(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

bbmom
we preggie should avoid kopi...
u should say Tau-Huay break... heh.

i'll be at Hougang later for my haircut & hang out with my parents. They haven't seen me in a while & may be flying to Canada soon to help my sis take care of her 20month son as she's entering last tri of her 2nd preg.

so many preggies around..

stomach no good today, super gassy due to irregular meals. Yet dun feel like eating.. sianz.

hey i'm reading What To Expect When U're Expecting...
has tons of qstns that preggies ask. Very relevant to us even tho it's a USA book. Good buy.

Hi Erowen,
Ya nowadays stamina not as good as last time liao. Cannot go shopping. Just now went down to Taka to buy a bag, come back damn tired.

I agree bb being healthy is the most important thing. Tat is also my priority but just can't help feeling sad seeing a uglier and fatter me

Wendy
Actually I'm not a kopi gal. I don drink kopi at all. Sure next time we should meet up for tau huay break

One funny thing is when we are single, we won't notice preggies. But when we start to ttc and get pregnant, we will notice a lot of preggies.

Where did you get the book? Trying to search for some book regarding pregnancy but hor don know where to look for. Somemore nowadays seldom go out.

ya i do get tired easily and bcos of nausea, i do not really wanna go crowded places.

I had 3 pieces of durian this afternoon and i think my baby don't like...been very bloated after eating and it's only 3 pieces.

wendyg, you really can control yr caffaine, i can't...
bbmom, you also not a coffee drinker..gd for u. I simply cannot resist smell of coffee.

btw any one of you bought 8 Days, with Zoe and her tummy on the cover? It features also other celebrity mummies, i'm surprised to know that May Phua can gulp down 1.25L of coke in one day! Amazing. It's one of her preggie craving.

Hi Wendy,

I'm also reading tat book. Agree is very informative for MTB.

Hi bbmom,
You can burrow the book fm the library. I got it fm there. Thinking of buying the book to keep. Heard that is ava in the Popular Bookshop.

Hi Angel

Can u add me to the list as well..

Age 27
EDD: 5 Aug 2005
Week: 10
Name of gynae: Dr Benjamin Tham
Hospital: KKH
Place of Stay: Ang Mo Kio

Hi Gers
Went for my checkup 2dae.. BB's 10wks old and 3.54cm long.. so happy that I can see the heartbeat.

My Gynae was sayg dun take too much durian and grapes coz they are very very high in sugar content.. bcoz durian is oso very high in calories, eating too much wil coz bb to grow very fast and fat.

he oso recommended pregnancy books by Dr Mariam Stoppard.. I've read it n its very good, detailed n informative.

hope the above helps.

wow..so active even on a saturday! good man!

haha..today I went to see gynae..so relieved to see bb's heartbeat..pumping so hard and fast at 166 counts. bb is now 13 mm and gestation is 7 weeks 4 days. But found a bit sugar in urine..so gynae ask me to control sugar intake. and also........I put on 2 KG...omg!!!

after tt, went to changi airport swensen's to eat..wah..had lots man! a very tiring day today..

Hi Michelle..i have not done it yet..cos only 7 weeks now..i think triple tests will be done in 2nd tri. I forget liao..hehe..

hi bbmom, dun be sad...must doll urself up and buy many pretty maternity clothes to look pretty ok.. I also fat fat now..1st tri only..haven end yet hor..oredi put on 2 kg...cham liao..

tok about kopi..i can only tahan the kopi from the vegetarian coffeeshop mentioned earlier..the one at blk 357 or sth at hougang..tt's the best! other than tt, i drink liao..feel like wanna puke!!

miso, is that kopitiam at hougang ave 7 or where is it? for me, i prefer the instant coffee pack my mum bought from malaysia, 2 in 1, self add sugar type.

so did you have any ice cream while at swensen?

sigh, i don't think i touch any durians in the near future since i have feeling very 'er' after taking just 3 pieces. It used to be my fav fruit.

wow, i dun know the baby's heartbeat can be calculated.

@ 9 Jan 05

<table border=1><tr><td>Mommies-To-Be</TD><TD>Mommie's Age</TD><TD>Place of Stay</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Name of Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>angel</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>28/29-Aug-05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Dr Koh Ghim Hwee</TD><TD>RH </TD></TR><TR><TD>miso</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Dr S H Kee</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Libtuarius</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>7-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr A L Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixwong</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>vone</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Bedok Reservoir</TD><TD>30-Aug-05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Dr Chan Siew Tung</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chemistry</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>tba</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendyg</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>tingting</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>maltbibi</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>6-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr C T Yeong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emmie</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>6-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>erowen</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cakey</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>hoshi5</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>29-Aug-05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbmom</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Hougang &amp; Sengkang</TD><TD>23-Aug-05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Dr Poon</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicole</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>5-Aug-05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

Hi morning ladies...rainy day today...good to stay at home..

