(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

hi Giggler,
Agree with u.Better don't buy the breast pump first. I'll think to buy it after bb is born..I'm not sure if I've the energy to bf..

I didn't go for detailed scan. My gynea did a normal scan for me & pointed my bb's "that part".Then he asked us if we would like to know the gender of bb,we said yes...and he said bb boy..

Hi Kis,Sanrio
i oso cannot stand Anmum. Luckily,I only bought a small can to try out. I mix it with milo & only drink it once in blue moon..

I've no pro wf drinking milk & cheese prior to pregnant.But I cannot tak milk & cheese once I pregnant.

Hi sue,
i feel some tabs oso but unsure if it is my bb movement leh...my bb legs were curled up when my gynea did the scan for me..i didn't know how he moved the scan..but he managed to let us see our bb boy private part...

Can't really see clearly but can see a similiar round ball protruding out..hee..{Sanrio,was that what u saw too?}

My two colleagues,who are having bb girls,oso found out in later month,6th month..BB girls r more shy so they cover their legs when gynea do the scan

Hi Emily,
it is true that not so good to eat too much sardine,esp. those canned ones..got high mercury..

hi Sanrio,soyabean,

Our EDD is almost the same. Just to check,what's total weight hv u gained?

My gynea said I look slim even wf maternity wear.I put on total of 3.4kg from my normal weight.

I don't take titbits.Don't really like ice-cream,fast food,potato chips..

I stick to 3meals,but now start to tak deserts such as red bean soup..

Do u gals hv hearty appetite? I don't really hv leh...

Hi Avocado & Soyabean,
Congrats on having bb princes. Seems like a lot of princes than princess hor.

Hi shook, giggler,
My hubby had called to enquire y we also din rec'd the Robinson mailer. They says they sent out randomly, and also mentioned that they will be having this type of promo again. Well, we not too sure of this, anyway we'll be going down tonite.

Hi sanrio,
I heard that no rebonding even after confinement if u decide to bf. That's y i have cut short my hair, cos i know i can't tahan my previous dry and fizzy long hair till such a long period. But dpns on u loh, some says its ok, but some says strictly no. If mackerel is the type of fish u describes, i ate a lot of that leh...

Hi Sarsi, so you better start reading to your bb since it seems to help as shown in your niece.

Hi avocado, we can wait to get the breast pumps later on mah. Guess now, just gather some info on pumps in case we need to buy it.

It seems like those Jul bb are mostly boys hor?

Hi Kis, you're rite. Different pple got diff views on hair colouring, perming and rebonding. Some says that if the chemical doesn't touch scalp then it's fine. But some says better not do anything lah. Well, since now u know that you can't take mackerel then stop taking them now?

hi avocado,
my appetite not gd, eat as per normal, only some days eat a little bit better/more. my weight gain is 2.6kg. original is 46kg. alwy skinny, i m 1.62m. i dun crave for special food. like u, i once a while take dessert like red bean, sweet potato. ice-cream occasionally only. if hungry btw meals, eat bread or biscuits.

yup, in the detailed scan, the sonographer pointed to me the "round balls" n "little birdie". oh yes, my colleagues who have girls said girls mostly shy n covered their legs. for 1 of them, the sonographer indicated "female?", later then manage to c.

guess dun wori abt not putting on too much wt, jus try to eat more healthy n nutritious food n bb will grow well. some pple opposite fr us, they wori too much wt gain.

hi giggler n rest,
did anyone ask ur gynae abt doing hair like rebond etc? me beta ren n wait af confinement.

hi sarsi,
giggler is right, 'tai jiao" dun know how much truth. but jus read a bit to bb wen got tx loh..

Hi Sanrio, Soyabean & Avocado...
Can I join in? I think my EDD also almost same as you all. Mine is 26 Jul. During normal scan, gynae says 100% boy boy 'cos can c bird bird, but I'm still waiting for a detailed scan to confirm everything.
So far I've gained 4.6kg, and i've started wearing maternity clothings though my belly is still not very big yet. I eat alot in between meals... drink alot of water n eat snacks like biscuits, curry puff, kuey, buns, etc, a habit which I don't hv b4 preggie

Giggler, yah looks like those July babies alot of them are boys.

