(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi morning ladies!

I would recommend all of you who are first time mummies to buy the January issue of Today's Parents. It covers the scares of first trimester, eg. ms, bleeding etc, which I find very informative! Also there's an article on breastfeeding. Very informative too if you are trying to breastfeed and know what to expect.

Go check it out!

Thanks, miso. Will go get the magazine.

Wendyg, I thot too much Vit A is no good for bb in the first trimester. That's why my gynae told me not to eat liver.

thanks miso,
will get the magazine tonight.

hello ladies..
i went to see my doctor last night, kena flu. Now on mc at home for today. Feeling better now but head's very heavy. How i wish my doctor is a gynae, she's really very nice.

And my blood pressure was very low also...she advised me to drink a lot of soups, any clear soup will do. When i went to see the gynae on monday and asked him what can i eat to improve my low blood pressure, he just said nothing.

Hmmm, as for papaya, i think it's up to individual. But why cannot eat?

wendyg, dr soong sounds very nice leh, she so nice..even put condom on the V scan stick, the gynae i went didn't, just put some lubricant and that's all.

Since last night talk with my doctor, i decided to definitely change gynae, will not visit him again, will try dr adrian woodworth and yvonne soong.

hi erowen, from what you said, it's better to change gynae since your present one does not give you the security and assurance u need. my gynae also puts condom on the stick...so shld be quite sop?

did you guys catch zoe tay's programme last nite? after watching 2 episodes, i think there's not much to learn from the show. there's an advert break almost every 5 min of the show, and at least half of air time is devoted to the toddler competition.

It's great to see so many discussions and support here.. may I join too?
My hubby and me just got the biggest surprise on Christmas day after doing the preg test
We only got married this 2nd oct :0 I've so many questions and things to learn hehe...
I've went to gynae and did the scan. It's still a small black dot only... according to the Dr it looks like I"m in 5thweek
Shld be going down again in 2wk+ then can see the heart.

Hi cakey, welcome here. Sure u can join us!

Do post your queries, we will all try to help u. Congratulations..u r so lucky! Just married not long and now preggie!

hi ting ting, yr gynae did that too. That's gd. Yes, i have consulted with hubby and we are definitely swopping gynae..

yes, we caught the show while at my doctor's clinic. Wow, Ivy Lee looked so beautiful...The babies showed at the end of the show were so cute!

Welcome Cakey! ya, mine also a small black dot. =). May i know who's yr gynae?

i'm afraid i might be getting the flu... been feeling cold n yet feverish at the same time, n sneezing whole day long....must take temperature when i get home... can't wait for 6pm....

ting2
yeah i dun think the show is worth my time...
1. all the talk about heaty & cooling food.. to me it's mostly old wives' tales..
2. i dun appreciate the "baby show".. nothing to learn from it.

ixwong
some people may be mistaken that too much Vitamin A is harmful to unborn baby.
see the website that i posted abv. Related topics can be found in the net.. Vitamin A in the form of beta-carotene is ok.. ie Vitamin A found in food. But of course, everything in moderation lah.. i think regular amt of liver shld be fine for mother & child.

erowen
Dr Soong is nice & caring, with sense of humour.. hubby & I are glad to be seeing her. But this morning had to wait quite long as she had a delivery at another hospital. We were there at 9.10am for our 9.30am appt, but she only came in at abt 10.30. She apologised profusely, but didn't rush thru the consultation even tho she knew other patients were waiting outside.
So maybe nxt time i wouldn't arrive too early for my appt lah.
I'm abt 8 wks, bb 1.8cm. EDD National Day..

Today abdominal scan can see v clearly, i'm surprised. No need to hold full bladder, unlike the previous gynae i saw. Maybe Dr Soong's eqpmt more advanced?

And unfortunately, it's true that MS means bb is growing well, coz the more HCG hormone present, the better bb is, & also the more symptoms. BUT THEN hor.. i guess it doesn't mean that all women react to the hormone in the same way, since some don't hv MS at all & still enjoy normal pregnancy.

Hi wendyg

so i guess those with MS are "suffering" for their babies sake...to have a healthy baby...

anyone looking for a confinement lady? wondering how to start getting contacts for them as the good ones are always booked well in advance.

Emmie

This was from the archive by beanie
"Hi all mtbs,
If any of you are looking for a Confinement Lady, I may be able to help. Do drop me an email at [email protected] or [email protected] if you need to check anything with me."

She said the confinement lady quite good? Chk with her lor..
how come so early must book liao?
Aug '05 got many EDD har?

hi wendy,

i believe in cooling n heaty stuff though, cos it's the basis of TCM. Agree that if everything is taken in moderation it shld be ok. But sometimes we tend to eat more of our fav foods.. so got to watch out lor..

i am still glad i dun have serious MS.. it could be that your body is more adaptable? read that MS does not affect baby in any way, except nutrient absorption...

is it too early for us to find a confinement lady? anyone thinking of mothers or mil?

