(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

hi soyabean,
i havnt tried tat but saw their window display, looked nice. me too hate garlic since pregnant. so if i go eat pasta, will special order "no garlic". i even do tat at hawker ctr if i can.
i heard kkh provides pampers but only sufficient for use wen bb is there.

tks foreverfriend,
i go check out the boots cream. soyabean, u use this right? gd or not? me most afraid is allergy n will go broke if i try diff diff brands..

oops...cant remb who asked me abt pigeon nail cutter vs round tip sissors. both are used for cutting nails. frd said sissors (round tip quite safe) easier for newborn n younger bb, so i bought the sissors to try.

hi Shook,
i can understand how u feel. Most of my colleagues here like to gossip oso. Since I pregnant,i become very introvert. Being betrayed by one of my close colleague here,I find it hard to trust anyone in office again.

where is Sketches??

however,like what soyabean said,we r living fr. ourselves,not for others. If I know which r the kepo ones,normally,i'll just reply them simple or "fade" answer.I know some of them find me very "tao",but I don't care.No pt entertaining them.

I think Drapolene worth buying.Didn't know that boots stretch mark cream oso available at Watson.

Hi sanrio,
$30+,quite worthwhile considering the sumptuous seafood.Mayb try it out on special occasion.

hi giggler,
Hmm...i am not sure if i shld get the breast pump.My endro. can only confirm if I cld bf during the next visit. So probably buy later.guess there'll be sales again.

Giggler,
I am talking about the medela electric pumps.

Soyabean,
Went to the First Few Years in United Square. Gosh! Do u think I should go and get the breastpumps 1st; before they run out?

hi sanrio...
oh... good idea... i will ask for no garlic next time i eat pasta.
but hor... i oso a bit skeptical.. cos the pan or wok whh is used to cook our pasta wld hv been used to cook other pasta and hv the garlic smell... so i oso quite scared still has the garlic smell. hehe....

well... the boots cream is not ex... oni $18... so even if allergy (touch wood!) oso not so wasted lor.

btw, i will use the scissors to cut nails... cos sometimes difficult to gauge how deep u cut when using cutter... i feel scissors easy to control. and oh... my mummy says not suppose to cut bb's nails until 1st mth... whh is why the mittens come into use... to prevent scratching.

emily...
hehe... think u better check with the shop whether they hv sets left b4 u go down. and whether wat my fren said is true.
for all u know united square branch has more sets left and u dun need to rush down so soon.

Soyabean
Luzon888 said dat KK provides 1 pack of pampers for NB. If u intend to use pampers for 9 only, dun buy 1st till u nearly finish. Baby outgrown v fast. Alternatively u cld buy pampers S.

Avocado
Yaya, we can choose to ignore gossips but ren yuan ke wei. It can b a pain sometimes.
I know there is Sketches @ Bugis Parco
Memory search me, the boots stretch cream is $19+ b4 15% discount. I saw all these @ White Sand Watson. Din have the time to check the price of other items coz my hubby wz looking for me.

hi shook...
thanks for the info on pampers...
i not intending to buy diapers so fast...

btw gals...
i think i m reali stressed out abt bf'g...
i hv been dreaming abt me bf'g for the past 3 or 4 days already... all different kinds of dreams...

Hi sanrio, the pasta at Pete Place sounds yummy!

Hi shook, I understand what you mean. But for the benefit of bb, sometimes you just got to bear with it. Looks like Watson got good bargain hor?

Hi avocado, I not buying breast pumps yet also. My friend is trying to help me to get it from her col.

Hi Emily, so you getting the Medela double with manual pumps? So the breast pads are cheaper at Taka.

Hi soyabean, why so stress abt bfg?

Hi soyabean, take things easy. Don't be too hard on yourself. Actually most formula are good to bb nowadays. I think I'll be contented if I'll be able to let bb drink the colostrum. Don't set too high a standard and get depressed if can't make it.

