(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

i jus came back fr kkh checkup. long wait as gynae caught up in a surgery.
me now at 25wks, put on 5.3kg fr 46.5 to 51.8kg. gynae said my wt gain vy gd n gradual, dun wori. i no grow fatter, except tummy n backside.
1 male dir in my office oso commented i walk like penguin. dun bother w him cos tummy heavy mah..

i din hav scan 2dy. cant c bb
71995.gif
gynae said not necessary to do scan evytx. my next visit is at 30wks, will do detailed scan (soyabean, fyi
) i asked abt 3D scan, kkh actually has this machine but is being used for invasive surgery n not for preg cases. gynae said 3D scan used mainly to c bb features, does not mean it can detect abnormalities compared to 'normal' detailed scan machine.

robinsons sales tis thur open to public. hope my frd's news is accurate..

hi soyabean,
some useful items n brands:
1)nursing bra: mothercare (voted best buy in a recent survey) or thyme.
2)maternity pad: madamme or mothercare
3)breast pad: medela or avent disposable
4)pigeon alcohol n fragrance free nappy wipes
5) mustela vit e barrier cream to prevent nappy rash
6) soft face clothes / flannels
7) cotton wool ball n 1 or 2 pkts sterilised cotton wool ball (guardian has). tis is useful if bb has eye discharge. jus dip in cool boiled water n wipe bb eyes.
8) kodomo bb detergent (powder type not so suitable as tiny particles may stick on bb clothes n bb skin more sensitive)
9) bathtub: dun buy too big n wide, bb scared n oso waste water. mothercare's bathtub size gd, long enough oso, wen bb grows bigger, like to kick/play w water..

hi avocado,
if papa takes enfamama, later they develop a tummy too!
71996.gif
(too 'pu')

giggler,
some pple vomit quite badly af surgery (or c-section) due to the medicine used for GA n oso empty stomach for quite sometx.

thanks shook....
more things to add to my list of WANTED items. hehe.... btw, wats bath pack for confinement? actuali do we reali need bibs? can actuali use small hankies rite?

thanks sanrio...
hehe... so will hv to wait until 30 weeks to do detailed scan again.
btw, when do we start more fortnightly visits, do u know? from 28 weeks on i suppose, since u said detailed scan at 30 weeks?

thanks for advising on the brands.... u gals reali mkg my job easier... thanks soooo much.
71998.gif

i hv jotted down everything.
71999.gif

hi soyabean,
no prob at all

gynae told me 3rd trim begins at 28wks. if our progress is fine, checkup need not b fornightly. cld b 3wks. wen nearer our EDD, the interval will b shorter ie. 2wks or 1wk depend on our condition.
i saw nice winnie the pooh long sleeved cover feet romper set for bb boy on offer at kkh mothercare. too bad left big sizes n sales ended liao. tot can buy n let my bb wears when he goes back home..
oh yes, bibs not necessary for newborn, small soft face cloth will b fine.

Hi sanrio, do you think Robinson has as much bb stuff as JL at Specialist Centre? Not sure if I want to go for the RObinsons sales this weekend if your friend's news is accurate.

i asked gynae earlier, she gave green light so i went for aqua-aerobics last sat at kkh.
i enjoyed, it's a gd form of exercise for preg esp. can keep fit n stretch diff muscles w'out over-straining them. physiotherapist said will make joints more supple hence 'indirectly' aid delivery process. the pool is warm - hydrotherapy pool. i felt gd 'blood cirulation' af tat n slept well tat nite
72028.gif
. but classes fully booked till jul. i hav 5 more sessions to go.

hi sanrio,
how will the gynea tell if ur bb is fine without ultrascan?

actually,the scanning is very blur..i wonder how can the gynea tell my bb features r alright.I can only see two big dots(eyes),2 small dots(nose & mouth)..can't see his fingers becoz his little hands r grasp tightly..

But can count his toes..his feets r stagnant when the scan is done.He just kept on moving his arms & hands,like rubbing his face & brushing his hair(wonder if his hair has grown at wk23??
)Even my gynea laughed off
when he saw my bb's action

haha..i'll tell my hubby later..
biw,my hubby is very skinny...No matter how much he eats,he dun put on weight...strange..

I think ur gynea can even see ur bb clearly in wk30..

Ya,agree..bibs r more bbs abt 3 to 4mths old onwards.

