(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Welcome and congrats, maltbibi. I'm 7 weeks today and first pregnancy too. Next appt on Monday.
Hope to see or hear bb's heartbeat too.

nyny,
I also very burpy, don't know why so much gas in the body....

i am 5weeks pregnant, first pregnancy. Can I join this thread? My edd is 29 Aug 05. I did a scan 2 days ago, on Tuesday and my sac size is 36mm.

In the scan, once our gynae click the black dot (sac) from point A to point B, the gestation period is shown as well as edd on screen. That's y our gynaes can tell us how many weeks we are pregnant. It's all calculated automatically by the ultrasound machine :eek:)

Also, I have absolutely no symptoms at all except for sore breast. Sometimes it makes me v worried and wonder if everything ok. My gynae said those with v strong symptoms means their hormones levels are very high (which is good), but those without symptoms doesn't mean their hormones levels are low. It could be high too and those woman are very lucky. Just as a precaution, my gynae prescribed me hormones pills.

miso
hehee... so I'm not that kiasu lah. :p
actually it was my colleagues who started me on this topic of confinement ladies... telling me that should book in advance and should interview them as well.

my colleague was telling me that she sort of regretted not getting a confinement lady for her firstborn... everyone was so flustered when they brought the baby home. she will definitely get one when she have her second.

even my mom says I shd get one... at least someone who would cook the right stuff for me.

Hi Ixwong,

Thanks for the welcome
You sud be able to see BB's heartbeat at wk 7..

Hi Nyny,

Dun worry..U take care and probably u can hear BB's heartbeat in your nx visit..

Hi Emmie,

So qiao..We share the same EDD

I am currently seeing Dr Yeong at KKH. He's quite a caring gynae and likes to joke alot during the checkup. Feel quite comfy wif him.
How abt yours? Haf u fixed your gynae yet?

actually, having read so much about missed miscarriage, where u won't even know when bb is gone... quite scary n can't wait for next scan to prove bb is still alive... esp when i dun have much pregnancy symptoms. but well, will leave everything up to God, cos He alone knows the future.. no point fretting over what cannot be controlled. but everyday also say a little prayer for my bb...

hi angel n maltbibi, welcome! dun worry about hormone levels... gynae says HCG multiplies itself every 48 hrs, so long as it multiplies at usual rate, shld be ok. only thing is we won't know unless with blood test.... :p

hi maltbibi

me actually hoping for edd to happen on 9 Aug... holiday every year! :p

i'm more or less fixed on Dr Lisa Chin from Gleneagles. She is really very nice and caring. Felt really comfortable with her during my first visit...going to see her in another 3 weeks time. the only downside is that she only delivers at Gleneagles which is not exactly near where I'm staying and it's one of the more expensive private hospital...

dear nyny, don't think too much... things will be fine. Now it's not the time to anyhow think, it will affect you. Just take it easy ya.

Miso, i realised i cannot take bread with butter and my fav orange mamalade...i feel like vomitting after eating. But i have strong craving for saltish food. I still love chocolates though, almost eat them everyday.

Hi Maltbibi, angel and emmie, welcome and congrats. =)
Wow, u gals are fast, have already fixed gynae. i haven't even make up my mind yet. sigh

Hi Emmie,

Kekeke..same thinking..Hope to gif birth on national day

SG's and BB's birthday on the same day..so cool

Heard good comments on Gleneagles..The nurses there are veri nice n helpful..You will be well taken care by them..

Hi Erowen,

My gyane is a fertility gynae. Seeing him for some fertility issues but never expect to conceive naturally..So stick to him from then onwards...

First of all, welcome here Maltibibi and angel.

Me 2nd time mommy. EDD should be 20.08.2005 though not confirmed by gynae yet. Next appt is next sat so really hope to see bb's heartbeat. This time round, sad to say, I do experience MS. arrrgh! Ytd alone, I puked abt 3 times. haiz..

Hi emmie, cos I had a terrible CL for my first one..so this time, a forum friend keep praising her CL and she is using her for the 2nd one which is due anytime now...so I kinda 'booked' her first lor. When she is here, I will arrange to hv a meet up with her and talk to her. As the CL will be staying and look after me and bb for the 28 days, I feel I should at least find her pleasant looking and easy to talk to.

