(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

hi soyabean,
u mentioned earlier abt 'hand-me-down' bb clothes. have u gotten them? me wen to a frd's place to pick up hand-me-down bb clothes. we realised though many are in ok condition but most had 'yellow stains' esp vy obvious on the white ones. my frd was saying these are milk stains n cld not be washed off. hubby was little 'concerned' so in the end, we took some n wen robinsons to buy quite a no. of new ones.
do u hav tis prob? we a little 'pai seh' to take or not, since frd nice to offer hand-me-down.

hi giggler and shook,
I let my hubby read the article on chocolate. Now he asks me daily if I have taken my daily choclate supplement.
heheheee....

I remember reading somewhere in this topic that "mums and babes" in Plaza Singapura is the dealer of Medela and if buy from there have 20% discount. I went there on Thursday, but sales lady said not discount lah... she quoted the usual price and said that they only have special discount on events such as christmas. Can someone here advice? Did I make a mistake?

Sario, so sad... read your post a little too late. I went to robinson on Thursday only to discover that it is robinson card holders sale only. Am not cardholder...

sanrio,
If I were u, I will just take the hand-me-downs from your friend. Whether u use it or not, she won't know, right? Just bring it home and try to wash off the stains. If cannot, then give those yellow ones to karang guni lor... at least u still have some of the better ones, right? Babies grow so fast... at least u don't have to buy so many baby clothes. Also, not nice to reject someone's offer... especially after u went to see the clothes. Wait she think u look down on her stuff.

hi emily,
oops sori my post a little late. din realise disct only for cardmembers till i wanted to use my vouchers. they said if use vouchers, no disct.
ya lor, so pai seh, she actually packed 2 big bags. we took the smaller bag hm.. af looking thru, kept some only. dun tink can wash away unless try bleach, but bleach too strong for bb clothes/skin. ok i suppose cant pass the 'yellow ones' to others, will give to karan guni.

hi sanrio....
me hvnt got hold of the hand-me-downs yet. they r currently wif my mummy cos my aunt passed one big load to her. i hv briefly gone thru them and they r in good condition... will wash them abt one mth b4...

yeah... i know wat u mean by paiseh.... but, i think it is ok to bleach... maybe use the baby detergent to wash them again after u bleach.

Giggler, Emily
When wz the article published? My SIL n hubby saw the article but I din c across.
I m a chocolate lover. Juz recovered fm sore throat n cough. Learned fm my previous lesson. I ate 2 rows of chocolate n end up wif v bad sore throat. Have to ctrl amt of chocolate I eat tis time

Sanrio
Dun worry now. Who knows, may b we can meet our boys' demand by then.
The hands me dwn dat I received r too big for new born. Some look really old. My SIL said she will wash hands me dwn for me. Anyway, I went to waterloo st to buy 6 pcs of tops for new born. Bought a bottom n top fm OG for baby when discharged fm hospital. Oso bought a pant n 2 tops for 6-12 mths fm OG. Dat's all I buy.
Baby's skin v sensitive. Better dun bleach. Better b safe than sorry.

Sanrio,
Its ok to bleach but u just need to wash the clothes a second round with those detergent meant for babies. Yellowing is a common for white clothes n there;s no way to get rid of them unless u bleach. In fact, all those white materials are bleach b4 they are made into clothings.

Emily,
"mums n babes" do not give 20% discount. Its happens that the saleslady that i talk to that day is giving me a 15% discount. Her name is Mary. She said if she is not at the store that day, just tell the saleslady that she promise to give me a 15% discount. Alternatively, u can try out all the different breast pumps at that shop. (They even allow u to try out to express your milk) and buy it from other shops like Robinsons. Robinsons is having a promotion right now. If buy their electric pump, can get their breast pads n Purleen cream free. Manual too, minus the thre breast pads. N if buy by today, can get 15%+5% (for members) discount.

there goes my 2nd trim 'honeymoon period'
72446.gif
m beginning to experience bad nausea/heartburn. thou tummy not vy big yet, but can feel bb 'pushing upwards' n causing some stomach discomfort. had avoided certain food, sat up straight, pop sweet etc but nausea jus come. w nausea comes headache. sunday had a bad one, i felt so lousy/moody n din go out. today still hav discomfort, hope 2mrow will b beta. now i no choice hav to standby antacid. told gyane in my last visit, she said my heartburn came a bit early, nothing much to b done. if bad, take antacid
72447.gif
trying my best to b happy..but a little hard..

hi foreverfriend,
i dun noe how many 0-6mths clothes bb need? if most buy bigger like 6-12mths, is it too big for newborn?

