(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

and it turn up to be missunderstanding (waste of phone money) so her date is 26th april

heh heh ... here's one who's speaking! :p

KC - did u inform elmobbger for me?
tks!

== update ==
finally got a huge load off my shoulders...
i got dean into the kindy of my choice!
Had to register yesterday morning, and had nightmare that i was #5 in the queue.

So i dug myself up at 5am (instead of the intended 4am) and got there by 6am (no thanks to a very sleepy toddler and a less-than-ready helper).

ARGHSSSSSSSSSS i was #4 in the queue!
PANIC ... what if what if what if!

Was kind to #3 - who didn't bring ANY of the required documents or $ for the registration. After some chatting, i REGRETTED telling her!
Cos she mobilised her family for the stuff, and she's vying for the same morning session with me!
ARGHSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!! I shouldn't have told her!!!

Anyway, i'm kind. Forget it. What's mine will be mine.
4 classes, 24 todds each. 2 sessions per day.
Finally, after a long 2.5hour wait, registration started.

Only 9 vacancies available for the morning session. I'm IN !!! YAY !!!
(Unfortunately, #3 in the queue got the first spot, but heck...i'll just avoid her at parent-teacher meetings...)

Thanked my lucky stars that were now hidden by fluffy clouds. One foot in, at least my subsequent children will get priority enrolment next time. YAY !!! Mission accomplished!!!

cody,

congrats !!! its really a load off. only 9 places, by chance you are one early bird.

gone for my check up yesterday. has been eating too much, do not even dare to look at my scale. doc says the bebe will be between 4.3 to 4.5kg. i am going off carbo, sweets for the next 20 weeks. by the way, ju was 4kg at birth.

Cody,

Arghhh.... you are worrying me!!!

What is going to happen to us when it comes to PRIMARY 1 registration!!!

Quick quick, someone prepare the tents!

Re Elmobbger, so sorry not yet informed, will do so now...

Dunno if she is in office today or not leh, send her an email but no reply yet...

Tks joann, KC and yuru.
No lah .... pri 1 is still far away. but having said that, the kiasu syndrome has kicked in.
Got to find pri schools that have affiliations to sec school, whether alma mater alumni's have a min # years membership before you get priority enrolment etc the list goes on. My head swells just thinking of it.

Congrats joann! what's impt is that the baby and mommy are healthy!

heng still got people here..

CODY,
I am so disappointed you are not Q NUMBER ONE !!
tsk tsk tsk..

and what kind of ks mum is that(the q#3 mum).. go there early q but never bring anything?

but congrats!!!!!! one obstacle down....

primary school????
argggggggggggggggggggh.
I regret big time now when I vehemently refuse to go to a particular school when my mum insisted..FOrce her to change school for me.
so now have to register her in timbaktu primary school lor.

mummies, what say you?

what would you do if a friend/acquaintance does/says someting which you disapprove of infront of your kids and theirs?
and you do not want to dispute that in front of the kids (else their own kid will go huh? and the parent/caregiver lose face?). yet you dont want to confuse your own kid?

Cody,

E? Thought as long as old girl / boy whether or not in alumni will be in phase 2B, no?

Oh no!!!!! I dun wan to contribute thousands to join alumni! Can buy a lot of Gymborees you know!!!

Any mummies shifting house for primary 1?

Lachesiz,

You know I'm no good at such things but what I will do is:

1) Quickly find an excuse to bring kid away from the friend / acquintance, eg to go toilet, so that kid will not get maximum impact on the wrong message
2) Explain to kid in private that what is said or done is not right
3) Distract kid with something else, so that kid will possibly forget the wrong message, after all, they have short attention span now

Just my 2 cents lah, but I must stress I'm usually rather bad at this...

Lachesiz dear,

Unfortunately we are 2km away from that particular branded primary school, no chance to be classmates with Aaron (Mapleleaf) lah! Sob!

Got branded kindy meh? Oh no, I am so clueless, which one? Email me please. I go q tomorrow morning.

The branded Sec and JC hor, seriously I dun think RY can make it there, heheh!

Sigh!

Hey! You wanna shift over to be neighbour with me?

Lachesiz:
the sotong in me probably wouldn't have heard it or even realise it. so erm, my reaction is NIL.
but if i were to hear it (tho i dunno what it constitutes that i disagree that other parents agree to) - i guess i will talk to dean later when we are alone.

KC:
eh no joke k ... alma mater alumni DOES state min # years membership before you qualify for priority enrolment.

and and if you are thinking of volunteering either with the school or grassroots, do it at least 2-3 years advance if its a popular school you're gunning for. i'm serious!

KC:
ya boy, you need not and SHOULD NOT shift. You're in prime school-land!!!

Mngo:
no lah, not KC's fault. I started it cos i super kiasu!

Joann / Lachesiz:
WHOALAMAK!!! 10kg?!?!?? u serious or not?
natural delivery? she must have torn in every direction with or without episotomy!
I only recall a 7kg brazilian woman who delivered by caesarian cos she didn't control her gestation diabetes. Man, the baby was BIGG..

Joann:
actually i think it runs in your kids genes.
No offence, but when i saw Ju for the first time, i thought he was at least 1 year older than the other kids! He's tall and well-built ie broad shoulders, feet bigger than the other kids etc. So i think he may have inherited the ang mo genes - ie big bones and tall.

Actually look at me ... i'm actually big-boned, not fat .... :p
HAHAHAHAHAH ok ok, no more excuses for my fats...

Just kidding!

lach/cody,

in fact when the doc looks at my hubby, he says i know where is the problem. my hubby barked "i am not a problem" ha ha..

its true that his feet is so thick, his old fake croc is broken so got him a new one, upgrade to size 9.

on primary one, i was keen to enrol in tao nan but apparently, a hainanese and ang moh cant join the hokkien clan ? so discriminating !!

seagal,
i thought your girl is in riverlife kindy ?? what playschool will she join ?

