(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

Hi shook,
your mum sounds like my mum. She keeps talking about feeding formula, and bottle feeding. I'm not so averse to bottle feeding, but I'm not going to bottle feed for the first 2 mtths at least, so that my bm can get established properly, and also because of my current situation (in transition in the USA, will come back to SIN when bb is about 6 wks). I keep telling her this and she keeps harrassing me, saying that my aunty who's coming over here can help me feed the bb while I sleep etc etc etc.

Yes. bb can learn to take from a small teaspoon, but what would you give bb on a spoon?

My mum also keeps wanting to send bottles over even though by 2 months, we expect to fly back to Singapore for good. I say "what for?", she says that I can use the bottles to give water to bb!!! I tell her bf babies don't need water. And it goes on.

So take heart. I think our mums are just concerned that we get enough rest and bb 'sleeps well' in the night and they think that formula is the answer to that. Some even recommend giving bb cereal in the last feed!! Don't do this cos it can cause onset of allergies in bb. Like me for eg. I have eczema & asthma, and I suspect it's because my mum did this when I was a bb. She kept telling my sis to do this for her bb last time and 'boasted' that when we were bbs we always slept through the nite cos we were full.

My sister's fully bf children had no trouble switching to formula after about 8 mths. And sis was very stubborn during confinement (alwyas arguing with mum) cos mum kept insisting on contrary things. She did have a little blues then. But it turned out OK. Don't worry. You'll be ok too.

If you have a confinement lady, you must also make it clear that you are on tot bf. My friend's confinement lady fed the bb water for the middle of the night feeding cos she didn't want to wake my friend up! Poor bb was SO scrawny at the end of 1 mth, I couldn't believe it.

POK POK, I've been having pains in my groin when moving my leg in certain positions for a couple of months now. It's probably just the tendons loosening up.

i wen taka fair agn 2day. bought the pooh rec'ving blanket. still hav stk.
wen to kinokuniya, bought the bk "oh baby, the places you'll go". it's the last 1 left. frd will help me pick it up on mon as she has 20% disct. i asked abt the "your own prenatal classrm" bk. it's out of stk.

the tinylove musical mobile mus go check out at baby hypermart. kiddy palace dun hav. the clasical music one is called "symphony-in-motion-mobile". for info, go to www.tinylove.com n see under pdt catalogue.

hello! all mummies out shopping 2day? i din see postings cuming in...

hi emily,
it's at kaki bukit but i dun know the exact address. there's another store called baby kingdom, few units away.

Priviledged
Most of our mum r the same. Juz dun understand y they r against breast feeding. Sigh....
U giving birth in US? Is there a confinement lady to take care of u in US?
I have not heard of feeding NB baby wif spoon. Quite surprise hearing dat, so juz ask only.
My mum helps me wif confinement, I won't b getting any confinement lady.

Emily
Baby Kingdom n Baby hypermart r @ 69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Industrial Park.
Baby hypermart wz v crowded the time I went there. I personally prefer Baby Kingdom, not so crowded n the sales lady (by the name of Juliet) v helpful n recommend products according to your needs. Gd to go to both n compare but they carry different brands of stroller

hi gals...
how's ur weekend?

sanrio...
seems like u had a fruitful shopping trip on sat... i was at home almost all weekend! hehe... i slept at 11pm on fri nite after watching American Idol... and oni woke up at 12pm next day. then come 5pm went to nap again until 6.30pm for dinner time... then slept at 12 midnite again... haha... i feel like such a pig.

hi soyabean,

i watched the William Hung show..my hubby & me hv good laugh watching he sang.

my bb is opp fr. Edison.He'll move when I lie down or resting. When me or my hubby put our hands on my tummy,he'll stop mvg..mayb he shys

I hv one dark patch over my tummy, like wearing a black belt
It suddenly appeared last sat.R yours oso like that?Hopefully it'll fade after give birth.

