(2005/06) Due in June 2005, Any 1

adora, baby kingdom is ok for big items like strollers and cots because you can bargain. But for smaller items like milk bottles, baby wipes, they are either the same price or even more expensive. i bought my stroller there and got $30 discount after bargain.

shane, can include me in. EDD 11 Jun, TMC, Girl. Thanks.

Hi, saw baby play-pan which can double up as cot (upper layer) for only $99 at Kiddy palace. It's much cheaper than the wooden baby cots. Is it okay to let new-borns sleep in these type of dual use play-pan?

I think the dual play-pen u mentioned will be pretty useful in future. I'm planning to get that. Coz not only the baby can sleep in it, u can let him/her play in the pen without worrying where he/she wanders to. Compared to a baby cot, this can last up to perhaps even toddler of 2 yrs...

Thanks Erlisa.

I was wondering if anyone actually let their new-borns sleep in it? Just to ensure it's fine coz i heard that that firm support is important for baby's back which is very soft at birth. Play-pen one seems less sturdy than that of wooden bed. But then again...can probably change the mattress to a firmer one. I'm just thinking aloud... :) anyone with experience to share?

Jane,
done

re play pen
i was drawn to the idea of the play pen also cos cheaper. But i heard feedback from the other MTB at the other thread saying that for play pen, we need to bend quite low to pick baby up, so overtime might get backache. Play pen is lower than cot and can't adjust as high as cot. so this is a pt to consider.

re play pen

My sister has 3 boys, she has been using the playpen, even the oldest boy 2.5 years old is still sleeping in there. usually it comes in 2 levels, one around waist level, when baby is in infant stage, you can use that, and usually includes a basinet. I bought my at JL at $99 after discount (the brand is baby love). Note the width too, some playpen width(includes the wheel) is too wide, you hardly can push out of a HDB room door. (point to take note)

Hope this helps

Hi shekinah,
I would prefer to get a bb cot. Reason being, its of 4-5 adjustable ht so it's easier to reach bb esp if the need for frequent feeding arises during confinement, etc... Can also use up to 6 years old.. I also find bb cot to be more stable.

If u are a Robinsons cardholder, you might want to look out for their offers on bb cot. I just bought a Daniel cot at $190, comes with free foam mattress and bb walker. Free delivery as well. Its quite a good deal. Heard from some of the forumers that there will be similar items for the coming members sale on 01 Mar.

Hi Shane, June & Serrich,

Thanks so much for the feedbacks! They're really useful. I'll keep a look out for baby bedding in the coming the Robinsons's sale!! Hope to grab a bargain there

Serrich,
you bot your cot already ah... i saw the cot, not bad ley. u got the walker ? heard later they ran out of walker then gave stroller instead.

i'll be getting my cot from my sil.

as @ 28 Feb '05
<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adora</TD><TD>03/06/2005</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milly</TD><TD>03/06/2005</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ras</TD><TD>07/06/2005</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>June Ten</TD><TD>10/06/2005</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jane Tan</TD><TD>11/06/2005</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyjun</TD><TD>18/06/2005</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shane</TD><TD>19/06/2005</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dreamydove</TD><TD>22/06/2005</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cherry</TD><TD>24/06/2005</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dunnoleh</TD><TD>26/06/2005</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anns</TD><TD>27/06/2005</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>USA-HOAG</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serrich</TD><TD>29/06/2005</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Erlisa</TD><TD>08/07/2005</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jane(wsj)</TD><TD>06/07/2005</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Serrich

Do you mind taking a pic of how the daniel cot looks like? I had invitation for the Robinson 01 Mar sale but not sure whether to buy the cot or not....Thanks!

They also have sale of Lucky Baby Playpen...wonder anyone has any comments on this brand...

Thanks so much!

forgetmenot

Thanks so much! The cot looks nice, for $199 I think is very worth it. Thinking of buying cot at MIL house and playpen at our house.

i saw the actual cot itself. not that bad considering the price.
hmm, about breast pumps, should we buy before or after delivery? I heard so many cases of unsuccessful breast feeding cases and thought it may not make sense to buy before delivery as may end up not using. Any clue ladies?

hopefully, i will be able to update and confirm the gender of baby after this friday's checkup.

adora,
the cot is a gd buy. cheap and gd. got freebies somemore. u should go and take a look.

cherry,
i think got to take the risk n c which risk u want to take. to buy or not first. there are some who are unable to breastfeed. also need to consider how long u gg to BF. if for short term than maybe a manual pump will be gd enuf. Not sure if hospital loan out their pumps, but if u decide to BF than maybe can bolo from Hos first ? Or u can do ur homework now and decide on which pump u want, take down the model and send hubby out to buy after baby arrives and u're sure u want to con't BF.

ya, do update us on your check up and bb's gender !

shane,
Yah, I got the walker.. No need for me to buy playpen since my sil already has one. If I really need it, will prob get it from her since her gal is nt using it...

forgetmenot,
Thanks for posting the pic cos i dun have it. The cot will be delivered in March..

cherry,
I think its better to buy the pump after delivery. Anyway if you are given 2-3 mths maternity leave, you could let the bb latch on during the confinement period. Once u are sure that u want to carry on with bf, then get a pump. Just me 2 cents worth, hope it helps!

forgetmenot,
your cot looks quite similar, is that a minicot or regular one?

