(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

avocado,
so funny. ur male colleague actually believe
72119.gif
. mus tell him 'enfapapa' is gd for tummy development!
yup i wan to buy some nice stuff for bb (those non-essential but nice loh..) so we can wait for GSS sales.

Hi shook, maybe you can place a mirror infront of you so that you can see who is coming from your back? I think I'll get heart attack if I sit at your position. Imagine u don't know who'll come near u and give u a shock.

Hi sanrio, I don't think I can make in time for GSS liao.

Hi avocado, you very bad leh, fool your col around. Hahaha..

Hi May, your col very rude leh. Why don't u ask her "why u so eng huh?" next time when she stand at your work-station?

hi giggler,
yr end n christmas seasons oso got lots of sales. during then, u can buy new n nice nice dresses for ur bb girl : )

Shook,
U can consider Giggler idea. If u r working on a PC, u can put a small mirror on top of ur monitor.I saw some of my colleagues did tat.

Sanrio,Giggler,
hee..hee..I can b very mischievous. If the person asks out of kepo,then I'll anyhow answer him/her or give fade answer to confuse them. If the person asks out of concern,then I'll tell them honestly....

some ppl just can't get the hint.Since I can't ignore as they r my colleagues, I just entertain them wf fade answer.

Avocado
Your male colleagues v ku niang. Dat guy u tricked v naive. I like the trick u played on him

May
Your colleague nosy Parker no 1. Ask her wat she wants or tell her the website address n ask her to go surf the website herself

Sanrio
Dunno whether I can wait till GSS or not

Giggler, Avocado
My colleague placed a mirror on top of her monitor but oso no effect coz not looking @ the mirror all the time mah. My idot mgr pops in anytime.

foreverfriend,
since u due in jun, tink beta to get all essential stuff ready n dun wait for GSS. 2mrow robinsons got sales, hope got gd deals. if GSS starts last wk May, then u can go c c if not too tired then.

Hi sanrio, ya lor I got to wait till yr-end sales liao.

Hi avocado, I think they'll hate u when they found the truth. You very naughty hor?

Hi shook, that means you got to get a big mirror then. Or you place a doorbell near your work station lah. Then you can hear him before he reaches your place. You better not wait till GSS lah. Try to get your stuff from Robinson sales tom.

Shook,

Aiya,dat guy very kepo...he likes to eavesdrop my conversation wf my family or frds.Then later,he'll purposely ask some Qs related what I've chit chatted wf my frds earlier...

dear mummies,
robinsons 15+5% sales today till 11 apr. hope most bb items are included in the sales. lunchtx i going raffles city robinsons, will post my update wen back

dear mummies,
i jus read tis update fr bb centre. at 25wks, bb is responsive to touch. so wen bb kicks u, try tickle his foot. oso lie on ur back n roll side to side n c how he reacts. can try wkend morn or noon..if try b4 bedtx, bb may refuse to sleep n mummy cant sleep..

oso i read an article by kkh rehab ctr. they strongly discourage the use of walker. 1 reason is dangerous n another tat caught my attention is: may weaken the bb knee n hip joints causing them to bend n walk tip-toe, tis can take a while to be corrected. they encourage to let bb use their joints/muscles, crawl, hold on to somthg n learn to stand up n walk on their own.
above just fyi
of course many bb sat in walker n hav no prob w walking at all.
but i saw some truth in the article content as my hubby's nephew who used walker, did walk tip-toe wen he started to walk on his own!! we din noe why then? the mummy took quite long to correct him.

