(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

haha, sorry sorry, my "England" very poor, nope, I meant I've changed to using Nuk bottles & teats ... Pai seh...

Hi, Jen

thanks for the informations. My girl has been using No. 1 since birth and she seems okie with it, i tot the No 1 Avent teat is up till 3 mths..heeee..think i have to monitor, if she really fed up, then i will try to change to teat no. 2.

Hi, TBL and duffy..

thanks..i really hope my baby will gain weight before she go for the jab on the 28th this month...Hope she can hit 6kg..really keep my fingers crossed~~

HI, Yu, really, you mean we can go to yahoo auction to check..i shall take a look..

btw it seems the motherworks at great work sells alot of stuff...is it ex? is there any other branch, cos not so convienient to go there, like no bus nor MRT leh..

halo all mummies..

i forgot to ask your in my previous message.

Can I just ask a non-baby issue question..heee

I am currently going to be post pregenacy 3 mths, but my tummy still flabby and all my clothes cannot wear, think my hip can grow wider, any ways to reduce??

girl,

you can take the free shuttle to Great World City from either City Hall MRT exit(St Andrew side) or at Tangs bus stop.

TBL,

your girl can sit steady in the Bumbo? I thinking of getting but dont know if my boy can sit steady in the Bumbo as he cannot hold his head steady yet.

duffy,
kekeke.... so u are using NUK bottles n teats...we tot u use nuk teat on avent bottle.

Rochelle,
so nuk teat cannot fit in avent bottle. hmm... then i can dump all avent in store-room liao. Natalie cant really hold her head steady for too long but she still can 'sit' steady in it. think it's due to the design lor. But must sit beside her lah, if her head starts to shake here n there then need to remove her fm the seat. may be u can go kiddy place let yr boy try out first, see he likes it or not. Natalie laughs out when she sit in it. LOL.

girl,
hey, I asked the PD last saturday when brought natalie for her 3rd mth jab. NOT true bb must double the wt in 3-mth. The guideline is double wt in 6-mth instead. though most bb can double their wt n 3-mth, u shldnt worry if yr bb doesnt. This is wat PD told me.

btw my tummy oso VERY flabby. :p I heard wearing girdle panties will help wor, so I'm wearing it now. results? dunno yet, coz just tried for few days only. btw did u use osim belt? I used it during my maternity leave, it helps a lot to 'flatten' my tummy.

<font color="ff0000">FLABBY TUMMY</font>
wah, this is a serious issue we must think of a solution hahaha
I heard the osim belt is quite useful too, but now tht it's 3 months passed, is it still useful to reduce the flabs? I really cannot tahan to see myself now...grrr...

<font color="ff0000">weight</font>
My BB's weight is 5.5kg at 3months, not doubled her birth weight but near... anyway the PD never say anything, so should be ok lor..

Chloe's kidney is still abit swollen, poorthing gonna go for a test tomorrow. They gonna need to sedate her first, than insert a tube thru vergina... to see if her urine is is back flowing.. <<cry>> hopefully it's not causing her any uncomfortable, so heartpain...

crossed my fingers.....

She took the jab quite well, no fever, didn't cry much...

duffy,
Dont worry, Chloe is a brave girl. Pls 'sayang her on my behal. Will keep Chloe in my prayer.

Jab
natalie cried VERY loud during the jab. But settle down after a while. No fever.

Gal
you can start and try to tummy down your baby. This will allow her to train her muscles and strength / chance to lift her head up. we placed our boy on tummy bfore 1 mth

duffy,
I bought without magnetic one coz c-section. There is indication on the box, the magnetic one is only for natural delivery.

yuru,

my boy would suck a little, push away the teat and cry and than when u put in the teat again, he will immediately push it out. after that he would close his mouth tight tight so that u cannot push in the teat.

yuru,
same as rochelle's boy, natalie oso did the same. but seh will try few attempts b4 gave up. means "put teat in > sucks then cry n reject > teat in > sucks then cry n reject" repeated for few times b4 she close her lips and not allow us to put in! rochelle's boy is smarter lah!

mngo.
dr brown's bottle is very effective for anti-colic rite? oso tot of change to dr brown but my girl now is very happy wif pigeon so i better stick to it. moreover easier to get fm neighbourhood shops if need to chagne teat urgently.

