(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Happy new year! Finally went for my first scan with my gynae today, so excited when we saw the heartbeat!!

Doc said my EDD is 20 Aug 05, I think same as miso's. Like bbmom's, the bb measures 1cam - just like ikan bilis

But the trip costs me a bomb - $160 for consultation, v-scan + 2 weeks of duphaston! Doc still want to see me again in another 2 weeks....broke liao. So still thinking whether I should change to a more economical doctor. Any views?

thanks for the encouragement.. my wise hubby advised me to see GP about my gassy tummy, & the antacid worked... thank God. O'wise i'd still be suffering for nothin...

My appetite a bit better today after the antacid got rid of some gas.. i'm so glad. I was looking forward to being pregnant coz i thought i could eat whatever i liked (of course mustn't be harmful to baby lah), so i'm eager for the gas to get out of the way & my appetite to return.

I'm a simple girl lah, everyday eat bee hoon also happy.. so i was quite down when I couldn't enjoy my food.

hey ladies, came to know of a maternity clothing shop called Perfect Mum (branch at Hougang's Heartland Mall & Collyer Quay too), clothing quite good price (eg top for $30+), & they'll also alter the pieces so that we can still wear them after we give birth. Alteration is less than $10 per pc. I misplaced their name card, o'wise can be more specific.

erowen
can have ice cream lah.. got calcium ley.

angel
can have sex lah.. i think when baby comes,, lagi no mood... heh.

ixwong
which gynae u see?
sign package lah.. i signed mine at 6wks, $800. Works out to be abt $50 per visit.

bbmom
relieved for u...

Where's nyny?

hi miso and gals,

thanks for your warm welcome!!!

went to a gynae yesterday at Jurong East to do my 1st check up, my EDD is 29th Aug 2005!!! my baby is already 6weeks!!! i could see my baby and the little heart beat! 21mm long

the gynae gave me some folate tablets...that's all. No other pills or vitamins.
is it normal?

Actually i am thinking of looking for another gynae, heard from a friend this gynae is not very good. Anyone heard of Dr Tho Chin Keong from "The London clinic & surgery for women" in jurong east?

Ok, hope everyone has a fantastic week here!!!

hi reenie, ur bb seems v long.. mine is only 6mm at 6 weeks! i also had only folic acid tablets, but gynae said we can also start taking fish oil capsules to aid brain development... just bought mine from GNC few days ago. Not wishing for a super-brainy kid, but just want him/her to develop normally...

by the end of the month we'll be finishing our 1st trimester! great news to those who are suffering from MS... we'll be in time to enjoy the CNY goodies..hehe...

Hi tingting,

really??? 6mm? maybe my baby is long like daddy...hahahah...but is it true? don't tell me my doctor make a mistake...haahahah...

1st trimester should be 3mths right? i am 6 weeks...meaning another 6 more weeks to go? oh yes..CNY goodies...yummie. i hope pineapple tarts can eat, bak kwa can eat and a sip of coke :p

I just hope by 4mth everything will be really good and much settle...

Take care too

hi hoshi and angel!

i just realise 3 of us has the same EDD!!! 29th Aug 2005!

but the gynae says the date will change each time we go through a more detail scan of the bb.

Hi bbmom! So glad you saw the heartbeat! Was so happy for u. So now you can sit back and relax and enjoy ur pregnancy! I guess maybe u ovulated later and thus conceived later, tt's y the scan shows you are only 7 weeks gestation. I remember for my first pregnancy, bb's gestation always abt 1 week behind. hehe..but as long as it is growing healthily..nvm la.

Hi ixwong, most gynae's first visit charge usually higher, then the subsequent ones will be lower. You can check with the nurses on the charges..or check if ur gynae has got a package.

Hi renee, 21mm long at 6 weeks is very long leh...I think mine at 5wks 4 days only measured abt 4 mm? My gynae gave me folic acid and Vit. B6.

Hi tingting, your gynae dun prescribe fish oil for u? I think my gynae will start giving me fish oil when I reach 2nd tri.

