(2004/04) April Mummy

Maple,
wow... 3 days later then start fever. i thought it's something like the next day. ok... now i know. have to watch En for 3 to 4 days to make sure he's ok. Do u feed her with liang cha before injection?

Ann,too late I also buy alot,luckily can pass down to Celeste.I also have the Amway shampoo and bath as a gift,can't bear to use yet.hehe...

Angel,Cherish sayang Ryan.

Home,En has a very cute expression.lemme guess,is he smiling or making faces.He's tall leh.Fever will surface within 10 days of MMR injection,must monitor.

Maple,luckily fever is gone.otherwise how to enjoy mooncake festival leh.

Aloe,I caught u on TV liao.I meant to look out for Ryan but saw u instead.The ad was like too fast,cannot see Ryan clearly.

Raindrops,
too bad i don't haf 'lao er' to past on..keke. so all ended up anyhow 'fly'.hehe..
Amyway shampoo i ask my sis friend to buy for me..if you want i can help you buy..not very Ex.

Home,
aiyoyo..En is so cute..my Val got chance anot..keke

i ask Val to look at the photo of En doing the funny face.. Than she did it back to me..
Normally she will do it when we say 'monkey face'..

Angel, Maple,
*sayang ryan & G.*

can;t remember why En make that face. just happen to catch that expression. when we ask En to make a zhu zhu lian, he will show us the pig face. very cute.

actually, now i find En can learn things at a fast rate. just wondering those of u who send ur kid to childcare c, what do they teach there? wanna do something with En but duno what to do...

Home,
Nurse said fever is not immediate, might hv fever within 5 to 10 days after MMR injection, so have been monitoring her for the past few days.

Hi Home,
En is so cute ... Is he making funny faces or laugh till can't see his eye ... Hee hee .. he is so happy.
Abt the ad. actually i am not sure what it is about. as i nvr got a change to see it. according to my mil, she said it the baby bonanza and ad for diaper. not sure la

Hi angel / maple
I still have not bring ryan for MMR injection yet. Angel, did you bring him to polyclinic or PD for injection ? Still thinking where shd i bring him to.

Hi rain_drop, u saw me .. oh no...

How's yr mid-autumn festival ?? did all toddlers enjoy themselves ?

Aloe,

I brought Ryan to polyclinic for Jab coz he have been taking his jab and assesment from there and its quite near our place.

The ad I saw with your boy was for baby bonanza and it was shown in the evening. I seldom watch tv in the day so not sure if they show it in the day time.

Aloe,
how did u appear in the ad? u send up for something? is the baby bonanza a baby show?

mid-autumn festival? never celebrate lah. my En sleep so early... next yr maybe

Hi Maple / Angel.

Which polyclinic you went for the injection ? I just call the polyclinic to make appt ..
For AMK, the earliest sat appt will be on the 22Oct. do u think is too late for the MMR injection ???
but i bring him to PD, it will cost S110 .. so ex ...

Home,
Baby bonanza - baby contest by Mediacorp.

Aloe,

I went to Bt Merah Polyclinic. If I am not wrong MMR is free there. I don't remember hubby and I paying for it. You might want to call up and check. We didnt make any appt, just walk in coz we were 1 mth late for his appt.

Ryan develop fever on Sat. Reached a high of 38.7 degree. The whole body was very warm and face very flushed. Luckily fever subsided last night but his appetite was affected.

So mommies is the Children's day gathering cfm? Put me in the KIV list first still. Thks.

Btw, hows everyone's tots speech developement?

the gathering on Saturday is still on. Sorry, MIA for quite a while, was very busy with work and plus these 2 days on course, hence dun have any access on the internet. Anyway, back to the gathering.

Date: 1 Oct 05 Saturday - Children's Day
Time: 2.30pm
Venue: My Place

Will sent u all the address once confirmed on the attendance.