Hi TBL,
Yea.. i was told that Dr Brown's bottle is very effective for colic. And also it will reduce spit out too. I was using Avent, until i realised that at the end of the drinking session, the bottle was filled with Air. Thus i changed it... and my friend also advised me to do so.

But then again, this Dr Brown is not a Cure all solution lor. when we make milk , we have to use a spoon to stir the milk. Sometimes my mil will forget, and shake the bottle like ... very hard (as if shake the milk tea like tat). and it defeats the purpose.

And you are right also to say that if your gal is ok and happy with pigeon, you just stick to it.. cos not every place have doctor brown teats.

yuru,
yes, my girl will drink but very little, abt 30ml then starve herself and CRY but refuse to open her mouth.
i was to use told the flow regulator if u observe bb is 'choke' by the milk while drinking. I didnt use it.
I'm using 'M' size teat now. Take note if u buy pigeon bottle coz normally the teat (come with bottle)is 'S' size, even for big bottle like 240ml bottle. u need to buy seperately for M teat.

<font color="ff0000">Cranky Feeds</font>
Hi all, I posted on the other tread tht my girl went back to milk refusing phrase again....despite the wind drop and changed bottles/teats. This time round, she'll cry until tears rolling out and scream some more!!

And she've never really been out of it I think. It's only that she's a little bit easier to feed past weeks, but she still would cry abit....

THAN, I suddenly realise cauld it be tht Chloe don like Similac anymore!??? Ahyah, why I never thought of it loor... cause I realise when I feed her water, it's OK wooor, no cry no fight nothing....

Must try other brand and see, u all got any recommendation wht brand I should switch to?

long time no post. went back to work last tuesday and the past week was just hectic!

managed to find some time to come in now that Shermyn is sleeping. she started sleeping longer hours now. last night, she slept for 10 hours one stretch.

my milk ss has reduced since i go back to work. partly becos i pump only 3 to 4 times a day. my office is not exactly very conducive for expressing bm so i only pump on time during lunch. by the time i reach home in the evening, it could be 8pm to 9pm! so sad.

CRANKY FEEDS
Shermyn started getting cranky since last week when we feed her fm. she prefers bm to fm.
when we give her fm, she will push away the teat after a few sucks and whine. however, we have gotten use to her "complaints" by now and just continue feeding her while she whines until she finishes her milk. quite funny seeing her behave this way, haha.

<font color="ff0000">duffy</font>,
at first, i thought Shermyn was rejecting the brand of milk powder (i am feeding her Similac too). but after observing her "pattern", we find that she is just complaining.

i am using nuk teats. don't think they have any change of teats for 3 months. I think only for 6 months onwards.

Shermyn will be going for her 5-in-1 jab this thursday. hope everything turns out fine. i am really looking forward to taking the one day break as i will be on leave. =)

I think most of us have babies of similar age behaving cranky during feeds. guess it is normal. well .... duffy, all the FM is the same (according to PD). Maybe you want to try .. other brands? I use Friso but i was told is sweet. so i normally dilute the milk powder

Yuru
Similac is one of the most expensive and is good cos of the contents in it. It has more DHA and ARA. If you have time, u can do a side by side comparison.

Hi mngo
i am also using friso to feed my baby...i understand it is quite sweet..but by diluting it, wouldnt it be not enough?

duffy,
hey, u are not supid mummy lah! all of us here first time mummy, always 'guess' wat our bbs' behaviour n most of the time learn from 'mistake'! u dun worry, at least we have this 'support group' can share share experience mah.
u can try to change milk powder if u want. else can ask PD oso.
btw, chloe going for check up today rite? keep us posted.