Hi angel,
we are having the same EDD....
I just went to see the doctor yesterday and she told me i'm into my 5 weeks....
hmm... now a bit unsure what to do coz I've never been to the gyne before.... U girls went to do the scan and so much more...
where shld i start?.. any recommendations?..

hi erowen

I've been visiting this gynae for many many years and we know each other v well... so naturally once I conceive, I go back to him lor. He is Dr Koh Ghim Hwee from Raffles Hospital. Wah.. Raffles v expensive, consultantion + vaginal scan + folic acid + hormone med (2 weeks) = $180!!!!

Hi hoshi5
Think you should start to visit a gynae soon to check that all is ok and that the sac is implanted in the uterus and not anywhere else.

Hi Hoshi
congrats.

yes, as what angel said, go and find one gynae to do a scan, to see if the placement of the baby is correct. And are you taking folic acid now? if not, you can buy from any pharmacy. It's small pills and yellow in colour. Pls take everyday.

wow, angel RH is really x...but it's also bcos of it's prestige and reputation. Most importantly you are comfortable with yr gynae

I was not comfortable with the first gynae i encountered last week when i went for the scan. So i have decided to start looking again .

Hope u're having a better New Year's Day than i am..
what a way to spend the holiday.. didn't want to wake up coz very sian of MS.. after 10am b'fast felt sick in the stomach & went to sleep again until 3pm.. had some food but still feel stomach not right. Burp burp burp
Zero appetite..
Gosh this baby's already changing my life in ways I wouldn't have imagined. To think that this time next year it'll be much worse when bb is born.
Aiyo aiyo, where is the joy...?
Unfortunately I'm no longer the "wei da" mother who would think nothing of sacrificing myself & everything for the sake of having a baby..
Now I think: suffer me, why have a baby?
The idea of having a baby is much easier & rosy than going thru the actual experience.
I wonder am i going to enjoy the next 8 months at all.. and what about when the baby is out?! Gosh..
Other mothers' hearts melt when they hear baby's heartbeat & see baby on ultrasound.. i hv no such feeling of unspeakable joy.
All my mothering instincts hv gone with the wind, together with my appetite.
I'm one sad mama.. =(

Oh Wendy, hang in there...it will be over soon. Most MS ends when u reach the 2nd tri..unless of cos if you are one of those unlucky ones who had MS thru-out pregnancy....oh gosh! *touch wood*..

Much as I hated to say this...but some says with MS means bb growing well isn't it?? So any time when u feel MS is acting up..just think..ur bb is growing really well!!! haha..and hope it wont torture mummy after the 2nd tri! Though I dun experience MS for my first pregnancy..sad to say..I am gg thru this bad phase for this pregnancy. haiz..so i try to pinpoint the things I ate which will kinda trigger MS from acting up!

Dun worry, u r not alone! *hugs*

Wendy, I find that if I brush my teeth and tongue after every meal, it kinda helps..so maybe u can try? Cos for me, it's usually the 'after-taste' of certain foods which triggers MS. HTH!!

An extract I got from a webbie:

Severe Morning Sickness
About one to three percent of pregnant women experience severe morning sickness. It can lead to profound dehydration, mineral and electrolyte abnormalities, and acid-base changes in blood chemistry. Treatment requires intravenous fluids and possibly hospitalization. Contact your doctor right away if you have any of the following symptoms:

Throwing up everything, food and liquids, for more than a couple of days.
Losing more than 5 percent of your body weight (for example a 120-pound woman loses 6 pounds) compared to your pre-pregnant weight.
Feeling constantly dizzy, lightheaded, very weak, and you have a dry, pasty mouth.

Hi Wendyg

I agree with miso... hang in there...
i can understand how you feel. initially my MS was so bad that for one week, all i did was vomit after meals. I couldn't eat/drink. whatever went in all came out... think i even threw out bile juice. felt so dehydrated, dizzy, very weak... at that point, i did feel very demoralised. was tearing everyday... why do we need to suffer in order to have a baby? BUT it will get better.

Stay positive. Try to keep yourself occupied. I find distracting myself with work or TV or reading magazines help. Though sleeping will keep nausea away but too much sleep is not good and can make you more dizzy and more prone to MS. I learnt to accept that MS will be a part of my pregnancy. Still suffering from it but it has gotten better. At least I no longer feel dehydrated.