Sanrio, B2B3M4
My hubby went back to his office to duplicate the VCD. I checked on Sun but find dat there r pauses in some portions. Dunno how come. If u gals can wait, my hubby will borrow the original fm his colleague. May take some time

hi soyabean n b2b3m4,
we took some of the 'better condition' ones. hubby wen robinsons sales n bought some bb clothes.

hi sanrio...
got ur list... thanks..

sori to hear abt ur nausea... i hvnt felt dat way yet.. but i think its starting... cos i now cant eat as big a portion as i did b4... hv reduced my rice intake as well... so dat i wont feel as uncomfy after meals. but hang on okie? rembr to jus eat small meals but more meals... and avoid the food dat mks u nausea.

72449.gif
i made another sad discovery tis morning...
stretchmarks on my tummy! sigh... guess its inevitable... i will still continue applying the cream...

soyabean,
tks. yup, got to eat vy small meals. now really giving up all spicy (even slight), sourish n too starchy stuff.
tis morning 1st tx i saw 1 'red spidery' line on my tummy too! so tis is stretchmark..
72451.gif
. guess jus hav to diligently apply the cream..

so how's everyone's long weekend?

geez... i hv to say nothing accomplished for me! was raining on fri so didnt go out... then had to go for family dinner dat nite. then sat was raining as well... then had to go airport at nite to fetch my sis, so didnt feel much like going out in the daytime... sun woke up early for some family event... then napped the whole afternoon away....

didnt even get to visit angeline at all... so now u all can see wat a great procrastinator i am... haha...

sanrio...
hehe... yah... they are like reddy lines now... i got them on both the left and rite side of my tummy... at 1st i thot they were marks caused by my shorts... but upon further observation, realised it wasnt.

yah... give up spicy... very bad for heartburn/nausea.

Think I'm starting to feel the stress of 3rd tri. Was having a terrible backache n headache yest after doing housework n feel nausea. Started to feel extremely tired too. Counting down, still got another 12 weeks to go.

Shook n Giggler, you gals will deliver in June rite, even faster. Do you have these problems I mentioned?

Hi sanrio, you can just take those hand-me-downs and wear those that you find them clean.

Hi Emily, at least it's an enjoyable for us rite? Hahaha..

Hi shook, the article said that if we eat chocolate, we'll have happier bb.

Hi soyabean, you start to see stretchmarks already? I better start applying to prevent it. Have been lazy these few days so stopped applying for quite some time liao.

giggler, shook...
dun overdose on chocs though...
they contain caffeine.

giggler...
yah lor... so sad... yeah, u better be hardworking and apply.
prevention better than cure, as they say.

Hi Shook,
No problem. Take your time. I can wait.

Hi sanrio,
U take care. The heartburn will become worse when BB grow exponentially. Drink more milk if possible, can help to neutralise the gastric acid.

I dare not apply any stretch mark cream ever since my itch worsen. Think i'll try it later when my itch is better. Over the weekend, i can actually feel my BB turning into position. When hubby put his hand on my hand to massage my back (very sore), he can feel the BB's kicks on my back!!!!

Hi Sarsi,
Yep... Its common to feel nausea n fatigue now. My gynae even tell hubby to get all BB's stuff ready. Warning him that i'll be in a tired state soon n will not have the stamina to do BB shopping.

Have u decided whether to use those flashcard methods to stimulate BB when they r born? Me thinking of using but seems very stressful for someone so young.

B2B3M4,Yah really feeling tired all round. Cannot imagine the extra fatigue experienced in the weeks to come.

I heard flashcard is good. My boss uses them on her daughter. Think the effect is good.

hi b2b3m4 n sarsi,
i can imagine my heartburn getting worst. dun noe wat to eat wen i hungry jus now. drk a glass of enfamama.
tat's why i try to get all my bb stuff earlier. i was still well n energetic few wks back but as the days pass, i like beginning to feel the 'stress' agn.

yesdy at 11pm, channel 8 showing 'xiao chao ren' but i din watch. saw the preview tat tis toddler 3 yrs old can do maths sum n english workbk.

wen can we start using flashcards? ai yo.. nowadays both mummy n bb stress..

foreverfriend,
tks, take ur tx

giggler,
yup, hubby said to bleach n wash seem lots of effort n wonder whether those stains can go off. so took the beta ones n bought some.

Hi Sarsi, I'm still feeling the same. Still ok, no backache or anything.

Hi soyabean, you're rite. It's best not to overdose on chocolates not only got caffeine, it's fattening too. I better be more hardworking now. Do u know that I haven finish my 1st bottle of stretchmark cream? This show how lazy I am to apply. Heehee.