Hi erowen, I think ... hm... someone oredi clarified where the plc is..I forgot to take their namecard again..haiz..

And yes, I had Sticky Chewy Chocolate at Swensen's .. v. yummy but v. sweet..hehe. Total, we ordered.. Sirloin Steak (bil), Black Pepper Seafood Pasta (hb), laksa (bil and hb share), Fried Fish Pasta (me), Baked Rice (me and ds), Omelette (sil's younger dd), Aglio Aglio (sil's elder dd), All Veges Pizza (share), Fried Mushrooms (share)..then Brownie ice-cream and the Sticky Chewy Chocolate.

hahaha...what a spread hor..

oh wow..angel thanks for the effort in compiling the list! seeing the list..only then realise quite a no. of us preggie and due in august..hehe..

A good weather day again

Hi Maltbibi, thks for the info. Will try to visit the library or Popular to take a look at the book

Miso, Glad to know everything is fine. Seems like our date quite near. You naughty girl, gynae ask you control you still go swensen ah
But seems like you had an enjoyable meal.

Toking about clothes, my M clothes all very..... tight liao, then hor XL still too loose. Really headache looking for clothes to wear every morning. Wan to buy CNY clothes also headache and everywhere soooo crowded.

Hi Angel, thks for the effort for updating

Wonder how is nyny?

HAve a good day, everyone

Hi bbmom,

Yea..me noti noti la..cant resist the ice cream leh! wahahaha... bil got $200 worth of swensen's voucher from his com..so use it to the fullest lor!

hm..i prepared to wear maternity clothings for cny liao..tummy fats too much..now showing liao..and so many of my skirts cannot wear lor...damn cham too.

Today me alone with ds at home..lucky now he can walk else v. cham gotta carry him all the time.. :p

The thread really goes very fast...can't quite catch up cos I usually log in on weekdays only...eat snake at work

Ya, also reading what to expect when expecting. Must say it's a informative book, worth the $20 investment. I'm thinking of getting the other one - what to expect for your baby's first year....think it would be quite helpful for first-time mum like myself *blur like sotong type*

I realised my nausea pattern is changing slightly. Now happen usually after meal...does it mean I ate too much? And love to eat 'dry' food e.g. deep fried stuff. This morning went for dim sum with my family and found myself gorging on pan-fried carrot cake....

I heard there is a nice shop in Amara selling pretty maternity wear. Anyone shop there before? I'm wondering if they open over the weekend cos I don't work in town.

wow, miso, sounds like you had a great meal at swensen.

today i went to heartland mall with my hubby and i couldn't resist buying ice cream from the newly opened ice cream shop! Yummy!!!

Angel, tks for compiling for us ya.

tomo is back to work for me liao. Hopefully my nausea will not be too obvious in office.

Everyone, have a good and smooth-sailing week ahead. Nightey Night.

Regarding the famed Hougang Vegetarian kopitiam
Miso's prev posting:
Hi Maltbibi, U know where is The Florida? Diagonally opp. there is a church..the coffeeshop is just opp. the church..hahah...i know it's a bit confusing..I will try to get the address and let u know k.

My prev posting:
Blk 356 Hougang Ave 7. Whole row of shops.
But main road is Upper Serangoon Rd.
My parents place blk 351.. I grew up in that neighbourhood. I go Blk 356 for haircut too.
That corner coffeeshop never took off for nearly 20 years, some years is hardware shop, some years stationery shop. Until this vegetarian shop came.. nowadays quite crowded there

Morning gals,
just went shopping over the weekend.
Went to tis place called 'mama-chic' at Specialist Centre, Orchard 2nd level. The clothes are very nice and fashionable. Bought one top and pants for CNY. Now stomach quite small and round liao... hehe..

Gd morning ladies!
Can i join? Im currently 6wks preggie so will be a Sept mtb.

Hi miso/cafe,
Im here liao... kekekee...

Actually last evening I had a very pain abdomen pain.. now really worried. trying to push foward my appt to tis evening.. Hope everything will be all right.

hi joice, yes happy to see u here... i think its better to let ur gynae check regarding your pain. i m sure u r fine!

just an update, i will be seeing my gynae this friday. Will be seeing Dr AL Lim @TMC. Heard he is not bad &amp; his consultation is also very reasonable but waiting time is very long. I hope everything will be fine for me &amp; bb.... praying now. Base on my co. doc, i m 7 &amp; half week now. May i know how many weeks we can hear our bb's heartbeat???

Hi joice! Finally u r here! Welcome! Re. gynae...as per chat.