Don't really have any mothering instincts but i guess things will work it out when the baby comes.

Hang in there... talk to pple...post in the forums... you will realise you are not alone.

hi maltbibi

keeping my fingers crossed on gleneagles staff.

Hi miso

ic... well hope this CL will be good.

my hubby is suggesting finding a CL who goes home at night!

was your first born a boy/gal? how old is your first born now? experienced mummy...must share your tips with us.

hope the new year started fine.

dear wendyg, don't think too much ya...i was just complaining to my hubby last night abt how much i miss my glass of red wine and that plate of sashimi. But i guess that's life and pregnancy brings you to another level of experience. So let us just enjoy ya. =)

miso, since you are an experienced mum, can i check, can we have still ice cream? I'm having strong, or should i say super strong cravings for sweet things.

Hi Emmie, no prob..anything just ask k! Bbmom is also a 2nd time mummy so we should be able to help if we can! As for CL, u know what...my hb suggest the same leh!!! So I may hv to forego the CL liao and maybe look for a local CL instead..whom will come at 7 am and goes off at 7 pm. Hb dun wan our bb to slp with the CL leh...haiz..

My ds is 18+ mth old now...thinking of putting him in a cc when he reaches 2 yo.

Hi Erowen, sure, moderate amt of ice-cream is ok. Go indulge! Though they say we should keep cold stuffs at bay, but I think moderate amt to satisfy our craving is ok! Since I had this MS, I love drinking Florida's Orange Juice..yum yum..sour enaf to curb the MS! hahaha...

hi miso

really ah? i told my hb that he would have to do the night shift if we really go for a day CL. :p

your son is at a rather cute age... did u have a natural birth?

was wondering... i read that pregnant women shd sleep on their sides especially on their left. why particularly left?

Hi emmie,

Yes..cute age now..very fun sometimes...but v. notti ah!! hahaha..and he is nearing the so-called "terrible twos" oh oh..

I had natural birth, no epidural. I only relied on the gas and pethidine. Mine was an induced birth cos gynae is afraid of my high blood pressure. So when he sees tt ds reaches 3 kg in scan..immediately he ask me to be admitted to hospital to induce.

As for y we should slp on our left side...here's an article: -

Why it happens
Getting X and staying X comfortable in bed may be one of your greatest challenges during pregnancy, particularly if you're used to sleeping on your stomach or your back. Both positions present problems during pregnancy. During your first trimester, tender breasts may keep you from sleeping on your stomach, and as your belly grows, lying face-down will become increasingly uncomfortable.

Sleeping flat on your back puts the full weight of your uterus on your back, intestines, and your inferior vena cava (the vein that transports blood from your lower body to your heart). Back-sleeping can also increase your risk for backaches and hemorrhoids, inefficient digestion, and impaired breathing and circulation. Lying on your back in the second and third trimester can also cause changes in blood pressure. For some women, it can cause a drop in blood pressure that can make them feel very dizzy; for others, it can cause an unwanted increase in blood pressure.

What you can do about it
During the first half of your pregnancy, it's a good idea to start training yourself to sleep on your left side whenever you can. This position benefits your baby by maximizing the flow of blood and nutrients to the placenta. It also helps your kidneys efficiently eliminate waste products and fluids from your body, which in turn reduces swelling in your ankles, feet, and hands. Sleeping on your right side is fine, too. You'll probably need to alternate between your left and right side to remain comfortable. (If you wake up at night and find yourself on your stomach or back, don't worry X you haven't done any harm to your baby. Just roll back onto your side.)

Here's how many pregnant women feel most comfortable in bed: Lie on your left side with your knees bent and put a pillow between your knees. Arrange other pillows under your belly and behind your back for extra comfort and support. You can buy special maternity pillows for this purpose, though you may find that regular pillows work just as well. If you suffer from heartburn or breathlessness, you may also find it helpful to prop your upper body up a bit. In your third trimester, wearing a sleeping bra and a maternity belt can give extra support to your breasts, belly, and back.

A final tip: If lying on your side puts too much pressure on your hips, buy a soft egg-crate foam mattress pad. The egg-carton-shaped layer goes on top of your mattress and under the sheet and regular mattress pad for added comfort and air-circulation and is available in a range of sizes.