I'm have a infant car seat and need to get a stroller. Any tips to know whether carseat can set on stoller?

anns,

some infant car seat are part of a travel system (can attached to certain brand of stroller). So it depends on which brand/model of infant carseat u got.

Hi cookie,
I think the Pigeon steriliser is quite popular. I am gg to use the conventional method of sterilising. Will boil hot water and just dump the bottles, etc into the stainless steel pot.

Hi anns,
The size of the cot is standard 28" x 52". Not considered small. Maybe it looks small in the pic.

serrich,
i oso bought the same cot..mine will be delivered in end apr..
which branch did u buy??

i realised tt at centrepoint branch,the pics of the cot states tt it the cot can be used till 5yrs old..whereas at robinsons branch,the pics of the cot states tt it can be used till 7 yrs old..n both cots are called daniel cot..n the code number at these 2 branches oso diff leh..

forgetmenot,
You mean there are 2 types of Daniel Cot? Are u saying tt the one at Centrepoint and Raffles City have different models?? I got mine at CentrePoint Robinsons. Where did u get yours?

serrich,
i oso got mine from robinsons centrepoint..when i called them n asked,they said tt there is oni one type of daniel cot..
can u still remember,how old can the bb used the cot till? i remember seeing two diff things at raffles city n centrepoint leh

Hi forgetmenot,
Sorri i cant remember whether its 5 or 7 yrs old. But anyway, it doesnt matter lah.. I am quite sure that we will be trying for another child in another 2-3 years' time so most prob we will let the bb use the bb cot.. By then our kids might have interest in those fanciful beds and dun even want to sleep in the cot.

hi serrich,
wow so ur cot is coming in March... i think i'll get my cot from my sil in apr only ... don't know too late or not ..

we're abt 2 weeks apart. how's ur preparation so far ? bot clothes for bb already ? so far like nothing much to do hor except attend classes which i hvn't booked yet !

Hi serrich,
hehe...ya lor..i agreed with u..anyway..just now i'm being boliao..so i called n asked..they told mi is the same cot..

btw,u got free walker or stroller? i got free stroller instead of walker leh..

foregetmenot,
i prefer the stroller to the walker. tonite, i will be going to buy the cot as well. will likely as them to deliver the cot only in Apr or early may. did you also managed to use the $20 voucher as offset?

cherry,
yup..i used the $20 voucher to offset..
btw,the cot does not come with any warranty cos i think this is a sales item..

hi shane,
April still ok mah. The later the better, save the hassle of keeping the cot clean. I think i will need to get a big plastic cover to cover the cot so that it will nt get dusty.

I am still working on the list of items to buy. Will be getting most of the stuff this weekend at Taka BB Fair. In the meanwhile, i take note of the prices at other places while shopping ard..

You havent booked ur classes?? If u keen in the classes then better book now.. in case its all filled up.

Hi forgetmenot,
i got the walker lei. Prefer to get walker so that i dun need to buy! Hahaha.. Anyway, wats the brand of ur stroller? How u find the stroller?

Hi cherry,
yah u can use the $20 voucher to offset. But the cot doesnt come with warranty and the freebie is not exchangable. So we got to check carefully for any defects on the day of delivery itself!

I am going down to Robinson tonight. Most likely will get the cot too....

Serrich
Taka bb fair starts this weekend? ard end Mar there is a Metro warehouse sale...not too sure if they have bb stuff...

adora,
yah, heard that the Taka BB Fair is from 03-20 March. Metro also havin sale but its after the bb fair lei.. I will try to get all the essential stuff at the BB Fair unless i can find a better deal somewhere else..

serrich,
hehe..i dunno the brand of the stroller..did not realli take a close look at it..
the reason y they give out free stroller cos think they finished giving out the walker..

serrich: sounds like an easy way to sterilise, cheap too!

any tips on the brands of milk bottles n teats? how many of the different sizes to get? i'm considering BF, but what if i fail so i guess it's safer to stock up on milk bottles.

serrich,
ya i just reg myself for the class. starting end march. think i'm damn late. by the time i finish the class already close to end may. they don't have classes everyweek, tt y take so long .....

jane,
no prob

cookie,
i think for milk bottles, it's either Avent or Pigeon and for teats, it's NUK ? I also not very sure. But for Avent, something to take note, it's normally fatter so wouldn't fit into those normal 'warmer' bags for milk bottles. likely have to get Avent brand ones.

I'm also gg to try BF. But as safe side also thot of buying bottles. I wonder how many is enuf ...

serrich,
u gg to get everything from the BB fair ? seems like a gd idea, but will it be too early for us to get huh ? /clipart{lame}

cookies,
I will be using Avent bottles. Try to get those small bottles will do. Heard that smaller bottles will reduce colic.. I think 4 bottles will be reasonable? If bfg is successful, at most we will be using 2 bottles onli.

shane,
Better late than never.. Luckily u managed to get urself registered in time... Otherwise, u might have to give the classes a miss!