Hi Sanrio,
I bot the WTP receiving blanket last fri oso.It left 3pcs.The mickey mouse oso v. cutee. My hubby said the material very soft. Do we only use it to wrap the bb when going out?

i oso need to chk wf my sis,how do they seal up the wound? During my mum time,they stapled it,she still keeps the staples.

i rememb my sis was very weak the next day after delivered. She can't even move,then she was ok on 3rd day.

thks fr. helping me to chk on confinement lady
I'm asking my frds fr. recommendation too.

U can go to this website fr. part-tx maid:http://www.netmaid.com.sg/?f=maid.search&page=contactme_parttime

I'll b getting part-tx maid after confinement.

hi shook,
Ya, Indian r tai-chi expert! They talk a lot but do little or nothing. During the meeting,they promise lots of things,end up others hv to do for them.

hi soyabean,

Me oso another pig!! My hubby is wondering why i always hungry & sleepy. He heats up the food or ta pao for me until very tired,hee..

i bot a nice & soft bedsheet few weeks ago during JL sales. It is so comfortable tat I can lie on the bed,read book,sleep or rest the whole day.Investing on good mattress & bedsheet r really worthwhile!

hi Mum To Be,
Is it true tat we can't even bath or wash hair during confinement?? Can we sleep in aircon room??

I have been feeling very warm these few days, u gals feel esp hot? In a aircon room, my frens were saying they were cold, I say I'm ok leh. Have you gals got this symptom already?

Well, the blocked blood supply thing, I guess there is nothing much I can do now. Hopefully everything is well. Thks for all your concern.

Wat's your bb's weight when u gals went for your detail scan? At 23 weeks, my bb was 544g? Wat abt you gals? Is this small or big? I saw the email that bb centre sent me weekly, at this stage should only be 450g only leh?

hi avocado...
i didnt find the AMI on fri interesting... cos i find the william hung thing a bit too hyped up. i thot he was going to do something different on fri... but he sang the same song, same actions... gosh... oni my hubby laughed cos he didnt see his audition clip.

hehe.... my edison v hyper... he moves abt be it whether i m lying down or sitting down, or standing up... but i'm thankful for his activeness... cos i'm assured he is doing fine inside.

and oh... yest nite for the 1st time, hubby cld feel his movements... hehe...

hi sarsi...
i think ur bb's weight shld be ok... maybe he is jus a bit bigger than average.
as for my bb's weight, my gynae didnt mention anything abt bb's weight to me.

yeah.... hv been feeling reali hot these few days... i kept perspiring and need to sit in front of the fan the whole day. then at nite, hubby has to switch on the aircon and while he sleeps with the blanket, i sleep without it.

Soyabean, hot hor? I keep perspiring too?

Doc didnt mention abt the weight ok or not ok. I went back and see the detail scan report then saw the weight column. Then I realise it is 544g. Think the weight should be stated on all detail scan report.

Avocado, I have been feeling hungry often too. Gotta prepare some extra bread or munch biscuits to tong thru my day at work. During confinenment, I will definately bath n wash hair. Prob once every two days or wat lor. Really cannot stand not bathing n washing hair. The other time I did rebonding, they say dun wash hair for 3 days. 2nd day I ren until cannot ren, go n wash liao. HeE....

sarsi...
yah man... tok abt hot... not sure if its oso the weather turning hotter these few days or is it us preggies who feel tis way. hehe...

try not to eat too much bread cos there are jus carbos... if can, eat those wholemeal ones... wld be better i guess.

for me, my appetite hasnt been dat good since fri. dunno why... i still eat... but i usu jus eat cos i hv to, and i dun reali feel hunger pangs as i used to anymore. sigh...

Hi shook, I didn't know that we can search for meaning of names from dictionary leh. I don't really like my mil's cooking also. Worse, she only cook once a day. Which means I'll have the same thing for lunch and dinner. $2400 in total is more ex than a confinement lady liao.