Hi B2B3M4, wow your bb can really kick leh. Can even feel the kicks from your back! Super! I not sure if I'll try but my friend did and effect quite obvious. So if it's not tiring for me, I'll try.

Hi sanrio, me more lucky those that my friend passed to me still very new so I dont need to buy any clothings. I think some mummies from the other thread said that it's best to wait till bb 3-4mths when they can sit then flash cards to them.

Hi Sarsi,
Me brave the Robinsons sales alone at Centrepoint on Saturday and regretted. One hour later, i feel i'm going to die n need a place to sit n have a drink. By the time, hubby pick me up 3 hours later, i'm already in tears n the whole world is spinning. Hubby was so surprised i didn't get anything as i was very keen to buy the Classic Pooh Bedding set. Tell him never let to do shopping alone again.... *sob, sob*

Hmm... Flashcards. Have been reading up so much until i get so stress n confused. Going to do the Maths n Reading. Tell hubby to take over the music part. I know nuts abt music.

When to start? Best time 0-3 mths, they pick up faster than those BB after 6 mths. Muz do 3 times a day, flashing 5 sets of 5 words/dots 3 times a day. Meaning 25 words/dots a day. Change every week. Stop b4 the baby gets bored. Can do the same for animals n Chinese. FOr reading, start with single words first, then proceed to couplets, then phrases.

sarsi...
me oso feeling quite the same... hehe... occasionally a little backache dats all... mayb cos i dun do housework like u... hehe...

b2b3m3...
wow... ur bb reali can kick leh...
usu when my hubby feels strong kicks from edison, he will "scold" him and ask him not to bully mummy so much... haha...

sanrio...
how does flash cards look like? where do we buy them?

soyabean,
Flashcrads can be purchased or made. If i'm not wrong, the whole set can come up to thousands of dollars. If u decide to made on your own, can use hard white background paper at 11x11". Then write the words in neat lower case letters in red. AS they get older, u can switch to black marker.
For the dots to teach Maths, use the same cardboard n paste those middle size red dots from 1-100.

Sanrio
0-6 mths baby clothing abt 6 pcs will do
Depending on size of baby, some big size babies can fit in 6-12 mths clothing b4 they r 6 mths. No harm buying 6-12 mths can keep. Definitely need them later

Sanrio, Soyabean
Nausea, heartburn, stretchmark, .... the price of being a mother. So pathetic rite. My problem is dat sour after taste after meals. Suck pa xian guo till my tongue feels painful

Sarsi
I have abt 8 wks to go. Scary
My problem is legs get tired easily. Pass few days, my feets swell. Luckily ok now. Oso lousy sour taste after meals.

B2B3M4
Wat flashcards? How to make? For English alphabat n roman no?

sarsi...
thanks for the info on the cards... hmm... maybe can DIY... hehe... but wat kind of words to use on the cards? alphabets?

hi soyabean,
if i'm not wrong, i saw 'flashcards' at the bigger popular bkshop oulets n mayb kiddy palace at toa payoh? they're more reasonably priced compared to those 'branded' ones u can find at forum gallery shop/s selling educational bks/toys. if i lazy to make, will buy 1 or 2 simple sets fr popular (if i can find).

foreverfriend,
tks. my hubby loh bought quite a number of 0-6mths bb clothes, he said newborn not so big n if not enough to wear how.. i lazy to argue w him. oso diff brands the size differ. tollyjoy 0-6mths is much smaller than pigeon's. wen i look at the 0-6mths long pants, waist seems so small, totally no idea how to estimate a newborn's waist, jus worry plus wearing pampers, is it too tight?

shook....
8 weeks more... if i were u, wld feel scared oso.... now already scared... ur feet swelling cos of water retention?

sanrio...
oic... i will check out popular and kiddy palace when i shop...

btw gals... any of u drawing up a wishlist for frens/relatives so dat they know wat to buy for u after bb is born? me thinking of doing dat for my frens... so dat i will get something i need... and $ spent by my frens will be worth it as well.

soyabean,
we did tat
72488.gif
otherwise may end up havin too many sets of bb clothes, 2 same bb rocker etc. my hubby's colleagues asked wat he wants so he said 'graco lightwt pram/stroller' but not cheap. his colleagues said okie. my colleague jus left for US n she said will buy tinylove classical musical mobile for bb cos she saw i checked out tis item in the net, so nice of her

hehee, will ask my dad to sponsor car seat..
mum said mus buy gold 'ka long' for bb, i said dun wan lah..practical n useful stuff beta.
IL side i dun dare ask, hubby said he will tell them vouchers/ang pao prefered.
ai yo..like so pai seh
72489.gif

Soyabean, i got a fren who had a website done up for his baby. he oso drew up his wishlist there and ask his fren/colleagues to visit that website. dh & i also tink its better tis way, tink we will also do that when bb is born.