Amie, you are most welcome to join this thread. My EDD is 8 July which is very near to yours too. Me now at 22 weeks oready put on 6kg. I eat alot in between meals too....hee...scared come full term dunno how much weight I put on.

Envy Giggler, Shook n Sanrio.... you gals EDD are ahead of me but put on so little onli.

Hi sanrio, I didn't check with my gynae abt rebonding.

Hi amie, Welcome! Good for you that you've good appetite. But try to eat more nutritous food and not unhealthy snacks.

Hi Sarsi, I think I put on more weight this mth leh. The tummy looks bigger, my arms also fatter and face rounder. I scared I put on more than 2kg for this mth. I think my gynae only encourage us to put 2kg per mth.

hi amie,
u're most welcome to join us. my EDD is 21 Jul.
so gd u hav gd appetite. but remb to eat healthly n some food in moderate loh.. guess we are all doing fine

hi all...
thanks for ur well-wishes.
and yah... it seems like Jul bbs are all bois so far!

sanrio...
i hv a bit of prob tkg the anmum... i realise that whenever i take it, i feel a bit nausea after dat. but oni for a while... tink when milk digest liao, ok liao....

sarsi...
well, as of yest check, i hv put on 5kg already and in my 20th week.

hi amie...
welcome...
mayb u cld try cutting down on eating too much fried stuff?

hi sanrio,

i saw my bb's "round ball" but couldn't see the birdie leh..

46kg?oh.u're very slim..my normal weight is ard 49 to 50kg..I lost a bit of weight during the 1st trimester,due to ms..

ya,think shouldn't worry too much on wt gain.

hi kis,
r u having boi or girl? my hubby is overjoy. He always wants a boy so can watch & play soccer wf him..

hi amie,
welcome
envy u hv good appetite...my bb is very choosy in food..if i eat food he hates,he'll make me vomit..

my EDD is jul20..i can't wait to see my bb soon..

hi sanrio,
who'll b taking care of ur bb? last nite,i joked wf my hubby tat i'll start to "train" him in June,by waking him middle of the night & make milk..my hubby sleeps like a pig at nite,wonder if he can wake up when the bb cries for milk.

biw,how frequent does bb drink milk?

Hi giggler, will cfm with my mum if tat is the fish, cos she always cook with porride. Ya, n think i will cut down too.

Also, u can afford to gain wt lah...do u know the other preg lady in the same dept had gained 8kg and her gynae din say anything. But i will still try to ctrl a bit of my diet, and do a bit of exercise.

Hi amie, welcome....Mayb u can switch ur snacks to fruits instead. Me doing so now, if hungry, will try to take fruits instead.

Hi avocado, i'm having girl girl. Heard tat in the first few days, bb will drink milk every few hrs (ard 2/3hrs).

Sanrio
Mackeral is mah jiao yu or bay kar (in Hockkien)
Better to stay away fm chemicals. I cut my hair to shoulder length. Din wear make up since I m pregnant.

Kis
Thx for sharing the info on Robinson voucher.
Eat thread fin, Chinese believe dat it is a v gd fish

Sarsi
I start to put on wt in my 2nd tri. Dun have to worry abt your wt as long as u r within the acceptable range

Amie
Welcome to join in

hello all MTBs,

ai ya...got dilema agn. pls give me ur views or any feedback u've heard. it's on milk bottles tis tx. tot i read fr somewhere in this forum tat NUK bottles quite gd. 2dy robinsons 25% for NUK so tot go buy a few. then 1 friend just told me she tried NUK n Avent for her bb. for NUK: teat too soft, alwy flatten by itself, bb cant drk well. Avent: teat too stiff, milk tends to leak/drip fr bb mouth. these 2 more suitable for older bb. she suggested the latest Pigeon Peristaltic, teat vy suitable for newborn n younger bb or Aprica Dr Brown bottles (tis quite costly $18 each).
must we go thru trial n error to find a suitable one?? like tat mean hav to spend quite a sum n ended up not using many items bought, like saiyang...

any comments on milk bottles, MTBs?

hi sanrio,

what u read from is exactly what I heard fr. my sis in law as well..Avent teat is too stiff,some bb really don't know how to suck or it'll take greater effort for them to use more energy to suck out the milk..

my two nephews,the elder one used Avent,younger used NUK. My mum said they tried to feed my younger nephew with Avent but he refused to suck..