Joann,
Ya ... Shermyn's joining RiverLife kindy's playgroup aka pre-nursery class. She was supposed to start only late Jun but the kindy called to inform us that she can start earlier in May.

<font color="ff0000">"I Can Read" Chinese Series</font>
Any one of you keen to buy this? Can get 10% to 15% discount for BP. Cody?

http://www.studioij.com/E-EduChinese.htm

I have the Level 1 series and am keen to get the Level 2.

seagal,
i know the lady running studioij. her son's chinese really very good. he is in the finals of the kids competition on wed channel 8.

joann,
her boy is ivan j?

met him when he was abt 2+years old..
MY JAW DROPPED..
he can read SO WELL, at 2 years old!!!!!!!
and the mum is so nice and sharing.

wow mummies!! u all talking abt pri 1 now?? **faint**

cody,
CONGRATS!!! hehehe.. u super on!! want get up 4am to register?? i guess u must be very happy after securing a place!!

wow.. talking abt that, i still recall my mum telling me when she went to queue for pri 1 registration for me.. she got up at 3am!! then went out still in the dark.. she queueing half way then her friend (which is my friend's mum who is queueing too) realised that my mum wore her top inside out.. hahaha.. so funny.. must be my mum woke up too early still feeling sleepy..

Joann,
can get 15% discount for 10 sets, 20% discount for 25 sets. The latter a bit difficult to achieve though.

I intend to close this BP tomorrow before noon and so far only 13 sets.

tks seagal, i'm going to give this BP a skip.
dean is not even thru his level 1 series!
level 2 will take me a looooooooong time.

seagal, elmo:
tks! its really a big load off my shoulders. getting dean into a non-famous school despite the queue was er... well, all i know is that this school is super conveninent, affordable and has good chinese influence.

I need to check who is helping to order the magic serum huh? can help to send to me if the stock is ready?
i went for surgery yesterday to remove a lump from the breast. the area still covered up with a big plaster so not sure how big is the scar. hope the serum can help lor.

Receive this email from a friend.
I don't know how true it is or is it another marketing ploy but no harm FYI.

Sorry, no graphic for this one, and don't laugh, it works 100% of the time although the scientists at the Canada Research council who discovered it aren't sure why.

To stop nighttime coughing in a child (or adult as we found out personally), put Vicks Vaporub generously on the bottom of the feet at bedtime then cover with socks. Even persistent, heavy, deep coughing will stop in about 5 minutes and stay stopped for many, many hours of relief.

Works 100% of the time and is more effective in children than even very strong prescriptions cough medicines. In addition it is extremely soothing and comforting and they will sleep soundly.

I heard the head of the Canada Research Council describe these findings on behalf of their scientists when they were investigating the effectiveness and usage of prescription cough medicines in children as compared to alternative therapies like accupressure. I Just happened to tune in A.M. Radio and picked up this guy talking about why cough medicines in kids often do more harm than good due to the chemical makeup of these strong drugs so, I listened.

It was a surprising finding and found to be more effective than prescribed medicines for children at bedtime, and in addition, it has a
soothing and calming effect on sick children who then went on to sleep soundly .

Lolly tried it on herself when she had a very deep constant and persistent cough a few weeks ago and it worked 100%! She said that it felt like a warm blanket had enveloped her. Her coughing stopped in a few minutes and believe me, this was a deep,( incredibly annoying!) every few seconds uncontrollable cough, and she slept cough free for hours every night that she used it.

So, if you have children, pass it on, if you end up sick, try it yourself and you will be absolutely amazed by the effect

yuru,
lach is right...just called up growing fun. the max they give is 15% discount. the series it's price controlled.

lach,

in fact, this is what i do for ju, vicks with socks. i learn it from one of the mum in the forum too. so no need to fatten the pocket of the pd !!

seagal,
so you want to go ahead with the growing fun promo, no news from my friend yet. sorry

TBL:
oh dear, pls take care! think the serum cannot be used now since your wound is still raw. gotta wait for it to be fully healed first before you use the serum.

VICKS:
wow, i had NO IDEA that vicks works that way too!
my remedy for cough is to apply vicks generously at the throat and chest. works wonders but may require occasional re-application thru the night.

for adults, the simpler & equally effective method is to plaster on a piece of koyok at the chest to stop the cough at night.

Tks for the tip!
Anymore good ones to share?

helloo mommiesss

so happy, cellin op was yesterday and fully success (thank God)..

she didn't complain at all after the surgery (busy coloring spongebob

vicks:
wow!! really will try next time (hope not so soon)

tips.. i remember mommies here have talked about pee in public places.. in indonesia i bought a toilet disinfectant for seat (name: toilet seat sanitizer),very small but last for months.. just spray them on toilet seat, wipe with tissue bfor sitting and skin friendly (its an american made, i've been looking in singapore and havent found one), it cost about 3-4S$ (will check again) per bot, and my friend want to come in june, i want to 'titip' (bought for me first)
anyone interested?

Wow...suddenly the thread moves so fast after MIA for 5 days....

carnellin....I'm keen too...count me in...

Lac....datz a very very good remedy for cough...

so LL 1 and Joann 1..
I just text messaging my sister she said cost less than 3$ leh
i'm buying two (going for bangkok, i think its a must have item)

btw,
IKEA today,
talker.gif

very very crowded, cellin got a new bed set, she so happy that keep playing and after got bumped few times on the head (not her usual bed size and frame) cry a bit then go to sleep..
kao_embarrassed.gif

btw how to crops pic sizes? i've been wanting to show langkawi pic but keep rejected for too big..