Hi soyabean, I've similar problem regarding confinement leh. I'm staying with my mil so it'll be more convenient for her to do confinement for me but I prefer my mom leh. Sigh..

Hi sanrio, do you want to check with your gynae about sample milk powder? My cousin got some from her gynae. Ok, so it's best to start using barrier cream right from beginning.

Hi pok pok, I don't feel any pain when I walk.

Hi avocado, you going for c-section also? I also got the same qns as you leh. Don't know how long it takes for the wound to recover.

Hi B2B3M4, don't stress yourself too much. FYI, I deliver in Jun but I have not bought any bb stuff yet. So don't panic lah.

Hi Sarsi, me too. Started to feel warm nowadays.

Hi gals, went for my check-up last Fri. Everything is well. Gynae commented that my bb got sharp and pointed nose, an improved version of mummy. As for my leg cramps, he prescribed some calcium tablets for me.

giggler...
sigh... i reali wan my mummy to do confinement for me. like u, i oso stay wif my mil now. and tis morning i jus cried cos i miss my mummy... seldom see her nowadays... oni abt once at most twice a week.

Hi soyabean, it's easier to talk to our own mummy mah. Can't really talk back to mil at all. Very sian hor?

Hi Sarsi, I guess we feel hot cos our bb bigger now and they generate heat also. Imagine we got to withstand 2 person's temperature leh.

hi soyabean,

Ya,he did the same action again.I guess those girls who go after him,r merely curious abt him.

HI Giggler,
ya,I'll b going fr. C-section. I panic easily & hv low pain tolerance. C-section is better,hee..what abt u? hv u confirmed to go for C-section?

U mean ur gynea can see the bb features so clearly?? was it a detailed scan?
I oso get hot easily.

Hi avocado, my gynae advised me to go for c-section cos I had an op before. So it's confirmed that I'll go for c-section. Will you opt for GA or epidural? I can see bb feature very clearly from the 3D scan machine also.

Luzon888
Yes I received your email n replied u. Thanks

Avocado
Can't agree more on wat u said abt Indian. My mgr always said yes to other ppl's requests action on the suborniates n he gets the credit. He got me to contribute in some projects n set up but said those r not my objectives as my time spent is v minimal when it comes to performance appraisal. Might as well he write the appraisal for me. Ask me to self assessed then he deleleted wat he think not impt. Devil
Can wash your body wif the chinese herbs, not bath directly fm shower

Sarsi
Ya, I start to feel warmer nowadays.
My baby wz 700g @ wk24. As long as your gyne said your baby's wt is fine dun have to worry

Soyabean
I oso dun find AMI on fri interesting. Wz dozing off. My hubby oso laughed like it is a v funny show.
Poor gal, y aren't u visit your mum as often as u like?

Giggler
I look @ the meaning of words in the dictionary. If a word sounds nice wif my hubby's sirname then I will use dat word as name for my baby. In tis way, I know the meaning of the name I get for my baby.
Ya $2,400 more x than getting confinement lady so I thot of giving $600 lor. On top of dat, I still gotta give monthly allowance to my parents. Dunno whether need to give my parents $ for buying food they cook for confinement. Do u give your MIL $ for the food she buys for your confinement?
I hope my baby has sharp pointed noise like my hubby.

hi giggler,
what is GA? U mean there r two types of c-section?

hi Shook,
same here,even my boss is Chinese. I prepared the slides fr. him,he'll tell ppl he did one..what to do? Now,coming to work is very "sian".Don't know my roles & directions.

I asked my frds,& found out most of them feel the same way as me. Lots of co. r going thru transition:merger,acquisition,outsourcing...etc..

I'm curious..how do ur gynea find out the bb weight? By the mother's weight??My gynea nvr tell me abt my bb weight b4.