Do u plan to buy the milk bottle now? For me,I've two free ones which come together wf the Avent steamer that we bought. Mayb buy another two or three more..I think I'll get two Avent & one NUK..

Hi soyabean, so have you bought anything to reward Edison since he so 'guai" to open his legs?

Hi avocado, I think newborns take milk more frequent leh. Abt 1/2 hrly?

Hi Kis, are u sure??? 8kg? That's a lot leh. I don't know what happened but it seems that my body starts to change this week. Getting fatter though my appetite still the same.

Hi sanrio, I only heard that NUK teats is more similar to mum's nipples so I guess NUK will be better than Avent? I haven buy any bottles yet but my friend told me to get only 2 small ones will do.

hi avocado n giggler,
i may only get 2 or 3 bottles as a start. in case really not suitable, can still change brand/type.
giggler,
NUK has 2 types of teat: 1 latex, 1 silicon. did u hear abt whether which is better?

hi giggler,

half an hour? oh jalak,my hubby going to cry
.He sleeps a lot..

if the bb drinks milk so frequent,2 small ones enough??

Hv u chk ur weight? Could it be water retention?If u eat as per normal but ur weight goes up,it could b due to water retention leh..

hi soyabean,

Ur gynea is preggie,so will she do her own checking & ultrascan for her bb?? I am curious how will those preggie female gynea do their own follow-up...

hi sanrio,
I read someone has advised the diff. btw latex & silicon in this forum...let me do a check through the achieve...I guess most ppl for silicon

hi sanrio,

here is what bbubble advised:

The Nuk latex teat comes in both latex and silicone. Latex teats are softer and hence more closer to mummy's nipple. However, latex teats after a while tends to change color and sticky. If your bb is not so fussy, use silicon teats.

tk u avocado. my mum did mention latex soft soft no gd, a while flatten n sticky must throw. gd to hear some opinions. okie will buy silicon teats. may get 2 bottles fr NUK n 1 pigeon peristaltic if got gd buy at robinsons today.

avocado, i tot newborn needs feeding abt 2 hr'ly if well-fed. if half hr'ly then we really will become panda soon..

Sanrio
I oso gather feedback dat NUK teats is closer to human breast so better. WRT teats, I only saw the feedback dat avocado posted

I intend to buy Avent pump dat comes wif 2 bottles. My cousin advised me not to buy milk bottle now. She received many many milk bottles as gift. She advised me to get glass milk bottle fm KK for the time being. I won't buy milk bottle @ the moment. Morever if I m successful in bf, I won't need dat many milk bottles

hi foreverfriend,
u mean kkh will give us glass milk bottles free? must ask from them?
oh yes, is it true tat if we tbf, newborn (for 1st few mths) dont even need to drk water, just breastmilk will do?
if yes, may not need tat many bottles.

Hi avocado, it's 1 or 2 hrly not half an hour lah. I think that's the frequency for breastfeed bb leh. That's why my friend gave up breastfeeding after a mth cos she find it too stressful and tiring. I guess if you bottle-feed, the duration will be longer. My friend said only need 2 bottles cos most relatives and friends will give milk bottles as gifts during 1st mth celebration.

Hi shook, I think the same too. If I succeed in bf, I don't need too many bottles.

hi Giggler,

Ya,agree..breastfeeding is very tiring...esp.for working mothers.

I think i'll bf my bb twice during wkdays & probably more frequent during wkends..breast pump will b even more tiring..

When will Robinson sales ends? Is it only for members?

hi sanrio,
U're welcome. I guess what Shook said is correct,wait for gifts fr. our frds/relatives.We r unsure what'll happen after delivery,so better be more reserve in buying bb stuffs...