By the way, I checked on the response huh, those have responded include

Angel/Ryan - KIV
Raindrop/Cherish - OK
Maple/G - OK
Ann/Val - OK
Home/En - Hopefully u can join us next round. Saw En's picture - He's so chubby and cute. Noticed that he's only wearing diaper in most of the picture, he did'nt put on trouser at home is it?
Aloe/Ryan - U joining us? Do join us if u can make it, have not meet u and Ryan before. Only saw both of u on TV...

Mummies, do keep me posted whether your hubby is joining.

I will try to check the response tomorrow night again..hopefully all of u come to the forum.

Hi Toony,

thanks for asking if i wanna join the upcoming gathering at your place. I would very much like to join..but KIV first.. Maple has always informed me of April Mummies gatherings but haven't been able to join although wanted very much.. It's good for Jaden to mix with kids of the same age.. I will try to come. Do drop me yr addy..

Hi the rest of the mummies...it's joy_apr... so excited reading through all yr sharing. Saw Joe Tay's show on the MY GYM and very keen to let Jaden try it.. but he has know how to walk yet..still learning. Thought better wait till he can walk properly then consider joining..

Btw, anyone using flashcards to your toddlers?

Hi Toony
I could'nt attend the gathering cos I still not well.

Hi joy_apr
Yes, I am using number, abc & chinese flashcards bought fm popular.

Yesterday night went for check-up. Can see baby's body liao. We can even see the baby hick up & waving at us.

Gynae said the my EDD will bring fwd to 10Apr06 cos of size of the baby is big. Wow every near to my boi birthday..

hi Angel,
My MIL always said Ryan has a "golden mouth"..
He dun really speak. He like to point and use his signs.

hi Toony,
yes, we are going to the gathering.. please send me your address ..... thanks

hi cutecute.
vy high chance that your bb born on the same birthday ... 8Apr.

toony,
ya En wear diaper at home only. weather so hot so i dun wanna add another layer to his bum. anyway, no one else at home to see him

cutecute,
wow! so excited so look at bb from the scan machine
somemore wave at mummy! i very eager to know boy or girl

i have just register En for sparks playgroup for next yr mar group. still looking for other playgps around my area. hope to find one cheap and good one... hee hee

Hi aloe
u know.. B4 my gynae tell me abt my EDD, she joking asked me "u like this date very much har?"
Actually this date crash with my year-end finanical closing leh..

Hi Home
Can't see boy or girl yet. The machine quite clear & high tech hor. My detail scanning is on 5th month which is Nov05. Still long time to go..

Hello everyone...

I just registered myself into this website and still very new to all the function.

Does anyone know of any good pre nursery school in Woodlands area?

will send you all my address tonite.
Just a headcount on those who can make it for the gathering
Raindrop/Cherish
Ann/Val
Maple/G
Aloe/Ryan
Angel/Ryan - KIV
Joy_Apr/Jaden - KIV

Joy_Apr,
yes I did use flashcard on Austin. Also those bought from popular bookstore.

Limei,
dun worry, next time perhaps, anyway we will organise again.

Cutecute,
take care and rest more ok. Hopefully can meet you in next gathering. Till then, your tummy should be able to show already.

Toony,
U need us to bring anything?

Mummies who are going to the gathering, anybody bringing camera? I dun hv my camera with me, sil borrowed it and she is out of town. Can someone bring a camera along?

Cutecute,
You take care. U not feeling well due to MS or normal sickness? Seems like a lot of virus ard and lot of pp falling sick. U got MC? Itll be great if both gor gor and di di / mei mei can share the same birthday.

Home,
Wats the cost of the playgroup? And the Duration of the lesson?
Can advise wat are the things to look out for in choosing a good playgroup?

Soo Ling,
Welcome! Ive no idea of any pre nursery school in woodlands. Can introduce more on yourself and your toddler?

Hi Soo Ling,
I'm staying in the east, hence not sure of the prenursery school in woodland. By the way, how old is your tod?

Maple and mummies,
don't have to bring anything lah. I will prepare some light snacks for both adults and toddlers. Camera also dun have to bring, I have digital camera at home.