Is flu considered MS? I've developed sore throat and now evolved to cough with itchy throat, since start to take folic acid 3 days ago... Also started to take the 'dupxxx' for strengthening womb. Are all these supplement 'heaty'? Now dunno what to do since cannot eat those 'liang' stuff like watermelon... Abit lost.. Can only try to drink lots of water and hope no need to take supplement soon...

but i dun like to suffer ley... so xin ku...
i caught myself thinking "Why people will want to have babies when it's so xin ku?"
and MS is just the start.. what abt the backaches, sleepless nights, cramps, worries, finances, discipline, toilet training, school pressure, puberty etc etc etc...?!

and people want more than 1 child?! The same issues all over again?! aiyo... head big big.

cakey
gynae said that mother's immunity may not be as strong coz of baby...
so maybe more prone to fall ill?!
aiyo, so cham hor..

ting2
ya lah, TCM also said i was heaty & that's why kena lymph node infection.. but i was on porridge for 3 weeks & still a 2nd lymph node got infected. Pui! Diet restricted for nothing. Now I very repulsive when think of porridge... yuck.
I grew up on Milo, started drinking coffee when i was 8 yrs old & love chocolate.. i'm addicted to heaty stuff.. heh.

hehe.. porridge is only minor liang food.. the real liang ones we cannot take during pregnancy mah...

everything comes with good and bad mah... kids can be real headache at times, but when u see them smile and how they cuddle up to you it's really worth it... i used to compare this to rearing dogs... u have to walk, bathe, feed and clean their poo poo, but they always look at you with adoring eyes and enjoy your pats so much, it compensates lor...

cakey, i only know iron tablets can cause constipation. milo can be heaty so moderate that... i also cannot tahan heaty food now...ate a goreng pisang the other day cos cannot resist craving...felt sick the whole day...

hee...being a little kiasu... but considering the number of mums-to-be here plus the many who doesn't get on forums, better to plan ahead...

hehe...emmie, i actually kinda 'booked' one liao..from a forum friend..so can't recommend to u cos our EDD so close. I hope this is a good one.

Just went for my consultation this afternoon. My gynae did a scan and can see bb's head and buttock already! He also switch on the speaker to let us hear the bb's heartbeat. It sound so cute! I can't stop laughing during the scan!

Oh yah, my EDD is also brought forward to National Day. So wendyg, we are sharing the same edd now!

hi tingting, go and see a doctor for yr flu. I was feeling extremely terrible yesterday! Whole body aching and very 'suan'. Now i feel better though my head is still rather painful and dizzy.

Btw, may i know if anyone is also taking Vitamin C?

wendyg, ya i will try to book an appt with dr soong. tks =)

miso, you so fast booked confinement lady liao? =)

most probably my mum and MIl will be helping me out.

someone advised me to take milk powder..may i know if anyone taking now? and what brand? tks..

wendyg, i was checking out dr esther ng thread and saw that you visited her before? Is she the one located at tanjong pagar plaza? One of my friends recommended her highly to me...hmmm..now i'm really confused lor...

would like to hear your opinion:
yesterday i went for 2nd appt.

after abdominal scan, we still couldn't see anything. then he tried vaginal scan. finally we are able to see something. surprisingly, Dr said i was only 5 week! i was really shocked. 'cos 5 weeks ago, my test kit already showed +ve. i was really puzzled. how could that be possible?

nyny, this is the first time your scan shows something? if i remember correctly, ur test shows faint +ve rite? Doc usually estimates the "age" of foetus by measuring the length of the foetus.. maybe urs is just growing a bit slower in the initial stages? my gynae says EDD may change during 1st trimester. the rate at which they grow during 1st tri may be different... what's the length of ur foetus? mine was about 4-5mm and it was abt 6 weeks.

hi ting ting
i didn't ask the length of the foetus. :p
my 2nd test show clear +ve leh. if it's about 1 week difference, i thought it still logical (based on my limited knowledge), but the difference is about 4 weeks. so, i was really puzzled.
that's y i was suspecting if the bb is not growing.
during my 1st scan, i couldn't see anything.

Hi nyny,

yah, don't worry, some foetus grow slower. Most important the pulse is detected. During my 1st scan, doc say the size (about 3mm) was only 5.4 weeks. Just 2 weeks later, the size increased to 13mm and doc now brought forward my EDD by 1 week.

Hmm, must so fast booked confinement lady huh? I was thinking of waiting for my colleague to try hers out (she's due in Feb) before I see if I would engage the same one...