But sometx,can't help it..becoz all bb stuffs r soooo cuteeee...esp. those jumper type of clothing..

me & my hubby just enjoy wonder ard bb section even we r not buying anything...

now think back, i think we r really silly...When we were trying for bb last time,me & my hubby were struggling to try on "certain position" becoz we read fr. somewhere, that position will get bb boy..At the end,we gave up trying so stick to the traditional position...

We always want a bb boi 1st becoz he'll protect the younger sister.

Hi sanrio, I didn't know robinson having offer 25% on NUK bottles today. I bought 2 NUK bottles from CK Tang after 20% discount. Ai yeah... luckily only 5% more... not so bad only about $0.475 difference for the big bottle.

I bought the silicon teat ones. I also didn't know which one is better and when I saw that the silicon ones are more expensive by $1 - I thought more expensive should be better, so bought that one. ;p terrible hor. What to do? Most of us here have no experience, so I guess and hope that price is a good gauge as well.

btw, are any of you intending to get the "mums-in-mind" sarong? Which material are u getting? The cotton, the satin or the silk ones? Am waiting for the sale to get that. Oh, don't buy it from Kiddy Palace. The price I saw for it was $50+ as compared to the $30+ to $40+ at other departmental stores.

Sanrio
My cousin said hospital uses glass bottle to feed babies borned there. So they have plenty of glass milk bottles. I dunno if KKH have or not. I gotta check. If u want glass milk bottle u gotta ask. They dun give u automatically

Giggler
Hope we successful in bf

Avocado
U n your hubby so cute. Study on the position to get a boy. My hubby n me only know the mission position. My hubby sweats easily, he gave up the new position after trying for a while.

Emily
I dun intend to buy sarong

Some hospitals give milk bottles. It is better to check wif your hospital if u r not particular on getting a specific brand of milk bottle.
BTW Luzon888 said dat KK only gives maternity pad (2 packs) n Pampers (1 pack). She din ask for glass milk bottle

hi giggler...
hehe.... daddy rewarded mummy wif a mcflurry yest after the scan... haha.... so edison can gain from it too... so guess dats his reward.

avocado...
i oso asked my hubby dat question yest leh.... wonder who they go to for gynae checkup...

sanrio...
wow... seems like u r the most informative amg us... even know so much abt teats....

Hi Soyabean & Avocado, so nice both of you know the gender already. I still have to wait two more weeks but guess it's a gal.

Soyabean, my gynae also said that my blood pressure is borderline so must take more rest. So now try to sleep early if possible.

Avocado, I assumed the tab is my bb's kicking like what Shook said. My bb's legs were wide open but no balls in between so shld be gal lah, however, gynae said sometimes becos of the position, might not see clearly.

forever friends, it is not sarong, but the baby carrier that you use where-ever you go like shopping etc ... sarong style.

Sue

U prefer a boy?

I can't c ball in b/w my baby's legs. Saw something sticking like a finger, the sonographer (did detailed scan) n my gyne (did normal ultra scan) pointed dat stick n confirmed it is a boy

Patiently wait for another 2 wks

Emily

Oh I m oso looking for a sling. Many types n price range fm $10+ to $80+. Dunno how to choose too

hi emily, soyabean n avocado,

me learn a lot fr this forum n i work in healthcare so colleagues got lots of advices. sometx made me more confused! i hav a frd who bought diff brands/types of bb stuff for her bb boy, so af trial n error, she gave me some gd feedback. but i like to hear n learn fr all MTBs here too.

i wen robinsons yesdy. bought a pigeon steam steriliser. 20% + $20 voucher + 5% rebate, so vy gd price. so tempted n bought 2 small NUK bottles w silicon teats at 25% + 5% rebate. tat's all.

today my frd gave me 1 more $20 voucher n since i work near town, will drop by raffles city robinsons af work to c c again. ai yo!!! i like buy non-stop but like wat avocado said, bb stuff so nice, so tempted to buy...

emily, i did tink of buying a sling (like sarong type) as wonder whether me got strength to carry the bb when he grows bigger. my frd told me in the beginning she carried until hand n backache, now well-trained, got muscles somemore

havnt go look for 1.

hi foreverfriend,
tks, i will ask kkh then, must remb.