Giggler,
I think I'll get the Medela pump set. Not the pump in style one coz it is too ex. There's a cheaper set that comes with double electric pumps, one manual pump, cooler bag and four bottles. Cost $369

hi sarsi, kis n avocado,
here's the info:

Baby Safe latex pillow:
2 types:
1) flat rectangular shape, claim to prevent suffocation
2) oval shape w centre dented, claim to prevent flat-headed
both cost $18 each, looks comfi n fairly gd quality.

Barrier Cream (to prevent nappy rash)
1) Mustela Vitamin Barrier Cream, cost $13.80, 110ml i tink
2) Avent Baby Botton Balm, cost $16.80, 150 or 160ml i tink.
i read the ingredients n explanation on the box. both look quite gd to me. i may buy 1 tube of either 1 to try. my frd recommended mustela. she used on her boy in btw diaper change. he now 8mths, so far no nappy rash prob at all.

hi soyabean,
i tink u can try the avent liquid talc. i tink it's beta than using powder.
soyabean, i little worried as i feel my boy movements much lesser nowadays. wen he first strted kicking, it was quite consistent. i tot shd b more now but it seems lesser. i try talking to him. only once a while, mayb in noon or evening then i feel a light one...

hi giggler...
thanks so much... i mention abt bf'g cos i wanted to get it off my chest...

sanrio...
dun wori so much... there will be some days when bb move lesser... or sometimes we cld be preoccupied wif our work dat we dun reali notice the movements. my edison oso quieter these couple of days...
oh.. thanks for the info on the liquid talc.. i will try out the sample first (on bb of cos) then decide.

Hi Emily, I think there's a Medela double that cost abt $200+ but without the manual pump lah. I think the pump in style costs $500+. Very ex.

Hi sanrio, the barrier cream you talked about is more ex than the Drapolene hor?

Hi soyabean, it's good to let out whatever you feel lor. I guess that's the nature of women.
I'll try my best to breastfeed as soon as I give birth. At least, she manages to take some colostrum, I hope lah. Then if after that I got no milk or whatever happens I won't feel so guilty. But my ultimate aim is to breastfeed bb till she's 6 mths old.

hi giggler...
yeah... i oso aim to bf for 6 mths if i can.

btw, i hv heard pple telling me dat its common not to hv milk in the first few days after birth and the bb can do wifout any feeding within the few first days too! so can actuali wait until got BM liao then start feeding. is dat reali true?

hi shook,
yup..u r rite. Sometx,the more u wanna keep it low profile,the more they curious & wanna find out more,without considering our feelings.

ok,noted.thanks,Sketches at Bugis,will try out wf hubby

hi sanrio,
i saw the oval shape w centre dented at Kiddy Palace,they come in set:two bolters,one pillow,at abt $16++. I think I'll just leave my bb sleeps on the folded cloth.

i'm planning to buy the avent liquid talc too.U mean it'll turn into powder after apply??

hi soyabean,
Ya,u r rite,i oso notice tat sometx my bb very active,sometx very lazy...Ur bb name is very unique:Edison
what does the name mean?

Biw,how long will we be given to "submit" our bb names for registration?Me & my hubby hv not thot of bb name yet...

hi avocado and b2b3m4...
me update the EDD list at the MTB thread... and ur names not there...
can let me hv ur EDD so dat i can include ur names inside?

avocado...
edison means "son of edward"... hee... hubby and i like the sound of the name and not cos my hubby's name is edward.

i think we hv up to one mth to register the name of bb.... let me go check.

hi avocado,
for liquid talc, it wont turn to powder. jus like lotion being absorbed to skin, non sticky. if u keep newborn clean n dry, they actually dun need powder/talc at all. remb their skin is delicate so sometx minimal is enough esp bb w sensitive skin.

hi giggler,
barrier cream is diff fr drapolene. drapolene / desitin is more of a nappy rash cream so only apply as n wen necessary. the barrier cream creates a layer of protection btw urine (acid) n bb bottom, to be used on bb bottom af each diaper change. so if no rash, dun need drapolene at all.

hi soyabean,
tks, felt much better af hearing tat. guess i shdnt worry too much. sometx i put unnecessary stress to myself. hubby jus saw ENT specialist, got bad sinusitis. me oreadi sinusitis patient (as a result skin oso allergy)for yrs. gynae n specialist said may pass to bb. so sad... so i done lots of reading up n "research" on bb info loh.

u dun wori abt bf okie. many pple hav little milk at the beginning. if u perservere n dun give up easily, the supply will come as long as u cont to bf. most women can!

hi emily,
i saw the medela $369 one. i bought medela double as i likely stay at home so dun need the cooler bag n extra accessories.