Hi B2B3M4, will you be doing your own flashcards or buy from outside?

Hi soyabean, I didn't have any wishlist but I know a group of friends getting me stroller. Maybe I'll just tell them to give me cash vouchers if possible.

may...
hey! dats a good idea leh...
putting it onto a website...

giggler...
yeah... cash vouchers are more flexible...
but oso hv the tendency for u to spend the voucher on something instead of wat u wanted to buy... haha... dats wat usu end up wif the gift vouchers i get from my frens...

Hi Giggler,
I will definitely be doing the cards on my own. Read up quite a bit on how to use it. Shldn't be a problem. If u do not want to use flashcards, can use powerpoint too. Cheaper as well.

soyabean,
oh yes, tks for mentioning abt 'new mums' thread. saw so many adorable bb fotos there
72504.gif
oso learn a bit abt bfg fr the mummies' experience.

Hi B2B3M4, which books you read up on? Is it Glen Doman? I interested to learn how to do on my own cos it'll be more cost-effective long term wise.

Sanrio
Your hubby loves your boy v much. Your boy has so many sets of clothings, 1 day wear 1 set

I never even dream if my MIL will get anything for my baby, BIL n SIL more likely to buy things when baby 1 mth old

Soyabean
My feet swell wz due to poor blood circulation n may b water retention. My mum din cook salty food for me n I lifted my legs up when I sleep n eat @ home. Now no more swelling.
My wish list is $ or voucher. Most of the things more or less bought liao. Only big items like stroller, car seat n play pen outstanding. Ppl may not get the type I want if they buy for me. So I rather they give me voucher or $, I buy the type I want.

B2B3M4
Can share wif me how to make flash card

Hi Foreverfriends,
My feet also have been swelling a little last week. I started sleeping with an extra pillow under my feet. It helped me a lot. The swelling actually went down. I also feel tired in the legs when I go for my walks. I guess it's all the discomforts of the 3rd trimester.

Just went for my check-up today. Everything is normal, even my glucose tolerance test and my haemoglobin. So I'm very happy. Thank God.

My church here gave me a baby shower last week and we got so many good gifts. The pastor's wife also gave me a pep-talk about becoming a mother and my great responsibility etc etc. Very meaningful. The best was the car-seat and stroller combo. The car seat can be fixed on top of the stroller.

Priviledged
I lifted my legs on a bolster. Now the swell on my feet is gone.

gd dat everything is fine wif your check-up. When is your EDD?

So nice the ppl fm your church gave u the gifts b4 u delivered. Save u the shopping work n $, no duplicate baby stuff, things ready when your baby pops

Hi Shook n Sanrio,
U can read more abt how to make flashcards from the thread "Ways to stimulate babies". Alternatively, u can oso visit the website, www.childbrain.org, where u can get some resources.

Like what i have to mention. Use 11x11" white background cardboard. Of course u can use other sizes, the idea is to make it large n clear for your baby. Write in red thick nib marker. That will attract their attention. Read out the words n do it fast. It doesn't matter that your BB can read or catch. Essentially, it is to get your BB's attention. Stop b4 your BB gets bored.

If u read the Glen Doman's method previously. It mention 3 sets of 5 words, 3 times daily. The latest is to introduce 5 sets of 5 words, 3 times daily. The 3 times muz be at least half n hr apart. Do it when your BB is in the best mood, least irritable n both of u shld have fun. Change the whole set every week.

The same method can be used for Maths, Chinese n encyclopedia knowledge. There r oso methods to train the child up for music n physical development, they called it PH.D. Books on the teaching of Glen Doman can be obtain from NLB but it seems very popular n there is a long waiting list. Alternatively, u can be a cheapskate like me n sit down n read slowly in Times bookshop.