shook and sue...
edison's ball was actuali a bit big leh... cos i was lookg at my scan pic again last nite and my sis pointed out dat isnt it a bit too big for a bb? then i saw closely and quite true... i jus hope it does not turn out to be the cord man... cos the angle of the pic was taken from below the legs.

sue...
usu gers are a bit more difficult to confirm... dats wat i understand from frens.

sanrio...
seems like u r reali enjoying bb shopping leh...
i hvnt had much time to go and buy bb stuff yet... weekends usu spent resting and sleeping. hehe... and its good dat u hv alot of advices....

i tink the sling is a good idea too... a better alternative than a pram cos pram can be difficult to get ard in crowded places... and wif sling, can carry bb closer.... most of the time, i see daddies carrying the sling and not mummies.

sanrio,
very exciting to go shopping hor... me too!
but when I think about it... hey we are only like 5.5months now. Gosh! Are we preparing a little too early? but can't help it lah, everything so nice and cute and seems like an essential. Guess we won't be able to really know how useful everything is until baby comes out.

Hey girls, regarding the extended maternity leave thing, do u think if maternity leave is really extended to about 4-6months, we will be able to benefit from it if we are already on maternity leave by the time PM Goh announces the news in August? Personnally, I think maybe not coz after announcement should have period for implementation yeah? <sob> so sad... we preg too early liao lah! Baby cannot enjoy the benefit now... looks like only the next baby can.

hi Shook,

Gleneagles is using glass bottles.Not sure for other hospitals. Hv u decided what brand of milk powder to buy?

Me &amp; my hubby oso only knew abt missionary position:p We were trying for other position that time but failed..at the end,still went back to missionary one..hee..

Hi suet,
Do u prefer boy or girl? my bb legs were curled up when doing the scanning.I wasn't sure how the gynea swing his scan,somehow,able to see the "balls" but not the birdie..

he wasn't moving the last two times the gynea did the scan. guess he must b too comfortable liao..hee..

I can understand ur eagerness to know if ur bb is boi or girl..I was feeling the same as u few weeks ago.But,i think,most imptly,the bb is healthy,irregardless boi or girl.

I told my in-laws if boi,i'll worry when he goes for NS;if girl,i'll worry when she comes home late.

Hi sanrio,
was it crowded at Robinson?My hubby worries whenever I want to shop alone. but sometx,i prefer to tak my own sweet time &amp; shop alone.

Pigeon sterilizer sounds like a good buy.I've one passed down from my sis in law.

I'm waiting for Kiddy Palace sales,wait until "long neck"...Planning to buy a playpen.Did u see any playpen on offer fr. Robinson?

Ya,carrying bb is a good training
Though my 15mth old nephew is heavy,i enjoy carry him,becoz he's soooo cuteeee...But my bb don't like.Whenever I carry my nephew,he'll kick me.Mayb he jealous

Hey,heard tat govt is going to extend maternity leave to half a year,to boast birth rate.Hope got enough time to implement by the time we deliver,hee..

btw, I think sarong type sling good coz can breastfeed in public without anyone really noticing.

btw, sanrio, is the robinson sale for public too or only for members?

hi soyabean,
i did hear fr colleagues who hav boy tat the ball can seem a bit big esp when newborn (or mayb even now u saw in ultrasound?) she said af birth n few mths, it will shrink accordingly. it's water or ?? i not too sure, probably i c whether can do some reading up or ask around..

me 1st trim so "sick", most of the tx on bed so now 2nd trim feel more energetic so cant stop shopping. so exciting... i m an active person b4 pregnant, mayb tat's why. remb i still going for aqua-aerobic in apr

Hi Emily, I won't get the sarong sling yet. I don't think we get to enjoy the new benefit cos everything will only be finalised in Aug.

Hi shook, I hope that I can at least tbf my bb for at least 2 mths. If possible, 6 mths will be ideal.

Hi soyabean, actually ice cream is good cos it contains milk also mah.