Yea yea!!! so fast..end of the mth we will all be ending our 1st tri! And guess I gotta wear maternity clothings for cny liao...

Hi Renee,

which gynae did u go?.. can recommend? coz I also stay quite near to JE...
also, how much did u pay for ur 1st visit?

Hi MTBs,

Care to share what you all ate for ur meals??

I will start first with breakfast:

I had toasted wholemeal bread with smashed eggs and cheese and a cuppa coffee for breakfast.

wah miso, u have such a wholesome breakfast! i only have bread w/cheese plus milo... chop chop finish in 10 min...

usually i get full quite easily, so lunch n dinner quite light..soupy stuff or porridge...

fish oil is not a necessary supplement, so it's not a doctor's prescription. they do sell fish oil supplements though... gynae says we can start from week 10 onwards, but hb read that bb's brain devt starts in 1st trimester, so kiasu a bit start earlier lor... :p

reenie, hope bb will be as tall as hb n me..hehe.. we both quite tall but our parents are short (save for my dad).

miso & tingting,

Wow, your bf so healthy n wholesome. I dun realli fancy bread and beverages :p

My bf is always keep changing..Coz I dun like to eat the same food everyday..Sometimes, my bf is mee siam, fried noodle, porriage, prata, soyabean etc..Hope I'm eating healthily

Hoshi,
i stayed at Jurong West, the gynae i went to is at Jurong East Blk 253 St 24, #01-269. Dr Tho chin keong, his clinic name is "The London clinic & surgery for women". He seems pretty ok to me and i did my 1st check up yesterday, but i am thinking of learning more about him from a friend of mine whom has taken him before. Will update you once i get more info. Total charge first visit = $120. I think its good to go for a check up first once you confirmed you are pregnant to make sure baby is in correct position and doing well

Tingting, i am pretty sure its 21mm...hahahaah went back to see my Ultrasound scan. Crown rump length = 21mm...is it really loong?

Hi miso, i ate a ham & cheese sandwich this morning with plenty of lettues! hahahha....and a small cup of milo. Gynae say no tea, coffeee or gasy drinks :p i miss my coffeeeeeee!!!!! My breakfast varies, sometimes fried beehoon and mee,or chee cheong fan...or sandwich, or cereal.

Thanks, gals. That's why I want to change gynae. His package only starts at 22nd week, and this is not my first consultation, still so expensive!

My bb is only 10mm at 7 weeks, 21mm seems big huh! Found out I put on 1.3kg in the last 1 month....is this moderate?

hello ladies
i am here!

still feeling nausea and giddiness esp standing for too long and b4 meal.
do you gals scare of cold a lot?
this saturday will go for another scan to see if bb is growing.

hi maltbibi, i can't take oily bfast, cos i'll probably throw up on the way to work... :p hb used to taking wan tan mee in the morning, but hse no coffeeshop now, so he no choice but to go healthy also...haha...from ur list i think only soya bean n porridge are healthy leh..hehe.. the rest better to eat in moderation...

reenie, think ur bb really quite long as compared to ours... :p but if no mistake then shld be ok lah.. bb grow at different rates initially...tend to even out after a while..

ixwong, if u're underweight it's best to gain weight till u're normal... though i'm sure we'll be shocked at the way the weight goes up!

hi nyny, i've always been intolerant of cold, not sure whether it's recently caused by cold weather or bcos i had a bout of flu last week...

Hi ladies, my bf varies too...sometimes I also ate fried bee hoon with a slice of luncheon meat..but must hv a cuppa kopi!

Reenie, my gynae says a cuppa kopi a day is fine..not more than 5 small cups actually. So I had my daily morning kopi lor. Else will headache leh..

Hi nyny, glad you are fine! are you working now or home resting? Yes, I do feel very cold. Me also gg for scan this sat to chk for bb's heartbeat!