Yuru,
u buy pigeon 'Y' size huh. Then that is different fm wat i bought. I forgot the name of the 'Y' teat, but i know the shape is similar to our breast &amp; nipple and is meant for bb on BM. I'm using another type of pigeon 'M' teat, which has sizes S, M &amp; L. A smaller type compared to the 'Y' teats. the flow is faster than 'Y' teat. Natalie takes abt 15mins to finish 120ml.

mngo,
u dilute the milk? i think u shldnt dilute coz every formula has std guidelines, if u dilute then may not have enuff nutrition for yr bb.

similac excellence
after i change from NAN1 to similac, Natalie's poo poo colour change to dark green and is more soft/ watery. may i know is this normal? coz previously her poo is yellowish colour.

yo gals... we also exp cranky feeds... but jean take EBM... one fine day last week she only drink 60~100ml of her usual 150ml feed... then started to fuss and cry and push away the bottle... either that or keep playing with the teat... but if i latch, no problem... she is drinking much less and i'm throwing a lot of EBM... anyone go thru this stage??

I did not dilute the milk too much . What i mean dilute is : if water stated is 120, i will put 130 of water. Cos i realised tat if i follow guideline, then declan will puke more due to indigestion. Currently what i am doing is so far quite good.

It will be enough. Cos he can last up to 5 hours, and at ngt 7 hours.

Duffy,

your MIL behaving like my confinement nanny last time. want to "dominate" the baby. I am a SAHM and now my boy would only finish his milk if I feed him. if my hubby or my MIL feed him, he will not finish his milk. do u bath your girl or does your MIL does that? just spend more time with your girl and when she cries, carry her so that she can listen to your heartbeat and her tummy is in contact with yours (usually works)

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
Chloe went for the test today, but she seems ok after tht, just very sleepy because of the sedation.
Test result is negative though, pheeew... doc say no reflux of urine...
But now need to go for another test next week, last one, to see if got blockage of the urinal, if this one also negative, than doc say should be ok liao, just tht Chloe might be born with a bigger left kidney, tht's alll......

<font color="ff0000">Seagal, mngo</font>
Chloe is not only "complaining", she sometimes scream until very cham one leh... something must be wrong to make her scream leh... let's see if it's the milk powder, if not hooor, I also don know liao, maybe really like they say, just a passing phrase.

<font color="ff0000">yuru</font>
I agree tht Similac might be the best one on shelves so far, but for me I just wanna find out if BB really don like the taste lor. If tht's true, than I rather change milk than to see her cry like tht....
maybe after 1 2 month we change back to Similac, than she can liao, also possible haha

<font color="ff0000">Jen</font>
my BB at one stage did prefer to latch, but after I changed teats, and put her on wind drops, she have no prob with bottle liao.... I actually also don know why loor... *scratching head*

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
maybe I should learn to let go a little lor, maybe BB really prefer grandma, cause when BB fussy like nowadays, she manage to feed her, but I cannot looor *sigh*
That's why I'm thinking after I go to work, I try to come back early to bond with BB, but hor, other than "Ĩ", read to her.... wht else can I do with her huh?

Duffy,
Declan also scream until very cham. wat we do is to carry him, pat him and walk around. Until he forgot abt the milk issue, and his mood better. And then after tat we feed him. It works. In fact tat time my MIL insist is the milk problem, but i insist is not the milk problem cos since day 1, declan has been taking tat same milk (other than bm).

your MIL dominated Chloe? Mmm.. maybe is normal for grand ma to dominate grand children

MIL tried once with new milk powder, still cry like hell... will monitor some more...

<font color="ff0000">Yuru</font>
Thanks, may I have the link huh?

<font color="ff0000">mngp</font>
ya, we try to do tht too, but maybe we didn;t wait long enough.... she does stop crying if we hold her upright, knowing we stop feeding her milk. But when we try again, she come again... will try to wait longer.....