I thot 3rd trim begins at wk26?? For our case,it shld be begin on Apr18.

hi giggler,
me personally prefer robinsons sales. certain brands i look for are available such as medela, mustela bb pdts, bb safe brand, graco, certain pigeon n avent pdts etc. for JL, is gd to buy items eg: pigeon wipes as there's 15+5% even for offer items.
her 'news' shd b accurate. my office near raffles city. i'll go on thur lunchtx n update u agn okie

hi avocado,
gynae 'fine' mean more of bb growing fine n mummy progressing well, no spotting/bleeding or certain medical conditions. she said no scan can fully detect evythg. so we mus tink positive n dun worry unnecessarily loh
she told me 3rd trim begins 28wks wen i asked her today.

hi sanrio,

ic...the 1st thing my gynea checks when he does the scan, is the bb heart beat...

anyway,so long we can feel our bbs move more than 10x everyday,it means our bbs r doing fine..

i tik my bb is moody type. Sometx he can really moves a lot,almost whole day.Sometx,I can hardly feel his movement,not even after food...

u can see our bb age thru this website:
http://www.names2be.com/duedate.html

hi avocado,
my gynae will check bb heartbeat at evy visit too. then i'll ask whatever questions i hav. like wat many mummies said, if evythg alright, each visit is usually fast n quite short.

hi soyabean,
can lightly jump, kick n jog in water, i cant do tis on land! best part is can wear 'anythg suitable' u like cos men n outsiders strictly out of bound. all preg mummies, so no need shy shy
72045.gif

i checked elsewhere, there's aqua-aerobics for preg but held at public pool..
may 04 has 1 class, if wan, is on waiting list..

hi avocado,
they hav a machine (somethg like ultrasound, but no screen), put on tummy, can hear bb heartbeat. it sounds like horse galloping vy fast...
i had 1st session of aqua at kkh last sat. 5 more to go.

Avocado
I love to swim. My mum n hubby dun allow me to swim until I get green light fm my gyne. Anyway it wz raining n cold since I wz pregnant till sometime after CNY
Think gyne is expert @ looking @ baby's condition fm ultra scan. We can't tell some parts of baby fm ultra scan, my gyne cld tell which part is it n she went v fast

Giggler
I swim during wk n. Tis Fri public holiday, can swim 1 more day. Yipee....

Avocado, Giggler
Y stop swimming since u pregnant?

Sanrio
I bet KK has 3D scan m/c. They have the most n complete equipment for woman n child

Soyabean
Bath pack is the Chinese herbs used for bathing during your confinement.
My mum said can use handkerchief to replace bibs. I feel dat u can secure bibs to baby's neck but handkerchief has the tendency to drop off. Bibs gd to have but not a muz
My gyne still schedule me to visit her in 4 wks time. Last visit when I wz in wk 29, next visit wk 33

sanrio...
hmmm.... but hubby dun wan me to go public pools... cos the water is cold and he scared i get cramps...
oh btw, does ur gynar tell u how fast is ur bb's heartbeat? last week when i went, dr kt tan told me edi's heartbeat is about 155 156, whh is normal.

shook...
oh.... sooodesune! i know wat r bath packs liao..
my mummy bgt those for to me wash my hair and clean myself when i was doing mini-confinement for my m/c.

Shook,
Me luv to swim too..but i lazy to buy maternity swimwear..And I scare if i'll be kicked at my tummy accidentally when swimming..

Sanrio,
U mean we shld buy those liquid detergent instead of powder type??

ic..so far,i've not heard my bb heartbeat b4..

Hi shook, I too lazy to search for maternity swimsuits so didn't get to swim lor. Your visits still 4 weeks? I need to get the bath packs also. Forgot abt that.

Hi avocado, same here. Too lazy to get maternity swimwear.

Hi soyabean, my gynae never tells us the speed of bb's heartbeat. He just let me listened only.

Ladies, I heard that preggies expecting boys have worse skin complexion/hair after pregnancy whereas preggies expecting girls looks radiant and have more beautiful complexion during pregnancy. Is it true for your case? Do share, thanks!

Hi Mummies 2B,

wow.. this forum moves so fast.. can't keep up...hubby thought our e-mail got spammed..

Avacado,

yes delivery at NUH. In fact went on tour yesterday. I had a look at the 6 bedded. Hubby saw em first when we were looking at the 4 bedded ones..I saw him shaking his head. Very depressing..I thought when have BB mummies are happy but most of them look sooo miserable. Then becos of the restrictions to visitors lifted.. so many "big" families there. Especially Malays.

I think we have decided for the single bed already. Besides my MIL very particular. She'll probably say so much things so better just go for top end..Hubby says have BB is something special...so costs a bit more never mind..besides only in A class he gets to "room-in".

sniff sniff.. i suddenly "waterfall" was so touched.

shook,

my eyes was very big.. especially when I got to see the deluxe labour room... very posh..like 5 star hotel.. the bathtub is like jacuzzi type.. but of course no jacuzzi la..

the 6 bedded is very miserable and crowded. was telling avacado in last post. It's also very stuffy and hot.. when hubby saw it he was not very approving.

Our plan is now to take the single bedded. But we'll only do so when I'm on that day of delivery.