Hi Toony & Maple
It's MS. BTW, what is MS stand for?
It's geting bad to worse. Hope my suffering end soon.. No MC. tomor take 1 day leave to rest & do housework if I can.

toony
We r going to the gathering

Maple
i'm bring my camera along with me

CuteCute
Rest well..my friend just given birth to her 'lao er' 4days back, 19mths apart. her edd was early oct but the baby came early.

Joy_Apr
i did use flashcard but seldom mostly books.

Soo Ling
Me too staying in the east not sure schools at woodlands. Have you tried looking up the back pages of Young Parents Magazine?

A recent pic of Val

319754.jpg

Hi cutecute/toony/ann,

I use flashcards - chinese, english and maths, but not daily. Depends on my boy. Did the chinese and english wordings myself, but haven't been doing new ones..think my boy not as keen as before.

Talking about nursery schools, I am staying at the northeast. Any mummies have recommendations? I don't subscribe to Young Parents..don't haver article that Ann mentioned.

I prefer to read TOday's Parents..find it informative and less advertisements compared to Motherhood magazine.

Ann, your Val so cute!

Joy_Apr
Me too not subscribe to Young Parents only occasionally buy to read.
Actually is not an article is some guide to finding difference childcare or pre-school in diffrance part of singapore. But i guess not all school are listed down.

i normally put Val on the highchair when i flash to her. She also not very keen move here and there.

I am first time mother of 30 yrs old. My son is coming 18mths on 6 Oct. He is tall and mischevious and let cars a lot. His name is JJ

My mother is looking after my son and we are staying with my family for the time being.

Hi Ling,
Same as JJ, my boy Ryan likes CAR a lot .....

Hi cutecute/toony/ann/joy_apr,
I use Flash cards too . but he always run away from me when i want to show him the cards..

want to know where you buy books for yr toddles ?? I find it very difficult to find books from border and their books are quite ex too ....

Maple,
the one i register is $280++ per 10 wks. they follow the school calender. 1.5 hrs every day. i din really choose this playgp. i sign up coz it's near my place and the timing suits my boy. i check out 2 others, one is too ex, the other is mid noon. whether good or not i guess i will let En try out then c loh. i talk to the in-charge though. seems a friendly lady and she knows her stuff well.

Ann,
wow... Val looks very mature!

Ling,
seems like boys like cars. En likes to play with cars too!

aloe,
i borrow books from the library. i also buy a few books here and there. clementi big bookstore got cheap and nice books leh. if u drive, should go there have a look. much much cheaper than border.

i have recently play the 'my baby can read' cd for En. now he can sit still and watch the cd. have even learned the words shown on tv. i guess sometimes it's the timing.. previously not very interested. now suddenly can absorb

Ya but I feel that JJ is quite extreme. He will hold his car wherever he goes from the time he wakes up till the time he sleeps. And he can play with his car alone for more than half an hr.

He starts playing with remote car too now.

Aloe,

How old is Ryan???

Home,

How old is En?

hi Home,
I also want to buy the 'my baby can read' VCD. Where u buy the VCD from ?? how much ??

Hi Ling,
Same here... he needs to hold his car most of the time. Ryan is 1 yr, 5 months and 5 days old ..
to know more about Ryan... here is his blog
http://little-ryan.blogspot.com

Aloe,
i bought a few books from Popular bookstore or MPH. Some i buy here and there depending loz.
View Ryan blog, he's still so cheerful as b4. Ryan too likes to play with the game controller?

Home
i think she wear the cap so abit like boi. Agree with you that sometime our tots seem to pick up very fast. Like that day Val have a baby doll and the cap drop off than she told me 'bo ta'(no hair)i was just wondering where she pick up from and my mum told me that she told her that day when one of the superstar judges was 'bo ta'. i think cannot treat them like babies liao.

Ling
i donno if Val like cars anot i nv buy toy car for her b4. Do you help him to control the car or he likes to control the car himself?

Toony
you have send out your address?

Aloe,

I went into the website to see but there are a lot of things that cant be seen as I think my office computer dun support it. Wow so nice of you to create a website for Ryan I will never know how to do it.

Ann,

At first my husband will teach him how to control the car then he know how to use it but always goes backward and knock onto the corner but never let us help him to control.