Nowadays,I can b very imaginative.I'll wonder what happen if I die fr. delivery? I want to ask my hubby but he'll sure say: Don't speak like that. Sometx, i'll think & think until i cry fr. no reason..

what is most untolerable r some of my colleagues,like to gossip ard.

shook

can u meet today at abt 6.30pm? it's quite last min but it's ok if u can't make it... some other days also can...

Avocado
Most of the ppl got to the top of the coporate ladder bcoz they talk v well. A few of my colleagues here no cert, got promoted coz they talk v well
I dunno how my gyne tell the wt of my baby. During the last visit, my hubby asked my gyne if the baby is ok as my tummy is v small compare to others who r abt the same period as me. Then my gyne told us baby's wt while she wz doing ultra scan. Perhaps the ultra scan machine can calculate baby's wt
Same here, sometimes I oso imagine if I die, will my hubby cry. Asked him dat question he said he will definitely b sad but doesn't know if he will cry. Asked him to hug my teddy bear when he think of me.

Luzon888
OK can meet u @ 6:30pm but I have to leave immediately coz I m going to my MIL's hse. I will meet my hubby @ his office will pass by City hall MRT on the way to his office.

Avocado, no I don't have dark (black belt) on my tummy. Hmmm... sounds cute!

Sarsi, I have been feeling warm too.. even on aircon, no need to cover blanket. I had my detailed scan at 20 weeks and baby weighed 360gms then. Is this too small, judging from your baby weighs? But my tummy is very big... gosh! Hope I am not putting on the weight. How much weight have you girls put on so far? For me, I have gained about 6kg so far.

Shook
no prob cos I need to fetch my daughter from my babysitter, we'll catch up some other time. U sms me and let me know which part of city hall cos I'm coming by train.

Emily, at 20 weeks your bb is 360gm, mine at 23 weeks is 544gms, shook at 24 weeks is 700g. So I think its ok lor.

I have gained total 5.7 kg the last time I was at the clinic last week. My arms and thighs oso fat fat, my hubby say I really put on a lot of weight. Can see lor. Sob....

hi Shook,

It is amazing tat th ultrasound can tell the bb weight.

I'm not those who can talk well so don't tink I've chance to climb up to corporate ladder liao..

Is ur hubby sentimental type? My hubby is those look very tough but in fact,very soft-hearted type...U hug teddy bear to sleep? so cuteee..

Emily,
Ya,the dark patch covers my whole tummy looks like wearing a black belt.Very funny.

Me too,even wf aircon on,I no need to cover blanket. R u having bb girl or boy? I'm in 20wk,put on 3kg.

Hi shook, I didn't thought of that leh. Got to discuss with my hubby liao. Most prob, we got to pay for those food right?

Hi avocado, GA is general anethestic which means you totally unconscious whereas epidural you still conscious just that lower part of your body numb. Don't be so pessimistic leh. Technology so advance nowadays so such things won't happen one lah.

Hi Emily, I've gained 4kg so far.

Hi Sarsi, my weight gain also more obvious liao. Face and arms bigger liao.

Hi Giggler,

guess I'll choose GA...I can't imagine seeing the gynea & nurses performing the operation,hee...

what abt u? Any pros & cons btw GA & Epidural?

hi sarsi,
gynae jus told me bb growing well but din tell me bb's wt. i'll ask her in my next visit. i now 21 wks. wt gain not much except tummy n backside. evyday i look at my tummy, mine is really more pointed.
yes i feel warmer nowadays esp nite but i dun perspire much even under the hot sun.

hi avocado,
tks for the info.
i dun hav the dark patch. it's probably skin pigmentation due to hormones, shd fade away af birth.
my bb oso more active wen i sit down or rest on bed. sometx morning i will tap on my tummy, he will respond at times by light kicks..

hi giggler,
i use chinese dictionary to search for bb name too n start by looking at meaningful words, its pronounication then match the word together w the surname.

hi soyabean,
i wish i like u can sleep more. even if i slept late, i wake up early - mon to sun. latest i wake up is 8am. i usually dun nap otherwise at nite cant sleep. so wkend i go out loh.. 2nd trim i really feel more energetic. mayb i use to b a more active person.

hi sanrio,

Me & my hubby now start to brainstorming for my bb name. Not easy..