Giggler,
Yep, those materials i read are from Glen Doman. If u visit the website i mention above, some parents use powerpoint instead of flashcards. (They have the slides done up, u juz need to insert the words). They r cheaper but meaning u need a PC every time n i do not wish my BB to be expose to the monitor too early in life. Both me n hubby already have very poor eyesight. Don wan my girl to be put at risk. The initial words can be determined by u. Example, the 1st set r daddy, mummy, grandmother etc, 2nd set, bus, car..... Then slowly add in colours using cardboards of different colours. Then u can develop it to couplets like red car, blue shirt etc.

hi shook...
good for u... i oso experience lesser water retention now... cos my mum and mil tries not to add salt into the dishes they cook. and even though lesser salt, they still taste good to me.
my feet oni gets a bit worse when i go out for dinner cos outside food is more salty. i oso sleep wif a pillow supporting my feet now.

sanrio, shook...
hmm... so far, its my mum who's been buying stuff for her grandson, from bottles to mittens and pillow and stuff.... my mil hasnt bgt anything yet. even those necessities i hv to go get them myself.

btw, i dropped by CWP kiddy palace yest for a quick shop and bgt some stuff... scissors for the nails, pigeon cotton buds, a bath sponge, safety pins and face towels. even though not a lot of stuff bgt, i felt hapi.

hi priviledged...
wow... looks like u had a great baby shower.
and glad to know u r doing fine..
now oni counting down to the day yeah?

b2b3m4,
thanks for sharing on the flashcards.
hehe... will copy and paste wat u post into a word doc and follow them when i DIY. hehe...

Hi shook, same here. I prefer to receive vouchers so that I can buy things that I like.

Hi Priviledged, your bb very lucky leh. Received so many gifts even before she is born.

Hi b2B3M4, thanks for your explanation. I've already reserved the book from NLB and you're rite the waiting list is quite long. I don't like to put in Powerpoint and let bb read from monitor too. Not good for eyesight leh.

hi soyabean,
glad to know that ur water retention is lesser now...it is always better to stick to healthy diet:less salt,less oil,more vege/fruits..esp.i heard preggie women easily get high blood pressure.

hi b2b3m4,
will bad eyesight(shortsighter)inherit to our bbs?

hi Sanrio,
so nice of ur & ur hubby colleagues. Though I've worked in my current co. almost 6yrs,i knew them well. So I don't expect any gift fr. them...

Anyway,i've most of the bb stuffs passed down fr. my SIL,except the bb cot,car seat & stroller. My hubby said can get the car seat & stroller later.Some toddlers or bb refuse to sit on the stroller.

Hi Shook,b2b3m4
Same here. Me get tired easily.Went to Robinson last Fri. Walked less than 20mins,cannot "ta han" oredi. Anyway,nothing much on sales.So didn't buy anything.

I even have had a nap b4 going down to Robinson.Mentally,I wanted to shop; but Physically,i really felt so tired,esp.my legs & back..

I've food poisoning after taking nasi lemak which my mum bot fr. hawker center last sat. I didn't tak any medicine,just vomit & went toilet twice. Felt soooo terrible,becoz of stomach pain & bb kicking. Any idea will it affect my bb??

Hi Giggler,
Great u have reserved the book. Which one r u getting??? There is one for brain injured child too, eg. if the child have learning deficit or epilepsy etc. U can read up n maybe we can discuss n share info! There is oso discussion found in yahoo website.

avocado...
oh dear... sori to hear dat... dun think it will affect the bb... but how r u feeling now? better?

and yeah... though my water retention lesser, it has been replaced by other things... now more and more difficult to move ard... cos of the tummy... feels sooo clumsy...

gals... these couple of days... i've been feeling a little crampy at times at the area below the belly button... dunno if dats braxton hicks? or jus uterus expanding...

Hi soyabean, I enjoyed buying bb stuff also.
I also experienced the cramps leh and the hardening of tummy becomes more obvious too.

Hi avocado, your col won't be buying things for u meh? I think for my case I still can request for things I want if I thick-skinned enough. I don't think diarhea will affect bb but you take care of yourself.

Hi B2B3M4, I reserved the one on reading. Maybe I shd reserved the Maths one also. I'm 4th on the waiting list so I don't think I'll get the book so soon leh. How to go to the Yahoo discussion website? I want to read up more before my bb born since I got time now.

giggler...
hope u get ur book soon and those pple b4 u dun renew the book for another 3 weeks... wow... didnt know the books are so popular...

hehe... now me drawing cracking my brain out on my wishlist.

Giggler,
Actually Maths for newborn is quite easy. It juz involves preparing the same white cardboard n pasting red medium size dots from 1 to 100. As adults, we associate numbers with the roman characters. However, when shown dots alone, we will have problem. However, at 0-6 mths, BB can recognise the dots n associate them with the number. So u 1st show the card with one red dot n say "This is one!" , then to 2 dots n say "This is two!" n so on, until u reach 100. U will be surprise at their age, they r able to associate the dots better than us. I bet by 10 dots, we wld have anyhow guess a number.
That's all i have read up for now!