Can't wait for the year to end.....

hmmm, nyny, may i know supposedly you are in how many weeks now? and is this the gynae u saw for your first appt?

tingting, u feeling better now?

nyny, dun worry too much.. when's ur next appt? if u still have pregnancy symptoms and no bleeding/spotting things should still be ok. i've heard of pple given hormone jabs to stimulate foetus growth.

and also, how does the doc count the number of weeks? from date of 1ast period or ovulation (conception)? better ask doc qns if you're not clear.

hi erowen, thanks. feel so tired after sneezing whole day... think slept for nearly 10 hours last nite! now slightly better though nose still runny... had a bit of MS this morning...

hi ting ting
thanks. later i m seeing another gynae for 2nd opinion. huh? i don't want any jab. very scare.
the doc counted the number of weeks based on the 1st day of last menstrual date. during the 1st appt, though couldn't see anything thru scan, he calculated for me and said it's 6 weeks.

hmmm...nyny dun worry, cos at my first my family doctor calculated based on my first day of menses. So supposedly i'm abt 6 weeks along but when i went to the gynae, the gynae say it's 4 weeks only. Cos the baby looks so small...
Dun worry, most importantly u feel fine and no spotting. If you wanna put yr mind at ease, u can seek a second opinion.

Ting ting, glad to know u are ok...ya must sleep a lot. That's what i did when i was on MC yesterday.
Btw are you drinking any milk powder now? Are they really that good for pregnant lady?

erowen, i'm taking Annum for pregnant women. Sometimes i do alternate with Marigold Soya Milk though... they are good sources of calcium. I'm not sure whether Annum is much different from normal milk powder though, but just take it anyway... think 1 tin can last me the entire pregnancy...haha...

hi erowen,
I've visited the gynae at Sembawang Lawrence Ang. He did the scan and give me some supplement. And this already cost $105. But if we take up the package then the amt can be deducted from the package. The package about $550 I think. Was puzzled cos seems much cheaper then those $1+ one.
But I've not signed up yet so still looking around for recommendation.
Btw if we don't have car is it impt for the gynae to be near us? eg. during emergency...

i did a P test on my cd28 and it show a faint line. i am now in cd29, it is too early to go and see a gynae?

hi ting ting, i have heard Annum is good. But my mom was telling me abt Sustangen....will go and take a look at both.

Cakey i also dun have car...we will be taking cab to visit gynae when tummy getting bigger lor.

Hi emon, what is cd? i also pretty new to this preggie area, maybe other mommies can advise you.

Hi emon, you may wish to test again few days later.

But if u see a faint line, more or less u r confirm preggie! Do take care.

erowen
The Dr Esther Ng I saw is located at Tanjong Katong Road... that's at Katong area. Not at Tanjong Pagar, which is in CBD.

Gosh, my 1st day back at work.. it's been a struggle. Half-day more to go.. now let me go & see what lunch i can eat... aiyo, scared i pass out

just went to see dr for flu... The dr say normal pandol is ok but don't take those flu-kind or variaty of pandol cos those might restrict bloodflow in body. Also the dr say to prevent cough, better eat fruits unrefrigrated or take out from fridge for some time before eating. All fruit are Ok except for pineapple which got 'eyes'. As for vitamin C it's better not to take so regularly cos the baby may develope dependency on high Vit C.
That's all to share for now

Hi Nyny,
Not to worry too much. According to calculations using my Last Menstrual Period, I should be in week 13 now, but according to gynae's scan, I am in week 12 day 1 only. So long as gynae detects that the sac is correctly implanted, and that at the next appointment, you can detect the heartbeat, things should be quite safe.

If the gynae does not sense that anything is wrong, no point worrying. of course, you can choose to seek a second opinion

oh i see....in Katong...
i just had fried kwey tiao for lunch, dun know why, i have no appetite for rice leh.

ya i heard we need to eat lotsa fruits. Cakey you also down with flu? take care. I felt so terrible the day before when i was down with the virus.

btw miso, you taking any milk powder?

Oh gosh, i got so many things to complain abt this time! I think I am putting on wt...and I think I got ms this time!! BB in me dun like kopi, sardine puffs, tom yam...arrrgh! all these are my favs! Colleagues say I look pretty obvious liao! walao..at the rate I am gg, think by next mth, I hv to start wearing maternity clothings lor..

Hi erowen, I have not started taking milk powder, will take Anmum in my 2nd trimester.

just now went to seek for 2nd opinion.
gynae said, bb seems not growing. will scan again next week.

Hi nyny, it cld be growing at a slow rate. Think ur gynae will scan for heartbeat the next time round.

How do u feel now? I mean do you have the usual pregnancy symptoms?

Hi MTB,

I'm new here.. Can I join you gals? I'm in 8 wks now and my EDD is 6 Aug. This is my first pregnancy..

Went to see gynae yesterday and veri happy to see BBs heartbeat.

Now looking forward to my next appt which wud be 3 wks time..

hi miso
i am still feeling nausea and giddy and burp a lot. stomach not bloated so much anymore.