HI soyabean,
U mean u invented this name? wah..so special..

my EDD is July20.thks fr. updates

thks fr. the info
talking abt name fr. the bb,my hubby only wants to think of chinese name.

Hi sanrio,
ok thanks again
i guess the liquid talc will b very useful. definitely a good-buy.Think I'll buy the Mustela Vitamin Barrier Cream too.

hi avocado...
no lah... didnt invent the name....
heard of thomas edison? hehe....
updated my list liao.... dunno gender yet hor?

hi sanrio...
no prob... we are all here to learn and share... and its natural to put pressure on ourselves... cos we hv a life growing within us.
oh dear... sori to hear abt the sinus... wat will be the implications on ur bb? but dun wori so much... there's still chance ur bb wont get it.

giggler, the double one @ $200+ is without the cooler bag.

soyabean, regarding the breastmilk stuff about no BF until a few days later... I think it is true. Baby can survive without milk for a few days.

Is any of you having colostrum already? Just asking coz my cousin is.. maybe coz she is still breastfeeding her 1st child.

Am worried: My left leg is very swollen (I think it is water retention) and my right leg always gives me cramps. Did the exercise b4 sleeping which helps, but don't know what to do about it all. Cramps means not enough salt, right? Whereas water retention must drink more water, right? So in my case, am I supposed to take more salt or water?

emily...
i dun know whether i hv colostrum or not... i hv inverted nipples... and sometimes i see some whitish stuff at the tip... it doesnt flow out or anything...

btw, do u always sleep on ur left side? if u do, dat can explain why ur left side is more swollen.
yes... the feet exercise helps in reducing the cramps. cramps mean not enuf calcium.... dun go and take too much salt hor.... esp when u hv water retention.

hi soyabean,
tks
hope bb dun get sensitive nose n skin allergy like me. mus keep environment vy clean n extra careful w bb pdts use. i now hav bad back rashes, so itchy esp at nite, can only apply calamine lotion. i choose not to take the medicine priton. not harmful for bb but i avoid medicine if i can.
edison is a nice name. my hubby havnt decided on our boy name which he wants it to start w "E" too. i hav to tink of the chinese name.. headache..

hi avocado,
no prob. most willing to share the info i gather. we all want the best for our bb.

hi emily,
i tink it's not advisable to increase ur salt intake without knowing the exact cause. cramp cld b due to the heavier wt we're carrying n blood circulation. our heart is working much harder now. other causes cld b: posture, too much standing/walking, lack of calcium? do check w gyane if it's bad. meanwhile try leg exercises n lift up legs wen sitting down.
remb too much salt has side effects like hypertension n water retention. it's ok to drk more water but preferably plain water.

the double medela pump retail price is $296.

dear mummies,
anyone heard of abdominal binder? (so called to prevent wind fr entering bb stomach) need to buy or not ah? i not sure abt tis..

sanrio...
oic... so wld u be getting a air purifier for the room or something? did u check with ur gynae on the rashes? its due to pregnancy rite? yeah... good to avoid medicine if poss.
thanks for the compliment...
we went thru many many names b4 we decided on edison. hv u started to search the web for names starting with E?

as for abdominal binder... i hv heard of it... but didnt know its for purpose of preventing wind... wat i know its for protecting the belly button initially... cos the "dry skin" of the belly button will come off after a week or so.... oops... hope my description is correct.

hi soyabean,
mine is bb boy. oh i see,there's how u got the name from

i oso hv the whitish stuff at the tip,sometx,i just squeeze it out:p but i don't think tat is colostrum.Becoz I've that even b4 pregnant.

hi sanrio,
hv not heard abt abdominal binder leh.how does it look like? A pc of cloth that wrap over the bb tummy?