Sanrio
Ok I go Robinson tml.
Thx for sharing

Giggler
How I wish I can have a censor dat peeps when it smells whoever I wanna b on guard steps into my cubicle

Avocado
I wonder if dat guy is a transsexual

Emily
JL is having warehse sales today till Sun @ Expo. Robinson is having 15%+5% sales today till Sun storewide

sanrio,

I heard abt the walker oso. But sometx,no choice we've to use the walker..becoz very difficult to tak care of bb who's learning to walk...

no wonder,i notice my bb kicks & punches when I lie on one side...Is there a way we can differentiate if he is kicking or punching??

hi Shook,
hee...he is just being kepo

sanrio...
i think one reason why pple use walker its cos of convenience... a walker allows bb to move ard and at the same time, not fall down. and being in a walker, bb will not be able to touch things ard the house dat he is not supposed to touch.
for me, i'm open to the idea... i hv heard of the same thing abt walkers... but i'm not toally agst them.

Avovado, ya some ppl are jus like dat.

Giggler,hee.. sometimes if she stands there for a long time I gei gei ask her 'u finish all ur work aldy ah'

Foreverfriends...hahah.. she send email oso needs to get help.. hw to suft net.

Hi avocado, I can't differentiate kick or punch too.

Hi sanrio & soyabean, I've heard of the theory on walkers but I guess sometimes we got no choice lor. Cos it's still safer to put bb in walkers if they're learning how to walk.

Has anyone gone for JL's warehouse sales??? Any good buys?

Sanrio,
Don think there will be very much at Robinson's. Will be the same few stuff. May only wan to get the Classic Pooh bedding set. Good for mummies who haven't brought products from reputable brands like Pigeon, Avent and Mendela.

Went to check out the Classic Pooh clothings yesterday. Sales lady says that there will be more new stocks coming, so u can check them out at your next appt.

Gynae says my tummy is indeed quite small for my term n suspects that BB is lying horizontally. Will have to do a growth scan in 3 weeks time to determine it. Oso found to be anaemic :p Was bargaining wif her whether i shld be started on Iron supplement (always ended with constipation) She said okie not to take now but after giving birth, definitely muz take or else confirm will be anaemic for life.

AS for the tour, the staff nurse says its available. But bcos my appt ended late yesterday, 6.45pm, wasn;t able to get any info from the reception. Think we can call them to check abt the tour.

Have anyone decided to take the Inpatient Premium package. Gynae says muz decide soon. If i'm under the Premium package, my outpatient visit will be transferred to the Pte suite n that will start from 32 weeks onwards. I still can't decide.

b2b3m4,
i taking inpatient premium pkg but not pte suite for outpatient as my gynae no c patients there. there is 1 pkg ie. outpatient + inpatient premium (2 in 1) but u can oso opt for pte suite outpatient n inpatient premium pkg separately.
tks i'll check out the osh kosh shop in my next visit.
u anaemic.. mus take care, try to eat more 'iron' food. i no take iron tablets but now oso slight constipation even i eat lots of fruits n vege.
my tummy oso small but recently seems 'growing' quite fast. i force myself take enfamama n fish loh.. mayb these help? if u dun like milk, remb to eat variety of more nutritious food.
yes robinsons sales gd if need to get those brands like mustela, medela, avent, pigeon, cot, bedding sets etc..

hi avocado n giggler,
i oso cant differentiate kick n punch for now. mayb punch is much harder? can try tickle both

hi sanrio,

To aid the absorption of iron,tak fruits b4 or after taking iron vit...

I try to increase my fruits intake by drinking fresh juice which can b bot fr. hawker/foodcourt.I always ask fr. apple+papaya or orange+papaya....i tried mix fruit juice wf celery or carrot..the taste r funny..Still prefer avocado,kiwi & soursop fruit juice,too bad,avocado only available at Alexandra V

hi May,
it is hard to deal wf these kinda ppl.don't know what's best way to chase them away.

my colleague who sits besides me,like to my borrow my things such as stationery,dictionary & didn't put back to the original place.
She'll leave it at her desk & I've to collect it back.

Worst still,she put two boxes of files along the walk way & titbits at her desk..basically,her area is like a mini supermarket

Due to the obstruction of her stuff,I asked my boss to transfer to another cubicle.Too bad,it is just a temporary seat & i've to transfer back to sit next to her,after i give birth

Giggler
I din go JL wareshse sales, heng.... I m oso going to Robinson sales tml. Wat time u going?