There was once that I saw him fast asleep so thought that I can remove the car from his hand. He actually wake up and hold the car again and sleep.

Ling,
Guess wat i was like JJ when i'm young. My mum always told me that i will hold onto something for half a day to whole day if i like the item.

Ann,

Oh is it... but the way JJ play with cars sometime really amaze me. By the way, can you pls do a self intro as me still very new and can I also ask you how come I will get a lot of emails from this website? How do I deactivate it.

Ling,

oh..my girl is 1yr 5month 2days old. i'm not so sure but if i'm not wrong you need to go to
Edit Profile(top left hand corner) and deactivate those E-mail Notification. Are you SAHM?

Ling,
wow! ur boy so advance... can play with remote car liao

looks like car is JJ's bolster!

My En is 17mth and 1 wk. born on 20/04/04. I'm a SAHM(Stay at home mum). have not worked since En came into this world.

aloe,
u can get the whole set from kiddy palace. but if u wan only 1 cd, popular sells it. try with the starter cd first.

forgot to ask u all something. my hubby and i bringing En to Desaru next wkend. me a bit excited. wanna ask those of u with experience bringing ur tot out of singapore how should i prepare En huh? when i think of the things to bring along, like need to bring his whole barang barang like that

Hi Home,

I brought my son to Malaysia for a short trip.. ya, I certainly brought along of his barang barang. I even brought the slow cooker, fish, egg and meat!! Used my medela cooler bag to store the food..heehee.. My son was 14months then. Basically I didn't prepare my son very much..just told him we are going for a short holiday.. He slept for almost 2 hours throughout the car ride. Hubby drove the car..and i have one bag beside my arm that was big enough for me to rest my arm with my son's head on it.. My left arm ached after the 2 hours nap.. but worthwhile..cos' at least get some peace.. once my boy woke up..he will be moving around in the car..very active.. One amazing thing was.. he slept throughout the night at the resort room. I was so delighted then!! haha..get good sleep myself.

Ling,

I think JJ is now at the stage where the car is his security blanket. Holding it make him feel safe and secure. Girls usually have some soft toy as their security blanket. My boy likes car too. Btw, when my boy was first introduced to balloons (MacDonald's)..he held onto the balloon at home for the whole afternoon..whenever he goes, he just carried it along.. But that habit stopped after a while..guess it comes in stages..

Aloe,

Now my boy likes the flashcards I bought for him from Kinokuniya. He would bring the box to me and used his bb language to tell me to flash to him. It is his current favourite. I don't seat him on the high chair..just seat him on the floor. He would be very attentive.. I just repeat the flashing until he gets bored and move away.. haha

I tried borrowing books from Library..but not easy to find suitable ones... My boy can tear off the pages... ;p

Hi mummies,haven logged in for some time.How's everyone?

Angel,I hope both you and Ryan are well.check this out www.kidzgroww.com
got this from the latest Young Parents mag,this website offers advice on how to spot-chk child's language development.But dun worry,boys are not as 'talkative' as girls so speech development might not be as fast as girls.

Joy_apr,long time no see u.Hope to see u on Sat.By the way,no need to wait till Jaden can walk.Cherish attended the free trial at ard 6-7mths old.

Welcome Ling,do not know any pre nursery school but as for gym class can try MyGym at Woodlands Civic Plaza,they conduct free trial and quite fun.Oh,My girl is 5days younger than JJ.She's a 11/4 bb.

cutecute,sorry tat u can join us this time,hope to see u n ur boy in the next gathering.By the way,this mth's YP mag has a topic on when to have 2nd child.Actually age gap ard 2yrs is prefectly fine.

Limay,sorry to hear tat Feon contracted HFMD.Poor girl.My sis once bought her now-5mth old bb to visit a friend and got to know her friend's child contracted HFMD to.End up my neice's immunisation jab has to be postponed a mth later.