For rashes, i come across tat it is impt to keep our bodies dry. After bath,leave ur bodies bare for a while,to let it completely dry 1st b4 wearing clothes...

avocado...
okie.. updated liao...

think during my next gynae visit i will check on whether dats colostrum or not... i mean for my case. hehe...

hi soyabean n avocado,
yup, it's rashes due to pregnancy. imagine i havnt even put on much wt n is one who seldom perspire. no choice, got to bear w it.
avocado, u're right, i find if leave the back bare more comfi but we unlike men cant walk ard w no tops on.. so i mus shower first thg in the morning b4 go work (at 6.15am) n at nite. somemore cant use hot water. if rainy days, i'll b jumping in bathrm.
as for names, hubby looked thru nets n book but he cant decide..

yup, abdominal binder i tink can use for both "prevent" wind n protect the belly button b4 it comes off. it's a piece of rectangular cloth w velco to tape it together. taka fair has n some bb shops sell. i dun know whether need to buy??

sanrio...
oic... but how come cant use hot water to bathe? i will die if i dun bathe wif hot water... too used to it liao...

i think no harm buying the binder... its oni a couple of dollars if i'm not wrong... i got mine from my colleague who bgt one extra and didnt get to use it.

Hi soyabean, that's what my cousin told me too. She said she very cruel let her bb go without food for the first 2 days cos she doesn't have milk yet but insisted on bfg. In the end, she managed to bf her bb for 4 mths.

Hi avocado, you'll have a month after u give birth to register your bb's name.

Hi sanrio, ok got what you mean liao. Thanks. Never heard of the abdominal binder for bb. I thot you asking for mummy's use.

Hi Emily, oic so yours incl the cooler bag.

hi soyabean and sanrio,
am also naming my son with name starting with 'E'. We have decided on Ethan.

thanks all for your advice on my legs. Think I'll go and do the urine test tomorrow morning on protein level and see how. If bad protein level, then I will go and see doc. Actually appointment is on Sat, but if leg gets worst, then maybe I'll go in earlier and see. Hope it is not the pre-"something" problem.

giggler...
from wat i know... bbs are "programmed" to be able to go wifout food for first few days... hehe...

oh... looks like many of our bbs will hv names starting wif E.

Soyabean
Dun think so much abt bf now. U won't know until then. 1 thing has to b v determined. We work tog. Cheers for now
Yep yep, breast milk comes in few days after delivery, some 3 some can b up to a wk

Emily
A, thx. I saw Pigeon breast pad somewhere can't remember is it KP or Giant selling for 60 pcs cheaper than 24 pcs in terms of price per pc.
Cramp a result of not enuff calcium. Water retention a result of too much salt. Take more calcium cut dwn on salt. Do leg exercise, lift up your leg when sleeping n sitting

Sanrio
My gyne said baby moves juz dat mummy may b too busy to notice it. She said lie dwn n shake your tummy a bit, u will feel baby's movement
I have pimples all over my face, back n breast. I apply Hazelsnow but the new ones keep popping out.
My mum said can use cloth nappy to rap round baby's tummy

Giggler
I oso hope to bf @ least 6 mths

Avocado
I oso have not think of a name for my baby. Me n my hubby only wanna get Chinese name for my baby too. N I wanna get juz a single name. My hubby said he leave tis mission to me

Hi soyabean, my cousin explained that cos our bb has stored food while in our tummy mah. So shd be enough for them to go without food for a few days right after birth. But we got to persist cos our elders may make noise and we must highlight to the nurse also.

Hi shook, 6 mths cos can intro solid to bb liao mah. Single name may sound very chee-na leh.

We haven think of names for bb too. Just can't seem to like anything. So most prob won't be getting english for bb also.

hi sanrio,
i share the same Q as soyabean,how cum cannot bath hot water leh? what abt warm water? I oso cannot shower wf cold water..