Avocado
Kapo until like dat, 1st time I heard of for a guy

Avocado, Soyabean
How abt putting baby in play pen instead of walker? My mum oso said walker is no gd for baby. I have one hands me dwn walker but it is a type where baby has to push the car to walk, not sitting in the walker. The walker makes noise when push forward

May
I think she v jealous u know how to surf net, she doesn't knows n wanna learn fm u

B2B3M4, Sanrio
I m on a type of iron tablets which contains Vit C, so won't cause constipation. Can't remember the name. Gotta go home n check
Eat prume for constipation. It works on me

B2B3M4
How to register for hospital tour
I took up inpatient premium package juz haven't decide A1 or B1 class

Sanrio
I din know there is a 2 in 1 premium package. Thot only the separate package as seen fm KK's website

Already 1pm, I still haven't take my lunch. My mgr have to gut to ask me to finish my report. He then mean

b2b3m4,
i will be tkg the inpatient premier as well.... will be tkg B1 class.

oh gals... btw, i hv stop tkg anmum for a couple of days... now tkg nestum cereal... one cup has 300mg of calcium (abt the same as 3 scoops of anmum) and on top of it, got fibre... hehe...

shook...
me oso thinking of going robinsons tomolo. was thinking of going centrepoint cos there are some other bb shops there... will oso prob visit angeline tomolo and see her felicitas...
seems like i might hv a busy day tomolo.

Soyabean

Wat time u going to Robinson. Hahaha, think many of us going Robinson. May bump into each other

Angeline stays in KK? Wat class does she stay? Too bad, my mum v pang tang. She doesn't allow me to visit friends who juz give birth till baby full mth. Otherwise I go visit Angeline wif u

I talked to my hubby yesterday regarding the delivery ward class. He still insist on A1. He said $ can always earn back. Most impt thing is dun suffer more since I will suffer during delivery. He turn ard n ask me to give it a serious thot.

shook...
i hvnt decide wat time to go robinsons... was trying to jio my mum to go wif me, but she said she's quite lazy dun feel like going out... haha...

as for angeline, she is now at home doing confinement... in fact she jus posted felicitas pic at New Moms...
i know some pple can be pantang... so i not going to tell mil or mum abt going to visit her.

oic... nice of u to hv such a understanding hubby. for me, i dun see the point in paying so much more for A... i wld rather save dat $ and buy more things for edison...

Foreverfriends, wa.. ur hubby so nice.. hee... my hubby oso say i better stay in A1, but dan its bcos he says my pattern later ask me to sleep alone sure cry one... I very very scare of dark! But dan scare the bills later very ex....

Shook,

Ur hubby dotes u leh!! To me,i feel it is impt to stay/rest comfortably after giving birth..Intially,I oso thot of getting 2-bedded,but my family encourage me to get 1-bedded so my hubby or mum can accompany me at night,juz in case I vomit or feel uncomfortable,there's someone to take care of me...

My mum said the nurse can't take care of me as personally as our family..

the price of single & 2-bedded is abt $100+..my hubby just asked me to go ahead..like what Shook said,money can earn back...

Soyabean
I share yout view on saving $ on ward class. Afterall stay 2 days perhaps 1 night only. Then everything pay so much juz bcoz of dat toilet which I will use for how many times?

May
If u scared to sleep w/o someone u know ard u. Then u have to take A1

Avocada
The difference b/w 1 bedded n 4 bedded in KK is $600 for package excluding other misc chrg. A great diff leh

hi giggler, foreverfriend, soyabean n b2b3m4,
me wen robinsons sales during lunchtx jus now. i posted the update in "any new mothers to be" thread. i tink robinsons will b vy crowded tis long wkend..

Foreverfriends, ya.. i noe.. but as u say the dif is $600.. dan 1st birth normally have to stay 3 days... heartpain... can go for a short holiday liao... no choice... small heart...

avocado, u oso very lucky.. my mum and mil hear i taking the 1st class all say waste of $$... my mil even like abit unhappy... argghh.. duno wat to do.

