain myself from doing many many things...

I always have different cravings on food.. now my favourite is anything that do with Ketchup!!! Sweet & sour, yum-yum. I do have some mood-swings also, thank goodness my hb is very supportive as this is our 1st child.

Think now we r the queen!! hehe

morning ladies..this morn brought ds to see PD. Sudden high fever plus vomitting on the way to in law's plc. so deviate and brought him to PD instead. haiz...lucky now he is ok..so am back to work.

how's everyone today?

Hi libtuarius, (is this a combination of libra and taurus??) haha..anyway, yes, hv to refrain from any chemical stuffs. I also actually wanted to go for rebonding b4 cny but then found out i am preggie. haha...no choice lor.

Sometimes, i find i am very short-tempered..sometimes ok. haiz..hormones..

actually, with regard to hair dye, we have avoid the old type of hair dye, maybe used 10-20 years ago...
The chemicals found in modern dyes are safe.

Din hear anything abt nail polish.. of course dun go & inhale the thing lah... even if not pregnant also exercise caution.

i dun have much craving for foods.... just getting to feel hungry easily.. but recently want to eat fried food! so jia lat right? the fastest way to put on weight and pimples... sigh.... any recommendations to buy cny clothes? think by then waistline will expand already... maybe will buy some larger sized normal clothes until cannot avoid maternity wear.... anyway we'll have to wear them again after delivery...

hey, i found thru search engine some info on hair & beauty for preggies..

http://www.drspock.com/article/0%2C1510%2C23484%2C00.html

Here's an excerpt

Your Hair

Hair Color -- If you colored your hair before getting pregnant, you're probably wondering whether it's still safe. Unfortunately, there isn't an easy answer. Since the scalp is a very absorptive surface, small amounts of chemicals do get into the bloodstream when you dye your hair. In animal studies, hair chemicals have been linked to birth defects. However, this occurred when there was a significantly larger exposure to the chemicals than you get with a routine hair-color treatment. At the same time, other studies conducted on humans indicate that it is safe to color your hair while pregnant. The bottom line is that the research is still quite limited. Many doctors suggest waiting until the second or third trimester to dye your hair--since the first trimester is when your baby's development is most vulnerable to outside factors. Also, it may be preferable to highlight just some of your hair (see below) rather than color it completely, since highlighting requires less chemicals and less of the scalp is exposed to the dye.

Highlights -- When hair is highlighted (as opposed to completely colored), the hair-dye chemicals are less-likely to sit directly on the scalp and have less opportunity to be absorbed into the body. This may be safer than overall hair coloring, so if it works well for you, it may be a better choice during pregnancy.

Perms and Straighteners -- Like hair coloring, getting your hair permed or straightened also involves chemicals that come into contact with the scalp and can get absorbed into the bloodstream. Most research, albeit limited, does indicate that it is safe to perm your hair while pregnant. As with hair coloring, doctors often suggest waiting until the second or third trimester, when your baby's development is no longer as vulnerable to outside factors.

Your Nails

Nail Polish, Acrylics, Wraps, etc. -- For many pregnant women, indulging in a manicure or pedicure every now and then is a great way to pamper themselves and lift their spirits. In addition, as your belly grows, it often gets increasingly difficult to trim your toenails (not to mention paint them), making a pedicure all the more useful. While there is no evidence of any true danger associated with getting a manicure or pedicure during pregnancy, the chemical fumes that sometimes go along with these treatments can make you feel ill. Try to make sure that you are in a relatively open area with sufficient ventilation, and that you are not exposed to the vapors for a long period of time.

Didn't log in for the past 2 days cos on leave...shiok!

Realise I feel cold very easily, this morning even resort to wearing track pants at home. Think some other mtb also felt the same, so it should be normal right? But I thot pregnant ladies supposed to feel warmer, no?

Also realise my waistline is bigger now, cannot button my pants comfortably...only 8 weeks already like that. My mum told me if bb's a gal, mum will be grow big faster. Wondering if there's any truth in that?

Hi Libtuarius
Ya lor, having a bb is not easy, got to refrain from a lot of things. Actually no scentific truth whether can dye hair or not but just play safe if can tahan.

tingting
You same as my previous pregnancy, really like fried food. This time round i like soupy and light stuff. Suggest you get bigger size clothes too. That time me din buy then got big headache after gave birth as i gain too much. So now i already start digging out my big size clothes.

Miso,
you are how many weeks now ah?

Hi Miso, yes my libtuarius come from the word Libra (me) and Sagittaurius (hb).. come find another unique nick so mix & match lor. I find myself now much better in terms of my temper, during my 5 - 6 weeks, temper was very bad, always grumble and complain here & there. during that 2 weeks I have complaint 2x to City cab and 1x to sbs.. 1x at Cafe cartel. And also I keep craving for fast food esp Mac.. but now better at least i have other different craving like soup, porridge & noodles..

Thanks wendyg, really appreciate you for providing such a detailed info on hair dye & nail polish..