Hi ting ting, me also cannot take oily food..tt's y always ask the auntie to omit putting the fried onions into the soup. yaks..sure throw up if I ate tt. However, this bb likes vegetarian food! hahaha...

hi miso
i am at work now.
i feel weaker than i was b4 pregnancy. 'cos if i stand long time, i will feel dizzy and have bit of cold sweat. do you have the feeling?

Hi nyny, no..i dun hv tt kinda feeling. Maybe u hv a weak constituency? I think you should voice it out to ur gynae and maybe he can prescribe some vitamins for u?

hi nyny, do u have low blood pressure? mine has always been marginally above average...hmm, i wonder if blood pressure should correspond with height? like "longer" bodies means pressure has got to be higher for blood to be pumped up to the brain right? cos further distance mah... :p

hi miso
ok. will let my gynae know about that in next visit.

hi ting ting
all the while, my blood pressure is normal. no one told me i have low blood pressure b4. no lah. shouldn't be correspond with height. those ang moh also have blood pressure problem leh.

what are the herbs that we can't take during 1st trimester, 2nd and 3rd and thru out the whole pregnancy?

So envious of all of u, can have so much variety of breakfast. As for me, so far only soup noodles or Milo with cream crackers.

My vomitting had also started yesterday. This morning just drank water & milk also all vomitted out.
So worry got no nutrition for my bb.

hi nyny...for the first tri, basically no tonic / herbs cos bb is still forming.

my mil will start making bird's nest soup and/or cordyceps soup for me from 2nd tri onwards.

Then 3rd tri..towards the last 2 weeks, hv to take cooling stuffs like coconut juice..just the juice hor, not the flesh itself. so when bb is delivered, will be cleaner.

hi miso,

wonder who will make tonic soups for me... both my mum n mil also clueless... prob got to depend on myself.... last week my dad cooked some chicken soup with ginseng n white fungus...quite yummy cos i like the ginseng taste...hehe..guess should be ok if it's not strong dosage rite?

hi ixwong,
i think its oky to put on 1.3kg, i put on around 1kg as well. Read from book, its normal to gain around 2kg during 1st trimester.

hi miso,
i really misses my coffee, even a sip or 2 is good!!!

hi tingting,
as long as the baby is healthy and fine, i think length doesn't matter

hi chemisty,
did u get some tablets to prevent vomitting from your doctor?? my first visit yesterday the gynae given me "Stemetil" tablets to standby. Try to take smaller meals and rest more.

I saw in website stating Vit B6 can reduce or curb MS leh.

Hi tingting, you can cook? I will teach you how to cook if you want. In the meantime, try not to take any herbs soup yet cos bb is still forming.

Hi reenie, a sip or two of kopi is definitely ok la! go ahead! ask your gynae y u cannot drink. I had my daily cuppa every morning!

hi miso, is an occasional ginseng soup alright? dun really know how to cook, but soups quite easy right? just dump ingredients into slow cooker...hehe... now no cooker, so using claypot over stove, but thinking of buying one soon...

Hi reenie,

During my last visit, I only got gassy stomach and so doc prescribe some medicine for that only. But, after vommitting, the gassy feeling is gone. In a way, 1 symptom substitute another.

Hi miso,

Actually, I took Vit B complex, think got Vit B6 also. But don't seem to work leh. Think my best medicine now is hot milo or cereal drink.

hi chemistry,
try to take hot milo, or holick, or maybe some orange juice? i find myself very good with juices....i also take hot soy milk if available.

hi miso,
thanks for your support! hahahahah...cheers to all coffee lovers!

have a good lunch time girls! eat healthy and stay happy

Hi tingting, i not sure liao..maybe u can chk with ur gynae? I was told not to take any for the 1st tri. Yes, quite easy to cook soups. Alternatively, can take soups from those stalls selling double boiled soups.

Whoa the thread is so active today.

Ixwong, think our pregancy is quite close. bb also same size

Reenie, yr bb is long leh. Might be more than 6 weeks.