I will be taking 2 bedded room @ Mt.A. My colleague was telling me when she delievered at Mt.E, she had a very bad experience cos the one next to her insist of bf her bb even if its middle of the nite though her bb dunwan to be bf. So bb make hell of noise, she was very very tired and couldnt get any rest at all. She kept asking me to take 1 bedded. I now debating to change or not.

shook,
my edd also around that date 3rd June...
we are very close then...lol

sneak in to delivery suite...I suppose since now hospitals on green alert.. I think you can sort of "lose" your way in that direction... keke

With the big tummy I think they'll let you see the room since you come ALL the way..lol

Sanrio,

so envy you!! co pay for bills..my hubby says he'll settle ours.. anyway my MIL says that we should take the A class one... cos she said if we can afford better do so. I got no comment to that..but hubby says it's a matter of "face". I was thinking about the natural ventilation..cos when in confinement no a/c wat.. so better get used from the beginning.

May,

I think your right about the weight gaining.. as long as so far BB is healthy and active. Now not so worried about weight more worried about the birthing process..dun know hwther can take the pain or not..:/

Giggler,

About the room.. yes can do it when registering for it. Hubby is going to request. According to nurse it's better when registering. If it was a junior consultant that delivered me then I will still have to pay senior consultant rates.

She also says that some ppl deliver already and warded in C class request to be upgraded will be charged for the admission to A onwards. The A room rates are $230 if not mistaken. If hubby room-in is $35(no meals) $60(with meals). Well they have packages as well.. but deposit must be $1200 upon "check in".

Soyabean,

I agree w the comfort bit and the save $$ too. I initially wanted the 6 bedded as it was naturally ventilated ideal not to let "wind" onto body etc etc (chinese saying). The subsidised rates were so tempting as well..

I looked at the B1 (4-bedded) but it was also like the 6 bedded cos they're on the same floor. The noise level was horrible from the C-class.

Well looking at the 6 bedded it is really very dissapointing. It's not anything like KKH, spaced out etc etc. The bathroom at NUH is clean and is within the ward itself. The only thing is when we were there on tour.. the green alert is on. So many visitors.....and very noisy. The children were running all over the place and people talk in the corridors.

Hubby says imagine just labour for 24 hours and then need rest.. but you have all the commotion going on.. he was afraid I may even go into Post-Natal Depression. He also says that anything can happen and since this is first BB and somemore a boy.. he says his mum would not forgive him and he himself if he put me through so much trauma. Besides, he also anticipate a lot of visitors as well.

Besides, after hospital stay..I would be going to my MIL's place for confinement.. so I would not be as comfortable as own home.. so better enjoy a bit of luxury first...

Meanwhile, I'm still thinking about it. Bearing in mind my edd is in Early June.. just at school holidays some more. So I suppose some of my students will come and visit me too..

such a diehlema!! Maybe after my dose of Avacodo juice can think more calmly...Thank god for lonnngnnngg weekend!!

Happy Easter All btw!!

Hi shook, I prob go in the early afternoon. Aiyo, your mgr really mean leh. I can't tahan if I take late lunch leh. I'll feel giddy. Just accept your hubby's kind intention lah. Learn to appreciate his care for you.

Hi soyabean, hahaha. I intend to do the same also. Going to visit my friend who just gave birth y'day but not telling my mom, mil and even my hubby.

natalie...
oic... if dats the case, think it will be better for u to take A. guess the ward condition reali differs between hosps....

giggler...
hhee... we r so notii hor? but how not to tell hubby? i already told him i hv intention to visit liao, but he didnt comment anything... think he oso dun know got such myth... so heck care lah...

Giggler,

But is ur fren pangtang? I had a fren super duper pangtang. She dunwan me to visit her. Even the bb full mth. I juz ask my hubby to go up and give her the ang pow. Better check with her family oso.