Hi Tingting, I have purchased a few sets of maternity wear from SPring maternity at Suntec. Sigh all along i like to wear those tight/just nice fitting office wear = now all clothes couldn't fit in liao.. I felt so lousy each morning until my hubby got no choice but to buy more clothes for me.. Find that Spring maternity clothes range are quite modern, trendy look unlike some other brands whr i find their clothes a bit ah-soh. Pricing wise is also quite average, like buying our normal office wear... According to the lady, the clothes can last me for full term, even after birth can also wear it.

May I know moms-2b, what is your expected due date? maybe we can draw out a list.. my ed is 7 Aug05, current gynae is AL Lim, TMC

Hi ixwong, you are feeling perfectly normal. I sometimes hv to wear track pants and long sleeves at home too..sooooo cold. We will only start feeling hotter when our tummy gets bigger.

Hi bbmom, me 7 weeks now i think..by this weekend..should be 8 weeks liao..hopefully can get to see bb heartbeat.

hi libtuarius, spring maternity got a website. Also got a new outlet at raffles place, just where I work..haha, went to see it and must say their pricing quite reasonable. Will get some tops from there too..is the shop at suntect big?

Hi miso,

I'm sure you would be able to see bb's heartbeat and maybe even hear it too. We saw and heard that yesterday when I went to Dr Ang's clinic to check him out. Since our EDD is same day, I think got good chance you can also see.

When's your next appt?

nyny
yr fren got a jab every week? my gynae only gave me one last sunday. But i'm taking hormone pills which make me super nauseu and tired.

tks everyone for yr well-wishes...my hubby and i are really keeping our fingers cross.

btw i'm very confused abt how many mths i'm along...when i did the scan last sunday , the baby is 2.2cm, but the gynae said i'm only 5 weeks along....and that the baby is too small to be more than 6 weeks...hmmm...

anyway we are seeing a new gynae tomo...hopefully he can give me more info abt my baby and i hope that my baby is still growing...

Hi miso, Spring in suntec is not very big, but one thing i like is the shop layout. There is one couch outside the fitting room, feels cosy. And I like the sales auntie Jenny, she is very friendly and she knows the customer's taste.. I also try to compile the list, but can't leh.. can someone who knows, volunteer to update!

Hi Erowen, I'm surprised to know that your baby is 2.2cm and is only 5 weeks??? when I went to my first scan when i'm 5 weeks pregnant, my bb is only 0.96cm in length. On my 2nd visit when i'm 8 weeks preg, my bb is only 1.76cm??

hi erowen
yap, she got jab every week. 'cos she got miscarriage history. so, her gynae was very careful.

we are also crossing our finger n hope that our bb is still growing. last week did the scan, didn't ask gynae what's the size. he said most was 6 weeks. but i read somewhere, 6 weeks supposedly can see heartbeat. but we can't see....

will see the 2nd gynae this week for another scan.

that's why i'm really curious abt this gynae's calculation, i'm supposedly to be in my 7th week this week..my hubby and i felt that he has miscalculated......
is it? six weeks can see the heartbeat....
i'm very very anxious abt my tomo's checkup and i hope the gynae ( a new one) i'm seeing tomo can give me a gd advise....it's so stressful with all the questions.

Btw gals, how do you cope with nauseu...i dun dare to really let myself vomit, so i keep comtrolling it. At times i have the urge to do the yucky action of 'er' but nothing came out...sigh...so frustrating after taking the hormones pills.

When I feel I almost cannot tahan the nausea, I'll resort to eating sour plum or something, not too much, just a bit to rid the vomiting feeling. Was told should not take too much cos got lots of sugar and salt content....but it's really helpful to stop the nausea.

Welcome Vone!

see this link..
http://www.w-cpc.org/fetal1.html
There's info on our 1st trimester... very interesting..

Yesterday went to see my GP and she told me tat it's not necessary to see a gynae yet unless u have very strong symptoms such as heavy cramps or have history of miscarriage.... So till now, not been to the gynae, though like u gals, very anxious to see baby's heartbeat, etc....

Have u gals settle down on which hospital to deliver already?...

Do share with me okie?

hi hoshi
how many weeks are you now?

for me, to see gynae is to ensure everything is ok. 'cos 1st trimester should be a very careful period for all of us.
my mil even asked us y should we go to see gynae so early, should see gynae around 6 months. hahaah... we were really surprised when she said so.

hi nyny...i heard being vegetarian had lower iron intake so maybe tt's y u feel dizzy often. You should let your gynae know that you are a vegetarian and he will most likely prescribed iron tablets for u. The downside is..u may experience constipation.

Hi hoshi, thanks for the website. The purpose to see a gynae now is basically to hv a scan to ensure that the foetus is in the right position, right size and gynae will prescribe vitamins and folic acid. Like what nyny mentioned, it's the crucial 1st trimester.

I'm now 6 weeks... my EDD is 29 August.
My doctor has also prescribe folic acid for me and advised me to see her once every month till the 2nd trimester where I will have to see the gynae then...
I was also worried abt not seeing the gynae immediately, but she told me to relax and it's ok coz if there's anything wrong, such as foetus not in right position, you will feel a constant side pain at the side....
Think I just be relax lor.... since i dun feel any pain anywhere...

Now more worried abt which hospital to choose..
Thinking either Gleneagles or Mt A....