I also intend to bf my gal. Not sure if it will be successful or nt.. Most imptly whether i have the perseverance cos i heard that the inital milk flow might be very little and we might suffer from blisters, nipples might cracked, etc..

I intend to get everything from the BB fair. Sounds quite early but i dun think i have the stamina to shop ard for bb stuff when i go into 30 weeks +...

Good morning ladies,
i bought the bb cot from Robinson last night. The free stroller not vv pretty leh, green flora design :p
enclosed is a list of things to buy (some are optional i think). hope this is useful.
mime_msword.gif

List of things to buy.doc (26.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

serrich,
tt's true. But i feeling sien to attend the classes. esp the 1st class on nutrition, forsee gg to be boring. but the rest should be quite interesting. my class also don't include hospital tour ley, so got to book separately...

BF not gg to be ez. But as long as we get ourselves mentally prepared with the knowledge, i think we'll have a better change to succeed. once we give birth, must con't to encourage one another hee hee ...

ya tt's true. now i already feeling lazy most of the time .. hee hee ... shall go to the bb fair and see anything i can get or not ..

shane: i heard NUK's good for teats, size 1 teat is tiny so will feed BB better. can NUK teats fit into Avent or Pigeon milk bottles?

serrich: good suggestion. i plan to get 3 4-oz n 3 9-oz milk bottles.

cherry: thanks for sharing yr inexhaustive list, makes mine seem q pathetic. u may wish to buy rubber mat for changing nappies.
wat's a post-partum soak?

which brand of maternity pads are u gals going to use? maternity pads i've come across so far is Sofy, only 28cm no wings. is it possible to use normal pads? i'm used to using Kotex Super Slim 32cm with wings.

cookie,
yes heard NUK is gd also. but have the same qn as you. can use on other brands bottles ?

must we get different sizes bottles ? i think might go with Serrich suggestion and get 4 first. if not enuf than buy somemore. then who knows 1st mth might have pple give also.. so don't waste $ first hee hee...

3oz is for the feeding water one is it ?

a post-partum soak is what u use to soak your wound in after birth. helps with the healing but up to individual whether u want to do it or not.

as for maternity pads, i also don't know ley. I know Kotex had maternity pads but not sure if they're stick on. i'll prefer stick on also.

Avent bottles are on sale... 3 for $13+ but 2 pcs still selling $14+... weird. Anyway, i bought the Avent milk bottles 3 pcs and also bought the teats from Avent... quite expensive since got to buy for 1mth, 2mths and 3mths... all different sizes and cost $6.25 for 3 pcs. Think only avent teats can fit avent bottles and seems like only avent steriliser, bottle carriers, etc.. are suitable for avent bottles which are fatter than norm. They sure know how to make money. If you haven't gotten milk bottles, i suggest you don't buy avent ones since everything is limited. I heard other brands milk bottles can fit using any brand teats and they are much cheaper... also for steriliser, you can fit the bottles into other brands sterilisers.

as for maternity pads, bought mine from mothercare. 1 box 12 pcs i think. heard it is good and don't think we need to get too many in case not natural birth but c-section, you don't really need pads... since all the 'blood' would have been cleared before gynae sews us up. : P

as for kotex one, i only saw loop ones... not stick on ones... not sure if they have...

thanks cherry for the list.

I also bought the daniel cot at Robinson yesterday...plus the Latex Mattress &amp; bedding set.

I intend to use NUK teats but not sure if it can fit into a Pigeon Bottle which is cheaper. NUK bottle cost abt $9.50..very exp hoh?

Tot the Avent steriliser looks good. Can it use for other brands of bottles?

Thanks, Cherry for the list! Looks like there are lots of things to prepare....

Hi Shane &amp; Cookie

Just found out that NUK teats can be used on Pigeon's bottle.

Got this from a website, tried to post the link but failed :
<font color="0000ff">Teats NUK Orthodontics teats are better for teeth development. Choose the appropriate size for your baby. Buy two initially as you need to change the teats when your baby grows. You can use NUK teats on Pigeon and Chicco milk bottles and vice versa. Avent bottles do not fit teats from different brand.

Please note: Most teats must be discarded after two months of use. Check the usage instructions for your brand of teats.</font>

adora: thanx for sharing. i think i can safely get NUK teats. i heard teat no.1 (NUK) for v thin fluid, water. my friend starts with NUK teat no.2 for newborn. wat's yr take on this?

shane: yes, we need different sizes, 4-oz n 9-oz.

Shane &amp; Cookie
Don't mention. I am not sure which teat no. to use yet, have not done any research on this.

There are more information on Baby Supplies website but I couldn't post the link here...maybe you wld like to check it out!

adora,
to be kiasu, maybe should just get 1 or 2 of each no. hee hee ... i might do that cos we really don't know how our baby will be till they arrive.