Ann,so glad tat u and Val will go for the gathering.You're gg to make everyone so envious for looking so young.kekeke....no offence everyone.Cherish wants to hug hug Val meimei leh

Aloe,I bought alot of books online.My SIL 'jiao' me to buy so tat we can consolidate the orders and save on delivery charges.chk out www.littlebooknest.com and www.whoopeekiddies.com
If you are buying for home use,not as gifts,can chk out the latter coz they've those 'hurt' books tat are very cheap.Usually those 'hurt' books have minor prob like a tiny black dot somewhere,so they sell cheap.Worth buying.Otherwise u can try to see if the place outside Orchard Emerald have or not since u worked at Orchard.

Home,my colleague also let her girl watch and she feel tat it's beneficial.I feel like buying the Smart babies series on Colours and Shapes.

Home,I dunno u 'pang tan' or not.but just to share with u.Each time when I plan a trip to the ECP beach and tells Cherish abt it,it will rain heavily the day we're going.heehee....Desaru is a very nice place to relax and recharge.Enjoy ur trip.I think Aloe can advise a little since Ryan has taken a plane ride to HK.

Maple,remember the pram I wanted to get so badly from JL.quite regretful coz it's very heavy.Sigh...My sis is gonna kill me.

I hope I have not miss out anyone.Ciao

Home, JJ is okie lah not so advanced lah. He still cant really feed himself. I brought JJ to Genting when he is 11mths old and I only make sure that I bring a lot of clothes, pampers & milk powder. You can let En take food like porridge or french fries when overseas.

JOy_apr, ya boy it is his secure blanket... but sometimes can be very amaze by his behaviour and liking of his cars. Did you let your boy watch Barney? He might enjoy it. Go and buy one tat title: Round and round we go and I think he might like it. JJ love watch Barney and will snatch the tv with his grandmother and if my mum refuse to let him watch he will actually go and switch off the tv. In the end both of them lose out. So I think roughly you guys can guess how kuai lan my son is... Hahaha

Rain_drops, ya I am going to My Gym trial on this saturday but it is quite expensive if going to enrol for the course but most likely I will if JJ like it since he is the only child he will be very bored playing with adults all the time. Time for him to play with kids of his age.

Will not be able to attend the Children's day gathering as I'm still unwell. Hope you girls enjoy yourselves with your tots and send me pics ok?

Hi Rain_drops,
Have bought YP yesterday. This mth mag quite informative. There are pros & cons of the diff years age gap. Most important is whether the parents are comfortable or not.

Hi Home
Wow.. Enjoy your trip!

Hi Li Mei & Angel

Hi Ann
Sad that I miss u again. Hope I can c u next time.

I also want to see the pics on Children's day gathering leh.. Can dun mind send to me?
Have a good day.

joy_apr, Ling,
thanx! wow, ur bag must be very heavy then?? i think i will just let him eat our adult food coz only for 2 days. must i request for bb cot? or can i ask the staff to move the mattress to the floor so that all 3 of us can sleep together? how about water? u use the boiling flask in the resort for making milk?

do u know library got board books? they're at the bb reading section.

Rain_drops,
i let En watch the Barney colour and shape cd. he likes it too coz a lot of songs and dances.

Mummies going for the gathering tomorrow,
have a great day!

Home, ya the last time my bag was very heavy full of clothes and pampers. I am going Genting again on 30/10 so this time round hope I will not be so kaisu of bringing so much unused clothes. Genting is actually a very good place for babies too as the weather is good. I think it is better to bring some water over to the trip and have your own boiler as sometime we are not sure whether our kids can take the water or not. I actucally brought 2bottles of 1.5l water when I went genting the last time. You can actually sleep together with En on the bed just make sure that he is sleeping in the middle so that he will not fall.

JJ fall twice from the bed.

I think library may have board books as there is a kid corner. You can also buy sticker books for En as they are at the stage where they like to paste too.

Another tip if you are driving to Desaru you can also bring a laptop to play Barney CD in the car to keep En entertain as I dun think they will just sit still on car. Also go to your pediatrician to get some medication to bring along in case you need them. The other time there is one thing I forgot to get from doc is the giddyness medication and on the way there he vomitted half way on hill and lucky I have another fren kid who have the medication and when returning we let him have it before coming down.