I think warm water is fine fr skin & rashes,rite? In fact,bathing wf warm water can kill body germs.If I cum back fr. crowded places,I'll shower wf Dettol 1st then follow by normal shower gel.

i still can't imagine how the binder looks like:p

hi Shook,Giggler,
thinking of suitable name for our bb,really not easy hor...we hvn't even started to think..

where will u gals go for nap/rest during office hour?

Giggler
Agree, not easy to think of single name but I find single name sound sophisticated so I wanna get a single name for my baby

Avocado
No nap or rest during office hr for me. I stay in the office to surf forum n take my lunch @ the same time still got disturbance fm colleague. My colleague v buay zi tong one. No way to nap

hi avocado, soyabean n foreverfriend,
if use hot water, rashes like get worst. if i keep it "cool cool", i find it's better. so once a while, i use warm (but not hot at all) water if weather really too cold. mine is not acne, it's jus patches of red rashes all over the back esp. apply calamine lotion but next min itch agn. now panda, havnt been sleeping well for few nites.

foreverfriend, u're right, as long as use somethg to cover the bb tummy (like cloth nappy) shd b fine. i happened to see the binder at taka fair tat day n was little curious..

hi emily,
i like the name ethan too. it has a nice meaning but i cant remb it.. my hubby loh wants "E" but still cracking his head to decide on the name... he said now till jul, still got some tx.

hi giggler,
i tink drapolene does help to prevent? nappy rash as stated on the box. but i not too sure whether can apply it evy tx btw diaper change or is it only as n wen necessary. for barrier cream, it's meant for applying during evy diaper change to protect bb bottom n prevent nappy rash. mayb can check tis out w the pharmacy..

i saw n bought the boots massage cream fr Watsons yesdy. it's $16.10 af disct. yup.. vy mild fragrance only n less sticky/rich compared to mustela. i saw galenic at guardian, 2 for $46.80.

shook...
yeah... i'm quite thankful i hv all of u here for encouragement. and i can share everything wif u all.

giggler...
yeah... my wori is abt the elders as well. they will think we are toturing the bb by not feeding it in the 1st few days... hv to convince them its ok.

sanrio...
glad u like the boots cream.
i apply it twice daily... once b4 bed and once b4 i leave home for work cos i think its impt to let the skin stay moisturised.
do u think ur rashes got anything to do wif the food u eat? jus curious... mayb u can try sleeping wif ur bra off at nite so dat the skin is more ventilated and see if it gets better? hehe... jus providing some suggestions.

and oh sanrio...
avocado is right... since u hv sensitive skin, may be good for u to use the dettol sensitive skin shower foam. my hubby has sensitive skin and alway itches whenever he uses shower foam wif strong fragrance e.g. Dove, Lux... but once he started using dettol, its much better.

Hi avocado, I tried to borrow some books from library to get some ideas but still no result leh. I normally rest at my own workstation.

Hi shook, you must be very careful in case it sounds very chee-na lor.

Hi sanrio, it seems like most of you like the letter E hor? Okie, I check with pharmacy then decide if I want to get the barrier cream or nappy cream.

Hi soyabean, we have to be firm lor. I think the most impt person is our hubby so got to get his support first.

Did you all read abt the baby bonus thing? It will take effect in August, does it means that we will not be able enjoyed it?

soyabean

Me too... feeling so down today.

If the announcement is to be made during the budget, all will benefit.

Hi disney & soyabean, ya lor.... It's all the Finance Minister's fault lah. Can't make the decision during the budget. We so lugi leh.

hi soyabean n avocado,
tks for ur advices. most pdts i use usually fragrance free. am using "simple" soap. dettol i havnt tried thou. yup, usually sleep w'out bra but go work cant leh.. doctor said vy hard to identify wat food actually causes allergy, i got to monitor myself. i did skin prick tests b4, the environment allergens are the main sources like dust, feathers, pollen etc.

me n u sama sama, EDD so near aug. guess we wont enjoy e benefits liao. why they so slow one...

dear mummies,
me n hubby will do up a simple nursery as got 1 extra rm. i ask him to go DIY shop n get the pooh stick-on wallpaper in roll form n go round the room walls. but guess bb cot will hav to be in our rm first, for a while.