How abt u gals?

thanks miso. recently i have slight constipation. 'cos it's no longer a 'daily biz' but 2 or 3 days gap 'biz'. hahaha
will let my gynae know about that. my 1st gynae knew that i am a vegetarian. but he just asked me to eat whatever i want as usual.
hmmm.... think the 1st gynae gives more freedom and more space to work around. unlike other gynaes who really monitor closely in every stage of pregnancy.... the 1st gynae even allowed me to play bowling!

hi hoshi
i plan to deliver in TMC or Mt A.

Hi hoshi, do u hv a gynae on hand? If yes, I would advise you to see ur gynae instead of the GP. Gynae is more specialised in pregnancy ma so we will feel more at ease.

I will be delivering at TMC again.

Hi nyny,

wah...bowling? I will not advise hor, so slippery the floor..U like bowling too? It's one of my fav pastime b4 I had ds...been ages since I last step into a bowling alley. But I once saw a heavily pregnant woman bowled..she should be in the beginning of 3rd tri lidat. Cool man.

Hi Erowen, i ate sour plum for the 1st 2 weeks whenever i feel nausea, but somehow find that i feel even more nausea after taking during 2nd week, so i switch to sweets instead. I felt better taking sweets, esp those with mint. It is normal to have that "er" sound and nothing come out, just don't force yourself to puke. I always believe once you start you can't stop!

For me, i rather be abit ks than to be sorry. So seeing the gynae soon can at least "fangxin" when he/she says that your bb is normal & healthy.. And most likely we will be choosing TMC cos my gynae is from there

hi miso
don't really like bowling. but it's co event, so, i took part. ya, the flr was slippery. i got once nearly fell down. hehehe....

so, i think my 1st gynae really let the pregnant ladies do whatever they want as long as there is no severe problem.

i ever saw an article emphasizing that pregnancy is not sickness. hahah... which i think it's really true. 'cos ppl always pay too cautiously on pregnancy, which makes those haven't got pregnant thought that pregnancy is an horrible processes with lots and lots of restriction.

hi nyny,

I agree actually. We should enjoy our pregnancy and not suffer right. Maybe for some of us suffering from MS, it's only a phase, and since gynae mostly will say with MS it shows bb is growing really well..so we just bear it lor. 2nd tri onwards, should feel really energetic liao.

I walked a lot during my 1st pregnancy and had a smooth delivery. In fact, during lunch time, my colleagues couldn't even catch up with me. haha...so funny.

wow... miso, you are so strong!!! hahah....
i think the most unbearable part is the nausea and giddiness....

no la, not strong la, just dun believe in being 'sick' during my pregnancy..I should enjoy it ma..can only enjoy this feel for the 9 mths u know..haha..*kidding*

nyny, where do u stay? I always go to hougang to hv vegetarian food on weekends..this coffee shop only sells vegetarian food! very yummy

Hi miso,

I stay in Hougang. My hubby is a vegetarian whereas for me, I'm a haf vegetarian..sometimes will take white meat.
Can I know where is this coffee shop tat onli sells vegetarian? Tot of gg there to try

Hi miso, nyny

thanks for ur advice!
So far, never seen a gynae before, but will try to.. may take a male gynae.. u gals have any problems with male gynae?... I feel a bit shy, but heard tat male gynae are better...

Any of u know how much is the baby bonus?

And how much can we use our medisave to pay for the entire pregnancy bills?

hi miso
i stayed at yew tee. hougang is really far... heheh....

hi hoshi
i am using male gynae. at first a bit shy especially when he did the vaginal scan for me. but just trust his professionalism loh. there are ppl used famale gynaes, too. depends on your comfort level.

baby bonus? if i am not wrong, 1st bb is $3k, 2nd and 3rd is $9k each.
not sure about medisave....

hi hoshi,

understand fr my gynae's nurse tat we can oni claim a certain % of our bills, d rest we still hv 2 come out wif cash. as 4 d amt, i m not 2 sure yet. she said tat it was 2 early 2 talk abt it yet.

I only know I hv to keep those receipts when we visit our gynae..then when we deliver, can give all the receipts to the hospital..we can claim for those. hm..lemme go and get more info on tt..will get back to u gals soon.

yeah, gynae told me to retain receipts & fill in the claim form at hospital after delivery. Max $450.

Wah nowadays i get hungry very fast ley..

wake up already hungry
2 biscuits @ 7.30am
Beehoon @ 8.30am
Nuts @ 10.30am
Cookie @ 11am
Thinking of going for lunch now...

wah, eat & eat.. so joyful.. =P

oh yeah, i heard abt d $450 claim aso. so jus keeping d receipts & c how it goes.

wendyg, hehe... me 2!! hb complain tat he can c my tummi oledi. all i do now is 2 aat & sleep.

Hi wendy, wah...u hv a big appetite leh! good!!!

Now i dunno what to eat for lunch..haha, had vegetarian bee hoon this morn..till now..i dun feel hungry, in fact, i feel bloated. haiz.. my colleague bot a rumball for me from Han's .. so sweet of her..now, I am thinking if it is ok to eat since got Rum in it.