Hi cafe, went to my gynae's to chk for bb's heartbeat..was 7 wks 4 days..can see liao!

wow i'm sure have missed out many of these chats during the weekends.. like what ixwong said i don't usually log to pc on weekends, so busy!!! got to go here &amp; there..

Hi wendy, since Dr AL Lim is so highly recommended by my friend, tot y not juz go to him too... anyway i juz dumped the reg card in the morning then head to orchard to shop. Now got so many things to buy..

hi joice welcome and congrats.

Good morning to all mommies here.
I was drinking HL Milk in the morning and couldn't finish it...

One week never come to work and email is almost making my eyes see stars...sigh.

wendy, the vegetarian stall very famous? Hmm, must go and try try than.

hi, i usually woke up feeling ok like normal, but notice that after taking folic acid then i feel my chest like having gas and feeling more nausea. Anyone same situation? Quite to tempted to skip one day of folic acid to see how..

<font color="0000ff">hey joice</font>
Thought i'll be able to catch u here...
I've emailed to you the package already.
Hope you receive it.

Hi cakey, dun wori u r not the oni one experiencing this, i'm too feeling nausea after taking FA.. But no choice, for the sake of our little ones, got to bear with it.

Is folic acid the cause of our gassiness? I thot it just part of 1st-tri effects?

Cafe, you shd be able to see your bb's heartbeat by now. Good luck!

Been going around window-shopping, but quite lost as to the many things we need to buy (or don't need?) Anyone has any reference list of must-have?

ya cakey don't worry, it's normal to feel this way. We are on the same boat.

btw gals ask you something, do you all mind attending weddings during your first 3 months?

Hi cafe,

Most of us should be able to see bb heartbeat at 6-7 weeks. So u should be able to see your bb heartbeat during yoru consultation.

Hi cakey,

FA should not cause gassy feeling. It should be your pregnancy homones lah.

Hi ixwong,

I think now only need to buy our clothing right. Other bb stuff don't need to buy so early lah. My colleague say we can buy during the GSS in May/June somemore. kekeke. Anyway, the older folk who are "pantang" also say bb cot should only deliver to house very near your EDD. Dunno why also.

morning gals... feeling a bit dizzy today...now taking some sugar stuff hope will feel better...

dun think folic acid is causing the "gasiness"... cos i've been taking it before pregnancy n didn't experience it...

envious that you gals still have the energy to shop...nowadays, my time is spent sleeping on the bed... i feel tired from just going out for 1/2 day....

was also wondering what to prepare for bb's arrival... there's so much to look at in kiddy palace that there must be a thousand stuff to buy... definitely good to have a checklist!

last nite had a nightmare... dreamt that i had severe bleeding... quite scary....

Hi erowen, me will be attending a wedding end of this mth..I think should be no prob..but my old folks will say not to attend wakes/funerals.

Yea...some of the pantang things is not to buy bb stuffs too early. But still, up to individual I guess..for me, I will wait till at least I know bb's gender, then go buy..and most prob during 2nd tri cos tt's the time when we feel more energetic.

I got a list..will put up here to share later!

Hi chemistry,
tat's a good idea! We can always go shopping during GSS!!.. coz by tat time, we shld be able to know the gender of our baby... easier to buy things then!....

Hi erowen,
shld be ok to attend weddings lah...

is it normal tat i lost my appepite? I cant really eat much though feel hungry at times...still feeling nausea in middle of the nite if i wake up to pee....

ya i will most probably wait for gender then i go buy things.

usually by which week will we know the gender?

My next appt is on the 22nd...seems very long, can't wait to go and scan.

I got a colleague, her MIL very pantang, one month before delivery then can buy things. She felt so tired by then, but no choice lor.

tks hoshi and miso, i also hope to attend the wedding, cos she attended mine last year, it's not nice to just give ang pow and not go.

tingting, don't dwell on yr nightmare ya.

Miso, looking fwd to your list.

ok..here's the list..

1. Disposable diaper
2. Baby Safety Pins
3. Feeding Bottles
4. Pacifier
5. Bottle Brush
6. Milk Powder
7. Milk Powder Container
8. Powder Puff
9. Wet Tissues
10. Changing Mat
11. Baby cot, bedsheets, pillow sheets and all stuff for the bed
12. Feeding Bib
13. Mitten and Bootee set
14. Super Soft face Cloths
15. Assortment of Baby clothes
16. Baby Bath Towels
17. Nursing Pads (If you're breastfeeding)
18. Baby Powder
19. Cotton Wool
20. Baby Bath and shampoo
21. Baby caps
22. Baby Rocking Chair (not really nec, depends on you)
23. Baby socks
24. Baby soft brush
25. Moses Basket (good for first 2 months only)
26. Baby Basin
27. Baby stroller
28. Bottle sterisiler
29. Baby wrap blanket
30. Baby bottles warmer
31. Thermal Water warmer (for outdoor use)
32. Nipple cream
33. Infant Car Seat
34. Receiving Blankets
35. Breast Pumps

It's just rough guide though..some things i dun buy like moses basket, rocking chair, stroller, breast pumps etc..cos some given as gifts. HTH!