Yah lor, the bb bonus thing, think all of us will not get it. So unfair! Very lugi.They say they will not backdate and will implement immediately after announcing. So bad....

Yest, I went for my detail scan. Boy boy was very cute, keep moving and sucking his thumb. But the scan shows that the blood flow on the left side is not smooth, may lead to small bb. Me so worried. It says mild notch on left side. But my right side ok. So luckily bb still got it from right side. If both sides blocked, chia lat. You gals got heard of such problems?

hi shook,
same here,my colleagues oso buay zi tong. Worse still,most of them r guys,nowadays,men r more kepo than women.When they pass my desk,they'll say"aiyo,why so tired?not feeling well har?go hme & rest lah".

Now,I've learnt to ignore them.My boss is very understanding. He asked me to go ahead & rest if I tired. When I've late conference midnight,he said I can come to work later.I think,so long my boss is understanding,I just ignore the rest.

Hi sanrio,
Hv u seen ur gynea or skin specialist abt ur rashes? R the rashes due to hormone changes?

wat abt wearing those silk type pyjamas?more cooling.I oso sleep w/out bra..hee..

I've some acne ard my chest & breast areas,suspect due to the stretch mark cream.So I stop applying the cream there,only on my tummy.

I'm so tempted to boots cream.But which one shld I get? Boots or Galenic ???

Hi Soyabean,
I just drank soyabean this morning
Yummy,yummy.Dettol is best brand among all.I used Dettol detergent oso.

One tip to share: u can add few drops of dettol into the pail(mix wf other floor detergent),for mopping..Help to kill germs,esp.when our bb born next time.

sarsi...
hmm... never heard of tis prob leh... did u ask how come blood flow is different on both sides? btw, do u usu sleep on the left or right?

sanrio...
yah... agree... very hard to determine and pinpoint wat actuali causes the rashes... takes time.

Hi sanrio,
Then i may get the Mustela Barrier cream too...
U also mentioned abt another bottle to wash away the cream rite? Does it means that u can't just clean bb bottom using warm water or wipes? How abt the Avent Baby Bottom Balm then?

Dun be too worried abt u n ur hubby sinusitis. Just try to keep ur hse clean. My hubby got it too, abt 4x more sensitive than normal. Did u all get any medication? My hubby consumed the medicine for abt 1mth, then improve liao. Me also got sensitive skin, but seems abit improve after preg. My mum too, also having skin problems on & off. Just hope all these won't pass onto our babies. Ya, i was recommended this brand fr. National skin centre, startg wif "Ceta..." for facial and body wash, quite popular one, but i forgot the name, front bottle is blue in colour. hmm, v. poor description hor...paiseh paiseh.

Btw, does anyone finds that ur skin darkened at certain places??? I first discovered is my under-arm, then lately, i found that both my under-thighs (near to buttocks) got 1 large dark batches. Initially tot mayb blood clot, but its seems to stay there! So ugly!!! Somemore, lately got breakout of pimples on my back

Sanrio
Do u have the rash problem b4 u were pregnant?
I always wash my rash or acne wif cold water oso. Hot water make my condition worse, more red n feel hotter
U may stand a chance to enjoy the extended maternity leave since your EDD close to Aug. Fat hope for me

Soyabean
We r here to share n encourage each other
Agree wif u dat we gotta convince the elders. Bring them wif u when u go back for post nantal consultation n ask dr the question. Let the elders hear for themselves the claim is fm dr
Can preggie use dettol soap?

Giggler
I flip thru dictionary to look for name for my baby
Ya tis finance minister then puo ma, last time Richard Hu never say something during budget period then decide later

Disney
Think those who give birth b4 Aug will not enjoy the extended maternity leave. Juz missed, then sick rite.

Avocado
@ least your boss is gd. My boss n my colleague can come n ask me to do work for them tho I m eating
I have acne on my face, breast n back. Some aunties told my mum it happened to them when they were pregnant too. After delivery, automatically recover

Kis
I have sensitive skin. It seems to get worse since i m pregnant. My colleague said the boy in my tummy has different hormone fm me. Dat's y