Hi Emmie, btw...night feeding is no easy chore for the 1st mth! Imagine u hv to get up almost every 2 hrs interval to feed milk, thereafter, they will poo poo. cos for the 1st mth, their input and output almost immediately one! so u must hv the mental preparation to take care of newborn if u decide to look after yourself.

both dh and I were like zombie for the 1st mth! and very stressful.

hi gals, how's the start of the new year? it's so quiet here this morning...

am still not feeling much, but feel a bit nausea once in a while... like being sick most of the time.. appetite sometimes poor... just take a bit then dun feel like eating liao.. recently been getting frequent headaches at the forehead...always have to sleep it off but it comes back after a while...

miso, u took care of bb urself? am thinking of that, cos not v comfortable with stranger staying in the house, and mothers are unlikely to be able to help. How much does a CL cost?

Hi tingting, yea..very quiet here this morn.

I took care of my ds when he was born cos I sent the CL back after abt 5 days...lucky I did not, else I think I will be suffering from post-natal blues..phew phew!

Yea..initially I also feel funny with a stranger at home with me and bb alone. But it's actually good if you got an extra help to care for bb, u know..the first few days after u were discharged from the hospital and wound is still healing..a bit more difficult I guess, if u had a c-sect. I had natural birth and the episiotomy is not too bad..heals pretty fast. I had friends who took care of bb themselves and order confinement food. So actually depends on yourself, you can do so likewise and best if hb can take 2 weeks off work! hehe..

CL's charges ranges from $1.6k to $2.2k. And this excludes the food, herbs etc..

hi girls especially 2nd time mothers

Like to ask if it is safe to have sex in the 1st trimester?

My mom told me not to do it as bb not stable yet but my husband kept insisting that he wants!!! *headache*

If it is not a good idea, how do we please our husbands? Cannot expect hubby to abstain for 3 months right...

I didn't ask gynae as felt shy.. will ask during next visit. Meanwhile, would like to have your opinion. Thanks

hb already took leave haha... due to job nature no choice...

mil gave me a website where u can order confinement food: www.newbaby.com.sg guess she already acknowledged that she's also clueless in this department...haha...

was thinking it might be better if i use the CL money to engage part time cleaner to keep house.. confinement food relatives can help to cook...only thing is whether i'm confident enough to go thru 1st month without professional help...

sorry, a bit of a side-track with regard to the tsunami crisis! Pls take note!

I went to check out their website and it seems that there's no mention of this phone no., so think it's really a scam..
This is the Red Cross webbie:
http://www.redcross.org.sg/press_bayofbengal_appeal.htm

>
> Dear friends,
>
> If you receive a SMS request you to donate to Red
> Cross Society through
> phone, please DO NOT CALL the no. 1900-9111110.
>
> I already confirmed with Singapore Red Cross Society
> that they did not
> request people to make donation through telephone.
>
> Some people may using this opportunity to cheat
> money. Please be careful
> before making any donation.
>
>
> If you wish to help tsunami victims, can make
> donation by:
> Address your cheque to "Singapore Red Cross
> Society".
>
> Indicate behind the cheque "Tidal Waves Asia".
>
> Include name, address and telephone number at the
> back of the cheque as a
> receipt will be sent to you.
>

hi miso,

not sure whether this is true, cos all 1900 numbers should be registered with Singtel? anyway, now the call is for item donation (food, water, etc) and not so much $$ anymore.

hi angel,

surprisingly, my gynae offered that info to us on our very first visit. sex is ok for pregnant women unless they have past experience of miscarriage. if ur hb is a carrier of infectious disease (e.g. hep B) and u are not immunised against it, remember to use condoms. but i've been feeling so lethargic these days that also no mood for sex... so same outcome..haha...

Hi angel, sex during 1st tri is relatively ok..but maybe as your pregnancy progress, some positions may be uncomfy. For the 1st tri, if you experience spotting, do refrain from doing it further and go to the gynae for check.

For my first pregnancy, I practically did not hv sex for the entire pregnancy! hb just hv to DIY lor..bo bian, no mood. hahaha...

Hi ting ting, you must prepare mentally. All should be ok, just need to learn how to bathe bb, bfg or milk feed, how to swaddle them..but all these, will be taught to you at the hospital. hm..dunno all hospital provide this anot..hehe..basically, newborns just slp thruout the day!