The dark patches look like I went for suntan for my tummy,hee...It looks very obvious becoz i'm fair.

I read abt preggie women shld stay away fr. sun becoz we r easily get pigmentation due to hormone.

Hey,my bb is opp..he'll stay quiet when I tap my tummy.

hi avocado,
i read fr somewhere. u mus continuously tap few tx n do it regularly n say something or sing. he will respond. i tried agn n agn too. it seems quite true. oso the article mentioned try reading the same story agn n agn or sing/play the same song.
oh yes, face pigmentation easy to get but harder to get rid esp fair pple (i vy fair too n get burn easily). so i diligently apply oilfree sunblock evy morning b4 i leave hse.
ya, tink of name can b headache esp evy chinese word has a meaningful, mus do mix n match somemore so gd to start looking early loh..
for us, we dun go fortune teller but colleagues who wen told me wah! quite pricey (esp famous ones) n they jus give u 3 choices. if u dun like, ask for more, mus pay extra.

i am glad to discover this forum and especially this topic "Jun/Jul 2004 Babies" because my EDD is 1 Jun 04. I am looking forwards!!! Btw, anyone going to have any post-natal massage? any recommendation? many thanks!

Hi avocado, if you want to breastfeed bb then epidural will be a better choice cos you're still conscious to feed bb breastmilk within the first few hours once bb is born. Also, you'll be the first to see and carry bb mah.

Hi sanrio, my gynae also never tell me bb's weight one. Okie then I'll try to flip through dictionary to look for characters that I like.

Hi Joey, Welcome! I copied down a few that someone posted in the other thread below:Kak Su
With binding $50/session

Siti
6442 8525/90224904

Asnan
$35 @ Woodlands area $37 outside Woodlands area

Rohaya
9450 6374
$60 per session

Sharifah Tel :
9108 5439
$35

Mdm Zaiton
9701 8240

Mdm Zu:
97470607 ($270 for 7 sessions)

Luzon888
I take MRT fm Bugis to Tiong Bahru, the East line. U? Suggest we meet somewhere near the ctrl station but dun go out of the gantry otherwise we need to pay for another trip

Avocado
I m oso the type who can't talk well n not aggressive enuff. The thing dat I hate most is playing wif politics @ the top level. I m no gd @ dat n I hate hurting ppl n get hurt wif the dirty political games. I always tell ppl I m not an ambitious person.
My hubby is a typical engineer, blocked headed. More sentimental after "grooming". Lots of rm for improvement tho

Ya I hug my soft toys to sleep

Giggler
If we engage confinement lady, we need to pay for the food.

Emily
At wk 24, I gained 4.5kg. Dunno how much more I gain now @ wk 28

hi joey,
welcome. at 1st i tot wan to do malay massage af delivery. now i may not as i skin vy sensitive, scared allergy to the oil n oso frd told me tis. her sis had malay massage 2 wks af delivery. b4 the massage, she bf bb no prob. wen she had her massage, bb seemed refuse to latch on n she tink bb din like the oil smell (quite strong even af she shower).
if main purpose is for slimming down, bf will help a lot. i tot mayb af confinement, i then go spa esprit to pamper myself a little. i wen b4 preg n i like their massage, great for aching muscles.

Hi shook, then I think I need to give my mom money for buying confinement food for me. Aiya, actually the cost is about the same between confinement lady or relatives hor?

hi foreverfriend,
i need to hug my softtoy evy nite to sleep too. hubby alwy wonder why.. i told him u men dun know one lah..

hi Giggler,
Will ur mum help to tak care of ur bb at nite?