The tour was conducted in a group. 6 couples..a lot of ang mos... very surprised. We managed to see the single class wards, 4 bedded, delivery suites, nursery, c-section rooms and the nursery for pre-mature babies... The babies were so small.

Incidentally, the fees go quite high if you are in premature labour. I suppose that applies for all hospitals. Anyone can comment??

Shook, Giggler,

thanks for the concern.. I'm taking it ez now..since have been on "tour". At least we know what to do. So not so lost. My detailed scan is next week 13th. Looking forward to seeing BB again. I have to remember not to take sweet things b4. The last scan I had took 1 hour plus. BB was moving too much..lol

wow seems like I gained the most weight lo...12 kg and I'm into 31 weeks...I was thinking about how I'm going to lose all that.

About complextion and all that...I think my nose has gone broader..I definitely lost my waist.. hair wise seems still ok.. not dropping.. but I don't know about after "poping". Maybe I will since not allowed to wash hair bathe etc etc..yuck!

Berry
Ya my complexion is v terrible. Breakouts like roller coaster. Doesn't go off since I m pregnant. And, it is my whole face, espcially chin. My back n front oso. Hopefully the breakouts @ my front go off when I start to breast feed

Natalie
How nice NUH conducts hospital tour. KK doesn't so I can't judge. Wonder if I can pretend pretend go to the delivery ward. Can't visit delivery suite

A few experienced mum told me complexion will b gd after delivery. Hope so.
U r into wk 31, I m into wk 32. So our EDD quite close. Mine is 5th June

hi natalie,
hospitals (kkh) hav estimated bill size listed out for neonatal ward for bb who are warded/premature. they go by estimated length of stay based on bb's wks. generally, the earlier bb is born, the longer the stay. bb will follow mother's 'class'. my frd's bb was born at 32wks (was arranged to go for c-section). kkh asked whether she wan to downgrade fr A to C. she downgraded. her bb's bill was abt $10K (b4 medisave but still need cash) for C class.
if A class, it's abt 60-70% more!

i was at kkh C class ward (6 bedded) for a day stay due to some prob earlier. i m a bit surprised cos it's diff fr my expectation. the C class ward at kkh is well-ventilated, evy bed has a ceiling fan. the space btw beds are ok n my bed happen to b new n evythg is by remote ctrl.
the only thg is 3 shared common toilets (not vy clean lah), no tv (there's a common tv lounge) n no phone. evy bed has a hot flask of water n cool boiled water.
the overall environment is bright n clean.
my total bill for 1 day stay include tests, medicine n consultation is $120+ af subsidy!

but i'll take A for delivery. like wat u mentioned, more privacy, less noise n hubby can room in. gd tat my co is paying.

i din buy maternity swimwear for aqua. i wore sports top n L size bicycle pants. at 1st i so shy but since all preg mummies in the kkh pool, so wont feel uncomfi.

hi soyabean,
if u do go swimming, best to hav a companion.
gynae oso told me my bb's hearbeat is ard 155-156. same as edison. it's normal. did u hear the "galloping" heartbeat sound?

hi berry,
i havin boy n most colleagues commented i look more 'radiant' (except 1st trim) but i do hav bad back rashes. i guess it's oso due to hormonal change n increased blood flow, so alwy cheeks red red. my colleague did mention if expecting girl, mummy will not look so nice as bb girl will 'steal' away mummy's looks.
agn these are all myths..

Helooo!
Going for my gynae appt this afternoon. After that will check out the shops there for more BB stuff. Have spent quite a bit on BB for this month.

Juz wan to check wif all mummies to be abt disposable diapers. Is there any diff between normal Pampers and Pampers Premium. The normal Pampers is actually cheaper than Drypers but i can seem to find Size S for Pampers Premium.

Sanrio,
I still look the same leh.... But i know some where along the way, i look anaemic n pale. But now much better oredi.

hi Nat,

I guess the fees go higher for premature labour,probably due to the equipment used & intensive care needed,to take care of the baby...

biw,r premature babies mean babies born one month b4 EDD??

I've lost my waist long time ago,hee..

hi avocado,
antenatal class said bb born b4 38wks is considered premature.

hi b2b3m4,
tink i saw pampers premium for newborn n S size in cold storage. some smaller NTUC sometx no stock. the premium is supposed to b top qlty, no leakage, super absorbent, soft, gd fitting etc. tat's why more ex. double the px of drypers n others.
told gynae abt my heartburn yesdy. she said watch diet n if bad take mylanta. i oso okie but some days jus "sian". if got nausea, will turn pale.

Hi Natalie, dun worry still got me. I gain abt 13.5kg! am oni in my 28wks. Nowadays I dun tink abt weight gain liao. Baby healthy good enuf for me.

hi sanrio...
hehe.... dats why up to now i hvnt gone swimming.. haha.... no companion... and hubby oso dun "fang xin" for me to go.

oh yes.... i did hear the galloping sound of the heartbeat.... so cute hor?

hi berry, sanrio...
for me, my complexion has sort of worsened during preggy... more breakouts... but i dun know whether tis is becos i hv stopped going for facials ever since i was preggy...