Miso, my breakfast everyday roti with nutella & a cup of milo. Appetite good but din eat double. Still already put on 3 kg so far. Think will maintain the kind of weight gain as previous pregnancy. Scary.....

Hi nynym nice to hear from you. Think yr case is similar to mine, so don have to worry.
Me also scare of coldness recently, think it is the weather.

Tingting, like wat miso said, try to avoid herbal for the time being. You can start in 2nd trimester. I don't take herbal during 1st pregancy as bb growing fast and big, so dare not take.

my breakfast today is glutinous rice! My colleague bought for me, so nice. She doesn't even know i'm expecting.

Other days, my regular b'fast is bee hoon with an egg. Normally it'll last me thru most of the day, but nowadays i'm hungry at lunchtime too.

For lunch, I've been taking muslim food with all the spicy curry. Yum! I'm a happy gal when my appetite is here.

For the past month i lost abt 2kg.. doc said not to lose anymore, & try to gain a bit..
so hubby allow me to eat whenever i'm hungry =)
doc put him in charge of my weight & food intake.

Ya lah, have to think for baby... i can tahan hunger, but baby can only get limited nutrients from mother's body store. Need to constantly input healthy food for bb's sake.

just now finish whole plate of mixed vege rice (without reducing the rice portion). think really need to eat more to increase my energy.

nowadays, my tummy got pain (not cramp) here and there. anyone experience that?

nyny
it's good that you can eat. (this is what my gynae told me)

My tummy at times also got pain but it's a bit crampy pain. Little bit of pain is ok. If it really get worse, it's better that you let yr gynae know.

Our No. 2 consultant is here! yea yea!! Welcome bbmom!

Hi wendy, u so cute! eat more eat more!!

I just had fishball mee pok and bot 2 popiahs in case..hehe..

wah miso,
you really have big appetite....
i think i need to buy small snacks, too. instead of taking biscuits all the time.

Hi nyny, i really do leh...though sometimes ms will strike. In fact, my bigger size skirts..now also quite tight liao..oh gosh, will be scary to find out what's my wt now. hahaha...

I keep wanting to buy the new Milo with Cereal..and keep forgetting...arrgh!

Miso, thks thks for yr welcome. Must contribute a bit mah, cannot let you take all the honour
You same as me appetite good. So far my lunch can never last me till me dinner. Sure need some snack by 4.30pm

nyny you eat more also ah

very sad to share with you this...i had bleeding on sunday and my hubby and i were very shocked. We immediately contacted my gynae, as his clinic is closed, we had to meet him at mt alvernia for a scan to see the baby is there around.

The gynae said that my foetus could be in a improper position or the hormones inside my womb is not very conducive. He gave me a jab and some hormones but he did advised me to prepare that there's a high chance of miscarriage due to my weak body.

It has been a pretty stress and tiring week. I'm currently on 1 week MC and there were still some spotting yesterday,monday.

I'm really hoping that i can carry it through...sigh

hi erowen,

sorry to hear what happened. do take plenty of bed rest. if ur situation is reduced from bleeding to spotting, it could be a sign of improvement. must not think too much and let your body mend itself.

will be praying for you n ur bb...

Hi all Aug-moms2b!!!

I'm new to this thread. There's something I always wonder, heard from my 1st gynae (TMC Sengkang) that we preggies are not suppose to dye our hair during our pregnancy, is it true??

Few days later, some friends told me to avoid nail polish as well due to the chemical use. But I remembered seeing some articles written moms-2b can still be pretty by going for make-overs??

erowen, so sorry to hear this. Do take lotsa rest and dun think too much k. BB will feel mummy's distress, so tok to ur bb often and tell bb how much daddy and mummy loves him/her. Am sure bb is struggling to survive so pls hang on!

I will pray for u and bb!

hi rykiel,

welcome! avoid nail polish bcos u inhale harmful substances contained in them. dye hair partly the same cos u have to stay in the environment for quite some time. think also something about hair dye entering body thru root of hair. for me, i only paint toenails n always hold my breath while doing so... :p