Ya probably can consider epidural..when will we need to decide? one month b4 due-date?

hi sanrio,
what's purpose of post-natal massage?? We can't go out during confinement month,rite? Is that mean we can only go for massage after confinement month??

other than malay massage,what other type of massage can we go for?

I only hv dark patch on my tummy..funny..

hi shook,
I'm oso not ambitious type. But i cannot stay at a routine & admin job. I prefer a job which can exercise my brain.

me too,playing politics is not my pc of cake.Don't talk abt politics, I'm those total bo-chap type. I avoid mixing wf those colleagues who like to gossip.When they complain or gossip,i stay quiet. I feel it is unfair to judge a person or jump into conclusion based on certain remarks.

Hey,b careful tat some soft toys cause allergy to the nose,esp. those furry type.

Hi sanrio, how much is their massage?

Hi avocado, I want to take care of bb myself at nite. But my friends and cousins kept telling me that I may not be able to take it cos very tiring one. I not sure when do we need to decide on GA or epidural. My gynae hasn't mentioned anything on this.

hi shook...
cos my mil usu cooks dinner.. so doesnt look good if i go back to my mum's often after work. so now seldom see mummy lor.

sanrio...
nowadays, my sleep at nite oso a bit disturbed. i tend to wake up once in a while... esp when i can feel cramp is cmg... i will immed do the feet flexing ex. so mayb dat explains why i slept so much dat day... accumulated tiredness thru'out the week.

hi joey...
welcome... hehe.... 1st jun? possibly become may bb oso. hehe...

gals...
edison reali active nowadays... many times he will poke me on the left side, then few mins later, its the right side... then become on my belly... terrible... wonder wat he is doing inside. and i think my uterus has rose past few days... cos the areas where he kick me is higher up already.

Hi soyabean, my mil cooks everyday. But I bo chap one and lucky thing my mil also very easy-going so I don't go home for dinner everyday one. He's doing kung-fu inside you lah.

giggler...
dats lucky... but does ur mil cook for many? cos usu its oni me, hubby and her for dinner... so if not going back for dinner hv to inform early lor.

hekhek.... i put earphones on tummy let him listen to music and he stop mvg liao.

dear all

thanks giggler- thank u so much for your contacts... very useful! given so many choices which one should i go for??? anyone can feedback about the effectiveness of slimming after massage? i read articles about Jamu massage, seems most effective.

dear sanrio- oh, thanks for your info. yes, i am going for bf, it is true that i have to consider about the smell... maybe i will check with the massage lady about it...

soyabean- actually i wan to have a may 04 baby! u know i read articles, one HK geomancer said that lunar apr 04 baby boy no good... aiya... i know i should not believe in this... but it just linger in my mind

thanks all for your warmth response!

hi soyabean,
For my case,I'll follow my hubby go back to my MIL hme fr dinner mon to wed, then to my mum hme thurs to fri. I'll let my hubby goes back alone to his parents for dinner,while I go back to my mum hme, coz i know my mil misses his son

I'm lucky coz my PIL r open-minded. But I always remind myself not to tak them for granted.

Besides,I'm more used to my mum's cooking.I prefer spicy food while my MIL cooking is more plain..

Bb edison is so cutee...he's exercising & growing fast! My bb is more quiet. He only kicks on certain timing.

Pregnancy is such a wonder...All the tiredness & ms r worthwhile when I finally can feel he's moving..

Hi soyabean, my mil cooks for my sils' families also. I guess that's why she doesn't mind if I don't go back for dinner.

Hi joey, I think some mum got good comments on Mdm Zu. Is lunar Apr good for baby girl or not huh?

Hi sanrio, the massage oil will affect bfg huh? Then must reconsider liao.

sanrio
Haha we both hug soft toy to sleep. My hubby din ask me y. When he nap in the afternoon, I will pass my soft toy for him to hug. He guai guai hug them

Avocado
I oso stay clear fm colleague in the office. I dun join my colleague for lunch. Only 1 colleague is same frequency as me. The rest won't know wat they do bhind me.