Yalor, I also keep trying to remind myself don be so "zhai yi"... actually I just wan a balance lor, as long as let me hold her once or twice a day, I will happily let her take care the rest of the day...

duffy,
oh... sometimes we wait until 30 mins to calm him down. why not let her lie down and feed? chloe and declan so different
. your gal dun like upright. while my boy like upright. so hor~~ we feed him sitting upright.

actually i know how u feel cos i am in the same position. tats why most times i close my eyes and appreciate my MIL for taking care of the baby. Mmm... i think your MIL should not mind u holding yr baby once or twice a day right?

Maybe weekend you can volunteer to bathe Chloe?

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>
haha, my "England" so jiat let again, I mean my girl like upright position, will cry once we slang abit, haha... so feed her hor, bottle haven't come out, slang her already get aggitated.

30mins hor, the milk will be cold already wor, than FM can be so long one meh?
HOw do u feed sitting upright har?

stupidz mummie, heee

now better liao lor, at first I think she overdo it, by keep snatching Chloe back and wants to do everything herself....
So after I try to make my point, she seems to let go abit....

duffy,
glad to know the test results is negative!!!
do keep us updated on her 2nd test results.
btw u feed chloe when she is lying down? actually for me i hold natalie in abt 45degree, she likes this position. Dunno is this consider upright?

mngo,
oh, so u are not diluting the milk too much. then tat shld be fine.

duffy
for sittin upright, we place him on our lap. and he face outside. then we put bottle into his mouth lor. for friso milk, is 1hour to last. while he try , we warm milk in warm water.

tbl,
oh yea... i am not dilutin so much la. heeee :p maybe u all tot tat instead of 30ml to 1 scoop, i put 60ml to 1 scoop

hey all
long time didn't cum to this forum liao coz sick... got breast infection! still sick but better.

Hi all mother out there,
currently i'm total bf but due to infection, I cant feed her fully coz only left with 1 breast. My gal eat alots, anyone can recomment fm? Is S26 Gold good? How cum no ppl here toking abt this milk?

duffy,

can play with Chloe. for example my boy enjoys it when I play "lion dance" with him by holding his hands and making lion dance noises. also when reading to him, I would put him on my lap in feeding position so that he can look from the book to me to the book. then me and hubby would also do tummy time with my boy.

you can bring chloe window shopping at supermarkets and toy stores. my boy would show interest in toys that he like so we learn his preferences from these window shopping trips.

rochelle,
it's good tat u can do so many things with yr boy. so intend to continue to be SAHM?

I oso tried to play with natalie every evening after work. but hor when we reach home is alr 7:30pm then this ger ger MUST sleep b4 8:30 else will be VERY VERY cranky. So only left ~45mins to play wif her. But we still have wkend, it's really enjoy to spend time with bbs. babies bring joy to the world!
As for window shop @ toy department, she likes everything! Always laugh when we show her new things! So HB n me still cant figure out what are her preferences though we bring her out every saturday!!

btw, have u let yr boy try out the bumbo?

good ah, yr boy is ok with 45degeree....
my girl slang abit only she knows already, than she will start kicking and crying.... now have gotton into a habit tht we must walk around somemore, to distract her.....

How did u make yr girl sleeps at 8.30 huh? Mine will be cranky too, but she so playful she wouldn't go to sleep, furthermore MIL also wouln't let me send her to sleep......

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>
Waah, wht's breast infection, getting better now?
I think Similac would be good choice lor

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
Me too leh, bring her to shopping centre, Chloe will "gong gong" stare at all the toys and ppl.... still cannot figure her preference yet...
But u know wht, there's one thing at home tht never fails to make her laugh..... and tht's a Tissue Box! haha, it's actually a set of tissue box from Kleenex, which features Pooh bear and Tiger in New year costume, waaah every time she see she laugh, now we have scan it in and print out a bigger version of it hahahahaa
But when we shoe her actual pooh and tiger toy, she no reaction leh.... think this mummy can save money,next time buy tissue box can already...hohoo

rochelle,
NTUC selling price for Nepia diaper is 19.90 lei. May i know where can find cheaper one huh?