Hi shook, can u still wear the swimwear now?

Hi berry, I'm having girl but I still have pimples on & off leh.

Hi Natalie, can you wait till the day that you deliver to confirm the room? I think some hospitals would want us to book room early leh.

Sanrio,
U mean there's one for newborn n another one for size small??? Okie, guess i have to check other outlets. Hubby was very particular abt the brands. He himself has quite a number of allergies, so he is worried that BB maybe allergic to the diapers.

Yah... For your heartburn, only can control diet, avoid late meals n sit upright after food.

To all KKH mummies,
Since the SARS status is green now. (no more temperature monitoring n wearing of mask) I wonder they will resume the tour. Today i kapo n find out.

hi b2b3m4...
yeah.... i oso wonder abt dat... u going for appt today? check and let us know hor...

and one good thing abt the green light... now we prob can hv more visitors? cos during the SARS time, oni 4 registered visitors can visit each patient.

hi b2b3m4,
tks if u find out n let us noe. mayb we cld feedback tis in the next antenatal class oso.
yes, there's newborn n s size. my hubby n me oso prefer pampers premium for the 1st 2 mths cos newborn skin sensitive n more prone to rashes.
cant remb who is ur gynae?

B2B3M4
I saw S Pampers Premium @ Careefour
The nurse told me KK no longer conduct hospital tour bcoz of poor response, not SARs. Gd dat u check during your visit.

Giggler
In fact I started wearing XL size swim suit 2 wks ago. Wz wearing my v worn out S size swim suit b4 dat. Stripes of the XL swim suit keep dropping off. Now ok

Today then suay, whenever I surf forum, my mgr came over. He purposely ask me for reports. NUTS!!! I HATE HIM!!

Hi shook, I peifu you leh. Still can squeeze in your "S" size swimwear till 2 weeks ago. Why not you reduce your screen so that it's not so obvious when your mgr walked past?

Foreverfriends, my college is also like dat.. if she sees me online.. she will purposly keep coming to my place.. and her eyes will stick to my monitor. Sometimes she will say loudly 'wa u so free ah' ...

hi shook,
seems like we all hv busybody colleagues or boss...

My colleagues & boss won't disturb me when i'm online,but they'll talk loudly when I'm resting on the desk...

Hi May,
hv u ever seen her go online b4? If yes, u can do the same as she did..stare at her monitor & says loudly "wah...u so "eng" har??

dear mummies,
i heard tis yr GSS sales will start ard last wk of may 04. so for mummies EDD towards end jun n jul, still can do last min buying..

Giggler
My S size swim suit is v worn out liao. If fact, it is more comfy than the XL size swim suit, juz dat it looks so crumbled n sleeve part a bit torn, then I wear the XL size swim suit. My gyne said I dun need maternity swim suit. Normal one will do
My mgr stands bhind me, n I m back facing anyone who comes into my cubicle. So he can c my screen even if it is small

May
These ppl then sickening rite
Wat Avocado suggested is a gd one

Avocado
These ppl nothing better to do. My mgr walked to my cubicle many many times tis morning. Sick!!

hi sanrio,
thks for the great info!At least,still go fr. last min shopping in May...

hi Shook,
sometx, the more u bo chap them,the more they like to disturb & find out abt u...

worst still, 90% of my colleagues r males..yet,they behave women,like to gossip.sometx,i get v. piss up & feel like telling them:why u so kepo??

Yesterday morning,i was making a cup of Enfamama & my male colleague asked me what is this? So i told him: this is "Enfapapa"
. He said it smells nice & ask me where can buy this. I told him can buy fr. NTUC.

This morning,he said he could only find Enfamama but not Enfapapa fr. NTUC. So i told him,probably out of stock & he has to go other branch or wait for the supply.
.and he believes..hee...

avocado, no she seldom online.. cos she duno hw to suft net one...

sanrio, wow..dats a great news..hee..

foreverfriends, ya these kind of ppl reali is very sick... she sits infront of me (we got a very high partition inbetween) than she will purposly takes her cup and stand beside my table, look at my monitor and slowly sip her drink... must bring her see doctor. very serious!

avocado...hahaha... ur colleagues so funny... skali dey go ask the staff in ntuc... hahaha....

May,

the quote:eek:ne type of rice feeds hundred of ppl really applies here..Ur colleague really "eat full nothing to do(hokkien)"

sometx,when I go to my colleague desk & accidentally caught he/she is surfing web or doing personal stuff,i just act blur.I just tell her/him reports tat i want,then leave...If not,make him/her embarass..no point..it is not my biz anyway..