Hi all moms-to-be,

Can I join? my edd is 25 aug so i think i am into 5th week now? have been feeling extremly tired and sleepy,basically just sleep my way through.....lucky i was on a week leave last week when i discovered i am pregnant.

i am now looking for gynae..hopefully can settle for one soon by this week or so.

Hi reenie,
I'm also now looking for a gynae...edd is 29th August..

seems like we only need to go for our checkups once a month till the last trimester...
Found out from my colleague tat 1st trimester most important is to check the baby's location and whether everything is ok.....
But my hubby says that it's too early to go for checkup...

any recommendations for a good gynae in the west area, near to bt batok, clementi...

Hi reenie, of cos u can join us! Welcome!

Hi hoshi, best to go to gynae as soon as you found out you are preggie. Gynae will chk if bb is in the right position and wont result in etopic pregnancy and will give you vitamins and folic acid as bb is still forming.

hi tingting and miso

Thanks for your advice. I got no mood too but my husband made some comments and they make me so guilty that I chin chye la. Then after that, he flew away for work. Today he is back, pretty sure he will want it again. *sigh* He know how to black mail me emotionally :p

hi angel, if you dun feel comfy at any time during BD, i think you should let your hb know and hopefully to get his understanding.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Welcome all newcomers.

Few days never log in and the thread is so active. Miso you are like a consultant huh! Well done!

Miso,
Altho me myself is 2nd time mommy i still feel paranoid. So far still not much symptoms really a bit scare. Next appt is 10/Jan and i think i can't wait that long. Do you think i should just go visit my gynae to assure myself or i'm thinking too much?

Hi bbmom! nice to see you back here again..how u doing? How many weeks gestation are you now? U may wish to go earlier if you want. No need to worry, for my first one, also not much symptoms unlike this one...haiz..

My appt is this coming sat, 08.01.

Hi Miso
Thks for the fast reply.

You see, my last mense is 28/Oct. During my previous appt on 20/Dec, gynae can only see the water bag and the sac. Thus i don't wish to go down too early and then in the end still can't see heartbeat and also waste money. But base on last mense i should be 9-10 wks now. SO everything seems don tally. But on the other hand, feel like going down also. You see la, so contradicting me.

Hi bbmom, I tried the due date calculator and it showed u should be abt 9 weeks pregnant todate. I based on 30 days cycle... :p Tally leh..y not? so your next appt should be able to detect heartbeat liao..but y ur gynae fix ur appt so late ah? Maybe he is those super confident type..hehe..

My gynae actually wanted me to go to him earlier after last chk up on the 18th Dec. But cos the following 2 saturdays are holidays..so I push it to this coming sat. hehe..mine is one of those 'kiasi' type.

Miso ya lor. He usually fix 2 weeks interval but don know why this time round 3 weeks. No tally lei. If todate is 9 weeks, then last visit should be 7 weeks but stull see only sac? i tot 6,7 weeks can see heartbeat liao? Really feel like going down later. Me damn kiasu. heehee...

hi bbmom, i also can't wait for next appt, which is 3 weeks away. at my last appt, could see a heart beating away... quite intriguing.. but nowadays worried if bb developing well cos i also like no symptoms...

Hi tingting,
Don worry since you already saw the heartbeat in yr previous appt. Everything should be ok. I'm worried as i should be able to detect heartbeat but date seems to be pushed backward. Believe bb is ok, just wanting to give you a good time for yr pregnancy

as long as you can detect heartbeat, no other symptoms is fine la...

hi bbmom, now i know ur concerns..but what does the date in the scan shows on ur bb's gestation? maybe u conceived later, tt's y the date pushed backwards by 1 or 2 weeks?

Hi Miso, tingting
I really went down to see my gynae and guess what, i saw my bb & the heartbeat. Can you imagine how relieve i am!!! Even my gynae says it will be bad if i still can't see anything today. Hrw he says it's good that i went down to assure myself.

But till now i still don't understand how come my date is so far behind. Gynae says i should be 7 weeks now and bb measures 1cm. EDD is 23/Aug. Anyway don't care as long as bb does grow these 2 weewks and heartbeat detected.

Miso, thks for yr listening ear. It really helps