Happy Easter in advance. Oh... I saw an article (by UK Press) saying that chocolates for pregnant ladies will produce happier babies. So, cheers!

hi emily,
it's storewide 15+5%. so if u intend to pick up items/brands like pigeon, mustela, medela, avent, nuk, bb first wardrobe etc, then quite gd buy. some are controlled price items, not evytx got disct. i remb during last robinsons sales, eg: mustela stretchmark cream no disct, now yes.

natalie,
i heard nuh c class ward quite old oreadi. tink kkh upgraded theirs so newer. but agree w the green alert, open ward sure noisy during visiting hrs.

dear mummies,
i jus spoke to 2 frds. both hav boys n told me mummy cld not cope w their milk dd. both hav milk n can bf but as the bb dd is so high (1 of them had girl 1st bb n she then had no prob), they practically feeding 24 hrs. bb cries for milk evy 1 hr or less. so ended up both gave up the nite feed n used formula for nite, cos they said confinement tx oreadi so tired n w breast n v. area wound all pain, vy vy siong..
oh oh! wonder i can cope w tbf or not??

sanrio...
hmm... dats wat happened to my mil oso... my hubby's dd for milk was so high dat her supply was not sufficient... so she gave up after a couple of mths and started him on formula... hope my edison dun tk after the daddy!

May
How come 1st normal birth need to stay 3 days?
Dun care wat your MIL said. Impt thing is your hubby supports u

Val
If price diff not great, upgrade to 1 bedded

Natallie
If u r wif KK, we might bump into each other.
Since u expecting many visitors 1 bedded more suitable for u

Giggler
Ya, I really missed the time when I worked under my FC. He is a v v nice superior
Oh yes, I m really blessed to have such a sweet hubby. But he is block headed @ times
, a typical engineer

Emily
Really I love to eat chocolate!!
kiss.gif

Sanrio, Soyabean
Aiyo, dunno whether I can cope wif my boy's demand for milk or not

Happy Bunny festival

Hi soyabean, I'll just tell my hubby that I'm going out with friends lor.

Hi Val, that's another point hor? Then I better check with her.

Hi Emily, I saw that article too. Makes me crave for chocolates. Hahaha..

soyabean n foreverfriend,
tink if i really cant cope w my boy's dd, i will likely supplement nite feed w formula too. my frd said she almost had post-natal blue due to high 'bfg stress'. mummy needs rest too..
we will try our best loh

i heard kkh doesnt provide newborn formula milk (bfg support hospital), so mus get 1 small tin to standby at hm.

hi emily n giggler,
i like choc too but i get sore throat whenever i eat even a little bit.

hi natalie,
my co has gd maternity n medical benefits. our married women here hence quite 'productive'. having 3 is common, if not at least 2.

Sanrio,
No doubt BF at night can be pretty stressful but that can be circumvented by keeping ready expressed breast milk in the fridge. Try not to bottle feed babies too early or else they may get nipple confused and may refuse BF next time. Preferably start 1 month later, but if that is too tiring, at least 2 weeks later. Don worry shld u feel that milk production is not enuf n baby seems to be losing weight. baby are expected to lose weight in their 1st 2 weeks. They will only start gaining from 2 weeks onwards. Also the breast milk in the 1st 1 week are usually watery n not filling. It is mostly water and antibodies. This not only helps baby in developing their immune system and oso their gut is stil not used too digesting milk. So breast milk with less fat and protein actually "train" their gut up n ready for the more nutritious milk that is coming. Do not give up to formulae feeds. All mothers definitely have enuf milk for their own babies, we just need to encourage each other and perserve on. For the best of our babies, right?

hi b2b3m4,
tks
lets try our best to perservere w bfg.

dear mummies,
robinsons sales actually 'not' open to public cos can get 15+5% only if u pay by robinsons card. items run out quite fast. thur lunchtx quite rush so some thgs din get. today i wen to get mustela stretchmark cream, left last bottle. wanted to buy the bb face cloth pkt of 5 but sold out.