Hi sue, you got maternal instinct that you having gal?

hi avocado n emily,

surprisingly, yesdy robinsons not crowded. fr 6.30pm to 10pm, they'll close the door to public, sales event for invited cardmembers only.
i did hear the voucher n invitation sent out randomly. i suppose if u're a regular, u'll rec'd the invitation more often.

yup, me oso tot is it too early to buy n buy. so hav "restricted" myself oreadi. so far only bought steriliser, 2 bottles, n 1 bb cot. all fr robinsons during sales.

there are playpens n prams on sales at tis robinsons sales event.

i tink extension of maternity leave if implemented shd b jan 05. we'll miss. but i dun tink it'll boost birth rate a lot. coz it's not jus tat few mths, it's the taking care n bringing up of a child tat is the toughest.

Emily, Sanrio,
Silicon teats from NUK is it white or brown colour? I bought one big one n one small one at Robinsons yest too but dunno if its silicon or latex. I got the white transparent one in Size 1. Correct bor?

Sanrio,
I bought the pigeon sterilizer as you suggested as well. Quite a good buy. I oso bought Tollyjoy nappies n nappy liner to make it $200 so I can get $40 off wif the voucher. Luckily I got 2 vouchers. Gosh, spend a bomb again.

I was so tempted to buy the pooh musical mobile at $49.95. In the end didnt cos I dunno if I'm getting a playpen or cot yet. What you gals using?

sanrio...
oh... is dat true? i didnt know dat biology fact. hekhek...

i was oso v sick when i was in 1st tri.... absolutely avoided any outings... even stopped meeting my frens for dinner for those few mths cos appetite was so badly affected.

giggler...
yeah... i always convince myself whenever i eat ice cream dat i m tkg in calcium... (and actuali fats too) haha...

hi sarsi,
yup silicon teat is the white transparent one. size 1 for 0-6 mths is correct. robinsons quite gd buy hoh.. tat's why i going c c agn today. oh oh! shopping agn..
musical mobile (i bought cot) mayb buy later or c whether pple give.

hi soyabean,
i oso once a while snack haegan dazz ice-cream on waffle to pamper myself. since i dun like milk, ice-cream i dun mind n got calcium mah.. as long as dun overeat, shd b no prob lah..

Sanrio,
Luckily I bought the correct one. Actually 1st time mummies like us very blur, really need a lot of advice. You bought your cot oready? Where? How much? What to look out for? Have you started hunting for stroller n car seat?

I like Ben n Jerry ice-cream. Recently oso got craving for ice-cream n sweet stuff, esp deserts. Really feel very fat. My arms n thighs oso expanding on top of the growing tummy.Can start to feel the weight gain.

Hi sanrio, I guess they won't implement the new policy so early for us also.

Hi Sarsi, I intend to let bb to sleep with me first. So haven decide which to buy also. Me too.. My col also told me that she couldn't recognise me cos my face rounder now. So sad leh.

Hi soyabean, heeheee.. That's a good excuse hor?

sanrio, sarsi, giggler...
haha... me no preference for ice cream brand one... as long as its ice cream, i eat! i hv recently taken mcflurry, swensen's, haegan daz... hehe....

sanrio...
so silicon teats are the best?

Giggler, you onli put on 3kg at week 25 right? Tat's very little. Prob the weight goes to your face. R u the type that when put on weight, your face will show 1st? Oso prob you carrying a girl girl. They say mummies with girl girl, face will change. My face didnt change. Just put on weight everywhere on my body.... grhhh...

sarsi...
not true for me leh... my face changed a bit... nose grew bigger liao... and some water retention on my face as well.

hi sarsi, soyabean,
latex teat is vy soft n flatten easily. oso af a short while, latex teat turn sticky, mus change. silicon teat more commonly used but for diff brands bottle, the size n hardness of the teat differ. some too stiff n hard, bb dont know how to drk oso. tat's my frd's feedback. she tried few for her bb boy. she recommended n said pigeon peristaltic bottle (quite costly) uses 1 of the best silicon teat. NUK not bad if ur bb not too fussy.

my few colleagues kept saying i sure having boy (b4 i even go for scan) as they said my face n body din change much, i look beta n more radiant. they said girls will "steal away" mummy's looks. another myth..

last scan at 4mth, i put on 2.6kg fr original wt. i tink now mayb another 1 kg? i slow progress in wt gain..