duffy,
chloe good girl hor, likes tissue box instead of actual toy! mummy is so happy coz she can save money for her own shopping liao!! :p
aiyo, my ger will starts to rub her eyes @ abt 8:15pm. If we dun put her onto her cot, she will start to pull her ears, very hard as if those are not her ears (not pain meh?? haiz..). IF still u dun get the hint and she will CRY!!!! very very loud as if we are torturing her!! So normally after 8pm HB n me have to observe her closely. Once she rub her eyes we quickly put her on cot, play the music mobile and say gd nite to her. She will sleep in 2mins time!!

Yu,
miss out yr post. Breast infection? How is it now? Last time i had mine so serious tat doc tot is breast cancer. But after taking antibiotic now becomes smaller. Btw u may rub gently (towards nipple) on the infected area during shower. Must take low-fat milk if u need to.

duffy,
Just to add: for a start u may put chloe on her bed, dim the light, sing to her and pat her buttock. last time Natalie oso couldnt sleep on her own but after some advices fm SB's mummies I manage to train her to sleep.
as for yr MIL, err... i think u are the mother mah, if u think u are doing rite and chloe is really sleepy, why she dun allow?? u can just tell her, 'ma, i really think she wants to sleep. let me try. if she dun want to sleep then i will bring her out', then u go into yr room and LOCK the door incase yr MIL rush in!! :p i very bad huh!

waah, yr girl very good girl also leh, can sleep by herself... mine nowadays have developed a habit of wanting us to hug her... she will keep rubbing eyes and nose also, although never pull ears haha, than once put her in cot she cry.....
I trained her last time and at one time she can go sleep on her own, but now NIL stays until very late I cannot train at all. How u train one huh??
Is it possible to know yr ger's rough schedule of a whole day? like when she goes nap and wht time she wake up in morning, wht time she bath :p heehee
don mind hoor

haha, u not very bad lah, cause proven tht if don lock door, she will carry Chloe from the cot in my bedroom out saying she don wanna sleep one..hahah, so lock door is a good idea, but i don think I can do tht haha

You see huh, when training BB will always cry for the first few days one mah, so once she cry, MIL will zooom and appear beside her and carry her out liao ... haiz... I not fieace enough lah, to demand wht I wan ...weak mummy...
Anyway, I'll be back to work soon, and will see how till then...

duffy
ignore your MIL. Just like me. I happy, i just bring declan to my bedroom, close and lock the door

Duffy
u are staying in your MIL house or she stay at your house? You cannot be too nice ... if not yr MIL will be very demanding

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>
yalor yalor, I'm learning to be demanding myself and not feel guilty abt it.. :p

mngo,
agreed wif u too. sometime we cannot be too nice lah! not trying to be mean to MIL, but they really will be very demanding if u are too nice! :p

duffy,
last time natalie oso needs us to carry her to sleep. then someone send me a article (couldnt find it now, sorry) on training bb:
1)- carry/hug her, observe closely, the moment she wants to close her eyes, put her on bed, kiss n say gd nite to her.
2)- normally bb will cry. u try to pat her. if she dun stop more than 30sec, carry her again. (else she may tot u dun wan her. err.. for ur case is to prevent MIL zooom in! kekeke..)
REPEAT step 1 n 2 for a numbers of time. The numbers of time u need to do this is really depending on individual bb. U may wan to dim the light n on music for her.
For my case i took 3days to train natalie. The 1st day she cried n woke up once when i put her on bed. 2nd day she made complain noises, i tried to pat her n sing to her b4 carry her. The results is really good!
Actually Natalie schedule is quite fix in the morning n nite:
8:30am: wake up
9:00am: poo poo (we nngg.. for her)
9:30am: bathe
10am: nap (normally will nap for 30mins to 1hr)
(fm now till 8:30pm is really depends on her mood liao... haiz.. naughty ger!)
8:30pm: zzzzzzz till next day.