Hi cafe, it's ur hormones, each pregnancy is diff so dun worry. But dun lose too much weight ok..try to eat something light maybe? I din know certain foods will cause me to hv ms .. so.. need quite a no. of 'pukes' to really know..so I will avoid. haiz..ytd, can't slp...sms hb to buy food bk to me to mom mom..tt was arnd midnight.

Hi cafe,

Me too, got appetite ever since I got preggy. Think it's normal for 1st trimester. Now I can only take boiled or steam stuff. The sight of fried food (even fry vege) will put me off!

Hi miso,

Wow! That's a long list!! Nipple cream is for what ah?

Hi chemistry, tt's for nipple lor...cos when we start to breastfeed, nipple will sometimes be sore, cos bb wont know how to latch well or suck too long..then nipples will become dry and sometimes will crack. so the nipple cream helps to moisturise it. In fact, can start using it in 2nd tri when our breasts are fuller and heavier. But then hor, few friends of mine say they use the milk after each breastfeeding to rub the whole nipple..and it helps to moisturise too. :D

tks for the list! Very comprehensive.

cafe,i will wake up in the middle of the night to pee also...almost every night. It's disturbing my sleeping routine. Cos after peeing, i can't fall back to sleep. Will need 30mins to doze off and when i wake up, i will feel very groggy.arghh

for me, i dunno y i feel very nausea esp in the morning after taking FA. I don't have that after my lunch?? so 1st suspect is the folic acid.

according to old folks tales, attending Red/white is not advisable during pregnancy! However, we are staying in this modern world wif modern thinking. It is ok to attend WEdding, my friennds also attended my wedding with big tummy!! But for friends who just gave birth you got to be careful! whether believe or not, do not visit your friend during their confinement when u r pregnant! Old folks believe that new-born baby is very sensitive, be safe than to be sorry.. visit them after their one-month! As for funerals, try not to attend.

I also starts to wake up but lucky is early in the morning near to my wakeup time! So after peeing will go back to laze until wake up..

Some people can see teir bb gender around the 3rd month, but depends wether your bb wants to show you.. hehe

Libtuarius, avoid visitng friends who just gave birth wen we are preggie? Me still tot of visiting my hb's frenz wife who will be delivered in TMC on Friday wen I went for my first check up there. So its better to avoid?

Hi oreo,
Tks!

I will be going to my gynae at 2.40. Really hope everything will be ok. Pray hard for me ok! Will update u gals when Im bck!

Actually...it is ok to visit friends in hospital. Just DUN TOUCH the baby. Some bb quite pangtang..will be v. cranky. Like mine, when ds was few mths old..a lady, believed to be still in confinement period, passed by and touched my ds, and he is v. cranky and grouchy after tt... believe it or not lor..hehe..

but sometimes, these pantang thingy..also must see if ur friends believed in them.. if they are not v. particular, should be alright.

Lib &amp; miso, tks for sharing
.... anyway i dont think i m comfortable visting this fren now. Juz get my hb to see her.

Hi Miso,

Thanks for the list. At least gif me some ideas on wat to buy. Hehe..will b showing the list to hubby. Get him prepared

Joice, take care and keep us posted!

yes miso is rite, u can still got to hospital to visit your friend. But just avoid going to your friends' confinement place. just like b4 your wedding, normally you are not allow to go to any friends pre-full month visit.

hmmm Libtuarius, really ah? hmmm, guess i will consult my parents abt attending in first 3 mth then.

What did you gals have for lunch? I bought wanton mee, fried carrot cake and apple juice.

Now raining at my office at kallang...so sleepy....zzz.

kekke, now munching on maple cream cookies.

believe or not really depends on both you &amp; your friend. for wedding wise i'm not so pandang that y me &amp; my friend still attend one another's wedding.. but that time for bb wise we were quite careful..

hey erowen, i also had wanton mee for lunch!! but tink the amount is too little one hour ago already felt hungry but wait till 3pm then take tea-break.. maybe i'm too busy with work thats y for one hour didn't tink of hungry...

rain has stopped at stamford area... sigh one of my irresponsible colleague had went missing in action, and she threw numerous undone or done at the wrong method.. now trying to recover all the mistakes.. sigh...